twolittlemonkeys
02/04/2011, 08:39 AM
Hi guys,
I just saw another thread when the OP had posted a pic of a pair of boots she was keen on. Subsequent posters also admired the boots, and it left me wondering...
Why don't shoes excite me? Sometimes I feel like I am the only woman who doesn't really care about shoes. I mean, I like them, but only if they are comfortable... I don't get the obsession with shoes. I own a pair of good runners (love them), some ballet flats (cheapies from Big W) and a few sandally type shoes. I wouldn't rush out and buy a pair of boots, particularly with heels.
Can someone explain what the rush is with shoes? BTW I'm not really distressed or anything about it, I'm just trying to understand it!! While we're at it, I don't *get* Harry Potter obsession, or AFL or Lord of the Rings... Is it all on the same genetic thread?
Totoro!
02/04/2011, 08:44 AM
I assume you're talking about the boots I had up? I'm actually pretty much like you, I own a couple of pairs of shoes but mainly I clump about in a pair of blundstones I've had for years! I've never had a shoe 'thing' either but I have to say, when I saw those boots the earth moved!
But tbh I'd probably hardly ever wear them. I'm a bit too practical.
mavisandjack
02/04/2011, 08:44 AM
I don't get shoes either. They are merely a necessity and I actually go without as much as I can!
However, I am "into" AFL, and I love Harry Potter, so I don't think they are necessarily connected in any way.
Oh and dresses. I don't mind wearing one now and then but can't fathom the thought of owning more than I need ... same with handbags. I try not to use a handbag because it throws out my spine anyway!
twolittlemonkeys
02/04/2011, 08:46 AM
QUOTE (Totoro! @ 02/04/2011, 09:44 AM)

I assume you're talking about the boots I had up? I'm actually pretty much like you, I own a couple of pairs of shoes but mainly I clump about in a pair of blundstones I've had for years! I've never had a shoe 'thing' either but I have to say, when I saw those boots the earth moved!
But tbh I'd probably hardly ever wear them. I'm a bit too practical. ;)
Yes!! It was your pair of boots that got me thinking! The earth moved? lol Funny!
twolittlemonkeys
02/04/2011, 08:48 AM
mavisandjack:
Hey, I was just joking re the Harry Potter and shoes thing being on the same gene, but do you think the handbags and shoes are on the same one?
Don't get the handbags either. I have one (okay, maybe two). But I definitely don't have matching bags and shoes.
Loveoneson
02/04/2011, 08:50 AM
Nope.....I don't get them.

Then again....I don't get fashion in general hahahaha!
mavisandjack
02/04/2011, 08:51 AM
QUOTE (twolittlemonkeys @ 02/04/2011, 09:48 AM)

MavisandJack:
Hey, I was just joking re the Harry Potter and shoes thing being on the same gene, but do you think the handbags and shoes are on the same one?
Don't get the handbags either. I have one (okay, maybe two). But I definitely don't have matching bags and shoes.
I think shoes and handbags might go together!
countrymel
02/04/2011, 08:54 AM
I appreciate a beautifully designed pair of shoes.
I will admire a lovely pair of shoes on another woman, as I know it will make her happy.
But as someone with really small, really wide feet (think Hobbit sans hair) I have never, ever been able to own them or wear them myself.
SO any shoe lust or uncontrollable spending urges have been pushed so far down in my brain that I truly don't have them anymore.
I have never owned a pair of heels in my life.
MothershipConnection
02/04/2011, 08:54 AM
Ah well. More shoes for me then!
I like shoes for the same reason I like clothes, handbags, and perfume. When I'm wearing something I like it makes me feel warm and tingly. I like things which are visually appealing to me.
~miss*priss~
02/04/2011, 08:55 AM
Don't 'get' them either. Could happily go without them if possible.
Strange really, considering my mother & 2 younger sisters are all big shoes people.
Angelina Ballerina
02/04/2011, 08:58 AM
I don't have anywhere to to wear pretty shoes these days.
I live in sneakers.
niggles
02/04/2011, 08:58 AM
I like shoes. Unlike clothes they always fit.

