The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: January 07 Parents # 536

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2007

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=879065

GrumpyOldTroll!
Morning Everyone! I hope you all have a wonderful day today. Will get back on here after kinder dropoff this morning.

fillesetjumeaux
Morning!

Just finishing my "breakfast" (an iced coffee). Tried a bowl of yoghurt with some muesli, but even chewing a couple of pieces of oats was too painful, so that's in the fridge, I'll try again this arvo!

Parent-teacher interviews at A's school this arvo. Interested to hear about her from a new perspective. Also going to discuss investigating her handwriting issues with OT.

G got a merit award yesterday at school - she was beaming when she got home. How on earth does "a kind and caring friend" behave like the most evil child in the world the minute she walks through the front door??? Honestly, she is so incredibly bad at home and is getting worse. I have considered a psychologist, but then was discussing this with a couple of other parents recently and they said their second-borns were both exaclty the same. Maybe it's a birth order issue?! Either way, it needs resolving...it's draining.

ThatsNotMyName
Janet my sister was a completely self absorbed sociopath till she left home to go backpacking around the world & realised it didn't in fact revolve around her. While still harbouring the occasional lingering quirk from her early years she's become a very considerate, thoughtful & altruistic person. Sometimes I think it's an issue that only time & experience will resolve though I can understand the strain on the family dynamic. Perhaps you could get the teacher on board & rig up a good family member award?

I am eating extra for bf, just trying to avoid too much extra wink.gif Sorry your mouth is still sore. I seem to recall it being a couple of days after having my wisdom teeth out before I could eat proper food.

Alinta - score getting the hot physio grin.gif Good luck getting through all the shoots, will you have pics to share from the modelling job?

About to have some brekky myself, sooo hungry. Carys went down at 11 then woke for a 4am feed but wouldn't resettle till nearly 6 so I was zonked. Didn't wake again till 8.40, when Shane was about to take C to school. I jumped in the shower as Carys was waking then had to feed her again & she's just finished now. waves.gif
manlou4
I still am considering a psych appt for kimbal Janet, and surprise surprise, he's also a 2nd born wink.gif he has anger issues that I have no idea how to begin to help him control. I put a note in his communication book today to ask about his behaviour at school but by other casual reports and through seeing him in his classroom he's fine at school.

Man Curtis is being a tornado today! Everywhere we go people say he's cute in a way that means it's cute to see the devil in someone else's child - like when he repeatedly
made his pig merangue kiss the side of my face at the bakery just then.

manlou4
I just found him in the bathroom drawing all over the vanity with bath crayon rolleyes.gif

Bbl
lissiloo
OMG I do not think I am going to survive this male child of mine! He is seriously into EVERYTHING, I can't turn around without finding him getting into something else. ANd I'd really like him to stop putting his whole arm in my cleavage (and pinching my nipples when he finds them). Aaaarrrrgggghhhh!

(I think I'm a bit pre-menstrual this week unsure.gif )

Yes, I have one of those second children two. My mum says she is just like my sister. The latest thing is sore legs, they ALWAYS hurt when she has to walk somewhere. I know she gets growing pains, but seriously, all the time??? And funnily enough they don't hurt when she wants to play/ride her bike/have fun. I will probably take her to the doc in the school holidays just to make sure there isn't something else going on, but I think it's just her (apparently my sister had the same thing). Anyone got any vitamin/mineral suggestions?

OK, got to see if the washing is done and off to ballet we go.

Lissiloo
donthavetv
Sydney is like G Janet, she is completely abhorrent at home, but the model child at school. She doesn't do a big family very well, is a total drama queen, so she makes all the others angry with her all the time. I just am resigned to the fact that she doesn't gel with her siblings, and that one day she an move out and be the center of her own universe, and then she will be happy. Until then, I try and minimise the fall out as much as possible.
I do recall however, that by 7, most of those over the top tendencies start to ease a little. I think Grace is Sydney's age isn't she ?
Actually Kimbal is too. No ! I just checked and Kimbal is a year younger. oops.
fillesetjumeaux
It's nice to know I'm not alone but it's still difficult to deal with. Mel, G is the same age as S! Kimbal is younger but still 2005, no? G is wonderful with the boys, but doesn't deal well with her sisters.

Just waiting to go into A's interview.

