Funwith4

Help with tax file numbers

Funwith4

Hi, we own a small hospitality business. We've only had it for 7 months. After we had owned the business for just a few weeks, two of the staff members quit (it didn't end on great terms).

I've text them to ask for their TFN so I can complete their group certificates. One hasn't replied. The other has told me he doesn't need to give me his TFN because he earned less than a certain amount. Is this correct or is he being difficult? I'm a bit out of my depth with the book-work, I've never done the books for a business before so am learning as I go.

Coffeegirl

You should have gotten their TFNs before you did their first pay. If not, the tax office could have you withhold 47.5% (from memory) of their income. Did you deduct any tax from their wages before you paid them?

They need to complete a TFN declaration and send it to you so you can lodge with the ATO. If not you have technically paid them 'cash in hand'. I'm guessing the onus would be on them to declare the tax they paid.

And if he earned 'under the threshold' and you deducted tax from his pay, then he's an idiot not to give you the tax file number as he could get the tax he did pay refunded.

• Like 3

Funwith4

I did ask for his TFN early on but it was never given to me and I didn't chase it up. These are both high school kids who only worked about 10 hours a week.

My DH did the pays, I'm not sure whether he withheld tax but I assume not. I'll ask him when he's home.

JRA

I suggest you learn very quickly about what is required when you are running a business. Your accountant should be able to help you with that.

The ATO also some really good stuff on their website, but talking to your accountant is most appropriate.

• Like 4

SplashingRainbows

I suggest you learn very quickly about what is required when you are running a business. Your accountant should be able to help you with that.