The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Due 1st - 15th Dec, 11 #8

Essential Baby > Pregnancy > What Month are You Due? > Archived DiG's > December 2011 Archived
Pages: 1, 2, 3
~A2~

pippipage
GOLD biggrin.gif
Yay its been a long time since I claimed that!!
debidoll85
ooh SILVER!

lol how funny the newbies get in first!
krystledawn
Bronze original.gif

Oh i really should be working not stalking EB. lol
Kosmel
FOURTH !!!! (HHAHAHAHAH) .......

So I am googling the following tonight ...

prices of aneathetists (spelling?) ... I'm going through private health and apparently it's not covered if you require. I don't even know if I require one yet...haven't even looked into labour and what on earth happens (apart from obvious) and what i want to do there....but apparently when I book my hospital I need to also start to book an aneathetists and checks costs with them before booking......... man !

Nappies - disposable vs reusable ? Am in two minds. Just spoke to girl from work and she swears by the reusable. I had NO IDEA that they no longer require ones with safety pins etc ... hahahahahah .... they have come a LONG WAY since I was a youngin.... they look great too (different patterns etc). So I'm going to look into these. I know they're not cheap up front, but either are disposables over time. What have the experiences mummies done before with this ? I like the idea of being able to use them again with my next bub original.gif ... but am thinking a bit of a blended approach (you know sometimes disposable, sometimes reusuable (mainly when I'm home).

Prams/ strollers- going to just google options

Nursery designs...... this is fun stuff original.gif

What have you guys been googling? I have to say it's refreshing to no longer googling
"can my baby have no heartbeart and I not know in first trimester"
"I have seen my baby's heartbeat at 8 weeks, will everything be ok"
"am I still pregnant?" .

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif all smiles here biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
adagio
What am I googling?

How to get rid of trapped wind! rolleyes.gif

Seems to be happening all the time now, I'm assuming it's a common pregnancy complaint... ?
Bec_M
Kosmel - I haven't used modern cloth nappies but a friend has and she loves them! Just uses disposables when out and at night as they usually last longer. Can be expensive but I just saw a group on facebook called Bumsup Modern Cloth Nappies Perth. They are $10 ea which I would have thought was good and ship Aust wide. May be worth looking into if you want to go down that road biggrin.gif They have a website so you may be able to find it. I don't know how good they are though.

I'm googling - real estate! I would so love to move. No chance though sad.gif Saw my SIL's today and one is looking at a new house on Thursday and it got me dreaming....probably won't be happening until the littlies are at school and I can work more. Or I win lotto? He he. Money, money, money, the thing I stress about the most!
Jacki:)

Sorry for the sore necks girls I cannot turn this photo around...

LOL
Pandorasbox
Hey no need Jacki, VERY CUTE as it is;-) Look at that little face, just gorgeous;-)

Adagio, keep the figs up I reckon;-) Nasty though, I think we all hear you (no pun intended)

Kosmel, I hear you, now we just have to wait for the ms to subside and our lives will be perfect;-)

Pippi and Deb look at you two jumping in, we've obviously all dropped the ball. Welcome Pippi!

Thanks for all my cold messages, working through it slowly, bloody hell I miss my immune system. Thank goodness not too busy at work this week so just staying at home working and trying to stay warm.
clrw

Good news from the scan is that we have two arms and legs and a nice strong heartbeat.

Bean did NOT want to comply with the NT measurements though. We ended up being at the hospital for two hours. DP had to half empty her bladder, try again, fully empty her bladder... go for a 30 minute walk, try again. The sonographer still took about another 20 minutes of prodding bean to move before she got what she needed. I think DP is a little sore now and very late for work.

I'm a little let down though for a few reasons. We were not given any measurements or indication of risk. Just told we would get them with the BT results from our GP and the appointment is in a fortnight. Was hoping to have been given some indication today so we could start telling people but I'm not sure that a good idea now sad.gif

Also, we didn't get a very good picture. I just have one 4D scan which isn't very special...You can't really tell what you are looking at. I think the first sonographer thought the next person would do some good ones for us after the baby moved but the room we ended up in didn't have a printer that worked! I was really hoping to be able to show the grandparents who are all interstate and feel a little cheated...

Sorry guys, I'll probably feel better tonight.
Pandorasbox
clrw, bummer, you poor thing. You sound really down;-( Big hug.
at1
apparently when I book my hospital I need to also start to book an aneathetists and checks costs with them before booking

what?? Never heard of this happening before. I thought hospitals just used whatever aneathetist was on duty/call? Weird. Anyway, obviously different where you are going.

Googling: travel stuff for the long weekend when we head up the Coast for a break

Nappies: Disposable all the way, I am way too lazy for cloth. I do not need the extra washing and worrying about, this brand not being as good as the other, what liner works best etc etc. Huggies are the best I have found so far and I just stick to them and buy when on sale.

