Sign in to follow this  
splendid

lots of niggles and pains in cervix

splendid

Hi all

I'm due with #4 May 29th, so am 32+4 at the moment. I have had lots of Braxton Hicks for weeks and weeks now, but the last week or so I've also been having sharp, stabbing pains on my cervix, as well as the odd back pain. Anyone else experiencing this or similar? Some of the Braxton Hicks have also been quite painful. At my last appointment (2 days ago), the obs was very unconcerned, and just told me that at my hospital they can deliver babies from 34 weeks gestation, so not to worry.

That's all well and good, but of course I still worry that something is going on!

It seems to me that this is like pre-labour, is it normal for these symptoms to occur so early on?

Thanks, splendid.

Guest Buy Me A Pony !

I don't know what normal is as I'm new to this experience but I can assure you I've been having a shooting pain along my cervix for a few weeks. Very little back pain (that's starting to change now that I just can't get comfortable but it's more a fatigue/strain). The cervical pain is intermittent and short lived but as the baby moves down I can feel it increasing. I'm not thinking I'm close yet as I'm not feeling any great pressure or weight on my cervix. Are you?

I've been having very obvious pre labour symptoms since 28ish weeks and apparently they can go for almost the final trimester. I think the cervical pains could be the ripening or softening which occurs in this trimester???

OBS can usually tell when the baby is closer to getting ready as they look at the position and room left for the baby to engage so if OBS is saying not to worry then perhaps ask how long s/he thinks before it may happen. Having said that, I don't think they know until it's much closer. :unsure: