The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Pizza Hut - dine in - eat all you want

Essential Baby > General > Miscellaneous
donuts
Do these still exist in Sydney ??

The good old 90's when you could go and eat all you want and then hoe-down on the soft serve ice cream...
gugububs
Yep they still do that, well in bendigo they did original.gif
mumma78
The thought of that makes me feel ill, I remember loving it. Same with Sizzler, I loved their icecream, but seedy all you can eat is worse than deli meat.
3spunkymonkeys
There's one in Windsor, and it is crap!!
The-Missus
I hope not ... I have bad memories of gorging myself sick when I was a teen.

I'm surprised any of those 'eat all you want' concepts are still around, the potential health/hygiene issues would be phenomenal. They aren't referred to as 'chew & spew' for nothing.

The only good thing about the Pizza Hut 'pig out' bar was the chocolate mousse and the choc chips to garnish biggrin.gif
seeingstraight
Yep we go to the one in windsor.....!!!! There is one in greenhills( near maitland) and one in lakehaven .. there the only 3 i know of!
catmeow82
oooh. i used to love pizza hut eat in. it was the only time we had pizza! Loved sizzler too. Wouldn't go to either now though. yuk!
Steggles
Ahhhh fond memories of ice cream and coke spiders... all over the floor....
Azadel
The one on George St in the CBD still does it too.
sarah-m
My hubby loves Pizza hut all you can eat - such a bloke! It's actually good place to go with kids, as kids eat free and they have vegies and salad and hot chips and garlic bread... all stuff my kids eat! Hubby gets to gorge himself and I can enjoy two bowls of soft serve original.gif

ETA; We go to the one in Greenhills Maitland... Not very close to Sydney!!
Nicole
There's one in St Andrews, between Liverpool and Campbelltown. It's walkable from my house, yum. We also have a Sizzler 5 mins by car away from us.

I love the apple pizza and ice cream, so good, but so bad.
--binda--
pretty sure Mt Druitt still has one..

Last time I went it was crap.. but that was a few years ago.. Definitely wasn't like when i was a kid!
Tofu Puff
I don't remember an all you can eat Pizza Hut.

But I do remember the plastic red and white gingham tableclothes, the smell of oregano as you approached the door of the oddly triangular shaped building, starting with the salad bar which had to include Thousand Island dressing, the little red pencils and the bendy alien toys. biggrin.gif
adnama
Our local one Greenhills is very hit and miss. Sometimes its great other times i'd prefer to eat dog food

gizboo
We occasionally go to the one at Lake Haven.
QUOTE (Nicole @ 25/01/2011, 08:36 PM) *

Lake Haven doesn't do apple pizza though...
I grew up going to the one at Wetherill Park, my fave was the apple pizza!! *sighs*

Buy Me A Pony!
There's something I'm glad to leave in the past. My memories of a salad made from alfalfa, bacon chips and thousand island dressing need to stay exactly where I'll always remain fond of them.
soapy
We have one left in Adelaide and it's nasty but love it. Would not touch the salads though. Love the pizza, garlic bread, crummy all you can drink plastic cups and the chocolate mousse. I also love to use the ice cream machine and think of times long gone when I worked in an icecream shop. smile1.gif
Jen1
As far as I know Brisbane don't have any Pizza Huts eat in. I thought the last one was at Arana Hills. It has now changed into a jewellery and coffee shop.
trina-p
I had heard that the last Brisbane pizza hut restaurant was at Browns Plains but I have never confirmed that for myself.
I just wonder what else they've used the hat shaped buildings for because every restaurant I've seen has become either a solicitors or real estate agency.
Nicole
I just wonder what else they've used the hat shaped buildings for because every restaurant I've seen has become either a solicitors or real estate agency.

I know of two that have been turned into funeral parlours lol.
onedayatatime
We went to the one in Windsor late last year and it was re-vol-t-ing!!
The restaurant was so dirty, the toilets looked like they had not been cleaned in months, vomit up the wall in one badly cleaned off, the plates we all greasy (maybe their dishwasher does not work) we got there at 5pm when they start and there were still dirty tables from the night before.... never again!!!

I know of two that have been turned into funeral parlours lol.

LoL the one in Thornlegih is a Subway, still remember it from being a teen, oh the memories of the underground car park.... It looks funny they have painted the roof bright green, still cant discuise it's past though....

Funeral parlour - probably becuause the cool rooms were already there...
Nappypin

we do not have pizza hut, DH has a co worker, 20 year old say what is Pizza hut ????? roll2.gif

We have sizzler. Not too keen on sizzler though.
BBlessed
We were excited to find one when we moved to Ballarat a few years ago, as it was something from my childhood I wanted to share with my kids.

We went a few times and it was truly awful. ALL the pizzas were "manager's special" type things (ie a pile of left over toppings thrown onto a pizza). There were no *real* flavours - just an on going pile of leftovers banged onto pizza bases. No effort in varying the bases either - sometimes there'd be all thin crusts, and another there's be deep pan or nothing. You'd have to wait because all the pizzas would be gone and no replacements brought out, and even the salad bar was sorry and sad.

I used to LOVE those bacon chips. I cannot imagine WHY my parents would let me eat as many as I did - yuck yuck yuck! We were allowed only one serve of dessert yet I was allowed to pile those little pills of salt onto my plate multiple times!!
Bel Rowley
QUOTE (Buy Me A Pony! @ 25/01/2011, 09:34 PM) *
There's something I'm glad to leave in the past. My memories of a salad made from alfalfa, bacon chips and thousand island dressing need to stay exactly where I'll always remain fond of them.

tthumbs.gif

Their pizzas are so gross, I'll be quite happy if I never eat one again.
Phenomenon
There used to be 2 around my area when i was younger. We would go there for our birthdays and we loved it!

Now they have shut down, i miss their wicked apple crumble blush.gif
~JAS~
Oh this takes me back!! I worked in one from 1991-1993! It was my first ever job, started during year 12. Oh the memories original.gif

QUOTE (Jen1 @ 25/01/2011, 08:56 PM) *
As far as I know Brisbane don't have any Pizza Huts eat in. I thought the last one was at Arana Hills. It has now changed into a jewellery and coffee shop.

Jen I'm pretty sure Browns Plains still has a dine in Pizza Hut. Must check on that original.gif
Jen1
Michaela, I would love to know if Browns Plains has a dine in Pizza Hut. biggrin.gif
Mz*Chievous1

QUOTE (trina-p @ 26/01/2011, 10:41 AM) *
I had heard that the last Brisbane pizza hut restaurant was at Browns Plains but I have never confirmed that for myself.

Sure is original.gif

It's on grand plaza drive Browns Plains..wedged between KFC and red rooster.
Have been known to scarf down the apple pizza with loads of icecream on it a few times biggrin.gif
=R2=
They still have these in the UK. Quite expensive but excellent quality pizza and salad bar and oh so good.

Hated the ones here in Oz.
eggyj81
LOL, we used to go to Sizzler for birthdays etc. Then, we changed to Pizza Hut.

FWIW, Lake Haven used to do the Apple Crumble dessert pizzas. wink.gif There used to be an eat-in one at Jesmond but i think its gone now. GreenHills, well, if DH suggests we go there i usually suggest somewhere else as most times we went they had next to no pizzas come out, was kinda dirty, and the staff either non existent or rude. Lake Haven wasnt quite so bad though.

Our local one here is now a plumbing supplies shop. :-) The roof and window shape give it away.
BeachedAsBro
There's one in Orange, which has rescued DH and I on a few occasions!

QUOTE (gizboo @ 25/01/2011, 09:16 PM) *
We occasionally go to the one at Lake Haven.

Lake Haven doesn't do apple pizza though...
I grew up going to the one at Wetherill Park, my fave was the apple pizza!! *sighs*

The Wetherill Park one was where I had my 10th birthday party original.gif I loved the soft serve. Damn this thread, now I want a damn sundae!