But I don't do novelty shoes. Even the shoes I wore to my wedding I've worn again.
Heffalump
02/04/2011, 09:03 AM
I have "other" shoes but I live in sneakers. I keep the "others" around to remind me of the damage I did to my feet when I was younger.
I do have a bit of a shoe fetish on behalf of DD though - I can't go past a nice pair of shoes or boots for her. Luckily I'm also pedantic about fit, so I restrict myself on what I actually buy.
Rock of Empathy
02/04/2011, 09:03 AM
The obsession is lost on me as well.
I think in my case though it's because I have such enormous feet and what looks cute, stylish, sexy, fabulous, whatever in a size 7 looks freakish and elongated by the time it's been stretched out to a size 11.
I do love red shoes but I fear I look like Ronald McDonald when I wear them.
Strawberry Wellies
02/04/2011, 09:04 AM
I am like you OP. Not interested in shoes, bags, etc. I have never understood the obsession. I don't really like boots and most heels look pretty similar to me!!!
I like nice clothes but I don't buy them often as I am too practical and prefer to wear what I have until it looks too shabby to wear anymore. I don't like waste so I try to only buy what I need.
I do however love Harry Potter and LOTR. I think shoes/bags are on the same gene and HP/LOTR must be together on another!!!
TooManyToys
02/04/2011, 09:08 AM
I dont get shoes either. I never notice them on others, and even when I do most of them arent my style anyway. I especially dont like the ones that hurt your feet or make it hard to walk ie almost all heels fall into this category. I often wonder why I am like this when most other women love them.
Oh and I feel the same about handbags, cant see the appeal there either. I would rather carry one boring bag around with all my favourite stuff and never have to swap to another one so it matches my outfit.
starbellied
02/04/2011, 09:09 AM
I am a shoe person... oh my goodness... if I find a pair I love, it literally makes my heart skip a beat
My husband thinks I am crazy, but wearing a great pair of shoes can make me feel a million times better...
CallMeAl
02/04/2011, 09:14 AM
I don't get them either. I tell DH how lucky he is as it saves him a lot of money

QUOTE (LittleRats @ 02/04/2011, 10:08 AM)

Oh and I feel the same about handbags, cant see the appeal there either. I would rather carry one boring bag around with all my favourite stuff and never have to swap to another one so it matches my outfit.
Oh this too! And better still if it's a backpack so my hands are free
Shauna+Molly+Annie
02/04/2011, 09:14 AM
I actually love boots. I love a nice fiitted knee hi boot with a chunky heel that gives me height without making me nearly keel over or walk like a crab.
loath heels/stilletos and the like. The pain they induce and the instability they cause just make me wonder why why why???
I do think shoes are very pretty and and I do often admire them but I simply can not wear them with any real success.
I am such a short a*se so it really annoys that I can not confidently strut in a pair of heels.
StudyMuffin
02/04/2011, 09:19 AM
I despise shoe shopping but thats mainly because of my size 11 feet and the fact that at 6'3 I can't wear heels without looking gianormous ..... so shoes and me are not friends!
senecio
02/04/2011, 09:21 AM
QUOTE (countrymel @ 02/04/2011, 09:54 AM)

I will admire a lovely pair of shoes on another woman, as I know it will make her happy.
But as someone with really small, really wide feet (think Hobbit sans hair) I have never, ever been able to own them or wear them myself.
SO any shoe lust or uncontrollable spending urges have been pushed so far down in my brain that I truly don't have them anymore.
I think we're twins Countrymel. My foot width:length ratio is approx 1:1 and I've always called them hobbit feet. But my toes, sadly, do have hair.

I think I too have suppressed any shoe-lust I might have developed for this reason. The chubby sausages that dangle from the ends of my legs look just ridiculous bulging out of strappy sandals.
Maple Leaf
02/04/2011, 09:21 AM
I hate shoe shopping almost as much as bathing suit shopping.
Tildababy
02/04/2011, 09:27 AM
I am not a 'shoe' or 'handbag' or 'purse' person. No idea if it relates to having grown up with 2 older brothers...or me wanting to save my money for more practical things (back in the early days it was a car and an overseas trip). I have one handbag for everyday use and a little black clutch thing for special occassions. My purse is now 16 years old and I recently bought a new one as the older one is starting to show signs of wear and tear. BUT I have not been able to retire the old one yet....just bought the new one so it is on hand when the old one is kaput! I also live rurally so my biggest shoe purchase was some RM Williams boots. I would never spend that kind of money on heels! I grew up not having much and went through a phase where I could have a few nice things...but it doesn't take much to make me happy so for me win win!
~Mo+Moosh~
02/04/2011, 09:27 AM
I love shoes! They make me feel good. They are an easy way to make a fashion statement especially when fashion trends are not very flattering to my body shape or size.
My love is not limited to pretty shoes either I also have a thing for runners.
Although since having children I don't buy as many and I have a love of ballet flats that I never had before
Alpha_Chook
02/04/2011, 09:39 AM
I don't "get" shoes either. To me they stop bare feet from walking on bare ground!!
Bella86
02/04/2011, 09:40 AM
QUOTE (niggles @ 02/04/2011, 09:58 AM)

I like shoes. Unlike clothes they always fit.

