The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: August 2010 Parent Group #8

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2010

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=832749

auntyleelee
GOLD! Not sure how to bold or change colour as on phone and never posted with phone before. Have a snoozing bub on my shoulder. Love it so much when she is curled up all cozy on me. I have to sit with her upright for au least 10 minutes after a feed otherwise she will just spew.
Aminila
Silver!

I'm enjoying the peace and quiet while the kids are asleep original.gif
essy1
Bronze!! Although I feel like I should have the (.Y.) as Elowen has gone through a strange period of wanting to be fed every 3 hours instead of 4... just since lunchtime yesterday... but even through the night, when she usually goes 5-6 hours...
LemonLyman
(.Y.)

biggrin.gif

PS One of which keeps getting a white blister - ouch - hope everyone else with sore (.Y.) is going okay!
shopgirl76
Yikes, Lex, MummySausage, LemonLyman I literally feel your pain!! I think I first posted a week ago about my rock hard boob and milk blisters ... and I am still working on those lumps a week later. It started as blisters on the nipple and ended up very engorged and tender and me panicking about mastitis cry1.gif The lumps aren't as bad now but that boob is never as soft/empty as the other one (mind you, that one leaks rolleyes.gif ). One of the best things I found, on advice from the ABA, was to soak in a bath as hot as you can stand with your boob immersed, and massage and express in the bath. Also feed first on that side when baby's suck is stronger, and importantly, vary your feeding position (I'm quite liking the underarm position as we gaze into each other's eyes wub.gif). And use heat packs, or even better, moist heat like a wet towel, prior to feeding. I've had the yellowy-white spots for over two weeks so I'm still wondering how long it will take for those to disappear... aah the things we go through for these beautiful little creatures happy.gif
creepersgonnacreep
shopgirl: have you been to the gp to check there is nothing else going on with the boob? I would be concerned at it lasting for so long.
sigh I am over my skin atm I have terribly dry and rough yucky skin and it is so bad atm and my elbows are cracking and hurt sad.gif It hasn't been this bad since i was little! Sigh I am over it my whole body stings atm.
leelee: aww how cute I have Sammy asleep on my lap atm hugging the boob he had his burp and then wanted cuddles wub.gif they are little for such a short time so enjoy it original.gif That is what I say wink.gif
essy: yep a growth spurt Sam is going through another though he never goes longer than 3 hours in the day anyway he is a booby monster! I think I found the worst growth spurt happens at 4 months with DD it seemed as if I had no milk left at one stage! I didn't leave the couch for a few days it seemed and then my body caught up again!
lexington
Oh thank goodness the boob is now slightly more normal.
Hot water bottle for ages and then feed and pushed the lump towards the nipple while feeding.
OMG it was so odd it felt like glass rubbing against your nipple/boob when the babies feed lumpy boob.

Was going to go yum cha yesterday and decided to call Mr Lexi's friend that we haven't seen since D was like i dunno 8months? So it's been almost a year. They replied saying that they just lost their twins and they just found out yesterday. I freaked out and I think Mr Lexi was close to tears. I think he was imagining not having our boys. I don't know how far along she is and I don't want to ask. So i'm just going to leave it until she's had the D&C and send flowers on Wednesday. I don't really know what the address is, I will have to drive past and run and check their unit number.
My4Sunshines
Hi mummies, just wanted to come in for a major vent, sorry to do that to you however I'm soooo efffed off.

First of all, LEX so sorry to hear of your friend's loss, that is horrific. Flowers are a great idea to let them know you are thinking of them.

OK I am supposed to be having this 'lesion' cut off from my face next Tuesday under sedation (which i don't want as I'm bf and can't miss a feed stuff and stuff and so forth) so call phi to ask if I'm still covered for it to be done with locals now the whole effing debarkle has turned into if I'm acytually fully covered at the effing hospital at all as now the govt has said this hospital is now Second Tier shrug.gif so I may have out of pockets as it is. I have been on the fone all morning trying to sort it out, 30 MINS to phi to even find out why they couldn't find the effing hospital on their list, now I'm waiting for the admissions lady from the hospital to call me to tell me something. Ringing phi, they say call Dr and get item no.s they say call hospital to get a provider number, they say call phi to get ...... then call .... for .... then call...... for....... then..... Viscious effing cycle which I'm sick of effing peddling(??) wacko.gif glare.gif

All the while getting dd3's lunch, making lasagne as today is my mad day of the week (swimming after school till late this evening) and Taj is unsettled after immun. on Friday.

Hope everyone else is having a good day, sorry for all that sad.gif
shopgirl76
Ahh RD I know, I know, I was avoiding it... I am 'allergic' to doctors Tounge1.gif I might ask our MCHN and see what she thinks. I was satisfied that there is still milk flowing, no real pain - only when attaching, and that it would feel emptier after a feed ...

Lex that is really sad. Flowers is a nice idea.

