Previous threadRegards
macdolby
05/04/2011, 12:37 PM
Gold again - great timing on my behalf!
~A2~
05/04/2011, 12:39 PM
Just a reminder ladies on pictures.
With regard to signatures only one image is allowed so if you have more than one (ie more than one ticker, a ticker and another pic sig etc then you need to remove the extras).
When posting pictures they should not be any bigger than a signature size or they can throw the forums out and make it hard for people on limited download.
If it is a bigger pic pop in a link instead.
Thankyou

jmck82
05/04/2011, 12:42 PM
Silver

woo hooo!!!!!!!!
jessipoo
05/04/2011, 01:13 PM
Bronze!!!
cuddlymum
05/04/2011, 01:46 PM
FTM: Yep i seen the 'young mum's' doco too. I think its soo nasty because we are put into 'catagories' I turned 23 not long ago, i had my DD at 19 but im married and home owner, we also own land and are self employed with baby no2 on the way. We have worked extremely hard to get where we are today and to be able to live comfortably, although times can still be tough but thats a given for any business owners. We both are qualified in our trades and have started travelling the world etc and for them to go on about giving us 'young mum's' a better chance at life and blah blah blah i look at them and think well maybe these girls made the wrong decisions before hand. Arghh makes me made and i probably have spelling mistakes galore!
misspip: afm to my knowledge stands for 'as for me'
Time for a vent... Call me nasty or what ever but i have just found out some friends have mine have organised a 'suprise' baby shower for me. To be honest i am really upset about it n hurt. I wasnt going to have one in the first place due to not having the time, on weekends or during the week. I got a msg from this friend yesterday telling me she needs me on this day at this time to do wedding shopping with her... On that day i am completely flat out with appointments etc and 'had' a late physio appt which i've waited weeks for to get. Being this friends maid of honour in nov, i already feel bad bcoz i cant go to melbourne 4 her hens night due to having a new bub n DD at kindy and she wanted to do it in the week which means DH has to have time off work (which we just cant afford to do so i can go spend money on everything she wants to do) so being hormonal i felt extremely low, i ended up cancelling my physio due to her being so adamant i have to go with her, and now i find out its for when they organised the baby shower.
I just feel its a bit of a selfish act on their behalf due to knowing how much pain ive had with this bub and now i cant get treatment for another 5 weeks!!! The other friend who is in on it is a mother of 2 and experienced the same thing with her 2nd so i thought she'd be more understanding. Like i sad b4 the whole reason asto why i didnt have the shower myself was due to lack of time, which on that paticular day im the most busiest... Arrgghhh i could go on forever, does anyone else think im being a hormonal cow?? Please be honest because im really not feeling to good about myself right now and need advice
eric is mine!
05/04/2011, 02:40 PM

1st June enrapture Baby # 2
Prediction: DF thinks pink
and I think I would like pink this time round
Finding out:
Hospital: Joondalup Private
Family: Me-27, DF-25, DS-7, DSD-4 geckogirlBaby # 1
Prediction: BLUE
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: Me-42, DH-42 Kakua Baby # 1
Finding out:
DH says Yes…
Hospital: Westmead Private
Family: Me-26, DH-30 purple_daisyBaby # 1
Prediction: PINK but hoping for blue
Finding out: DEFINITELY
Family: Me & DH Having TWINS jessipooBaby # 2Prediction - Boy or GirlFinding out:
Location - Northern Subs VICHospital - Royal Womens (had my first there)DS - 4yrs Elmo77 Baby # 1
Prediction: DH thinks pink but I'm not sure.
Finding out:
But keeping it to ourselves.
Hospital:Calvary Private
Family: Me – 33, DH – 41, Elmo the Wonder Dog - 7 _Jade_Baby # 1Prediction - BoyFinding out:
Location - PerthHospital - KEMHMe-24, DH-28*****
2nd June Baby Steps Baby # 1
Prediction:
Finding out: 
Hospital: Jessie Mac
Family: Me-35 & DF-42 Snowkat Real Name:
KatBaby # 1
Prediction: BLUE (I am destined to be surrounded by boys!)
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: Me & DH *****
3rd June camerashy Baby # 2
Prediction: Not guessing yet
Finding out:
just need to convince DH
Hospital:
Family: Me-33, DH-35 & DS-17 months Carrie BBaby # 4
Finding out: 
Hospital: Mater Miseriecordiae Hospital
Family: Me-31, DH-33, DD1-11, DD2-8 & DS-3 EmmaC79 Baby # 2
Prediction:
Finding out: 
Hospital: Thinking Kaleeva E.Freo
Family: Me-31, DH-31 & DS-7 treesar & sam_gamgeeBaby # 3
Prediction:
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: T-32, S-38, DD-4, DS- 2 cuddlymum Baby # 2
Prediction: Blue
Finding out: Nope
Family: Me-23, DH-25, DD-3*****
4th June eljala Real Name: Ella
Baby # 1
Prediction: PINK
Finding out: 
Hospital: Sydney somewhere
Family: Me-28 & DF-20 GrumpyCow Real Name:
KateBaby # 3
Finding out:
Hospital:
Family: Me-31, DH-38, DS-10, DD-8 macdolby Baby # 2
Finding out:
Family: Me-38, DH-39, DD-3.5 tedpos Baby # 2
Finding out:
Family: Me-31, DH-35, DS-2 *****
5th June 4forme Baby # 5
Prediction: blue
Finding out:
Hospital:
Family: Me, DP, DD-10, DS-8, DD-4, DS-3 Ames_78 Real Name:
AmyBaby # 2
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: Me-32, DH-33 & DS-2 Josephine81 Baby # 4
Finding out:
may if I have CVS or amnio
Hospital: Northside
Family: Me-38, DF-28, DS-15, DS-14, DS-11 *****
6th June blue diamondBaby # 1
Finding out:
Hospital: Royal Hobart
Family: Me-23, DH-25 eric is mine! Baby # 2
Finding out: Probably not
Hospital: Newcastle Private
Family: Me-27, DH-28 & DD-2.5 wrigglebag Baby # 4
Prediction:
Finding out:
Hospital: Frances Perry House
Family: Me, DH, DS1-5, DS2-3, DS3-1 ames2112 Baby # 1
Prediction: Blue
Finding out: 
Hospital: St John of God, Berwick
Family: Me-28, DH-30 & our 2 puppies *****
7th June bookworm Baby # 3
Prediction: Don’t know and don’t mind
Finding out:
Family: Me-27, DH-34, DS-3.5, DD-1.5 j-gray Baby # 1
Prediction: PINK but happy either way
Finding out:
DH wants a surprise
Hospital: POW
Family: Me-28, DH-29, Furbaby - 4 MummyNiki Real Name:
NicoleBaby # 1
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: Me-28, DH-42, DSD-6 *****
8th June nylexgirl Baby # 1
Finding out:
Hospital:
Family: Me - 33, DH - 30 *****
9th June over40Baby # 1
Finding out: 
Hospital: Cooma or Canberra
Family: Me-42 & DP Tosca Baby # 3
Finding out:
Hospital:
Family: Me-33, DF-52, DD-8, DS-13 months raindotdotBaby # 1
Finding out: 
Hospital: Sydney South West Private
Family: DH and Me.*****
10th June wilsonp Baby # 1
Prediction:
Finding out:
Hospital: Cabrini or Waverley
Family: Me-32 *****
11th June first_time_mummy Baby # 1
Finding out: Sadly no. 
Hospital: Maitland
Family: Me-20, DH-22 M&Ms Baby # 1
Finding out:
Hospital: SJOG Murdoch
Family: Me-31, DH-38*****
12th June Chevrechou Baby #
Finding out:
but DH wants to find out… we’ll see.
Hospital: RBWH
Family: Me-29 & DH 32 KYMICHELLE Baby # 3
Finding out:
And it is a boy!
Hospital: Queen Vic Materninty Unit, Launceston General Hospital
Family: DH (46), DS (11), DD (10) misspip Baby # 1
Finding out:
Hospital: Cairns Base Hospital
Family: Me: 30, DH 32 *****
13th June **Amber** Baby # 3
Prediction:
Finding out: 
Hospital: Casey Hospital, Berwick
Family: Me-24, DP-26, DD-4.5, DS-2.5 *****
14th June honeydew Baby # 1
Finding out:
Hospital: Calvary Hospital
Family: Me-31, DH-31 rnd Baby # 1
Prediction: Too early to predict
Finding out: 
Hospital: Lyell McEwin
Family: Me-28, DP-31 Tenacious CBaby # 1
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: Me-30, DH-34 & 2 furbabies jmck82 Baby # 1
Finding out:
Hospital: Mater Mothers Private
Family: Me-28, DH-30 *****
15th June justthinking1Baby # 1
Finding out: 
Family: Me-27, DH-31 eccentricityBaby # 2
Prediction: pink
Finding out:
wasn't going to but couldn't help it!
Hospital: Boxhill
Family: Me-22, DP-27, Lilah-1 *****
23rd June sage74Baby # 3
Finding out: 
Hospital:
Family: Me-35, DH-37, DD1-6, DD2-3 *****
Due Date TBA Little PodBaby # 2
Prediction:
Finding out: 
Hospital: RWHB – Birth Centre
Family: Me, DP, DD-4.5 *****
In Group – Waiting for Details Zigwah amsmeq *****
Our Little Angels Rattie, LuckieAussieMum, *~Me~*, kdc, Jane & *~Cricket n Bee~*
eric is mine!
05/04/2011, 02:42 PM
Our tally stands like this:
raindotdot

