The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Due 1st - 15th Jul, 11 #8

Essential Baby > Pregnancy > What Month are You Due? > Archived DiG's > July 2011 Archived
Pages: 1, 2, 3
~A2~

PorkaPig
GOLD!!
bella7
SILVER!!

Going back to read old posts, BBL to post . .
B.M.C.M.I
Bronze! I wanted Gold but EB wouldn't agree with my computer!
PorkaPig
hehe Im glad cause I got to get gold You sound like you have a full house with your new addition! Love her name btw! We have a ragdoll kitten Lily who is psycho!

I am on my second breakfast for the day, the first one came up sad.gif

Its going to be 40 here today im not looking forward to it, the heat tends to make my morning sickness worse.
~lils~
Guess i'll take the (.)(.) then! biggrin.gif

Happy New Year everyone!!

I've been on hols so havent been around much, but will be back at work on tuesday sad.gif Only good thing about it is we have our first ob appt on tuesday and our 12 week scan on wed, so at least there is a lot of excitement this week! I think MS has started to ease as i dont feel nauseous all day long anymore, but it still comes and goes...

Nat - so glad to hear everything os okay with your little boy! And how exciting you know what he is already!!

Robbie - sorry to hear youve been fellin crook, but i hope you have been resting well and are feeling better soon hhugs.gif Congrats on 4 years married!! 2 months as well be in the same boat biggrin.gif

Bek - congrats on the newest member of your family!! Hope she settles in well biggrin.gif

sorry thats about all i can remember!! Hope everyone is going well and surviving the heat!
purplestone
Just a quick one from me.

Hope that everyone had a good New Years. I did make it, but we stayed at home. We are meant to have gone out tonight but I woke with the sorest throat and achie joints all over.
DF wanted me to stay home with the girls, but I put my foot down and told him that when he is sick he doesn't look after them and I wouldn't dream of leaving them with him whilst he was sick.
So all in all, he has taken them and I have some yummy soup for dinner.

Hope that everyone is doing better and I will try and get some personals in next time, but I am so tired all the time it is not funny.

Belly rubs to all.
saci70

Happy New Year! I hope everyone is starting to feel much better as we all move towards our 2nd trimesters. If my previous pregnancy was anything to go by, 2nd trimester is the easiest :-) Guess what I felt today??? Baby movements!! I knew that you felt them sooner in second & subsequent pregnancies but I didn't expect it quite this soon. (I think I started feeling DS a little bit around 18 - 20 weeks.) I was lying on my back in bed this morning and I felt a bit bubbly in my lower abdomen. At first I thought it was just gas but when I lay on my side it went away. As I was driving today it was really obvious and she seems to be pretty active at times which good. I got a bit freaked out later in the day when I got a biggish blob of CM but there is no blood to be seen so I have hoping it was just excessive CM & not my mucus plug which would obviously be a very bad sign at this early stage.

How is everyone else going?

Nat - I am really, really happy for you that your results came back all good & that you are having a little boy. Little boys are FANTASTIC!!! I love my DS & having grown up with only a sister, I am loving learning all about how active & loud little boys can be! Such fun :-)
studiobird

Your baby will only be inside of you for nine months, so enjoy the intimacy as long as it lasts.

Wishing you a healthy and love-filled pregnancy!

1st July

ColonelJess (Jess)
Baby #1
Gender prediction: bbluestork.gif
Lives: Melbourne

Jane23 (Jane)
Baby #3 (DS, DD & a DSD)
Gender prediction: shrug.gif
Lives:

2nd July

runlizrun (Liz)
Baby #2
Gender Prediction: ppinkstork.gif
Lives: Canberra

saci70 (Fran)
Baby #2 - son is 3
Gender prediction: ppinkstork.gif (not sure why!)
Lives: Mornington Peninsula
Confirmed: ppinkstork.gif IT"S A GIRL!

somebody (Leanne)
Baby #2 - (DD1)
Gender Prediction: shrug.gif
Lives: Gold Coast

3rd July

scorpiokelly75 (Kelly)
Baby #1

countrybumpkin (Simone)
Baby #5
Lives: Perth

NatandBub (Natalie)
Baby #1
Gender prediction: ppinkstork.gif
Lives: Adelaide
Confirmed - bbluestork.gif IT'S A BOY!

whiskers83 (Jen)
Babies #2 and #3
Gender prediction: ID TWINS shrug.gif
Expecting TWINS ID.

tweeti2
Baby #4
Lives: Rural NSW

4th July

Judi_Anne (Judi)
Baby # 3 (+ DSD)
Gender prediction shrug.gif
Lives: North Brisbane

violetblue (nicole)
Baby # ?

MummaofRubyRose (Chrissy)
Baby # 2 (Angel Ruby 28.06.10)
Lives: Brisbane

5th July

B.M.C.M (Beck)
Baby #3

6th July

batray (Bec)
Baby #1
Gender prediction: :girl:
Lives: South West QLD

Perrier-Jouet (--)
Baby #2

7th July

Mel_W (Mel)
Baby #1
Lives: East Gippsland

Podlette - Suse
Baby #1
Lives:

Robbie (Robyn)
Baby #2 (Susannah)
Lives: Sydney

8th July

studiobird (Kristie)
Baby #2
Gender prediction: bbluestork.gif (for now!)

mummy p (Penny)
Babies #5 & #6!
Gender prediction: bbluestork.gif (identical)
Lives: Kwinana Perth

kysa123 (Kylie)
Baby #1
Lives:

10th July

Adarp
Baby #1
Gender Prediction: ppinkstork.gif

11th July

thinking3 (--)
Baby #2

zibble (--)
Baby #2
Lives: Adelaide

Sally05 (Sally)
Baby #1

12th July

gollygosh76 (Jill)
Baby #2

Louellala
Baby #1

13th July

bella7 (Justine)
Baby #2 (DD 9m)
Lives:

Nix (Nikki)

Baby number #2
Gender prediction: Girl
Lives: SW Sydney

15th July

Candytops
Baby #1 (?)

