The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 06:13 AM
QUOTE (elese @ 20/01/2012, 12:33 AM)

hey any adive been trying to conecive
The biggest one would to relax but that is so difficult, do you know how long your cycle is? it is good to be able to know, most of us take our tempreture in the morning to help figure when ovulation is as well as opks also just start bding from day cd9 orr 10 any way hope your stay is short goodluck

oh and if you need any help just ask
Afm CD 17 im guessing i will O tomorrow
ParadiseT
20/01/2012, 08:10 AM
Hi! I'm new here - have posted in a couple of spots, but thought that I might just jump on in here - if that's ok!
I've recently come off BCP and this is the start of our TTC journey - although I'm still trying to get across all the lingo!
I'm not sure at this point what the CD thing is?
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 08:23 AM
QUOTE (ParadiseT @ 20/01/2012, 08:10 AM)

Hi! I'm new here - have posted in a couple of spots, but thought that I might just jump on in here - if that's ok!
I've recently come off BCP and this is the start of our TTC journey - although I'm still trying to get across all the lingo!
I'm not sure at this point what the CD thing is?
CD is cycle day so cd1 is the day you get af ect. But welcome hope your stay is short
ParadiseT
20/01/2012, 09:06 AM
QUOTE (NadiaSurridge1991 @ 20/01/2012, 09:23 AM)

CD is cycle day so cd1 is the day you get af ect. But welcome hope your stay is short
Thank you! So I guess that means I'm at CD4 in (I think) a 33 day cycle.
And thanks for the well wishes - I do too

I hope your journey is brief as well!
Vanilla-Cupcakes
20/01/2012, 09:13 AM
Well I think AF just started, on CD 19!
Oh well, hopefully it's an actual AF and not just random spotting, because I want to get back into regular TTC mode. I always felt I was out of this month anyway, fingers crossed for feb!
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 09:17 AM
QUOTE (ParadiseT @ 20/01/2012, 09:06 AM)

Thank you! So I guess that means I'm at CD4 in (I think) a 33 day cycle.
And thanks for the well wishes - I do too

I hope your journey is brief as well!
well after 6 months I hope so too
geishagirl
20/01/2012, 11:05 AM
Hope you're having a happy Friday (or whatever day it is for those o/s)! Sorry for lack of personals, am on phone during a brief lunch break.
Wow, Phoenix, thats a bit of a shock! Congratulations! I don't mean to be insensitive but just want to check that you are genuinely ok and happy about this, as it sounded like you weren't feeling great about TTC-ing, your mental health and your relationship in some recent posts? I really hope that things seem brighter for you now and that the pregnancy marks a happier chapter for you and your DH.
AFM, tested with an IC yesterday and got a BFN, but only 9dpo (I think) so probably too early anyway. Still just don't have the feeling that this is my cycle though, too much disruption in the early part of the month with flying across time zone, jetlag, difficulties pinpointing O etc. Have sore boobs and feel incredibly tired (as usual!) but more than likely just P on the way - no cramping or increased appetite yet though, which are my normal signs!
Good luck all and have a great weekend. I'll be working for most of it, booooooo!
babyinabackpack
20/01/2012, 11:29 AM
Good morning all!!
Guess who is FINALLY on holidays!?!?! YAY!!
phoenix - Wow! Congratulations! I really hope everything goes okay for you! And, I would probably be going to a different doctor than the one who gave you the depo provera shot to confirm your PG. If they aren't capable of asking or doing the relevant tests before giving you the shot, there is no way I would be letting them near my BFP!
superfruity - Thankfully, it looks like my stupidly early O was a false call. temps dropped again the next day and have remained low since.. CD12 today so feeling much better. Hoping to O around CD13-14 again.
Glad to hear all your tests went well and there was nothing residual. I wonder what it was!?! Did the doctors have any ideas?
Re yoga, I'm not a big user of DVD's so sorry, I can't really help.. My suggestion would be to attend a couple of classes in different styles - hatha, ashtanga, etc, see which style you like (I teach and much prefer Hatha which focuses on balancing and strengthening the core, rather than in burning calories like Ashtanga does), and then find a video in that style to practice with at home.
Good luck! And I hope you have an awesome time with your friend!
vanilla - Yay! I hope it is AF for you! Hopefully the early AF is your body getting rid of the remainder of those hormones, and you will be back on track for a normal cycle and new BFP next month!! smiles!
Kmg82 - I find it hard to keep up with this thread if I miss ONE day! I can't imagine how long it must take you to catch up if you are only here every week!! lol.. Your AF and my AF must be related - mine showed up 6 days early last cycle too.. not fun..
cuba - glad to hear you are starting to feel better hun! I totally know that feeling of wanting to hold onto every little bit of hope, even if you know it's not right.. I get that alot too - hence why I am always trying to convince myself that every EPS-like sympton I have isn't EPS.. Otherwise it's just sooooo hard.
I hope you can relieve some of the stress of TTC through your swim-squad! It sounds awesome! I miss swimming!!
Thylacine - alot of people haven't been able to get OPK's to work properly for them, so don't worry if they aren't working for you. Give temping a try, and if that doesnt work, there is always checking your CM! Good luck in finding what helps you!
paradiseT and elese - welcome! I hope your stay here is short!
Nadia and paradise T - CD1 is actually considered the first FULL day of your AF. So if you get your AF in the afternoon or at night, your CD1 isn't until the next day. I didn't know this until recently either, but it actually meant I was alot more regular than I thought I was!!
geishagirl - Hoping you tested too early!! Btw, what do you mean by "japanglish brits abroad"? Are you part Japanese!?! I grew up in Japan and spent a total of 13 years there! (almost as long as I have lived in Australia!) In alot of ways, my way of thinking is more Japanese than it is western. I'd be interested in hearing your story!
Well, i'm finally on holidays! Thank goodness for Chinese New Year!! Last day of work was yesterday and I don't go back until the 30th! Yay!! Then I have 3 weeks of work until we head back to Australia for 2 weeks! YAY! If the weather stays nice we are planning on riding our scooters and attempting a lap of the country! (It's only small - smaller than Tasmania I think!?)
It turns out I didn't O on CD9 either. Thankfully!! I'm on CD12 today and heading back to Dr Sun tonight. Hoping to O around CD13-14 again this month! We have been BD'ing every 2 days for the moment, so hopefully we actually have a chance this month.
Have a great weekend all, and if I do go camping, well I expect to see lots of BFP's by the time I get back!!
新年快樂 (xin nian kuai le) Happy Chinese New Year!
eta: post to geishagirl - we must have been posting at the same time!
ParadiseT
20/01/2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE (babyinabackpack @ 20/01/2012, 12:29 PM)

