The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 58

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=810850
~Annika~
Sharna, CONGRATULATIONS to you and your family on the safe arrival of Aidan!!!!
I am soooo happy for you!!!

Hi to everyone else! BBL

GOLD
meeskamouska

Bec - I use Huggies if I do sposies. Am really trying super hard to be sposie free but some nights sposies are just easier. Size wise. We do 10-15kgs. U might try going up a size. CR has been known to wee out a huggies of late. Perhaps their bladders hold more liquid now they're bigger.

Sharna - Welcome home gorgeous. So happy for you. A little man to add to the family....nice!!!

Hi Annika - I'm still looking forward to August & meeting up. Fun.

Kathryn - do u think its a bit of seperation anxiety??

Ros - yay on the SL sale. incraft have their annual 50% off dress fabric sale too. Can't wait to hit the shops in the next few days. I'll be stocking up on some stuff too. Our SL doesn't do minky...highly annoying. Lincraft does a few basic colours & spots though. Might grab some chocolate coloured minky for something different. Do pink & brown...nice. Did u end up doing a dress for Chelsea??

Made some beautiful matching floral nappies & tie shoulder baby doll tops today. So tempting to keep some for CR. I won't though. Our nappy stash is crazy of late. I just went thru & culled a heap to Vinnies. Thinking about selling my ittis too. Just don't use them anymore & it seems a waste they just sit there.

Got heaps to do on the puter so better head.

Night girls.
Fabulous
Nat- ooh I love pink and brown together. One of my favourite wool colourways is turkish delight, brown and pink together. I should go to lincraft although I think there are only like 4 or something in the whole of Perth so it might be a long drive. I didn't make a dress because I couldn't find a pattern and I only recently bought the nightie pattern which since I'm a novice sewer has been more than enough for me to try and take on at once. I remember Chelsea was a light wetter until she hit 2 and started doing huge toddler wees (infrequent but forceful) We stopped using cloth full-time at that stage which was a bit sad.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Went out and had a look at a XR6 today, sooooooooooo nice. biggrin.gif Thinking about upgrading, something easier to tow the camper. Very schmik!!!

Nat- Don't know. When we were away camping last weekend he was running away from me lol. The nappies and tops sound very cute. original.gif

Ceres- Yeah Lollipops is a play centre.
Alis Volat Propiis
I put some piccies up on FB... you guys are all FB friends right?

Bit tired here although I got a snooze today. Going to bed.

See you all tomorrow.

Sharna
bec8112
Sharna - the pics are great! Aidan is just adorable! What did Nadia weigh when she was born? Was Aidan bigger?

Nat - I will have to get you to make something for Hannah, maybe a nappy and top/dress for summer time????

Ros - yeah on getting the cheap fabric! Yeah Ethan seems to do huge wees and then nothing for ages, I suppose it will help with the TT when we eventually start that!

Kathryn - oh upgrading of the car would be great! We have to look at getting a upgrade soon to something bigger for me as my car is too small with 2 car seats in the back for when we go to my parents and have to take the dog!

I bought some of the biggest size Aldi nappies for Ethan today so will see how they go.

One of the guys I work with was really emotional today as his son has just been diagnosed with autism. It is his 2nd boy to be on the spectrum. His son is only just 2 but has NO words at all. It makes me worry more about Ethan! Ethan has words but there are not many and they are all not real words IYKWIM eg. 'ba' for Kimba ( dog ). I really hope I am worrying about nothing but whatever happens I love Ethan to bits and that will never change!

