The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Pregnancy After Miscarriage ~ #32

Essential Baby > Pregnancy > Specialised Pregnancy Support Groups
Pages: 1, 2, 3
~A2~

Mamabug
Yay me - first in!!!

(Slinks off to find purpose in life.....)
Kate-ko
silver! morning all
tygrays
Oooh new thread - does this mean I can nab SILVER????

poopski's - make that bronze ROFL
tygrays
Well I'm in-between running after kid today - it's the first official day of school holidays but wanted to pop in and share my FB status - because I'm soooo excited, relieved etc etc etc -

24 weeks means we're over the LAST of the psychological hurdles - If Aerynn were to be born today she would have a 50% chance of survival and be considered a real person, be acknowledged by society, be granted a birth certificate, no longer classed as a miscarriage and most importantly VIABLE!!!!!!

I know it's something not everyone even thinks about, but for me in particular to be able to acknowledge that if anything were to happen (and Lord hope it doesn't) but Aerynn would now be classed as a baby - not a miscarriage!!! We've avoided that term on this pregnancy original.gif I know it's simply a phrase, but hmm sorry, can't put it in words but I do hope you guys get me LOL
Kate-ko
bbighug.gif Ty- a fantastic milestone. fxd that the next 16 weeks are uneventful and full of little kicks in the belly.
Dinosaurus
Tygrays - counting down to that milestone myself, totally understand! Well done original.gif

canadia....????

Belinda - I'll be lurking for you too, I guess you'll need another Bhcg to feel better but hopefully all is going well in there.

Thanks for the advice re icypoles, very good advice!

I am still sick but that's boring even me now, I've not been sick this long in forever! Mum is here and doing a good job, although she needs a bit of reminding on safety for small toddlers!

Hi everyone else, hope you're all cruising along well. BBL to find out how Belinda and Canadia are going.
Mamabug
Ty - hearin' ya!!! I will never forget my ob saying at 22 weeks (after complete sh*te since 15 weeks) "the good news is you have a 10% take home baby rate"...and it was good news to us. Every week from then improved our odds of holding our first babe. we got to 38+ a couple before she wasinduced as it became a "better out than in" situation. Hope you have a boring few months ahead of you, too.
having-fun
Space for list
mudlark
Hi guys
Just letting you know I'm still here. My body still hasn't decided what it's doing so I've been going through bouts of back cramping and contractions for maybe half a day and then nothing for the next 12 hours. No real pattern at all so I'm guessing it's all going to be drawn out a little bit longer. I'm now just focussing on channeling Megan's uber-patience and going with the flow for the next little while.

I've not been keeping up with everyone's progress on this thread so I must go back and read the last few posts.

Small vent: Family and friends, please stop phoning us and dropping round every single day. I know each of you mean well but you must realise that when every single one of you does this I feel like I'm being pestered non-stop. I promise you we will tell you when something happens so please don't freak out if we don't respond to an email within 15 minutes or miss one of your calls.

bye for now!
hheart.gif Rachel
Mamabug
yay! No whooping cough for MasterBug. Just a little lad with no reserves struggling to recover from his various ailments.

That said, I'm not cancelling his paed appt just yet!!!
*MONA*
TY - eexcite.gif congrats on the milestone!16 weeks to go!! oh my gosh thats like a blink of an eye!

canadia - how iritating!! hopefully bubs will arrive very soon so ppl can stop annoying u!!

everything is seeming more real every day. as the list of PAM grads grows i realise as soon as Ty & jens EDD aproaches that means mine is too! eeek!!

jenchristo

My name is jenchristo. I have been lurking in this thread for a few weeks since I got my BFP. I am currently 13 weeks pregnant with our 2nd child (if all goes well, knock on wood, etc). We have a beautiful DD who will be 2 on 6th May. I had a miscarriage at 6 weeks back in Nov 2010.

I thought that after I passed the 12 week mark and got the NT screening results that I would be less stressed. Ha! I feel more stressed now than ever. We told our family and some friends over the weekend that I am pregnant. I now feel like I've set myself up for failure. I am so scared of having something go wrong and having to tell everyone. (We haven't told anyone about the miscarriage in Nov.)

I know that all you lovely ladies will understand what I'm going through. How have you dealt with the stress? Any wise words of advice?

I do feel better getting this out there, better out than in.

jenchristo.
ThatsNotMyName
Hi jenchristo, congratulations & welcome to this wonderful group. One day at a time, distraction & a belief that things are just as likely to go right as wrong were the things that got me through. I started feeling a little more positive after 12 weeks as all my m/c happened at around 8-10 weeks, though things didn't become completely rosy till around 30 odd weeks when I could be sure I had a very viable baby on board. Good luck & here's to a wonderful pregnancy for you original.gif

Canadia that's so frustrating, people are just clueless aren't they? Just start getting blunt with them, tell them you're resting & will contact them when you're ready with news.

