OneDayDreamer

Teachers - if you were to change careers, what would you do?

OneDayDreamer

I've had a rubbish day at work - I'm a teacher now, moving into Senior Leadership next year at this stage. 
I've had the kind of day where I'm thinking about tossing it all in and doing something completely different. So, teachers - if you were going to drop it all, what would you do next? I don't want to have to do further study ideally, as I've got my Masters and only wanted to do a PHD in education. So, with a Master of Education and Bachelor of Teaching - what would you do next if you were me? 

.Jerry.

You could go into education for a large firm - e.g. writing training packages, supervising training.  Lots of multi-national type companies engage educators in these types of roles.

Kallie88

Personally, I want to explore the role education leader in daycares. But i think it lends itself well to my background: i've worked in daycare, i studied psychology including child psych and i have the master of teach sec so even though usually they hire kinder teachers i think i'd be good for the position. Gives me space to explore curriculum which i think I'd enjoy.

Froggilicious

I was a science (biology) teacher for 12 years, but have quit and I'm currently retraining as a paramedic. However, I have also thought about a job in health promotion or public policy or the like.

• Like 1

kadoodle

I bailed on teaching when my local special school where I worked was rationalised. I took over management of the family farm.

Redhead78

I was a teacher for 10 years then moved in to the disability sector. I was an early intervention teacher for a few years and now work in the public service in disability. 

Gudrun

A friend moved into community education and is Co-ordinator of a neighbourhood house.  Another started his own successful tutoring business.

TAFE?  Running training programs for businesses etc?   Education consultant?

Edited by Gudrun

hmmph