The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Due 16th - 31st Mar, 11 #34

Essential Baby > Pregnancy > What Month are You Due?
Pages: 1, 2, 3
~A2~

nickyblue
GOLD!!

Thanks for the kick Lauren - now I'm home I can catch up properly!

Misty - sounds like bubs movement to me but I'm told you can have BH without really knowing it! I think that's what happening to me!
bini48
bbaby.gif SILVER bbaby.gif
Binxi
Bronze
SingleSweetPea
(.)(.) PRIZE!!!
Binxi
Those are some nice pink Bazoongas you've got there SSP!

Does anyone sometimes go to call someone on here by there real name and not their user name? Even if I never type it I see the user name but my brain thinks real name.
SingleSweetPea
QUOTE (Binxi @ 12/01/2011, 06:37 PM) *
Those are some nice pink Bazoongas you've got there SSP!

Does anyone sometimes go to call someone on here by there real name and not their user name? Even if I never type it I see the user name but my brain thinks real name.

Thanks wink.gif lol never had big boobs (always been a small A...) and now I'm a B I figure I should show them off lol they're about the same size as those wink.gif roll2.gif

I do have that name issue although Chrissy & Claire are easy lol their names that is Tounge1.gif

Bub's kicking up a storm today!! I'm so excited biggrin.gif She's EVERYWHERE!

I can't remember what anyone else said...ummm... waves.gif to Misty! Good to see you around!! NFI on the BH - still not convinced I'm having them...think so but not sure...lol

roll2.gif @ MzP's bedroom antics induced BHs wink.gif You go girl Tounge1.gif

bini48
Yes! And the other way too. I think I may have accidently called you Binxi on FB a couple of times. huh.gif LOL.
~ Claire ~
biggrin.gif yup all the time (names)
namie

Not me, I'm hopeless at remembering names and usernames! But then, I don't check out the FB page very often. I can never remember details of many people at all on EB, either.

All well with me. I'm remembering to take my vitamins now that my OB has added a vit D and the bloody iron supplement. I feel so full before I've even finished breakfast, but this morning I cleverly took all the supplement tablets/capsules with the iron-filled OJ, rather than with water and then having to drink a glass of OJ on top, like I did on Monday - felt so bloated going in to work.

gymjunkie, I'm glad to hear the GD eating is going ok. I googled it for eating ideas since I'm just under the cut off but need to be careful, and it seems like they just promote a fairly balanced, healthy eating plan as such, limiting your sugary intake.
It was heartening to read that you had managed to still have some cake and have your blood sugar still be within the allowed range! Means I maybe don't have to be quite so strict as I was thinking!

Can't remember anything else from the previous thread, ladies, sorry!

Hope everyone in QLD is safe and not too badly inundated with water. Thinking of you all bbighug.gif
Binxi
Never fear- I get called Binxi in real life by certain friends so I don't care if you call me that on FB. At the same time, of you call me Bianca here it's not going to worry me either.

Bubs seems to be taking up more and more room every day! Hard when you sit at a desk all day. I'm also noticing that I'm able to identify better what body part is what- we had our first foot protrusion the other day blink.gif . It was very weird!
audree
mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif I typed a huge catch up post that I had taken notes for just so I could keep up and I lost my internet just as I was clicking post.... ohmy.gif So here I go again... Sorry if it's really long, I'm really slack at posting these days.

Firstly, I finally cracked and went to the physio today as the sciatic has been so bad. She was really good and has me taped up like a mummy which is interesting as I can't bend or sit very well, but it has helped so much with the pain! Ahhh, finally some relief. She said I have to have the tape till Monday and if it has helped she will order me a support belt.

I want the girls in QLD to know Im thinking of you and I hope and your families stay safe hhugs.gif

As I said on FB I was told yesterday my iron is low so Im on the iron tablets with orange juice. Trouble is I have gone right off red meat which apparently is quite common during pg, so Im eating truckloads of steamed broccoli, which hopefully will also combat any threat of constipation!!

Sally, what do you do for work? Do you really work with animals?

Binxi, I love being able to see a foot or a bum poking out... it's so special.