Hope everyone is well, quick one for me, never get the time to come in and post lately. Great to see some cute scan pics. I am yet to even have my first midwife appointment at the birth centre yet! Busting to hear the haertbeat and get the ante-natal care started, it is exciting!!

debidoll85
kosmel - i plan to mix the nappies up too! my mum is actaully busy sewing me a whole heap of the cloth ones! but i will buy disposable to.. for when we are out, or days i just cant be bothered!

i have been googling - prams, cots, car seats, body pillows, average weight gains lol

jacki - gorgeous pic!!!

clrw - oh your partner must have been so uncomfy the poor thing! i had to have an internal for my 12 week scan, baby kept standing on its head and the scanning lady couldnt get the right measurements lol

i felt let down after my scan too.. while she did tell me measurements were fine, she wasnt very nice and everytime dh and i would get excited or ask questions she seemed annoyed at us.. she really took away from the special moment sad.gif

go to a different place for your 20 week scan - thats what i am going to do! original.gif

AFM - finallly full! my goodness i have been a piggy today!!! and now i just want to jump in bed and fall asleep.. but no lots more work time to go before i can do that sad.gif

those of you who this isnt your 1st pregnancy.. does the 40 weeks go fast?!?! i really hope it does!!
krystledawn
Afternoon Everyone,

Have been MIA the last few days, work has been very stressful and getting lack of sleep sad.gif

Jacki - Gorgeous scan pic. i should upload ours onto here, but everytime i sit down to do it i get easily distracted.

clrw & debidoll85 - Im sorry to hear you dont have a great experience with your 12 weeks scan, I would definietely be looking for another ultrasound place for your 19week ones.

kosmel - After usind disposables with DS, I am going to give modern cloth nappies a go this time, i must admit though i will probably invest in some disposables as well for those bleugrh days lol original.gif I was looking at baby beehinds but they are so expensive so if anybody has used other ones, a push in the right direction would be welcomed original.gif

Googling - I don't seem to be googling much at the moment, I already have so much baby gear from DS so tossing up whether to just use that or splurg a little bit.

4D Ultrasounds - I phoned a clinic where i live today to find out the costs for this and the best time to get them done. It will only cost us $150 and thats only if they are able to take decent photo's (But seriously any pictures of our little peanut would be decent). Only downside is Have to wait between 20 - 26 weeks.

debidoll85 - This is my second pregnancy and although i have had ms pretty bad this time again, i dont wish my pregnant time away. I love everything about it, the glow, my body and how I feel. But everyones expierence is different.

Baby belly - I am getting freakin huge, I will post a pic later. I have had so many comments at work the last couple of days about how big i am. I only have a small frame so im all baby out in front.

Movements - I know its very very earlier, but i can already feel movements, at first i thought it was gas and wind, but nope thats our little bubba moving around. DF is a little upset that he can't actually feel it though sad.gif

Anyways I better get back to work.. Welcome to all the newbies and looking forward to sharing this special times with you. and hello to everyone else.

Krystle
Bec_M
Hi Everyone!

clrw & debidoll85 - I'm sorry your 12 week scan wasn't very good sad.gif That's awful. And yes, the 40 weeks does go fast! It seemed to for me anyway. Except the last 2 weeks, they seem to go forever as you wait for the arrival of your little one wink.gif

I had my scan this morning as well and it was great! The lady that did mine was super nice and explained everything she was measuring (I did not have the NT scan with DD). Amazing to see my baby there. Was very co-operative little bub and she got all the measurements she needed. Was also disappointed that she did not give any indication if things were ok. But she showed me the nasal bone and said that was a good sign! Apparantly she is ultra specialised and the only one in WA that can actually read certain information off the ultrasound so I was so lucky! Got some pics too so will post later if I can work out how.

Had a dream last night that bub came on the 4th December (a week early) and was a boy! Be interesting to see what happens. And we had no idea what to call him lol. I'm not sure if it is wishful thinking on my part to be early as my dad leaves for a 6 week holiday on my due date.

DH is now thinking he may want to find out the sex. I told him it was up to him and I refused with DD. We shall see. Still another couple of weeks to figure it out.

Hope everyone enjoys the rest of the day!
Better get back to work
deejie
1st-15th December, 2011

bbluestork.gif babyboy.gif babygirl.gif bbluestork.gif

EDD
December 1

leftwrightout Hannah
Baby# one!
Hospital: The San
Finding out the gender? Hopefully!
Gender prediction? Boy

vlads Vlada
Baby# 1
Hospital: Waverley Private
Finding out the gender? No
Gender prediction? Girl

December 2

at1 Angalea
Baby# 3
Hospital: Canberra Hospital Birth Centre
Gender prediction? Girl, I hope!!

Ms_kase Kasey
Baby# 1
Hospital: Sydney Adventist Hospital, Wahroonga
Finding out: Definitely
Prediction: Boy

Mamabubbamoo
Verity
Baby# 1
Hospital: Sunnybank Private
Finding out the gender? Surprise
Prediction: Boy

Mezzy175
Baby#1
Hospital: Mercy Heidelberg
Finding out the gender? Yes
Gender prediction No idea. Have been sick from 4 wks so some say that's a girl, but I don't know...

December 3

katevin Kate
Baby# Two. Already have big sister-to-be, Elle.
Hospital: Geelong Hospital
Finding out the gender? Yep.
Gender prediction? No idea!