M4S ddoh.gif ddoh.gif ddoh.gif
essy1
Oh Lexi, that is just so awful... flowers are a lovely idea. It shows you are thinking of them and acknowledge their existence in the world. I am all teary just thinking of that. hugs to you and to them.

Thanks for the reassurance about the feeding frenzy, and I gather that every three hours is 'normal' for some people so I should just shut up biggrin.gif (I said that - noone told me I should!). My MIL has managed to get her to sleep through the three hours so either she'll wake up frantically hungry or she'll have reset her body clock. Maybe she's empathising with MIL's jet lag (she arrived from London yesterday morning)??

I went to the GP this morning because I am not immunised against chicken pox (I think I'm a carrier but I am apparently not immune, as we found out during the blood tests while pregnant. Blood tests in the UK before I fell pregnant apparently didn't pick it up which I am very cranky about but that's a whole other issue!). Anyway because it's a live vaccine they've done no clinical trials on the effect of babies whose breastfeeding mothers get the vaccine - so I'm waiting until I've given it up.

I hope all the mummies with booby issues are getting through them, like Lexi. One of the women in my mothers group has had mastitis 4 times and been to a physio who recommended using ice on the boob after a feed, and when massaging the blocked ducts, use a light sweeping motion with your finger rather than the kind of massage you'd do to get a knot out of a muscle - if you are too hard with the massage you can apparently damage the breast tissue.

We are getting Elowen christened this weekend! All very last minute; I wanted to get it done while MIL is here (but she's here until January) but we were thinking some time in November! The village church (where my parents live, which is where my niece and nephew were christened too) doesn't have mass every week so when Mum spoke to the priset about 10 days ago he said he could do it on the 23rd... my friend from NZ who I asked to be godmother sadly can't come back over but my brother (godfather) who libes in Queensland is actually in NSW with his family so they can be there, hooray! It'll be the first time my family's been all together since March last year when DH and I had the 'Australian' wedding celebrations (6 months after our actual wedding in London). They are in Sydney this week and we are spending the day with them on Thursday; it will be so fantastic to see them! My 6yo niece is soooo excited to meet her cousin!
K+M+A+P
Just wanted to say Lex sorry to hear of your friends loss. It must be awful for them. Flowers sound like a great idea.

Must get back to studying as my mum has taken Addison for the day so I prob shouldn't waste time on EB ph34r.gif
mummySausage
Sorry to hear abt your friend's lost Lex, hopefully they will get through this very trying time OK.

M4S_I hate those tag callings too! They keep telling u to call someone else. I reckon they are just too lazy to find out for you themselves! Sounds like u need those home angels today... biggrin.gif

Not sure when my boobs will go back to normal... sad.gif My left one is SLOWLY getting better. But my right one, oh my... still hurts heaps! I am pretty sure it's thrush, but not nipple thrush more so breast thrush coz the pain is so sharp everytime I use that boob to feed... cry1.gif
My4Sunshines
QUOTE (LemonLyman @ 17/10/2010, 04:08 PM) *
original.gif I'll recognise your car if I see round the 'burbs now!

Melb girls - OMG how cold was it on Friday night?! Crazy stuff. Glad there's another meet on the cards. original.gif

roll2.gif roll2.gif I won't be able so sneak round any street now!!! Oh bungle with that situation as well, car is in dh name + plates are in my name = can't put plates on car. Dh said plates were a gift for me so they put them in my name wacko.gif
Now we have to fill out a Transfer of Rights form and wait 24-48 hrs till it goes through rolleyes.gif rant.gif

Friday nights is usually swimming, we didn't go as it was my birfday, was going to the school twilight market instead yet when it started bucketing down I said nup no way so we stayed in, still couldn't keep warm though.
You definately can't pick October weather!!

MS I think they have no idea and they send you on a wild goose chase aannoyed.gif

Surprise surprise, noone from the hospital has called me yet!!! about 2 1/2 hours waiting, now i'll probably have to repeat the whole effing story to someone else tomorrow for the upteenth effing time rant.gif
lexington
Thanks girls, I have never experienced it so I don't know what to do. I'm leaving her alone for now and will send flowers on Wed. I'll have to drive by before and get the address. I didn't even know they were expecting and twins too!!
K+M+A+P

The lady that did Addisons photos has added some onto her blog and facebook page so here are the links if you want to take a look

http://www.facebook.com/ChildishPhotography

http://www.childishphotography.blogspot.com/
My4Sunshines
Kara Oh Addison is soooo adorable, what beautiful memories they create.

Lexi Space is good for now, then if you want later on ring (if you'd actually do that anyway) to say sorry
You sound pretty switched on to the situation anyway.
Sounds like it was early days, one could only hope I guess, no time is right to lose a baby though.
lexington
I think i have to cancel the photo shoot this Sunday. Unless I can drag two babies along. NOT.
Fricking sick to death of Mr Lexi's work.
SaraW
Kara, those photos are gorgeous, what a little stunner Addison is hheart.gif
nutCASEy
Hey everyone,

I just joined this site today, still trying to figure it out.
I live in Knox, Melbourne with my fiance and brother at my mum's house.