Misty, I am having full on BH that wake me in the middle of the night. My whole belly goes rock hard for a good minute. There's no movements from baby while it's like that. What you are describing sounds to me like baby moving. They still have room to turn right around and that's what it sounds like to me. I didn't have BH at all with my DD so didn't know what they were like, but I do now!

Im hearing you all on the hot thing... I wake up completely drenched in sweat... even when it's not that hot.

I still get confused with you all... I had a look at the fb page with everyones names but I can't remember who's who when on eb. I still can't remember who's in what state! Baby brain? I need to be more nana like and write it down!

So who's in Vic?

Audree xo
Pinkbug
Hello original.gif Just popping in and noticed I've missed loads again! Very quick to go through a thread ladies! biggrin.gif

Gosh I can't remember much of what I just read this late at night but I'll comment on what I can remember:

Our names - ooh I have had the problem in reverse more too...calling people their eb username on fb. There are a few now in our fb group who I must not be fb friends with and I'm struggling to place them on here because of that I think. I need to go to that username discussion again over on fb to work out once and for all who those few are who I'm not friends with. Lol.

Braxton's - goodness me I get them lots! I've always been like that though, for all three pregnancies. I know there's a condition called irritable uterus (I think it's that anyway) but I don't know if I'd qualify as I've never actually looked into it or even told my Obs about the regularity, just that I get lots. My tummy goes very hard and I sometimes need to brace myself a bit. It's very uncomfortable and, for this pregnancy and my last (I don't remember it happening with my first), it's accompanied with period-type pains too. I've heard you can get them more when you have been overdoing things a bit too much but I don't know, I seem to get them regardless...probably between 3 and say 15 or 20 times each hour. huh.gif It's not too bad unless baby is shifting and I have a Braxton while a leg or something is stuck in an uncomfortable position (sticking out funny), as that's where everything stays for a good 20 seconds. Ouch! They also usually make me feel like I need to go to the bathroom for a #1 (sorry! Lol)...the feeling usually passes after it stops. biggrin.gif Was it Misty who mentioned the knuckle scraping along inside? I get this lots too but I assumed that was just regular baby movements now there's not much space. It's very alien-like sometimes hey?! I've noticed now there's less space too, how we're probably feeling our babies moving lots, even while they're asleep and just shifting position, rather than when they're awake and exercising for instance. Quite often there's a position change then nothing for a little while...seemingly sleeping. wub.gif

Someone mentioned Boori sleigh cots...was it MZPurlple? I loved them before Jasper was born too and my DH tried to make a similar one! He did a good job (I'll see if I can post up a pic or two after I post this) but it took ages and was expensive anyway. I still need to organise a little plaque to go on the end saying who made it (DH and my step-dad) as it will most certainly get passed down through the generations (assuming my boys' future wives would like it I suppose!). I sanded and painted it after Jasper was born (he was in a bassinet first) because DH was too lazy! laugh.gif

I'm buying a snuggle bed type thing for the baby tomorrow from the Target catalogue. I never slept with Jasper in our bed when he was little (for fear of squishing him or suffocating him under our sheets etc) but I was so exhausted when Gabriel was a baby that I did find myself wanting to breastfeed in bed and just leave him there afterwards. I did it quite a bit (despite the bassinet being right there, he also preferred to fall asleep while feeding, and I thought it was a nice message to him that it was night time rather than day time, so he'd sleep longer with a different routine) but was always nervous. This little bed thing might not work well for feeding to sleep, considering it has sides, but I figure it will be worth a try knowing that it would make a nice transition to the cot a little later should it be used for nothing else. This one also must zip up or something (it has carry handles), so would be great to pop on a friend's bed when you're out and about for instance. Check it out!

Baby names - I've put potential first names, first middle names, and second middle names into a spreadsheet and I now have over 7000 combinations! Eek! laugh.gif I'm narrowing it down all the time though and I'm happy to wait until I see baby to make the final decision. Lots of fun...so many nice names though, that's the hardest thing!

