Double J

Two issues about having fourth child-advice needed please.

Double J

Hi all,

I am long time lurker and have plucked up the courage to post to seek your advice.

I am a professional working mum to three children under six. My eldest has started school this year and the other two aged 4 and 1 are in full-time child care. I work 25 hours a week during school hours. My husband works full time.

The problem is my husband and I are desperate for a fourth child. I adore being a mum but enjoy my work too so happy to continue.My husband works full-time. I need to work as we have a large mortgage and we can't survive on my husband's income.

I am 37, my husband is 39. Here is the problem:

• we have no family support, so not an option. childcare costs are crippling for two children in full time care. We have been funding this over the years with credit cards which we manage to avoid interest on by using balance transfer options but we are in huge debt. In short our salaries don't cover cost of living plus child care expenses in full so this debt has been creeping up since first child was born. We plan to address the debt once kids are in public primary school;
  • I had complications with the birth of my third child by c-section (all 3 births were c-sections) and OB has warned of risk of placenta accreta if we go again;

These are the only two issues stopping us, would you go for it?

Edited by Double J

Mummaduke

Hello,

I am by far an expert but I can tell you my opinion. I have 4 kids (8, 5, 20mth twins). We were trying for a third and had surprise twins.

Four kids is a lot, mine are pretty easy going especially the twins luckily and we have no health concerns so we definitely have it easier than some. I still find it a lot. They need me a lot, I feel quite stretched and just the logistics and costs are very high.