Sign in to follow this  
Poppie1

Your thoughts when you started/completed your degree

Poppie1

I have always had a burning ambition to be a teacher. Last year I spent some time working in a role at a school which made me more motivated. I quit a very successful job I had for 8 years to study fulltime, received a position at university and froze!I put the position on hold.

I guess I am worried now that maybe this isn't what I want? I have 2 school aged children and have always been waiting for the 'right time' to complete my studies. I have a 2 year degree to do but it feels like I will never achieve it and when I ask teaching friends about their jobs I don't receive much positivity back about how they feel about teaching.

Is anyone else studying primary teaching? Have you been on placement? Any tips on how to study without feeling guilty for taking away from my childrens time?

Caitlin Happymeal

I didn't study teaching, I studied nursing so maybe not relevant from the career aspect, but I can comment on studying with kids. My kids were 4 (kind) when I started and 7 (year 2) when I finished. It was a three year degree, and I had no exemptions/credits/recognition of prior learning, so I was committing to three years of full time study. It was incredibly daunting, but I also was so excited. Money was my main concern, but also, academically, can I really do this?

Anyway, I got stuck into it, worked really hard, did my pracs which put a little pressure on my family (but supportive husband made it work - family support is a must). Here I am, three years out, and working in a really great clinical role. I don't know how it works with teaching and to be honest, this present time in the world will probably be a bad time to get feedback from teachers and nurses alike because of the pressure we are all under, but it is doable.