gabbigirl

Investment property

gabbigirl

DH and I have started panicking about retirement and realised we probably won’t have enough to retire on if we keep doing the same things we’re doing now. So we are considering buying an investment property. What are things to take into account when buying one. Any good blogs/information sources people recommend? Thank you

SplashingRainbows

Can I suggest you do some more research first about other asset classes, and superannuation? And possibly get some personal financial advice?

I think the way the world has gone, it’s very difficult for many people to navigate financially on their own.

Edited by SplashingRainbows
  • Like 11

gabbigirl

Thanks splashing rainbows, I appreciate it sounds like I’m a total novice. We do have an accountant but I’m always keen to do my own research as I’m a little suspicious of the financial Planning industry . All of our decisions get discussed with our accountant

• Like 1

SplashingRainbows

I get the financial planning suspicion, I do. In some cases its well deserved.

Your accountant, unless licensed, will not be appropriately trained to offer investment advice. They can comment on property but not whether property is better than shares. Whether you should instead salary sacrifice to super etc.

I have both qualifications so have a deep understanding of the differences.

Finding a good planner can help a lot. Your accountant may be aligned with one. I appreciate finding a good planner can be very difficult. Look for one with a degree as a minimum, CA / CPA qualifications are a bonus.

An investment property may be appropriate but it also may not.

• Like 5

born.a.girl

Gabbigirl the things you would need to take into account would mostly be heavily dependent on your current financial situation, and the alternative uses for that money, specifically for you.