Purplestone (Amy)
Baby number #3

"The Ring Ins"

16th July

Mummy to HJ (Sarah)
Baby #2

Lils
Baby #1
Lives: Wollongong

H.H.123 (Hanan)
Baby #2

awaiting dating scans

chelbean (Rachael)
Baby #2
Lives: Brisbane

tweeti2
Baby #4
Lives: Rural NSW

Angels given their wings
Remembered by us all on this journey...

Finngirl (Anna)
Baby #2
Given Wings November 22nd 2010

silver rain (Julie)
Baby #2
Given Wings December 9th 2010

RosieTea (Paula)
Baby #3
Given Wings December 15th 2010

Please PM studiobird if you'd like your details added to the list or need your details updated.
bella7
Hi everyone - happy new year!

Nat - congratulations on your scan and the news about your baby boy...how exciting!!

Saci - also v. exciting that you felt your first movements. It makes everything seem so real when you feel those first flutters!

Purplestone - sorry you are not feeling well, but glad that DH took the kids and gave you some time out. Hope you are feeling better soon! I am soooo looking forward to getting through the next couple of weeks. In my last pg I felt HEAPS better - almost back to normal - when I hit about 15 weeks. I'm just so ridiculously sick of being tired ALL the time.

Lils - good luck with your appt & scan this week, hope everything goes well for you!
We're back to work on Tues too, very sad the hols have come to an end. It has been a godsend having DH home to help with our inquisitive (and speedy!) crawling DD, we have done some babyproofing & it's been great to be able to have an afternoon nap while he looks after her!

PJ - hope you survived the heat today, and that your MS subsides soon.

Had a quiet day at home today - had an energy burst & made some cherry jam this afternoon - yum!! DH is going to make scones tomorrow so we can try it out.

DD is asleep & DH and I are going to watch Doubt (have had it for ages & haven't got around to watching it) - hope I make it to the end without falling asleep!
kysa123
original.gif original.gif
CODE
Happy new year everyone!!
Hanan.H
Happy new year to everyone! Hope 2011 is filled with happiness and success for all!

Wow! It's amazing how much there is to catch up on when you come back on the site after days of absence.

B.M.C.M: Congratulations on the new addition! Gorgeous name... Hope she settles in soon.

~Lils~: Best of luck with your appointment and scan. Hope all goes well.

Purplestone: Get well soon! It's great to have a child-free moment to yourself sometimes, especially when you're sick and the most important thing you need is to look after yourself first.

Saci70: Awww! Baby movements! I'm so convinced that I can feel mine too sometimes but I'm trying not to get too excited until they are very distinct. With my first pregnancy that was at exactly 18 weeks, but I'm assuming I'll feel it earlier this time around.

Studiobird: Love the new sig!

Bella7: I've been waiting for an energy burst for weeks now but still nothing, lol! There are so many things around the house that need to be done. I know how you feel regarding the tiredness. With my first pregnancy, it went away as soon as the second trimester began, almost like the switch of a button. Not happening yet this time around. Enjoy your movie and the (rare) alone time with your DH! original.gif
studiobird
Morning all!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

2011 is going to be a monumentous year for us all. Some are becoming parents for the first time, others are repeating the process. The first half of the year will be preparing, and the second half of the year will be learning and adjusting to life with a newborn. This time next year we will have 6 month old babies who will be sitting and cooing and trying solids...

We will have changed what feels like a million nappies, laughed a thousand laughs, cried a thousand tears (both of joy and of sorrow and a bit in between!).... 2011 will be a defining year for us all. I cannot wait to share it with you!

Sydney women - it's 2011 and sometime in February (?) we should meet up. I am in Ryde, and have a child friendly house, and plenty of space if people are interested - otherwise we can go out somewhere (though I know that finances will be a consideration for some!). Details will be on the Facebook page as the time comes closer...

h.h.123
- Thanks for the comment on my new sig! I thought now that I am at the 13 week mark it was time to do something a bit more positive!

saci70 - I am certain I am feeling movements too. I didn't think it was to start with - but after a few days, I think it might be. I keep meditating at night with my hand on my belly to see if it is true. It's a lovely ritual for me to connect to this baby. I have also had lots of excessive mucus this pregnancy too..

Lils - good luck on the appointment. I hope it is a wonderful experience for you!

Bella7 - I've been feeling very energetic, but I tend to hit the wall around 9pm at night... and just crash. Exhausted, dizzy, just need to lie down. It is driving me crazy.

purplestone - good for you putting your foot down! My hubby is pretty good with taking my DD when I am sick, and making sure she is occupied. Only on the rare occassion does he get very selfish wink.gif

AFM - well, I've been helping my mum get one of her houses ready for new tenants. They are moving in sometime very soon and it's fully furnished so we are cleaning, painting, installing, constructing etc.. so while I am not doing much at all - it is exhausting and I have been crashing out and just wanting to lay down at night. Ends up not being very sociable!