But I don't do novelty shoes. Even the shoes I wore to my wedding I've worn again.
Agree with this, Clothes shopping I HATE with a passion nothing ever fits right or looks good, but shoes.... they always fit and always look awsome my body changes all the time but my feet stay the same....
I have LOTS of shoes I even go crazy with shoes for DD but Im not a handbag person, They dont give me the same feeling
I notice EVERYONES shoes..
countrymel
02/04/2011, 10:16 AM
QUOTE (Tildababy @ 02/04/2011, 10:27 AM)

I also live rurally so my biggest shoe purchase was some RM Williams boots.
DP recently bought some new ones - I had had a small whine to my friend about the cost 'in secret' I thought!
SHe and her DH had come around to our house and she admired DP's new boots (they are a beautiful thing you have to admit) her husband then said "What did they set you back mate?" on DP's reply he spluttered and said "Strewth! For that price I'd be expecting them to walk FOR me!"
belindarama
02/04/2011, 10:24 AM
Shoes and handbags don't always go together. I quite like shoes but tend to wear the same couple of pairs all the time. I am not crazy for shoes. I prefer clothes over shoes if that makes sense at all!
I LOVE handbags. I really really love handbags. Now that i have kids I have a day handbag that I use most days but I get a really good one at the start of each new season and I research for ages first.
My sister has a shoe addiction. She has hundreds of pairs. Seriously, hundreds! All heels. I have not seen her in flats for at least 10 years. She wears running shoes to run in and that is the extent of it. She uses the same handbag all the time though.
So same genes expressing as handbags in me and shoes in her!
HappyWomble
02/04/2011, 10:34 AM
I don't get shoes, handbags, fashion, owning things for the sake of it, make up, keeping up with people, having more than I need. It bugs my DH sometimes because he believes in "presents". I'm slowly turning him to "experiences". I prefer to make than buy. I love hand me downs and care packages.
*~Luvmy2~*
02/04/2011, 10:43 AM
Im not obsessed with shoes but i am picky, like i am with any item of clothing i buy.... I have under 10 pairs, 1 pair of boots but i would like some new ones, 1 pair of skate shoes, 2 pairs of thongs and 3 pairs of heels.
Honeymummy
02/04/2011, 10:43 AM
I dont 'get' them and actually resent having to spend money on them.
howdo
02/04/2011, 10:45 AM
LOVE SHOES - also have Harry Potter obsession and fascination for AFL - they are definitely not all on the same genetic string

I don't get the handbag thing though. I hate the stupid things and don't get why women need so many!
ossim roflcopter
02/04/2011, 10:47 AM
Shoes are part of the package. They don't have to be designer, or expensive (although cheap shoes do usually look cheap, it's hard to get around that), But they are part of the whole outfit. I think people who don't get shoes probably have trouble styling outfits to make a 'look'. And they CAN make you feel sexy, feminine, and make your legs look fantastic.
Most sneakers and backpacks are just ugly. They should be left to school kids or hip hop dancers.
But I have the 'getting' the LOTR gene as well as the fashion and makeup gene.
red door
02/04/2011, 10:47 AM
QUOTE (twolittlemonkeys @ 02/04/2011, 09:39 AM)

Hi guys,
I just saw another thread when the OP had posted a pic of a pair of boots she was keen on. Subsequent posters also admired the boots, and it left me wondering...
Why don't shoes excite me? Sometimes I feel like I am the only woman who doesn't really care about shoes. I mean, I like them, but only if they are comfortable... I don't get the obsession with shoes. I own a pair of good runners (love them), some ballet flats (cheapies from Big W) and a few sandally type shoes. I wouldn't rush out and buy a pair of boots, particularly with heels.
Can someone explain what the rush is with shoes? BTW I'm not really distressed or anything about it, I'm just trying to understand it!! While we're at it, I don't *get* Harry Potter obsession, or AFL or Lord of the Rings... Is it all on the same genetic thread?
I don't really get shoes either. only once did I have that sort of "ohh ahhh" reaction and that wa sto my wedding shoes.
Other then that, I own 1 pair of ballet flats, very basic from cotton on (I will not pay more then $20 for shoes) and flip flops.
I think I went through a show stage when I was 16. I used to wear heels and funky platforms.
I spent most of my childhood barefoot...maybe that is why.
fairylite
02/04/2011, 10:53 AM
I love shoes! Have since I was a kid and used to play with my mums red stilettos. I have at least 75-80 pairs. Don't get HP or lord of the rings though.
NoNoBoo
02/04/2011, 10:54 AM
I LOVE shoes! For me, I think it's to do with being overweight and not always being able to find clothes I like. I can always find shoes that fit.
chocmudcake
02/04/2011, 11:03 AM
QUOTE (Loveoneson @ 02/04/2011, 09:50 AM)

Nope.....I don't get them.