snowkat

KYMICHELLE

kakua

elmo77

_Jade_

M&Ms

GrumpyCow

Ames_78

EmmaC79

purple_daisy

&

justthinking1

eric is mine!
carrieb

tedpos

Not finding out:
macdolby
first time mummy
sage74
chevrechou
bluediamond
EricaK
Jessipoo
Geckogirl
Treesar and sam
honeydew
rnd
I know there were a few people who wanted me to update this list, but I forgot to do it. Sorry! Can you please let me know if there are any updates or changes to be made to either the DIG list or this gender tally list??? Ta!
justthinking1
05/04/2011, 02:46 PM
Hello everyone,
Hope you're all feeling well & happy. It's good to see a few quieter ones coming back!
Hmmm... I always loose track of the personals when we change threads.... LOL.
FTM - For what it's worth - I think stereotypes are BS. And, for the stereotype they're referring to, you're about as far from it as they come (from what I know of you...

). I don't watch those shows, as I think they're terribly poor journalism but I can just imagine the kinds of things they'd be reporting. Your baby is so lucky to be so loved, wanted and so well cared for already. You and your DF will be amazing parents!
That said, I have no doubt every single mum & dad in our little group are/will be increddibly loving and responsible parents. You can tell from the amazing support and guidance we give eachother already!
Cuddlymum - I understand you're stressed out at the moment with everything going on, I know I get like that too (and really don't want to go to a wedding this weekend... but that's a whole other story). I can see your point regarding the surprise baby shower - while a very lovely and sweet thing for your friends to do, it can be overwhelming sometimes when you think of everything we all have on our plates. Try to remember that your friends may be doing this as their way of showing their happiness & support, and that it's coming from a good place, so to speak. I know it can be hard but they're clearly happy for you and thats a great thing. Perhaps you could explain that you're very stressed and busy and that you wont be able to do anything in the lead up etc? Or maybe someone could come & help you out for a while? Perhaps that will help. Or, sometimes when I feel overwhelmed I write out a list of everything that needs doing, which can be scary but also helps me to prioritise different tasks and gives me more of a sense of control of the situation. Perhaps that may help?
AFM - no real pregnancy news, the bub is a bit quiet today, which is beginning to worry me - but I'm sure she'll spark up later. I had terrible heartburn last night for the first time ever, not pleasant! Will definitely be looking for a solution to that ASAP! I've got my 30 week midwife appointment on Thurs so I'm looking forward to that. I'm shared care and haven't seen the midwives for ages and I seemed to get a lot out of it last time so hopefully this will be the same.
Hope all is well with everyone,
JT
snowkat
05/04/2011, 03:53 PM
Macdolby – What amazing pic’s of your little bub. In the first one it sort of looks like he/she is in the same pose as you ticker!!! How great is the shot of his/her little hand!
FTM – I watched the show on 60min and really enjoyed it. I had some friends who fell pregnant as teenagers and are now great mums, but could have used the support that these girls were receiving at the time. Your situation is obviously different and I’m sure I have mentioned in the past that there is no way I would have had the maturity that you have at age 20. You are clearly a standout and I’m sure if I met you in the street your maturity would come through in talking to you and your age would not even enter the conversation. Sorry, but I couldn’t help having a little bit of a giggle at your falling off the veranda story, it just gave me a great image. I hope you are feeling better!!!Misspip – AFM = And for meCuddlymum – It sound like you are a bit upset about the baby shower thing, but I’m sure your friends mean well by it. If you think about it, you will get a heap of presents so there is a bunch of stuff you don’t have to buy for yourself. Maybe try to go an a waiting list for a cancellation for the physio or try another physio or massage therapist. Baby doing the 180 – I think our bub did the turn on Friday night, he was very busy all night and now I can’t find his head when I poke around. Not 100% sure though, but will have to see what the MW says at our next appointment in one week. DH & I were on the couch last night feeling around my tummy trying to figure out which way he was lying, it was really funny, we were poking him and he was kicking us back. DH got a little carried away and I had to tell him off for stirring him up, he does the same thing with the dogs. Purple Daisy – I’m glad to hear your baby has turned, that’s just one step closer to a natural delivery for you!AFM – Baby is having a busy day today, I wish he would calm down for a few minutes. We had a doctor/ob appointment on Friday and it was a bit of a laugh. I was lying there and ob was using the Doppler to hear the heart beat, she moved it all over my belly and was getting kicked and pushed everywhere she went, after a few minutes, she said “Ohh, I’ve had enough of this, obviously he’s got a heart beat”, we all had a laugh and she gave up on finding his HB. We have our 2nd “Huff & Puff” class (I know I have to stop calling it that) tonight, this is where we see “The Video”, which I am looking forward to. Mostly because we have a few in the class who won’t deal with it very well and I think it will be a bit funny. I’m sure it will be educational as well. Last week after our 1st class, I said to DH that I was pleased that she mentioned that most women poo during labour, because that was the one thing I didn’t want to have to tell him. His reply was “I knew that, I’ve seen heaps of cows give birth” (he grew up on a dairy farm), to which I said “did you just compare me to a cow???”
At least he won’t get a shock if it happens!!!
macdolby
05/04/2011, 09:02 PM
Evening!
Just sitting on the sofa here with the little one giving me nudges for my posture - in response to the Q about doing exercises to move the baby - there are some which involve some ridiculous downward moves over stairs etc, unfortunately with my bruised rib I can't seem to do anything physical just at the moment

Hopefully by the time I can do them its not too late for bubs to move around.
I'm so jealous of those who's bubs have decided to co-operate and turn head down!
cuddlymum - I agree, its pretty nice your friends wanted to surprise you with the baby shower, perhaps you're just a bit emotional about it all just now, there is a lot to get done in such a short timeframe.
JT1 - hope baby has been more active this evening.
AFM - I spent over 1.5 hours waiting at the doctors to get DD in to get her ear checked - 1.5 hours!!!!! Turns out she is fine but he did clear me of whooping cough and he gave me an inhaler which may help with the constant coughing... work tomorrow - my last 3 day week. DH will just be landing in the UK soon but I think I'll head off to bed soon since I didnt sleep at all well last night. I'm quietly patting myself on the back - 2 for 2 in getting DD asleep by 7.45pm - though I think it must just be because I am a bit boring so its just easier to go to sleep
Oh, I was just checking all of the measurements from our scan yesterday and apparently the measurement for the head from ear to ear is about 86% of growth - thats vs the rest of the measurements at about 50% - this one has a rather large head (takes after her daddy!).
Ok, I'm off now, hope you all sleep easy tonight.
cuddlymum
05/04/2011, 09:47 PM
Thanks girls i have calmed down a little bit and im trying to get myself excited about it. Just these 2 friends being so close to me understand that until bub is born i have big events like weddings, engagement 21st etc on everynight/day sometimes 2 things in one day of EVERY weekend leading up until im due, not to mention a 5day easter holiday in there, antenatal classes once a week at night, im working most days for hubbys business and have commitments with swimming and dance etc for DD 4nights out of 7 plus they r wanting to do it right before mine n DH 1 year wedding anniversary which we'd planned to go away for but ive now cancelled as i just think its going to be too much for me so might just do a hotel for the actual night