We go on holidays in just over a week, so that will be nice. At least, I hope so. Likelihood is that it will rain (it rains EVERY time we go camping), so we are hoping it is all going to work out.

Hoping everyone else is doing really well!
goldimouse
Good morning wonderful ladies!

We're having babies this year - how exciting is that ::goofy grin::

I really should join the facebook group, I held off because the DIG I was in with DD has a FB group which started about the same time and I thought I'd get confused if I joined two at once, since there were some people in there who I'd not met before (it was for both DIGs from June 2009 so half the people I didn't know and I was sure I'd get confused). Who do I PM for an invite?

Kristie, I am in Sydney too and would be all over a meet up original.gif good luck with camping - we were invited to go with my siblings and some friends over this weekend but Susannah has not been sleeping well with the heat and I am already struggling to roll over in bed sad.gif So we said we'd come next year instead.

HH123 - I thought I may have felt a flutter the other day as well, but it probably wasn't. I know what I'm waiting to feel this time so I should feel it earlier than last time. It was almost like a little buzz in my uterus, like really fast butterflies. Probably just my imagination at this stage original.gif Last time I felt it at 18 weeks too which was earlier than I was expecting, so hopefully it will happen for me soon - I just love those flutters wub.gif

Fran - OMG I have had unbelievable amounts of CM this pregnancy too! It was fairly normal with DD but this baby seems to have pushed my body into overdrive ohmy.gif It can be quite alarming, can't it! It freaks me out because that was how I lost my mucus plug with DD, it came out in bits over a few days and was never bloody, and this looks exactly the same ffear.gif So sometimes I panic. But then I have to remind myself, "This happens to heaps of women... Nobody said it would be the same the second time around... You're fine etc etc etc". Why do we freak ourselves out over the most benign things?

Justine - did you make it to the end of the movie? Lol

Purplestone - I have been under the weather too, you poor thing. It sucks not being able to take the good drugs LOL! I hope you feel better soon. If you have anything like I did, it will be mostly over in about a week. I'm feeling 100x better than I was a few days back. Still a scratchy throat and lots of junk in my chest though sad.gif

Lils - good luck with the OB and the scan original.gif Those first few appointments are exciting! I have mine next Tuesday, I get to see my birthing centre, I can't wait! I am weirdly excited about giving birth this time wacko.gif

PJ - I've got a Birman original.gif They are a lot like ragdolls. I think our next cat might be a ragdoll, if the time comes for us to acquire another original.gif

AFM - I'm on the mend. It was a rough virus, it knocked me about a bit but I've come out the other side. DD got it but only mildly, I think the BF might have something to do with that. She hasn't been sleeping well though, we've had a bit of a regression sad.gif she was a fabulous sleeper until she was five months old, and then we had eleven months of hell with her sleep (or, rather, her lack of it). That is the only thing that makes me nervous about having a second baby - the sleep deprivation. We have had her back on track for a few months now, but these last Few nights in the heat, the wheels have really fallen off. She has eczema and the heat irritates her, so it isn't her fault. I just cry for her, poor itchy little thing sad.gif we have an appointment with a paediatric allergist in February but that still seems so far away!

Here's hoping summer remains relatively cool in Syd, for her sake.

B.M.C.M.I
I'm absolutely in love with Lulu. The kids are a bit full on for her and DF isn't a huge cat person so she only really cuddles up to me wub.gif She's very quiet, still pretty shy but she's eating and sleeping better now so I think she's adjusting pretty quickly.

I've had a cough for about 10 days, this morning the runny nose started and I feel pretty out of it. The girls have it too and somehow DF has managed to avoid it even with giving us all kisses and cuddles glare.gif

I should organize myself some breakfast before lunch time rolls around and get onto the mountains of washing staring at me.

Robbie: Myself of Penny can add you to the group, I'll send you a PM with my FB.
Judi_Anne
Wow I thought it was ages since being on here but I missed 4 whole threads lol...

Hope you all had a great Christmas and New Year.. Just think 6 months and these little Jellybeans will be starting to arrive for the first cuddles original.gif

Can someone send me the link to the Facebook group please??? I have to try and find Ella's group again - I had to start new fb profile as people that weren't supposed to be seeing my page still were.

We have been going well. MS has subsided for the most part but I am still unbelievably tired all the time. I'm sure running after a 13mth old doesn't help lol.. Last week I fell asleep with Ella when putting her to bed at around 7pm and slept the night through to 5 - I couldn't believe it!!! And this happened 3 nights in a row and I still woke up tired lol...

We have our first MW appt tomorrow so very excited. Our older girls are too since they are on hols they will get to come. They are hoping to hear the heartbeat.

Emily (12) and Jordy (6) are both hoping for a boy this time since we had a girl last year, so hopefully it works out for both of them but we told them we don't have a say. They both think there are enough girls around and Emily has 2 little sisters on her Dad's side too so she is really hoping for a boy. Les and I don't mind either way - we are used to all the girsl so not sure what we would do with a boy!

Anyway I am hoping to keep more up to day on here now that I am feeling alot better..

Keep the rest up everyone bbighug.gif
scorpiokelly75
Hi everyone!
I've been reading all of your posts and glad to hear you are all going well. I can't believe I am in my second trimester!! Where has that time gone? The next six months need to slow down a little!! I bet I won't be saying that closer to my due date LOL.
I am feeling very depressed today, I have to go back to work tomorrow cry1.gif my husband is driving me nuts and I am completely over today really. Well now that I've whinged I feel much better!
It's probably TMI but I have had heaps of CM too - if I didn't know that was normal I would probably be freaking out about that. I am so hoping I feel the baby move at around 18 weeks because that's only 4 weeks away for me!! Gee hard to think that after that I'm almost at the half way point oomg2.gif
Have a great rest of the day, I hope you have had a good start to the New Year.
Cheers,
Kelly
Mummy to HJ

Robbie - what are you using for the ezcema at the moment?? I swear by QV body wash and moisturing lotion. My DS had it rather bad and we started using it and its pretty much gone....we also have changed our laundry detergent to Purity....I dont know if your using any of this but I thought I wwould offer advice original.gif

CM has been here too....and TMI but I seem to have a bit of bladder issues blush.gif dripping iykwim.

Melbourne chickies - I've posted it on the FB group....but will also do it here.....lets also do a meet up....Feb...especially for those who have school kids so you can kick them off to school then come....but we could make it a play centre or something for those who do have kiddies. I'm in the western suburbs and it appears there are a few in the area....but I'm willing to travel to the city or something to meet.....lets get something started biggrin.gif
Hanan.H
I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one here experiencing excess CM. I don't remember it being this bad with my first pregnancy. One of the best things about being pregnant is not having to worry about the inconvenience of periods and pads, but unfortunately, it's back to the daily liners. sad.gif (Sorry if that was a little TMI, lol!)

Robbie: DS's sleep has also been a little mucked up over the holidays. He missed his bedtime most nights and stayed up late with us a lot. Thankfully it's been back to normal since last night, but it definitely reminded me of the newborn days of settling and re-settling and broken sleep. I'm feeling a little nervous too because DS has only been sleeping through the night for the past month and I'm worried about him going through a regression phase once the baby is born. I don't want to be getting up twice as much as I need to! I guess DH and I can split duties in that department?

B.M.C.M: Can I also get an invite to the FB group please? Thanks!

Judi_Anne: It's so nice that your daughters will be going with you to your appointment. Unfortunately, DS is way too young to understand anything that's going on right now but I know from my niece and nephews how excited they can get listening to the baby's heartbeat. (My sister's a midwife and has a Doppler at home that I love using, lol!)

Scorpiokelly75: I agree, time is flying! But you definitely won't be wanting it to slow down closer to your due date, lol! I went 10 days overdue the first time around, and that is the absolute LAST thing I wanted to happen! Enjoy it though, it really is a fleeting period of your life. original.gif

AFM: I'm craving a nice, relaxing pregnancy massage. I thrived on them with my first pregnancy, but I was much farther along then than I am now. Has anyone tried one in the early stages of the second trimester? What do you think?

ETA: I also had a question for all the mothers who have already had one or more babies previously. If your belly button popped out during your pregnancy, did it ever go back to normal afterwards? I know I didn't leave much time between my two pregnancies for my skin and muscles to get back into shape, but I just hate the way my belly button looks right now. It's half in, half out, if that even makes sense, lol.
NatandBub
Morning everyone,

Hope you're all well. I cant get facebook at work so its good that we're still posting here so I can keep up on the goss while I'm at work.

Soooo happy to hear other people have excess CM....lol.... how weird does that sound?? Mine has increased in the past week too. Its funny how anything different just gets me worried at the moment. I had the best sleep last night since I've found out I was pregnant and I woke up really worried today!! Instead of thinking how good it was I had a stress attack!! I hope it continues for the whole 2nd trimester even though I really struggled to get out of bed!

Thanks everyone for the well wishes and congrats on the boy. I did my first baby shopping on the weekend with my mum. She's worse than me and is buying a lot!! But I'm getting mixed messages on what sizes I should be buying - can any of the experienced mums help me out?? My friend told me not to buy many 0000 as I wont need them for long???

Anyway I'd better get some work done.... I'm looking forward to maternity leave for sure!!

Have a great day

Nat
studiobird
Morning wonderful Women!

NatandBub - Tara was in 0000 for a while - but it was also summer, so it made it easier. Being that our babies are going to be Winter children I agree with your friend - don't get too many of them. Things like jumpsuits with the feet and/or hands enclosed - just get 000 sized ones.

00000 - premmie
0000 - newborn (up to about a 3.5kg baby)
000 - up to around 3 months
00 - up to around 6 months
0 - up to around 9 months
1 - around 1 year of age.

However, Tara did it differently - she was in 000 until 6 months and so forth. (she was a 50th percentile child)

Things like singlets - buy them in 000 sizes - then jump up two sizes (I would go 000, 0, 2) as the width does not change much, but the length is the main difference. With winter babies it is much easier to have excess fabric around them, than in summer, and layers are good. Avoid studded collars if you can too - they are cumbersome - get the envelope collars. And body suits (no legs, just arms, and studs around the crotch) are really handy and can last a bigger size as the legs don't restrict the length... does that make sense?

h.h.123 - My belly button did not pop with Tara and so definitely was back in afterwards Tounge1.gif but I have had friends who have had their belly buttons pop and not going in (but I believe they had umbilical hernias afterwards). I don't think there are any hard and fast rules..

Judi_Anne - good luck with your midwife appointment today! I hope it is wonderful!

Robbie - yay for a meet up! I am looking forward to it.

