The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Due 1st - 15th May, 11 #19

Essential Baby > Pregnancy > What Month are You Due?
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
~A2~

Small Potatoes
Gold - husband is home YAY he only went away for 5 days ohmy.gif
lil3
silver yay!!!
lil3
Hello hello,

Now that soccer has started i haven't got time to anything. With my son playing and my huisband playing and coaching and myself managing my sons team and coaching the 2nd ladies and my daughter doing girl guides and doing all of the household jobs and a 1 yeAR old toddler may days are gone before they even start.

Not much else has been happening, except went for a slip at the shopping centre, grazed my knee and hurt my foot but bub is moving a lot still so i didn't go to the hospital.. Not one person helped me (its bullsh*t) yet i always help other people but when i need it no one is there. i just thank god that i wasn't eating at the time otherwise i would of been very upset with that love my food at the moment laugh.gif .

I am slowly getting everything together, just got myself a tandem pram and now i just to get more baby seats for taliah so the new bub can have hers lol

I have been reading post when i can, and the one that i can really relate to is moods, mine have been shocking latley, so moody and uptight the littlest thing annoys me.

Well better shoo off and go and fold the washing and vacum and will tlak later bye
lil
Divine MsM
I'm working far too hard today. My brain is about to burn out and I'm running out of those pesky 'last minute' things to do.

On a high note, I got lots of itti bitti clothes washed on the weekend. Hung up about half a basket before my sciatica got too painful and had to leave it to DH. Little '000' clothes are so tiny. Found some essential pieces which was good. still hunting for another outfit though.

Looking SO forward to not rushing around next week. School pick up and drop off will be it - and DS will be at daycare.

Mands - got a question. Either of your boys still wanting to be 'babied'. DS - who will be 3 in July - still loves to cuddle and nuzzle in to my chest esp. this morning and I'm thinking "you're so in trouble because this just won't happen soon esp. when I'm nursing."

Parent-teacher interviews this arvo. Only thing I ever worry about is DDs social integration - not that I've ever had to worry as it is more her strength. not worried she's not academically gifted. Would rather she be happy.

Anyway, hope everyone else is doing well as we all start our mat leave. ohmy.gif
runnybabbit
Pelvic pain is really starting to get me down, and I feel full and bloated all the time. Went to Myer yesterday since they had $20 off for every $75 spent, got fitted for a couple of nursing bras and I am officially a C cup. This is big for me as a chronically underboobed woman. I do miss my old boobs already, though. My boobs now rest on my belly, which rests on my lap when I sit down. wink.gif

Another four weeks of work. I was mad to think I'd be happy working up to 37 weeks!

Minimouse27

runnybabbit- I hear you with the pelvic pain. !! That's a great deal with Myer. I went to Target on my lunch break and bought those enormously sexy high waisted grannie undies in the 5 pack for post-birth. 5 for $13! What a bargain.

Divine MsM- it's a good feeling washing all the itty bitty clothes isn't it? I had lots of fun doing that. I've kind of got everything ready for the hospital bag but it isn't in a suitcase yet- on the to do list for this weekend. Slowly feeling organised...

mands3- good to hear DH is home original.gif

Not much to report- I started noticing today some 'scratching' (not quite the right word, but it feels like scratching/shooting pain) down there- feels like baby is putting pressure or something on my pelvic floor. Can only assume it is dropping? it doesn't feel like I have a watermelon between my legs yet (which is how others have described it) but I do need to pee frequently. Plus I'm getting some mild cramping (kind of like period pain)....not constant at all...I hope baby stays put for at least another 2 weeks. I finish work on Thursday and am technically 36 weeks on Wednesday (going by all my ultrasounds) so who knows...? The surprise element is kind of exciting!!!

Take care all!!!!!!!!! :-)
E_BB
QUOTE (ninack @ 28/03/2011, 01:20 PM) *
Not much to report- I started noticing today some 'scratching' (not quite the right word, but it feels like scratching/shooting pain) down there- feels like baby is putting pressure or something on my pelvic floor. Can only assume it is dropping? it doesn't feel like I have a watermelon between my legs yet (which is how others have described it) but I do need to pee frequently. Plus I'm getting some mild cramping (kind of like period pain)....not constant at all...I hope baby stays put for at least another 2 weeks.

I am certainly feeling some sharp pain that is definitely caused by baby movements around the cervix/bladder (baby is head down). It is quite bad if baby doesn't like the position I'm sitting in but worse when he/she is stretching out!
Sometimes it's also scary how it feels like baby is on the way out - watermelon between the legs? worst after sitting/toilet etc.

wonder what the engagement/dropping will feel like if not this! (I'm 35wks exactly)
carriesshoes
Just a heads up for all the first time mums (and those of us that need some new stuff), I was at Target today, and not only do they have 20% off all kids/babys clothes, but I scored an infant head support which you need particularly in car capsules etc when bubs in small for only $4.xx. The pink, white and blue still scan at $20. but for some reason the yellow one is scanning really cheap original.gif
prophetsong
Hello All,

My fifth last week at work (provided I do not go into labour early).

Had my baby shower yesterday and it was lovely.

My friend organised the most awesome surprise for me.

Jay Laga'aia is a friend of hers and she arranged for him to come to the shower and give me some flowers. I was embarrassed and thrilled all at the same time

talk about awesome!

I hope you are all well!

runnybabbit
Wow, this talk of a watermelon in between your legs is a bit freaky, is that how it feels when the baby engages? I feel twinges on my bladder sometimes, and it is uncomfortable. I used to get a LOT of UTIs (up to once a month, pretty much) so I'm hyper-aware of any bladder sensations at all, have been really vigilant and lucky not to get any UTIs while pregnant. But anyway, sometimes it feels almost like a cystitis/UTI discomfort, but it doesn't linger. Baby is cephalic, too, so maybe just practising head butting or punching?

Since peeing myself when I sneezed I do make it a point to pee whenever I feel like I have to, rather than putting it off and holding it for another hour or so. So I am peeing more frequently, and when I tried sleeping in on Sunday it was limited by my bladder capacity (or lack thereof).

On the note of baby bargains -- went by Target today and they have 25% off baby manchester, 20% off Fisher Price and Tommee Tippee toys. Not sure if it is just Perth/WA or even just this particular Target, but it was the Stockland Bullcreek one if anyone is in that area and wants to buy some rattles and toys or dummies and stuff.

Tigster
runnybabbit - don't you hate it when your "sleep in" is interrupted by a full bladder. This has been happening to me for a while.

Abstarini - Sounds like your baby shower was great.

ninack - I'm also getting occasional period like cramps. Didn't get any while pregnant with DS so its a new experience for me.

I did my grocery shopping yesterday and threw in a few things for the hospital bag. Things like maternity pads and breast pads.
Ainslie201
Hi All

Have been lurking for a while - so much last minute work to be done! Only 11 working days to go and I'm having some trouble letting go. I know they'll all be just fine without me, and yet... Turns out I'm a control freak after all wink.gif

Also my little sis is getting married on Saturday (I'm the bridesmaid who'll make her look like a really slim bride!), and then we have our first houseguests come to stay. So, consequently lots of wedding prep and house cleaning to happen - plus we still haven't really finished unpacking! Why is it everything always seems to happen at the same time?
As long as bub chooses to wait till work and wedding and family are done then I'll be happy original.gif

Feeling you all with the increased pelvic pain - and also feeling bub must be having a growth spurt as s/he constantly seems to have her foot caught up under my ribs lately!

35 weeks today and counting down rolleyes.gif
E_BB
QUOTE (runnybabbit @ 28/03/2011, 09:50 PM) *
Wow, this talk of a watermelon in between your legs is a bit freaky, is that how it feels when the baby engages? I feel twinges on my bladder sometimes, and it is uncomfortable. I used to get a LOT of UTIs (up to once a month, pretty much) so I'm hyper-aware of any bladder sensations at all, have been really vigilant and lucky not to get any UTIs while pregnant. But anyway, sometimes it feels almost like a cystitis/UTI discomfort, but it doesn't linger. Baby is cephalic, too, so maybe just practising head butting or punching?.

That's how my sensations started - I thought UTI but pretty certain that's not it. It happens after my BH when baby starts to squirm a little extra.

AFM - called the hospital last night as I had felt 'decreased baby movement' all day and then nothing for 4 hours at night which is baby's active time. I knew it was ok because I felt slight tickles a few times but for my baby that's not even a movement - he hurts me on a regular basis original.gif
Managed to get good movements after a meal @4am so I'm ok now - feels silly to call but it just did not feel like my normally overactive baby that day.
Divine MsM
Wow, this talk of a watermelon in between your legs is a bit freaky, is that how it feels when the baby engages?

I will say 'yes' BUT only when bub's head is in the birth canal - but that's my experience.

Prior to DD and DS, I remember reading that some women found the most painful aspect as being when bub's head was crowning and that it was like a hot, white pain/stinging sensation. I'll agree with this. BUT I've also found this pain sensation to be the motivation to push bub out.

With baby movements, bear in mind its getting a bit crowded in there. having said that, I still freak out if bub hasn't moved for what seems like ages and I'll start poking my belly.

Hope this helps.

Other mums, what has your experience been?

M
Small Potatoes
Watermelon I have had both bubs fully engaged before labour and never had the watermelon sensation. That being said this bub wasn't engaged at all 2 weeks ago and I am getting a pressure sensation on my pelvic floor that I haven't had before and feel like my pelvis is - for want of a better word - splitting (but without pain) so I am guessing he is starting to bury down. TMI WARNING I did have this paranoia the other day when doing a 2 that I felt like I was pushing bub out there was so much pressure down there (no pain).

DivineMsM Even though I have laboured over 50 hours between the two boys I haven't had one in the birth canal that I could feel. DS2 was apparently in there - just when I had the c/s but they had topped up the epi at that stage and I obviously couldn't feel a thing.
YES YES YES on the boys regressing to babies. They are obsessed. If we see one in a shop they go running over yelling baby baby and get right in its face - very embarassing as I can't really run after them at the moment. And when Olly wakes from his nap he goes hysterical for about 15-20mins and just wants me to cuddle him and give him tickle backs, won't do it at kindy of if only DH is around and they have both regressed on feeding - wanting me to feed them - and potty training, Olly would wee in a potty now does it anywhere and Will used to be night dry and now has to wear night nappies again. The other day they raided the bottles that go with my breast pump and wanted their milk in them.

AFM We are having building dramas which is stressing me and when I get stressed I am getting painful, though irregular contractions. So I NEED TO STAY CALM. We have retained the services of a builders advocate who is giving us good solid advice and making me feel alot more secure and confident in the situation.
ChantelM
Mands3 - Sorry for the TMI but I agree with the going the toilet thing. A couple of times I thought 'oh my god, it feels like his head is going to come out biggrin.gif !
Small Potatoes
ChantelM I am glad it isn't me. I haven't had this before with the boys. And I had to actually check one time, which is totally stupid, but you know how paranoia can take over.
MumToRyan

Watermelons - I feel like I'm carrying one out the front at the moment....This lump is so hard...Didn't get to sleep till 3am this morning. I'm growing a kickboxer!!!!!!!!!!!!! I remember during labour when DS's head was coming out it felt like there was a watermelon between my legs, other than that have never had that feeling. Am noticing when I go to the bathroom though that my girl bits seem more swollen than normal. No pain, must just be the extra blood circulating around.

Mands - Good luck with the builder's advocate, hope he can come up with some sensible solutions for you.

Abstarini - wow, what a surprise at your baby shower, he's such a cutie. Used to love him on playschool.

All going pretty good here. Starting to swell up a little, have had to take my wedding ring off. Luckily I wear sandals a lot because I don't fit into any of my shoes. Going down to Jupiters Casino on Friday night for our wedding anniversary. Doing the dinner and show and staying the night. DS is at his nanny's. So looking forward to it.

Hope you all have a lovely rest of week. Not long now,,,,,, it's so dragging.

Monique
Minimouse27
Totally agree about it dragging! My girl bits are all swollen too Monique-well they feel swollen, can't really see them lol !!!
Mamds- try not too stress (as easy as it is to say). Hoping it all works out and you get a good solution to the building issues...

Regarding movements- my Bub has been slowing down a little too- they feel more like squirms & stretches now

I finish work on Thursday. My lower back is about to split in two- I think
I'm finally going to admit that maybe it's time to rest for me.. So bring on maternity leave!! Knowing my luck Bub will arrive soon after ha ha! Though that does excite me Heheh
Small Potatoes
Ninack Yay on finishing work soon - you must be excited and relieved if you are in pain. Our advocate spoke to a solicitor who has had 3 cases against them recently ( mad.gif ) but has won all 3 cases ( original.gif) and the solicitor says that they are definitely in the wrong.

Monique Did you swell up much in your last PG? I am lucky and haven't swollen at all any time.

AFM (again) I woke up twice with period pain that lasted about 40 secs and had two & three lots about 10mins apart and am having it again this morning. Lower abdomen and lower back pain. DH is freaking out as I didn't have this with the boys, but I just told him it is my body doing what it supposed to be doing, which it didn't do last time biggrin.gif . He is also freaking out about having a baby with Downs even though my adjusted risk was 1 in 2100. I think he is just starting to panic something will go wrong as we are getting close now.
We have a rental inspection this morning - I have never done one before. Luckily we got our cleaner to come today instead of tomorrow (I know I am spoilt getting a cleaner - but I am earning enough from my business now for DH to let me).

Hope you all have a great day.
MummyHayles
mands3 - don't worry too much about your inspection. Routine inspections are only to check you aren't growing drugs there or putting holes in walls & torching carpets! lol - yes, I used to be a property manager and routines were the bane of my existence! rolleyes.gif

MumToRyan - I've noticed the swelling there as well for the last couple weeks - don't remember it with DD (but then I don't remember a lot at the moment!)

Me - I'm just waiting...waiting...waiting (not very patiently) for Friday to come so I can see the OB and find out what he's going to do. I've decided I won't be disappointed if he books in an elective. I don't think I realized just how scared I was about my cervix tearing again and all the drama that followed - I NEVER want that to happen again. We shall see.
And, picking up the capsule we've hired on Saturday original.gif.....and been spending WAY too much money on this Itti Bitti mcn sales this month. That's all.

Take care everyone xx
Tigster
Yesterday I washed all of the baby clothes that have been in storage and I finally realised that everything is the wrong season. DS was a summer bub and this one is going to be a winter bub. At least I now have an excuse to go shopping.

As for the watermelon feeling - I never had it.

The electrician came yesterday and installed a powerpoint so that we can set up our "study nook" now I just have to get DH to move the furniture. That's one step closer to having things ready.

I hope everyone has a good day today.
frazzled101
I though for sure baby had 'dropped' yesterday but not so sure now. I don't really remember the watermelon feeling - I have blocked a lot DS1's birth or just don't remember and the part that I remember about DS2 was that it was just a huge RELIEF that he was out and it wasn't hurting anymore.

Mands3 - hope you can get some answers with your builder.

MummyHayles - will be thinking of you Friday.

Nesting is continuing - only 2 and half weeks until we go away to have bubs so everything has to be finished! But would really like the rain to BUGGER off! Although at least now we have a dryer that works!
Small Potatoes
Frazzled Olly was like that he fluctuated between being unengaged and 4/5 engaged from 30 weeks and even popped out during labour for about an hour.

RLF2617
Quick update from me.

I had a check up with my OB today. I'm 35 weeks, 1 day today and my fundal measurements have been on the slightly large side for the last month, but the OB said there had been a rapid excellaration in the last two weeks and I'm now measuring at 39. He is sending me for an ultrasound (earliest I could get was next Tuesday) to confirm that bub is on the big side but if he/she is, then we could be looking at being induced a week or so early.

Wow - it's a lot to get my head around!

I'm due on 3 May, so Bub could be here as early as 26 April huh.gif . I was planning on working until April 15 but I'm wondering if I should stop earlier if I'm going to be induced? What do you think? I haven't packed for the hospital or started washing bub's clothes. The nursery is set up, so that's one thing i guess....

Small Potatoes
RLF2617 those scans are notoriously unreliable. Olly measured 3.6kgs at a scan at 36 weeks and came out at 39 weeks weight 3.59 and he didn't stop growing according to fundal height or my discomfort. I also had a friend who had a c/s for a baby that according to those scans should have been almost 10lb but came out at 7lb 14oz, so grossly over estimated. So try not to worry too much about it.
--binda--

Glad to hear all is going relatively well with you lot!

I hear you all on the pelvis and sciatic pain - I'm seeing a physio now, I'm really like the butt cheek massages that give me a bit of relief. As of next week, I get to see her twice a week, as my pain comes back within a few hours of the massage, and I'm getting no relief!

I had my 34 week growth scan today - it was amazing, the lady switched it over to 4D for my best friend and I, and both of us were crying, we both have (or I will) 3 kids, and it was the first time in seeing a baby in 4d.. Absolutely Amazing! I got some photos, and Jade loves seeing it, DH is back in hospital (when is he not in there, really?), and took them up to show him this afternoon, and he had a tear in his eye.. Hopefully it makes it seem more real to him, and he gets out soon!

Grace is measuring in right on time, well her belly is measuring 33 weeks, but her legs 36+3 laughing2.gif, her weight is estimated at 2038gms.. So she is going to be one of my smallest babies I think! Jade was 3400gm when born at 39+3, and Ella was 3780 (or something like that!).. I wonder if the Dr's will be a little worried with her belly measuring smaller? Only the appointment I have next Friday will tell I guess!

I'm *almost* up to washing all the baby clothes. I have my baby shower next Saturday, which will be exciting.. Everyone keeps asking me what I need/want, but I don't want to tell them something out of their price range, as the things I want are $50 (a nappy bag that will fit enough for both Ella, and Grace), and a swing, and a new cot mattress, and of course all the bits and pieces, and some cute clothes/blankets. Well maybe I should just point them to this thread laughing2.gif

runnybabbit
Is it weird that this is my first baby and I'm not having a shower? I just don't have my best girlfriends around in the state/country and I don't think I'd really have fun without them, to be honest.

I'm done with all the baby washing, yay! Except for two new hooded towels I just bought from Target this week. But all the clothes and MCNs are washed.

We've been going for antenatal classes with the Mercy physios and I really enjoyed tonight's class, practised positions for first stage and transition. It was good just to work out how what positions I feel more comfortable with, although I'm sure that may change during the actual labour.

I didn't realise that I was swollen, but I must be, slightly -- have been living in Birkenstocks for the past few months, on Saturday put on a nice pair of shoes DH got me for Christmas. I swear they fit just fine then, and I'd been saving them for a nice occasion -- and my feet were so squished I had to wear daggy sandals to the symphony orchestra. biggrin.gif

We are getting so close now, good luck to us all. biggrin.gif I am so excited.

Small Potatoes
Runnybabbit I and quite a few of my friends haven't had baby showers, so I don't think it is weird.

Binda That is great that everything is spot on. haven't done any washing yet, as everytime I get our regular washing under control enough to do some baby washing it starts raining. Our dryer died when we moved here and don't want to buy a new one until we move into the new house.

AFM I had very mild contractions (period pain and lower back pain) for about 50secs every 6 mins for an hour and a half last night. They didn't stop me from sleeping, though I was woken about 3-4 times from them and also felt a bit nauseaus (?sp). I haven't had any yet this morning though.

ETA: As I hit reply I got one
Tigster
Mands - Do you think you'll go early?

runnybabbit - I have never had a baby shower either. My good friends and family all live 4-6hrs away. Most of them still sent me and the baby a gift though.

binda - I'd let your friends know what you need a few of them might put their money together to get a larger item.

RLF2617 - Wait and see what the ultrasound results are before you make any decisions. That is unless you're getting too uncomfortable to continue working.

AFM - Sleeping is becoming a problem I have a pain in both hips. As well as the arch in my right foot is really sore when I walk. I think its from lack of arch support in my sandals. DS also woke us up at 4am again today. I've worked out that if he has a daytime nap he sleeps well at night but he only has a nap twice a week if I'm lucky.
gisses
binda- hope everything goes well with yor DH and that he is out of hospital soon to be with you in preparation for the birth.

MummyHayles- Goodluck tomorrow, please keep us posted.

RLF2617- Sounds like what we went through last week with pip but that she was measuring small instead of big. Try to relax and hopefully the scan will show something completely different, as it did for us. I know it is hard not to worry, but some things are just out of our control! (here I am doling out the advice I didnt even take last week- hindsight is such a brilliant thing!) Feel free to tell me to keep my advice to myself...!

runnybabbit/Tigster- Size 0000 clothes and linen washing complete. I figure if anyone asks me if I need any "help" after the birth, I will get them to start washing the size 000/00 clothes and so on!

I am feeling much more relaxed than this time last week. My ob cant possibly for the life of him work out where I am fitting a 2.5kg baby, seeing as my fundal measurements are still about 31-32cm. My waist is about 97cm and hasnt changed much in the last couple of months so I figure pip is just going south instead of out!

The ob did mention that her head was a little further down this week than last week, which would explain why my pelvis cracks so much in bed and when I get up and why I am needing to dribble more often. I wont even use the term pee/wee cause to me that indicates some kind of actual flow! biggrin.gif

Cant wait for 12:30pm tomorrow as we will be leaving for our babymoon! 2 nights of complete relaxation, no priorities, no work and a husband fully focused on us. We will be chatting about our birth plan, hopefully narrowing down our name list from 5 possibilities and practicing birthing/labour positions to see which ones work best for us both. Some will be crossed off the list straight away as I dont think they are intended for a 6ft tall woman in labour!

I have 1 week until the baby shower and 2 weeks to go at work. Time is zooming along!
Minimouse27
Enjoy your babymoon Gisses!!! I'd love to see Alex perplexed- I can't imagine it!!! ha ha. I see him at 4.45pm today- am hoping he tells me baby is very head down because there is SO much pressure and cramping down there....

I had a baby shower but kind of didn't want one but my best friend/her mum/my mum insisted. It was lovely in the end, and a nice ladies afternonn tea. We didn't do any games but boy did we eat! LOL

RLF2617- hope everything is ok. If EB has taught me anything, it's that ultrasounds can be notoriously innacurate at times so if bub appears big in the ultrasound, it may not necessarily be the case when its born. Keep us posted, and hoping everything is a-ok!

binda- so sorry to hear about sick DH. Hope he gets better soon!!!

mands3- wow! Could baby be eager to meet you and come early??? I've noticed in the April 16-30th DIG they are all having their babies now- incredible (yep, I lurk when I'm bored at work).

it's my last day today at work. I leave at 4pm to go to my (almost) 36 week OB appointment! YIKES. Weekly from now on. Am feeling very emotional. Got spoilt heaps by all at work- I'm going to be lugging lots of pressies. I almost cried during my presentation - such a dork!

Have a great day all!!!!!!!!!!!!
RLF2617
Hope you're enjoying your last day at work Ninack biggrin.gif

Gisses - I'm jealous...your babymoon sounds wonderful!

Good luck tomorrow MummyHayles.

Thank you for all your support - I'm just going to chill our till Tuesday and see what the ultrasound/OB has to say. I figure having the baby a week or two early just means a week or two less before I can be a bit more comfortable! That said, I am going to get my butt into gear and get a few things organised this weekend like packing for the hospital just in case and washing bub's clothes and linens!

Work is INSANE today - so I better get back to it...

Tigster
ninack - Enjoy your last day at work.

gisses - Enjoy your babymoon. I remember mine well. We went to Melbourne and Qantas lost our luggage. We had to go and buy new clothes to get us through 24hrs and we were only away for a long weekend. We aren't having one this time.

I had my OB appoint today. Everything is well. He said that the period like pain is normal especially for people having subsequent bubs as we're always lifting small children and are generally not able to rest as much. I also got my second anti D injection. (I hate needles.) I'm 34wks today and I'm busy for the next 4 weekends time is going too fast.
MumToRyan

I've never heard that term "babymoon" but it sounds so sweet. Hubby and I have been making plans the last couple of night re who's going to have DS etc whilst we're in labour, planning various scenarios nighttime/daytime, induction or unplanned. We've (read I've) also narrowed down some names and think they're picked now. Went to the GP today as I was having headaches and swelling and was worried about preeclampsia. But BP is all normal, and there's no protein in urine so he's happy. Just feel better knowing, apparently if don't get preeclampsia during your first pregnancy you're not very likely to get it during subsequent pregnancies.

Tigster, I'm with you on the not being able to rest as much. Our DS is running me ragged. Have also had a little period pain and some twinges but nothing like some of the others.

Nina, congrats on your last day at work.

RFL2617 and mummyhayles, good luck with your scans.

Better go now and play memory game with DS.

Take care all.

Monique

madmatriarch
glad to hear everyone is doing ok.havent been on as at the moment am sick with what appears to be the flu,thanks to my 19 yr old ds,poor dh has had to do everything on his days off as i've been useless,will need a new pelvic floor after all the coughing lol. hope that it doesnt last much longer as worried i'll have to give birth in between coughing on the mw-not a good image.
hope to check back in to see how everyone is getting on when i cant leave any more germs on the keyboard...look after yourselves-oh and i'm on my 8th and ive never had a baby shower or a babymoon ,so enjoy, all of you who are lucky enough to have had either,back to bed now
Small Potatoes
Mands - Do you think you'll go early?
I wish, bub will probably stay put until his cesear date laughing2.gif

Gisses baby moon sounds great. Very organised.

Ninack Ooh I can't believe they are having babies already - we will start going soon. ohmy.gif

Monique Glad your BP is normal.

Look what my sister made Will for his birthday - and they are gluten free and shipped from the UK Cookies Ihope this link works. Off for Italian for dinner - Will loves going even though he doesn't eat anything there LOL, they have toys and a DVD player and fish tank and he just loves the whole experience rather than the food.
j-lo

Wow I feel like I've barely had time to turn around the last week or so.

Mands - LOVE, LOVE LOVE the cookies, they looked amazing, what a great sister. I can relate to the pains and regular-ish contractions you've been experiencing. I had them for a few hours twice at about 28 and 30 weeks - stress related in all probability. I've also had heaps of period like pains and other random abdo pains, more so as I've gotten bigger. I did also have some of these last time and still went 8 days over. I agree with whoever suggested it's due to running around and pick up other littlies. I am nowhere near as well rested as I was last time, even though I was working full time last time. There's just no rest for mummies.

Madmatriarch - hope you're feeling better soon and recover in time for the delivery.

Monique - good on you and DH to start getting organised RE plans for birth etc. We've also started down this road finally, and I think we've sorted out care for DD. I am worried though as it will take MIL at least 20 mins and up to an hour depending on traffic to get to our place and my first labour was pretty fast. I think I'll talk to another good friend and my neighbour and see if they can take her if it comes to that. We've also FINALLY had the name talk and at least have a short list. I think we've got the names down to two potential girls names and perhaps three boys names. Middle name is sorted for a boy (will use FIL's name who recently passed away) but I think we'll have to rethink the girls middle name as the one we picked doesn't really go with either of the two girls names on the list.

RLF - good luck with the scan, hopefully everything will turn out fine.

ninack - congrats on finishing work, now time to relax if you can. I remember going to weekly ob appts last time, felt like I spent half my life waiting in the obs office, but at least then I didn't have another little one to drag along too. I'm still on fortnightly this time around with the public system and don't really go weekly unless I go over.

Gisses - I like you measuring a little behind, think I was 32cm at 34 weeks, but that's similar to last time and I had a 3.5kg baby. Both times bubs las been really low, my midwife was quite surprised how low the head was already and suggested I def. wouldn't go over. I don't think I'll take that as gospel as my ob said exactly the same this last time and I did just that. Enjoy the babymoon! I'm jealous.

Tigster - I've been having trouble sleeping too with back and hip pain as well as leg cramps and far too much baby movement to sleep through. DD has also been waking over time every so often - not sure why - but she kept DH up from about 2am til somewhere near 4am. Thankfully it doesn't happen too often. I have deal with DH that I will handle the new bub nightly wakings as that will most likely mean breastfeeding, if he does DD. I'm hoping I get an easy baby that just needs a feed and change and then back to sleep - DD was NOT like this at all, so it's a risk.

runnybabit - glad to hear you're getting so much out of the physio classes. I did some last time too and found it so helpful to get an idea of birthing positions etc. You might find that it all changes during labour, but on the other hand it just might give you the key to getting through those tough contractions or to get the baby moving down nicely for delivery. I'm big on being physically and mentally prepared to the birth - it was just what I needed to have a great birth last time.