Got to go, crying baby.
Belinda33
Just a quick update. Still no news !! Called FS twice today first call they still didn't have the results and second the secretary said Dr will look at it tomorrow morn. I feel really down tonight as today would have been EDD and I just feel really depressed. I am not feeling confident about this at all. I keep thinking of my last miscarriage in Jan. The pregnancy just never progressed. The max Hcg I had was 89 and then I miscarried, I am so worried that this is whats happening again. Sorry to be on such a downer. Will see what news I get tomorrow.
Dinosaurus
Oh Belinda - I had been waiting and hoping for good news but no news is SO frustrating. I hope you get news early tomorrow morning and the news is good. It's totally understandable to be anxious but remember every pregnancy is different so there's no reason this will be like your last one. Big, big cyber hugs for the EDD - they suck sad.gif

Mamabug - so pleased master bug has no whooping cough. Sorry he's so sick though the poor baby bug sad.gif

Canadia - hang in there, not long now, take the phone off the hook and turn the mobile off (except to update us of course!) it's my sisters birthday today and an uncle tomorrow and they're both lovely original.gif

TNMN - welding? What! I just buy a new toy - you're spending too much on your toys! Hope Carys has settled down at night time.

Jen - Hows Elise going? I don't have time to lurk in the grad/grad group wink.gif

Jenchristo - welcome and congratulations! I also found each scan only appeased me for a few days, it did get better as it went along but as TNMN says, i'm still nervous some of the time now.

Mona - Stella communicated with unnamed baby brother and days send me brownies! Yummo.

Eva - chocolate, yes. Can't eat a bite of it, didn't even manage half a cup of Milo today, darn this baby and his anti-chocolate tastebuds!

Hi everyone else, sorry I've run out of time for personals but I'm definitely feeling better today, although have lost another kg overnight - that's 6kg since they weighed me last Tuesday. I'm overweight but even I don't want to be losing any weight at this point, much less a kg a day. I'm only 3kg away from my pre-pregnancy weight.

Anyway, off to eat lamb shank and mash and take something to help me sleep - I stupidly decided not to take a pain killer last night as the pain was ok, sleep not helped by that decision!

Night night everyone.
Mamabug
Welcome jenchristo - hope your stay is uneventful :-)

Belinda - hang there chickie. Its trite, but it helps my 5yo when I tell her to think happy thoughts. She always tries to give me a brave smile. So "think happy thoughts", okay?

jen - don't panic about the weight. Yes, it isn't ideal to lose weight quickly, but seriously, your little one is still going to get all the good bits. It's you who will go without for a bit...hmmm...that didn't come out any where near as reassureing as it sounded in my head unsure.gif

Um...different approach - my sister was overweight before each of her pgs. She had morning sickness so badly with one that her ob was actually quite happy that she was finally starting to approach a "healthy" weight. He told her that the babe was still going strongly and that she would benefit herself from the weight loss. Nup, not sure that one came out right either.

I hope you know what I'm trying to say? I really am trying to be supportive and encouraging, I'm just not getting it out in any acceptable way.....bollocks.
*MONA*
Welcome jenchristo smile1.gif and congrats on a BFP! hoping ur stay is a long and boring one Tounge1.gif on a serious note though we all do know how u feel, and fully understand how ur feeling feel free to vent! i know that has helped me alot! most of my worries started to dissaper when i c ould feel bub moe about 17 - 18 weeks along, but the weeks b4 that..sheesh it did my head in!! i thik its safe to say we all will have some sort of worries in t he back of our head weather we are 12 weeks or 40 weeks! i think its natural for women who have sufferd a loss/es sad.gif but like i said welcome & enjoy ur stay! biggrin.gif

Belinda - buggar! hope to hear of ur positive results tomorrow!!

Jen42- funy you should mention brownies...i just ate like three n now i feel sick...lol

not much here like i said feeling sick after the choclate, also my lungs feel like they are hurting me? feels like i have smoked a whole pkt a ciggs or somthing? weird hopefuly it passes so i can get some shut eye before work!

want*a*bub
I have been missing for a while so please excuse my lack of personals at the moment.

I quickly came in to lurk for baby news and i just went back to read Tulsa's post.

I am sitting here at work with tears in my eyes! He is truely adorable Tulsa and both Jason and yourself look so happy and proud original.gif I love the story behind his name and i am sure that as he gets older he will be very proud of the name you and Jason have chosen for him. Congratulations once again.