Krystledawn Krystle
Baby #2 , have a DS 2007
Hospital: Wagga Base
Finding out the gender? Not Sure yet
Gender prediction: With m/s the same as when i had my son, id say a boy

leita
Baby# Two. Have a DD Amalia (2)
Hospital: Kaleeya I think
Finding out the gender? Yes if we can this time!
Gender prediction? Another girl. But I was wrong last time until about 36 weeks then I 'knew'

Lyn86 Lyn
Baby# One
Hospital: St John of God, Murdoch
Finding out the gender? Definitely
Gender prediction? girl

December 4

excitedmum2bLiz Elizabeth
Baby #1
Hospital: RPA Birth Centre
Finding out the gender? No, I really want a surprise for our first!
Gender prediction? Boy (but sort of hoping its a girl)

Adagio
Baby# 1
Hospital: Wesley Hospital
Finding out the gender? Yes!
Gender prediction? Boy

Gorby
Baby# 2
Siblings: DS 2
Homebirth
Gender prediction? ???

December 5

bubblebear Liz
Baby# 3
Hospital: Mercy (I hope!)
Gender prediction? No idea!

~~Mel~~
Baby# two
Hospital: Mater
Finding out the gender? Think so
Gender prediction? girl (this might be more wishful thinking than an actual prediction)

December 6

laralara Lara
Baby# 2
Hospital: Frances Perry
Finding out the gender? I would like to (don't think I'll be able to resist!)
Gender prediction? No inkling whatsoever

Lupes Jaimee
Baby# 1
Hospital: Likely Blacktown
Finding out the gender? Probably
Gender Prediction? I'm thinking pink, so girl

zeb
Baby# 2
Hospital: not sure yet
Finding out the gender: no
Gender prediction: no idea!

December 7

December 8

Princess Perky Tit Eden
Baby# 5
Siblings: Raphaela 7, Bruno 6, Theodora 4, Philomena 1
Hospital: Not sure yet, just moved here from North Queensland
Gender prediction? Boy

Travelmum Nat
Baby# 2 Have a Daughter who will be 3 in June
Hospital: Werribee Mercy
Finding out the gender? we will find out
Gender prediction? Doesnt matter which one

Kosmel Mel
Baby# 1
Hospita:l Pindara
Finding out the gender? Nope!
Gender prediction: Girl

December 9

Cathy217 Cathy
Baby# 3
Hospital: Shoalhaven Hospital
Gender prediction? Boy

pixyblu
Baby #3 for me, #4 for him
Hospital: John Hunter
Finding out the gender? think i want a surprise this time
Gender prediction? but pretty sure its a boy

Jacki
Baby#4
Hospital: Tumut
Finding out the gender? maybe.. i want to
Gender prediction... its a boy im sure

emba
emma
Baby# 1
Hospital: North Shore Private
Finding out the gender?: Yes!
Gender prediction: Boy (or so everyone keeps telling me)

toddsy Sheri
Baby #1
Hospital: Werribee Mercy
Finding out the gender? Yes!
Gender prediction? Girl

December 10

Mum @30
Baby#: 1
Hospital: St Vincents Private
Finding out the gender?: You bet ya
Gender prediction: love a girl but think it's a boy!

December 11

Bec_M Bec
Baby #2
Hospital: Armadale (Galliers section)
Finding out the gender? Nope (we don't think so)
Gender prediction? Not sure yet

Feather12 Kristy
Baby #1
Hospital:?
Finding out the gender? Havent decided but would be nice to have a suprise.
Gender prediction? Boy

ImpatientAnna Anna
Baby# 1
Hospital: Blacktown
Finding out the gender? Finding out on the day 'peanut' is born!
Gender Prediction? Hoping pink but as long as they arrive safe and sound we will be over the moon.

December 12

Faux Pas
Hospital: Randwick Royal Women's
Gender prediction? Girl but that's what I thought last time and it was out lovely little man

jazzyjeff
Baby #: 2
Finding out the gender? Nope

Rahni311
Baby#1
Hospital: Gladstone Base
Gender prediction? Boy

rbl Rach
Baby: #2

Stained Daniela
Baby #3
Hospital: Orange Base
Finding out the gender? Not sure yet but probably
Gender prediction? Hoping for pink...

clrw
Hospital: RPA Sydney
Gender prediction? Wouldn't like to predict. Totally happy either way.

December 13

Deejie Bec
Baby #2
Hospital: Hoping for a homebirth this time around
Finding out the gender? I don't want to, DH does, so we will see!
Gender prediction? babygirl.gif

JacquiK
Jacqui
Baby# 1
Hospital: N/A original.gif
Finding out the gender? Nope
Gender prediction: Boy

sandymort
sandra
Baby# 3 - Siblings- 2 DS 7yrs and 4yrs
Hospital: Lismore Base
Gender prediction? Hoping girl

December 14

December 15
babykite Bianca
Baby # #1
Hospital: Womens and Childrens Hosp
Finding out the gender? Yep
Gender prediction? Boy

Angel Babies

BellaGirl79
Christineb2
Flossymac
Katnya
Starqueen_78
Cordyline
Have3wanting4
Sunnigirl

If we are missing anyone's details and you would like them added, please PM me
what you would like posted
due date
username
first name
From
Baby#
Hospital
Finding out the gender?
Gender prediction
krystledawn
Wow!!! Our list is very long original.gif
toddsy
Afternoon everyone,

How are you all doing this week?