just a bummer they didnt take into consideration all of that and how tired i am.... geeze i am a whiney cow (could think of some nastier words atm) lol... The pressie thing would help but i have bought pretty much what i need and they are getting everyone to put in for a pregnancy massage/pamper voucher which i would loooovee to use but again to use the voucher DH will have to take time of work so i have someone to watch DD. OK I need to shut up now!!!
macdolby: Congrats on the bedtime routine, its a lot nicer when u get some time to yourself.
ts good to know bubs is still comfortable to be able to move around, sound like it will be a very cheeky bubba. I couldnt help but laugh about the 'cow' comment... DH grew up on a farm too, straight after DD was born he kept looking down 'that' way (i had a mirror at the end of the bed while i gave birth) and kept telling me how similar it was to a cow giving birth, just what u wanna hear when ur in that state!
hmm something happened to the last paragraphs, the last part was to snowcat and macdolby i also was asking how you got the measurements? Doc hasnt told me any but didnt know if they were on the scan etc, id be interested to know as they told be to expect a baby of low birth weight??
first_time_mummy
05/04/2011, 11:07 PM
thanks to all for the kind words re: Steriotyped 'young mums' you all made me feel alot better about myself!!
cuddlymum - hope you are excited about the suprise baby shower, i can def see where your coming from being a tad peeved about it but it is a sweet gesture and one that you probably cant be to upset with... even though it isa tad inconvenient i really hope you enjoy yourself!!
snowkat - hahA it was funny when i fell... funny cuz bub and i are okay... just picture this pregers lady pulling out a tree root and bum over head i go and then DF running over yelling at me while i cry hahaha we have a strange humour but gotta see the funny side of it!!
i am only awake at this time (11.05pm) cuz im having hunger pains hahah i had chicken parmijana and veg for dinner before our antenatal classes and am hungry AGAIN so i am having crumpets!!
Classes were great really excited for our next class tomorrow night when we can look at the delivery suite!!
Night all xooxx
snowkat
06/04/2011, 11:59 AM
Cuddlymum – Let’s hope the massage voucher also comes with a babysitting voucher. I sometimes give these to my girl friends when I can’t afford a birthday present. Huff & Puff Class – Last night was “The Video” and yeah, she is really hairy. But that’s not the bit that got me, it having the 3 year old in there with you the whole time, WTF, does a 3 year old really need to see that? and do you really want a 3 year old doing 3 year old things while you are in that state??? No way!!! There is one chick in the class that is no end of entertainment to us, she the “I hate kids, I don’t know what I am doing here, is there any way to turn back now” person in the class, with a very laid back husband. She asked last week if the MW’s can “get all that ‘$hit’ off the baby before they put it on me?”. Anyway, the MW was talking about real emergency caesareans when they have to put the woman under general aesthetic and she asked if she could elect for one of those??? MW said no, not surprisingly!!!
jmck82
06/04/2011, 12:19 PM
I am paranoid about hunger pains - I continually associate the feeling with MS. Can't wait to feel hungry again and not feel the need to be near a bucket!
Huff & Puff Class - ours is next weekend. Its Fri night/Saturday. Will probably be information overload doing it all at once, but its easier for us. I would have like to do the weekly classes and get to know the other parents-to-be a bit better, but the logistics just didn't work.
DH has said he isn't going to look during birth and I am not sure I want to see it either! I am coming around to the idea of touching the babies head whilst its crowning, but a mirror would be too much for me! I broached the subject of a CS with DH because he doen't like watchning shows like RPA etc, but is OK with blood etc in reality. We'll see what happens he says. Not the committment I was looking for!
afm - flu shot this morning at work. Warning - Rant ahead - Had to wait 30 mins in line and no one offered for the pg lady to jump the line and I didn't want to push it because everyone had too wait so long. Not suprising I was a little light headed when the jab came and then she made me bleed and says your not supposed to bleed! I can't really complain because it didn't cost me anything and it was during work time....on a happier note - midwife appointment tomorrow and get to hear bubs heartbeat.
macdolby
06/04/2011, 05:50 PM
hello
cuddlymum - re measurements, they were on the screen during my scan and recorded onto USB so thats how I found them -
jmck - can't believe no one offered you a seat? thats just shocking! I had a funny moment today at the bus stop this morning where another 'less pregnant' woman let me on first - ha! the hierachy of pregnant women
s
nowkat - that woman in your class sounds hilarious! the funny thing is she'll probably be the most 'mother earth' one when the baby arrives.
afm - ok,
whinge time and i'll get it out of my system - I am so sick of being sick or sore! honestly, when will it end? I feel so fragile at the moment what with the lack of sleep, pain and feeling a bit isolated with DH away. Just when I really need him he is not here. The timing of him starting the new job couldn't have come at a worse time (ok, it could have if it were another 6 or so weeks down the track!). I'm not complaining about him starting a new job, he's doing what's right for us as a family and him personally I'm just a bit emotional right now I guess. If it weren't for getting these colds this pregnancy and then all of the problems involved with them I'd have had a dream pregnancy. I really love carrying my last baby I just wish it were easier to be sick while being pregnant.
Well, I need to get DD into the shower soon and then to bed so I can also have an early night. Hoping for an all nighter
Take care everyone.
elmo77
06/04/2011, 08:52 PM
Hi everyone...hope we're all going okay this evening!
Freezer foods - can't remember who was asking (sorry!) but so far I've done some little steak and veg pies (I make them in muffin trays) that I've bagged in 3s - 1 for me, 2 for DH; some minced chicken and veg rolls; 2 containers of spaghetti sauce. Got school holidays coming up after next week, so am going to try to do a few more things then. We've got a little freezer in the garage that I can put stuff in. I'm also going to make sure we've got the kitchen freezer stocked with mince and sausages, as DH can cook a few different easy things with those ingredients
Classes - went to our second one last night with DH (it was his first as he was away last week). The midwife we had was really good...very entertaining with lots of "war" stories but also a really nice, approachable manner. She showed us a model showing 0cm to 10cm dilation sizes...think that got to some of the men a bit - a few gasps were heard. Next week we get to watch "the video"!
DH is playing it pretty cool at the moment - "I'll be fine", but we'll see
Cuddlymum - I hope you do enjoy your baby shower...but I understand how you're feeling. At the moment everything feels like it needs to be done yesterday and there's not enough time to catch breath (even if we could breath normally without feeling like our lungs are the size of grapes!). Try to just enjoy it while it's happening and take it as an opportunity to catch your breath a bit
FTM - you can be a mum at any age and be competely immature and not ready for it in any way...or you can be like you and all of the rest of us in this group and be just trying our best no matter what situation we may be in. You're doing an awesome job no matter what anyone else may think!
And as for falling over...glad you're okay and bubs is okay...and kind of glad someone else has joined the clumsy club with me
It's been a few weeks now, but my knee has only just cleared up from the "lovely" scab I ended up with from my spill! And at least you were doing something that you could blame it on! I was just walking
Which way is up? - I think maybe Little Mr is head down...last few days he's had hiccups a few times and that rhythmic bumping always seems to be down lower in the bump. Also today has not been a good day for my ribs once again, and I'm thinking it would be more likely to be feet pushing and poking in the MOST uncomfortable places!
AFM - Only have the rest of this week and next, then 2 weeks school holidays, then 2 weeks at school til I'm done with work...better get all my school stuff at home already organised and away so we can bring home the rest of my stuff over the holidays!
Can't believe it - 32 weeks today...8 scheduled weeks left - could be less, hopefully not too much more! Being in a different room last night for class, we were in the middle of the maternity ward. Made things much more real, especially hearing a few babies having a bit of a cry, and a few mums to be "doing the walk" around the corridors when we got there/had a break...EXCITING!!
Got our next OB appointment on Tuesday, and we get to have a scan done this time (normally he just listens for HB). Looking forward to seeing our little human (should be looking a bit more like one than last scan at 20weeks anyway!). Got school photos on Wednesday, so will have a nice permanent record of what I look like at the moment
Have hit the wall I think for now...was going to try and do some school stuff, but my legs are getting jumpy and eyes are getting a bit grainy and hard to keep focused...think I might hit the shower and then the bed. Hopefully the dancing in my belly might soon cool off a bit - had a quiet day yesterday and I think he's making up for it today!
Have a lovely rest of the week to you all
jmck82
07/04/2011, 07:53 AM
Sorry for the short post - but I just wanted to say -
Macdolby - I am hearing you!! I feel like I am just not coping at the moment (last few days only I guess). The morning sickness has returned and I feel like I am back in the first trimester, except with indigestion and all the aches and pains as well. When will it end - the positive is we are in the final count down..I am looking forward to finishing work - but still 5 more weeks. I don't know how those of you with other little ones manage. I can't image going throught this again with a toddler.
Mrs Miller
07/04/2011, 03:55 PM
IMPORTANT EXCITING NOTE:
I saw on another thread someone complaining about how long they’d been waiting to receive their first ppl payment (3-4wks) which I was expecting anyway but noticed other posters mentioning a lump sum. So I phoned FAO and asked and they told me as I’d elected to receive payments from 1/6 (due date) that my payments would be backdated and I’d receive a lump sum with my first payment. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After I use up my annual leave I was looking at 3 weeks with no income, and I still am but at least I can tell my landlord I’ll be paying a lump sum after a few weeks of not paying. I can do the same with my car payments aswell. SOOOO much better than having to fall behind and try to pay it all up (esp as it’s at minimum wage rates). I just know my landlord will spit it anyway (it’s a private rental and they don’t know Im pg yet) but I’m hoping they will accept it.
BTW: Sorry if I’m passing on info you were already aware of. It’s made my day though!
Also just walked to Bunnings round the corner to get salt and vinegar chips out of their snack machine so I’m very happy right now.
Since I just can’t bring myself to post without having a whinge, I feel like bubs has got heaps bigger and my hips, pubic bone and back have started aching/hurting towards the afternoon & evening, I feel heavier and there’s a body part wedged too close to my bladder and I’m getting too frequent bladder “jabs”. Also have gone from one to three pee stops throughout the night.
Also was meant to be having a family dinner at a great pub/bistro for my little sisters 18
th on Friday night (her b’day Saturday), and because DH and I NEVER go for dinner I’d been dreaming about chicken parmagiana (sp?) for months, but as she’s decided to go to a pub for lunch on Saturday we’re going for curry instead….. Also I have nothing to wear.
My sister’s a real little princess. She’s having a family dinner Friday night, going for lunch Saturday, hiring a bar in Subiaco Saturday night and going to Supafest (sp?) on Sunday to see Snoop Dogg etc… She’s having her hair, makeup and nails done, and she got a $170 dress with triangle bits cut out the side (if I was paying $170 for a dress I’d want the full dress), and new shoes. God knows who’s paying for all this…… She’s very excited to be turning 18 in case you can’t tell.
But actually I’m really happy and feeling pretty good today, even though I whinge a lot lol…
Had the best laugh yesterday reading a thread where someone was suggesting the original poster turn her husband on with a bit of
Who knew that’s what