Canadia - thinking of you lovely and hoping you dont have to wait too much longer. Family can be so frustrating! As if you're not going to tell them you've had the baby! My Sil had a baby almost 2 weeks ago and she was 2wks overdue. I didnt want to pester so i sent a text msg once a week only in the last 4 weeks to see how she was feeling. Even though i wanted to call everyday, i didnt cos i didnt want to be a pain in the a*rse!

All going ok here. Have started getting really really painful hips lately which seems to be made worse by sleeping! The only thing that helps is standing under a nice warm shower. Thankfully i only have 9wks left and hopefully my poor body will start mending and start the process of healing lol. when i get out of bed at night to pee, i can hear and feel my hips click. I have a mw appt tonight so i will ask about it just to make sure that it all normal.

I finished setting up the nursery on the weekend and i am so in love with it. I had a cuppa in my rocking chair and i thought to myself 'all i have to do now is go to the hospital and bring home our baby girl!" I am getting really excited now and it feels more and more real as each day passes. I find myself closing my eyes and just imagining that first moment that i get to meet my baby. The thought puts tears in my eyes especially when i think of the process we have gone through to get to this point and now i know that it approaching so quickly.

anyway i am off to do some work. Have a lovely day girls.
Shadowess

Just a quick one from me... I read all the time, but am just slack on the posting front!

Tulsa, I too, loved your story of coming up with Taal's name.. so lovely! I'm looking forward to reading your birth story, so you'll have to tell us where you post it, when you get around to writing it.

Canadia, how frustrating! hope buby turns up soon for you... and tell all those family members to bugger off!

Jen, don't worry about the weight loss thing... obviously it's not ideal, but you and baby will be fine.

Rach, have you tried a physio or chiro for your hips? might be worth investigating.. I hear you on the being in pain thing though, my pubic bone has been really sore for weeks and weeks now... the worse time just after I get up from sitting or sleeping. Can't wait til I can go back to normal!

Sorry, got to cut this short, but will BBL.

fee
tygrays
Hooroo all original.gif Still on cloud nine here from yesterday hahhaa I wonder how much that will last?? I guess up until around 11.30 cos I've an appointment with my gp/ob - not sure she's going to be too pleased with me refusing the hospitals plans for me hehehehe anyhoos - I MIGHT be suprised wink.gif

I had a wonderful morning so far, I brought a $39 mystery box from deals direct (link was in hot specials) last week and it arrived this morning - for my $39 I got over $390 value - INCLUDING a brand new breast pump!!! I've no idea how good it is but I unpacked my 12 year old avent ones the other day and was wondering if they still had any go in them - so perfect timing wink.gif I've found with every one of my babies that a pump is invaluable when the milk comes in!!! It's the only thing to keep me free from pain and mastitis - and a spare supply of EBM in the freezer has been invaluable with bubbas who have allergies wink.gif What I LOVE about the look of tis new one (dr brown brand) is it has a suction variation thingy - so if you're having a painful day you can reduce suction or if you want to get it over and done with you can increase suction - Something I wished I had previously, I remember times where I would try to minimise the pressure with the avent with no success... so yep happy day wink.gif LOL Hmmmm I'm here gushing over a breast pump - Oh where has my corporate self gone bahahaha Let no-one at the ATO see me like this bahahaha

Belinda - hoping you get some great news today!!

Jenchristo - Welcome!!! I find the doubts and worries come and go, hopefully you can relax soon and start enjoying your pregnancy!!! BTW i you go back in the groups history here I'm sure you'll see all of us at one time or another doubting, worrying etc etc.. after our life exeirences I think it's only natural **hugs**

Jen - how are you feeling now? You're sounding more happier... is your mum helping being there???

Ummmmmm shoot, better run, have 4 kidletts to make presentable before turning up at the Dr's... don't want them to think we're a pack of hobo's!!! LOL

Will be back to let you all know how we got on and to try and catch up with everyone!!!

MarsBarSlice
Hi ladies, will be back for personals later, I'm off to my Ob appt and to do the GD test. Have read the personals and glad to hear all positive news. biggrin.gif
EvaFaithful
Hi Mammas,

Not too much going on here. Have been reading just note posting.

Morning sickness has hit back. Threw up twice today so far and once yesterday. WHY I ask! WHY!?

