The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Canberra rego :(

Essential Baby > Meet Other Members > State forums > Australian Capital Territory
somebody_new
Had to pay rego this week, and when I queried exactly when the prices would be going down I was told this little gem:
"The bidding has been open for 12 months, no other companies will take it up, so NRMA are it, and the price won't be changing any time soon".
mad.gif
71Cath
I hear you - we just had rego due and could only afford to get 3 months. I know it works out more expensive in the long term to do it that way, but we just didnt have the money sad.gif
belad
I just paid my rego as well and I really wish we could pay the CTP separately and get our own prices. When I lived in Sydney, we could do that and if prices started to increase you just rang around and got another quote from someone else.

Damn it!!
somebody_new
I could only get 3 months as well!
I miss living interstate. sad.gif
jupiter123
I hope this is not your first year here, because if you think rego is bad wait until you receive the welcome to canberra winter gas/electricity bill.

This is our 3rd year here and I still get sh*tty at rego time.
Purpletulipgirl
Wonder when it will occur to them to just let us pick and send them the green slip/reference number like NSW do?! Soooo much cheaper.
CountryBumpkin
in WA we have one company and one set price, I didnt even realise it was done differently in other states... we can only pay for 6 or 12 months at a time.
~mimo~
Really? I thought other companies would jump at the chance.

That sucks. sad.gif
s-m
Wonder when it will occur to them to just let us pick and send them the green slip/reference number like NSW do

They have.

What the OP is saying is that 12 months ago the ACT government de-regulated the CTP insurance but none of the interstate companies have been bothered offering green slip insurance for the ACT. So we can choose any company we want as long as it's the NRMA sad.gif

Steph
somebody_new
QUOTE (jupiter123 @ 21/03/2011, 04:19 PM) *
I hope this is not your first year here, because if you think rego is bad wait until you receive the welcome to canberra winter gas/electricity bill.

This is our 3rd year here and I still get sh*tty at rego time.

Nope, I have been here a few years. Just cranky that it keeps going up and up with no change in sight
And yes I have received the welcome to canberra winter bills. In fact I just disconnected gas, and was charged $38 to do so. Service fees they said! What a load of crap
Black Lion
another one who could only afford three months a few weeks ago.

And dont start about the gas- just got the summer 'bill' with absolutely no usage but almost $60 in administration fee...
Kafkaesque
Out of interest how much approx is it? I'm in wa and just interested for comparison sake.
~4's enough 4 me~
Out of interest how much approx is it? I'm in wa and just interested for comparison sake.

For Rego?

I depends on the weight of your car. I have a Territory and it cost me $953 last september for 12 months.

I'm expecting it to hit the $1000 mark this year sad.gif
Catherine27
this sucks. we just purchased an act car and have act rego. i think i might change it to nsw when i have the money.
i didnt realise you couldnt pick you CTP. sad.gif

im waiting for my elect bill too. wonder how expensive it is now sad.gif
belad
We have started paying $30 a fortnight on both our electricity and water bills.... so hopefully when the next ones come in this will make a big difference and we won't have such a heart attack!!

Gas is going to be the problem....
cluckymrs
It is expensive but making it available to do in 3, 6 or 12 months does help if you cant get it all together at once. I cant remember how much i paid last time, around 800 I think
As for the elec bill .....how I dread it! last winter it was just over 1200 ohmy.gif and the next one will be in this week :/ ETA: i pay 150 a fortnight now trying to catch up!
~mimo~
Just saw a newsbreak, Apparently canberrans pay the most for rego (among other things). Not surprising really.
fairylite
That is really expensive. What exactly do you get for the insurance cost? Do you need to have your own insurance as well?
PippityPip
QUOTE (~4's enough 4 me~ @ 21/03/2011, 10:20 PM) *
For Rego?

I depends on the weight of your car. I have a Territory and it cost me $953 last september for 12 months.

I'm expecting it to hit the $1000 mark this year sad.gif

Yep, we paid just under $1000 for 12mo rego at the start of the year, for our Chrysler grand voyager.
belad
QUOTE (Tess @ 23/03/2011, 02:11 PM) *
Yep, we paid just under $1000 for 12mo rego at the start of the year, for our Chrysler grand voyager.