Ok.. that's it for me for now.. another hard day of work at my mum's house original.gif
B.M.C.M.I
FB group - I'll send out PM's in a minute. Add me, I'll add you to the group then you may leave me or remove me as a friend. Once you're in the group you don't need to be friends with myself or Penny.

Nat - It depends on your baby. Chloe and Maddy were always a similar height/weight BUT Chloe was a tubby, chubby baby and Maddy is long and skinny so lasted in sizes longer. I'd get enough to do a full week without washing (sometimes you can't be bothered - it's that simple) and if you need more (chucky baby, tiny baby) go and get more.
goldimouse
Nat: regarding sizes - you won't really know until your baby is born. My DD was 6lb15oz (3.15kg) which is on the small side, and she was in 00000 for about three weeks even though she steadily gained weight. You also might find you need more if you have a chucky baby (like I did - went through about five outfits per day!) so we had quite a few 00000, but I didn't buy any until she was actually born original.gif 0000 worked after about three weeks, before that they simply swum on her and looked ridiculous laughing2.gif So we had almost nothing to dress her in when she was first born - we took her home in a pink Bonds wondersuit (wub.gif) that a friend bought as a gift for us when she heard how small she was! The good things about having a winter baby is that you can layer. Get lots of wraps original.gif

I also used to put DD in outfits consisting of leggings (with enclosed feet) and a bodysuit with long arms. That way I didn't have to change the whole outfit depending on how she dirtier it - a poo explosion and I'd just have to get her new leggings, and a chuck would mean a new bodysuit biggrin.gif

Awwww, writing all that has made me all nostalgic - how can a person get nostalgic about vomit and poo???

HH123 - I hope your DS sleeps better soon. We coslept again last night *sigh* after about midnight. She goes to bed in her own cot in her own room, but she just can't seem to resettle herself even with a milk feed (of any kind - cows' milk or mummy). She isn't feeling 100% so I am praying it is that and her eczema and we aren't having a major regression. I couldn't go back to that!

Sarah - for her eczema at the moment we are using QV intensive all over her after a no-soap bath (or sometimes an oats bath) and using the prescribed cortisone creams as needed. I wash in Amolin. On really bad nights we give antihistamine to settle the itching. I'm going to do some wet dressings soon if it doesn't clear up. It really, really sucks. Your poor LO, I hope he is truly growing out of it now.

Kelly - you're lucky it's going so fast for you! My first pg went at a snail's pace, I seriously felt like I would be pregnant forever laughing2.gif This time is going much quicker, I will hit the 2nd trimester on Thursday and I'm a bit excited about that original.gif

Thanks for adding me to the FB group Beck original.gif much appreciated!

I hope you all have a lovely day original.gif any bellies popping out yet? Mine is still just fat poking out (DD's leftovers, lol) but it should harden up soon enough.
B.M.C.M.I
Robbie - My belly is still leftovers too. Looking back at DD2's belly shots from this far along I had a distinguished bump. I DO look pregnant but that's because my stomach muscles sit 3 inches further out then they should and give me a nice round shape glare.gif If anyone hadn't seen me in a while, they would guess I was pregnant but the truth of it is this belly isn't from this baby so I feel odd showing it off. I've actually been hiding it.
Mel_W

Hope everyone is well. I haven't posted here for quite sometime. I would also like to be in the FB group if someone could help me with that, that would be great.

My MS only last from week 6-9 so glad thats gone (but touch wood it stays that way!!) My main thing is heart burn. I suffer from that on a normal day to day basis but it is soooo much worse beng pregnant. Like almost crying its that painful and keeping me awake. Milk was holding it off for a few weeks but isn't doing it too well any more sad.gif

I had my 12 week scan (at 13 weeks 1 day) last Friday and it was amazing to see LL in their. Bizzare seeing it move but not being able to feel it. Should get the downs results back later this week or the start of next.

We got a nice piccy which we used to tell everyone. Put it up on FB with a happy new yr message. So its all out now.

Well cheers to all. Will hopefully be able to keep more up to date with the thread.
bella7
Hello everyone

BMCM - thanks for adding me to the facebook group!

Robbie - LOL, I definitely have leftovers too! DD is only 10 mths old & I had only just started to work on the weight loss when I discovered I was pg. Reading your post about newborns made me nostalgic too! DD was also a reflux chucky baby - we were thankful we were given so many clothes with her constant changes!

Studiobird - great advice on the baby clothes. This time around I will avoid footed jumpsuits - DD was (and still is) so long & skinny, they were always ridiculously big around the middle & shoulders to fit her in the length. But this time I'll probably get a short chubby bubba!!

Nat & Bub - how fun to start your shopping! The best thing we received were oversized muslin wraps (DD was a feb bub). The ones you buy are often only 1m square, and quickly become too small to firmly wrap a wriggly bub. We were given some 1.2 & 1.5m wraps which were fantastic. Mum bought some muslin from spotlight and hemmed it - much cheaper!!

HH123 - I hope you enjoy your massage. I really don't like a massage - I think I am the only person on the planet who doesn't!

Better go & do some work - we are selling our business and have some people coming though today & have some paperwork to organise while DD is asleep.

Hope everyone is well!
purplestone
Just a quick one from me. I had to go to the doctor's today as I am having trouble breathing and I was given ventolin and a low dose course of antibiotics as the doctor thinks that I have a nasty viral infection. I think I will be going back up there soon, as I am having trouble breathing again.