Just realised my shoulder is really, really good today - must be jaw pain using up all those pain receptors in my brain!!!
manlou4
What have you done with the kids Janet? We have appt with kimbal's teacher tomorrow. She said in the book that he's pretty good, and the times he refuses to participate in an activity aren't concerning her - so he's not an angel there either, but she also said it wasn't often.
I also spoke to the principal then who asked me if I was happy with olivia's extended spelling list and reading level - I had mentioned casually to a teacher friend a couple of issues and she told the principal who told the teacher! I had no idea her list was extended though, I did notice they didn't all rhyme anymore but thought everyone had the same.
Yes K is 2005
fillesetjumeaux
I left them with my friend from around the corner. It was so civilized without them!!!
Naz32
Ok everyone concentrate together
No more rain in Newcastle, no more rain in Newcastle, no more rain in Newcastle...etc etc lol.

If this rain doesn't stop my roof will never be finished. I might as well still be living in ballina the amount of rainfall we have had since I moved south!

House is coming along. Photos came back today for web/paper and they look great. I hope there are a few people out there looking for a nice family home.

Janet. Your face looks sore. I remember having my teeth out and it was very painful. I lived on scrambled egg.

Mandy I hope you figure out Kimbal soon. Those meltdowns do not sound fun at all.

Lisa Simon is the same. He is driving me up the wall.

Bon I hope the move is going ok.

Alinta I hope you are getting a little rest.

So a few of you have asked about where we are with business etc since house is on the market and basically the shop contract is FINALLY in our hip little hands. We still have a little way to go but looks like it will all go ahead. Also we haven't been able to find a rental so we hzve hired a holiday rental. Fully furnished original.gif no unpacking and a 3 month lease with another 3 month option. Hooray.

http://www.jklrealestate.com/game/jkl-real...rgess%20Rd%2039

It's 2 2 bedroom houses but they gave us both if them so plenty of room original.gif

Sounds like Sarah might finally have gone to sleep so I'm going to go too incase Simon is up at 5 for the day. Hello to everyone.
codex
laugh.gif Naz, before I clicked on that link I had visions of you running to the neighbouring house over a dividing fence to check on children.
Yay for the shop contract and send the rain over here, we'll take it for you.
cuddlymumof4
Mel: Well done on the photo comp. Also yay for the trip to the US in September.

Alinta: Good luck with the 3 Weddings.

Naz: Yay for the contract & hope the rain stops for you soon.

Our weather has been crazy the last couple of weeks. One day it is pouring rain, next is hot, then pouring rain & cold etc. We have even had to pull out some long sleeve shirts, which is so not normal for this time of the year.

Everyone is sick here with runny nose, sore throat, coughs, is so not fun.

Better go do some washing & house cleaning.

Have a great day all.

Anna
manlou4
My 2 remaining wisdom teeth are hurting mad.gif I had a horrific experience getting the other 2 out, and seeing Janet's photos I can't say I'm keen to repeat it! Oh well it's not that bad. Just annoying.

I'm also annoyed at the 2 kids here today, because my plan of feeding the ducks and having a play/coffee in the park was ruined by their feral behaviour in the cafe while waiting for my coffee. So we came home and I've been on here since. Not very productive. Now I have to decide whether to walk or drive to the park...my head says walk, my body says drive. Plus Curtis's shoes are still dirty from our river forest adventure on Monday - is it bad that he only has one pair? laughing2.gif

Hmm better get off and do something! I did a big clean up yesterday which was trashed by the time Peter came home - a friend came over with her 3 so that didn't help (although the visit was nice!). I still have washing to do as well.
Mulan
Ahh Naz I love the rain. It's really nice here when it's raining. The birds come out visiting when it stops and the machinery is stopped and I can hear the ocean. Plus it means no landscaping work for me to do. Which is not something I can do right now anyway. I broke my toe yesterday so not much happening at all today really. The excitement of my day will be picking the kids up with DH and going to buy some coffee from a wholesaler.

I do hope the rain stops long enough for your roof to get done though.

Good news on the trip and getting the bills out of the way Mel. Glad the silver lining of J working so much is resulting in the trip. Well done on the comp too, fantastic news.

First born is the highly strung one in our house. Second is mischevious but relaxed, incredibly bright, determined, persistent and adaptable.
thebell
I keep trying to put together a post that makes sense, I'm not sure I'll make it today but I'll give it a go!
I am so tired! I think I'm getting a cold too, which isn't helping at all. I just want to lie around and watch Glee.
biggrin.gif

Mel- I am so excited for you! Congrats on the photo win too, can't wait to see what you do with your new lens. If I transfer some money to you, will you do some shopping for me while you are back in the US? biggrin.gif

Alinta- So close now. I hope you hold on until you are free to have that baby, then I can't wait to see her!

Mulan- Ouch to the toe, but I am glad you are having a break. I love your library. Are the shelves from Ikea too?

Mandy- What did you end up doing? Walk/drive? I would have voted drive, purely so if you had to leave again, it would be quick and easy.