I have an old tiny teeny Hyundai Excel and my rego was just under $800 for 12mths.... for a little car aannoyed.gif
Catherine27
oh no tess. we just bought a chrysler grand voyager. thinking i might do rego in nsw when the time comes.
~mimo~
Are you a nsw or act person Catherine? You might run into trouble doing it in nsw if you live in act.
Loulla
We live in Canberra and write off about $4000 for 12mth rego and insurance for both of our cars. It's totally overpriced and a strain on the finances.
Luckily we won't have central heating, we just use one gas heater downstairs and close it off from upstairs. Our gas bills are pretty good....
Groceries are the thing we spend the most on - CRAZY!!! I have no idea how big families get by.

PussyDids
QUOTE (belad @ 23/03/2011, 02:17 PM) *
I have an old tiny teeny Hyundai Excel and my rego was just under $800 for 12mths.... for a little car aannoyed.gif

Our motorbikes are about $1k each! Plus the cars...

We are looking at $6k a year in insurance and rego for the 2 cars and 2 bikes.

In regional NSW the bikes were down to about $600, so it's more exxy here. Probably about the same as when I was living in Sydney.
PippityPip
The car is awesome though Catherine, i LOVE ours wub.gif

Belad, ouch!
belad
QUOTE (Taradiddle81 @ 23/03/2011, 08:17 PM) *
Our motorbikes are about $1k each! Plus the cars...

We are looking at $6k a year in insurance and rego for the 2 cars and 2 bikes.

In regional NSW the bikes were down to about $600, so it's more exxy here. Probably about the same as when I was living in Sydney.

Yeh DH has a motorbike as well and we have a Rodeo too..... I don't really want to add the 3 of them up, I may get a huge shock!!

Living in Sydney my excel was slightly cheaper but oh well.... not much we can do about it, unfortunately we can't all get by without a car.
Catherine27
post deleted
~Elphaba~
So where is your licence, Catherine?

And you may want to remove your posts, what you are doing is actually illegal. If you registered the cars in the ACT, it is presumably because you have an ACT licence. So you can't register in NSW.

If you still have a NSW licence, despite living in the ACT? Well, that's illegal. You have to change it within a set time (7 days? 14?). And people who rort the system seriously pi*s me off!
mummy09
OMG! I can't believe how much you all have to pay for rego!!!

I won't complain about my VIC rego ever again (ok maybe I will but at least not for a while)
mavisandjack
This is honestly one of the factors we are considering, looking at houses at the moment in QBN and southern ACT. The cost of living in the ACT just seems so much higher and we are actually closer to Civic in QBN anyway ... rego here costs us about $400 for a medium sized car and if we have two later on, it should still be under $1000. But moving to the ACT i can see it will cost a lot more.
PussyDids
QUOTE (mavisandjack @ 24/03/2011, 04:31 PM) *
we are actually closer to Civic in QBN anyway ...

But if commuting, it sure isn't quicker!
Purpletulipgirl
QUOTE (s-m @ 21/03/2011, 05:45 PM) *
They have.

What the OP is saying is that 12 months ago the ACT government de-regulated the CTP insurance but none of the interstate companies have been bothered offering green slip insurance for the ACT. So we can choose any company we want as long as it's the NRMA sad.gif

Steph

Ah sorry, I misunderstood. I thought what had happened was they were trying to replace the NRMA with another company. So the same setup, we don't get a choice but it's just a different company to the NRMA.

I can't believe none of the others bothered to offer anything. I came from NSW where you just call whoever you want and then show the RTA your green slip or give them a reference number before you can re-register the car. If you do the whole thing online, the RTA knows when you've paid, very quickly, like by the time you've logged out of your insurance company's site and into myRTA, it's there as paid and you can pay your rego.

This makes me mad. I'm sick of paying an extra $200.
mavisandjack
QUOTE (Taradiddle81 @ 24/03/2011, 06:50 PM) *
But if commuting, it sure isn't quicker!

I don't do the commute to Civic (yay!) but DH does it in 20 mins in the morning and 25 in the arvo, so we really can't complain about that ...

totally OT sorry everyone!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.