Belinda - so sorry you still have no news. Will continue to hands.gif and ph34r.gif for you

hheart.gif Eva
tygrays
Well I'm back from the Dr and I won the round as I had the Dr backpeddling and passing the buck - BUT I'm soooo frustrated with all their negative talk!!! All they talk about is risk, mortality rates intervention, bleeding, blah blah blah - I fight then on each and every point and win, and the next time I see them it's another negative they raise!!!! Today she was telling me how baby was measuring big and risk of gest diabetes, then she had to back down when baby was measuring spot on as expected growth on her chart... And comments about anaesthetic risk etc etc that she had to back down on after I told her the anaethestist didn't see me as any risk whatsoever and that he didn't support me requiring cannula access throughout labour as I had great veins etc etc etc... She had to back down on everything but why? Why should I have to fight like this all the way through!?!?!? AUGH!!!! But the thing that I think has definitely put the nail in the coffin of a hospital birth was her saying that as care-givers THEY have a say in my birth plan, and I need to co-operate with them pfffftttt

It makes me sick that any women in SA who now wants to have any part of her birth in water now needs to sign documentation and apparently there needs to be some sort of written permission from some department of health insurance person and signed off by the hospital chief operating officer... Augh - it's all so frustrating and confusing!! The full info downloadable HERE Why can't they just let women do what they have been doing for years and get on with the business of having babies without making it out to be some great big medical drama all the time?!??! Augh!!! Yep rant over LOL

Belinda, hoping no news is good news!!!

I have to run, kids needing a referee - will try to get back here this arvo/evening
Belinda33
Still no news. I had another blood test done today at FS's request. They still haven't told me a thing and it is completely doing my head in. I finally got a call from one of their counsellors this arvo and she is supposedly trying to find out the results and get back to me very soon. Although I am not counting my chickens as it is now nearly 5:00. I am actually thinking that because I am not an IVF patient that I am put to the bottom of the list. cry1.gif
Kate-ko
Belinda- I am sorry this is taking so long. It must be exhausting. I hope you are getting some good support from your DP/H, friends or family. fxd for good news

Ty- what a wonder woman you are! keep fighting off the negative people. I love that you know what you are talking about and can counter their ridiculous claims.

Eva- MS at 14 weeks- that's not fair. I hope it's just rearing its ugly head for one last hurrah is long gone by tomorrow.

Kuta- how did the OBs go?

Fee- how are you doing?

Rachel- great work setting up the nursery. I want to get a rocking chair or a glider. which one did you get?

Jen- glad to hear you are recovering. I wish it was faster for you. I hope that you have no further complications.

Jenchristo- welcome and I hope it's all going well. If you look back about 4 weeks in posts, you will see me have a major meltdown about my pg. I thought it was all over- I had cramping, spotting- same symptoms as last time, but here I am. Got a HB last week at my NT and I'm already getting a little eager to hear it again. The women here are lovely and this is definitely the place to have a freak out.

AFM- had my first midwife appointment today. All fine. they are sending me for my morphology through the hospital which means my DP may not be able to make it as I am pretty sure it will have to be during the week. Are there other routine US after 18-20 week scan?

Hi to everyone else

edited to fix poorly placed question mark...
Dinosaurus
Belinda - Not to cause trouble but you can demand your medical records and results any time - they belong to you, not your Dr. It's very annoying being kept waiting - a day is a long time for the person waiting, but especially when it's for pregnancy news. I hope they do get back to you tonight.

Tygrays - I would have completely lost it by now, you're doing a terrific job in ridiculous circumstances.

Mona - when you said "16 weeks" I had to go check - it really has flown by since those awful early days!

Having fun - how are you going, you've not to long yourself!

Kate - there aren't usually any scans after the 20 week unless they need to check something specific.

Hi Kuta, Fee, Mamabug, why did I start this I'm not going to remember everyone...everyone else!

Feeling much better, still tired and now DS is getting sick! Helpful!

Be back when DS is sorted for bed.
Belinda33
Thank you to all of you for your support over the last few days.

Jen 42 - Yes I know re: my records but I don't want to seem like a complete pain.

kate ko - great news for you with your app today.

Tygrays - That sounds exhausting having to keep defending yourself like that. Also , it looks like no news is good news for the time being. And good score on the mystery box.

Evafaithful - I'm sure I will regret saying this but atm If I had the morning sickness I would be feeling much more pregnant and confident about things. Now I'm sure by next week I will regret this at it usually kicks in about the 6 week mark for me. Thanks for your thoughts.

waves.gif to everyone else I have missed.

AFM: Well my FS rang me about an hour ago and I am feeling much better for the moment.

My Hcg from Sat was only 16 but todays result is over 100. So he said he can't say which way it will go but that he wants me to start taking the progesterone pessaries and clexane shots from tomorrow.

Thank you all for your support the last few days have been agonising.

Do any of you have any good suggestions on keeping positive through this 12 week wait ?? As you can see I am really having trouble.

I think I will book in to the hospital OB tomorrow so I can get weekly ultrasounds and keep an eye on how things are progressing. I know these weeks are going to feel like forever.
Dinosaurus
That's great news Belinda, I am always happy to be a pian but I know for a fact that this is a side effect from having total pita clients of my own! I had fortnightly u/s and that was barely enough to keep me sane in those early weeks so yes, weekly would be good although try to hold out as long as possible for the first one to avoid the extra stress of not seeing much - I know how hard that is though. Other than that try your best to keep busy, take on extra work, visit people who don't know you're pg or ttc so won't ask, go to a play...whatever the heck it takes to fill the minutes. I hope you get a good night sleep tonight and feel better once the double fun of prog and clexane shots give you something to do (I felt a lot better this pg for the aspirin just because it felt like I was doing something different so there could be a different outcome).

Enough waffle - congrat's again and we're here to help you through the next 8 weeks so use us, we all remember what it was like.
ThatsNotMyName
Lurking for Canadia but will add a quick
yay Belinda!
Glad you're on the mend Jen
Bloody hell Tygrays I'm just about ready to get down there myself & give them a shake up - infuriating!

Sorry but that's all I have time for atm
Love to all xxx
MarsBarSlice
Hi ladies, welcome to Wednesday. Only one more day and then Easter begins, yummy chocolate.

Jenchristo - Welcome to our group. We all understand the emotions of joining this group and are here to listen and help

Tygrays - I admire you and hope I have that much strength when trying for my VBAC. Great purchase

Eva - I vomited everyday until about 14weeks and then it was every 2nd day up until 18weeks and the all symptoms just disappeared and I felt great

Kate - I'm having a scan at 36weeks to measure the baby to see if a VBAC is achievable otherwise I wouldn't be having another scan

Jen42 - Glad to hear you are starting to feel better. I hope DS being is sick very short lived

Belinda - Great results. You just need to occupy your mind on other things (easier said than done). It seems to take forever to get to 12 weeks, it was difficult for me too

Hi to everyone else. Hoping all the new mummies are coping and getting enough sleep to survive. Lurking for news of any new arrivals.

AFM: My Ob appt went well, my blood pressure is still low which she is more than happy with. As for everyone telling me I'm small, well I measure exactly 28weeks which is what I should be. Next time I hear it I can just tell them I am the perfect size (for this week anyway). Did my GD and had my Anti-D shot. Asked heaps more questions about a VBAC and tearing, etc. I'm going to purchase the Epi No, Ob says it can only help and even if I end up with a CS it will still help strengthen my pelvic floor. Heartbeat was about 152bpm and was found straight away. I still don't feel too much movement but she said that the placenta being right at the front will block most of it. She gave me some tips to help with movement if I get worried (which I regularly do).

Mamabug - My BP was 90/55 yesterday
tygrays
Aww thanks guys, but I'm not really that strong etc etc - more like STUBBORN LOL Basically if I cave now I've no choice but to turn around and say that everything I've wanted asked for etc etc is wrong and they're right - I can't do that because they're not right LOL

We're meeting our birth assistant this Friday - I can't wait!! I think once we've met her, found some support in this town IRL then most of my fears etc will start to dissipate. I'm not afraid of birthing baby at home - I love being pregnant and giving birth (yep - sign me up for the nut house now bahahaha) it's what can happen afterwards with DOC's and the hospitals manditory reporting if we have to transfer there and then anything residual if the kids are home when Aerynn is born - I really am not certain how our eldest with aspergers will cope - he's 13 and refuses to take on board any '
"bird and the bee's" talk... Anyhoos - All going well we shouldn't ahve to worry too much about that wink.gif I've got a birthing pool all booked and that will be here mid July and am currently researching alternative methods for minimising and treating PPH should we need it - better to be safe than sorry wink.gif

Belinda - Soooooo HAPPY for you!!!! Woohoo!!! I know it's really early days but a BFP with doubling HCG is a great start!!!! Here's for a safe and boring 9 months for you!!! original.gif

Kuta - I'm hoping you get the VBAC you want!!! if your ob says no are you going to get a second opinion? **fingers crossed** it all works out!!! BTW that BP is really low!! hope you're feeling ok!!

Sheeesh, I can't see anyone elses replies!! Is EB playing up or my computer??? Hope everyone else is doing well... have screaming kids but will be back once I've sorted them out (read banging their heads together - figuratively of course!!!!)
*MONA*
Congrats belinda!! thats woundeful news! ddance.gif

ty u are so oraganised!! this is my birth plan so far - fairy god mother will arrive on due date and wave her magic wand and baby will be in my arms! lol yep im still terrified laughing2.gif

well im just stalking for canadia news, i will be back later!

edited - oh forgot to add i found that baby gap now ships to australia!! clothes are too cute! it also has old navy and banana republilc on there too! if any1 intrested check out Baby Gap omg and i suggest evry1 checks out "Carters baby" on ebay they currently dont ship to australia from there website but ppl on ebay do! carters baby clothes are my faverioute i have bought so much and they are quite cheap! maybe a bit of window online shopping while we wait for canadias news!
Dinosaurus
ph34r.gif Canadia!