Coincidentally, that restaurant is now an Italian restaurant, called Savannas, it's renovated but I think the hat style roof remains though. I'll pay more attention next time I drive past.
Fabulous
I havent seen a Pizza Hut all you can eat in the last 14 years but I have good memories of eating at them. You can still see the buildings around that used to be pizza hut because they have the distinctive pointy top. When I was at uni I used to eat at the KFC all you can eat. I remember they provided everything: salad, chicken, dessert but not chips.
Straight*No*Chaser
There is one in Townsville. I was surprised to see it as I thought they'd all shut down years ago. We haven't been, although we did go to Sizzler once at the boys request. I remember in the early 90s, going to many birthdays at Pizza Hut.

I remember KFC all-you-can-eat too. They lost heaps of money (I worked at normal KFC at the time they stopped the Buffet restaurants). I can remember the terrible mousse they used to have as their token dessert bar... 3 different flavours.

fionah
QUOTE (Nicole @ 25/01/2011, 08:36 PM) *
There's one in St Andrews, between Liverpool and Campbelltown. It's walkable from my house, yum. We also have a Sizzler 5 mins by car away from us.

Nicole, we live at Yanderra, down near Bargo, for us to go out for dinner, everything is a drive. I will have to tell Hubby about pizza hut at St Andrews, especially if kids eat free..............
I will look out for it on my way home from work tomorrow. I will be all around Campbelltown & Minto tomorrow. I remember as a kid going to PH behind Campbelltown Mall for all you can eat. I think it is a gym now LOL.

I don't remember apple pizza, sounds interesting.

Fi
nomimac
lol Erin you must be near me lol..our local one is a plumbing shop original.gif
Cheer nomes
Belu
The Browns Plains one is still open and running in QLD, but there is no way I would ever eat there. Last time we went it was a grease pit and a friend of mine got sick last time she went there too.
Veryclucky
There is one still in Gympie- not sure of quality as have only driven past on the highway.

I have fond memories of a 4wd trip with Scouts when I was 16. It was from Brissie through the Simpson Desert and Central Australia. In Alice Springs- we went to a Pizza Hut all you can eat and had a pizza eating contests.

The poor staff were run off their feet keeping the supply up. 12 hungry teenagers ate a lot of pizza. I am proud (although a little disgusted blush.gif sick.gif ) that I managed to tie for first.

Not sure how much I ate but was at least 2 pizzas worth I reckon. Plus dessert

Also, the one at Strathpine, just north of Brissie is now an Optical warehouse and Pizza Hut moved to a tiny place on the diagonally opposite corner as just a takeaway place.
Strawberries
QUOTE (trina-p @ 26/01/2011, 11:41 AM) *

ours is a Liquorland...

mmmm, chocolate mousse.

anyone remember the submarines they used the serve? like a mega subway type roll with ham cheese and salads etc. an olive on a toothpick sticking out the top as the "periscope" and a bag of smiths chips poured out between the 2 halves.

oh and the activity packs too... and the gingerbread 'men'

YouAreMySunshine
How much is it Per Person these days?

I think it use to be $5.95pp years ago.
Lilura
there is still one at MT Druitt... but if you are going to go just for the dessert bar (my favourite Tounge1.gif ) their soft serve machine has been out of order for about 6mths Tounge1.gif

will need to try the campbelltown one sometime now that I know about it.... ><
caterpillar~girl
I don't think we have any in Perth anymore.

One old Pizza Hut is now a Daycare and another was a Fish Feast, not sure if it still is . .
misshavok
The one in Morayfield QLD was in a row of shops, not a stand-alone building. I think it turned into a newsagency first, not quite sure what it is now though. There is a standard takeaway store now on the same road but across the other side and up a little.

I know Toowoomba still has a dine-in restaurant though.
blueberrymuffin
Where is the one left in SA?

They still have them, going strong, in Canada. Yet another thing I miss.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.