Well I must go and have a shower and get to bed. I'm still working my way through the Twilight books (I'm about halfway through the last book now) and I'm at a good spot. I can never read much each night but I do love my 10 minutes read time! laugh.gif

Hope everyone is doing well, I am a bit lost as to who is now amongst the flooding. Hopefully everyone is safe, so scary! sad.gif

SingleSweetPea
Pinkbug - AMAZING job on the cot!!! How much did it cost to make??
Pinkbug
Thanks SSP! I don't even know how much it would have cost in the end, we were buying things for it all the time over the space of perhaps 6 months...much more than we could have bought a nice cot for (maybe not a Boori though, not sure). wink.gif He always spoke of wanting to make them to sell but thought against it (even after starting his apprenticeship to learn how to make furniture properly) because he didn't think anyone would buy them for what he'd have to charge. He's not doing his apprenticeship anymore either, in part because he's worked out he's too much of a perfectionist to make any money on furniture-making...everything takes him too long to get it to his standard, and if he works faster he makes mistakes. It's really lovely irl and I'm so lucky he persevered and got it finished. wub.gif

Hope you all have a nice day. How are the floods going? Please tell me the worst is over??! sad.gif

31 weeks today!

sophlaw
Pinkbug - that cot is unbelievable!!! I'm sure your DH would make a lot of money out of making them if he wanted - I'm not sure how much he would charge but I'm pretty sure the Boori ones retail for like $900 or more. WOW!! And is it DS1 in there - he looks so tiny and cute wub.gif

Gosh i am sleepy today - we have been having crappy weather here in Tassie (which i know i shouldn't complain about becasue in comparision to Queensland we are lucky). But it is 9am and it is still dark. I have forgotten what the sun looks like AND i am sick of having the clothes horse up with wet clothes just hanging limply off it. I am definitly going to need a dryer in the winter for the baby clothes.

I can't wait for lunch - i am heading to Target - i hope every other man and his dog isn't there though, although they probably will be. SSP did your brother get the cot for you? Did you end up gettign white?

Anyway i better head off. Hvae a good day everyone.

P.S special thoughts for Chrissy and Gymjunkie and anyone else in the Queensland northern NSW region - i hope you and your families are ok in the floods.

Sparkling
Yeah Pinkbug - beautiful cot and a lovely heirloom piece for the family.

SSP - its just after 9am - so is yours bought now ? Brother done his day's work for you ? biggrin.gif
rachberry
Pinkbug - That cot is amazing! What clever men you have there!

The lining underneath our couch has been pulled off by our cats and I asked DH to staple it on last night. He said the lining was too flimsy and couldn't do it. While trying to make tea before guests arrived I thought I'd give it a quick go cause he's not always the best problem solver. Hmmm..maybe if he'd checked if the staples were coming our first rolleyes.gif Somehow I don't think he'll be attempting any furniture in the near future.

Audree - I'm in country Vic - been here 3 1/2 years. All our family live in Adelaide though so that's sort of home too.

I don't think I've had any BH yet and although I can see body parts making little mountains on my body I really couldn't be sure what's what. It would be nice to know.. any tips?
MzPurple
Pinkbug - Yes it was me the mentioned the Boori cots. Your DH has done a fantastic job! I will see how we go with getting some quotes to get it made but it may end up cheaper just to buy it. I can get one for about $799 from the baby shop here. Which is still expensive but I just love them.

I'm so tired today sad.gif It feels like QLD weather here at the moment, its so muggy and its only been about 24 degrees. It has been cloudy everyday which has held the warmth in I think. Indigestion/heartburn has been getting me everynight before bed which has been fun!

Audree - I'm a Victorian here too. Are you enjoying the weird weather we are having at the moment?

Fran1990
Pinkbug- That cot is gorgeous! The cot is the only thing I haven't got yet, as my family are getting me it as a present. Really want one similar to that now wub.gif

Audree-I'm from Vic too, in the North West.

DP and I swore we were not going to buy any more clothes but this Target sale seems too good to pass up.
eks81
Pinkbug, just beautiful that cot is.

I am seriously struggling today. I am getting so uncomfortable and just can't sleep. It's also too damn hot and muggy!!! I fell asleep on the lounge last night at about 8pm and woke up about 10 and took myself up to bed - where of course, I couldn't get back to sleep!!! I have started getting up more often in the night to go to the loo as well, and it seems as though I'm breathing a bit easier today, so I'm wondering if bubs has settled a bit further down in my pelvis? I spoke to my boss about going from our 9 day fortnight to an 8 day fortnight (so a day off each week) and she's happy for me to do that which is great. With the RDO's I already get and Australia Day coming up, I think it's only 2 or 3 less days overall anyway.