Mona - We have Gap in Melbourne, come visit biggrin.gif

Got some nice warm coats for DS and baby brother for this winter and December/UK winter at Pumkin Patch this morning - DS has a little black faux leather jacket and looks very cool, he refused to consider the matching cool deerstalker.

Edited for spelling.

Belinda33
So I started the Clexane injections this afternoon. Not as bad as I thought it would be, though it did sting quite a bit after wards. Waiting to pick up the progesterone pessaries tomorrow and will start tomorrow night. So at least I feel I am doing all I can to help make this a sticky bub. Boobs are getting sorer by the day which I am glad about and feeling very tired and hungry... so all these symptoms make me at least feel that things are going along as they should. Booked in with the hosp OB today as they will do weekly ultrasounds for me to keep an eye on things. The receptionist at the hosp is so so lovely and helpful, definitely the nicest I have come across in the medical profession for a while.
Mamabug
Belinda - sorry I can't recall the gory medical history, but have you had to have injections before?

If not, there are a few tips I might be able to offer... being a veteran of IVF and insulin-controlled gestational diabetes!!!

If you're an old hand, please, feel free to ignore me!!!
Belinda33
Mamabug - No I haven't had to inject myself before. I was a bit unsure about having to do it myself but it went ok. So I would be very happy to get a few tips from you. The reason I am on it is because I have elevated Anticardiolipin antibodies. So FS is putting me on the clexane and progesterone as a precautionary measure as I have had 5 m/c. Lets hope this does the trick.
Mamabug
Oooohhh...ACA...me too!!!!

Mine is a minor issue - what was your last level? I am on precautionary low-dose asprin this pg. As my level was 4 (which is all but non-existent) last year and had crept up a bit to 6 earlier this year. The ob figured if it has gone up even slightly it is in our best interest to be on asprin, even though my current level isn't considered a "positive" for ACA.

We had a shocking time with #1 with massive recurrent bleeds between 15-18 weeks...four of the longest weeks of my life. The hospital's high-risk ob ran blood tests for everything (or so it seemed by the nine vials of blood they syringed out of me) and voila, positive for ACA. On to the asprin and the bleeding didn't recur.

I had low levels again with #2 and was on asprin, but nothing showed up with #3.

Make sure you have a bit of meat where you plan to inject, and give it a bit of a pinch before - takes the mind off the jab because it's already a bit sore!!! Try and squeeze a bit of a fold up and once you have injected, let the skin slide off the needle, rather than pulling the needle out of the skin.

Vary the injection site - if subc injection (like insulin) you can do left/right stomach, rump and thigh. (I found with my IVF injections the rump worked better than the stomach, and with insulin, I preferred the thigh).

ACA is a very nasty participant in recurrent miscarriage, so I'm glad you are being treated. It astounds me that so many people aren't tested for it as it really is just a simple blood test and is so simple to treat to help avoid such devestating outcomes.

I hope it is the magic solution for you as well.

Dinosaurus
Still ph34r.gif Canadia biggrin.gif

Anyone doing anything great for Easter? We're not but all our friends are so no playmates around even - DS will need to be transferred to his big bed so that could take care of all the extra sleep we may have enjoyed!
tygrays
quick one here - we're doing a whole house spruce up in preparation for meeting our birth assistant tomorrow, I LOVE a huge house, but cleaning it is the pits bahahaa

no news on Canadia? hope that means she's holding her bubba!!!!

I booked my GTT today, on the same day as our 3d scan, May 20th.

I also worked out our budget up to Aerynns due date - there's only 8 fortnightly paydays left OMG!!!! That feels sooooooo close!!! And as DH is paid monthly (on the 15th) he's only got 3 paydays left!!!! Eeeeekkkkk!!!

better run, need to finish the kitchen, prepare Aerynn's change table and clothes area in the lounge so it looks like we're ready hahaha and then have an appointment this afternoon for DD... should be back later this arvo original.gif

Take care all

**belly rubs**
*MONA*
lurking lurking lurking!

jen - so jealous that u have GAP ovr there!

have a quick question, has any1 sufferd from migrains or head aches for more than a day? i have a shocking head ache from last night and it wont budge! have been drinking plenty of water.

although my diet in the last 2 weeks has gone right out the window! have been so slack so im thinking that could be the reason? i dont feel comfortable taking panadole but if my head keeps pounding the way it is i dont think i will have a choice!
TulsaTime
Hi everyone, I am slowly catching up with the posts. I am lurking for Canadia...where are you? Thinking all positive thoughts your way. It's been a hectic and fulfilling week with Taal. I have had a steady stream of visitors which has been a bit tough to cope with, but hopefully, life will take on some pattern soon.