No sure what to say lol I've never joined a forum before shrug.gif looks like a helpful place and fun too tongue.gif looking forward to getting to know some of you.

My fiance and I had our first baby on August 7 2010. His name is Mitchell James.

Mitch has colic at the moment but it seems to be settling down as long as we keep giving him Braums Stomach Calm before each feed. It gets pretty hard as some of you would know, but seeing his smile makes me forget all the tough times original.gif can't help but love him no matter what happens.

Yeah, I have no idea what else to say hehe
Skip to my Lou
welcome nutCASEy waves.gif

Kara - great pics, couldn't get the blog ones to load, but loved the facebook ones original.gif

Lex - Dammit. I thought Mr lexi was going to be cutting down a bit to save your sanity?? Could MIL babysit? I know you don't get along brilliantly, but maybe just this once so you can get the pics done??

Sorry to hear about your friend too.

Essy - good luck with the christening.

AFUS : Have just been so busy lately, feeling a little stressed TBH. No real reason, just sick of dragging two kids around for endless things which aren't any fun. We have done both immunisations now, Paige's 2 month check went well. Still gaining weight despite not drinking all she should. She must just be an efficient little bugger or something.

We all had the dentist today. I got good news, I no longer have to get my wisdom teeth out. They have been moving for 17 years would you believe (god I feel old writing things like that) and have finally emerged. They have told me several times over the years they should be removed as they were too unreachable to clean (skin kept covering them IYKWIM) but had some xrays this morn and they are only slightly decayed so have to get 4 fillings instead!! huge saving on dough and stress for me - although I haven't had a filling since I was a child and dentists do scare me.

Still have 2 weeks to go until Paige's scan, and we have to book Frey in for her eyes to get tested as we think there may be a problem. All I really want to do is get my hair cut, but just can't squeeze that in with anyone to watch the kids (cos I figure if I'm getting it cut may as well get some new colour too wink.gif ).

Haven't been able to exercise for nearly a week because of this terrible weather, really looking forward to getting rid of Frey at child care tomorrow and going for a walk. Will probably visit my dad's grave too as it is coming up to his anniversary, and I've been feeling the need to go of late.

Frey's behaviour is not as bad now - at least not ALL the time anyway. Oh well at least I get some reprieve now instead of it being 24/7.

Hi to all, take care xx
slippers
Lexi - sorry to hear about your friends

Nutcasey - welcome to yourself and little Mitch. I've been with this group since early on but I'm a pathetically erratic poster and terrible at remembering people so I'm bad at personals. But I'm happy you've found us original.gif

And a victory for me - I returned the hired breast pump to the pharmacy today. After nearly two months of expressing Sophie is back on the boob full time and (mostly) attaching properly. OMG is my life so much more sane now I actually have time to do things instead of spending 7.5 hours a day expressing.

Now my next goal is to shed some of my post-baby weight - I'm fatter than I've ever been in my life - and try to get something close to my pre-baby fitness back. I'm aiming to walk the 4km return journey to school to collect DD1 at least 2-3 times a week (I take her scooter up for her to ride home). And if we ever get spring back in Sydney I will try to get up to the pool to do laps whenever I can squeeze it in. And then if I'm a real sucker for punishment I will start running again. Puff puff.

My ultimate goal is to get back into the skinny jeans I bought last year just before I fell pregnant!

I suppose if I ate less chocolate that would help, too...... but that's just crazy talk.
heidles82
Hi!

Welcome nutcasey! Congratulations on the birth of your DS! Sorry to hear he is colicky atm but glad that the stomach calm is working. I saw some at the chemist yesterday and was wondering if it would help my DS as he has been screaming and getting all crampy after his day feeds - he's ok at night for some reason. I have used infacol but I always forget to give it to him before feeding - doh!

Essy - snap! Jackson's baptism is this weekend too! I hope we have good weather by then! How was your minibreak to the hunter valley? I live in maitland so not far from the vineyards.

Lexi - can you find/trust a sitter so you can get the photoshoot done?

Slippers - yay on the bf!

Stml - glad to hear freya is behaving better. It must be a big change for her to have a little sister and not get 100% of your attention now.

Hi everyone else!

Afus- as mentioned earlier jackson's baptism is this sunday so am getting ready for that. Lost count of how many ppl have been invited - last count was 60 adults and 20 kids! Luckily the BBQ after is at my inlaws original.gif also this weekend is my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary. They flew in from qld this afternoon and met Jackson for the first time. He is their 14th great grandchild! Their 10 grandchildren are good breeders laughing2.gif
My4Sunshines
QUOTE (slippers @ 19/10/2010, 04:19 PM) *
OMG is my life so much more sane now I actually have time to do things instead of spending 7.5 hours a day expressing.

