Questionable13

Studying as a sahm

Questionable13

I'm wondering if any stay-at-home-parents study and how do you make it work?

Do you budget in daycare or do you try to study in dribs and drabs when kids are asleep/partner is able to help?

I'm trying to figure out the logistics of studying with 1 at school and 2 kids at home, with no local support!

SeaPrincess

I started studying part time while working full time, and had all 3 of my children while I was studying. I didn’t go back to work until I’d finished my degree. I studied part time, picked my subjects to minimise the care I’d need during the day and did some units externally, so I wasn’t needed on campus. When I used daycare, I only ever needed 2 days per week. When I had 3 children under 4, we qualified for in-home care, and I had the carer for 2 4-hour shifts. Ultimately she was unreliable, so we went back to daycare. On my uni days, I would spend all day on campus, even if I only had a couple of contact hours. It too easy to use the time for other things at home, especially when it’s the only time you have alone (we lived interstate from family for some of the time).

DH was amazing. He was very supportive, and helped me to make time on weekends for study. I still wrote a lot of assignments late at night or in the dark with a sick child. I wrote one major assignment in hospital while I was pregnant. I don’t think I could have done it without his support.

Questionable13