Sign in to follow this  
**BOOM**

Anyone working together with someone else in partnership

**BOOM**

Hi all,

just a quick question & feedback would be greatly appreciated.

I have a new business idea and product which I believe will be successful.

My sister & I were talking about it over Christmas and she loves it too. She quit her job before Christmas and does not intend to look for another job in the future. She has two little boys and she has said that she would love to do something from home.

Re: my idea, she has the contacts (my BIL, her DH) to get the products made and I have some experience in starting up a small business from scratch and have a lot of ideas for this small business.

I am thinking of approaching her in the new year about us doing this business idea jointly. She lives in Brisbane and I live in melbourne. Has anyone done this before and if so has it worked? Any feedback would be great.

Edited by sophie-emily

Jembo

Yes, one of mine is very similar.

My sister was doing some small things, more hobby based, started to branch out into online. I wasnt working (just had baby) and was looking into options to keep me busy and asked her if she would consider letting me in on her business.

Best thing we ever did:). In our case it has worked very well. Having two of us has helped it to grow. I think the biggest thing for us is we both have strengths in different areas, we rarely have any crossover. We don't have the same roles in the business, and we respect each others roles and opinions on our sections. Also if she does something I am not 100% kosher on I usually back down, as it was her business in the first place, and without her input I couldn't do my side :).

We also live 5 hrs apart. With email and phone it is easy to keep up to date, we send millions of emails a day so each one knows what the other is up to. When she goes on holidays, I take on her role, and when I go, she takes on mine.