The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
FamilyCompleted
16/04/2011, 11:49 PM
Hi
Looking into relocating from interstate.
Interested on suburbs that are around 1hr max from Adelaide...
Please tell me about the good suburbs with low crime rates and good for families....
We'll be renting.....
TIA
jesstazzy
16/04/2011, 11:51 PM
Mt Barker, Strathalbyn, Littlehampton, Nairne
Adelaide Hills areas anyway
Lollie90
16/04/2011, 11:53 PM
I live in a suburb called Sheidow Park and its so quite and there are quite a few houses out here that you can rent. Plus its crime free, its only 30 min from the city and an excellent place to raise a family.
chety
16/04/2011, 11:56 PM
Hi

on the second page, towards the bottom is a thread "family friendly suburbs" or something like that....
(for ease I have simply copied my post from there posted below)
either way, hope you find somewhere that is perfect for you & your family

we live in the fleurieu peninsula, in mclaren vale, & love it!
we are 5 mins away from aldinga beach, atleast 3-4 excellent schools (one in mclaren vale, one in mclaren flat, one or two in willunga, then there is two private schools - christian & catholic in aldinga) all within either walking distance or 5-10 min drive max. there is your standard shops/small shopping centre both here in mclaren vale & aldinga, or drive 10 mins to seaford to the 'next size up' shopping centre, or another 5 mins on top of that is colonnades which is the southern major shopping centre. or Marion (westfield marion) is 20-30 mins drive. adelaide is only 30-40 mins commute.
Lots of great parks all within a 10 min drive, very community minded here in mclaren vale & the surrounding areas (mclaren flat & willunga) & is classed as semi-rural (& feels like it too, like a medium sized country township, but with all facilities, shopping centres, etc within a maximum half hour drive)
great local dr's, small hospital 10 min drive (at noarlunga) or major hospital is 20 min drive (flinders hospital)
most housing is between 300-450 in mclaren vale, & there is allots avail. in mclaren flat, & aldinga has had quite a few new housing estates go up which all have essentially brand new houses for sale, or land avail in the newest release.
to me, it is perfect

p.s most rentals are very reasonable & well priced. log onto realestate.com & click on rent, then sa, & enter in various suburbs you are interested in & that will be a good help in showing what is out there & the prices ranges. - mods hope that website referral is ok

?
mummahh
17/04/2011, 12:00 AM
Stick within 30 - 45 minutes to the city in any direction and you should be right. The worse ones as far as I know are up north e.g Elizabeth, Davoren Park. Don't go further south than Noarlunga. Anywhere in between is good.
Do you want to live an hour out, or do you mean within an hour radius?
aria
17/04/2011, 12:07 AM
LOL
I live in Adelaide and there a very few suburbs that are 1 hour from Adelaide!
A quick run down
Eastern Suburbs-Norwood, Burnside, St Peters, Rose Park, Linden Park and surrounds are really nice with lots of good schools (public and private) and max of 15-20 mins from the city.
Inner North- Prospect, Collinswood, Nailsworth also good very close to town and good schools.
Inner South- Westbourne Park, Colonel light gardens also good
Adelaide Hills- Stirling, Crafers, Bridgewater very pretty and close to the city about 20mins out.
Any of these areas are really nice but rent can be expensive
Further out and cheaper are Adelaide Hills towns like Mt Barker and Nairne which are about 30-40 minutes from town.
Areas like Hallet cove, Shiedow park and near the beach and are still not too far away and on the train to the city.
Blackwood and Aberfoyle Park and Flagstaff Hill are also not bad.
North Eastern suburbs not too bad.
I would avoid extreme North and South but thats my opinion only!
Lees75
17/04/2011, 12:12 AM
Tell us where you or your partner would be working, and then we can be more specific
ikeaqueen
17/04/2011, 12:12 AM
West is best

Semaphore

Any of the suburbs listed so far would be great, I'm just very fond of the beach.
redkris
17/04/2011, 12:20 AM
LOL
Someone else said it before I could LOL. One of the best things about Adelaide is how quick it is to get places

