Wacky Wobbler

Baby born at 28 weeks

Wacky Wobbler

Hi,

I found out yesterday that there is a high chance my baby will be born at 28 weeks due to a number of factors. I will know alot more next week but was just wondering if people could let me know their experiences.

Thank you.

WinterIsComing

Hi,

I am not sure if I am qualified to reply. But in my pregnancy, around 25 weeks, I had threatened prem labour, and I studied every statistic under the sun.

What I remember thinking that if I got to 26 weeks, the stats so much better already. From 27 weeks onwards, there was a dramatic difference to how babies looked, and at 28 weeks, more likely than not, a child would end up being perfectly healthy in a long term.

I remember having NICU paed visit us, and show us the album of premmies at various weeks. The difference between 25 weeks and 27 weeks was so dramatic, I kept thinking "I only need to last 1.5 weeks, and everything will be OK".

Hang in there. With steroid injections and being in major NICU, like RNS or RPA in Sydney (not sure where you are), your baby has all the chances of having great outcomes.

Mrs305

The only person I know who delivered around then (25 weeks) is a TV personality in the U.S. from a reality show called 19 Kids And Counting - Michelle Duggar's baby girl was born at 25 weeks gestation and ended up being a healthy toddler. She of course needed medical intervention for several months after birth. Uplifting link found here:

http://duggarsblog.blogspot.com.au/2011/11/josie-update.html

Wishing you and your beautiful little bean all the best.

witchesforest

my friend's little boy came unexpectedly early at 28 weeks.

she was in pieces, she named him in a hurry because thought he was definitely going to die - they look so fragile and tiny. he spent almost 2 months in hospital, had to have CPAP etc etc.