Good morning all!!
phoenix - Wow! Congratulations! I really hope everything goes okay for you! And, I would probably be going to a different doctor than the one who gave you the depo provera shot to confirm your PG. If they aren't capable of asking or doing the relevant tests before giving you the shot, there is no way I would be letting them near my BFP!
superfruity - Thankfully, it looks like my stupidly early O was a false call. temps dropped again the next day and have remained low since.. CD12 today so feeling much better. Hoping to O around CD13-14 again.
Glad to hear all your tests went well and there was nothing residual. I wonder what it was!?! Did the doctors have any ideas?
Re yoga, I'm not a big user of DVD's so sorry, I can't really help.. My suggestion would be to attend a couple of classes in different styles - hatha, ashtanga, etc, see which style you like (I teach and much prefer Hatha which focuses on balancing and strengthening the core, rather than in burning calories like Ashtanga does), and then find a video in that style to practice with at home.
Good luck! And I hope you have an awesome time with your friend!
vanilla - Yay! I hope it is AF for you! Hopefully the early AF is your body getting rid of the remainder of those hormones, and you will be back on track for a normal cycle and new BFP next month!! smiles!
Kmg82 - I find it hard to keep up with this thread if I miss ONE day! I can't imagine how long it must take you to catch up if you are only here every week!! lol.. Your AF and my AF must be related - mine showed up 6 days early last cycle too.. not fun..
cuba - glad to hear you are starting to feel better hun! I totally know that feeling of wanting to hold onto every little bit of hope, even if you know it's not right.. I get that alot too - hence why I am always trying to convince myself that every EPS-like sympton I have isn't EPS.. Otherwise it's just sooooo hard.
I hope you can relieve some of the stress of TTC through your swim-squad! It sounds awesome! I miss swimming!!
Thylacine - alot of people haven't been able to get OPK's to work properly for them, so don't worry if they aren't working for you. Give temping a try, and if that doesnt work, there is always checking your CM! Good luck in finding what helps you!
paradiseT and elese - welcome! I hope your stay here is short!
Nadia and paradise T - CD1 is actually considered the first FULL day of your AF. So if you get your AF in the afternoon or at night, your CD1 isn't until the next day. I didn't know this until recently either, but it actually meant I was alot more regular than I thought I was!!
geishagirl - Hoping you tested too early!! Btw, what do you mean by "japanglish brits abroad"? Are you part Japanese!?! I grew up in Japan and spent a total of 13 years there! (almost as long as I have lived in Australia!) In alot of ways, my way of thinking is more Japanese than it is western. I'd be interested in hearing your story!
Well, i'm finally on holidays! Thank goodness for Chinese New Year!! Last day of work was yesterday and I don't go back until the 30th! Yay!! Then I have 3 weeks of work until we head back to Australia for 2 weeks! YAY! If the weather stays nice we are planning on riding our scooters and attempting a lap of the country! (It's only small - smaller than Tasmania I think!?)
It turns out I didn't O on CD9 either. Thankfully!! I'm on CD12 today and heading back to Dr Sun tonight. Hoping to O around CD13-14 again this month! We have been BD'ing every 2 days for the moment, so hopefully we actually have a chance this month.
Have a great weekend all, and if I do go camping, well I expect to see lots of BFP's by the time I get back!!
新年快樂 (xin nian kuai le) Happy Chinese New Year!
eta: post to geishagirl - we must have been posting at the same time!
Thanks for the welcome - hope you are having a great time on holidays and good luck for this month!!!
Thanks for the info re CD - it's so helpful to be able to chat with people on the same journey!
Sunshiney
20/01/2012, 01:36 PM
Okay, time to vent...
I feel like screaming, but had a cry instead. I was congratulating a 5 months UTD work colleague on finding out the sex of her baby (#3). She turned the conversation around on me and wanted to know when I was thinking about getting UTD. I gave some evasive answer. She then said that it's something I definitely want to do before I turn 30 because it's just so physically demanding being a mum. I said, "oh well, I've already missed that boat". Then she enquired about how old I am and told me how I really need to start thinking about TTC because it's getting too late and how I really need to get a move on in that department, etc, etc...
#$&*@#!! Does she think I'm so stupidly unaware that the older you get, the harder it is and the more risks there are? It's not always just as easy as deciding you want to have a baby and then popping one out!
Yes, my dear work colleague, in an ideal world I'd be UTD too by now. But it's not an ideal world and there's a heck of a lot of people out there who can't just 'pop one out' when they decide the time is right! Have some awareness!!
I felt like giving her my real reason. Not for her sympathy, but to enlighten her that there is actually people out there struggling with TTC and she actually knows one!
Okay, vent over. Thanks ladies - I feel better now for sharing.
Sunshiney
20/01/2012, 02:32 PM
Sorry,
ParadiseT and
Elese, I should have said hello.
Welcome to our group. As you can see, we have our ups & downs now and then, but we're all here 'cos were TTC#1. Hope your stay with us is nice & short.
Sunshiney
20/01/2012, 02:41 PM
And
Phoenix - wow! Congratulations! I'm assuming that you're both happy about this? FX that you and your DH get through all the lumps and bumps of pregnancy as a couple who grow closer and happier as the journey goes on. I often see people commenting on having depression and being a mum, so i'm sure there are lots of people on EB who have experience with the sorts of things you might be go through. So, definitely reach out for support to find those people if you feel that will help your journey. I'm sure being UTD can have its tough times, but surrounding yourself with all love and support has gotta help, and you've got good things happening with your man and his mum being there for you.
Much love and hugs for a sticky bub!!
PoppyM
20/01/2012, 02:47 PM
oh Sunshiney i hate that.
actually you should say something.
i had that happen to me a couple of months ago. i got told "well if you want to start a family you just need to get motivated, stop being scared about it, and you get pregnant!" rrrgh i was so upset.
after i had taken a few minutes to compose myself i just said to her that if thats how she thinks people get pregnant than she was very nieve and that if it was that easy maybe certain people in this office would be pregnant instead of watching others bask in it. you know not every one can just click there fingers and get pregnant and then pop it out 9 months later.
you could say something like that. a little b**chy i know but like you it went right through me like a knife and i just wanted to send it back before she could screw the handle if you know what i mean. it didn't directly say me just other women in the office, which gave me 2 points to her - first, i could be talking about someone else and she has missed the gossip and is out of the loop and secondly it really pointed out to her how hurtful what she was saying had been.
anyway thats what i did, hope it helps you. otherwise my only advise is to wish a long painful labour for her. still b**chy i know but its done in your head so no-one need now. he he he.
to everyone else - i will post more later, am having a bit of a crappy week so have been a bit absent. just wanted to let Sunshiney now she is not alone since probably feeling a bit sh*tty to after that comment as well.
hope everyone else is having a great week.
yah its friday though!!!!
Cotchi
20/01/2012, 03:02 PM
QUOTE (katie11 @ 06/01/2012, 01:03 PM)

