SeaPrincess

Spin Off - What recipes are your specialties?

SeaPrincess

Spin off from the popular foods you’ve never cooked - what foods are your specialties? What do your friends ask for the recipe or ask you to bring?

Mine are:

Chocolate brownies. I made some for BIL to take somewhere once and months later when I met one of his friends, they asked if I was his SIL who made the brownies,

Baked raspberry and white chocolate cheesecake.

I have a friend who is coeliac, and these are both easy to adapt to be gluten free.

can'tstayaway
  • Like 1

cstar

My brownies and my cookies mostly

I also make a cinnamon cake that people always want the recipe for once they've eaten a piece.

• Like 1

MadMarchMasterchef

Cakes, desserts, filo pastries, calzones and pasties, pies.

Also do a few pretty good slow cooker dishes. Doing a mince with okra and green beans tomorrow yum.

nom_de_plume

I'm a good baker. I had a casual job in a bakery when I was younger which probably helped. Bread, pizza bases and cake decorating I am quite adept at.

I'm also becoming a dab hand at fermentation as DP is really into it. We make our own sourdough, sauerkraut, kimchi and beer.

My most requested dishes/recipes by family and friends are things like a classic roast, zuchinni slice, shakshuka, potato salad, tabbouleh, minestrone or lentil soup.

• Like 2

JoanJett

Making something out of nothing.

Meaning, opening the fridge and being able to make a decent meal out of the dregs. It makes a big difference to reducing our food waste and our grocery bill.

But otherwise, plenty of menus for entertaining and family favourites. Decadent desserts are a specialty, which is ironic, because I'd rather a good cheese platter for dessert.

• Like 4

halcyondays

I am asked to make pakoras for almost every drinks “bring a plate” event. They go down fast, especially when people are hungry, drinking and most people seem to bring sweets or cheese,