Sorry for the downer at the end.
~Annika~
Hey all, back again! I had a quiet day at home today with Bryce while Tyler went to Kindy, sooo nice to spend time with just Bryce on his own in between! I am just enjoying him sooo much, and can't get over how much he is talking, I notice it heaps more when he is alone with me. Every morning when I pick him up out of his cot the first thing he asks about is his toy motorbike
-"Um....where's my momobike? Where's it, outside?"
rolleyes.gif LOL, he is absolutely OBSESSED with bikes, especially being so exposed to them here where we live, he goes for rides with DH on his motorbike and also on the quad bike with me regularly.
He also says things like:
-"Bye bye, see ya"
-"Um, I see Sharni (our dog), where did come fom?"
-"I see a car car" and "= a Kacta" (tractor), and "= a momobike"
-"Pick it up"
- "Oh dear"
He can count up to twelve!!! ohmy.gif (from listening to Tyler learning his numbers of course)
-"I did it, hurray!"
-"What happened?"
-"What did you do?"
- "I did a poo poo, yucky!"
-"Poo poo's, wee wee's, potty."
But when I try putting him on the potty he will just sit there for ages mucking around and never actually doing anything.
Sometimes he'll say "Well.....," and then a whole sentence follows that we usually can't understand.
happy.gif He really makes us smile!
And he is learning his manners much to my insistence and consistency, so he is now starting to say
-"Kengk you, Mummy!" on his own accord when I give him something to eat or whatever,
and if he bumps into someone accidentally he'll say "Sozzy!"
For quite some time now he's been automatically saying
-"Padon me" with a cheeky smile if he burps or farts, it's so cute! biggrin.gif
I forget as I sit here now all the different things he says, but those are a few of the regular day to day ones.

Was going to do a heap of personals, but now my good eye is really sore and my blurry eye is very blurry, always a sign of not enough sleep, argh, self inflicted of course! Try again tomorrow.

Sharna Will go into FB later and check out your pics of little baby Aidan!!

Bec Oh, I'm sorry, I just scrolled up after adding my post and read the last bit of your post about Ethan's talking and your concerns, I really didn't mean to sound like I was boasting about Bryce's talking if that's how it came across, especially after what you just wrote. blush.gif I was just as worried about Tyler too when he was this age, being the first child too makes you more concerned, but if he is trying to talk even if you can't make out what he is saying, I wouln't worry too much. It will come!
meeskamouska
Hmmm... yes its 3:50am brissy time. Can't sleep. Off to the Dr tomorrow. I've got a parasite in my skin from Bali.... ohmy.gif ohmy.gif what a downer I can tell you. Its driving me insane. No doubt my gut instinct was right with CR & she has it too. One of the symptoms is itchy feet. So hard to know with babies as they can't tell you whats bothering them. Anyway, what do u do. I'm onto it now. Bella probably has it too. sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif Feeling completely gross.

Bec - maybe u could get an app with a develepomental pead or something ...like Mel did. It would put your mind to rest to know either way. If it comforts you at all CR doesn't do alot of speaking & has only really started saying anything clearly just the last few weeks. She's a single word Gal. Dog,mum, dad, belwa for bella. Very basic stuff & no sentences at all.

Off to look at Aidan & then try to go back to sleep.
Fabulous
Nat- How awful for both of you. Your news kind of puts me off travelling to developing countries.

Bec- Your poor work mate. He must be really worried about the 2 yo with the older boys already diagnosed. It sounds like there is a real genetic link with ASD and many other disabilities. There are so many people on EB and other places that have multiple children with disabilities, it kind of blows me away when I read their sigs and hear their stories. It sounds like Jack and Ethan are at the same stage with their speech development.

Kathryn- do you have a camper thing like a trailer that pops up? I'm interested to know what you use.

Annika- how sweet that Bryce is talking heaps. What a clever cookie he is counting up to 12. original.gif

Sharna- I must pop on to FB to look at thoser piccies. I don't think I have been on for months.
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Cameron went up to Aqua Tots in swimming today. They wear a back and arm floats. He was a little apprehensive about it but in time I'm sure he'll get used to it. original.gif Nothing much else has happened today. Going to Zumba tonight then out to dinner which I'm really looking forward to. original.gif

Ceres- basically its a trailer that has a tent on it, if that makes sense. The tent folds out from the trailer, you sleep on the trailer once the tent is fully erect.

Nat- Not good about the parasite hopefully the Dr can do something to help you all out.

Annika- Wow the vocab is impressive! Cameron is saying single words and that's only really been recently. Nowhere near sentence forming.

Bec- Yeah thought you may have to upgrade. The Camry is getting a few ks and don't know how long it will last towing a trailer. Don't stress too much about Ethan. Cameron has only really started talking in the last month and before that it was mum and dad only. I'm sure once he starts you won't be able to stop him. original.gif Not good about your workmates son. sad.gif
1kathryn
Morning all,

Had a great time at Zumba last night. My goodness haven't had a workout like that in ages. original.gif Didn't mind the gorging I did at dinner. Had a banquet was very yummy indeed. original.gif Cameron was an angel at my parents which was a relief but not a surprise. original.gif My dad is really sweet and call's Cameron son. wub.gif
Off to Lollipops today perfect day for it considering its raining. original.gif
themelster
Evening all,

Nat - how'd you guys go at the docs?? How did you find out it was a parasite in the end? I wonder how you picked it up? I hope it is a simple topical ointment or something of the like to remedy it. You poor things. We ended up cancelling out Bali holiday, the place double booked on us and it was all too hard. Bummer.