Welcome to our TTC#1 buddy group!
We are a group of friendly ladies who are trying to conceive our first babies.
We are here to give each other support,
a shoulder to cry on, an ear when we feel like a rant and lots of hugs!
If you are also on the same journey as us,
please feel free to join our group,
just jump in and introduce yourself.
Please PM me as to where you are in your cycle and I will add you to the list
(you don't have to be on the list though!).
We look forward to chatting with you!
Newbies
Mumma freedlesThalandria
Heylee
AF
superfruity
ChilliDog
johanasweet
Meg88
1babyplease
Maci2011
georgieebc
Mozzie81
Mummy2012
Waiting to O
Cams
katie11
amyc1981
geishagirl
CubaLulu
Thylacine
Mrs Roo
2WW
(testing date in brackets)
Poppy M
Chief Pankcake Maker
expatchick
babydreaming
kmg82
NicoleTTC1
babyinabackpack
Kabrsi
amyc1981
Jo1313
Doll13
N @K
njs4dks
Mojo11
cat-ttc
Limbo Land
AnnaBee87
Ninja99
Kateep1
IVF Land
Taking
time out
seaside_shells Sunshiney
MagsJee
pennyforurthoughts
Last
(5 Most Recent)
louiseos taurusttc
ABTTC
Chippa Liz
Ingio Montoya
For those who have just
got their
, the follow on thread is TTC#1 Grads Buddy Group. As TTC BG
area guidelines state that once a BFP is received/confirmed you need to stop
posting in this thread.
Thread question - any ideas???
Hi there,
Thinking about joining this group. I'm not really sure how to post and dont understand the lingo. But I think I'm CD1 today, so unfair. I'm 34 and have been trying for about a year, but its been hard with shift work and I thought I was regular but now my cycle seems to be anyway between 24-27 days, mostly 27.
Annoyed with my work collegues who assume I should be pregnant already and a few have even patted my belly and said finallly your pregnant even though I'm not!! And I dont think I'm even overweight (been married for 4 years, but most dont even know I'm trying..)
So anyway hopefully looking for a supportive group to share with. Thanks.
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 03:25 PM
QUOTE (babyinabackpack @ 20/01/2012, 11:29 AM)