meant? LOL!!!!!
Have a great day!
macdolby
07/04/2011, 04:36 PM
ha
jade -great news on the PPL - no problem about having to have a whinge. I'm next!
Jmck - sorry you're feeling so off as well, but yep, at least we're at the tailend of the ride.
ok, have spent most of today in bed. my bro thankfully came and picked up DD to take her to childcare this morning as I was in no fit state to look after her. I have been taking panadeine extra and also a cough mixture - i took some more panadeine this morning only to read that i shouldnt have more than 8 in a 24 hour period... i'd taken 10! then i went all clammy and dizzy and nearly passed out
Once i'd been sick I felt much better though that didnt stop me worrying that I was going to pass out and poor DD wouldnt know what to do etc or that I'd suffer liver failure - you can imagine all that was going through my head.
It honestly hurts so much to cough and I feel groggy all of the time. I have thankfully found myself a comfortable position in bed for tonight but I doubt I'll be taking any tablets for the pain after this morning and will hardly sleep a wink again.
Arrgghhh!!! I wish I could just wake up and be better!!!
My bro is bringing DD home and getting her dinner etc so one less thing to worry about. And of course, poor DH is sitting there hopelessly on the other side of the world, stressing about us.
So sorry for the woe is me post. I just feel really let down by my body or whatever. I just want to enjoy this little bit of time I have left. Thankfully bump has been moving around a lot but still, its not nice.
Mrs Miller
07/04/2011, 06:56 PM
Macdolby - I have too much experience with codeine esp panadeine extra & forte and don't worry too much that you took 10 instead of 8, that shouldn't do damage. Do make sure you eat before you take it though. (Although I know everyone is different and I'm not a medical advisor I just hated to think of you all stressed and put off them, you shouldn't need to suffer in pain).
It's after 5pm and I'm still at my desk - people must think I'm doing overtime lol.
geckogirl
07/04/2011, 07:10 PM
macdolby: Wow, I'm really sorry you're having such a miserable time. I hope you get better real soon!
_Jade_: Good news on your ppl! Oh boy, it's been months since I've had salt and vinegar potato chips. My mouth just started watering!
Classes: The entertainment continued this week with our MW bringing an actual placenta for "show and tell" to the class. The birth had happened that day. She showed how you can tell just from the placenta the kind of pregnancy the mother had and it was really amazing. We noticed that about 3 couples didn't make it this week and there was speculation that maybe the first week had been too much for some! We also got a tour of the delivery suite accompanied by the MW demonstrating different birthing positions on the bed with great enthusiasm! Unfortunately, next week is with the physio dept so probably won't be as entertaining but then we're back with our MW the week after.
Position: I have absolutely no idea what position bub is in. Being overweight, it makes it even more difficult. I just really hope that they end up in the right position by 36 weeks.
Cooking & Freezing: 11 Working days left! Once I'm on maternity leave I plan to make and freeze heaps of meals for the first couple of weeks just to make it easier. Mainly stuff like spaghetti sauce and stews (you can do lots of meal variations just with these as a starting point. Loooove shepherds pie!).
Meant to write more but...Gotta go - dinners on the table!
jmck82
08/04/2011, 08:03 AM
Geckogirl - your classes defintiely sound intersting! I can't believe the MW brought in a placenta. Kind of gross but interesting at the same time.
Jade - great news about PPL. I was wondering if it would be back dated. Do you know if the FAO are going to make the payments or if your work will have to? My work doesn't want to know about it, because "they don't know what they are doing yet"....
Macdolby - I hope you are feeling better. I am glad you have your brother near by to help.
afm - Feeling more positive today which is good. Had my MW appointment yesterday and all is good but bub (was head down) is now transverse. It all makes sense because my pants are fitting me better and I can actually make it through the night without a toilet break. Must have only happened in the last few days. Still time to turn back - just have to wait and see. The MW was very enthusiastic and positive about this baby arriving at 38 wks - meaning only 7 and a bit weeks to go. I think she was only trying to cheer me up!
purple_daisy
08/04/2011, 09:14 AM
Happy Friday ladies!
I only make it in here every couple of days and the thread just seems to move faster and faster!
QUOTE (snowkat @ 05/04/2011, 03:53 PM)

His reply was “I knew that, I’ve seen heaps of cows give birth” (he grew up on a dairy farm), to which I said “did you just compare me to a cow???”

This comment has made my morning heheheheh, such a guy thing to say to his wife!
There is one chick in the class that is no end of entertainment to us, she the “I hate kids, I don’t know what I am doing here, is there any way to turn back now” person in the class, with a very laid back husband. She asked last week if the MW’s can “get all that ‘$hit’ off the baby before they put it on me?”.

I am not quite as bad but I did shock my midwife into total silence at my first antenatal appointment when she was going on about skin to skin contact and I just blurted out 'oh no i do NOT want that!'... she just stared at me so I tried to explain that I have a phobia of blood/bodily products and would prefer the baby was wrapped or put on a towel on my chest. She just kept staring at me and I felt so embarressed that I couldn't express myself very well, went bright red and ended up mumbling like an incoherent child until I eventually stopped, we stared at each other some more, then she went 'well moving on...'.
But we do have a hilarious/frustrating couple in our antenatal class too. The woman always asks informed questions while the guy (who looks about 16) seriously appears to be stoned and cracks jokes at every opportunity. In our first class he snorted and giggled every time the midwife said 'vagina'. I feel really sorry for the woman as she looks like she wants to strangle him almost every class. When we were practising using a tennis ball for massage he said he was planning to get all the dads in delivery suite together to have a go at classic catches since "there'll be nothing better to do while the sheilas are pushing".
QUOTE (geckogirl @ 07/04/2011, 07:10 PM)