Oh, and 1 last thing - I finally bought some nappies today!!! Only 2 of them, but it's better than nothing! Just got 2 of the rocket prints from Cushie Tushie as they're discontinuing the print so you can get 2 for the price of 1. Unfortunately, it was the only boys print they had, but at least it's a start!

Be back later to check up on everyone - good to hear that some of the flood waters are receding and that the Brisbane River didn't get as bad as they were expecting.
nickyblue
PB - That cot is awesome!!!

MzP - Yep we've had similar weather down here but it's just broken and is raining now which I don't mind if it clears some of the muggyness!

SSP - hope your target shopping trip was productive!

Rach - your hubby sounds like mine - we have a running joke in our house that it's not DIY in our house its DBN - Done by Nic! It's safer that way! We have an ikea tall boy that dh put together (he was trying to be helpful) and I came home to find these 4 wodden blocks left over - bless him he was convinced they'd given him extra wood unsure.gif until I pointed out that they were the feet - and that they were supposed to go on first! So now the tallboy is footless and it always makes me giggle - extra wood!

Target Sale - well I get paid tomorrow so I am going to have to hold out till then - which might be a good thing - tonight I want to go through the babies stuff again and assess what we really need - I think I will find we don't need much as I don't want to buy up big on clothes till we know if we are buying pink or blue!!! but there was a feeding starter kit in the catalouge I'd been looking at so fingers crossed there are still some left!

Anyway - going to try and be productive again today - bbl no doubt!
SingleSweetPea
OMG TARGET SALE!!!!!!

My bro was there at 8am (bless his cotton socks!) and there was only ONE sitting at the door so he held on to it and called me because he coudn't move it (37kgs!) and they had NO staff on!! So I rushed up and thought "This'll be easy" except he had to leave because the cops were waiting at mum's place to fingerprint (her garage got broken into yesterday...nothing taken that we can tell but scary!)!! So I found a woman to help me & she got the cot & mattress codes, had to wait in line for 10min (only 2 staff on checkouts...) and then had to go to the loading dock and wait some more...took about 45min!!! Grrr!!

Oh well it's in my car so all I need to do now is take it home, get someone to get it out of my car & assemble it for me!

So much stuff I wanted to buy but haven't been paid so can't lol

Gotta get back to work but will BBL waves.gif
Binxi
QUOTE (Pinkbug @ 12/01/2011, 11:09 PM) *
Lots of pretty pictures

DH is very clever! That is absolutely gorgeous. I love how strong and sturdy it looks. Makes my Ikea cot look like it would fall apart at the merest breeze!

QUOTE (rachberry @ 13/01/2011, 08:41 AM) *
I'm in country Vic - been here 3 1/2 years. All our family live in Adelaide though so that's sort of home too.

I don't think I've had any BH yet and although I can see body parts making little mountains on my body I really couldn't be sure what's what. It would be nice to know.. any tips?

I was sure you were an SA girl like me? I must have been confused. No BH here either- and I've been assured once I get them, I'll know about it!

QUOTE (Fran1990 @ 13/01/2011, 09:08 AM) *
I'm from Vic too, in the North West.

DH is from Western Victoria (Edehnhope). Are you anywhere near there? We go back quite a bit to see his family.

Eks Yay for the nappies. I'm getting a little bit obsessed with them myself. I'm limiting what I'm buying now as we are seriously broke trying to get this pram paid off by next weekend! I got the pink cammo and high tea nappies. Dh got a little bit sweet when he saw them set on the smallest size ("omigod, is our baby really going to be that little?!?!")

Hello to everyone else.

In our Baby Bounce thread there were a bunch of us who started trying all at the same time and we've had two babies and one due any day. They got pregnant a couple of cycles before me but it brings it home just how close we are!
md86
Hi everyone.. hope you are all well.

