madefromscratch

Local Gov Jobs - any tips?

madefromscratch

Hi there,

I'm applying for a council job. Does anyone have any tips or advice? Should I call and introduce myself to the contact person or is that just annoying to them? I've heard that you should provide a very comprehensive CV for these jobs instead of a 2 page summary, is that correct?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks for reading.

Sassy Dingo

I have a lot of experience in applying for state and federal jobs, I assume the process is the same. Do they have selection criteria? There is a bit of an art in replying to them - you need to make sure you tick off on all of them as that's what you're being assessed on. I also wouldn't really worry about contacting the contact person unless you have queries - there are selection panels for gov jobs to remove the perception of bias.

As for the CV, I've found the opposite, that a brief one is ok as you're basically marked on the selection criteria. Even if they job is the exact same one that you have done previously, it is all about how you address it in the selection criteria. Also, avoid statements such as - I have extensive technical knowledge regarding xxx. That's not going to cut it. You have to give an example as to how you demonstrated your technical knowledge using the STAR principle (situation, task, action, result). This can be quite difficult sometimes - I applied for a job last week (an internal job which I am quite capable of doing) and one of the selection criteria was 'demonstrates personal courage'. It's for a desk job! That sort of thing drives me mad. Anyway, in the course of having a rant about this to my sister I wrote a quick example of selection criteria for her, as she works non skilled jobs which only need a CV so had never experienced it: