Sign in to follow this  
shushh

Choosing what's right for oneself

shushh

I wanted to share my birth story to encourage women out there not to be afraid of the choices for birth that are available today and to be strong enough in their convictions to go through with their choice!

Being a doctor, I have seen many women being denied their wishes during birth by doctors and midwives(in particular) pushing their beliefs. This applies to both women who opt for "medical aid" in pain relief and those who want to go "natural". My story is an example of how wonderful the staff were with respecting my choices and how an epidural can be a wonderful thing!

My waters broke at 2:15am. I was lying in bed thinking to myself,"drats, I've lost bladder control again..." To my delight, contractions started to come every 10 minutes. I headed for the hospital at 6:30am as my waters were gushing by then and my contractions were still only 10 minutes apart and virtually painless. My obstetrician came to have a chat with me at 8:30am and offered a syntocinon drip to move things along. I gladly accepted. By 9:30am, the drip was up and running and so were the contractions! I am aware of how painful labour can be and had made a decision after a discusison with my obstetrician to go for an early epidural. I had my epidural put in soon after my syntocinon drip was started. For the the next 3 hours, my husband and I joked around, played games and listened to music.

At 12:30pm I started to feel the urge to push and was ecstatic to find that I was already fully dilated. I was able to push very effectively as I was fresh from being relaxed and rested for the past 3 hours! By 1:30pm, little Elliot was born weighing 3.1kg.

Except for excruciating pain for the last 15 minutes, my labour was pretty much pain free. I was relaxed, happy and felt totally in control. It would have to be one of the most positive experiences in my life.