Katevin - hope you're feeling heaps better. It's such a relief when you start to have 'normal' days.

Jazzyjeff - Yay for your scan! So glad it went well original.gif

Deejie - awesome news about your scan too! Hope your son is feeling better. Sound like he was miserable, the poor wee munchkin sad.gif

Kosmel - at the moment i'm googling island holidays, lol. I'm so tired that the thought of lying on a beach somewhere for a week is divine...

Jacki - gorgeous pic! Isn't it lovely to be able to look at the baby whenever you want?!

JacquiK - get better soon bbighug.gif I can't imagine what it must be like being sick and having MS. You're a trooper. Look after yourself!

clrw - sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with the scan sad.gif Like you, I was really disappointed because the person doing it was quite abrupt, didn't explain anything to us, and didn't give us a picture because the equipment wasn't working properly. When I jokingly asked if there was a baby in there she said "I'm looking at something else". Grrrr aannoyed.gif Luckily I had an appointment with my GP the next day who explained the results to me and gave me the films of the scan. Is there any way you can bring your GP appointment forward? You've been waiting so long to tell people already!

Krystledawn - I'm the same as you - small stature so my belly is just popping right out the front. I'm sure that everyone can notice and have had several comments already but it always looks so much bigger when you're looking down on it original.gif

Nappies - have been chatting to a couple of friends about this. The ones that are using modern cloth nappies really like them, but are tending to use disposables both at night and when away from the house. So I might plan to use a combo too. I hate the thought of dumping all those disposables into the environment (or are they biodegradable now?), but know that when I've been up all night trying to settle a baby it might be very difficult to wash a load of pooey nappies!

Had my first visit to the childbirth centre today, which was really great. Everyone was lovely and I felt like they gave me a clear idea about what happens from here and I had lots of opportunities to ask questions. I had to book in for antenatal classes as well (to start at 30 weeks) - has anyone else booked in so early???

Anyway, will now try to upload a pic from my scan. Sorry its not very clear (and only of the head and chest), but I only got the films from my GP (apparently the camera at the imaging clinic was broken), so I have taken a photo of the film with my own camera... blush.gif

RL=http://www.imagehousing.com/][/URL]
deejie

Well a pretty relaxed day here. DS is having a monster sleep (still sick), which I am grateful for because he is in such a rotten whingy mood I was about to put him up for sale on ebay. I am not the most patient mother when it comes to toddlers whinging all day long at the best of times, but after listening to him whinge all day yesterday and all day today I am at my wit's end. The sympathetic side of me knows he is sick and gives him lots of cuddles, the not-so-sympathetic side of me dreams of ebay ph34r.gif

kosmel My friend going through the private system was told to book an anaesthetist as well. It's all very confusing to me, how do you know you will even need one?

MCN vs disposable- with DS I did a bit of a mixture, mostly MCN to start with and some disposables. He was a very eczema prone baby and I found the disposable to be much more absorbent, so his skin wasn't as irritated. He has been in disposables since about 4 weeks of age.

I have been googling rental houses! Checking out the areas we want to live in, will have to move house before this bub is born original.gif
jacki:) Just perfect wub.gif
clrw I'm so sorry your scan didn't go to plan sad.gif Your poor DP, getting prodded for nearly 2 hours. If it's any consolation, it is not unusual for there to be no NT measurements given because the trisomy risk is calculated in conjunction with the blood tests results. The people doing the scan are ultrasound techs, it is not their responsibility to report risk, just to do the measurement. Some will give the number out to patients, the majority will not. The only reason I got mine is because I am hospital staff, so I logged on to the radiology report system to access it ph34r.gif So not getting a number doesn't mean it is a 'bad' result. I hope you and your partner are feeling a bit better today. Sad about the photos sad.gif

debidoll My first pregnancy did fly by, but I had almost no first trimester problems and the rest of the pregnancy was a breeze! This one seems to have dragged on forever already and I am only 12weeks original.gif
krystle Hoping work improves for you soon so you can get some much needed rest!
bec If your dream comes true, make sure you tell me if you ever dream the tattslotto numbers, okay? wink.gif

Ah DS is finally stirring. Better go report to whinge central. Poor little guy.

ETA- toddsy we posted at the same time. Look at your gorgeous pic wub.gif I had to book in to antenatal classes very early on with DS as well- I booked in at 13 weeks and even then I couldn't get the dates I wanted. They book out so fast! I didn't really find them worthwhile, we just had some midwive drone through the handout pamphlet over two session and give us a tour. Hopefully your birth centre does a much better job! original.gif
clrw
Thanks to everyone for their lovely comments about the scan.

DP has called saying she now has spotting. I'm hoping its just a burst blood vessel or something because they were pushing so hard trying to get Bean to move into a good position for the measurements. We are waiting for our GP to call us back about it.

Anyone else experienced spotting after a rough pelvic scan?

deejie
clrw did they do a transvaginal (internal) scan at all on your DP? I had some spotting in my pregnancy with DS after part of my 12wk scan had to be done internally. It resolved itself within a couple of hours, but it was a stress at the time sad.gif
Let us know how you both are x

clrw
No Deejie, it was a pelvic scan.
toddsy
bbighug.gifclrw - hope everything is ok. Please keep us updated. I haven't had a rough scan so can't comment on whether this causes bleeding. I think a lot of us on here, including me, have had spotting at some stage, so it can be normal and nothing to worry about. But it is definitely worth getting it checked out, especially if there is any associated pain or cramping. I have my fingers crossed for you and your DP. xo

Bec_M - glad to hear all went well with your scan! Pics please original.gif
Babykite
Good afternoon all
Wow that list was long. counted 39 pregnant growing tummies.