Now my next goal is to shed some of my post-baby weight - I'm fatter than I've ever been in my life

My ultimate goal is to get back into the skinny jeans I bought last year just before I fell pregnant!

I suppose if I ate less chocolate that would help, too...... but that's just crazy talk.

oomg.gif 7.5 hrs a day oomg.gif Holy cow girl, you're a champion!!! Enjoy all your luxury time now happy.gif
Same with the weight, I'm the biggest I've been and the most time poor I've been as well so doing exercise is very limited (well I could really do some at home but hey who wants to do that when you have a puter and All Saints to watch biggrin.gif )
I went to DFO about April last year and bought 3 pairs of really nice jeans, all of which seem to run when they see me coming atm, can't get them up past my thighs, man my butt is big! My Taj has left me with a generous spread wink.gif
Less chocolate are you wacko.gif ??? That is just not possible, is it ddoh.gif

nutCASEy waves.gif Welcome. I live in the City of Casey so not far at all!!! Congratulations to you and DF on the arrival of baby Mitchell. Colic, you poor thing!!

SKIP Much of your post sounds like me!!! At times I have stuff to do at F.G yet when I think of what I have to do to even get out the door before I enter the place I'm exhausted!! So I don't go, soooo much hassle. I try and 'save up' all the things I have to do then do it in one go. It really takes it out of you though doesn't it?!
We did the dentist last week $88 for the 4 of us after phi sad.gif guess I shouldn't complain though as the initial amount was over $200 for 3 girls to sit in the chair and a 'look see' and me a clean huh.gif are they effing kidding???!!!
Am getting dd 4's 4-5yo immunisation this Friday, couldn't get Taj done on the same day as I'd left it too late as it was and didn't want all the others to be even later, so he was done last Friday.
Each Tuesady morning when dd 4 is at kinder Taj and I go for a big walk and luckily the weather has been ok at those times, phew as I don't give that time up for no-one now!!!
How long has it been since you lost your Dad?

LEX nno.gif Oh no, quick get someone to look after the boys, you have to do the photos you'll have a ball and probably just what you need atm yyes.gif

JAL am getting worried now, where are you??????????????
nutCASEy
QUOTE (heidles82 @ 19/10/2010, 07:24 PM) *
Welcome nutcasey! Congratulations on the birth of your DS! Sorry to hear he is colicky atm but glad that the stomach calm is working. I saw some at the chemist yesterday and was wondering if it would help my DS as he has been screaming and getting all crampy after his day feeds - he's ok at night for some reason. I have used infacol but I always forget to give it to him before feeding - doh!

I was using Infacol after the doctor told me to give it a go but it did nothing. When you use is does it work? I heard about Stomach Calm through a friend, she also said Infant's Friend works great too but I couldn't find that one ddown.gif shame coz she said that stuff was liquid gold! You're lucky he's ok at night original.gif do you get much sleep?

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone biggrin.gif
heidles82
Nutcasey - the infacol seems to work when I remember to give it to him original.gif it helps bring up any wind. And boy does my boy have wind! As for sleeping, Jackson is a good night sleeper - once he gets to sleep (tonight took almost 1 hr) he sleeps til around 6/7, waking once sometimes twice for a feed. However he doesn't sleep much during the day - 3 <1hr naps usually. Speaking of sleep, I'm off to bed now to get some before he wakes original.gif
mummySausage
nutCASEy_ WELCOME!!! I am sure you will find this forum to be a real relieve from the hectic everyday life with a newborn and also for some mental support after thinking that you are going crazy thinking every single thing that went wrong with Mitch is due to something you did... coz u will find we all do that too and all our babies at one stage or another is going through the same thing as Mitch! biggrin.gif

Just a quick post before I go off to bed... yup, I have thrush officially on my right breast and poor Robby has it on her bum bum too sad.gif the poor possum. So now I have my hands on 3 doses of Diflucan to be taken once every other day. Hope it will help me clear it all up. glare.gif Now it's a flurry of keeping my boobs and Robby's bum all clean and gelled up with those antifungal gels. And since I am on antibiotics for the other boob (yes, I love being COMPLEX.... wacko.gif) it means I am also taking probiotics to make sure that I don't develop further thrush issues. Also I have start soaking my boobs in bicarb solution... jeez, I have NEVER in my life spend soooo much time and shower soooo much attention on them ever! roll2.gif Just hope the excruciating pain will go awayyyyyyyyyyyy
boo boos mumma
Hey Girls,

So sorry I've been so slack, just been busy, all good but you know??

Figure I'd best come in & say hi before Lexi sends me COME BACK Pm's lol....LOVE YOUR MESSAGES BTW LEXI, so lovely to be misssed biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

ANyhows a run down. Nat is doing awesome. Since taking stopping the breast feeding & putting her onto soy formula she is such a happy bub, not often unsettled. She often goes 5-6hrs between feeds & at night (finally after about 1am lol) she will often sleep 4-6hrs, then a bottle, burp, nappy change if needed & straight to sleep for another block sleep, she is excellent. I often leave her at home when she is asleep when i need to go shopping or drop off DD to preschool, even today I had DD & DS in daycare cause we had tax to do in the arvo (DS doesnt normally go to daycare only DD) & for 2hrs I did all these 100 little jobs in town, u know medicare, chemist, bank, shopping ect ect...oh & big W he he he... all the time Nat was home in her rocker asleep whilst DH did his customer orders in the office (with monitor on of course). She didnt wake untill i got home, prob heard my voice.