Cooking & Freezing: 11 Working days left! Once I'm on maternity leave I plan to make and freeze heaps of meals for the first couple of weeks just to make it easier. Mainly stuff like spaghetti sauce and stews (you can do lots of meal variations just with these as a starting point. Loooove shepherds pie!).
Geckogirl I have just 12 working days left and like you I am very much looking forward to channelling my inner donna hay and getting the freezer stocked. I can't remember who mentioned freezing pies, what a great idea! I will get the pie maker out in readiness.
As for other menu ideas we have done a massive pot of carrot soup (3 meals), beef strog (2 meals) and chicken and broccoli casserole (3 meals). We will probably eat a few of these before the baby comes on nights when I am just too exhausted to cook or DH is out or whatever, but it makes sure we get the portion sizes right.
Macdolby I really hope you feel better soon. Terrible to feel so crummy when you can't take anything for it.
AFM not much to report, just looking forward to the weekend and hoping to try going swimming for the first time in a couple of months. My pelvic instability has been particularly bad since bub turned head down and the physio thought swimming might help.
macdolby
08/04/2011, 11:00 AM
Good morning
Ok, bright and breezy from me today! Not going to whinge, I'm feeling a lot better, managed to sleep quite comfortably so I'm determined not to complain today!
My brother was a lifesaver yesterday (and he has 2 cracked ribs himself). Was such a relief to be able to relax about DD for a while.
Jade - thanks for the advice, I think I just had a panic attack and perhaps even mentally bought on the pass-out ill-feeling myself yesterday morning? I was just at the end of my tether.
jmck82 - ah, another bub moving around still - I wish we could actually see them properly through our tums so we could see which position they're in.
purpledaisy - can not believe the sniggering guy in your class - 'sheila's pushing' oh dear, what century are we in??
AFM - i took advantage of my sick note and I'm off still today, DD is dropped at childcare and I'm sitting on the sofa watching telly and looking at (and ignoring) the mess around me. Bubs has been doing a lot of shuffling, particularly at night but I have no idea on positioning today.
5 more working days for me. Feel a bit guilty about not being there today (but I honestly am not fit enough today) as I was supposed to be training up one of my replacements yesterday/today. I have heard she's on the ball so I think she'll pick it up well enough, I just dont want her to be bored til I get in next Wednesday.
So, thats it for me. Have a great day!
Mrs Miller
08/04/2011, 11:59 AM
jmck82 - FAO are paying my ppl. I think that's because the start date is June, from July your workplace can pay it, but I think for a while you have the choice of who you want to pay it. I remember a box on the initial application form online that asked if you'd discussed ppl with your workplace? And I just ticked no as I knew they'd rather FAO handle it. I wish my office was making the payments because they're easier to contact if anything is wrong lol. Also my work pays $300 to my landlords bank account so I don't need to worry about it, what I get in my account is mine (or for bills should I say...)
Need to get some work done, I'll pop back in later.
Chevrechou
08/04/2011, 12:06 PM
Wow, it has been so long since I have posted here! The FB page makes it so easy to do a quick catch up. Ok, so personals / subjects first:
Days left at work - Oooh I am soo jealous that so many of you are finishing so soon! Macdolby just 5 days! Lucky you! Same to PurpleDaisy and Geckogirl you are very lucky too! I have something like 6 weeks to go. I must be mad. I finish at the end of May, which seems so far away now. Although, I've dropped down to 3/4 days per week now, so enjoying a couple more days at home to put my feet up.
Freezing Meals - I'm totally into doing this already. I've made up a few stews and lasagnas etc and also doing some baking and freezing slices and muffins so there are healthy snacks around too (organic/wholemeal ingredients). Although it's been so tempting having them in there that if we don't feel like cooking we've been heating up the frozen meals and using them up! Oh well, it's nice getting into the habit. I've also bought some teeny tiny containers to keep pureed meals in for Scout, I can't wait to start using them!
Elmo I love the sound of your little pies, I know DH would LOVE that, so I might do some up this weekend! Thanks for the tip!
Jmck82 - Wouldn't it be nice to think we only had 7 weeks to go! I've got about 9 weeks to go yet, and I'm starting to feel it drag. I don't want Scout to come early or anything, but as soon as he/she is 'term' that'd be nice! I'm starting to imagine if I go over and the baby takes an additional two weeks or something, I will feel like this is the longest pregnancy ever!
Classes - Wow, some very interesting stories there! I'm almost wondering if it is worth me going actually, I'm feeling pretty relaxed and open to whatever happening at the birth, and I don't know if going through the classes will really benefit me much? I guess it's all interesting, but for some reason I'm not feeling to fussed about it all.
Positioning - My bub has certainly turned in the last week or so, and is definitely head down, back to the right side and feet curled over to the top/left. My placenta is front & high, so not feeling anything in the way of kicks to ribs etc (thankfully!) but I do feel little hiccups where the back is, so cute! I'm up three or four times a night to go to the loo, and whenever I stand up after sitting for a while, I feel immediately about to burst for a wee! Jade When I read your post below I thought you and I sound like we are going though similar things!
Baby Showers - I know there are a couple of you out there with showers happening this weekend, wishing you a great day!
Macdolby - (again) I hope you are feeling better since your post about the pain etc. I know it's difficult at times, I still have aching hips everysingle night, and the only that stops it is either panadol a couple of times every single night (which I don't like to do) or sleeping on my back (which scares me!). Not long to go now, and it will all be worth it to hold our babies.
And lastly, AFM
We are going on a long weekend away to Byron Bay this weekend! I can't wait! I've got a very good old friend getting married on the beach, and me and DH and few other guests are sharing a big house for the weekend. Should be fun. I loved Byron Bay last time I was there, and I'm not really saying anything IRL, but we have the name Byron picked if this little bub is a boy, so I'm hoping I fall in love with the place again so I feel more confident using the name.
I've dropped my two darling doggies off at the kennels for the weekend (hope they have lots of fun playing with the other dogs, they didn't want to come home last time!) and we have our old neighbours staying to take care of our cat.
Now, I'm off to go and pack our bags (and some yummy snacks for the drive!).
See you all back here sometime soon! x
macdolby
09/04/2011, 04:46 PM
hello
Once again, pretty quiet in here on the weekend!
chev - hope you're enjoying your long weekend (heh, you wont be online to read this - doh!) - I like Byron for name, great choice.
freezing meals - ahhhhh!! I wish I could be bothered! we only have a fairly small freezer (fridge freezer) so cant really put too much in there. I do need to stock up on meals that I have in there for DD (for when I'm being lazy, like tonight