Good morning all!!
yay for holidays
I didn't know that so my cycles are only 30 days not 31
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 03:29 PM
QUOTE (Cotchi @ 20/01/2012, 03:02 PM)

Hi there,
Thinking about joining this group. I'm not really sure how to post and dont understand the lingo. But I think I'm CD1 today, so unfair. I'm 34 and have been trying for about a year, but its been hard with shift work and I thought I was regular but now my cycle seems to be anyway between 24-27 days, mostly 27.
Annoyed with my work collegues who assume I should be pregnant already and a few have even patted my belly and said finallly your pregnant even though I'm not!! And I dont think I'm even overweight (been married for 4 years, but most dont even know I'm trying..)
So anyway hopefully looking for a supportive group to share with. Thanks.
Welcome feel free to ask anything you wish there is a list of abveriations. I think most of us have that problem with the work place
ParadiseT
20/01/2012, 03:54 PM
Sunshiney - Ack.... hate those conversations. Awkward, frustrating... just want to let loose, but walk away steaming. Yep, had that experience once or twice.
Vanilla-Cupcakes
20/01/2012, 04:04 PM
Hello to the newbies!

Just had to vent my disgust...
While shopping today, this 50-60 year old guy walked past me, very closely, slowed down to look down my clevage, made some grunting sound, and then walked on. He then stood over at a card stand and kept looking me up and down. Then whats worse, is a young girl (about 5), walks up and says 'which one should we get daddy'. He was a father and this is how he behaves?
I almost lost it.
Me being me though, I didnt have the guts to say anything. Its always as I walk away that I wish I said 'are you right you dirty b*st*rd?'
Gross.
ChilliDog
20/01/2012, 04:45 PM
Hi everyone...i havent had much time to post recently so hope everyone is going ok!
Thanks to those that posted RE my question about CM...i dont think i want to expel the precious stuff i'm trying to get from DF so will not worry about tracking CM for now.
ParadiseT, Cotchi and Elese - welcome to our thread. I very much hope you all have a nice short stay here!!
Phoenix - CONGRATULATIONS on the BFP!! I hope it's what you really want and that you and your DH are very happy about the news. Fingers crossed for you it's nice and sticky!!!
Vanilla - I'm glad for you that AF has arrived now...it sounds like you're eager to get back up and try again. I really really hope that Feb is your month and it's a sticky one. As for gross men like that in shopping centres...i would look him up and down slowly like he would do to a woman...then have an obvious giggle and walk away. That should bring him down a peg or 2 and make him feel like an *ss!
Geishagirl - Sounds like it might be a little bit early for a BFP at this point. Give it a few more days then try again!! I usually wait until AF should arrive before deciding to test as i think i would go insane seeing BFN after BFN. Good thing as it's saving me money not buying heaps of tests...I havent used a single one from the packet i brought just in case lol.
Sunshiney - Big big hugs to you. It's just so horrible and insensitive when people say stuff like that isnt it. I have a work collegue who's said to me a few times i should hurry up and have a baby and that time is running out. I just usually divert the conversation then walk away...usually feeling pretty upset as well. This woman doesnt have kids (and is past the point of having any) so has no idea how hard it can be!! Also my boss (who i know outside of work) has been asking me 2 questions for the last 12months or so...first question when are you getting engaged/married? Now that thats happened/happening it's just the one question...how come you're not preggers yet! I just tell him we want to get married first then change the topic. Problem is after the wedding (late April) i know the focus will be on me getting pregnant and the questions wont stop! Grrrrrrr.....
Hi to everyone else...hope you are all doing well!
AFM...nothing much to report. I should be Oing any day now so fingers crossed we get the timing right and get that BFP in a couple of weeks!
Has anyone looked at or done the Michelle Bridges 12 week body challenge (think thats what it's called)? I need to lose a few kgs and am thinking of trying to get DF onboard with me and doing it together. I figure it will only help with TTC and there are many other positives in trying to get fit and a bit more healthy. Plus i'm getting married and would like to lose a couple of kgs for that (dont we all lol). Just wondering though if it might be a bit full on...i'm pretty unfit right now.
Cotchi
20/01/2012, 06:40 PM
Hi guys,
Thanks for welcoming me to ur group. Where is the list of abbreviations? Good luck to everyone trying and good luck to one's that have concieved too. LOL Cotchi
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 06:54 PM
QUOTE (Cotchi @ 20/01/2012, 06:40 PM)

Hi guys,
Thanks for welcoming me to ur group. Where is the list of abbreviations? Good luck to everyone trying and good luck to one's that have concieved too. LOL Cotchi
here you go
http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...l=abbreviations and here
http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=877285
Cotchi
20/01/2012, 07:21 PM
QUOTE (Vanilla-Cupcakes @ 20/01/2012, 05:04 PM)

