Kaz83

So... what should I sew?

Kaz83

Im fairly new to sewing, have done a few quilts with lots of supervision and help. Now Ive dragged the sewing machine out again and Im motivated to do SOMETHING... but not sure what!! Not really that keen to do clothes and would prefer it to be something useful or something I could gift.

What do you sew??

• Like 1

hills mum bec

I have a friend that sees the most beautiful patchwork heat bags filled with lupin beans. She even makes small ones that you can stick in your pockets to keep your hands warm while watching winter sport.

• Like 2

Chocolate Addict

I only sew professionally these days, don't have time for hobby stuff. lol

Cushion covers? aprons (they are making a come back), table clothes, art smocks... soft toys? there are some great free patterns around that aren't hard to make.

• Like 1

Jaffa donuts
Posted (edited)

Snap bags. I have made a ton of these. I make them for DD to give to friends for birthdays (in themed fabric to match their interests.eg Harry Potter, Dr Who..) and I made some for Christmas gifts for my own friends/family this year in some gorgeous prints.

You can alter the size and shape easily - I made one last week with a strap so DD could put her phone in it and carry it like a cross body bag.

Easy and you don't need a lot of fabric but it's a great way to use up bits you have.

Edited by Quick hedgehog
  • Like 2

Gudrun

Cushion covers. Lovely gift.

Bebecita

Drawstring bags are easy to make, super useful and make a great present. We use them for storing all the kids toys and I've often used them as a wrapping paper replacement. I like to thread two cords through the casing and tie one off at each side. It makes the bags much easier to open and close.

• Like 2

K.heather

Shopping bags?

• Like 1

lizzzard
Posted (edited)

^ yes I going to suggest shopping bags too.

Edited by lizzzard

bubskitkat