Annika - what a little chatterbox!! biggrin.gif "We did it, Hooray!" Hmmmm, I wonder where he got that one from LOL! biggrin.gif Tom says "Aw Man!" Americal accent and all and "There it is!", "map", "Backpack" etc etc. You've got to love Dora! Tom has started putting some basic two word phrases together, mainly consisting of "mummy's XXX" or Daddy's XXX" or "More XXX". He's also really really good with his manners and has thank you and please pretty down pat. It's a delightful age hey!

Bec - My heart really goes out to your colleague. It would be like a greiving process. Very very difficult. It sounds like Ethan isn't alone in not saying much, and as you say, he has great eye contact, great gesturing, turns when you call his name and looks when you point at something. They are all great indicators. If it is only his speech then I wouldn't stress BUT it can't hurt to book an appointment. I know it is expensive, but honestly, that $400 was the best money I have spent. Nothing is worth more than peace of mind. And for me, it was my sanity saver.

Mands - You have been very quiet (not that I can talk). I am assuming you are flat out with all of your business. I hope your migraine went away the other day. When you are ready, just pop me over your account details so that I can pay you. Oh, I've just started the True Blood book!

Kathryn - is that a Mazda? I'm hopeless with cars!

Ros - any news on the house hunting side of things?

AFM - I was up at Splendour in the grass last night. Roughing it in the campgrounds. I'm dusty today I can tell you. We drove home today and I'll spend tonight here and then drive back in the morning and stay back up there tomorrow night to see The Pixies, Ash and Richard Ashcroft. I'm far too old for these kinds of shenanigans and 3 nights in a row would have killed me!

Off to bed now!
meeskamouska
Sounds like you had a good time Mel. I'm starting ot feel the age thing a bit here too...laugh!!

Kathryn -Was thinking of you last night. I got such a good sleep from 9-3 I woke wide awake. Put on the telly & the Zumba Ad was on. There is NO WAY I could keep up with that!! You're a legend with how much u do at the gym.

Us - Both of my girls slept thru last night & are still asleep!! We got the medication we needed & looks like it has worked...fingers crossed. Mel, TMI - I could feel something under my skin scuttling around & then I would feel itchy in that spot. Then it enter the intenstine....was very creepy. It enters thru the skin. Makes me feel sick even thinking about it. It was a tropical nasty that but a bit of a downer on our holiday but I just keep thinking about all the other stuff we did. Everyone's first question now is ...would you go back?? Probably... I just would wear closed in shoes & not go to the beach.

Ow... I can hear CR waking. You're right Mel...its the most delightful age. I hope she never speaks properly so she can't answer me back... unlike her cheeky mouthed 6yr sister ATM.... Bella is driving me!!!...LOL.

Enjoy your day girls.
Hope its a lovely relaxing Sunday for everyone.
themelster
Oh Nat, that sounds awful. I hope it clears for you soon!

I forgot to ask in my last post. Does anyone else have a duracel destructo-bunny for a child. Honestly, Tom is FULL ON at the moment. He can destroy a room in seconds and I feel like all I do all day every day is say "please put that back Tom, Tom - put that down!, Please don't touch that Tom!, No, don't open that, don't go in there please, etc etc etc. He is just into EVERYTHING and it's driving me a bit batty. I'm assuming it is normal inquisitive todder behaviour, but it is exhausting and draining!
~Annika~
Kathryn Aqua Tots sounds great and I am sure before you know it Cameron will start to love going! That's fantastic that you got to go Zumba for a work out, I admire you for doing it!! I would love to do something like that but live too far out of town to go for a work out, so my work outs consists of walks and jumping with a skipping rope, and I now have my Bun & Thigh Isolator back and set up after I had lent it to my ILs for ages (so my father-in-law could use it to strengthen his legs again after his stroke - which helped him heaps as he is fully functional and independent again now). Your dinner sounded lovely and how nice that Cameron was so good for your parents. Aww, how sweet is your dad!!

