31/03/2011, 10:02 AM
Silver!!!!
My first too!!! yayyyyy
~moo~
31/03/2011, 10:07 AM
bronze
*~*mummy*mel*~*
31/03/2011, 10:23 AM
Damn now i cant scroll back and see who said what.
Drinking,DF only ever has 1-2 while watching the footy so not a concern here,he only drinks big when we go out for birthdays and theres none coming up.I'd be quite strict and say if you go out drinking again i simply wont call you and ill have bubs on my own.Priorities need to change.
Meg i want to be out of /not yet in hospital at the end of next week for the kids easter hat parade which reminds me we better get those hats made just incase.They also have a disco next week which they would hate to miss because mums in labour lol
About to walk up the school for DD's cross country try outs,wish me luck my waters dont break or anything haha
PinkSocks
31/03/2011, 11:29 AM
Drinking - DF doesnt drink much thank god, although he did last pregnancy but not this time around (he works in a brewery so I think his over beer!)
Looks like im having an April baby! Bummer lol.
Such an emotional day today, woke up all sooky and took DD to Daycare, as soon as we pulled up she said 'NO!' then I took her in and she lost it with the bottom lip and everything, followed me around, I tried to get her to play with the kids but she wouldnt, I said goodbye and walked away, she lost it screaming MUMMY HOME so that made me burst into tears and pick her up and bring her home. I know she got her own way but I dont see the point in making her that upset, plus I cant leave her whilst shes crying it would play on my mind all day! I got home needing reassurance from DF because we still pay even though shes not there and he said he would have brought her home aswell so that made me feel better. Cant wait for these hormones to p*ss off!
SmylieK
31/03/2011, 12:20 PM
OMG new thread already! So much action now that babies are showing up
Promise will be back later but as for now, need a little lay down.
Oh and my little monkey hasnt moved too much today. Resting up for an entrance maybe? HAHA wishful thinking me thinks

2+6=Crazy House
31/03/2011, 12:27 PM
QUOTE (*~*mummy*mel*~* @ 31/03/2011, 08:23 AM)

Meg i want to be out of /not yet in hospital at the end of next week for the kids easter hat parade which reminds me we better get those hats made just incase.They also have a disco next week which they would hate to miss because mums in labour lol
About to walk up the school for DD's cross country try outs,wish me luck my waters dont break or anything haha
Haha we done our hates "JUST INCASE" already. And we have our disco tonight so they are glad made it that far
Good luck on the walk. Do you have to walk far??
Spoke to M's teacher about camp and as she is a woman and the other teacher is too but has adult children. Tehy have agreed to Let M have a phone on camp as long as the principle don't know. This has made me slightly happy but still don't want to have bub while she is away. As camp is in Perth(2hrs away) they are willing to let my BFF who lives in Perth take her from camp if anything happens.
So now i have to make sure it happens Sunday only or wait another week.
PS Hope it still happens within the next week for you. I feel your anxiety for you. And as my friends say things will happen and will work out ok in the end.
2+6=Crazy House
31/03/2011, 12:37 PM
QUOTE (SmylieK @ 31/03/2011, 10:20 AM)

Oh and my little monkey hasnt moved too much today. Resting up for an entrance maybe? HAHA wishful thinking me thinks

Kylie I say that all the time. O not much movement maybe today's the day or tomorrow. Then the terd does nothing but move all night.
mammaofone
31/03/2011, 12:40 PM
CONGRATULATIONS PHEONIX ON THE ARRIVAL OF YOUR PRECIOUS BABY GIRL!
How exciting...and its not even April yet!! I can tell you all ill definately still be here for another few weeks.
No signs what so ever & i think bub seems too comfortable in there.
DS birthday is next Friday so anytime after that is fine with me.
Can't believe that we are at the end now...keep em coming i say!
elliebellie
31/03/2011, 02:40 PM
Hi ladies!
Wow we are moving quickly!!