Hello to the newbies!
Just had to vent my disgust...
While shopping today, this 50-60 year old guy walked past me, very closely, slowed down to look down my clevage, made some grunting sound, and then walked on. He then stood over at a card stand and kept looking me up and down. Then whats worse, is a young girl (about 5), walks up and says 'which one should we get daddy'. He was a father and this is how he behaves?
I almost lost it.
Me being me though, I didnt have the guts to say anything. Its always as I walk away that I wish I said 'are you right you dirty b*st*rd?'
Gross.
Hi Vanilla cupcakes,
i apologise in advance cant spell and my typing is lets say, not advanced.. Anyway good for you A) you obviously have a great chest too look at amd B) you didn't say anything in front of the kids.. What a b*st*rd though (hope I can say that on this website.._) XXX
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 08:28 PM
Well I Oed today so im now in my ttw testing on the 3rd of feb and it is 14daya away yes im counting down well good luck eeveryone else
babyinabackpack
20/01/2012, 08:34 PM
Welcome
cotchi - I hope you enjoy your stay in our little group. We are all pretty friendly in here!
sunshiney - WOW! I seriously can't believe how rude some people are.. I can only hope that she genuinely has no idea how some people struggle to conceive.. I know alot of people who just presume it happens first time round.. I have also been in that situation a couple of times, and usually just tried to divert the conversation, but lately i'm being honest. This is for 2 reasons: A) I hope it makes the person making the comment feel awkward so that they wont be quite so presumptuous next time and B) because I really think it is important to bring awareness to infertility. I haven't done anything wrong, so I have no reason to be ashamed or embarassed. Maybe you could try something like: You are right, it really is as easy as that isn't it. Why have I bothered to go to my GP, witch doctor and FS all this time, when I should have just spoken to you for your advice instead..
Although that is maybe a tad b*tchy.. lol
vanilla - another pet hate! Seriously, I know it's a natural reaction of a male to look, but seriously, doing it blatantly and in such a condescending way it just beyond a joke. I am also one for saying things, but it's not that easy when there is a child around.. He really should know better.
I hope it's not affecting you too much.
BTW, have you seen the "are you looking at my chest?" video on youtube?! It's quite funny actually..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sF7K5bsj7mkAFM, just got back from Dr Sun. Nothing new to report today.. just the usual needles in the legs, and more herbs..
However, I DID pass my drivers license test today so that is pretty exciting!! The funny thing was out of the 28 who took the test today, 15 failed!! Then they got back on their motorbikes and rode home.. unlicensed.. right past the police station.. lol
eta link to youtube video
Vanilla-Cupcakes
20/01/2012, 09:18 PM
Biabp, you made me smile with that video! He's a quick thinker!
And YAY for your drivers license!!!!!
Vanilla-Cupcakes
20/01/2012, 09:22 PM
And thanks cotchi and chillidog!

Cotchi...I think I need to buy some higher cut tops now! I normally had small boobs, but since I became pregnant in December, they went huge! Then I miscarried, but life left me with the bigger size! Guess its only fair I got one perk out of a sh*t situation!
Meg88
20/01/2012, 09:46 PM
Welcome to our newbies, I hope your TTC journeys will be short, and do feel free to ask/talk about anything, nothing is TMI (too much info).
Sunshiney I was appalled at the conversation you had to endure. I'm so sorry it upset you, and I know how hard it is, in the moment, to decide how to handle something so awkward. I like BIABP suggestions though the bi#%*y and the awarness routes.
That pervert guy really grosses me out too. It's one thing to see somebody checking you out, he'll that can even be flattering, but to be so blatant about it and grunt! Eewwwww
AFM: I have my 1st session back at yoga in over a yr. I'm really looking forward to it and hopeing it might help my back which Is super sore after standing for more than 40hrs this week. Gonna try for a cinema date with DH one night too. Working Sunday
AnnaBee87
20/01/2012, 10:43 PM
QUOTE (babyinabackpack @ 18/01/2012, 05:03 PM)

annabee - Your step-son is cute indeed!! Does he live with you guys aswell? Any word on what's happening yet?
Thanks
babyinabackpack 
He lives with his mum and we haven't seen him since around Oct last year. His mother said we can't see him as we haven't paid child support in a while, but we have no legal agreement and have been living off one income and struggling to pay rent etc. She is just a B***H. She also has a little baby and I don't think she deserves him.
As for my stupid body, I am getting an ultrasound on Tuesday arvo as it was the only time I could get an appointment around work. It has stopped hurting though so I am wondering if the cyst ruptured like the last one and it is now dissolving like the last one did. I will be annoyed if it has and I waste $180 getting the exam!!
QUOTE (PhoenixSeraphina @ 19/01/2012, 03:40 PM)

BFP!!!!!!!!!
Cant believe it! And i just had the depo provera shot!
Ive only tested today, one day late!
Phoenix - OM*G I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!! I actually burst out and told my DP about it!!! I really really really hope this is it for you and it sticks and holds tight

