The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: help...constant crying and constant vomiting

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
Megs71
Hi Everyone,

Well today I am at my wit's end. I thought yesterday was bad - just a one off...but my little boy, Oscar screamed from 4pm till 6.30pm until which time I rang my DH and told him to get home quick cos I'd had enough.

Today has been worse.

Oscar cries mostly in the afternoons - how normal is hours of crying?
Jasmine just keeps vomiting - she is a very happy little baby but she just throws up after every other bottle - could this be reflux - she's not in any pain - it's just annoying cos I'm constantly cleaning her vomit up.

My questions are:

1. why is Oscar crying so much - during the day it's constant grizzling and then in the afternoon it's just plain crying. Once he's down at night time he's good - sleeps generally from 9pm to 2am - then he's ready to party, laughing, giggling and carrying on but he goes into his swing and then sleeps until 7am - is this just "the witching hour"?

2. why do you think Jasmine throws up....she laughs a lot - could I be overfilling her and she just can't hold it down??? or do you think reflux???? I've recently changed formulas and her vomiting has become more prevalent - but I don't want to change back cos in general they've both been more settled since the change.

Sorry for the long post...can't get into see my paediatrician until Feb - need some advice girls.

Lotsa hugs,
xx Megsy

Me 32
DH 34
ttc #1 - 6yrs
Success FET
Oscar & Jasmine born 29/10/04
http://www.babiesonline.com/babies/o/ourbubs

[img]http://www.tickercentral.com/view/z8r/1[/img]
PetaW
Hi Megsy

I can really sympathise with you. I have called my husband plenty of times to see if he can come home from work eary to help in witching hour. I think he has only done it once. I have my mum come around most afternoons on her way home from work to help.

Jackson is quite grizzly throughout the day too and then in witching hour just wants to be carried around or held. If i put him down he gets very annoyed. Luca is quite happy throughout the day but also likes to be carried around in the afternoon and gets grumpy if she does not get her way. It is very difficult to carry two babies around for a couple of hours.

From what I know about reflux, alot of babies vomit (Jack has reflux but doesnt vomit) but there is quite a lot of pain associated with it. He hardly took any milk and would start screaming, arching his back and he would throw himself around after 20-30mls.

I hope things get a little better soon which I am sure they will.

Peta
Mum to twins Luca & Jackson (1/7/04) 28.5 weekers
katef
Hi!

When my girls were that age they were just revolting and I totally understand you being at your wits end as I look back now and often wonder how any of us survived! But we did... and that saying of 'this too shall pass' while it can be annoying it is true...I used to chant it while rocking two screaming babies inbetween crying myself!

It seems fairly common to have that 'witching hour' and some people think that colic is partly this and that babies get so over stimulated by the end of the day they just can't cope anymore and loose the plot. We had the evening screams but I don't think it had anything to do with over stimulation but you never know.

Initially EVERYONE told us it was colic but no one could tell me what colic was (except prolonged periods of crying) let alone how to fix it and we tried lots of remedies but nothing seemed to work much... but by about 3 months (corrected) when it was 'suposed' to start to get better and instead for us it got worse I started looking at other things but it wasn't until I rang our pead in tears that she asked me whether I thought they may have reflux and asked about thier bahaviour etc and that was it!

Anyway not saying your bubs have reflux but it might be a possability. It is possible for a baby to have reflux and not chuck just as it is possible for a baby to chuck and not be bothered by it. So it might be a possability for both of yours.

A good chat with your pead should help sort things out.. is there anyway you can tell them it is urgent, that you are not coping and need to see them sooner than Feb???? I always find ringing doctors while the babies are screaming and saying you are at your wits end (whether true or not) always seems to get some action!

In the mean time some of the things we did to help cope (well cope as best we could)... we got our girls a hammock each so that I could rock them both to sleep at the same time in that semi recline position that is good for reflux and to me seemed most like being held. I would also wear one in a sling and carry the other when there seemed no other option than to carry them both... it still wasn't easy but it helped. I went for lots of walks around then too.. for some reason the screaming was more bearable out in the open but I can't imagine what my neighbors thought!

As for the spew... layers of bibs are a good idea to save you changing cloths all day. Just take off a bib and if she hasn't spewed through to the the next one you are good to go. Get some BIG bibs too - mind you my girls were small so we had bibs that covered everything but heir feet, but they still managed to spew on their socks! Layers can work for you too I used to wear an old shirt around the house with something more decent underneath and not care how much the shirt got spewed on and I could just whip it off if we had visitors or if I needed to go out. I also sleep my girls with a nappy under their heads so you only have to change that not the whole cot when the puke, and I did the same for everything I lay them on - rocker, rug, cushion etc.

Anyway I hope all that waffle helps some... at the time I was just grateful I was not alone and could get on here and whinge and cry to people who really understand... so feel free to PM me and keep posting we are all here for you!

Kate

nakigirl
I think Kate and Peta have given you realy good advice and getting any medical reason ruled out is the first thing to do. I just wanted to say that you are not alone - I remember feeling the way you do when the girls were small and counting down the minutes until DH got home from work from 5.00pm onwards. Also I did a lot of crying. The other thing that used to help from when they were about 3 months was putting the girls in their rockers and sitting them close to the TV and they'd watch Baby Mozart etc for the entire tape - 25 minutes of peace! I used to save that for when I was really beside myself (like 5.30 every night!). Now they're nearly 18 months it's Hi 5 who are my lifesavers.