Mel You're very right, it's a really delightful age, but on the other hand you experience the frustrations of them needing constant stimulation as you've mentioned with Tom. I must admit, with Tyler I was much the same as you in that respect - constantly telling him where Not to go and what NOT to touch, argh, I agree that it's very exhausting!! Now though, with having baby/child proofed our house as a result it was already set up for Bryce and I am WAY more relaxed about it second time round! Plus Tyler and Bryce have each other to play with and entertain each other, which is a really positive aspect of having more than one child. Not sure how you have your house set up, but it's a good idea to have a toy box in the main area that you can redirect him to when he touches something he shouldn't and say "These are Tom's toys to play with!" rather than saying NO all the time - they can't think of what they should be doing instead. Maybe try sitting down on the floor with him for even just 5 minutes doing something simple and fun when he gets really busy like that as sometimes it could be a way of actually getting your attention - even if it's negative attention (they learn VERY quickly what gets any sort of response out of us.) It's is a tricky age though in some ways as you can't reason with them as to why they must not touch certain things. aannoyed.gif Bryce's latest irritating naughtiness is climbing up on the computer chair and playing with the mouse and keyboard and accidentally starting up different programs etc. We have the computer/office desk in the main living area and keep it on all the time as we use it frequently throughout the day.

Natty Oh no, so it was as I mentioned then - with the parasite in your skin! You poor thing!!! How awful for you, I was really hoping it wouldn't be that, but it's great that you could get onto it and get what you needed to clear it up quickly and getting fast results!! It's good that the experience hasn't made you want to stay away from Bali but rather you'll go there with more precautions next time! How did CR go on the planes to and from Bali?

nno2.gif I am very apprehensive about how Bryce will go for the 7 hour straight flight across to QLD in 2 weeks time!!!!! He is not very good at sitting still on our laps for long at all!!! I am really quite dreading that part of the holiday more than any thing else! I have got some new little special toys and snack JUST for the plane so they'll be more exciting for him to play with and to distract him when needed. As he is pretty close to 2 years of age I am seriously considering giving him 5mL Phenergan the night before and the morning of the flight (even during if needed) to keep him a little bit more settled, and it's a good travel sickness prevention. Please let me know what you guys do to keep your toddlers settled on planes!!!!

Bec How is your gorgeous little girl going these days? And how are YOU going? How many days a week if any does Ethan go to daycare? I am going to enroll Bryce in to daycare after we get back from QLD so I can look at getting some other work as the hospital here is over staffed and I haven't had any shifts since making myself available again (I'm only casual). How much maternity leave do you have this time?

Sharna How is your beautiful little Aidan going? How is Nadia going with adjusting to having a little brother? And most of all, how are you doing with getting enough rest and settling into a routine etc? Your photos on FB are lovely, and all the grandparents looked so proud of their little grandson!

Mands How are you going chick? Haven't heard much from you lately! How is the business going for you?

waves.gif Hi also to Ros, Sarah, Amy and anyone else I may have missed!!!

Not long now until we go over to QLD and NSW!! SOOOOOO looking forward to it!!!!! ddance.gif
meeskamouska
Annika - Charlee did fine on the plane trips. Bella was more of a problem to be honest. Luckily for us the flights were pretty much thru the night both times so both girls did alot of sleeping. I did was Mands said a couple of times & took Charlee to the toilet, pulled the change table down & sat her up there to muck around for a bit. We washed hands & used heaps of paper towels, pumped the soap a few dozen times...LMAO!!! It worked good. & yes it was a parasite...ick. We've all had medication so hopefully it clears & doesn't return..EVER!!

Mel - I've given up trying...my house it trashed from CR. She spills drinks, draws on the walls, pulls all the toilet paper out, empties my cupboards, tips all the toys out, drops food everywhere!!, I do my best to keep on top of everything, the plan is that I'll catch up to her eventually instead of trailing behind the tornado cleaning up all the time. I find it down right exhausting!! Must admit though I'm pretty lapsie daisy.
We have a side courtyard & I keep it open all day for her to play in or out. Pretty certain there is more sand instead than out. I open the gate for her occassionally so she can go see the goat & horse etc. She just wonders down there & picked grass for them etc. I feel lucky that we have a good set up here so the kids are pretty free to do as they please.
Bella is the one that does my head in with, don't do that, stop it, etc etc. It goes on all day...sends me stupid. CR is easier to get co operation than Bella.
On the upside though, both my girls are just delightful. Thought I'd better chuck that in otherwise I'll sound like a whingy mother....LOL.