Des- How was pole dancing??

Anna- I hope everyone is better quick smart!

Naz- Lovely! I am glad you are nearly there and you wont have to unpack again.

Janet- Ow to your poor face. You have been through the wars with health things this year. I hope it's all over for you now.

Love to you all. xx
ThatsNotMyName
Hi!

Oh yay congrats on the contract going ahead Naz!! ddance.gif Awesome getting both rentals, no fear of noisy holidaying neighbours now. Sending you "no rain" vibes yyes.gif

Had the photo shoot for Carys this morning but she would. not. sleep no matter what we tried. She was fed & fed & fed, rocked & rocked & rocked, wrapped, unwrapped, re wrapped. The house was super heated, we did quiet, noisy, music - all to no avail. Oh well, we should still have nice family shots, awake ones of her & shots of Caelan. looking forward to seeing some on her blog in a few days.

Denghiu
Driving test today in 1.5hrs. I thought I'd be more nervous, but after talking to Dave last night and checking in on how Ava went on her hearing exam I am more focused on her than my driving atm. She can't hear the middle frequency on one of her ears.

Alinta- Good luck with the last few weddings and even more good vibes coming your way to turn the little miss.

Perth people I wish you rain and colder weather very soon!

Naz- Good luck with the sale and the move and the new shop! Oh and the new roof too of course.

Bon- Good luck with the move to you too!

Have you noticed that there is always a bunch of us moving at the same time, if one moves several of us do.

mamaknits
Naz - good news about the contract and house. So how does the house work? Is it just the one house with a wall that separates the two "houses" and interconnecting doors or??

Alinta - not long to go now!! How exciting!

Megan - Looking forward to seeing the pictures. Carys is such a beautiful baby. She always looks so alert in the pictures you have posted. I am sure the pictures of her awake are lovely. Maybe she just did not want photos of herself sleeping. Knows her mind, that girl! How's Caelan taking to having another child in the house?

Moa - all the best with the test!

Mandy - Get them looked at!! Don't mess around with your teeth. i know someone who put off gettinghis teeth looked at and when he finally went cos he was in so much pain, they could not operate to remove the impacted and damaged wisdom teeth because his gums were infected and so swollen that they had to give him antibiotics and wait for the swelling to subside!

US - busy - nothing new. I am employing a new "low stress living" policy in this house. I will not stress that the housework is not done. I will not stress that I am sometimes falling behind at work. I will not stress about daycare. I will NOT stress. So far it's been working out alright. My strategy with daycare now is just to find out if he has hit anyone and whethe rhe has made an effort. If there is no hitting and he has made an effort, all is well in my world. I don't care that they complain he has not listened or has been cheeky. Deal with it! He's 4! That's what 4 yr olds do. He's doing well at preschool. My priorities in the house are now clean clothes and food on the table. Everything else can go get stuffed until I have time/energy for it. Work.. well.. work is work.. I just need to stress a little less.

Chris gets his new car this Friday. Hallelujah!

We celebrate our 5 yrs wedding anniversary this month. It will actually fall on the Easter long weekend but we'll be celebrating early. I have taken a day off work and we're having a long weekend to ourselves with Alex being babysat by my in-laws. i am looking forward to it. Dinner planned at Bilson's for one night and Churras on the other night. Two days of lying around, doing nothing or just walking round the city. We're staying one night at the Radisson (so that we can drink at Bilson's and just wander upstairs to bed after that) and another at the Westin. I think we will have to slot in a visit to the Lindt cafe! Alex is looking forward to his sleepover weekend with the grandparents. Yay! Everybody's happy!

manlou4
You sound good Celia! That sounds like a good policy to have for Alex, perfectly reasonable.

Well I spoke to kimbal's teacher and apparently he is no more difficult than Olivia was laughing2.gif come to think of it I do remember her refusing to go to singing once and no one quite knowing what to do with her, and it was only in summer that she flat out refused to get out of the pool after swimming lessons. I just raise them stubborn shrug.gif hopefully a good thing for them to assert their rights, once they are adults and allowed some wink.gif

I was looking at chenoa's still active pregnancy ticker yesterday Megan and she wasn't quite 43 weeks, and it is strange to think of Oscar having been here for 4 weeks already at the gestation carys was born. Does that even make sense? laughing2.gif make sure you link the blog asap, I especially love sibling shots.

I'm just going now to look at alinta's blog while I remember wink.gif can't wait to see your sibling shots either alinta, not long now!
manlou4
Oh but moa, what does the hearing result mean for Ava? Enjoy driving
donthavetv
Yes Moa, come back and explain !