Just know that you are not alone and chant the multiple mum's mantra "this too will pass"...

Take care

Maree

Harriet Lorna 1/8/03
Eleanor Rosalind 1/8/03
Megs71
thanks girls so much for your input. the crying finally stoped at 7pm last night when Oscar just passed out from tiredness. prior to this nothing would appease him. i've had a rotten night with both of them and now, at 7.30 in the morning, he's started again...the whinging, the grizzling and soon it will be full on crying.... I have an appointment with my GP tomorrow to talk about what to do...if he thinks I need to see my paed, I guess he's got more pulling power than me in reshuffling appointments.

I'm really struggling here and to make things worse, we're moving house in 10 days and do you think I've started packing...I have all the help in the world from my mum who comes here daily but for some reason, things are on top of me at the moment.

I wonder if it's just a 3months of age thing that yes, will pass or am I doing something so wrong (according to one family member, I do everything wrong!)

Sorry for the vent...slept only from 11pm to 1am and have been awake ever since.

Thanks again for the advice and suggestions. You've been a great help. Will let you know what happens.

Lotsa hugs,
xx Megsy

Me 32
DH 34
ttc #1 - 6yrs
Success FET

katef
Oh Meg!

Whoever told you you are 'doing everything wrong' give them a big boot up the bum from me! You are not doing anything wrong! You are caring Mum who is doing her darndest to have happy babies... sometimes no matter what we do we can't manage that but it doesn't mean we are doing things wrong!!!! But I so remember being where you whem my girls were around that age and I just felt like the worst mother in the world... but believe me we aren't!

I'm glad you are going to see your GP - just talking to someone who is not emotionally involved (ie not your DH or a family member) can help alot. Well it helped me alot! I often felt like I was the only person in the world who couldn't cope with two babies and that I was over exagerating everything. So it really helped to have someone unconnected to tell me that it was ok to feel overwhelmed sometimes, that two babies are hard to deal with at the best of times and that yes they really were unsettled and it wasn't 'just me'!

Moving house on top of everything else... wow! No wonder you are a bit fragile. Maybe your Mum could concentrate on the house stuff while you deal with the babies... or the other way round to give you a break for a little while. Could your Mum take them for a walk in the pram or for a drive for an hour or so, so you could have a sleep? Or a shower? Or do something just for yourself? Perhaps your Mum could find some friends of family that could come in a help pack so atleast you have that worry off your shoulders.

You might think I am a freak but... if you are in Melbourne and need someone to talk to or if I can be of any help please let me know. I am not usually in the habit of meeting people from EB (the few I have met are VERY special people because actually I'm quite shy!) but you remind me so much of me and I really want to help if I can.

Anyway - I hope you get some answers soon! PM me if you need anything!

hugs

Kate

Megs71
Oh Kate, you're so kind. If I was in Melbourne, I'd love to meet up, but I'm in Brissie. Your advice and support has been invaluable though, so thank you.

Last night was a better night. They both did 10pm, 2am and then this morning we stretched them until 7am so DH & I could have a lie in...all they did was grizzle for half an hour but so what, right?

We saw our paed yesterday arvo and the results are...

Jasmine has "happy" reflux - meaning she chucks but doesn't care....he said only to bother changing formulas and all that jazz if the vomiting bothers me, cos it doesn't bother her...i'd rather not play around with her formulas and stuff so i guess it's just a few more loads of washing for me !!

Oscar has silent reflux which has caused heartburn - poor chicken....he was also on antibiotics for his pneumonia which he's had for 3 weeks and that has made the problem worse, hence why it started happening all of a sudden.

This morning, I feel heaps better, especially emotionally. Yesterday I just knew I had a constant frown all day if you know what I mean.

Crappy thing is....I've now done my back in sad.gif so I've called mum to come and help for the entire day and I'm off to the chiropractor.

Babies have to have their final 2mth needles (I'm running a bit late with these), so I guess I'm in for some crusty babies later this arvo.

Well, best get moving cos everything is at half pace with this sore back. Thanks again everyone for your support...I'm just glad I got to the bottom of this.

No doubt I'll be posting a little more often in this section original.gif

Lotsa hugs,
xx Megsy

Me 32
DH 34
ttc #1 - 6yrs
Success FET

katef
So pleased to hear that things have been a bit better and that you've been able to see your pead and get some answers. It took us a long time to get on top of our girls reflux but even through all those weeks of screaming and refusing to feed I at least felt better knowing that there really was a problem and it wasn't just in my head!

Did they give you anything for Oscar's reflux? There are a million and one things you can try (apart from meds) so PM me if you are interested but since you are off to the chiro (hope your back feels better!) I thouht I'd mention that a lot of people have lots of success with taking reflux bubs to the chiro so it might help both of your little ones.

Anyway I'm just so glad that today is brighter for you... I've been thinking of you and hoping you were doing ok!

hugs

Kate

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.