That's all I can see - 'hi' to everyone else.

AFM - finished work last week and took this week as sick leave due to my back. It was good timing in the end as I pulled back muscle lifting DD the very next day and am still struggling a bit with it.

I also had my 34 week midwife appt and it was great. I had finally starting thinking about the birth and had heaps of questions to ask. I was glad to hear that they would support me going a full two weeks over if necessary and would do a stretch and sweep when i wanted it past 40 weeks rather than an induction. I really want to avoid an induction and the S&S did it for me last time. She also put my mind at ease a bit about the fast labours I have - I have a fear of delivery on the side of the road. She gave me some good general guidelines to follow as to when to get moving to the hospital.

In general I starting to feel more prepared, but would love more rest than I've managed to get. DD is no longer in CC and my MIL couldn't take her at all this week so I feel exhausted. DH is also working til midnight tonight so it's been a long day too. Thankfully my mum is coming tomorrow to stay for a while and help me get the rest of the things ready and give me some time to rest during the day. I can't wait!

Anyway, this was a monster post, sorry about that.

Jo

runnybabbit
Hi all.

More whinging from me about how tired I am -- I am so exhausted and I don't even have other babies or toddlers like some of you. Didn't get much sleep last night, did some reading up for work, so only had about five hours. So. Frickin'. Tired.

Going to bed soon. Pelvic pain still waxes and wanes depending on the day I've had.

Baby is really pushing in uncomfortable places these days, especially squishing my bladder. Not good, especially today -- someone at work did a huge poop in the staff toilet and it wouldn't flush, and the culprit obviously tried to aid the poop's passage with lots of toilet paper... sick.gif Plumber had to be called. It was not a good situation.

I'm glad some of you haven't had or aren't having baby showers, either. Most of my besties aren't in WA so having one for the sake of having one would feel like a bit of a gift grab rather than a nice girly get-together, if that makes sense.

Another three weeks of work! Counting down to Easter.

A workmate, who was due the week before me (I'm due May 13), went into labour today. This is really happening -- any one of us could be next! Holy crap.

ChantelM
Wow its amazing knowing we could go into labour at anytime. Last night I was waking occasionally with mild cramping and couldn't help thinking, oh god this could really happen anytime!

Last day of work today! So excited original.gif It feels so surreal that I won't be working. I have never had more then 2 weeks off at a time!
Small Potatoes
ChantelM I woke 4 times last night with a bit stronger than mild cramping, but nothing too severe, and was thinking the same, but even as labour was just starting with the boys I knew I was going into labour, while I didn't have that feeling last night IYKWIM, so I am hoping I will just know again and not get caught by surprise.

Runnybabbit How long to you finish work?

J-Lo Isn't she amazing. She gets back in July and I am FORCING her to start a cake business. I have the opposite problem to you. My labours take FOREVER so I never have to rush laughing2.gif

AFM I told bub he isn't allowed to come before Will's birthday party, well I don't want him to come before 38 weeks, but if he has to come early it has to be after Will's birthday. He is sooooooo excited about his party. He tells everyone he is turning 4 and that he is having a lightening McQueen party, so I HAVE to be there.

crankybee
Hi all!

Well things are pretty much the same for me at the moment - I have no pain, no BHs, no cramping, no indication that this baby has engaged at all and no feeling that this baby will come any time soon! This is the best I have felt throughout this whole pregnancy and I'm sure it's because I have no other kids and I have finished work. I will enjoy it while it lasts!

I have the scan on Monday to check size and I will have to ask them to check the sex again after a friend of DH's had a baby of the opposite colour to what he was repeatedly told (from more than one scan!) Now I am freaking out because we were told we were having a girl and I not only do I have a lot of girl bedding and clothing but I have really thought of this baby as a girl. When I was at the Target sale yesterday (heaps of bargains ladies!) I saw a T-Rex easter egg and two T-Rex tee shirts - and thought THAT'S IT! IT'S A BOY! as our chosen boy's name is Rex. Then when I was at Myer last night I saw some Antz Pants REX undies for women and came home and told my DH "The Universe is ****ing with my head!" I don't mind if I have a girl or a boy but I need to know NOW so I can start thinking of this baby as a boy rather than a girl if they got it wrong!

Anyway hang in there everyone - I am sure I will be the last to give birth from all of us even if this baby DOES turn out to be huge in the scan on Monday!
Tigster
crankybee - a boring worry-free pregnancy is wonderful. That's how I was with DS. I had to laugh about the universe messing with you. They do get it wrong. happy.gif

mands - I hope the cramping eases up a bit. It would be so sad to miss your son's B'day party.

chantel - Congrat's on your last day of work.

runnybabbit - Yuck! Don't you feel sorry for plumbers.

j-lo - I'm off to read more about the stretch and sweep. I'd like to avoid being induced again. Someone was telling me today about acupuncture being good for bringing on labour, so that's an option too.