Did you see my facebook posts ? I am in a state of complete shock. Needless to say, I need to now book some tickets on a flight to Sydney ! Now I have an excuse for a weekend away with my husband.
Denghiu
I passed he driving test!

With Ava's hearing, I don't know yet. I have been here and David took her. On one ear there is a frequency, the middle frequency that she cannot hear well. On the other ear, and normally you should be able to pick up on it at 20db, she heard it at 50-60db, the other ear is fine. We are going to do another test in a few weeks and also go see a specialist. I am not yet clear as to what it means in terms of what she can and cannot hear in daily life, but the dr had said that since it didn't seem to cause her any issues it will most likely not be a problem, but she will need to check her hearing once year to make sure it isn't getting any worse.

I was in tears last night about it all though.
lissiloo
Hi all!

Mel -- are you taking the kids? Or just you and J? So excited for you!

Celia -- sounds like you're taking the right approach with Alex. You're right, he is only 4, no one at that age is a perfectly behaved little person! I'm so glad you got him into the preschool though, everything you have said makes it sound like exactly what he needs. And happy anniversary!

Moa -- so what's the deal with Ava's hearing? Is it likely to be permanent? Or is it just due to repeated ear infections?

Mulan -- ouch! Did you drop something or kick something?

Sel -- how long til your mid-semester break? Hope it's soon! Take care of yourself OK?

Janet -- I hope you're feeling a bit better. The first few days are the worst.

Busy busy here, trying to get things ready for Ella's party on Sunday. Tomorrow I need to buy the various food ingredients and start cooking what I can in advance. Ella has picked a very easy cake for me to make, hooray. I still have to decide what sort of cake to bake though, I'm a bit meh on vanilla buttercake and I find that the little kids aren't so keen on rich chocky or mudcakes. I have to make some cupcakes for school too -- we'll take them in for Friday (last day of term, yay!). Ella's teacher hands them out at the end of the day.

Finally sorted out the monster washing pile, I think I had about 10 loads worth in there. Got the girls to help me this afternoon.

Well, I've got a few more things to do before bed. Talk to you all later, I might not get back on to write til Sunday night or Monday.

Lissiloo
fillesetjumeaux
Sel, saw on FB that you were exhausted - hope you get a little break soon.

Sounds like your kids are doing okay after all atschool, Mandy. I have definitely come to the conclusion that children have two very distinct personas, one for school and one doe home, and thy dint interchange tem.

Ah fluckit. iPhone typing, too annoying to fix up. I do wonder why it doesn't autocorrect "foe" to "for" A's I'm sure the use of "foe" is much rarer!!!

Suffering here - day 3 is meant to be the worst, and it feels like it. Of course, AF arrived yesterday, so I had a crap night of cramps from that and pain from teeth. Shoulder wasn't that crash-hot either. Migh feel less like I'm falling apart by the time the holidays start.
manlou4
no no no janet, you'll be in perfect health for the holidays. Stay positive! I don't remember the pain afterwards being that bad. I had one panadeine forte which knocked me out for the afternoon of the removal, and gave me an awful hangover feeling the next day but I was back at work day 3. The actual experience of the removal however has scarred me for life laughing2.gif

My kids were perfect angels yesterday afternoon. Wow. When I was speaking to the teacher, I asked the older 2 to get in the car and put their seatbelts on while I spoke (they thought I was telling her we were going to Uluru in July, which we are, but I'm not telling them with this much advance notice!). And they did. They sat in their seats and were quiet. Then Luella got out of her seat, and so she missed out (again laughing2.gif) on her cookie, but that was ok because Kimbal (KIMBAL!!) said that he would share his with Lu, so then Olivia said she's share hers as well. They got home, shared a cookie, played nicely all afternoon, ate their lasagne for dinner (!) - where were my children??! Who ever has them can keep them, I like these ones much better wink.gif

Moa - the uncertainty of what's up with her hearing would probably be more worrying than if you had the answers. Well done on passing the driving test!

Mel - Congratulations! I thought that status was still about rain laughing2.gif So what are you doing with the children? And tell us about your US plans in September! Where are you going/re visiting? Are the kids looking forward to it?

Once again I have bored my youngest to sleep huh.gif He makes me feel so bad on the days there are no other kids here, because he just wants me to carry him around or put him to bed. He can't be tired! He'd only been awake a few hours before begging to be allowed into his cot. Ah well, I shouldn't complain should I, I should just get on with the cleaning so when he wakes we can do something fun.