I just finished up work.. was pretty much forced to take my annual leave and then maternity leave... i wasnt planning on going on mat leave for another 3 weeks..but i guess its better this way..im glad to get out of there.. boss was really unsupportive and did not give a rats at all..said she had my replacement already, wanted my work done and then for me to go..

pinkbug- love the cot original.gif we have the ordered the boori sleigh cot..cant wait to get all the furniture and set it up..should be all happening within the next month hopefully.

i soo want to buy things at target but am holding back.. everyones telling me not to because i havent had my baby shower yet...there are so many cute clothes but because bubs is a surprise i cant really buy much anyway!

i think ive had BH too..occasionally i have felt my tummy go really hard for a little bit..then back to normal..
and bubs has been really active too.. now ive started feeling it kick my ribs and push my hip bones..bubs getting much stronger lol

31 weeks today original.gif
namie
Pinkbug, your cot is gorgeous! I can't believe your DH is so clever! He should go in to 'artisan' furniture making. Some people will pay exorbitant amounts for good quality furniture when it's marketed as a one-off artisan piece. That way he can spend as long as he wants getting the quality he wants, and also get the financial return he needs.

We I fell in love with the Boori cots when searching for a cot for DS and purposely didn't take DP in to Target or any other store except ones that sold Boori blush.gif We got a country collection one that I can't remember the name of. It converts into a toddler bed and a couch so my thinking was that he'd sleep in it until 3 or 4 (they seem so tiny to be going in to a single bed age 2!) and then it would a couch in his room for pre-bed story time.

DS is still far too little now to go into a single bed, so we're hoping to get the exact same cot for baby #2 and then one day when the kids are sharing a room (DPs plan!) the two couches will go in the toy room (most likely a bedroom), which will only work if we can get the exact same one in the exact same timber colour!

But even if they don't share, and so don't have a toy room as such, it'll be nice to have a couch to sit on as they grow up. Well, that's my justification for such a huge cost!

Off shopping with DP today, but he hates it, so it'll only be a short trip. I need to exchange my Christmas gift from him. I feel bad doing so, but the silver Tiffany pendant he gave me for Christmas is too big (it feels too heavy on my chest and my plan was to have a necklace that I wear all the time) and I know it comes in a smaller size, so we're off to see if we can swap it.

And, it's the perfect day for a shopping trip at the mall! It's just starting raining and it's so horribly muggy I'm looking forward to free aircon!

Have a good day, lovely ladies.

Hope you're all coping ok in QLD bbighug.gif
MzPurple
md86 - That sux about your boss's attitude, will be nice to be finished up from work though! Did you order your Boori Sleigh cot locally? I've been looking around to get a good deal, and also going to get a quote to get one made.
Fran1990
Binxi-No where near I'm closer to the city although, for some reason its still classified North-West.

Just got in my car to go to work and it won't turn on. I'm so upset, work said not to come in today and just come tomorrow thank gosh. I hate that stupid old car its so old, and I only had to sell my good one because my brother needed money. I bought it for 1800 and have probably spent more than that with all the friggin trouble its had. And my DP doesn't drive, or my brother, or my Dad even. My mum is the only one who drives and she like 5 hours away. And I was supposed to do my food shopping today and its pouring outside, I can't bring it home on public transport and its SO HUMID. Haven't even eaten yet today sad.gif

Sorry about the mini rant but so upset right now.
~ Claire ~
hugs Fran that sucks about the car sad.gif

Pinkbug that cot looks awesome DP did an awesome job on it!
SingleSweetPea
bbighug.gif fran

slc5
Hi guys
We just got power back after 2 days without! Our house is fine but there are 3000 people in Ipswich alone whose house have been flooded sad.gif DD's school did get flooded, not sure how bad yet.
I hope all the other girls in SE Qld are ok.

Sorry I haven't caught up on all the thread yet, but hope everyone is feeling good :-)
SingleSweetPea
What a week - so tired. yyawn.gif

Mum's place got broken into yesterday rant.gif & cops couldn't get finger prints off anything when they turned up this morning and now a pipe in her yard is leaking & flooding nextdoors yard...*sigh*

Can I go home now??