so will perhaps just do a couple as standby. DH has been really good at doing dinner since I've been pregnant so I'm not so concerned this time round. Thankfully we also have friends who do a rota and provide meals for the first week (hope its still functioning...) so we don't usually have to worry about it for the first few days.
AFM - took DD to swimming this morning and she went up a class, she was so proud of herself (me too). Then I took her to Dee Why to play with friends and wander along the corso on her scooter. It was 24 degrees, really lovely. I used my sewing machine that I bought back from NZ last week to patch up some things on her much loved blanket today - I am so sad, I'm rapt to have the sewing machine as I do tend to like to make little things every now and again and hand stitching is very laborious!
Just waiting for time to tick over so we can get on messenger/camera with DH. Its his Saturday morning so no doubt he'll be having a lie in the lucky thing (6.30am here... thanks very much DD).
Still have killer ribs with the coughing (wish I could just stop that bit!) but I'm managing to sleep 'ok'. The constant nasal drip is not helping I'm sure and is really doing my head in. I know its common in pregnancy so figure only 8 weeks to go!
I received my order of newborn nappies (and everything else) the other day so put some in my bag for the hospital. They are so teeny tiny!!! so cute! I also got a sample of some breast gel pads in the post the other day (apparently they assist with quick healing) so may go and find them in the shops. I didnt really find much helped me the first time round (lanisoh or paw paw) so hoping these are magic and also that I wont really need them!
Ok, I'm off now. DD has found Peppa Pig on the laptop and is playing them back to back... funny, I only showed her twice how to open the next episode and she's away. Such sponges!
Take care everyone - love seeing these tickers progressing and the number of days left dwindling - so so so exciting
first_time_mummy
10/04/2011, 12:03 AM
macdolby - when you say nasal drip do you mean really runny nose cuz that is my life at the moment!! Im not sick with the flu, it could be sinus but seriously it is like a tap!! didnt know if it was a last trimester thing??
chev - im like you with work 25th May is my last day but i am still working full time... it kills me i get super tired of an afternoon!!
pelvic bone -jade i think i read you were having pain with this... i am big time!! anyone getting sharp pain in the crotch region and a really sore pelvic bone?? i feel like bub kicks it?? Ouch is all i have to say!!
AFM - have had a huge weekend and it is only sat night!! Just left DF at a 40th bday party, one of our best friend couples so im guessing i will be picking him up in the early hours of sunday morning!!
I am starting to pudge up in my face... i feel very swolen and generally fat now! Probably a good thing!!
Carrie B
10/04/2011, 08:52 AM
Hi Everyone,
CuddlyMum While I can understand your friends wanting to do something nice for you and surprising you with the babyshower, I can also understand where you're coming from. Is there anyway you can get another appointment with the physio earlier than in another 5wks?
FTM Stereotypes are everywhere. Ignore them is my advice
Macdolby Are you feeling better yet?
Which way is up? Bump is currently head down, 4/5 engaged with her back running up along my right side and bum just below the ribs, legs and arms curled up on the left side. She's pretty much been like this for a good 6wks I think. Doesn't stop her thinking she's some kind of contortionist though and putting on some rather amusing displays of movement.
Huff and Puff classes That "dad-to-be" snorting at the word 'vagina' and wanting to 'play catch' sounds like a real charmer! There has to be one in every group doesn't there? We're not doing classes this time around. Honestly we haven't done them since we had Tayla but I found them to be invaluable first time around. I still like to read things and watch birth videos for tips and suggestions though. It's surprising what you can learn no matter what number baby you are having.
Back Pain Anyone else suffering? I know it's not sciatica as I don't have pain going down into my legs, it's just lower back pain (today mostly on the left side) and it bloody hurts!! Apparently last night I was moving around a lot and let me tell you, it hurts to roll over! I do it in stages! I think I'd much prefer my pelvis making a 'cracking' sound like in Ethan's pregnancy when I rolled over than this horrid aching I have! I'd understand it if the baby was posterior but she's not. I am going to see if I can hunt down someone who does pregnancy massage in this area. I don't think there's much point in seeing a Chiro at this late stage because it's quite doubtful they'd do any kind of adjustments.
Ob Appt For those not on facebook, had my Ob appointment on Friday and everything looks well. Bump is measuring just under 1.8kg or 3lb and my Ob was trying to convince me she's only going to be around the 7lb mark. I couldn't help but laugh! After having an 8lb 6oz and 2 x 8lb 12oz babies, I don't like my chances of actually having a smaller one at 7lbs! (It'd be nice though!) I am on fortnightly visits now so next one will be day before Good Friday and we'll talk about the induction. I've booked Mum's flights for her (just so she actually got here in time, if I left it to her to book, she'd mess it up somehow!) so we're pretty much planned now.
Not much else to report.
Hope everyone is doing well. Belly rubs to all.
elmo77
10/04/2011, 07:52 PM
Evening everyone
Not much really in the way of anything important to say tonight...just trying to get through doing comments for Term 1 for my kids. They take home portfolios of their work (samples of work we collect over the year from different learning areas) at the end of this week, and we do a reflection sheet - more for them to fill in about how they think they're going, but also has a comment from us teachers. This is the last time this year I have to write anything like this so it's nice to be able to say good stuff about them all...though it is dragging a bit!
Hope you're starting to feel a bit better macdolby - so glad to hear your brother was able to help out, cracked ribs of his own and all! My friend at work has a nasty cough at the moment, and is slightly worried she may cough enough soon that she coughs the baby right out!!
Take it easy this week if you are going back to work...especially if your weather is anything like Canberra's has turned - cold and wet and rainy. I love it when the weather's like this but it is going to be a bit more difficult to get up and get going for this last week of school for the term because of the weather!
Haven't had the best weekend...had a "down" day yesterday - felt fat, hugely pregnant, very bruised and stretched at the top of my stomach and my rib cage ached right around to my back. Felt pretty much miserable all day and then to top it off couldn't find a comfy place or position to lie in for ages in bed. Poor DH - tried to help but all I could do was cry by that time
Today's been a bit better but still very achy around my rib level and round to my back. Put a cold pack on the sore spot on my ribs yesterday a few times and have also made sure to put moisturiser on same spot. The combination seems to be helping the bruised/stretched out feeling a bit - not to mention being very amusing with the dancing that occurred after the ice cold pack must have been felt by Mr. I'm thinking it got his bum a bit colder than he liked, as he went squirming away a bit lower than he had been all day and poked and prodded down lower for quite a while - I'm a naughty mummy but it was funny (and relieving!!)
Having school photos on Wednesday...will forever have a professionally photographed record of my bump...and 25 children around it
More excitingly, have an OB appointment on Tuesday afternoon that includes a scan! Am so looking forward to seeing baby again. Seems like forever ago when we were all having our 20 week scans...can't decide how it feels being 33 weeks this Wednesday - not long to go, seems like it's all gone so fast, but also seems still a while away from being really "real". I keep trying to imagine what it's going to be like to finally be handed our baby and see him...and then to be able to get to know him!! WHOA!!
Well, that's it from me for now - I hope you all have a good week to come
macdolby
10/04/2011, 08:26 PM
Evening
Elmo - that must be quite time consuming making comments on all of your students but you do sound so dedicated that you don't mind the extra work!
Carrieb - my bub was also measuring about 1.8kg - hope that doesnt mean that I'm in for a bigger baby...
AFM - had a good weekend with DD and caught up with my friend who has agreed to be my back up should anything occur before now and Friday week, she's rather excited about the prospect actually.
I'm getting back pain too right around my rib cage front and back though I'm not sure if its a secondary muscle issue from the initial strain that I've had for a few days already. Its pretty uncomfortable anyway but at least I can breathe ok and its more of a dull ache than sharp pains - ah, sorry, whinged again, just couldnt help myself could I
I've had a very hard foot/head sticking out of my side which is not actually very comfortable either, not sure if they are related!
Think I'm off to bed soon to try to get more than 8 hours, suddenly feeling very tired.
Take care everyone. Hope Monday starts off well for you.
ETA -
nasal drip is a constant drip at the back of the throat - it is as lovely as it sounds - yuk!
eric is mine!
10/04/2011, 09:04 PM
Gah! I've been meaning to get in here all weekend to do a proper post. But things just kept popping up!
I hope everyone is going well... I'll be back tomorrow to do a proper post... maybe even including *shock horror* personals! lol.
Hope everyone has a restful sleep tonight.
snowkat
11/04/2011, 11:59 AM
Oh Macdolby, it sounds like you are having a crappy time. Hope you are feeling 100% better soon!Geckogirl – Keen to hear more about the placenta showing what sort of a pregnancy you have had? Purple Daisy – I’m glad my DH made you giggle, it gave me a bit of a laugh too! And that guy in your class, I think I want to slap him!Cooking/Freezing – You girls are really getting organised!!! I got a new fridge about 2 months ago and every time I open the freezer door I think about how I’m going to fill it!!! If anyone needs inspiration to fill the freezer check out Taste.com.au and do an advances search (there is a freezer friendly search option).
OMG, I just worked out I only have 14 more working days!!! Ahhh, so much to do, must stop using EB!!!Chev – Hope you had a great weekend in Byron!!! Sounds great!!!CarrieB – Sorry to hear about your back pain, I have a little bit, but nothing too horrible!Elmo – Exciting about your scan tomorrow. I bet you can’t wait to see your little man again!!!AFM – We had our 1st baby shower on the weekend. It was really nice, about 25 people at our local pub, with some yummy food and a few games. Even the boys got into the games. We played “What’s in the Nappy?” and “Guess how big the belly is” and my friend Bec organised prizes for the winners. Bec rocks!!! We got some lovely presents, a few toys and suits, one gift was a card from our neighbours saying “Home delivery of Wine, smokes salmon, Brie Cheese, Blue Cheese, Salami and other goodies after baby arrives”, I love that one!!! And the coolest present for the baby was a life jacket!!! As you guys may have noticed, we are mad water-skiers and now our little man will be able to come in the boat with us (well after about 6 months at least, Bare Footing by 2 years old!!!!
). DH’s mum and dad stayed with us for the weekend too. It was no where near as stressful as I thought it was going to be, in fact it was quite good. DH and FIL got 2 loads of wood before it started raining, so our wood shed looks a little healthier than before. I showed MIL one of our MCN’s and she was blown away, she thought they were great. Then she showed me a few ways of folding the old school nappies just in case I get stuck. It was a nice little bonding experience!
We have an appointment with the Mid-wives tomorrow and I am looking forward to hearing the heart beat and finding out which way bubs is lying. I can’t tell what is head and what is bum? But I think he might be head down-ish and his legs are defiantly on my right side, I am getting very visible kicks out the side of my belly. Have a good day ladies!!!
Hey we havn't heard from Treestar and Sam for a while, are they away???
Mrs Miller
11/04/2011, 12:24 PM
Good morning everyone!
I hate Mondays so much! I always try to motivate myself on the way to work but no…. somewhere deep inside always knows it’s Monday and that shines through.
Elmo – That actually sounds like fun (the comments for your kids I mean, not your horrible weekend poor thing). I always wanted to be a teacher, ever since I was about 6 and used to platy “schools” on my own, or would make my little cousin or sister play as students lol. Hope you’re feeling better today.