Olivia wants to play netball this season - I quite dislike netball, but maybe because I was never cool enough to play and I associate it with the b**chy girls laughing2.gif She is pretty speedy, and might grow to be tall, so maybe it will suit her. Then again, she might not be able to see the ball without glasses on laughing2.gif I hope she enjoys it, I think she will benefit from being part of a team anyway. I bought her a ball this morning and we might go over to the courts this afternoon. I also bought a soccer ball, not that Kimbal wants to play or can even run (he fell off the side fence yesterday and hurt his 'bum' - I can't see any marks or anything, but I think it might have bruised some boy bits), but I like soccer. It is a spin out to me that the kids are reaching an age where they can play with me laughing2.gif
azalia
Janet - you poor thing, I really hope your feeling much better before the holidays.

Mandy - I would feel like that with Mason too I would imagine if I had just him. He is lost without Byron. I think im going to enrol him in 3 year old kindy next year as he gets so upset that he cant stay with Byron when I drop him off. I should just leave him there for the day, he is the same size as the majority of Byrons class mates and looks like he fits in well!!

Moa - I can imagine the not knowing would be so upsetting. Im sure that as you have caught it quite early, you will be able to improve it. Once you have a plan of action in place, hopefully it wont be as unsettling.

Megan - Im sure that they will be beautiful, its a hard age to photograph, the dont sleep on demand quite like the early days!! Regardless they will be gorgeous!! How are you feeling post birth? May I ask whether recovery was easier this time?

Sel - sending you as much energy as possible!! Hope you get a chance to put your feet up today, how are the studies going?

Liss - hope the party goes really well, make sure to take lots of pictures of the gorgeous girl!!!

Celia - I like your simplify thoughts, that is the same in this house, and for the most part it works well!!!

Things are all good here, just wading through all my work to be on top of it, two weeks to go till my final weddings so that is exciting!! I had a beautiful friend pick me up yesterday afternoon and surprise me with high tea at our revolving restaurant in the city. It was so so nice, and I felt so indulgently spoilt!!! Boys are going well, Mason is about 80% toilet trained so that is great! Hes still in nappies at night, but we havent had a wee accident for weeks. Poos he is hit or miss with, as he does them first thing in the morning its usually in his nappy still, trying to get him out of that habit and onto the toilet. Baby is still going well, not budging at all though which I must say is starting to nerve me. Having more chiro tomorrow, and Ill book another accupuncture appointment for Monday, Ive done all the exercizes recommended. She is just super comfy head under my ribs. Ill have to book in for ECV next week, then if that doesnt work start talking about the next options, which will involve a hospital birth. That in itself scares me, I dont have time for a c-section, Gareth will be flying out when the baby is only a week or two old! Trying to chanel all my thoughts into getting her into the best position.
manlou4
Curtis is still asleep... I've done cleaning and cross training and mindless tving laughing2.gif one hour til pickup...here too alinta, Curtis screams when we leave 'goo goo's peeskool!'. I often lose him there, he gets right in there making rabbit ears or playing the computer. No one is worried about him escaping out the door because he just wants to be there!

Hmm that must be a worry about her not so optimal positioning. What more can you do?! Maybe she's keeping you in suspense so you can change g's schedule, then she'll flip once it's changed wink.gif she's just on your side- you're going to want him home as long as possible!
BLR
I'm back!! after a crazy week we decided to all have a stomach bug WHILE moving/cleaning/unpacking - who am I kidding I havent done much unpacking LOL
AND B decided to toilet train and is much up to where Mason is by the sounds very young I think and bad timing with the move but what can you do?
Curtis sounds as devilish as B and they know it don't they? B plays everyone he is into everything, knows everything and thinks he is invincible!
The house is great! big 5 bedroom and the design is really good and town life so far is soo much easier!! shops on tap, garbage disposal so much more time before and after school etc and so much more to do!! but am a little worried my busy lot will spend my bond not that fun knowing its not OUR house.
Naz I couldn't see your place but you sound so much like our situation, what is you long term living plan? are you going to buy or build?

Thats it for me, to much to do today is the first day I dont feel ill!

donthavetv
Oh, how lovely Alinta, you deserve that spoiling. You have some wonderful friends.

Bon, ssounds great ! you wont know yourself. I would shudder at the thought of my lot in a rental as well, it was the first thing I thought when I saw Naz' new place ! How long until you buy ?

Moa, I am sure it is fine. we haven't had any hearing tests here at that age, so it may be more common than you think.

Mandy, for you...
we are doing New England, as was always planned. One week in NYC, we will be there for J's birthday and the tenth anni of 9-11. SO far, we are heading straight North out of NY through Connecticut to Vermont and on to Montreal (which is beginning to be the thing I am most excited about !) then across Quebec to the coast of Maine, and then follow the coast down to Boston, so Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts. Then Cape Cod/ Newport Rhode Island back to NYC.
Depending on how we fly there (we are still looking for good fares) we may spend a few days in San Francisco on the way home. we want to go via Singapore, as I hate the Per-Syd-LA-NYC flight, and I want to do customs in Perth instead of Sydney because it was a huge PITA last time. So at this stage we will probably fly Delta from SIN via Tokyo (only 1 hour) straight to NYC.