I go for my NT 12 wk scan on friday. so hope to getgood results.
but i will also have lots more scans 15wk, 17wk and 19wk scan to measure my cervical length after a lletz procedure (Chopping of the cercix to get rid of obnormal cells). I love this; if my cervix shortens too much they will have to put a stitch in it to stop the baby falling out. roll2.gif

Sorry to hear clrw that you scan was so awkard.
Jacki. beautiful scan. i love the way the pic is posted. looks like s/he's sitting up.

Deeji. its awful when toddlers are sick. My nephew gets so sooky. My sister's best friend is panadol when he is sick. Or maybe you could just think of you sick chicken as an extra warm but extra wingey hot waterbottle to cuddle and fight off the cold weather.
Kosmel. i think i will do both. use disposable as emergency and cotton when home and close to the washing machine.
Ive been googling maternity clothing, baby development in the womb week by week, high risk pregnancies.
Debidoll. I feel like the weeks are dragging on too. now that im a 12wks hopefully should go quicker. Im sure the last trimester will go slow too.
Krystaldawn. wow you can actually feel butterflies already lucky you. all i get ti feel so far is excess gas.
Toddsy. your scan is so funny. looks like bub is giving a very high five. so cute. the birth center sound great. lots of info.
Bec_M. what an awesome dream. i havent dreamed of baby yet. I hope it comes true so dad is there for the birth. Tell him to rebook if need be. I wonder what will happen closer to you due date?
Katevin and JacquiK. i feel you with the ms still. i went two days without ondansetron and was reminded why i ended up in hospital. awful. ive found that when im really queezy i have a couple of spoons of yoghurt and that helps for a good hour.
Jazzyjeff. Glad your scan went well.

Well off to have some more yoghurt. biggrin.gif
Cheerio BK
~Edie~
Just a quick check in!

Sick as a dog with morning sickness still and had a crappy scan with a few dodgy markers, so Ive been huddled at home sulking and feeling miserable.

Hope everyone is well!
Goldenblack
clrw - Don't know if this helps, but I got the same runaround! 'Oh, we'll tell you at your appointment' - from my midwives, about an appointment in three weeks. Not good enough for me - if you need to make a serious decision about whether to move forward with Amnio, you need it earlier. So I waited two days, and phoned the folk who had my bloodwork. They told me they had not sent the details off to the genetics lab yet, but would. I phoned two days later, and they had the results, and read them to me over the phone. If you feel up to it (poor you), I would bug whoever has the bloodwork.

clrw - I also had cramping after my pelvic scan, it was external. I felt pretty seriously beaten up - ours, like yours, wouldn't spin around. The sonographer apologised, asked if she could be a bit rough, we said yes. The results turned out fine, but I was very sore for a bit.

~Edie~
- I'm very sorry and hope you feel better soon. Please post here if you feel bad, we will see what we can do, I am sure.

Baby belly - Oh, yes, mine is here too, suddenly. Hmm. It's in my way when answering phones at work. It looks huge to me, but my partner says it's invisible to him.

Time - It seems slow to me, I hope the 40 weeks goes past fast. I still have a lot of pain from SPD and cramping feelings, so I admit I'm a bit of a wet blanket. People keep asking me which bit I enjoy most and my attempt to say 'The lovely present at the end' is making them stare at me. I can't really say 'The bits where I'm asleep' either. I don't feel terrible, just uncomfortable or in pain if I'm awake, and it's just something to put up with. It's alright. It's just how it is.

Nappies - I'm going to try the combined approach - DH is very much more granola-crunchy than I am and is telling me cloth is the only way to go, so I may compromise by telling him that as long as he does that part of the washing...biggrin.gif I do like the idea, just not sure how we'll go once we're doing it. I have aspirations rather than decisions, if that makes sense? I want to try my best but not beat myself up over failures.

Anesthetist - We're going public, so no booking things like that. Though, er, I'm having a water birth (if possible! Once more, aspirations!) so no epidural anyway. I am not trying to be tough, I just have a high pain tolerance and a big fear of things being stuck into my spine! It's my only spine, man, I'm pretty fond of it.
adagio
Cloth nappies I have been thinking about this too but am put off by the washing. Does anyone have experience with MCN? can you tell us a bit more about them? i.e. the cost, is the extra washing a nightmare? i would have thought the extra power costs would make them not that economical? even though disposables are bad for the environment... huh.gif I am planning on having a look at MCNs at the upcoming expo.

cramps I'm still getting cramps sad.gif it's so unsettling... I feel paranoid about them most of the time. It's not all the time but several times a day.... is anyone else feeling them still? do they go away? huh.gif my first thought is always if the baby is okay. I feel a bit down about it today to be honest.

krystledawn & goldenblack post a photo of your bump would love to see original.gif people at work are commenting too.
I had someone ask me today if I was pregnant..... ppl can be so brave, i was tempted to say no I have just put weight on to see their reaction lol!

clrw please keep us updated hope all is ok. Have you heard back from the GP yet?

anaethetist I'm going private and didn't know I was supposed to book in with an anaethetist? What if I don't need one on the day? huh.gif will ask my OB next week.

