daisy007

Babysitting, what’s the going rate?

daisy007

I’ve never used a babysitter before and have absolutely no idea how much the going rate is. I have to attend a workshop 2 afternoons a month so need to arrange care for DS after kindy on those days. I’ve got an 18 yo family friend who DS adores organised to pick him up on those days, take him home and look after him until I get home at 5. I was thinking $20-25 an hr, does that sound right or should it be more?

Also there will probably be a few occasions where she will babysit both kids, how much do I pay then? Double because it’s two kids?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I have no idea how babysitting works!

blondie82

$20-$25 is pretty the much going rate with what I have paid over the last 5 years. When I've gone from 2 to 3 kids, the rate has stayed the same.

I'm currently paying $25 an hour for babysitting (3 kids).

Hope this helps.

rowd

The last time I paid a babysitter I paid either $20 or $25 an hour, it was at night time with a sleeping child if that makes any difference.

babybug15

We have two semi-regular baby sitters- both we know as they were carers at our childcare centre.

One charges a flat $20/hr- she lives a street away and she is a uni student who does a bit of childcare/sitting on the side.

One charges $23/hr for a single child (it's more for 2 or 3 children, but I'm not sure how much), with an extra $5 for petrol as we are on the other side of town. She has more qualifications and more experience- nannying & babysitting is her fulltime job. She turns up with a box of craft stuff.

$20/hr is fine in your situation- I'd pay a bit more for 2 kids, but not double.

Feral-as-Meggs

Minimum wage adult casual is about $24.36 so I think $25 is fair. But for that I’d ask her to fold laundry or tidy up if the kids are asleep.

SeaPrincess

Most recently I was paying $22/hour for 3 children. The babysitter had her WWC and some experience, but no actual qualifications.

UniKitty