Lou80

What time do you pick up your kids?

Lou80

My son (almost 2) started daycare for the first time this week and I picked him up straight after work, got there 5.30. I was surprised to find him one of the last kids there and this was combined with baby and toddler rooms. So what time do you pick up your children and how do you manage it? I also have a child in kindy finishing at 3pm (collected by grandparents on this day). Being im only working two days a week I feel it's hard to leave early plus my husband already works from home one day a week. I'm now worried it's too long a day for my little one?

ineedmorecoffee

DD is in daycare 2 days a week and I drop her off at 9am and pick her up about 5.15pm.

I'm studying so my hours are flexible and I pick her up earlier if I finish earlier.

namie

DSs 2 and 3 (almost-4 and 18 months) are dropped off at daycare (inner Melbourne but out of the CBD) at 8.15am and collected at 5.30pm, 3 days a week They are nowhere near the last kids there.

They eat a sandwich and some grapes in the car on the way home so I don't need to bother with a big dinner. They are usually given a hot meal for lunch.

DS1 (5yrs) is in FYOS and is dropped at OHSC at 745/8am and collected at 6pm, the same 3 days a week.

I do feel it is too long a day for him, but DP and I physically can't get to him any earlier and, like you, I can't finish early 3 days a week. Some days he is one of only 3 kids, other days there can be as many as 10 left.

DS1 eats whatever is left in his lunch box while I whip up something quick for dinner, then they have a quick bath, story time, and are all hopefully in bed by 730pm. Usually it's 8pm which is too late, so some days we skip the bath.

Edited by namie

opethmum

It is quite common from about 5 onwards. My CC does it, I have no issue with it.

• Like 1

aace

I usually pick up 5-5.30pm. There are definitely not the last although the numbers are certainly dwindling on the other side of 5.30pm.

12togo