I live out at Highbury which is just under 30 minutes from town. Quite a few of the suburbs around here are nice...Tea Tree Gully, St Agnes, Athelstone, Dernancourt. Close to major shopping centres and transport hubs too. DH works in Technology Park at Mawson Lakes and it only takes about 20 minutes for him to get to work in the mornings.
Can you give us an idea of what part of Adelaide you will be working in? It will give us a better idea of what suburb to recommend.
hills mum bec
17/04/2011, 10:19 AM
I live in Lobethal in the Adelaide Hills, about 40mins from the city. I love living herre, is very family friendly & more like a small country town than a suburb but stillo very close to everything. The only problem you may find is that the Adelaide Hills doesn't have a huge rental market.
FamilyCompleted
17/04/2011, 12:07 PM
Thankyou for your replies so far.
Would be looking for a delivery/storeman job for my husband. He has a MR licence and forklift licence....
I am a SAHM of 7 children.
ATM 5 children are in a Catholic school here, but costs would be a huge factor on whether we could continue that when we move.
Two other children are completing year 10 this year.
I guess within a hours radius.....
We'd be looking at doing this move after Christmas at a min.
Rent up to $350pw is our absolute max.
(Our mortgage is more than that here!!).
redkris
17/04/2011, 12:26 PM
ok, I was just looking at Real Estate.com.au and they have 4 bedroom houses that come in at your price range in places like Mt Barker, Para hills, Valley View, Parafield Gardens, Andrews Farm and Oakden (among others).
Mount Barker is a decent sized little town in the Adelaide Hills. DH thinks you could get into the CBD in under 6o minutes in peak hour, probably 45 minutes normally. It is pretty nice there.
Andrews Farm and Oakden are both "created" suburbs that are fairly recent. Oakden is only about 15 minutes out of town normally, but probably 30 minutes in peak hour. Andrews Farm would probably be about 45 minutes. The suburbs surrounding them are a bit run down but liveable.
Parafield Gardens, Para hills, Salisbury etc have good parts and bad parts. They were quite rough suburbs that are now going up in price and being upgraded because they are not too far from town. Valley View isn't too bad, again verges on some rougher suburbs but I would live there.
Depends how many bedrooms you were after, as well...there is a lot of 3 bedroom stuff in your price range, not too much 4 bedroom, but there just aren't as many houses that size around the place.
chety
17/04/2011, 12:36 PM
there is often 4 bedroom houses available for rent, around the $300-$370 p/wk in mclaren vale, seaford, moana, aldinga (new housing estates - very nice)
we are 40 mins from adelaide cdb (with the expressway) or 50mins without the expressway.
there is quite a few private schools, 2 are catholic & with good fees (All Saints Catholic Primary - at seaford, & a new one has opened last year in aldinga "Gallilee") there is also a good christian private school "southern vales christian college" in aldinga.
My husband has worked right in the heart of adelaide & in the eastern suburbs when we lived at seaford rise, & his commute was 50 mins (60-65mins if there was numerous accidents along the way)
I love living further down south, it has such a relaxed, country community feel without being far removed from all services.
(imho - I would avoid noarlunga, christie downs, hackham etc. For us, we would never move any closer to adelaide than seaford, port noarlunga)
mummasaurus
19/06/2011, 01:15 AM
QUOTE (redkris @ 16/04/2011, 11:50 PM)

LOL
Someone else said it before I could LOL. One of the best things about Adelaide is how quick it is to get places

I live out at Highbury which is just under 30 minutes from town. Quite a few of the suburbs around here are nice...Tea Tree Gully, St Agnes, Athelstone, Dernancourt. Close to major shopping centres and transport hubs too. DH works in Technology Park at Mawson Lakes and it only takes about 20 minutes for him to get to work in the mornings.
Can you give us an idea of what part of Adelaide you will be working in? It will give us a better idea of what suburb to recommend.
You could be my neighbour
belleboysandgirl
19/06/2011, 03:44 PM
The Barossa is only an hour from Adelaide and there are always jobs going in the wineries for forkies and truck drivers.
We pay $260 a week rent for a 4 bed room 2 bath house just out of Tanunda
Calamity Anne
22/06/2011, 06:13 PM
lola_80
22/06/2011, 06:34 PM
QUOTE (mummahh @ 16/04/2011, 11:30 PM)

Stick within 30 - 45 minutes to the city in any direction and you should be right. The worse ones as far as I know are up north e.g Elizabeth, Davoren Park. Don't go further south than Noarlunga. Anywhere in between is good.
I would also say that Hackham and Christies Beach, Reynella are also high crime rates!
lola_80
22/06/2011, 06:35 PM
Our brand new two story home will be available for rent at the end of November! We are 45 mins from the city toward Gawler.....
muddocswife
23/06/2011, 10:45 AM
We are at Willaston (about 5 minutes from Gawler), BEST move we have made

My daughter goes to St Brigids Catholic school at Evanston and again we are very happy with this school!! Low fee's, GREAT staff!!
Now that the Northern Expressway is finished it only takes us about 20 mins to get to the South Road, there are heaps of factories etc if hubby is looking for work! And PLEASE don't believe everything you hear about the people from the North, we are not all bogans some of us are quite nice thanks very much
Over the course of my life I have lived in quite a few area's and there are nutters everywhere....lol
All the best with your move!!
VintageEyes
23/06/2011, 10:59 AM
QUOTE (FamilyCompleted @ 17/04/2011, 11:37 AM)