Sooo happy for Pheonix can't wait to see some piccies!!
PS, you poor thing. Kids can wrap u around their little finger hey!! I was a little bugger when I was a kid - Mum said that she used to drop me off at kindy and I would cry and cry and she would walk back to the car feeling the worst mother in the world but as soon as she left the kindy teachers used to tell her I would turn the waterworks off straight away and have a great time playing with the other kids
Kylie, you might be next!! We need another baby or two over the weekend,ok??
Meg, the school sounds a bit strict but sounds like you have a good plan in place! Let's hope bub comes early or holds off for another week.
Mel how did you go with all that walking yesterday ?? Hope the storms have abated.
Re drinking: dh usually has 1/4 glass wine to 3/4 soda water at night. He is well aware that he could be on driving duties at any tick of the clock. A couple of weeks ago we went out to dinner at a friend's and he had too much and the hangoverthe next day taught him a lesson
Exactly one week to go for me. Feeling like one more week should just about do it. Feeling quite large and uncomfortable now but still not quite ready to pop just yet! Thinking of booking dinner at a nice restaurant for dh and I saturday night as it will probably be the last time for ages before we'll get the chance.
Time for a nap now I think!
*~*mummy*mel*~*
31/03/2011, 03:01 PM
I'm fine thaqnks for asking girls,no major pains while walking.Looks like my prediction was wrong and bubs wont be here today.....altho theres still 8 hours to go lol
Just letting you girls know i had no signs at all with both DS's that labour would start so dont count yourselves out if your not having anything happen it may still happen out of the blue.
Semillion
31/03/2011, 03:01 PM
Afternoon all
Big Congratulations to all on the birth of their babies. It is all starting to happen rapidly it seems. Hope everyone else has straight forward births. [thinking of you and the twins especially Ellie].
AFM: well landed in US a few hours ago, and as soon as I stepped out of the terminal, the nerves really kicked in massively. Even moreso since reading the last couple of days' posts on here. Twins are staying put at the moment. So glad I was able to get to the Grand Prix (lol). Hard to resist buying some Ferrari overalls for the boys (the price is what stopped me).
Seeing OB on Friday and in my vast medical knowledge (meaning I know how to put a band-aid on, but that's it), I expect that he will stop the ant-contraction medication and then labour should come on a few days later, so expect early next week for my boys to meet me and the world. I am hoping for April 3.
Now I am in US,all this waiting around is going to stress me out, and when it all happens watch out, I think you will all hear me from there!
Keep well everyone.
GypsyK
31/03/2011, 03:15 PM
Ah boys and their drinking. Even though DH knows it is time to slow down, he is easily influenced by his mates so I don't really trust him to stick to ony a couple! I will have to keep a bit of an eye on him and give him the biggest guilt trip if he gets too smashed. He keeps saying that life will chance after the baby is born so he has definitely been up for a few good drinking sessions with his mates the past few months

KiwiInMelb
31/03/2011, 03:28 PM
re drinking - DP doesn't really drink - usually only when's he up at the snow so don't have that issue but would be pretty annoyed with him if he didn't reign it in a bit - us girls have had to go without lots for months now - so him giving up for a few weeks in nothing in comparison. Would be a pretty funny video to watch though of you in labour and going to the hosp with two drunk men and the bosses wife (well funny from the outside looking in anyway!).
Em - I was fully freaking out yesterday when I got my eviction date as I didn't quite expect it to be that soon but looking at things today and realising I'm as prepared as I could be I've calmed down about it a lot. when my OB said the date the first thing that came out of my mouth was "I don't think I have time to have a baby this weekend - I need to check my diary and make sure I don't have any plans"! She just raised an eyebrow but hopefully she could see I was in shock!
Semmillion - good luck with everything over there - hope you're holding your boys soon.
*~*mummy*mel*~*
31/03/2011, 03:34 PM
Good to hear from you sem,have you seen the baby mumma yet? i bet it will be surreal to see your boys in the belly for the first time nad hopefully she will let you have a feel of them moving about.
elliebellie
31/03/2011, 04:37 PM
Ooooooo Sem great to hear from you!! Can't wait for the next update. Do you have your mum o sister or nanny accompanying you?? You should have got the ferrarri overalls!! Soooo cute!!
engineerk
31/03/2011, 05:11 PM
I'm so glad that SEM got to the US and will get to see his babies being born.
I had a nanna nap this afternoon. I think the walk with the dog this morning really took it out of me. 30degrees and 85% humidity and now it is absolutely pouring down. Will north qld ever dry out? presently have a lake in the backyard.
amberkali
31/03/2011, 06:06 PM
BBB - my DH would not be in my good books if he was drunk at the time I needed to go to the hospital to have the baby
amberkali
31/03/2011, 06:14 PM
Sem - so good to hear you are in the states and that the twins will be on the way soon.
Keep us posted
My massage today was fab! Ruined it though by following it up with 2.5hrs on my feet at the mall.
But at least I have bought a few more things now from my checklist.
PinkSocks
31/03/2011, 06:24 PM
Sem - glad you made it to the US in time
Amber - You just reminded me I have a massage booked for Saturday!

I completely forgot!!!
Engineerk - Wish it would rain here, its so bloody hot!
Ellie - I know that she does stop crying because Ill leave her then go sign her in then creep back and check on her and by the time I creep back to check on her she is fine but there was something about her huge tear filled eyes today that made me think 'why am I putting you threw this?!'
Cant see back any further. Will update on FB about appointment today
2+6=Crazy House
31/03/2011, 06:28 PM
So glad to hear from you Sem. Hopefully next tiem we hear from you you are a dad of 2 boys.
DH and I don't drink alcohol. so we don't have that pub problem. However local footy umpiring takes over now so that is the strain on me. I feel liek a single mum during the season as he is out all day sundays.
Heard from Phoenix again. Or maybe I am stalking/annoying her. LOL Anyway I hope she will update you all soon I thought she might have been on quickly.
Chlotoe
01/04/2011, 06:46 AM
Sem - So good to hear from you. Glad you made it to the states. Not long to go now until the boys will be here. I can't wait to see a photo of them. Make to keep and touch. HHope everything goes well.
Lil_red_fire_head
01/04/2011, 07:40 AM
Sem- hope you enjoyed the trip there.....it will be a whole lot different comming back...lol
Ok....so is volunteering to have the first april bub???
KiwiInMelb
01/04/2011, 07:53 AM
Got a big day today..... it's my last day of work before mat leave

finish up work at 5pm, have a quick dinner then head to hospital at 6.30pm to be induced!
Please baby

don't come out until after midnight!
elliebellie
01/04/2011, 07:56 AM
Happy April everyone!! This month the rest of us get to meet our babies!!!!
Phoenix if u can read EB we can't wait tosee a photo ofJosie!!!
Off to the vet's this morning...one of out little pooches who was desexed last week now appears to have an infection at the wound site
BBL!!
xx Ellie
PS remember to beware of any April fools pranks!
Clank.R
01/04/2011, 08:21 AM
Have you girls seen this?
http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=883109Says that EB forums will close for 3 weeks from Sunday, but people are commenting that they think its an April Fools joke...
Hope so or we are going to miss a lot of birth announcements if they don't go on the FB group!!
amberkali
01/04/2011, 08:39 AM
OMG KiwiInMelb!
Big Day Today - What an understatement!
Good luck!
Ellie hope your little puppy is ok.
6 more days at work for me including today. So far not doing much work and can't see that changing!
DH is out all day Sunday so I will have the PC all to myself... I am going to compile my music for the labour. Fun! Gosh hope I actually want to listen to it at the time!
