Sign in to follow this  
Honeyblonde

Breast abscess? What do I do? HELP!

Honeyblonde

Hi

I have a 4 week old baby, this is my fifth baby I have breastfed and have NEVER had this problem, so here goes.

I think I have a breast abscess but need some opinions from mums who have had this.

Since baby was about a week old I had a small (0.5mm) lump on the outer edge of my left nipple, actually where the nipple joins the areola. When baby was about 3 weeks old it then got really really sore and then my whole breast was hurting, including burning and throbbing etc. Felt awful and teary and emotional.

The next day I got what I thought was a crack at the junction of the areola and the nipple right above the small red lump. This then started leaking tiny amounts of pus.

Breastfeeding was AGONY, I would scream when baby attached and then sob while he fed.

After ringing 2 breastfeeding counsellors, a lactation consultant and seeing 2 different Dr's I finally got someone to listen to me, and got antibiotics for it.

(Kept getting told its just a sore/damaged nipple and a crack above it, I was thinking more a blocked duct/cyst that was infected.)

Have been on the AB's since last Wed night and the lump has gone down a lot, redness has gone down a lot, breastfeeding just stings a bit when he attaches and sucks strongly (I assume this is the open crack hurting) but there is still pus leaking out only a few small drops at a time.

The *crack* (which I think is more a crack/hole joined to the abscess) is not healing up, looks like a small ulcer when it opens up.

I think with my antibiotics almost finished (will run out Tues morn) that I need more AB's to clear this up? It felt much better yesterday but today feels worse again.

Also is there anything I can put on the crack to heal it, or should I leave it open while pus is still building up and leaking out of it?