Hope everyone's having a great night.
krystledawn
Ok finally gotten round to posting our ultrasound pic from almost 2 weeks ago, and here is a belly shot from tonight.

http://i1122.photobucket.com/albums/l526/k...83/DSCN0467.jpg

http://i1122.photobucket.com/albums/l526/k...83/IMG_7500.jpg
adagio
look at that belly! lol so cute.
krystledawn
QUOTE (adagio @ 01/06/2011, 08:07 PM) *
look at that belly! lol so cute.

Told you guys i was big original.gif
clrw
Thanks all. DP is resting. No call back from our GP but spotting hasn't gotten worse and no cramping so far. DP is a bit wiped out and will head off to bed early. Hopefully that will be the end of it.

Thanks again.
Pandorasbox
clrw, I haven't experienced it but there is some evidence that scans can cause bleeding, and especially with the length of time yours took it doesn't sound surprising. In fact that's one of the reasons I decided against having them, as I would prefer to minimise the risk and associated anti-D shots, as the last one made me quite anaemic. They think it is possible that depending on the angle and where the placenta is the scan can detach it slightly from where it has burrowed into the uterus, which causes a bleed (no harm to the baby here, mind you, just the placenta bleeding a bit). So don't stress too much, that's the most likely cause.

Krystle, oh my goodness, you are - probably because there's not much of you. My DH said (I think he was trying to be nice).."Well, there is a bit, but your boobs are so big by comparison that you can't notice"...thanks, honey, just what I needed to hear.

Needless to say this is backed up by the fact that noone has accused me of pregnancy...sigh...hopefully one will overtake the other soon or I may fall forwards. I would like to think that people being terrified is why noone at work has asked me, however, it is far more likely I just look altogether fatter and it hasn't occurred to them. Speaking of which, I put small heels on for work the other day to head into the office, oh my goodness, it felt like I'd been for a run all the next day.

Adagio, absolutely hear you, my DH found compostable nappies the other day so Goldenblack maybe this would make your crunchy DH happy and be a happy medium?? And, yes, still getting the odd cramp, maybe not quite as regularly as you, but I guess it just means things are moving, which has to be good;-)

Edie, yuck yuck yuck, is yours gradually improving, mine seems to be.

Babykite, my fingers are crossed for you - yoghurt was helping originally but I seem to be less keen on it lately - as with fruit, initially I really wanted it, now not so much, obviously my body feels like the vitamin C requirement has dropped or something - all this week I've been after curry, which is bizarre when i have felt so ill...I can't explain it...very strange really..
feather12
Hi everyone. Clrw hope everything goes ok with the bleeding.

I had my first midwife appt at the hospital today. Was a little overwhelmed with all the information but I loved the lady and the hospital. They were all very nice. They gave me a little pack of info to take home and some free samples in a goody bag too. There was a pamphlet about epidurals in there which scared the hell out of me!

Someone said no one should mess with your spine above I'm on my iPhone so I can't go back and look but I completely agree. Then all the possible "common" side effects... Arg! And I bet it gets to a point where I'm begging for one haha.

Also found out today at my appt that vitamin c helps your ability to absorb iron and this is why we crave it in orange juice and such. I'f your poop (when you can have one) is black that means you're getting your iron from your supplements. and constipation is a good sign you're getting enough iron too because that's what it does!
Jazzyjeff

Well I had my first booking in visit at the hospital today, where they just go through medical history etc. The only bummer was that I asked to book in for the midwifery group practice option (where you have all your antenatal visits with the same group of midwives - my GP hasn't done the shared care course), but there's a huuuuuuge waiting list already!! So my name is added to it, but there's a chance I won't be able to do it rant.gif

My latest craving has been a Big Mac burger....mmm, I had one on Sunday and another today. blush.gif

As someone else said, my belly looks big from my perspective (looking down) but then I look in the mirror and it's hardly there wacko.gif
Bizarre.

As you can probably tell, i'm really enjoying these emoticons tonight, haha.

Hope you all have a great day tomorrow
Bec_M
Well I am in complete shock. My doctor rang this afternoon and insisted I come and see him straight away. Not a good sign. He got the results of my scan and blood work and it is not good. Worse than not good sad.gif My risk of a down syndrome baby is 1 in 11!! Even he was in shock. The nucheal (sp?!) fold were bit higher than average but it was my bloods that were really bad. My hormone levels are way off what they should be. At risk for high blood pressure and have to monitor bub for growth as well.

I am having another test tomorrow. They will take cells from the baby and test them. In 3 days we will have a partial answer but won't know for sure for 2 weeks. I am numb. I don't know what to think/do. It's devestating. We will get a 100% on the gender though. They will be doing genetic tests so there will be no doubt. I'm so scared. I don't know what to do.

Sorry for the lack of personals and no pic. I'm not in the right head space right now. Just wanted to share with someone. DH is devestated.
katevin
Oh Bec I'm so sorry to hear your news- we all fear these kinds of results but I can't imagine how terrifying it must be actually having those fears realized. I really feel for you, you have a tough couple of weeks ahead sad.gif Please pop in to vent whenever you need to and of course don't worry about personals!