I was at my parents and they went shopping so I had to leave. I have been told to rest but it is hard with over active kids. I got so upset talking to DF as my parents drop everything to help my little sister so she can work. They mind them when they are not working and all that.

Hope everyone is feeling better than me. I felt little bubba move last night (big flutters). DF said it could be gas. I looked at him and said I think someone that has a bowl condition can tell the difference if it was gas or not..
B.M.C.M.I
Amy - It's sad when you feel like one sibling is favoured more. Hope you can manage some rest and WOOHOO on feeling flutters! I thought I would have felt SOMETHING by now but nothing.. at all.. I felt DD2 around 14 weeks and I'm spot on that today so hopefully it's not too far away.
kysa123
I have been reading along but havent figured out how to post on my iphone. I tried but but it didn't post! Any tips would be awesome.

Amy - thats great! I think i have been feeling something but not sure if its baby or gas! Its like a quick stabbing pain - altthough not overly painful is that makes any sense. Its happening more now so it could be baby! TMI on the gas - lol!

Purplestone - I hope your feeling better soon. I hope your parents start helping you and DH out soon. Its no fun getting forgotton about. Have you mentioned how you are feeling to them?

I agree with you bella im not huge on massages, although after standing all day at work my back doesnt feel the best.. i might change my mind over the coming months! I have been using a weat bag on my back on really bad days. The only help is lying down - cant do that at work! LOL!

Mel im yet to post something on facebook. how did it go? I havent told alot of friends yet. Most that live near me know. Speaking of facebook can someone send me the link or add me?

Thanks ladies for the heads up on baby clothes! My aunt is telling me to only buy 00! So some other advice is welcomed.

As for the cm, i reead in my what to expect book that more cm will prevent infections etc and help to keep bacteria out. The beauties of pregnancy huh?!

AFM: i feel like im starting to get a bit of a belly. Although being my first im not sure what to expect at 14 weeks. Others cant really tell yet but i feel like im huge already!
The morning sickness has eased up.. havent been sick now in 3 days! Touch wood.. everytime i say that i swear it starts over again!
What has everyone purchased so far ir anything? I put a car seat on layby as they were half price at target and a baby chnage table.

Belly rubs to all!
original.gif
Hanan.H
I haven't purchased anything for the baby yet. With my first, I held out buying anything until I was around 7 months pregnant. I felt like anything before that was too early, especially the bigger pieces of furniture. But then again, if you want to avoid getting everything in one big hit and having to pay a lump sum of money, as well as grabbing something on special, why not? I totally understand. It's really exciting, especially with your first. I have to admit, it was really hard walking past the baby section in stores and holding back from getting something.

Is it just me, or has it become really quiet in here? Lol.
goldimouse
I think it is quiet in here too H. Everyone's pregnancies must be getting to that boring stage in the middle where nothing happens laughing2.gif
B.M.C.M.I
kysa - We have basically everything we need. I do need to refresh the newborn stash of clothes (only have pink and most were given away after DD2 outgrow them), get another set of drawers and upgrade our pram (which will have the capsule aswell).

My girls will need a set of bunks and Maddy will need a mattress. Apart from that we're set!

OB appointment this afternoon. Exhausted thinking about it. My cousin was going to watch the girls then asked if she could come now she's decided to go into work so I have to drag two kids with me on my own. Second time she's done this to me but last time she called last minute asking to come and I'd already organized my friend to come with me. Maddy is alright because she's strapped in the pram but Chloe is into everything and any time we leave the house it involves me yelling and screaming all the way to, at and from our destination.

I have to run to the bank, Aus Post, the plaza then my appointment so should probably start getting organized. I love how nothing in this town is in the same building! Bank and post office are on the same main road but opposite sides, the plaza is a few blocks away and my OBs office is near the plaza but not close enough to walk with the kids *sigh*.
Judi_Anne
Morning All!!
MW appt went really well, all is good and was great to hear the heart beat. They have changed my due date to the 6th July, which is only 2 days after what I worked out, at least it will keep them off my back for couple more days if they want to induce me (praying that doesn't happen!!) Girls loved hearing the heart beat but Ella (1) just wanted to play with the doppler lol..

CM - I'm with everyone else, having to use daily liners but also finding I have weak bladder too. MW said its normal especially since it's 3rd pregnancy, she is going to refer me to hosp physio so they can help me with pelvic floor exercises etc, I have been doing them but doesn't seem to make any difference. Oh the joys of Motherhood lol - I was going to say TMI but I don't think anything in here is TMI when it comes to pregnancy and babies

Baby Clothes - We have nearly all we need for this bubs but if its a boy we will have to get some boy clothes, we have plenty of neutral clothes to start us off as we don't find out what we are having. If it's a boy then we will go shopping after he is born. I found that i never needed too many 0000 but I had long babies.

We do need to get a pram with toddler seat or double pram so if anyone has one for sale let me know. Unfortunately the pram we have can't have a toddler seat attached sad.gif. We are also going to get a booster seat with 5 point harness.

Anyway better get showered so I can do some food shopping before dropping off Miss 12 to friends for sleepover and off to work for the afternoon. If anyone in Brisbane is looking for massage I work for my sister's Chiropractic clinic and Massage Therapy Clinic. Even if I do say so myself it's the best thing for pregnancy aches and pains. I had really bad pelvic pain last pregnancy, even just walking hurt, and the chiropractor fixed it.