Sometimes she gets wind or gets over tired but as a whole ohnestly i really can't complain.

Her christening was supposed to be Sunday just gone (17th Oc) but it was cancelled last minute as the god mother (my SIL) rang Sat afternoon to inform me that her BIL was killed in an accident that morning (her sisters fiance), he had an 8yr old DD & a 1yr old. So tragic, its still being investigated. So I just cancelled the christening but had DS's 2nd bday party elsewhere.

Busy busy as Aiden starts early intervention this week & speech therapy. Its full on but he needs it & then we can pray that he doesnt have the autism but im ready for whatever is diagnosed. If he is autistic it appears it is likely to be on the lower spectrum so that gives alot of hope. IM also worried that he may have epilepsy (or worse but i wont think about that when its highly likely not the issue). Just two incidents that has occured one the other night I was so frightened as he was making a funny sound with breathing & his whole jaw locked up, i thought he was chocking but couldnt put my finger into his mouth cause his jaw was so locked up, so frightening I was nearly going to call an ambulance, so im thinking maybe a mild case of epilepsy OR I'm just paranoid, not sure yet.....another question to ask the doc i spose..... my Uncle died quickly from a brain tumour diagnosis when Aiden was first born so that always frightens me so im going to look into full check over just in case......i know it wont be but i need to make sure iykwim?? as my Uncle died 7weeks after being told he had a tumour.

Lexi: OMG your poor friend, that is so sad. My SIL is preggers with twins, i would crush them to loose them. So sad. Flowers are a great idea darl.

nutCasey: WElcome darl. I was part of the group pretty early on.....well i was part of the July group at first till my 7wk scan apparently said i was 5wks......im like NO IM NOT lol...but turns out i O'd late or something. Im from the RIverina so a fair way from you about 5hrs or so. I have 3 children, Reanna who is nearly 4yrs, Aiden 2yrs & Natalia born 10th Aug this year....busy busy.

my4sunshines: grrrr how frustrating, i was getting cranky about the ring around, how annoying.

mummysausage: Thrush is such a bugger u poor thing, hope it clears up real soon.

heidles well done have the christening bbq at your IL's WTG, with all those ppl too OMG imagine the pressies ha ha ha...dont mind me lol... cool.gif

slippers: Yup i wanna shed some weight too, i always put on heaps of weight after bubs, its so annoying.

Best go DS is going off & DH is getting cranky at me saids to go get him, i told him he can go to him for a damn change grrrrr.......
essy1
Heidles, we stayed in Lovedale at a gorgeous guesthouse that we'd stayed in nearly 5 years ago on our first trip to Australia together. Both times we've been the only people staying! Bliss. We ate at Amanda's at the Edge and Elowen slept from 11.30-7! Friday we visited my nan in Singleton then had a late lunch in Morpeth... I love Morpeth original.gif

hey Tam, SO glad to read that Nat has improved so much... really fantastic news xx Medicare - iMUST finish filling in my centrelink stuff online... Will make calendar entry now...
nutCASEy
heidles82 - That's sounds exactly like Mitch's sleep at night. But it always takes us 2 hours to get him to sleep and an extra hour after each feed, then he only has about 3 or 4 x 30-60 minute naps each day so I don't know if he's getting enough sleep wacko.gif

mummySausage - Oh my gosh oomg2.gif you poor thing!! Sounds like a terrible thing to go through.

amaratae - Your life sounds full on, I don't know how you do it. Natalia sounds like such an angel biggrin.gif you lucky lady. Poor Aiden, I hope everything goes well for him, I will be thinking of you this week now. And I was confused at my frist scan too, I have PCOS so I hadn't had my BW since July last year and we had no idea how far along I was, the doctor was certain I was no more than 4 weeks pregnant then at my first scan a week later we found out I was 14 weeks pregnant LOL

My4Sunshines - Hahaha the City of Casey laughing2.gif I've always wanted to move there but my DF won't let us because he has to stay close to work. I might be heading that way a little later on today to visit my bestie and her 2 kiddies.

I hope I didn't miss anyone original.gif I feel like I'm going mental
Skip to my Lou
M4S - we are freakily alike - I had my teeth cleaned yesterday too!! We don't have PHI, and we all got looked at, I got cleaned and 2 xrays and it only cost us $260. Your dentist must be expensive.
Dad died 5 years ago on the 31st of this month.