Tiken
01/04/2011, 08:57 AM
I havent posted for a little while.. Hi All
Congratulations to Phoenix!
My last day of work today, cant wait to finish & get some things done at home & rest a bit more. I might even have some more time now for EB...
Have a great day
EmBouz
01/04/2011, 10:25 AM
clank - that so better be an april fools thing!! otherwise theyll be closing the forum on our busiest 3 weeks!!!
kiwi - all the best for this evening hun! hope things go smoothly and that your lil bundle arrives safely. keep us posted!!
KiwiInMelb
01/04/2011, 11:24 AM
Clank - That msg has got to be an April fools joke - anyone trying to tell a whole lot of pregnant women they can't have so many emotions (emoticons) anymore is asking for trouble otherwise!
Hi Tiken - welcome back - hope your last day at work goes well.
elliebellie
01/04/2011, 12:19 PM
Kiwi - OMG girl you are a machine!! Good luck with your last day and the induction!! Can't wait to hear the news!!
Amber thank you for your kind words. Vet said the inflammation is common and nothing to worry about. Poor boy is looking a bit sorry for himself!
Clank, I suspected it was a prank. 3 weeks to do an upgrade?!?! Love the April Fools emoticons though
Tiken hope you enjoy your last day at work!
Ellie
*~*mummy*mel*~*
01/04/2011, 01:26 PM
Kiwi good luck with the induction i hope it all goes well.
I had a check up this morning and as reluctant as she was the midwife gave in and gave me an internal after i asked,i'm 1cm and not very thinned out and bubs head is 2-3/5 which she said is very normal for a 4th baby so it leaves me none the wiser wether his close or not because she said being my 4th i could still go at any minute.
She seemed to think doing the internal may start things and she said they dont like to do that because they prefer babies to come on their own,i just nthought well does that mean your going to ban me from sex lol because i think sex would do alot more than a gentle internal.
So yeah besides my fundal height only being 35cms (thats 3 weeks behind and its been what it should all along until now) bubs is fine and doing well,she thinks the fundal height may be because his heads right down,i have a scan on monday anyways.
amberkali
01/04/2011, 01:33 PM
Hi All
At the eleventh hour am thinking I need a different pram.
We have been handed down the phil and teds sports model but I live on the 3rd floor with no lift and no where to keep it downstairs.
The P&T weighs 11kg according to the specs.
I am keen to get something around 6-8kgs instead.
Has anyone here picked up a really light pram that they can recommend or done any research into them?
I am considering the Combi Urban Walker Prestige - 6.3kgs and does all the things I want it to. Anyone heard good or bad things about Combi?
Thanks!
Miss Iceberg
01/04/2011, 01:39 PM
I got a Bugaboo Bee, it is light and once folded you can carry it over your shoulder.
It's 7.7 kg but like I said, easy to carry.
Not sure what your price range is but this was just over $1200 including the newborn coccoon, the price was the only thing I didnt like about it!
Clank.R
01/04/2011, 02:19 PM
Hi All :)
Back from my midwife appt, all good, baby still lying in a good position, head well down. The midwife said "he could be born tomorrow with no problems in that position".
I was like.... "um, how about no! Not this weekend, we've got to paint our bedroom". haha
I'm sure I'm going to go over, I'm hoping a week over so it won't be the same weekend as my wedding anniversary. Or 1 week early, that would be OK too, just not sharing the weekend because mummy and daddy might want to go away rather than host birthday parties in future years!
Had my last pre-natal class last night, which was really good. Talked about PND (I'm a little nervous about this myself) and settling, baby cues etc.
