Sign in to follow this  
isla35

So happy but got the blues

isla35

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here - am around seven weeks with my first and although absolutely elated, I also have the blues in a big bad way! It is not terribly unusual I guess as I was made redundant just prior to getting married in early March and haven't been able to find a job. I've just found out I'm pregnant with an (almost) honeymoon baby and it's everything I've ever wanted, yet I can't stop crying.

I'm mourning the loss of my career and struggling with not being able to tell anyone our news. Of course I now cannot apply for full time jobs which makes things extra tricky!

My hubby is being simply amazing so I'm lucky in that way.

I've love to hear from anyone else who is feeling like me at a time when I feel like I should be on top of the world...

Thanx

zrello

I'm due in September with my second, and not in this group, but just wanted to say hang in there. The first few months are awful with all the hormones raging & all the physical & mental changes you go through. Be gentle with yourself & use the time to start thinking of alternative jobs that may fit in around a baby. Congratulations on your pregnancy, & remember it may be end of something, but that also means its the beginning of many new and wonderful things too.

eks81

It really can be quite an overwhelming time, and completely normal to feel stupidly happy, but also very emotional as well, especially as you said, with the changes that are going to happen with your life. There is no need to mourn your career, there is no reason you can't continue that just because you've had a baby, it just gets put on hold for a while.