Bea2020

Help my teenager

Bea2020

Hi I've never done this before I have a 16 yr old who lost her best friend 6 months ago to blood clots I know she's greveing but she really is struggling to cope or deal with it heres there story they met at primary school and my daughter use to get bullied badly and this girl helped her through it all through school rite up till they left at 16 they were stuck together like glue where one was the other was always there. Until we received the news she sadly passed away. Now I have tried everything I cant to help my daughter but she's just so angry all the time she disappears turns her phone of and generally don't care how worried she makes people who are out looking for her an says I shouldn't ring the police to report her missing because she fine. She was never like this before the lose of her friend she refuses to talk to councillors support workers even me and her dad all we get is I told you what it's about but if we say her friends name all hell breaks loose and she tells us we shouldn't bring her friend into it but  that's all she's ever told us. Everyone has said the same thing she needs to talk to someone that knows how to help. But she won't. Has anyone got any advice on how I can help her or get her to talk about it I know the greveing can take time but I've tried everything 

• Like 1

born.a.girl

Gosh, that's so very hard for you, I'm sorry.

For sure, she needs to talk to someone but clearly isn't ready.

Do you think there's any possibility she might go with you, and tell her she doesn't have to say a word if she doesn't want?

My daughter flatly refused a psychologist, for much less major reasons, I went with her, and she then understood how it all worked.  I think she was worried that they were going to tell her what to think, what to do, but of course they don't.   She was about that age.

Your poor girl, must be heartbreaking watching her in pain.

• Like 2

Bea2020