Would be looking for a delivery/storeman job for my husband. He has a MR licence and forklift licence....
Mt Barker is a great, lots of new families there, and there are a few options of religious schools in the hills (not expensive). BUT, a lot (not all obviously) of those types of jobs would likely be more to the North of Adelaide (eg Regency Park) where there are a lot of warehouses etc.
It might take an hour to get to the city from Mt Barker in peak hour, but it was taking my husband nearly 1.5hr to get to his work at Regency Park, which is just the other side of the city.
Not sure how many bedrooms you would be looking for, but if you are looking for a bigger place, that might eliminate some suburbs for you as well.
Kristina13
24/06/2011, 12:05 AM
We are approx 40 mins from the city in Hallett Cove -seaside suburb with many (but not all) houses enjoying a sea view very pleasant quiet suburb -lived here 14 years, never had to call the police!! Like living in a holiday house when you watch the sun set over the ocean as we do in the warmer months! lol
New shopping centre -direct train links to the city (when its running !!!! -currently the Noarlunga line is out of actio until Aug.) good schools etc
monkeys mum
24/06/2011, 01:13 AM
QUOTE (Kristina13 @ 23/06/2011, 11:35 PM)

We are approx 40 mins from the city in Hallett Cove -seaside suburb with many (but not all) houses enjoying a sea view very pleasant quiet suburb -lived here 14 years, never had to call the police!! Like living in a holiday house when you watch the sun set over the ocean as we do in the warmer months! lol
New shopping centre -direct train links to the city (when its running !!!! -currently the Noarlunga line is out of actio until Aug.) good schools etc

I lived in Hallett Cove for 13yrs before moving out of home and loved it, it is such a massive suburb but has so much just in the suburb to do! Two train stations and on the bus route, the conservation park, and gorgeous beach. The shopping centre has been done up since I moved away and it is massive compared to what it used to be, you aren't far from town, or the smaller local hospital, or the bigger hospital, or the Uni and it has two primary schools and one big R-12 school and across the highway is a private school too. $350pw would get you a nice house there.
Other southern suburbs I would recomend are Seaford, Aldinga, Sheidow Park, Trott Park.
I lived in Christies and yeah there are some ok areas but I didn't like living there but we had no issues.
I have also lived in O'Sullivan Beach and would recommend it. It might not have a great reputation but from living there for a few years it is a gorgeous little suburb with a great community feel to it, and in three years we had no issues and I have friends that have lived there for 15+yrs and they have had little issues too.
You will find crime in any area, the opinions you will get will be based on each individuals experience of that suburb, I didn't like living in Christies as we were opposite the housing trust court, I loved living in Sullies as it has a great community base, and I loved living in Halletts as I grew up there. No suburb is crime free but some have more perks then others.
fordmum
05/08/2011, 01:04 AM
We moved from Victoria 4 years ago now.
Having lived in Gippsland (Traralgon) specifically, unfortunately we could not find rental properties within our price range between Noarlunga and Mount Compass (my parents live out near there).
We were ultimately forced to choose Murray Bridge. It's nice and all but from where we are from it is definitely lacking.
We have a Coles, Woolworths (both open until 10pm) and local IGA. Since moving we now have Bunnings plus a Mitre 10 (which was already here). There are two public primary schools, one public high school and three private schools (St Jospehs Primary School, Unity College R-12, and Murraylands Christian College R-7 in Murray Bridge and R-12 in Strathalbyn). We have a new children's centre called Tinyeri 0-5yrs which also includes South Kindergarten, and then there is North Kindergarten and Concordia Kindergarten.
Housing is very affordable whether to buy or rent and by the end of the year the new shopping centre that hosts a Big W and new Woolworths store is expected to be completed (although I would much prefer a decent Kmart store because Woolworths the company and all its stores no longer accept debit credit cards). We also have a Target Country, Toyworld, Toy Kingdom, Neds, Cheap as Chips, Millers and lots of other small stores. There are 4 chemists (2x Chemplus and 2x Better Health Pharmacies) with one being open every day except Christmas Day and until 8pm weeknights.
Monarto Zoo is nearby, plus there is a new state of the art go-kart track, Speedway, MotorX. Basketball Stadium, Several football clubs & supporting netball teams to choose from, separate Netball group, Airforce Cadets, Scouts/Guides/Venturers. There is an open air swimming pool during summer months and a heated pool all year round.
The only down side that I really do not like is the indequate Medical Centre for which there are two sites and the fact that you can never get in to see a doctor unless you call at least a few days in advance so you have to see the "Emergency Doctor". The local hospital does not really see anyone after hours as they normally advise for you to see the "Emergency Doctor" the next day.
Murray Bridge is only actually about 40mins to the tollgate and therefore about 1 hr to the city (depending on traffic) and is a very multi-cultural regional town.