Rest up Everyone and hopefully will have more time to do personals next time - finding time is hard to do at the moment!!!

bbighug.gif
~lils~

Just a quick update - we had our appt with the ob yesterday, who seems really nice and had our 12 week scan otday - everything looking great!!

I think we must have got one of the most lovely sonographers in the world, she was just so wonderful!! She pointed out everything on the baby to us and made sure we got good looks at everything and took lots of pics for us. Nothing to indicate high risk, so bub is coming along really well. Although, i had to empty my bladder half way through the scan as she couldnt get a good view coz my bladder was too full! I seriosuly hadnt drunk that much water and had been to the bathroom heaps in the morning, just not for the hour before the scan. Maybe i just have a big bladder??

Booked in for our 20 week scan the day before our 4th wedding anniversary!

We havent bought anything yet - but we did get some clothes off family for Christmas, in a range of sizes from 000-0 so at least there is a bit of a mix to start us off. We have started looking at all the big stuff but want to take our time. My inlaws own a furniture shop but are away on holidays so we are hoping to get the furniture through their contacts if we can (might not be able to get wholesale price but even a good discount would help!).

Sounds like everyone has been busy! My new years resolution is to exercise more - having done basically nothing for the last 3 months due to no time, no energy and feeling sick all day i have told myself i really need to start now!! So Dh is helping encourage me to go for walks after work every day and i'm really hoping the weather warms up so i can go swimming, but its just way too cold for me at the moment.
~lils~
Oops! Double post biggrin.gif
B.M.C.M.I
Robbie - How did you go with heavy/swollen feeling down there? I've started getting it the last few days to the point I can't sit for long periods of time. Forgot to mention it at my appointment today so was just wondering if I should be worried.
~Nix~
Hi all.. i'm a bit late in joining!! But i loved my last DIG with my first son and would love the company again on my second journey into motherhood original.gif

I'm due 13th of July with #2, i have my 12 week NT scan tomorrow can't wait to see bubba!!
bella7

Nix - welcome! I'm due on 13th July as well with my second.

BMCM - I'm feeling a bit the same down there. Hope your ob. appt went well.

Lils - so glad your appt went well today & that you

Judi-Anne - I have to get a new pram too sad.gif but I have just put a Baby Jogger on layby. I love my pram but am pretty excited about the new one. It"s a bit of a lash but thought I'd better get it while I'm still working!

HH123 - I was the same with my first pg, I didn't buy much of the big stuff till I was about 30 wks, I was a bit superstitious about it.

Kysa - apart from putting a pram on layby I haven't bought anything yet, we will wait until we can find out the gender. If it is a girl we won't need much - we told everyone we were having a girl when we found out last time at 19 weeks and so people started buying us clothes straight away - DD's wardrobe could have clothed 3 babies, and she was a constant spewer so had many changes a day! Will need to shop for a boy though . . .

AFM - feeling so much better today, way less tired than I have been recently. Hopefully it is the end of the first trimester blues! I felt almost normal in my second trimester last time (apart from the growing belly of course!)

I think I felt the baby move last night - was trying to go to sleep when I felt some flutters. It's much earlier than last time, but I know what to look for this time around.

Off to look at a childcare centre who have a place available for my 10mth old DD tomorrow morning. Now that she is crawling I just can't get any work done from home & I am falling way behind so it is necessary, but I am totally dreading it!! She is such a social little thing she will probably quite enjoy it, but I am so sooky I tear up just thinking about it.

Hope everyone else is feeling ok . . .
goldimouse
Beck - it comes and goes. I've been putting it down to extra blood flow. I have my appt on Tuesday so I will ask the MW and post her response original.gif

Nix - welcome!

I just announced on FB tthumbs.gif Secret's out now! Woohoo!
~Nix~
Thanks for the welcomes from bella7 and Robbie original.gif

bella7 I've also been feeling flutters in the last couple of days, but i havn't said anything cause i know people will tell me its too early.. with my first son i felt him around the 15 week mark and i'm 12 weeks 5 days today so not that far off...

Hope to get to know you all in the coming months original.gif Anyone else in SW Sydney??
B.M.C.M.I
Welcome Nix! How did your scan go? I felt my first child fluttering at 16 weeks, my second at 14 weeks and so far nothing with this baby. I'm not too fussed, soon enough I'll be complaining about feet in my ribs so I'm trying to enjoy my body while I'm still comfortable original.gif
Hanan.H
Glad to see everyone's doing well and enjoying their pregnancies.

I just had my first appointment at the Birth Centre today. It was great - Pretty long though, it took just under 2 hours, but plenty of discussion and a thorough insight into how everything will generally work. My midwife was beautiful - So friendly and polite. I'm so excited to be sharing this entire pregnancy and birth with her.

I didn't do a 12 week scan as most of you seem to have done. I figured I'm not going to do anything about it if I was to find out that my baby is at risk for anything anyway, so I thought 'why worry'?