Everything is good here, coming down off my huge high yesterday, yet I am still completely overwhelmed by what this all means. The opening night is 1000+ people in previous years and has been opened by Peter Garret and George Negus in the past. I was nervous as hell at my first exhibition at the school, but that isn't even on the same planet as this impending one. One of the four judges of the portraits is the Curator of the Museum of Modern Art in Sydney ohmy.gif It blows my mind to think people like that judged my art as one of the best this year. It is quite funny to think that they called me while I was sitting in my tarago in the drive through lane at school !. roll2.gif

Tis raining here, and reasonably cool (22 ish) and it is so lovely. Scarlett has changed her clothes three times as the chance to break out her winter gear has overwhelmed her ! She keep saying to me "are you gonna get your winter clothes on or not ?"

that's all I can manage. bye for now.
fillesetjumeaux
Mel, couldn't find anywhere on your FB about what you were excited about but I'ma ssuming it is an exhibition you've been selected for? Well done!

Bon, you poor thing, glad you are feeling a little more human.

Mandy, for sure I will be feeling better by Saturday! Today is the bad day, I have to keep reminding myself. Although I had a mini-breakdown just now and called the surgeon's office because I honestly felt like my eardrum was about to burst. All perfectly normal for day 3, apparently. Sheesh, I've never heard anyone complain about having their wisdom teeth out before. heck, I've had one out myself previously and it was nowhere NEAR this bad.

It's all I can do to put on a DVD for the kids and collapse into my chair. Still 1.5h till J gets home. I don't think I'll cook, I really just want to go to bed.
mamaknits
Oh Janet. That sounds awful. I am now dreading going to see the dentist (after my advice to Mandy to go get hers seen!!) as I am pretty sure they'll want to do something about my wisdom teeth. Maybe I'll wait till they hurt wink.gif

Just got back from pre-school pick up and they want to talk to me tomorrow about extension worksheets and stuff while waiting for the director/owner to buy more advanced readers as Alex and another boy are well past the early readers they have. I'll go dig up the readers we have, though Alex is finding readers "boring" and prefers his "picture books". His handwriting is a mess, though he does try. He has gotten into the habit of writing the letters any old way to mimic what he thinks they should look like so correctign him now is quite a task. I wish we had never let him just "go for it" before.

donthavetv
Janet a finalist in this.
http://headon.com.au/content/about-portrait-prize

Sorry Sel, I meant to reply to you, I can do some shopping for you, as long it isn't heavy stuff as I am flying Tiger from Singapore.
BLR
All my sympathy to you Janet don't worry about me when your having a shocker!

Mel OMG! Do you get free flights? childless? OMG about America too so jealous! are you hiring a car?
cheekymonkey
Mel - so which portrait was chosen?

BLR - sounds like an awful week. Hope you're all feeling much better now.

Celia - we're having to do similar with Lucas. He started writing in only capitals after writing normally for a while and is now having to learn to only use them in the right context.

Janet - sounds awful. Hoping it's as the clinic says and it all gets much better from here.

Mandy - mayby Curtis is catching up on sleep from all the other more busy days? If you figure out how/why your children became angels, please share the info. hands.gif

ThatsNotMyName
Mel when do you go to Sydney?
donthavetv
I'm waiting for them to tell me when the opening night is, but I have guessed it is around 6 May.
~Jules~
I wanted to click 'like' to your post the other night Mel, about feeling inspired and grateful and happy with life etc - was such a nice, uplifting post - and who knew of the wonderful news that was awaiting you the next day! Can we know which portrait it is, or is it secret until opening night? I didn't know you'd done a shoot with Alinta either - LOVE the series of you and J, some really beautiful shots there.

So obviously there are some kids here who can recognise letters, write and read to some extent - any not doing this at all yet? M knows M for his name and that's about it, though they've been practising writing their whole name at kindy by tracing over it. I'm thinking that there's plenty of time and they'll all start learning at their own pace, prob not an issue til at least start of full time school? We talk and read together etc but not too much seems to have really clicked for him with this yet - and I haven't pushed it, but should I?

All the best with the moving and preparations etc Bon and Naz! Hopefully by the end of next wk, we'll know if it's our turn next - DH applied for Broome job, so we'll see soon enough.