Starting to freak out that its all happening so soon, and after being really calm about the labour for the whole pregnancy I'm starting to freak out about how much its going to hurt! Eeeeek
The one thing I'm
really worried about though is I think I'm going to be too possessive, as in not wanting other people to hold the baby..... which of course won't go down well with our parents, but I can't shake the feeling that once he or she is out I'm not going to want anyone else holding him/her...... Totally irrational and ridiculous.... any of you with kids already care to alleviate my fears?
tiken- hope you last day has gone/is going well!
amberkali - what kind of music are you going for? I've been meaning to compile a playlist myself but can't work out what kind of stuff to go for...
april fools day- so they've now admitted on that thread that it was a hoax.... had me worried for a bit! I had to laugh at the person asking if the new smilies were "little sperms" hahaha
Can't believe its April!
PinkSocks
01/04/2011, 02:50 PM
Clank - I was the same with DD and ill be the same with this one. Very over protective, especially if people just pressume they can hold my baby it drives me nuts! I dont know what it is but I just hate the thought of someone holding my baby if I dont want them to! There are a few people who I have avoided because I dont want them to hold bubs. I remember SIL came over (We have a very rocky relationship) when DD was about a week old and she wanted to hold her, thank god DD was asleep and stayed asleep the whole three hours SIL was there, sounds so bad written out like this but some people think just cause its a newborn they have the right to hold and touch it! I think cause its been in me for 10months I freak out abit when its born like I cant protect it as good anymore. Sorry no advice for ya but thought id pass on that im exactly the same!
Kiwi - Good luck for tonight! Working right up till the last minute superwoman!
Amber - I have a strider and its heavy so wouldnt reccomend that. Not sure what else is out there as Ive been in love with striders ever since DD was born!
Mel - I often wonder why they are reluctant to do internals as well because in my experiance sex is definately more harsh then a little internal!
Ellie - Hope your pup heals quickly, sounds painfull!
Tiken - Are you on FB? We have a group on there and its alot more active then EB. Might be easier for you.
elliebellie
01/04/2011, 03:58 PM
Hi ladies
Clank- yeah I get the over protectiveness. I will most likely be the same. It's like as PS said we have nurtured our babies for the last 9 months and now we have to protect them from the world!!
Do they ever do internals if youre having a c section? I havent had any sort of examination like that the whole pregnancy and just wondered if I would be in for one when I see the ob for my last appointment on tuesday. Hope I get to avoid it.
Mel does 1cm mean things are happening already?? Do you have to rest if you have started to dilate now?
Ellie
Natske82
01/04/2011, 04:35 PM
Hi Ladies and Semillon,
COMBI PRAM - I had a look at the combi pram - it is nice and light and you being 3 floors up - i think that is the priority - i think it was around $400-$500?? It folds right back for newborn - which is good, and the shade cover folds right out !! The only thing i didnt like was the colours. so i went with a peg perego - uno. I have seen heaps of combi's at the local shopping centre though and mums look happy pushing it!! :)
TMI Warning - I went for check up after last post cause of excessive discharge, it was a watery lightish brown consistency, they did a test and it came back negative for membranes.
The midwife took a swab - it hurt like hell!! But next morning a little bit of pink blood came out - i dont know if this was from the swab.
Saw ob the next day who said lots of discharge is very common, and he doesnt think blood would be from the swab. Ob booked induction date for 27th if bubba doesnt come sooner.
It quite daunting but exciting to think in less than a month i will be holding a little baby in my arms finally!!
I wish you all a lovely weekend and will be back later to check on any baby news!!!!
:)
KiwiInMelb
01/04/2011, 05:28 PM
Last day at work finished - check
Dinner eaten - Check
Now time to go to hospital!
Thanks for all your well wishes girls! I didn't think I'd be having my last day at work on the same day as this birth as I thought I'd have a few weeks to go yet but what will be will be. Hope to update you all with news of my new arrival tomorrow.
PS - I used to be part of the FB group but seem to have lost access to it. How do I get back on it again?
engineerk
01/04/2011, 05:48 PM
The Phil and Teds Smart is 7.7kgs, and is very compact. Plus, they are a NZ owned company and are donating part of their profits to the Christchurch earthquake appeal.
