The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: I just snorted.

Essential Baby > Pregnancy > Baby Names
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
EssentialBludger
Just saw on a friends FB page.

Wriley.

I'm guessing it's pronounce Riley?

Seen any shockers lately?
Nurse Mummy
Oh no.......I met a little boy at the park, his name was Smith, that's right it's his first name
~miss*priss~
Kyly.

Read it in the paper this morning.
~Nodnol~
ohmy.gif

Oh dear.

Seriously, the government needs to launch a name licensing system. You can't get the baby bonus or something if you insist on calling your child a ridiculous name.
StupidUsername

Cinema

Azadel
Wreally?
spellfall
QUOTE (Azadel @ 10/04/2011, 03:30 PM) *
Wreally?

roll2.gif

3_for_me
Clowie and Sarelinea, my neices. I love them to death but oh those names...
Beth E
These all made me laugh, but - Cinema - honestly???!! What the? That is cruel.
EssentialBludger
2 kids in my 5yo cousins class - Reality and Tiki Bear. mellow.gif
caesie'n'linc
I still can't quite get past De Ja Vu! Serious name of a real child at the school my kids attend.....

Oh & the one I read the other day somewhere 'Jackenzie'...still not sure about that one either...
Beth E
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
MiSS_E
I used to work with someone named Wrylee (female). She hated her name so much! Especially as we had to wear name tags and every second person would comment, all day, every day.
barrington
The school captain: Jimamelia
lady-android
I was at the footy last night and one of the girls in the junior cheersquad was called Shauntay (that was how they pronounced it)... unsure.gif
B.M.C.M.I
You'd be appalled at a few of my friends childrens names LOL! I won't post them just incase.
sparkle-tiffany
Xzayvier..... saw this on the Bonds baby comp website. Poor kid, he will be correcting his name spelling his whole life.
MakeLoveNotBacon
QUOTE (sparkle-tiffany @ 10/04/2011, 03:59 PM) *
Xzayvier.....

WHY????
MyPrincessandthePea
I overheard an expectant Mum and her friend discussing names while I was waiting for DD to finish on the jumping castle.

They dismisssed Xavier, Jack/Jackson and a few others and then one said

Mum 1 "Oh cute a pirate"
Mum 2 "Oh cool face paint"
Mum 1 "Hmmm Pirate I think I like it, its a nice strong name"
Mum 2 "As a name? Yeah it is nice"

I looked at them hoping they were joking, but they sipped their lattes and continued pondering.
cheekycherub
Erykah

Sad but true
mel43
Heaven-Lei huh.gif
*~*ME*~*
there is a child at my ds' child care called

AUDIO
riwymk
wacko.gif unsure.gif ohmy.gif huh.gif
Fugative Potato
QUOTE (MyPrincessandthePea @ 10/04/2011, 04:04 PM) *
I overheard an expectant Mum and her friend discussing names while I was waiting for DD to finish on the jumping castle.

They dismisssed Xavier, Jack/Jackson and a few others and then one said

Mum 1 "Oh cute a pirate"
Mum 2 "Oh cool face paint"
Mum 1 "Hmmm Pirate I think I like it, its a nice strong name"
Mum 2 "As a name? Yeah it is nice"

I looked at them hoping they were joking, but they sipped their lattes and continued pondering.

I'm giggling, darn thats funny.
Joza
Saw on FB.. Eelaylah unsure.gif
Inigo Montoya
Not as bad as some of the other names mentioned, but... Halayna.

~~~
Thank goodness we are able to change our names in this country..... seriously, what are some of these parents thinking......
liveworkplay
Calypso ninja.gif

Although I have come across my first, IRL Seriphina wub.gif
*Grumplestiltskin*
QUOTE (lady-android @ 10/04/2011, 03:51 PM) *
I was at the footy last night and one of the girls in the junior cheersquad was called Shauntay (that was how they pronounced it)... unsure.gif

My daughter's name is Shauntay. sad.gif

KIDDING! It's actually our son.

KIDDING!

Oh & the one I read the other day somewhere 'Jackenzie'...still not sure about that one either...

I reckon one wanted Jack, the other wanted Mackenzie, and neither would back down.
*Hazlenut*
At nursery rhymes the other day there where 2 baby girls...Tiger and Amiteale huh.gif
kriattica
Wow.... And I had a laugh at Nixon Bear and thats not even bad compared to some of these!!
Cranky Old Woman
Kyeleigh and Strawberry
~PrincessHollie~
I have no friends with exciting names like that, maybe because if they actually named their kid some stupid name I would de-friend them.
Barefoot
January, February and the baby March.
liveworkplay
I have no friends with exciting names like that, maybe because if they actually named their kid some stupid name I would de-friend them.

laughing2.gif neither do I but when you work with kids, you hear some doosies. I actually found a book with Calypso written on it and was sort of hesitant to hand it inot the teacher until she said," Ah yes, I know him".
kelliev
When I had DD2 there was a baby girl Sophiera (Sof-era) and little boy, Cash, in my shared hospital room.
TheClampetts
Charisma

What if she is boring, what happens then?
aluminium
Recently met a little girl called "Fuel"
owlingaround
ky-lee prounced kylie....
Catolyn
My cousin's girlfriend's mate knows a teacher who has a Le-a in her class, pronounced leDASHa.

tongue.gif
lovin it
2 I've heard recently.. Tazer (girl) and Christmas (boy)
archy's mehitabel
QUOTE (lovin it @ 11/04/2011, 12:15 AM) *
2 I've heard recently.. Tazer (girl)

Not spelled like the stun gun, but even so all the commnets she's going to get about being stunning when she's older hahahahaha sick.gif

One from about 30 years ago Pheona (Fiona)
JJ
"What a crappy name I've got," Wriley said wryly...
Bel Rowley
Wriley is great but I think Jackenzie is our winner.
Nurse Mummy
QUOTE (JJ @ 10/04/2011, 11:30 PM) *

biggrin.gif
nutsabouthazel
I really like Audio blush.gif

but then I'm quite keen on Pilot Inspektor too
Calamity Anne

Craftilicious

Were they born in those months? biggrin.gif

I can't believe how many Uneek names are getting around at the moment. what were some of these people thinking????
Charlies Angel
Shontelle...? Or do you think it sounds a bit shonky?
babymaybe
QUOTE (Azadel @ 10/04/2011, 03:30 PM) *
Wreally?

roll2.gif roll2.gif roll2.gif

QUOTE (3_for_me @ 10/04/2011, 03:33 PM) *
Clowie and Sarelinea, my neices. I love them to death but oh those names...

Clowie?? blink.gif

QUOTE (*Grumplestiltskin* @ 10/04/2011, 10:48 PM) *
My daughter's name is Shauntay. sad.gif

KIDDING! It's actually our son.

KIDDING!

I reckon one wanted Jack, the other wanted Mackenzie, and neither would back down.

Grumplestiltskin...I like your sense of humour!!!! biggrin.gif

QUOTE (Barefoot @ 10/04/2011, 10:57 PM) *

All from one family?

QUOTE (JJ @ 10/04/2011, 11:30 PM) *

roll2.gif roll2.gif roll2.gif
JJ you always get a giggle out of me!

This thread has made me laugh..it's a good read on a Monday morning.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.