I will have my FX that the depo provera shot does nothing to harm your little growth

nurture it!!!
Iliketoflounce
20/01/2012, 11:01 PM
for those taking EPO or thinking about it have u read this i just found it, it says to take it fron cd1 untill O then stop taking it till af arrives again
http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index...20022215AA8iTuM
Cams
21/01/2012, 09:42 AM
Big hugs to everyone having a not so great week. Can't believe the comments of some people. Thankfully I haven't had to deal with that so far. I get questioned by my colleagues as to whether we'll have kids soon and I just say something fairly vague. In my field of work though everyone gets a tad clucky and always wait for the next person to get pregnant.
Thinking I'll finally get my positive opk today on cd 19 which will be the same as last month I think. At least this time around there has been some well timed bding so am really hoping this will be our month. From Dh comment last night it Sounds like he's finally done some reading on conception which is great. Also had a conversation this week about scans during pregnancy and dh is so against having a disabled child, at least if he gives me grief about supplements I take I can use that as a reason to help prevent issues.
You're totally correct Nadia about EPO. I only take it from day 1 until I get my positive opk.
Hope everyone has a lovely weekend
Sunshiney
21/01/2012, 10:22 AM
Thank you for your wise words. I was surprised how much the words hurt - even last night I was still upset and talking to DH about it.
I'm feeling better now. But I thought a lot about why it upset me so much. It just felt like being kicked when I was down because I'm very aware of my age ATM (it's my 32nd birthday on Wed) and I could have started TTC 2-3 years earlier. But, for many reasons, I didn't.
So, I guess it's a sore spot that I sometimes feel a bit guilty about because I could have made different choices. I chose to spend some time just being happily married because I saw from my own parents the stress of having kids before you've got a really strong relationship and I also wanted to reach a certain stage in my career before taking a break. Plus, I constantly get nagged by my mum about this and warned of all the problems older mums face, so I'm very aware of the risks that I face. But I just never knew that it wouldn't be so easy for me to get a BFP. I didn't even know that I had endo until recently! Plus, as DH always tells me, it is what it is and I can't change that.
So I guess she hit a raw nerve. I just wasn't expecting the conversation, so I hadn't prepared a response. But next time, I will say something to make these women realise how stupidly insensitive they're being and hopefully make them consider how they'll better give their 'advice' to other people.
The funniest/saddest part of the conversation was that it ended with my colleague telling me that I really need to get online and read up on all the pre-conception advice on xx website. I was just left thinking "OMG!! You have no idea how much I've read, how many tests I've had done or how #^&%$ hard I'm trying to make this happen!!". I am an ultra-prepared type person - I started reading-up on TTC in Oct 2010, stopped BCP in Jan 2011 to give me 6 months lead-in time before TTC and have done everything possible since June 2011 to make this happen.
But, I have to laugh at that comment though - if she only knew how much I know about TTC and what I've been through and what I'm now doing.... she'd probably feel totally stupid!
Now for other stuff... reading through all the posts this morning I realised that there were more new members than I realised yesterday, so hello to all the newbies!
And congrats to
Biap on your license!!
Also a question for everyone (this is my ultra-prepared planning coming into play. combined with my determined positive outlook for 2012) - have you thought about what changes, if any, you'll make to your exercise regime in the first 12 weeks once you get that BFP? I ask 'cos DH and I discussed it the other day and he was a bit surprised that I want to keep doing yoga & pilates during the first trimester. If I get tired, I'll cut out my walking to/from work, but I don't see the need to stop yoga or pilates, maybe just change a few of the exercises and be aware of the intensity.
What are your thoughts?
Meg88
21/01/2012, 11:55 AM
Sunshiney, I think all your exercise sounds fine. And of course with Yoga there are different degrees of intensity for each move so just stay mindful. I guess you could also let your instructors know if you were at all concerned.
dr superfruity
21/01/2012, 01:55 PM
sunshiney...
Last time all i did was do less intensity... I still did my 45-60 minute elliptical, bike, and free weight routine just made sure that my heart rate never went over 140bpm... I think the most important part is to keep cool apparently if you get too hot all the blood gets drawn away from the bub and that's noo good... I have now adopted a waiting to 0 - 2ww routine... regular and medium to high intensity worksouts while waiting to O and then low-medium intensity in 2ww... as for Yoga and pilates... my pg exercise book said you are fine laying on your back in the first trimester but should stop after 12 weeks or do them halfsitting up with a pillow behind you back (so no more "real" crunches or leg raises etc).
and anotehr thing I started last time were kegel exercises and starting to train my lower back muscles and also concentrating more on my arms that eventually will need to carry bub around all day...
as meg said just tell your instructors or work at your own pace (good instructors tell you that anyways).. and your hubby shouldnt worry... exercise is actually good for you during pregnancy...
Vulli
21/01/2012, 04:07 PM
Hi guys,
Went to the Dr. yesterday and he said I might miscarry because I had the Depo Prevera injection and I am on an anti-depressant called Cymbalta. He also said that the progesterone may help sustain the pregnancy. He sent me for an ultrasound, except they won't do it until I am 6 weeks pregnant, so I have to wait for a week.
My period is a no-show, 3 tests have been

