Demera

Sponge Cake - Please Troubleshoot with me

Demera

Hello baking experts.

I'm a very active cake baker and successfully make lots of butter and oil based cakes, but I still cannot make a successful sponge cake.  It eludes me and I'd dearly love to achieve a CWA worthy sponge.

Mine all seem to turn out tough.  Lots of air, large bubbles, but tough and too much like a dish sponge!  

I have chooks so I have plenty of eggs, and I've tried super fresh laid today, up to weeks old going stale. I've tried eggs at room temp. Eggs warmed in front of the fire. Eggs warmed in warm water. 

I use a Kenwood Chef with metal bowl.  I use a metal spoon to fold in the dry ingredients. 

I use a 42 year old fan forced oven that is notoriously fast.  I have an oven thermometer and the temperature is pretty accurate, but I cook most things at a lower temperature than advised otherwise they will dry out or burn.  I bake most cakes at 160° or 150°.  Should I try dropping it down to 140°?  There's no option to turn off the fan. 

I've tried multiple different recipes, generally all with the same result. The only one that came close to OK was a Ginger Fluff from the Women's Weekly classics.  That time I put a bowl of water in the oven on the bottom tray.  I tried that trick again with no luck. 

Is it my oven?  

Should I slow down the Kenwood so it beats more gently?  What speed should it be at?  I've been doing it at max speed and they beat up by 8 minutes. 

Should I fire up the wood stove and try baking a sponge in there?  😉 

I'm sick of throwing bad cakes in the bin so I would really appreciate some good advice, thank you!  I've made more than 20 bad sponges and I need help.  

• Like 1

RichardParker

Can’t help but I wish you well on your quest. I’m not a bad cook but never attempted a sponge- my Grandmother’s was legendary and I just felt the expectations were too high.