AFM - caught up with some friends this morning and DS ran riot. After chasing him for over an hour the Braxton hicks have started. Looks like I have to take it easy this afternoon. I might start looking into a day at CC for DS.
prophetsong

Another week done!! Hurrah! I have 4 weeks until I leave work and 5 weeks til bubs is due! It is all getting very very exciting.

I cannot wait until people on here start having their babies! Then I think it will really sink in that this is coming up quickly!

In the meantime I am counting down until I finish work! Can't wait :)
Divine MsM
Finally finished work today. I've had a wonderful 3 days with my work colleagues in Melbourne in town. I've never laughed as much as I have over the past 3 days.

Having said that, the sciatica in both hips started playing up and I can barely walk.

Just quickly - remember how I said a couple of threads ago that our respective partners should get a few jabs of a needle? I got my wish. *insert evil grin*. DH had to go see the Dr for something unrelated so I also booked him in to see the nurse for a whooping cough booster.

Waddling off to bed.
runnybabbit
I finish up work at Easter. Is that insane? Since I've started working I've only had time off for our wedding and honeymoon, and little one- to two-week trips in between. Between jobs I've had... Five days. So this is new for me, having time off! I was on a fixed-term contract with this employer and have only been with them for seven months, so no employer maternity leave for me. Kinda worried about how we will go financially once the federal paid parental leave stops coming in -- I need to apply for that in a couple of weeks.

Have had such a hectic week at work, another almost 7 pm finish tonight. :( Three more weeks to go.

Pelvis still hurts. It's weird, but I think I'm getting used to being in pain all the time. I don't notice it so much, just notice how much of a relief it is to sit down when I finally do.

There is SO MUCH BABY in here, after dinner and cake :D I just have no more room.

Had a monster calf cramp this morning, good thing hubs hadn't left yet and he massaged it away. It messes up my legs for a good two days after a big cramp, though! Aches when I walk.

No BH, no cramping in the abdominal region of any kind. I have been feeling like a head/face-ache. It's a weird sensation, almost like a tightness and headache, but in my cheekbones. I wonder if it could be a blood pressure issue -- will see my obstetrician on Monday and have that checked, it's so difficult to describe what I'm feeling, though.

Small Potatoes
mummyHayles Any news from the specialist OB appointment yesterday?
--binda--
I finally got all the baby washing done... From 2am Friday Morning I was doing washing... Got to the bottom of the pile by 6am (including the baby pile).. She has ONE drawer of clothes. Poor child. I really thought I had heaps more! Woops!!!! So her hospital bag has been half packed - I need socks and singlets for her to make the bag complete!

My Baby Shower is Next Saturday.. Which is exciting, and sometimes not...

I over did it yesterday at DD1's footy training, the coach wasn't coping with 12 restless 4/5/6 year odls, so I stepped in to take half of them to do some tackling/kicking, and well I was doing it too. This morning at 6am I get up (or at least try to!) to get DD1 ready for footy and take her, and couldn't walk! I was in too much pain from the SPD and Sciatic Nerve! I had to message her father at 6am and pray to god that the message woke him or his fiance, so I wouldn't have to worry about taking her on public transport. Needless to say they got the message, and the kids slept in til 7:45, when we needed to be out of the house by 6:45 if we were PT'ing it. I stayed at home with DD2, with panadol and heat packs, and felt heaps better.. then had a nanny nap when Ella did, and when I've woken, its gotten worse again, so more panadol and heat packs.

All I want to do is clean my house, and All Ella wants to do is mess it up!

I really just want my DH home to help me sad.gif He gets day release from the MHU tomorrow, so hopefully he will be home again - and not sleeping 24/7)

Is it wrong of me to pray that my waters just break already? DD2 was saying "who's that" to nothing behind me, so I said is it Nanny or Grandma? and told her to tell them both to just make her little sister come out so Mummy can walk again! This pregnancy would be awesome if it weren't for the back and pelvis pain. Bring on physio on Monday... its sending me banana's this weekend, but now have physio mon and weds..

frazzled101
We've had a big couple of days. DS2 turned 3 yesterday so I sent patty cakes to Day Care. He had a great day. Watched DS1 run his race at sports day and the school rang at lunch time because he had gone to sleep on the classroom floor! I've been having fevers for 2 days and finally got to the Dr this morning. Turns out DS1 and I both have tonsillitis. Thank god for anti biotics and hope to feel better tomorrow.

Haven't done any baby washing - too wet here.

Both of my boys have gone to Day Care once a week since they were about 18 months. Will be especially great when bubs comes along - I will get the 1 day a week just me and the baby.

Runnybabbit - glad you still had room for cake!

Can't remember anything else, off to take more panadol and drink gallons of water!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.