I have heard of cases with higher risks though, such as 1 in 4 for example, where bub has turned out completely healthy and problem free so please don't lose all hope. There are 10 chances out of 11 that your little one will be just fine! I have everything crossed for you, hope you're coping okay with the shock bbighug.gif
deejie
Just popping in quickly this morning, Bec I am so sorry to hear your news. I can't imagine how stressed you must be at the moment.
The 'false positive' rate (that is, the percentage of women underdoing further unneccessary testing when the screen returns a high risk) is ~5%. So 1 in 20 women having the test done will return a 'high risk' result and the vast majority of these women have a completely normal pregnancy.

If you haven't already found it, there is a support group for high risk NT results here on EB. It is under the section 'Specialised Pregnancy Support Groups'. I haven't been in there, but the women in there are all going through/have gone through what you are now and I am sure they will be a wealth of support.

I hope everything goes okay for you today, you and your DH will be in my thoughts x
~Edie~
Bec

Bec if you see this and you have any questions about Down Syndrome, feel free to msg me. I know if I were you that's probably the last thing you feel like, but the offer is here if you want.

We had a crappy result too, although not as bad as yours ( 1/40) and we're waiting for our amnio so I feel for you.

Hopefully you get your FISH results quickly, they are really good for looking at the main Trisomys and problems with the sex chromosomes, so if those results come back clear it is very promising.

Thinking of you.
Bec_M
Thanks Ladies. I don't really know what to think right now. And of course I'm worried about this test - it has a higher rate of miscarriage than an amnio (double actually sad.gif ).

I was wondering if there was a support group in here, thanks for that, I might check it out. And Edie - thank you. I'm sure I will have questions but at the moment I'm still processing! I hope all is well with your bub. It's an awful wait.

It was a long night but I'm trying really hard to be positive. There is still a chance that bub is fine. DH didn't even want to look at the ultrasound pics last night. He isn't sure what to think.

I feel so naive. I didn't think this would happen. I'm only 26. How stupid of me to think it couldn't happen to us. And as irrational as it probably is I feel like I have failed somehow even though this is something completely beyond my control. I looked at my DD is a whole new light last night. I mean she has always been everything to me but now I really appreciate how lucky we are.

I will keep you all posted. I appreciate the support though so thank you original.gif We haven't told anyone and we won't until we get more information so it is nice to have some people to talk to.

Hope everyone else has a good day.
clrw

DP seems ok. Just a little brown spotting this morning which hopefully means its stopping. The GP called back this morning and said it should be fine without any cramping.

JacquiK - thanks for the info. Much appreciated

Bec_M & Edie - I wish you all the best with your additional testing. Isn't EB amazing for having a thread for every concern/question so we can reach out to others in the same boat!
debidoll85
clrw - im glad the GP isnt worried by the spotting.. it would be such a scary experience.. my SIL had bleeding with her second, went to hospital but all was well and her baby was perfect original.gif and still is such a little cherub!!

bec_m - my heart truly goes out to you, and i have no idea how i would be in your position.. 1 in 11, does that mean you still have a 90% chance that all is well? i know 1 in 11 sounds scary but when you look at in other ways its still good odds xxxx you know what im thinking of not even getting the NT scan or bloods with my next baby.. i just dont think they are worth the stress sad.gif we should be able to enjoy our pregnancies hey! i was so stressed in the weeks leading up to getting my scan and blood results..

if this helps at all i did have a friend who was told her baby would be born with massive abnormalities. and it really freaked her out.. guess what.. baby was born with a bit of an extra long second toe!! ansd that is all! i will keep your baby in my prayers original.gif

Krystle - yeah your so little! no wonder you have popped already, lucky girl!! you will have one of those perfect basketball bellies!! im jealous!

jaquik - i want to be accused of pregnancy too! lol

edie - all the best with your test results also

so good we all have eachother to talk to xoxo

feather12
Bec and Edie I hope everything goes ok with your further tests. Fingers crossed for you both.

*sigh*
Pandorasbox
Bec, Just remember there is a BIG chance that the bub will be fine...so don't worry. Focus on the 10/11, not the 1/11, it's the lowest and least likely, remember;-) And the risk with CVS is still 1/300. Keep your vitamin C up as it helps build strong capillaries and reduces the risk of bleeding, bioflavanoids work well too, and zinc to improve collagen formation - all these help to reduce the risk associated with CVS. And, just quietly, you are only young, so your chances of a false positive are much higher than, say, mine would be as I'm an old duck. Good luck chickie.

Edie, good luck to you too - I can't imagine how stressful getting an unexpected test result like that is and then sweating on the results for weeks. 1/40 isn't very high though so I am sure you are just fine, I'll kee my fingers crossed for you though.

clrw, Great news, brown is a very good sign:-) I think quite a few of us have had some spotting, and whilst it is stressful at the time, I've virtually forgotten mine now - originally as a result of going for my first decent run for ages, so no more long hard runs for me sadly, but no problems at all since and everything seems to be going well. In fact I took a poll in an earlier thread, quite a few people say about half of all women experience spotting somewhere along the line with no worries.