Mandy, do you mean the pain or the cost of the dentist? I was surprised to find a brilliant dentist in Perth last yr - and realise what a difference it can make. The one I saw before that turned me off dentists for yrs! Def $$ though, the private health seems to cover so little.

I've been quiet again, but still here and reading along xo

donthavetv
It's the one in my sig Jules.
Scarlett can't read. she can write most of her name, she misses a few letters, and she is way ahead of where any of my other kids were. I don't put any effort into helping them though, I figure that's what I pay the school for lol, when she is at an appropriate age for homework, then I will wade in a little. She is a smart little cookie though, so I suspect it just takes them lots of practice rather than mean anything developmentally.

Thanks for the compliments on the photos, but it is easy to look good when you have such a skilled artisan behind the lens.

Night xx
manlou4
eexcite.gif
Last day of school! Last day of school!!
I have no idea what we are doing in the holidays, having Easter at the end is a bit tricky, but I can't wait for more relaxed mornings.

Jules - it's the experience of the dentist I'm afraid, I hate being in that position while someone mucks around in my mouth. Using my lower lip and jaw as leverage to yank out one of my wisdom teeth, and seeing the blood spurt, was an experience I don't want to relive! I wonder how I would have coped with Caesars?!
Lu can write Lu wink.gif and recently has been writing Luella but the progression to that has stunned me. I thought Olivia wrote it, so asked her to write it again! She writes random letters and calls it a story but that's it.

Ange - kids were back to awful yesterday wink.gif no miracle solutions I'm sorry!

Better get onto getting kids ready
ThatsNotMyName
Julie - Caelan can recognise his name & knows it's C for Caelan but doesn't recognise any other letters reliably. He very occasionally gets one right when we ask. He can write a C but does so back to front laugh.gif He can do a reasonable job of copying his name & can trace over letters pretty well. Certainly no reading going on here though he gets out books to "read" all the time as well as us reading with him occasionally throughout the day & always at bedtime. He can sing the alphabet song though that's more repetition than skill.

He's more of a numbers boy at this point, though not with any particular skill either. 1-13 is always accurate, after that it's a bit wobbly. He recognises 1-10 pretty reliably, occasionally getting some wrong.
azalia
Byron sounds like he's the same as moat. He can recognize his name but since starting school I've noticed that the are doing lots of letter tracing and getting them to write their own name. I've noticed his drawings have gone from scribble to starting to resemble something and coloring in within the lines a bit. By the end of the year at kindy I think he'll be able to write some letters. That's what school is for:)

Mandy I am the same as you. I would rather give birth instead of go to the dentist. I loathe it. My good friend got her wisdom teeth out in the chair last Monday and said it was the most painful and worst experience. She could remember all the pain. When she went in yesterday for her follow up she got debriefed by the dentist, he said the team were all traumatized from her removal as they could see she could clearly still feel it (crying lots and in her eyes) but because they had already cut he had to go ahead. She must have a funny reaction to the anesthetic and it doesn't work as well. I'm even more put off now!! Thankfully my wisdom teeth have never made an appearance.

Thankyou for all of your lovely comments on mel and justins shoot, it was beautiful to do, and something I want to do more of photographing and reconnecting people who have been married for years. I also really appreciate your comments on my blog it's really supportive and lovely:)

Currently lying with three pillows under my bottom, have done the hot/cold pack the last three nights, the stubborn baby just pushes out to the cold pack instead of moving away. Chiro this morning, I'm getting over it, and starting to worry a bit. Back up midwife coming for today's visit so will be nice to meet her.
Mulan
New house, lots of bush around I know I should expect mice but seriously so soon I'm not happy. I just told DH that it makes me want to move out. There are no hole in any walls, no gaps. How the heck are the getting in. They had a party in my pantry last night and I've seen 3 run from the kitchen to the garage in the last 30 minutes. I'm sure they have set up home in the garage amongst everything we have yet to unpack. Yuck yuck yuck.
Mandy and Liss you have my full sympathies with your recent visitations. DH doesn't want me to clean out the pantry until we have caught them. So much for the snakes in the area theory meaning there will be fewer mice.

DD is tracing letters too but can't write her name other than the first letter. She is more a numbers kid too, loves number matching, puzzles and sequencing activities. She chooses her activities based upon what is accessible and since we unpacked lots of literacy and numeracy activities are at her height now. She is doing some great drawings now too, more complex and detailed than both my boys were. She has excellent fine motor skills so I'm sure writing will come to her with ease when she is ready for it. Knowing what I know now I wish we had given DS#1 more focus on fine motor development at this age. It's such a cause of upset for him at school and perhaps that earlier focused support would have helped, once he hit school he hated writing and drawing because he can see how much worse his is compared to the rest of the class.
azalia
Mulan - we had similar at our old/new house as it was an estate built next to bushland. They were sneaking through when we opened doors. And in our roof as well. Lots of bait set up.