and I have sore breasts. Occasionally I have a slight feeling in my back and I have a bit of bloating in my abdomen, but that is it just yet.
I really want to go to the ultrasound to see if everything is the right size and looks normal.
Right now it is very hard to believe I am pg.
I never did chart or temp, and I used an OPK last month and BD'd during New Year's and was definitely not expecting a BFP this time. That is why I thought we could have a break.
Anyway, not much I can do until I go for my first ultrasound and they tell us if its good or bad.
I really hate thinking I could misscarry, but a lot of people go through it.
I just want to feel at peace but I guess I won't for many many weeks when we know our baby is safe and healthy.
Liz.
Thylacine
21/01/2012, 05:20 PM
Hi ladies, hope you are all enjoying the weekend
Welcome newbies! Hope your stay here is short and sweet.
Phoenix - how worrying for you. I have everything crossed for a healthy pregnancy for you.
Sunshiny - Good question about the exercise. I'm not doing yoga at the moment, but when I was, my instructor was always very clear in asking if people who were pregnant or had injuries to tell her about them and then she would get them to do some things differently to the rest of the class.
I have a hula-hoop that I sometimes use for exercise which I have been wondering about. It's not very heavy but as it's rolling around my belly it just seems like maybe it's not a good idea. WDYT?
Iliketoflounce
21/01/2012, 07:55 PM
I think i found a way to distract myself from getting my hopes up over the 2 weeks i tell my self there is a 50% chance i could be pg i hope it works this time
Cotchi
21/01/2012, 08:17 PM
QUOTE (Sunshiney @ 21/01/2012, 11:22 AM)

Thank you for your wise words. I was surprised how much the words hurt - even last night I was still upset and talking to DH about it.
I'm feeling better now. But I thought a lot about why it upset me so much. It just felt like being kicked when I was down because I'm very aware of my age ATM (it's my 32nd birthday on Wed) and I could have started TTC 2-3 years earlier. But, for many reasons, I didn't.
So, I guess it's a sore spot that I sometimes feel a bit guilty about because I could have made different choices. I chose to spend some time just being happily married because I saw from my own parents the stress of having kids before you've got a really strong relationship and I also wanted to reach a certain stage in my career before taking a break. Plus, I constantly get nagged by my mum about this and warned of all the problems older mums face, so I'm very aware of the risks that I face. But I just never knew that it wouldn't be so easy for me to get a BFP. I didn't even know that I had endo until recently! Plus, as DH always tells me, it is what it is and I can't change that.
So I guess she hit a raw nerve. I just wasn't expecting the conversation, so I hadn't prepared a response. But next time, I will say something to make these women realise how stupidly insensitive they're being and hopefully make them consider how they'll better give their 'advice' to other people.
The funniest/saddest part of the conversation was that it ended with my colleague telling me that I really need to get online and read up on all the pre-conception advice on xx website. I was just left thinking "OMG!! You have no idea how much I've read, how many tests I've had done or how #^&%$ hard I'm trying to make this happen!!". I am an ultra-prepared type person - I started reading-up on TTC in Oct 2010, stopped BCP in Jan 2011 to give me 6 months lead-in time before TTC and have done everything possible since June 2011 to make this happen.
But, I have to laugh at that comment though - if she only knew how much I know about TTC and what I've been through and what I'm now doing.... she'd probably feel totally stupid!
Now for other stuff... reading through all the posts this morning I realised that there were more new members than I realised yesterday, so hello to all the newbies!
And congrats to
Biap on your license!!
Also a question for everyone (this is my ultra-prepared planning coming into play. combined with my determined positive outlook for 2012) - have you thought about what changes, if any, you'll make to your exercise regime in the first 12 weeks once you get that BFP? I ask 'cos DH and I discussed it the other day and he was a bit surprised that I want to keep doing yoga & pilates during the first trimester. If I get tired, I'll cut out my walking to/from work, but I don't see the need to stop yoga or pilates, maybe just change a few of the exercises and be aware of the intensity.
What are your thoughts?
Hi there,
I now exactly how you feel. I'm 34, been married for four years but because of money, buying a house, lifestyle choices I have only started to try (well a year ago now). But my work collegues all think I should be pregnant by now, I've even had people (about half a dozen now) pat my belly and say "your finally pregnant" congrats, and I'm not even overweight..
And I'm a nurse too, you think in my profession they would be more sensitive but they are not.. Your still young, so ignore the comments, like I have tried to do and focus on having fun with your man! LOL XXXX
Iliketoflounce
21/01/2012, 08:46 PM
QUOTE (Cotchi @ 21/01/2012, 08:17 PM)