Macdolby – Hope you’re also feeling better. It’s a relief to have a plan in place with your friend, one less thing to stress over.
Which bit is which? – I have no idea. I seriously can’t understand how other women know which bit is whacking them in the bladder or sticking out the side etc… I thought for weeks I was patting baby on the head, which kept “nestling” just under my right rib, but at my last midwife appt, I was informed he was head down and actually I’d been patting his bum. I feel him all over the place but I couldn’t tell you if he’s still head down or not. It’s so bizarre the way the feel of the movements have changed from week to week since I first started feeling them. I do get a feeling now of arms and legs rubbing together (which is probably not what it is but it’s hard to describe the feelings so a phrase comes to mind and it sticks). Also a body part dangerously close to my bladder over the last 5 days. Not enjoying that one. And the belly wobble happens several times a day, but I really don’t feel kicks anymore…
Plan – DH doesn’t drive! My mum is only round the corner but she works nights at all different hospitals and when she gets home takes sleeping tablets and can’t drive, so the chance of her being awake, not at work AND straight when I need to go to the hospital is pretty slim. Dad is actually going away to Bali (jealous!) the day before I’m due for 2 weeks which is a shame because he’s such a calm driver, and my only other option is my sister who turned 18 over the weekend and has just started a new job. I just hope everything falls into place or it’ll be “TAXI!!!”
Going to buy the car seat this week, hoping there’s one on special at babies r us when we go in. Then I’m pretty much sorted except…… I went to Fantastic Furniture (what a joke) last Saturday with mum and we looked at drawers for babys room. We saw some and grabbed a sales person and paid for them. We were told they were at a warehouse about 25mins away and did we want to pick them up or have them delivered? We figured we’d need a trailer so dad phoned on Monday and paid for delivery, and they came Thursday…… FLATPACKED!!!!!! Grrrrrrrrrr. DH opened the box on Friday and said ‘No Way’. The instructions are basic, theres all these planks of wood and over 100 screws, but like 8 different kinds. The instructions say you’ll need a pencil, a Phillips screwdriver (which we don’t even own) and a hammer. I can’t for the life of me get my head around the instructions and can’t see which part you need a hammer for, unless it’s for the moment you become so frustrated you need to hammer to hit the drawers so you don’t hurt your foot kicking it? My poor baby won’t have any drawers. That box will sit there mocking me forever. And I was so excited about going in and setting the nursery up and putting all bubs little clothes away.
Didn’t mean for my post to be so long, sorry. Can’t view pics on the internet at work so got on the laptop on Sunday and had a look at the last thread, everyone’s bumps look great! I have no idea how to load a photo (haven’t even had any taken as DH doesn’t take the best photo’s) but maybe I’ll take one myself and get DH to load it. So in love with DH at the moment. I had thought he’d finish work when I go into labour then go back to work the day after babys born because he’s on casual and I’ll be in hospital for 5 days, but in the car yesterday he told me he wants to stop a few days before I’m due so he can be there for me. He’s not usually very verbal or demonstrative so anytime he sends me a sweet message or says or does something sweet I jump on it and get all mushy and emotional (perhaps that’s why he doesn’t do it so much?) It’s my birthday this Saturday and I’m turning 25. It feels lie I’m getting old! Especially since my sister turned 18 Saturday just gone. Mum’s flying to the UK on Friday for 4 weeks. I feel bad because she saved for so long and is so looking forward to seeing her mum and family and she only has 4 weeks. She was due back the day before I’m due but wants to be here the last few weeks so changed her return flight.
Hope everyone has a good day.
jmck82
11/04/2011, 01:21 PM
Happy Monday everyone....For those of us with a few more weeks left at work - at least we have fewer Mondays thanks to the public holidays1
Elmo - A couple of years ago one of the ladies I used to work with coughed and her waters broke (although, luckily this didn't happen at work). She was still working, so probably around 36 weeks pg when it happened. I don't know if it was a coincidence or not - but it can happen. I also hope you are feeling better today. Only 1 week til the holidays for you!!!
Snowkat - sounds like you had a wonderful weekend and received some very thoughtful gifts. How is your DH going after the op?
Jade - did they not tell you the drawers were flat packed when you bought them? That is a bit rude. From experience, the sales people normally ask if you are OK that they are DIY. I hope you get the courage to try and put it together.
ftm - I am definitely pudging up and swelling up as well. Not excessive, but enough to notice. I got really annoyed at an article in the paper on the weekend about the averge weight gain during pregnancy being 12.5 kg. It was an article about support for pregnant woman re weight gain. They shouldn't publish figures like that because it depends on so many factors.
afm - Bub still sideways - lots of movement out both sides of my belly.
I am having trouble getting to sleep at night - I just don't feel tired. Last night was terrible and I ended up sleeping in and going to work late. I am lucky in that regard I guess - but it means I have to stay later as well. All the way along I have had a feeling that this baby will be early (not too early though). I know they come when they are ready, but I will be doing everything I can to help the process along!!
macdolby
11/04/2011, 03:50 PM
Afternoon everyone
Also glad to hear the baby shower went well and you enjoyed yourself snowkat.
Jade - bummer about the flatpack - they're a nightmare at the best of times, you need a degree to work them out!
jmck - i'm with you on bubs being transverse - mine is the same, doesnt bode well if they're not in the right position!
AFM - Not too much to tell today, been a bit of a lazy one and I've just been reading along. I fell asleep on the couch before (poor DD). I get a stabbing pain in my other side under my ribs now when I cough so have a permanent heat pack tucked under my bra band. DD slept til about 7.15am so that was lovely. I went to Kmart and spent $98 - but I picked up some winter sheets for our bed for $19 (bargain!) 4 books for DD, a hairdresser play-set for her (yes, I decided to spoil her a bit), a heat-pack and a pair of cool winter boots for DD which she loves. I just had the 'urge' to spend and there's nothing left to buy for baby!
Have a great night everyone. DH will be getting up soon-ish so he may want to get on webcam before he goes to work.
Have a great evening!
misspip
12/04/2011, 06:25 AM
Morning!
Another Monday down and out of the way - jade i totally get the mondayitis too! So many public holidays coming up though which is great.
FTM - I am still working full time too, you are right the afternoons are totally tiring. Again, bring on all the public holidays!
Macdolby - Target Country (if you have one in your area) also has lots and lots of reduced sheet sets if you need any more! Things marked down from over $100 to less than $20.
We had our scan on Friday, all is well. Baby is in fact head down, spine along my left side and feet and arms all over on the right. The sonographer was able to see that she has hair on her head, quite a lot of it apparently, which was a surprise to my DH and i as we were both born baldies! Baby was towards upper size limits but still within normal range for all measurements with our due date as 12th June, but we are STILL convinced that date isn't right and we should be more like the 3rd of June. 3d scan revealed two chubby little feet too - very cute. I have no idea how to put a picture in here, and from all i've read it sounds a bit hard so am not even going to try right now!
Hope you all have a good week and are feeling well, so not long to go now!
jessipoo
12/04/2011, 11:18 AM
Howdy everyone,
Just a quick one today as I am flat out at work. We have NEVER been this busy but seems like the world is against me and making me work hard for my last 2 weeks, almost punishing me for leaving. It is crazy, my mind is all over the shop and I can feel myself lacking the fine detail needed with my work.
In other news had my last scan on Friday, all is well, baby is breach with their head on my upper right side with back along my left, going to google what exercises to do to help baby turn, I am not worried though, it will sort itself out I am sure.
Finally making a start on such things as hospital bags and making space for this baby, only took 32 weeks.
Loving reading everyones updates, although with my mind being as it is latley I cant remember any info for personals. Pretty slack on my part I know, sorry guys.
Today is my 2nd last monday, only 9 more sleeps until I am free. Plan on catching up with my old friends Mr Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet (BBC version of course) on my first day home alone. Can't wait.
ames_78
12/04/2011, 02:56 PM
For those not on Facebook, I just posted that I had my 32w ultrasound today. Luckily the placenta has moved enough out of the way (it's on my right side) so that's great. Bub is head down, spine on the left and legs on the top right. Didn't get very good pic's though as the cord was right near the face.
Everything else seemed as expected. Bub is weighing 2.15kg already, so a little above average apparently (DS was 2kg at 32w and was born 8pound 1 oz at 39w1d) so clearly I'm not having a petite girl - and yes got the confirmation again that it's a girl.
So guess now need to have a good chat with DH about a name for this girl.
Ultrasound took a little longer than I thought but sonographer kept waiting for a couple of larger movements from bub and bub clearly just wanted to sleep! I told the lady "party" time is at night. Eventually got the movements she was looking for.
Not long ago just had the curtains installed in the baby's room and it's amazing how the room changes with curtains. The curtains are tied with some ribbon at the moment and I got told to leave it for a few days before I undo the ribbon. Apparently though one lady used scissors to cut the ribbon and complained to the company that her curtains now had holes!!
Shortly off the dentist to get my teeth cleaned - just another thing I can tick off the "to do" list.
Now if only the guy from the heater company would answer his phone and sort out when he's coming out to fix my gas ducted heating! It's been a cold 24 hours in Melbourne and I just wanted it sorted out.
geckogirl
12/04/2011, 05:46 PM
snowkat: I can't remember everything the MW said about the placenta she showed us. But she did point out a number of fatty white deposits which she said indicated that the mother had high blood pressure during the pregnancy. Apparently if you have GD they send the placenta to pathology for some tests. But you can have it back! Some people have been known to take it home, bury it and plant a tree above it! The class was mostly bemused by this so I don't think the idea will catch on in my group!
Jade: Flatpacks suck! Our cot and baby changer are sitting in flatpacks at the moment and I'm not looking forward to trying to put them together!
AFM: Saw my GP last night who gave me my flu shot and now I feel fluey! I was feeling great before then! Saw ob and endo today. Everything great including hearing bub's heartbeat which the ob said was very regular and steady. The baby is apparently head down on my left hand side but as they are not engaged, there's still plenty of time for them to move around. They were so busy last weekend I could have sworn they'd invited guests over and was having a party!
DH has been wonderful and has been making me food every weekend so I have plenty of leftovers for lunch during the week. This week its lasagne! Yum!
Names: We'd pretty much decided on a boy's and a girl's name (first and middle) but now DH has suddenly decided he wants to add another name to the boy's making it three names plus surname which I think is a bit unwieldy and a pita when it comes time for him to be filling out forms later in life. Its also a little bit out there so I'd rather not replace the current middle name with this one. What do you think about three first names?
Have to go as I've got yoga class tonight and have to get ready.
Have a great night, everyone!
purple_daisy
13/04/2011, 08:37 AM
Morning ladies!
Can anyone believe how quickly winter seems to have arrived this year? We had to turn our heating on last night as it got down to 4 degrees overnight brrrrrrrrr.....
QUOTE (jmck82 @ 11/04/2011, 01:21 PM)