Mandy - I have the cutest of cute sibling shot going on my blog now. The most gorgeous little girl, and her little brother, he was so cute with her!!
Mulan
Baits are in, lots of traps set in the garage and DH helped me clean out the pantry. The mess they created in such a short time is phenomenal. We sorted through a few things that we had doubled up on and since we had help unpacking the kitchen we didn't realise we had multiple lots of the same thing. I don't need to buy ANY rice for a while. Basmati, aborio, brown, sushi and regular rice all in multiples. All in containers now though. The only thing a mouse can get to in there now is the traps.
ETA bloody buggers have managed to lick one trap clean. We have however caught one of them on a different trap. Not the same colour as the other I saw though.

Alinta, DS used to do that to the icepack too when he was still breech. I started putting it at the opposite end though. It makes me laugh now as he hates cold feet.

DH also set up a new blu ray/DVD player for me in my lounge room. I didn't even think I needed one. Watching Nanny McPhee Big Bang with DD now and putting my foot back up again.
mamaknits
Mulan, mice! Eeeuw! Good luck. Didn't someone here suggest steel wool in all the gaps? Would that work for you? Maybe go look carefully around the outside of the hosue and the roof and see if tehre are any gaps, no matter how small. I think they may be able to squueze in through small gaps.

Mel, what have you got planned in Sydney aside from the art exhibition? Will you be staying for a few days or just one night?

Jules, I think that's pretty normal for most kids of about 4yrs old. Alex's reading ability is ahead because he was interested and we did not want to discourage it and he's picked up a lot on his own just from asking what this says and what that says. Some think there is a genetic link.. both Chris and I were early readers. So aside from supporting what he is good at and what he is interested in (reading, puzzles, numbers) we have a lot of work to do in other areas like writing, behaviour, social skills, etc. There are only 2 kids in his preschool reading at that level, and none at daycare. On the other hand, I think most of teh preschool kids are more socially aware and have better social skills than Alex does. Not sure about daycare.

We got the preschool photos for this year today. Awww.. so gorgeous! I think for the first ti,e, we will keep all of them. $45 for 6 photos and a class photo in an album. Thephotos are all "candid" shots take around theplayground - not just 6 photos of him sitting on a chair in the same position. I like the way they have done it here - they send home with the kids an album with the piccies. If you don't want to keep them, you return them - no charge.

Had dinner out with mum's grp last night. Was great. We stayed and chatted till about 10 o'clock when the restaurant was closing.
~Jules~
Thanks for that, sounds like M is right about where the majority of our Jan07 ones are then. We had a morning tea at the kindy this morning, where the dep principal awarded a certificate to every student (M's was for a cooperative and enthusiastic attitude toward learning, and improving scissor skills lol) - the primary school has a community assembly every month, but it's after kindy hrs so they've never been involved in anything like that, so this was nice and a big turnout of parents too.

Ugh Mandy *shudder* I don't blame you after that experience.

Funny, yours is the only sig I can't see Mel?! It just says something like '[img/img]'.

Ew, more mice - hope you get them under control (out of there!) real quick Mulan!

Have a great weekend everyone xo
fillesetjumeaux
Jules, Z can write her name and probably recognises about half the letters in the alphabet. She has no concept of letters having sounds, and putting sounds together to make words (which I know G could do at this age). I know that G came from nothing to being able to read in the year she spent one day a week at preschool (same age as our Jan babies are now).

Home internet is down (apparently the whole area), and my 3G keeps dropping out.

Turns out I have dry socket syndrome. Was in agony overnight, so called the surgeon this morning, and managed to get more Digesic. Not much else I can do until I see him on Wednesday. I am just coping alternating the Digesic with Nurofen Plus every 3 hours. I also have an anaesthetic mouthwash to squirt in the dodgy socket a few times a day. Anyway, I am totally totally over the pain and j is sick of his wife being a misery to live with for the last 3 months. Would love to feel normal.
Mulan
Janet DH had that, until he could get back to the dentist he used clove oil on cotton balls to help him.

After only writing that yesterday DD couldn't write her name I found some of her drawings with half her name written on them and today she wrote the whole thing when she asked for me to show her the last letter. Then tonight she read the book "hug" granted there are only 3 words in the whole book so it doesn't take much to learn it.

I painted the door lower edges with peppermint essential oil this morning. A friend told me last mint that it repels rodents. So I might plant a couple of pots of it next to the garage door and laundry door as well.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.