Hi there,
I now exactly how you feel. I'm 34, been married for four years but because of money, buying a house, lifestyle choices I have only started to try (well a year ago now). But my work collegues all think I should be pregnant by now, I've even had people (about half a dozen now) pat my belly and say "your finally pregnant" congrats, and I'm not even overweight..
And I'm a nurse too, you think in my profession they would be more sensitive but they are not.. Your still young, so ignore the comments, like I have tried to do and focus on having fun with your man! LOL XXXX
I have a small pudge which pops out when i O so today my friend said so how far r u grrrrrr cant wait till she gets married and see how she feels
Thylacine
22/01/2012, 07:52 AM
Ha ha, Nadia and Cotchi I have had exactly the same thing! I'm fairly thin except that I have a bit of a pot belly and the other day I was in Myer looking at baby clothes and the sales lady came up to me and asked when the baby was due! So embarrassing, I didn't know what to say.
stitchandseed
22/01/2012, 10:46 AM
Phoenix: Congratulations, that is really something quite amazing. I don't know a huge amount about depo provera but you can't be the first person who has been in your situation. FX that everything works out.
Vanilla: That is so gross, that poor little girl when her father has that little respect for women she is going to have a tough time growing up secure, happy and well-adjusted.
Thylacine: what do you mean the OPKs haven't given you a clear answer? I used a digital one this month, which gave me a positive, but yet the line on the stick wasn't as dark as the control line (but it was darker than the day before) so maybe it doesn't need to be as dark as we think? I had also been using them whenever but after reading the instructions properly started making sure I only tested when I hadn't been to the bathroom in the last four hours and hadn't drunk a lot of water the first of which is pretty challenging for me with my small bladder! I also think I wouldn't have interpreted that test as a positive if the smiley face hadn't come up. They are expensive though
Cams: I think your cycle sounds similar to mine and might be testing around the same time as me this month? I had my positive OPK on the 19th (CD18) trying to hold out for the 31st although I have this feeling that if I do get a BFP this cycle it won't be until the 3 of Feb. Call me crazy but a horoscope not so long ago highlighted the 3rd as a significant date (usually I'm such a skeptic) and that date just seems to keep cropping up.
Sunshiney: I haven't really planned what I will do with exercise, I guess maybe cycle instead of run being lower impact, and not as sweaty! Then walking/swimming later on. I hadn't even thought to ease off during the 2ww to be honest. Running is kind of my go to exercise to keep weight off so I'm trying to lose a bit of weight before I can't anymore.
AFM on holiday and staying with family, not HPTs lying around tempting me and nieces to distract me during the 2ww. Just want to know! Swing between being optimistic and thinking 'I can't be'.
Baby dust to all! xx
Ninja99
22/01/2012, 01:13 PM
Hi ladies
I've got a lot of reading to do to catch up, so I'll post a quick hello first. I've been absent since before the wedding in November when things got too busy. Wedding and honeymoon were lovely. Sadly body is still not playing the game since going of BCP in July. Have only had 3 days of very light spotting in the last 6 months, which may not have even been AF. Temp are all over the shop and no CM to speak of (I've added my FF charts below). With immediate family having PCOS I bit the bullet and went to my Dr last week. He has sent me for some tests, but won't have results for a few weeks. Hope to get things sorted soon.
Ok, now to catch up on the last few months.
baby dreaming
22/01/2012, 01:16 PM
I think I need to get on here more often, there is sooo much to catch up on!!
BIABP - enjoy your break from work, what a well timed O during your holidays, lots of time to BD! Congrats on your scooter license too!
Sunshiney - I know how you feel with work colleagues, I think if you are someone who wouldnt ask other people those questions so blatantly then you are surprised when you are on the recieving end and dont quite know what to say. I have been in that situation a few times now and did think of telling people its not that easy but those people are most likely the same people that will use the info as gossip and that is not what I want. So I just blow them off with vague comments and give them no info and hope they will lose interest and find something else to occupy their mind ... seems to have worked so far!
PoppyM - love your reply to TTC questions. Haha about wishing them a long and painful labour, a friend at work was wishing for another colleague a crying baby, i think that is better because it will last longer than labour ... just joking around though, I dont think I would wish that on anyone really!
Superfruity - glad everything is ok with your ultrasound. Will update you on my cycle below...
Geishagirl - that is a bit out of the blue about your friend TTC! Vanuatu sounds fantastic!! Best of luck for the rest of your 2ww ... have you tested again yet?
Meg88 - Free massages sound awesome, wish I lived over there!!
Annabee - you sound like you are having a bit of crappy time at the moment, hope that your ultrasound is all ok and that things get back to normal soon. Have you thought of asking for a referral for any future scans/investigations to a public radiology rather than private as it would be billed directly to medicare? You may have to wait a little longer so depending on the urgency of wanting to get it done, also depends on whether you have a preference for public vs private healthcare. I have private insurance but work in public health system and think the care provided there is great ... go figure hey??!!
Seaside - fantastic idea getting DH to chart for you! Hoping work has settled down a little for you.
Babymurk - we also built a few years ago and lived with the in-laws ... ahhh the memories!!
Thylacine - that must have been akward for you (and the shop assistant) in the baby shop!! I also get bloated before AF and am small so it really shows too!
AFM - AF arrived 5 days ago, I had 2 days of wierd cramping before and brown spotting which I have never had before so not sure what that was all about. It gave me some hope that something was happening and then when AF arrived I felt so flat and cried, which is not like me usually, but i felt better afterwards. Ended up being a 23 day cycle with O on day 11 .... last month was 34 days with O on day 20! Am going to start using OPK this month, even though DH is away, to see if that lines up with my temps and then see how the next few months go. Fingers crossed we dont have to use our Fertility specialist referral!
Welcome also to all the new ladies too, hope that you all have a short and sweet visit here! x x
~A2~
22/01/2012, 09:22 PM