Mothersjoy

Catholic or government Primary

Mothersjoy

I am so aware how quickly time is going and going to have to submit my enrollment form for St Cecilias soon.They have told me that fees are not increasing (at least not to 6k +) at this stage.

Camberwell South Primary has yet to have their open day.

I'm also considering Canterbury Primay (we shall move if we have to) but concerned about big open learning spaces.

Does anybody have kids currently enrolled at St Cecilia's that could give me any feedback please, or Canterbury PS or Camberwell South Primary.

Camberwell South Primary is much bigger but do the government schools not offer more in terms of music education (included) and more exposure to olympiads, competitions, extra curricular activities?

Are class sizes much bigger and I have heard differentiated learning is an important aspect when deciding on a suitable school.

How does one manage holiday care if needed?

Im fairly new to Australia and this is such a big decision. I really would appreciate any feedback.

Thank you so much

Veritas Vinum Arte

Probably more important is where you are planning on sending your child to high school. Some of the Catholic boys high schools are hard to get into and having been to a Catholic Primary can put you further up the list.

I do know people at St Cecilia's who are very happy.

• Like 1

Mothersjoy

Thank you for your response. I have a daughter, but I've heard its not automatic entry into a catholic high school.

Do you perhaps know anything about St Dominics?

Gudrun

If it was me I would enrol my child in the nearest government primary school that has a holiday program.

I believe all the schools are good and it's the luck of the draw in terms of the teacher your child gets. The convenience of proximity and a holiday program would make the difference.

• Like 6

Veritas Vinum Arte

Sorry I don't know about St Dominic's.