Mona: I would take the panadol. It is the only thing I took as well and I think it's safe from what everyone says. But ouch to migraines. Hope you feel better soon.

Tygrays: Good luck sprucing the house. Such a pain to do it, but love the sense of accomplishment once it's done.

Jen42: When is Easter? biggrin.gif I am stuck in some time warp here. I've been housebound. I look a sight walking- bigger waddle now than in pregnancy original.gif

Belinda: You're so brave! Having to inject oneself sad.gif

Hi everyone. Hope you have lovely days ahead.

x
MarsBarSlice
Canadia - looking for your news

Mona - You've just reminded me that in the 2nd trimester I was getting headaches that lasted longer than a day. Sometimes I couldn't move cause it hurt too much. I drank more water, tried to get more and better sleep. Eventually they went away. I never took anything for them.

Tulsa - Glad to hear from you. Looking forward to hearing your birth story when you get the time and the energy to do it.

Hi to everyone, hope you had a great day
Belinda33
Mamabug - The ACA was picked up after the 2nd m/c when I demanded some testing be done. My level was 20 and the second one 6 weeks later was 9 (this was after having acupuncture for 6 weeks). My Ob didn't think it was an issue. I begged to differ. After m/c 4 and all the testing at Syd IVF I again returned an elevated level but I was not told what it was. The FS decided it was better to play it safe in case by using the clexane and progesterone pessaries. I guess only time will tell. Thanks for the advice. I found it went fine yesterday so hopefully tonight I will do just as well. Then will pop the pessary in before I go to bed. I had another blood test today to check Hcg and progesterone and they haven't got back to me. I hate this.... I am so damn anxious. I am really having trouble controlling it. I am trying to tell myself that if it was not good news surely he would have rung me. I really hope he calls tomorrow as it is just agonising as you all know.

I know that even once I get to the stage of having weekly ultrasounds I am going to be petrified that each time I go I'm going to get bad news. I am really struggling with this.
jodownunder

Sorry I've been missing for a few weeks. Had my midsemester exams this week so have been cramming desperately. I had the last one today...luckily as my brain was starting to explode. I don't even want to think about the final ones as I'll be 38 weeks by then.....

Firstly.....sending Tulsa a massive congratulations. Your family look gorgeous. Glad you are enjoying this special time.

Secondly....Jen42, what a nightmare you've had. Glad you are on the mend.

belinda - Congratulations on your BFP and positive results so far. The first few weeks are so hard but we all understand so feel free to vent away. I'm also on the clexane for different reasons but find if I don't swab the area then it hurts less (not sure if this is ok or not). Also, make sure you grab as much flesh as you can and alternate the sides. I also try and do mine before i go to bed so I don't have anything irritating the sight. I'm not sure if I'm more used to it now but it certainly doesn't feel as painful anymore so hopefully this will be the same for you.

Kuta - Glad your appt went well. Hope your transition to big bed goes better than mine.

Tygrays - You sound so very organised and strong. I'm going to take a leaf out of your book and at the least this weekend think of some names!

Mamabug - Hope you are ok. How are you finding work full time?

Candida - Look forward to hearing your news soon......

Big girls bed - Sorry ladies but I don't have good news to report. Amy hated it, told me she was too little for such a big bed and refused to get in. We perservered for a few nights by lying with her until she went to sleep but then as soon as she woke in the night she wanted us back in there. And she wouldn't have a daytime sleep in it so after 4 days we were all exhausted and she is now back in the cot with the sides on. I feel defeated but I keep on trying every night and am hoping one night she will just surprise me and say yes!!! So good luck Jen and Kuta

AFM - Saw the OB today. All good so far. Tried again to find out the sex but still don't know. I think I have to accept that its going to be a surprise! I can't believe I am 31 weeks on friday....scary. Glad my exams are all over. I've got next week off uni so will be nice to have a bit of time off and get a bit organised. And catch up on some of my shows!!!

Hope everyone is well.
Dinosaurus
Great to hear from you Tulsa and Jo!

Tulsa - don't worry, that early time warp period is lovely but passes before you know it. When you get up and some chocolate-laying rabbit has left eggs it means it's Easter (religious DH assures me this is NOT the purpose of Easter though!)

Jo - I went into hospital the first night of my students one-week exam! So I got out of it really easy, they had to do it without me (but not before one sent an email on Monday asking which pages in the text book he would need for the test!) we have DS in the big bed tonight at his request! He's clearly gone to sleep so we'll pack a few pillows around him before we go to bed and hope for the best! It has followed on from DH sleeping in his bed (him in the cot) for a couple of nights while Mum was here as I couldn't manage sleeping with DH! Maybe he just needed to see that it was a bed and not a giant trampoline! Good luck with it.