MS - Big cuddles love, hope your (.Y.) feel better soon xx

Tam - great to hear from you again. It really is great to hear of Natalia's massive improvement xx

AFUS: DH and I went out for dinner last night. My fave restaurant does theme nights once a month and this month is lebanese (my favourite). So we turn up, to meet our friends and Doh it's next week laughing2.gif . We stayed anyway - of course! - and had a brilliant meal and lovely time just the two of us. wub.gif MIL has agreed to sit for us again next week so we don't miss out on lebanese. Hurray for us!!!
Walked at 7:00 this morning (had been awake in bed since 3:30 grrr) it was zero outside f-f-f-f-freezing. Very proud of me for still going biggrin.gif

heidles82
Essy - yummy amanda's on the edge is one of my faves! Did you venture into the baby shop (little swans in swan) at morpeth? They have adorable clothes wub.gif. A friend of mine owns it which can be dangerous biggrin.gif
creepersgonnacreep
ph34r.gif
K+M+A+P
Thanks for all the positive comments on Addisons photos!

And welcome Nutcasey!

STML - Addison is the same with her bottles and generally only takes half of it. But had her weighed today and she is 5.2kg with clothes on and she was 4.57kg with clothes on about 2 weeks ago so it appears she is gaining weight.

I'm glad to see I'm not the only one with a bub that only has naps of about 30-60 minutes during the day. The community nurse says I need to keep persisting with resettling her after she wakes but sometimes its so much easier just to get her up!

For those who are using MCN's, does anyone have a good brand for overnights? At the moment we are using disposables overnight because she got bad nappy rash due to the nappies being on so long so I thought I would ask around and see if there is a brand for overnight that would be better

Another here that needs to shed weight. I have made both DP and I go on diets, not that he is impressed dev (6).gif But he is doing better at it than I am! Oh well, going to go for a walk with a GF tomorrow if the weather is nice
LemonLyman

Hi Nutcasey - I'm relatively new in this bunch of lovely ladies; I have a three year old DD and my DS was born on August 22. I'm also in the City of Casey. biggrin.gif

STML - How lovely, dinner out on your own! Glad you get to do it again next week. original.gif

MS - hope things improve for you soon!

Good to hear all the baby news. J had his 8 week check today. He is 90th percentile for both length and weight! Guess that's why everyone comments on how big he looks. He's not overly chubby at this stage, but it looks like he'll take after DH in terms of height.

Still somewhat gloomy about our nights... sad.gif I'll be posting in the Birth-6 months section soon for tips I think! Looks like I just don't breed babies who sleep all that well. Day times are okay - I can get him to settle relatively easily but he doesn't often sleep past the 40 min cycle. Looking forward to when the relentless days of feeding and settling are over and he doesn't need as much of either of those things!

Anyway, have to run and do stuff, was just popping in for a quick waves.gif. Hope everyone's having a nice day.

x
queen_grub
Hi everyone just want to introduce myself. I had a little girl Addisyn on the 26th August. Im a first time mum. I moved house/town 1 week before she was born, and we've moved to a town away from any family or friends :-( so I don't know anyone and my husband goes away lots for work.
Addisyn's going great so far, not too many problems, bit of reflux, and a milk rash that has turned into excema all over her face. Anyone got any ideas for clearing up excema?? she is always scratching her face so I've resorted to leaving mittens on her all day so she doesn't scratch her face to pieces.
Im looking forward to getting to know you all and making friends
K+M+A+P
Hi queen_grub! waves.gif

Looks like we have something in common already! I'm first time mum to my DD Addison who was born on 20th August.

Sorry can't be any help with the excema.

Welcome to the group
nutCASEy
Is there anyone on here who lives in the Knox area?
I'm sick of my MCHN centre, they keep on canceling and changing my appointments. My DS is 10 weeks old now and we still haven't had his 8 week visit wacko.gif it's so annoying.
They also don't seem to know much, they didn't even know what colic was and sent us home last time we were there because poor Mitch kept screaming and they didn't want to put up with it.
I heard we can change the centre we visit but I don't know of any others in this area.
queen_grub
hi Kara1304,

I've never meet anyone with the name addison before and now theres 2 born within a week of each other original.gif I found it in a baby book over 7 years ago and its always stuck in my mind. Even their middle names are close, my little girl is Addisyn Anne-Maree

Hi nutCASEy
I had a similiar problem with the one I go to. It took them 5 weeks to do a home visit thats normal done a week after u come home from hospital. I've found some good nurses and some nurses that have no idea what they are talking about. I get a second opinion if Im not happy with what they tell me
essy1
NutCASEy and queen_grub, welcome! Nut, I love your signature; such a cute pic of Mitchell!
creepersgonnacreep
been reading just not in a good mood today.

Welcome to nutCASEy &queen_grub
boo boos mumma
RD hope tomorrow is better for you darl, I know what its like to have those days. xxoo

nutcasey: yeah all busy here but I think we all are the same...can't recall when I last said 'im bored' lol but im sure one day ill miss being busy lol. Our MCHN is quite busy but pretty good at keeping your appts, much be so frustrating.

queengrub: Welcome. Ive sent u a PM about using Hydrozole cream for Addisyn's face. Natalia had similar thing and the hydrozole cream is just fantastic, just over the counter too.