A couple of years ago one of the ladies I used to work with coughed and her waters broke (although, luckily this didn't happen at work). She was still working, so probably around 36 weeks pg when it happened. I don't know if it was a coincidence or not - but it can happen.

I have just started to get a bit of a cough/cold and was joking to DH that I hope I didn't cough the baby out. He assured me that was not possible, but now I'm going to be crossing my legs to cough
I don't know who was mentioning how busy their work has become, but mine is insane too. For the whole pregnancy I've been able to just coast along at work with minimal stress, but suddenly they go 'oh you're leaving in how many days?' and everyone wants me to look at this case or check this advice before I go. My to-do list is enormous. It sure does make the time fly though. After today I only have 9 days left at work hooray!
Geckogirl I know everyone has different opinions but personally I find three first names a bit much unless they are quite short or monosyllabic.
Just thought I would post a couple of pics. The first is me at 33+2 in my $5 pumpkin patch top I won on ebay:

Then this is a pic of the adorable curtain fabric that my mum has made into nursery curtains for us. The nursery is actually our old bedroom so was very plain and not overly pretty, and Mum has made these curtains to turn it into more of a child's room. I just love them and they look really bright and happy:

AFM not too much to report. I'm getting plenty of pelvic pain (
FTM I know exactly what you are talking about) and find I wake up every 2-3 hours because whichever hip I am lying on hurts and I have to roll/manouevere myself over. So the fatigue is setting in, and is probably partly why I've come down with some snuffles etc. But otherwise all is going well and I am looking forward to my baby shower at the end of the month. It will be a very low key afternoon tea with 10 friends, no games, just food and good conversation. Can't wait!
Have a happy wednesday everyone!
justthinking1
13/04/2011, 09:52 AM
Morning everyone,
Oh my goodness I'm so tired! Work has been really busy for me and we were away over the weekend for a wedding, and I drove home myself (4hrs) so I think everything (including the lack of sleep) is catching up! Desperately trying to ward off the cold everyone else in the office seems to have.....
Ames78 - Congrats on your little girl! How exciting, I'm hoping to have our sex confirmed again by our obs in the next couple of visits.
Geckogirl - Completely personal preference, but I would go without an extra name unless it was of family significance etc. But, you know, its not a strong feeling I would have if someone else did it. Each to their own I reckon, but if you're not into it, maybe you could compromise and suggest to name the next bub with that second name?
Purple_daisy - Looking great! I agree with the cold snap, I was on the lounge with the heater on & a blanket last night! Can't wait for DH to come home tonight so he can reconnect the gas heating etc. And you can count me in for the pelvic pain!
AFM - I've pretty much been coasting along lately, just the usual goings on of pregnancy. My DH is away at the moment (back tonight at 2am...) so I've been able to do some cooking & cleaning in the evenings after work, which is good. I'm pretty sure we're set on a couple of girls name, DH can't get past Josephine, which I love too, but I also like Eloise and Juliet probably just as much. Middle name will most likely be Olive - a family name. What do you ladies & Sam think?
Also, with this cold weather I've been thinking about our heating options... usually DH & I don't have a heater on at night in the bedroom, just put one on for a few hours in the evening to take the chill off. But it gets pretty cold and we sleep with two blankets & a doona. So, with no central heating etc - what are you ladies going to do for the bubs? What heating options do you think are best?
And another thing - I saw a thread about some tear-prevention methods (epi-no & massage etc). Are any of you doing this or have you done this in the past? How'd it go? Please tell of your experiences, positive or negative...
JT
jmck82
13/04/2011, 11:24 AM
Sorry girls - can't help with the heating! Still sleeping with the fan on at night and even if we do get a cold snap in winter - its doesn't last very long here in Bris-vegas.
Not much else happening - just sooooo over work at the moment. I envy you ladies who are getting busier and don't have much longer to go. Opposite for me, work is slowing down and will make the last weeks drag.
I was such a zombie this morning and was a bad fur baby parent. Our fur baby turned 6 today and only remembered when I got to work. We were only talking about it a few nights ago! Plus I forgot to put her eardrops in. Bad mother!! Lucky she knows no different....
macdolby
13/04/2011, 11:41 AM
Morning everyone
Sitting here on the sofa like a blob, watching crap daytime telly and eating fairy floss (I had a craving!). This is my first Wednesday off (back to 2 days per week) since a week after I found out I was pregnant.
Ames78 - Congrats on the confirmation of another little girl to your family. So hard finding a 2nd girls name - we're in serious trouble ourselves on that front!
Geckogirl - I also agree that 3 first names could be a pita later in life though most of us have 2 names and we're only referred to by one of them so it probably won't matter in the grand scheme of things.
Purple_daisy - Great photo! and lovely bright curtains too, I know what you mean about curtains changing the look and feel of a room. Baby's room only has blinds at this stage but I'm waiting on knowing the sex before I figure out colour etc.
JT1 - I'd also be interested to hear if anyone has any tips on tear prevention.
Heating for bubs - our place is pretty chilly too and I picked up a small oil column heater last year after winter which I intend to put onto a timer so it'll come on a couple of times during the night/early morning just to take the chill off.
AFM - DD and I spent last night at my brothers as prep for when the baby arrives. She was supposed to sleep in the top bunk with her cousin but ended up in my bed at 9pm. She didn't take to drop off at childcare very well this morning which was a little heart breaking especially considering I was only coming home to sit on the sofa and rest my ribs all day! Ah, gotta love mothers guilt!
To those who are getting the cough/cold, I hope it doesnt turn into the full on one I'm still suffering from nearly 3 weeks later. And I hope that story of the woman going into labour after coughing too much was an urban myth!
Have a great day everyone.
snowkat
13/04/2011, 12:58 PM
jmck82 – DH’s op went well, thanks, but we wont really know how well for about 6 months. His doctors are happy with how everything has gone though. I on the other hand didn’t get nearly as much done in the big smoke as I had hoped, oh well, at least I was there when he woke up! Our fur baby’s turn 6 this year too. We were very hung over when No.1 son turned 21 (3 human years) and forgot and he was grumpy with us for the whole day!!!
macdolby – Spending nearly $100 at Kmart sounds like fun!!! Some times you just gotta spend!Misspip – Good news about your scan, it’s great that baby is head down. Funny about the hair!!!
Jessipoo – One this you can do to help baby get in to position is to be in a forward leaning pose. I do this on the couch at night, I sit on the edge of the couch with my legs spread and lean forward with my belly between my thighs. It is actually quite comfortable and it means that DH can rub your back too!!!ames_78 – All sounds good with your scan too, great that bub is preparing for exit!!! Good luck with the heating guy!!!
geckogirl – I think it depends on the names. Will you tell us??? I’d love to hear them???Purple_Daisy – Love your bump photo, you look like you are carrying quite high, does it feel high? I am quite low and it sometimes feels like it’s going to hit the floor!!! I love the curtains too, go mum!!!
JT1 – I love all your names, especially Eloise, it’s my sister’s name and I have always been jelious of her name!!! I also like Olive as a 2nd name, I don’t think it word work as well as a 1st name!Heating – We have 2 wood heaters (one stove in the kitchen and a Conara in the lounge room). We are doing ok at the moment just with the Conara going and leaving the door open to the hall way and our bed room, but when it gets colder we have a portable electric heater to go in our room. Bub will bunk in with us for winter as I don’t want to heat another room just for the hell of it. The electric heater is pretty energy efficient, but it cost a fair bit to buy, about $300-$400, but I think it is worth it in the long run. We live at the base of a ski field so good heating is important!!!AFM – I had a Midwife appointment yesterday and all is looking good! Baby is now head down, but not fully engaged. I have been quite uncomfortable fro about the last week and a half so that explains why, I can’t imagine how uncomfortable it’s going to be when he gets his hear right in there, not looking forward to that. I was nice how excited DH got when I told him baby was preparing fro exit. After our huff & puff class last night he lay in bed reading all the reading material we were given and when he was done, he rolled over and hugged me saying in a little voice “I’m starting to get really excited!!!” He really can’t wait to be a dad! I told him that he is going to be a wonderful dad!!!
We got a shipment of MCN’s in the mail yesterday. 20 Bum Genius 4.0’s direct from the USA!!! The are so awesome, I can’t wait to see a little bum in them!!! I’ll post a Photo from the home computer later in the week. I was going to talk about names, but this post has gone on far too long already!! I’ll save that for later! Bely rubs to all!!! Even Sam (where ever he is???)
KYMICHELLE
13/04/2011, 02:19 PM
Just passing through briefly (that's code for "stalling on doing the housework"). I hope everyone is going well. I'm finding it great to catch up regularly in our group on Facebook, and hope more people join too so we can all catch up more often and in more depth.
I'm still loving being pregnant - even with the aches and pains, the gestational diabetes and the lack of sleep, and am not ready for it to end. Having said that, I feel like this one may come early - just not too early I hope. I'm off to wach the Mighty Hawks play the Eagles here at Aurora stadium on Saturday so hope I can get comfortable (and dont need to go to the loo 400 times!).
I know it's only Wednesday, but I hope everyone has a lovely, relaxing weekend - especially as we wont have many of those for a while!
Take care
macdolby
14/04/2011, 02:02 PM
Afternoon all
Not much to add from FB but bloody hell I am in SO MUCH PAIN! my poor poor body! DH is in the UK, complaining about being 'tired' - and I'm struggling to even move without pain in my ribs everytime I breathe or heaven forbid, cough!
I can feel the tension across my back as well, I just can't relax. Think I'll head for a shower and see if the warm water can offer some relief
Sorry for the whinge, I just need to get it out - no one understands!!!
4forme
14/04/2011, 02:14 PM
Hi mummies- those not on the FB group prob dont remember me as I'm such a lazy poster. I just find EB so hard now- I read and don't tend to over absorb iykwim.
Seems like everyone is doing relatively well which is great- can't believe we are already in the final 10 week countdown and D day is fast approaching.
I'm not organised- too laid back- I did set up the cot the other day though, have bought some warmer jammie bottoms for hospital that fit and do have clothes. Need to organise the nappies and a new carseat for 5yo dd then I should be set.
eric is mine!
14/04/2011, 02:16 PM
macdolby, I hope the shower brings you some relief. When does you DH get back home???
AFM: Not much going on apart from some KILLER BH's that I am getting at night. So damn painful. I've got an OB app this afternoon and I am going to ask about them. They are so painful at times that if I were further along I would assume labour was starting. Ugh.
Anyways, I have to get ready to go out... need a shower!