I looked at 2 child care centres today, and have 2 more next week. It's exciting but daunting how long the lists are. I guess they are the best ones in town, so I ought to expect that.
Off to PIL's house for dinner, shopping for a new camera tomorrow, and then a Hen's Night dinner on Sat night, with assembly for a friend's wedding invitations on Sunday.
Good luck with the induction KiwiInMelb.
Here's sending some birthing dust everyone's way!
2+6=Crazy House
01/04/2011, 06:50 PM
Good Luck Kiwi hope all goes well and you get your bub for the 2nd like you wished.
Mel MW told me today that the fundal height reduces once you hit 36-37wks. Cause if bubu drops the uterus does too.
MW check up today. I could have been granted the wish before DD goes on camp. Waiting for DH to get home in another 1hr 10 mins. Then off for an hour test. Been walking around house but needed to pee again so got on here again. Wrote more on FB but am off for another walk. I'm 4/5 engaged and she said that was weird for someone who has had several babies
*~*mummy*mel*~*
01/04/2011, 06:55 PM
Ellie its normal to be 1cm at this stage,i was 1cm with my first at 38 weeks and i ended up having her at 40+1 but yeah being my 4th they dont expect my bits down there to be as strong as they use to be lol and no i dont have to rest because im 38 weeks tomorrow and bubs is a good size so his fine to come anytime.
EmBouz
01/04/2011, 07:18 PM
kiwi - so excited for you!! can wait to hear how it goes!!
clank - glad your appt went well. im a first-time mum and yeah have def wondered how things will go with ppl wanting to hold the baby lots. my main issue is in the first few weeks when i really want just time for he and DH and I to bond. ive heard its not good for them to be held by lots of different ppl in those early stages. im gonna follow the lead of a few of my friends from church, who kept their babies in the pram when they came to church. otherwise thered be literally dozens of ppl hovering around wanting a cuddle.
AFM - DH and I are going on our 'babymoon' this weekend. we're staying in a hotel in Mandurah, bout an hr south of Perth. Its our last chance to have a romantic getaway before our lives change forever!!! cant wait to get down there and just veg out!
hope you all have a wonderful weekend!
Em xx
Clank.R
01/04/2011, 08:51 PM
ellie - I've never had an internal, and they try not to do many of them during labour where I am going
elliebellie
01/04/2011, 09:25 PM
Thanks Clank - I hope to avoid at all costs and donT know why i'd need one if I'm having a scheduled cs.
Em you lucky girl a baby moon is a great idea!! The closest DH will get to a babymoon is sinner tomorrow night at a nice restaurant. We just left it too late.
Hopefully you will get to welcome your new bndle this week Mel!! I think it's going to be a busy week for our group.
Kiwi - good luck!! Can't wait to hear the news!!
Bed time for me I'm afraid. Getting a new gas hot water system in tomorrow and the guy is meant to be getting here at 6.30am

!!
xx Ellie
PinkSocks
01/04/2011, 10:01 PM
Kiwi - You will probably be pushing by now lol but I have added you to the group. Not sure what happened there!
SmylieK
02/04/2011, 06:51 AM
Just lurking for
Kiwi news
So friggin tired. I am absolutely NOT sleeping at all. If I do sleep it is for less than an hour before I need to get up and tinkle. I need sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is all!
2+6=Crazy House
02/04/2011, 07:09 AM
QUOTE (SmylieK @ 02/04/2011, 04:51 AM)

Just lurking for
Kiwi news
So friggin tired. I am absolutely NOT sleeping at all. If I do sleep it is for less than an hour before I need to get up and tinkle. I need sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is all!
Oh Me too!! Kylie.
Am devastated all that hard work turned out to fizzle away. SO life goes on and will be doing the normal Saturday stuff for me.
Hope everyone has a better weekend.
Lil_red_fire_head
02/04/2011, 07:58 AM
just snooping........for baby news.
8 days till my concert!! I wonder if i will make it :)