**JUST IN CASE - don't mention the B&E on FB, mum doesn't know yet - no point ruining her holiday**

ETA - ok my events are nowhere near as bad as QLD floods & girls up there. Just venting. blush.gif
sally82
This humidity can just go and get stuffed as far as I'm concerned. The cleaning and feeding this morning just about killed me! It's raining here now and the humidity has dropped a bit but it's still pretty horrible.

Gymjunkie-thank heavens your house didn't flood. The news footage of the floods has been heartbreaking.

Audree-I work at an animal pound and boarding kennels so deal with dogs, cats, birds, rabbits etc. Pretty much anything that comes in as a stray or that people want boarded while on holidays.
I'm also in vic, south east/mornington pennisula area.

Fran-sucks about the car. Hope you can gget it sorted soon.

Pinkbug-That cot is gorgeous!!

Hello to everyone I've missed. Hope all is well.

Just wondering how long it is safe to continue DTD? If everything is going well can you go up till your due date? It gets a little uncomfortable here and there but otherwise still enjoying.
md86
bbighug.gif to all the girls who need one..

mzpurple- we ordered the cot from baby warehouse..i think it was $800..so expensive but we really love it and figured we will get good use out of it after when we have more kids and because its convertible..
but the chest of draws/change table ddoh.gif costs even more then the cot...

audree
QUOTE (sally82 @ 13/01/2011, 02:27 PM) *
Audree-I work at an animal pound and boarding kennels so deal with dogs, cats, birds, rabbits etc. Pretty much anything that comes in as a stray or that people want boarded while on holidays.
I'm also in vic, south east/mornington pennisula area.

Just wondering how long it is safe to continue DTD? If everything is going well can you go up till your due date? It gets a little uncomfortable here and there but otherwise still enjoying.

Oooh you're kinda near me! I live in Phillip Island. Your job sounds amazing, but I think I would cry everyday and want to take them all home!!
What hospital are you booked into to have bubby? Im going to Sandringham.
As for DTD, the only time it isn't safe is if you have any bleeding or once your waters have broken or leaked. If it's comfortable then go for it I say! DF and I still are!

Fran, hhugs.gif to you honey... I hope you've eaten!

Pinkbug, the cot is absolutely stunning! Well done to DH and you for sanding and painting! Oh and your little man looks waaaaay too cute in there! wub.gif

There are a few of us in VIC. How bad is this humidity?! Im showering 2-3 times a day cause I feel so yuck.

SSP, excuse my ignorance but what's the B&E?

Gymjunkie, Im thinking of you and I hope you and your family stay safe xo

Im off to target tomorrow, Pinkbug I think I might get one of those little sleeper thingys you mentioned. I used to co sleep with DD especially when BFing... Might be the alternative to a bassinet.

Audree xo

sophlaw
AK and i shopped it up in Target today!! Awesome savings.

I got some sheets, a 2 pack of mattress protectors, a sheepskin underlay, a cotton blanket and 5 coveralls for just over $100!! I could have bought so much more SO many cute girlie things!!

Sally - DTD is a goer as long as it is still comfy and your doctor or midwife has given you the ok. It is getting a bit hard to find a good position though these days!!!

MD - don't get sucked in to buying the other Boori furniture - i was going to get a matching chest of drawers but they were $900. I ended up getting some from our local furniture place for $250 and they stained it to nearly exactly the same colour (i bought the english oak in the cot). Unless of course you want to spend that much!!

Gymjunkie - glad to hear you are ok. So sad about DD's school, I hope there isn't too much damage.

Anyway lovelies BBL for a look.

audree
QUOTE (Lauren:) @ 13/01/2011, 03:15 PM) *
AK and i shopped it up in Target today!! Awesome savings.

I got some sheets, a 2 pack of mattress protectors, a sheepskin underlay, a cotton blanket and 5 coveralls for just over $100!! I could have bought so much more SO many cute girlie things!!

OOOH thats making me soo excited for my trip to target tomoz!! ddance.gif
SingleSweetPea
QUOTE (audree @ 13/01/2011, 03:07 PM) *
SSP, excuse my ignorance but what's the B&E?

B&E - Break & Enter
audree
QUOTE (SingleSweetPea @ 13/01/2011, 03:36 PM) *
B&E - Break & Enter

oh right, how long is your mum away on holidays for? Poor you.. must be quite stressful!
eks81
I have to go into Target tonight to take a look at a portacot that my MIL saw and wants to make sure is decent before she buys it....looks like the bank account might be taking a hit while we're there!!! Even if it isn't clothes, we still need so many other things....nappy buckets,

gymjunkie, glad to hear your house escaped unscathed. Hopefully your daughters school isn't too bad. It is still just so unbelievable seeing the pictures.

As for DTD...does anyone find their bubs goes a little crazy afterwards? It's almost like he knows what's going on and giving us grief about it!

ETA: SSP, hopefully not much was taken from your mum's place. Bastards.
namie
QUOTE (sally82 @ 13/01/2011, 02:27 PM) *

As long as you get the all clear from Ob or midwife, you can definitely DTD right up until birth. In fact, in the last week or so, you may be keen to try and help labour start! Apparently something in sperm is similar to the hormone used to trigger labour. Can't remember what it's called though. It doesn't always work, but can't hurt to try, right wwhistle.gif

If you do keep going, would you mind (if it's not too much to ask) sharing (in broad details, no need to turn this in to the Kama Sutra of DIGs) any positions that work? DP and I had a great deal of trouble getting comfy during my last pregnancy.

QUOTE (md86 @ 13/01/2011, 02:32 PM) *
but the chest of draws/change table ddoh.gif costs even more then the cot...

We splurged on the change table/drawers, too blush.gif I wanted them to match! I don't think we can justify it this time around, though, so I might get a cheapy set of drawers for DS and just do his nappy changes on the floor, then move the drawers/change table combo into the baby's room.

Little Bean is in the most uncomfortable position at the moment and it really hurts. I think there is a foot or elbow wedged against my stomach to the right of my belly button. Rubbing and massage hurts and does nothing to dislodge it. I've even had my iron-with-OJ supplement and some chocolate in the hope that th combination might spur him/her into some activity and move away from my stomach lining, but no such luck. I think I'll have to go try to recline on the couch and hope this provides enough room for movement.
MzPurple
Loving these target stories! I really want to go in but haven't got anytime!! They should open late everynight when they have these sales on!!!
slc5
SSP - that sucks about your mum's house, I hate burglers, how dare they go into peoples houses and help themselves, it makes me so mad

Sally - I agree with namie, DTD can bring on labour, in fact it helped with DD, she came a week early after DH and I DTD ph34r.gif I think my waters broke within a few hours biggrin.gif

md86 - if you really love it, it's not a waste original.gif Like you said you can reuse for other kids, and always sell it after you've finished with it and recoup at least a bit of money on it.

audree - humidity sounds terrible down there!

Lauren - all your Target buys sound awesome!

eks - yes our baby goes a bit crazy after DTD too, DH said he wondered if that's why our baby turned upside down, all the jiggling around roll2.gif

namie -
in broad details, no need to turn this in to the Kama Sutra of DIGs

biggrin.gif
DTD positions, the only thing that is any good for us at the moment is side by side, doesn't really do much for me honestly, but better than nothing I guess wink.gif

I'm sorry if I've missed anyone with personals.

Thanks everyone for your thoughts. It's nice to be able to come in here and be able to read about 'normal' stuff and get away from the flooding stuff for a while.

I saw pictures of DD's school today and the water is about 1.5 metres in their new school hall sad.gif It was only finished in about October and all they've held in there is the school concert and some other end of year things. This is one of the higher points in the school, so I can only imagine what the rest of the school is like. DD has an upstairs classroom so that will be fine, but I really don't think she's going to be able to start school in a week and a half. DS's kindy is fine, so hopefully he can start on time.

It really is very depressing and sad, none of my friends or families homes have been flooded, but places we visit/shop/drive past everyday are, so it is really really sad. The place I worked at for 2 years is flooded, which is just crazy to think about. I really never thought I would see a flood like this in my city.

Thankfully our friends that I was worried about are ok, they didn't have water in their house, but under it. They are farmers and their farm is basically ruined now. It is going to be a huge clean up for them. DH has a bobcat and excavator so as soon as he can get out there he will go out to help. There are still so many roads blocked, we can't really go anywhere much.