Lemon its so hard when bubs won't sleep. I recall DD was shocking at waking after 40mins (my first child) it use to do my head in. HOpe it settles soon, bubs will learn to self settle it just takes time grr....

the doctor was certain I was no more than 4 weeks pregnant then at my first scan a week later we found out I was 14 weeks pregnant LOL

nutcasey, what a lovely surprise. Did u get morning sickness?? I suffer real bad but great when u already loose 17kgs before u start to put on weight lol, after my preg i always end up over 10kg less in weight than i was WHEN I FELL PREGGERS...the i put it on after preg, STUPID HEY?? im hopeless lol.

Me:
NOt bad. I'm stressed out to the max, won't go into it just further worries for DS and I just wish I could get answers which is what i want to hear.....speech therapist today thinks that she is possibly moving away from the possibility of Aiden having autism since his grommets he is showing some eye contact and other positive things....but in light of me telling her what happened that shows signs of mild epilepsy she agreed they are definite signs but I will need to investigate it as other things must be ruled out, i said i realised that & its what scares me.....then my bro said tonight when he picked up his daughter from my house that Aiden looks like something is 'wrong with him'...and he burst into tears and said that he has thought it for a long time but couldnt have the heart to say it & to kick him out if i like as what has just said was just awful.
I was ok about what my bro said....but now IM NOT OK WITH IT. I keep looking at Aiden's smiling & giggling face and wonder does he look 'wrong'.....does others think this?? he isnt obvious to me at all.

Anyhows....went on too long to what I said i would. My heart is just aching, i just dont know what im dealing with or if its nothing at all he is fine just needs time. I dont know what i could have done to prevent it. I fear so much was my fault (I know so stupid but when i worry i think this that my traumatic labour with him caused it iykwim??).

Ok im off, crapping on. Gosh i seem like such a stress head kinda reason why i dont post often, u girls have enough on with your bubs without me waffling on about my 2yr olds problems.

K+M+A+P
green_grub - Wow 7 years! Yeah I'm a bit of a fan of Private Practice and the ladies name on there is Addison lol. I can't believe how similar their middle names are as well. Just after Addison was born I saw in one of the sydney papers these twins that were about 12 months old and one of them was Addison Marie.

Amaratae - bbighug.gif I'm glad the grommets have been helping a bit but I hope you get some answers to. And don't worry about whether your waffling or not, better to get it out somewhere than not talk about it at all!
heidles82
Welcome Queen_grub! You will find all the ladies here friendly and funny original.gif My DH works away a fair bit too, so I know how lonely it can get, especially after a rough night with a newborn! I am back living in my hometown, so I am lucky to have family and friends at hand to help me out when needed. Have you looked into joining a mothers group? The health service here arranges them, and I have met a great group of women with babies all around the same age, which has been wonderful. I have also just started my DS at Gymbaroo, so have met some more parents of littlies. And it is an excuse to get out of the house at least weekly original.gif

RD - I hope today is a better day for you.

Amaratae - bbighug.gif
My4Sunshines
nutCASEy Ring your council and ask for MCHC around you and ask for an appointment at a centre of your choice, you only go to this centre as the hospital contacts them as is most likely the closest to you, however if you are not happy you can change. I changed nurses, with dd3, in the same centre as I wasn't happy with the one I was seeing.
I was going to 'hunt' for the nurse I changed to with dd3 this time then I found out she left cry1.gif she was soooo nice too.
I grew up in the area but I don't know where the centres are, prob lots more since I left there eons ago wink.gif

Welcome queen_grub waves.gif New friends to play with happy.gif love it!!

TAM hhugs.gif Aiden is the same boy he was yesterday and will be tomorrow, what everyone else thinks cannot change that, and really shouldn't either, this is how he is, a beautiful 2yo bundle. Everyone looks different, not wrong, just different and thank goodness or we wouldn't be able to tell each other apart!! There is no 'right' way to look.
I think that was a bit insensitive of your bro, to me it's kind of like when you tell people something and they say 'oh yes I knew it was that and was going to say so.........' Easy to say when you just told them!!!!!!
hhugs.gif you are a great mum!

Oh dear, must dash, Taj's cries mean business!! "I'm hungry NNNNNOOOOOWWWW!!!!!" cry1.gif cry1.gif
creepersgonnacreep
oh Tam Aiden is beautiful and know he looks fine! Noah is alot different from Amelia in the way he talks and he has the lazy eye and took so much longer to do things than Amelia did. I just think every kid is different and you may find the grommets will really help him alot I know it has for friends kids! bbighug.gif I am always around if you need a chat and I know how you feel like something you did may have done/caused something. Noah was always sick as a young baby and he was in distress when he was being born and with him having the allergies I still feel bad that it was my fault he was sick all the time as I was comp feeding him formula when he was allergic to it. Sigh mother's guilt is a horrible thing sad.gif
M4S: oh Sam does those really horrid cries too if he has to wait more than 2 mins goes all red in the face like someone has pinched him ohmy.gif
nutcasey: I don't take the kids to the CHN here much lost faith after my experience with Noah I mean if they can't tell a baby is in respiratory distress then how the hell can they give general information. I suppose this is my third child so I can tell what is/isn't normal and I can take him to the GP if needs be which is where I would end up here anyway as they have to refer you to the GP first before you can see a specialist.