Mona - I'd take the panadol, it's perfectly harmless taken occasionally in pregnancy (so Ob tells me) and I hate headaches! Hope it goes away soon.

Belinda - I also like to think no news is good news, hopefully you can keep busy over Easter and by the end of it almost a whole 'nother week will be passed. When is your first scan booked for? Next week or the week after? I hope the time flies - the early days are the worst sad.gif

Well, still lurking for Canadia and recovering after being flamed in the preg q&a for worrying about baby and questioning the infallibility of my Drs! I'm sure I didn't express myself the best, but people could just answer the question without calling me names rolleyes.gif still - got to be happy with the outcome, it seems I was worrying for not much and bubs shod be fine (will still be asking both Drs and Ob on Wed though!)

Have great Easter's everyone - I accidently started the hot x buns AND my chocolate egg today so I may have to share DS's on Sunday laughing2.gif
mudlark
Hey everyone
I'm not really in the mood for posting but wanted to give you guys an update. Yesterday I went to my 41-week appointment with the specialist and everything seemed to be going fine...except for the fact I had extremely high blood pressure. It was so high they wouldn't let me leave the hospital and I had to stay around while they arranged a bed for me - apparently it was chockers in delivery suite that day - and then I had various tests done and a fetal trace. It was so nice to hear baby's heart pumping away happily on that machine. So a few hours later after I had had a lie down they took my blood pressure again and it was the lowest it had ever been and all the tests came back clear for pre-eclampsia. I was allowed to leave after that, but not before being told I am scheduled for an induction next Tuesday at 40w + 12d. I also have to go in on Sunday again to be monitored.

The whole thing has really knocked my confidence around and I had a big cry about it last night. I'm not keen on getting an induction because I'm scared it will lead to an epidural, which I have an irrational fear of, but I'm also not looking forward to being the patient from hell by trying to go against their advice. If my body just worked to a faster timetable I wouldn't have to be put in this position at all. I'm trying to keep my mind on other things at the moment and not stress out but it is hard, so hard.

Happy Easter for Sunday everyone and I hope everything is going well with all of you.

R

Dinosaurus
Canadia - I'm sorry to hear things aren't going to plan sad.gif I wouldn't worry about being the patient from hell - DH assures me I already have this title in hand biggrin.gif If you keep asking questions as to what they want to do and why and what will happen if they don't do it (ie if they don't induce Tuesday and put it off 24 hours what are the risks/beneifts) - keep yourself informed of all medical procedures around induction and birth and it will help you feel better about either going along for the induction or fighting it for your own reasons. If your BP was only up for a few hours it could have been another reason (stress from all those pita rello's) and the fact you're clear for PE at this point is excellent news for both you and bubs - it also puts you in a good position to argue against induction as long as your BP stays down.

In the meantime get to bed - sex (well at least the sperm bit) is the best thing for making babies come out apparently wink.gif

Thanks for posting, I'm sure I'm not the only one who was hoping you were already holding your precious boy by now hhugs.gif

Take care, you can do this and you and bubs will be fine.

PS - A friend of mine was induced due to ruptured membranes not translating to labour for too long and she had a vaginal birth so it doesn't mean an epidural or c/s.

Good luck.
mudlark
Thanks for the kind words Jen, it's really nice to have support. Of course I know that I just have to be informed and ask lots of questions, and I've been giving my husband a crash course in what I already know so he can support me better, but I'm just having trouble holding it all together at the moment. So thank you, because I need to hear this from someone else at the moment and not think I'm going mad.

By the way, I saw your thread about the endone this morning. I think the mods had already removed the harshest posts but, boy, I can't believe how willing some people are to eat you alive on EB! It just seemed to be the way you had phrased something that set them off, not what you were actually asking about. nno.gif I hope you're alright and I think your questions and concerns were perfectly reasonable.
TulsaTime
Oh Canadia, I so feel for you. I hope the BP situation stays under control so that is one less thing for you to worry about. Things are so hard when you don't know how you are going to go, but I think Tuesday is a while away still and there is every chance you will go into labour naturally at this point and I will keep my fingers and toes crossed this happens very soon. I was so keen not to be induced either and was given a reprieve when they told me as I was to be induced that I was in prelabour and sent me home- but as my acupuncturist told me, 5 days is a long time at this stage and I am really really hoping that it doesn't come to induction for you. Don't worry about being any sort of patient. This is your moment and yes, you can do it!

For what it's worth, I was on the syntocin but ended up needing the epidural before the drip and I did have a natural birth.

Much love...

Jen42: Not sure what post Canadia is referring to but big hug if people have been rude. I find it so upsetting when people get like that, and it's the last thing you need on a chocolate eating holiday! hhugs.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.