Bad morning sickness again today, ARGH, started late last night and stopped me sleeping, which I am sure didn't help, doesn't it know it is supposed to be just the morning, roll on 14 weeks!
Bec and edie, my heart goes out to you both through this stressful time. I had 3 friends go through this last yr (one was 1/12 the other was 1/40 and the other 1/130??) and all well with all 3 so there is hope hands.gif

im off to dr for hopefully good news
zeb
Hi all, haven't been about for a while (been visiting family in NZ) so am trying to catch up on everyone's news...

bec_m - I had a very similar experience last time - nuchal fold was roughly normal (little bit high), but bloods were crazy. My Dr. said he'd never dealt with it before (which is oh so reassuring for a first timer!). We had a CVS and then were followed up witch extra scans for growth. I'd say try not to worry, but it's near impossible. However, remember that the scans & blood tests just give a probability, not a clear result that something is wrong. There wasn't in my case and I'll be hands.gif it's the same for you. Also, I read recently that the risk of the procedure (1/200-300) is based on pretty old data, including when they did the testing WITHOUT ultrasound. The actual miscarriage rate now is much smaller - in fact when I had mine done the Dr (or tech or whatever) said they'd never had or even heard of an actual case of miscarriage following a CVS at the hospital. I know how excruciating the whole experience can be, so bbighug.gif and take care.

MCN - went this route last time and will try to again this time (makes them much more economical if spread over 2 bottoms!!). Had a few issues with rashes and eventually switched to disposables through a combination of laziness, moving countries and the rashes he seemed to get with MCN that he doesn't with disposables. I think detergent is the main problem, but I never had much luck in "stripping" them of that. That said, the washing part wasn't a big issue, we had a sprayer on the toilet to get rid of solids, then just threw them in a bin and washed every 2nd or 3rd day. I did a prewash, normal wash and extra rinse, but not even sure you need all that. We did try travelling with them a couple of times, but spending time when you're away looking for laundries and waiting for nappies to wash/dry isn't much fun so we did disposables for that. Also found nighttimes were easier with disposables due to less leakage. Oh, and one other big plus for MCN - if you've got a bub with a small butt, they make clothes much more likely to fit! laughing2.gif

Scan - had our scan a couple of days ago. Was sooooo cool to see the little blob waving it's arms and legs about (the tech said "look, it's dancing!"). I hadn't realised I was quite so worried until I saw it and knew it was a) alive and healthy, and b) on it's own in there!
They had a hard time getting the measurements as it was bouncing all round the place, but after calling in a more senior operator managed. She was great and was able to answer questions like it looks like a 3 vessel cord (DS was only 2, which can cause growth issues) and stuff I didn't even think they'd be able to tell at this stage. She also confirmed dates (2 days earlier than before, so now supposedly 4th Dec, although they don't really change it when they're that close together). Now just have to wait for the blood results and hope they aren't haywire like last time.

Ok, better do some actual work. Haven't had time to read until today as flat out packing/tidying/cleaning the house which goes on the market in 2 weeks. Can't believe we bought a new house and now have to sell ours ddoh.gif Still, we need the space and somewhere for DS to play when the new one arrives.

All the best to those waiting on scans or results.
adagio
Thinking of you both Bec and Edie.
katevin
Thinking of you both Bec and Edie.

+1

Hope all works out fine for you both!
Jazzyjeff
Thinking of you both Bec and Edie too xx hugs
Goldenblack
JacquiK - Compostble nappies sounds like the perfect solution - we'll be living in the bush and I am an avid gardener, and will have several compost heaps. I must investigate this.

Bec_M - While nothing I can say will help you feel straight away better (I wish it could!), your risk is still less than ten percent. It's still almost certainly going to be okay! I know you must feel frightened and stressed out, but in the vast majority of cases, it is going to be all right. If it is not, there are still several options. I hope you keep posting, people here can offer advice. I did a lot of research into DS due to my age related risk prior to bloodwork. Zeb is correct - the really scary numbers for miscarriage are old, and they are based on the pre-ultrasound techniques.

Feeling a bit ratty today, but not to do with pregnancy. Actually, pregnancy is helping! I told people at work I'm refusing to do an unlimited amount of unpaid overtime (!) because I'm just too dang tired while pregnant!

Also, being pregnant has let me get out of several 'you'll have to skip lunch, we need you in this meeting' scenarios biggrin.gif I've been able to bring lunch into the meetings!

No photos yet...wonder how I could get one...
Mum@30
Hello everyone

I'm another newbie. Just found out about this group last week from my sis-in-law. Not sure how it really works but I'm sure I'll clue on.

I'm 13 weeks pregnant with my first and due 10th Dec. It was a bit dicey to begin with and I was told to expect the worst but things now seem to be progressing very normally so I'm thinking maybe my GP was being a bit over cautious. My Ob never really seemed too worried but once the idea was planted in my head that things were a bit if-y, I was worried regardless.

I've had a few scans now, one at 5w4d, one at 6w, one at 10w and the NT scan this week. I think it's only just starting to sink in that I'm pregnant! And I'm only just starting to feel more confident that maybe everything will be fine! I'm sure that's normal.

Looking forward to sharing the journey with you all.

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.