Sorry to ramble on about it, but it's really all we are thinking about!

The poor baby must be wondering what's going on out here! The other night when we were waiting to see what was happening I felt quite stressed and I was having so many Braxton Hicks. I told the baby it couldn't come out yet as we were cut off from the hospital. I had visions of getting helicoptered to the hospital, but luckily baby is still firmly in place biggrin.gif
slc5
The EB psychic Rose79 said I am having a girl, will be interesting to see if she's right biggrin.gif
audree
QUOTE (gymjunkie2 @ 13/01/2011, 05:12 PM) *
The EB psychic Rose79 said I am having a girl, will be interesting to see if she's right biggrin.gif

I've been so tempted to ask a question in there but I don't want to pin my hopes on anything they say!
Please don't be sorry, you are not rambling. It must be horrible what you're going through AND you're pg! We can deal with a bit of humidity, we still have our homes and belongings and we are safe... Feel free to talk about whats happening as much as you like!

As for DTD positions, we find spooning or me on top is the only option atm! And yes I find my belly gets very tight and there's a bit of action in there for a little while lol! blush.gif
nickyblue
ok ladies I need some advice:

I am in a lot of pain in my lower tummy - I am pretty sure its ligament pain but I can hardly move. It seems to get worse as the day goes on but its been there all day! Walking hurts, gettin in and out of the car hurts, standing hurts - is this normal? Is it just some extreme stretching? I was fine at work till about 3.30 then I was pretty much stuck in my chair - I don't want to call my MW or doctor - it sounds so lame "I'm pregnant and my tummy hurts! wink.gif "

So I thought I would turn to the best source a preggy woman could have - you guys!
Binxi
Sorry Nicky- I've got no idea. Even if you just call and describe what's going on they'll be able to tell you to come in or stop being a drama queen. It's so hard to know what is part of it and what should be raising alarm bells.

Re: DTD I like on top but with the angle I need to get things going, I end up crushing DH with the giant belly! He put up with it for a while without telling me but had to speak up as he couldn't breathe poor bugger! We tend to just go for DH behind me, at least I can then, um, give myself a helping hand if needs be blush.gif

SSP- F-Heads breaking into your mum's house. That's a b*st*rd!

Re: Target sales. I wasn't going to go in but I do need a pad for the change table, mattress protectors, oh, and a nappy bucket so bugger it, I'll have to go put things on layby anyway! I'm not allowed to go near the clothes though!

hugs to our QLD girls or to those who have friends and family here. It's been raining quite heavily here this afternoon, but you'd never complain about it with what's going on everywhere else. The weather gods do realise it's summer don't they?
~ Claire ~
does the pain come an go .. like in waves or is it constant .. should always ring ya M/W if concerned, you wont sound dumb, or anything best to be safe then sorry .. plus they would be millions of calls just like it! so my advice is call!!

DTD i find an have found it did NOTHING lol to bring on labour stubborn assed kid! lol i find the best position for me was me been on top an nup again lazy assed kids never seem active afterward's or during lol
~ Claire ~
just thought i would add to a M/W no question is a dumb question. biggrin.gif
audree
QUOTE (nickyblue @ 13/01/2011, 06:40 PM) *
ok ladies I need some advice:

I am in a lot of pain in my lower tummy - I am pretty sure its ligament pain but I can hardly move. It seems to get worse as the day goes on but its been there all day! Walking hurts, gettin in and out of the car hurts, standing hurts - is this normal? Is it just some extreme stretching? I was fine at work till about 3.30 then I was pretty much stuck in my chair - I don't want to call my MW or doctor - it sounds so lame "I'm pregnant and my tummy hurts! wink.gif "

So I thought I would turn to the best source a preggy woman could have - you guys!

Honey just call the midwife, that's what they are there for, and you won't sound silly. No question is dumb when it comes to you and your baby's health and wellbeing. I would definitely call if I wasn't sure.
Let us know how you are hhugs.gif

Just remembered, I once raced to my Gp cause I had a really bad dream when I was pg with DD, and I just had to go and hear the HB for peace of mind!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.