One thing though... She's going to go by my U/S due date which is the 16th of July, so does that now mean I can no longer be part of this group? It's going to be hard to get my head around the new dates as it's taken me back a bit, but I'll get used to it eventually, and it'll give me more of a chance to avoid induction if I happen to go overdue again.
B.M.C.M.I
HH - Don't be silly, stay here with us! We didn't have the NT screening done but I did have a 12 week scan. I just wanted to know that baby was fine before we announced to everyone.
goldimouse
HH - there are a few other "ring ins" in this group, lol! Stick around original.gif

Did you get a tour of the BC? I'm heading in on Tues and am really excited to see the place!
Hanan.H
Awww, thanks girls! To be honest, I'm quite comfortable with everyone in here and the thought of moving to a new group and meeting a whole new bunch of people was a little daunting. Glad to be here! original.gif

Robbie: One of the first things she did was give me a tour of the place. I've actually been in there before with my sister when she gave birth to her fourth child, so I've already seen it, but it was definitely nice to see it again and have everything explained to me. Very nice, cozy and home-like. Completely different to the rooms in the Delivery Suite. It's basically a bedroom (double bed, bedside tables, couch, TV, picture frames, etc) and an en-suite bathroom (double-headed shower, bath tub, etc). It can almost pass for a motel room, lol!

I love it because it's basically the best of both worlds: A home-like environment and the medical reassurance of a hospital. They've got most of their emergency equipment on hand too. I think I've explained a bit too much and haven't left much for you when you go in on Tuesday, lol! Good luck with it! original.gif
bella7
HH123 - The birth centre sounds fantastic! Glad you are so excited about it, & great that you immediately feel so comfortable with your midwife - it is such an important relationship. The midwife I had for DD1's birth was amazing, and stayed beyond her shift - she made such a difference.

Robbie - how did you announce on facebook? Was thinking of doing the same but not sure what to write - I felt kind of silly for some reason!
Sally05
Hi all... good to hear everyone seems to be doing well. I haven't posted for a while, but I'm keeping up with the news.

I've been on holidays for almost 3 weeks which has been great, and I've been feeling so much better the last few days. I'm still falling asleep at 9pm most nights, but I've had enough energy to walk my 2 dogs along the beach with DH for the last few days. It feels good to actually exercise after feeling so crap for so long! I'm not looking forward to heading back to Sydney and back to work though!

I've been researching various item we need to buy and I'm totally overwhelmed. I always like to make careful and thorough decisions but the amount of info is incredible. It's hard to know where to start... I think I will ask for more advice once I can narrow things down a bit more. At the moment I change my mind every 5 min, and only know that I want a pram with 4 wheels! Not much help... and don't get me started on nappies, clothes, car seats etc etc... it never ends! Lucky I've got 6 months left to make all these decisions! I'm looking forward to hearing everyone's advice as we go along.

Hope everyone is keeping well.

Sally
~Nix~
Hi everyone just wanted to let everyone know about my nt scan yesterday baby looked good I'd measuring pretty much on dates, heartbeat was at 162bpm and all limbs accounted for bubba looks perfect. Bubs nauchal fold was 2.3 which is in the normal range my risk without the bloods was 1:939

But... Combined with my bloods my risk factor went up to 1:33 yep hi risk for T21 . I didn't have the nt test with DS1 and now I'm beginning to think I shouldn't have done it this time... Ignorance is bliss as they say. Because it was just my blood test that pushed my risk higher I'm thinking it's probably a false negative and the OB was really reassuring saying that it's probably nothing just funny bloods. She offered me the option of CVS or amnio but my husband doesn't want to do invasive tests. I'm a worrier so kind of want the amnio but we will see I've got 3 weeks to make a decision.
~lils~
Hi Nix waves.gif welcome to the group and congratulations! Sorry to hear about the BT results - it’s a hard choice knowing whether to go any further or not and it’s a totally personal decision. BT's do seem to be a bit unreliable sometimes.

Robbie - how exciting your secrets now out!! I have told everyone at work, but still have a few friends and our church to tell before it goes on facebook… Hopefully will all happen within the week, i'm not very good at keeping secrets...

HH - of course you can stick around! Technically my date is the 19th blush.gif but I couldn’t be bothered changing groups… That birth centre sounds really great! We don’t have anything like that in wollongong - was just a choice of two hospitals.

Sally - good to hear you've been feeling a bit better. I've been trying to walk a bit more this week and its helping but I still feel exhausted. I'm with you on the totally overwhelmed by all the things to get too. Figured theres no point stressing out just yet! Maybe in a couple of months I'll have another look. I have a few friends who are due in the next few months as well so might try and learn from their experiences biggrin.gif
goldimouse
Nix - I'd be inclined to trust the OB if it was me, he's probably seen this exact situation before. But it must be so hard to know what to do! You mentioned earlier you're from SW Syd - whereabouts? I'm in the SE - I'm a Shire girl cool.gif

Lils - we used FB to tell most church people and friends, so much easier that way LOL! All my extended family will find out from there too. Much easier than trying to work it into a billion conversations... I'd get sick of saying "oh and by the way, I'm three months pregnant." laughing2.gif

LOL Sally I wanted a pram with 4 wheels as well! We ended up going to the local Babies Galore and walking all their prams around the shop and picked the one we liked the best. Then we looked online and found a store in Brisbane that would ship it to us in Syd for $150 less than Babies Galore would sell it to us. Are you going to be having a baby shower? I got heaps and heaps of random stuff from that... I had almost nothing beforehand. My friends threw it for me. We also got a cot and change table from my sister and my inlaws bought us the carseat... It was actually not so bad in the end I found, it just sort of came together.

Justine - I updated my status to "Robbie is really excited to meet Susannah's little brother or sister in just six months' time! biggrin.gif"

HH - thanks for the preview original.gif I have been picturing it to be like the "comfy" rooms at Sutherland hospital, and it sounds like it is. I'll see it and know for sure on Tues I suppose!

Have a great day ladies! DD is squalling so I'd better run.

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.