Then again....I don't get fashion in general hahahaha!
QUOTE (jewels1970 @ 02/04/2011, 11:34 AM)

I don't get shoes, handbags, fashion, owning things for the sake of it, make up, keeping up with people, having more than I need.
Me too

I hate everything to do with fashion. I especially hate perfume, it stinks and it is the worst when you walk past someone shopping who smells like they fell into a barrel of perfume and it reeks
**Xena**
02/04/2011, 11:04 AM
I love shoes- specifically boots

I don't know why I just do!
However most of the time I get around in sneakers or bare feet but I still love looking at shoes. Maybe because they can really make an outfit.
Mostly though I like quirky clothes and shoes. Stuff that isn't mainstream so it's hard for me to get where I live.
Z-girls rock
02/04/2011, 11:13 AM
QUOTE (Honeymummy @ 02/04/2011, 11:43 AM)

plus one.
and dont think it is because I am a dag in runners all the time.
I dont mind looking good. I have about 70 handbags (mostly 'ethnic' ones bought overseas).
but shoes are such as dissapointment. I hate buying them - it is a bit like bras.
they are often not comfortable for long - give you blisters. dont last in all weather.
So I just get new ones when the old ones die. when I absolutly have too. hate them
Buggylicious
02/04/2011, 11:18 AM
QUOTE (countrymel @ 02/04/2011, 09:24 AM)

This is me wide, short, flat ugly feet. My DS has perfect feet though, long and narrow... he has a lot of shoes lol.
Banana Pancakes
02/04/2011, 11:27 AM
Me to. I wear size 10 or 11 and have fallen arches so all the shoes I buy are really expensive and usually pretty ugly!
When did shoes get so expensive? I can buy cheapies from big w but can only wear them for a couple of hours before my feet ache.
cinnabubble
02/04/2011, 11:28 AM
I have three pairs of shoes: work, not-work, gym. All black.
I have one handbag. Also black.
Good accessories aren't going to make me look good. You can roll a turd in glitter, but it's still a turd.
Forward to 30
02/04/2011, 11:40 AM
I hate shoes, and shoe shopping is one of my nightmares. I have tiny deformed feet.
Thankfully I don't look for shoes anymore, I just buy the same brand, same style year after year and have done for about 5 years.
When I actually tried finding nice shoes, I would regularly end up in tears at the experience and once even threw a show whilst in the shoe shop

. In my defense, I had found a girly shoe that fit perfectly and I could walk in, when I asked the staff for the other to try she told me they only had one (ie a left foot).
This was after 4 hours of shoe shopping and I needed something dressy for a corporate function.
Bel
cremebrulee
02/04/2011, 11:45 AM
QUOTE (cinnabubble @ 02/04/2011, 12:28 PM)

Good accessories aren't going to make me look good. You can roll a turd in glitter, but it's still a turd.
Oh cinnabubble, you made me laugh out loud

. Thats a really good saying, might have to use that one in the future.
Yeah I'm the same. No shoe fetish here. Comfort all the way, live in runners or Birkis. Plus I can't walk in heels, just asking to fall flat on my face.
kim27
02/04/2011, 11:47 AM
I actually do notice nice shoes when others are wearing them but I'm not a shoe person when it comes to my own feet. Shoe shopping is disheartning because whenever I find a pair I like they're always about twice what I can afford. Also, the height of some of the heels around at the moment is just ridiculous.
My other issue is that I'm tough on shoes, especially work shoes. For some reason it annoys me that I spend good money on shoes and then have to pay again to get the heels fixed.
humphreymum
02/04/2011, 11:49 AM
Don't "get" them either. I have a few pairs, that's it. If I could live in thongs I would.
Each to their own though, people don't get a lot of my "addictions" either.
rockyroads
02/04/2011, 11:56 AM
I'm not in to shoes either. I have one pair of joggers, a couple of pairs of thongs and a pair of nice sandals.
I'm also not interested in the other things you mentioned in your OP.
PurpleNess
02/04/2011, 11:57 AM
Nope don't get the whole shoe obsession thing either..or fashion for that matter. I'm far more practical and like to wear comfortable clothes that actually fit me!!
I'm happy in my thongs or bare feet
BadCat
02/04/2011, 12:06 PM
I really don't get shoes. I really don't get shoes that are oddly shaped and high heeled and uncomfortable. Pointy toes make me cringe.
Because I have to wear shoes sometimes I have runners, one pair of decent flats, and one pair of slip on summer shoes.
I don't get handbags either. I haven't carried a handbag in, oh, probably 13 years. Can't stand them.
Fashion is my enemy. *shudders at thought of dressing fashionably*
*Pebs*
02/04/2011, 02:02 PM
I am a shoe girl and a handbag but not a lotr or harry fan!
I love shoes, I love how different shoes make an outifit. I like to carry a different handbag, depending in what I am doing and where I am going.
Having said that.. I do spend a lot of time in my Haviana thongs!