Oh naughty me did another gymboree order last night-there was another 25% off code and I wanted more skorts (the skirts with built in shorts) for DD as she has a habit of flashing or not sitting like a lady laughing2.gif and needed shorts for DS1 so I got including postage 24 peices of clothing/hair accessories for $130 US. SO I was pretty happy with that original.gif we don't have Myer or that here so only target and kmart for kids clothing so I get bored having the same as everyone else and then there is never any nice boys stuff all girls stuff!
lexington
RD you're making me wanna go shopping again. I have been so good.

TAM! Glad you're back and with updates on the grommets.

Ok I have found a babysitter that I will pay so that I don't have to owe family favours.
You know what i mean.

She's recommended by the person who help me find Sister L - D's FDC. SO GOOD.

nutcasey - you don't have to go to the mchn. I would complain to the council anyway you can see a GP for weighins etc.

I will be back, ton of fricking bookings!!
nutCASEy
Thanks so much for your help everyone biggrin.gif I didn't know we can to the GP for weigh in's and such. That's fantastic.

essy1 - thanks hehe I thought I'd have a go at making my own sig before I asked somebody else to make one for me tongue.gif I was so proud of my self, even though it's a plain one LOL.

amaratae - I got morning sickness really bad. Before I found out I was pregnant I was going to the doctors almost every week to find out what was wrong, one doctor said I'd pulled a muscle in my chest ( aannoyed.gif ) and another one said I had a virus... the list goes on hahaha. I was naughty, I never weighed myself but I certainly felt like I was loosing weight when I was sick LOL.
Jyles _3
Trying to pump and type at same time, so only short!
Tam - hhugs.gif sounds very stressful, I so hope you get some answers soon.

Nutcasey - I've completelt ignored my local centre this time; only ever got judgement and bad advcice in the past! try another centre, or find a good gp.

AFUS (sorry, not many personals - mpre next time, I promise!!!): completelyt had jack of trying to BF this baby. If she doesn't cry on the boob then she pushes and pulls and slides off and it spurts everywhere and it makes me so stressed every time, my poor older kids get yelled at every time I feed. But now of course have to get her to take bottle, which hasn't been successful so far. Finally got her to take 10mls this morning - hooray!!!! - but then she did her reflux screaming-in-pain cry for a good 15 minutes. Avent teats?? Will try another teat.
Any advice on getting the bottle down greatly appreciated??!!
mummySausage
QG_WELCOME!!!! Yay, another person to share stories and whinge with! biggrin.gif

Lexi_does that mean ur photo session is still on? wink.gif

Tam_seriously how do you define how a person look 'wrong'? Is there a 'right' look? Jeez... the impositions that society nowadays place on individuals. Don't worry, hope everything will go truly well hhugs.gif

RD_hope your mood has picked up since...

nut_What a bummer!!! I had a similar experience with our first MCHN. She was totally NOT into her job. She couldn't even remember if she has asked me some questions (ie: how r u feeling, r u coping well, etc) and asked me twice in the same appt! And she was totally so not into babies (wonder why she became a MCHN in the first place?!?). So I rang the council and requested to be moved to another centre but instead they made another appt for me in the same centre but with another MCHN. I was thinking to myself what if the other MCHN noticed me? haha... and guess what? She was so ignorant that she didn't even remember we saw her before when she met us during our appt with the new MCHN! oomg2.gif

Thanks for all the support girls... I think I'm finally getting better! Fed Robby on the bad (.Y.) awhile ago and after the feed it's ALMOST painless! Took my second Difflucan today and will need to take the last of the 3 on Saturday... hopefully that will clear everything up. But Robby's bum still has thrush... I am trying to give her bum 'air time' here and there (it's hard when she does her wee almost always when her nappy is off for more than a few seconds!) and rinse her bum at every nappy change with bicarb solution... lots of work but hopefully it will clear in the next couple of days...

Hey, just wanna get some opinions about swaddling ur bubs. I know I have brought this up before and quite a few of u girls don't swaddle anymore... how do u overcome this startle reflects they have all the time? I haven't been swaddling Robby for awhile now, but I still do sometimes during her arvo naps coz she kept waking herself up and that's that for that nap cycle! glare.gif Any advice? Oh and Robby has now gone into I-can-only-nap-for-40mins-at-a-time stage.... *sigh* There goes my precious afternoons.... cry1.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.