CR is doing the mega sleep. She must be catching up from all thedays she's missed with being restless during the night. Always the way...if I had of known she was going to sleep for so long I would of planned to do more.

Phone.......better head.
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Been a home day. Done a few loads of washing, perfect drying weather its so sunny and windy. biggrin.gif Cameron went down for a nap at 2:30 cos he didn't get up until 9:15 this morning. original.gif Cameron did much better at Lollipops yesterday which was a relief. original.gif The family we went with we were invited over for a BBQ dinner which was great. Didn't leave till midnight so it was a wonderful night. original.gif They've even invited us for a 4 day holiday on a houseboat. original.gif And we've only known them for about 5months because she is a workmate of mine.
Adam is in a quiet mood. sad.gif Which means I've done something wrong!!! He's asleep now so I'll have to wait till he wakes to ask him what I've done this time. cry1.gif I figure its either because I'm not working enough or that he doesn't have enough free time to do what he wants, unlike the male partners place we went to last night, who has lots of toys and time to use them. Which I can understand where Adam is coming from he doesn't have a great deal of free time and we both hate the fact we only see each other really two days in a fortnight! Now somehow I've managed to get this weekend off so its been lovely yesterday to spend quality time together but on the flip side you think of the money I'm missing out on. Sorry for the downer. sad.gif

Annika- Yeah Cameron will be swimming on his own before we know it. original.gif Aww thanks for your admiration for me doing Zumba very sweet. I used to dance so a lot of the moves are second nature to me so I'm very lucky in that respect. That's wonderful the machine worked so well for your FIL. But its great you have it back to use again. Oh I hate jump rope lol. Dinner was wonderful and very thankful that each time Cameron is babysat by my parents they can't wait to do it again. Yeah my dad's a big softy! wub.gif

Mel- The XR6 is a Ford. original.gif Wowee you go party girl lol. Yeah Cameron the destructor is alive and well. Into everything and when we get cranky at him he just laughs at us. Some days it does drive me mental having to clean up Cameron's cyclone of destruction.

Nat- Aww thanks so much your too kind. I'm very fortunate I feel very natural doing Zumba but I can understand why people find it challenging. It's great you got the medication you need hope it works quickly. Yay on the girls sleeping through. original.gif

Hi everyone else biggrin.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Its busy being a mum of two... haha, most of you know that already.

We are settling in at home ok. Aidan is on the boob all the time and doing well. He did let me get a 4 hr block of sleep overnight though from 9pm till 1am which was nice. I woke up with a shock at 1am wondering why i hadnt heard from him. He is still getting his day/night sorted though and is quite sleepy during the day and having an awake time of about 2 hours overnight. I am lucky that I can get some naps here and there with all the helpers at home to watch N. Dan is back to work this week though and it will be interesting to see how we all go.

Hi to everyone else.

Hope to have more time soon.

Sharna
Small Potatoes
Sorry I missed the thread and then got busy. Have cards coming out the wazoo at the moment. Sharna if you would like one I can do the file and send it through FOC. Just go to the webby and let me know the design.

Sharna What a beautiful little man you have (of course).

Nat What a pain about the skin parasite.

Mel I have two destructo bunnies that have to get into everything ALL the time.

Hi to everyone I missed BBL
meeskamouska
Sharna - so glad to hear you r travelling good with your expanded family.
Hi Mands - you never cease to surprise me how busy you r with your business.

Made some of the cutest nappies today. With matching peasant dresses. I'm surprising myself actually. Been working on an Organic foaming wipes wash too that seems to have come together. I'm really enjoying getting everything ready. Slow & steady...right...LOL.

CR is sick. Ridiculously high fevers. Hoping its just a 24hr bug & the worst will be over tomorrow. I've never felt her that hot. Then next minute she'll be shaking all over cold. Poor poppet. She's still drinking lots & in some what of good spirit so for now on advice from 13health we'll just see how she goes over the next 24hrs. Hopfully like I said its just a viral/24hr thing.
I put CR in for an extra DC day & it was supposed to start tomorrow but somehow I don't think it'll happen.

Chat tomorrow.
bec8112
Nat - I would be interested in a nappy/dress set for Hannah, let me know what sizes you have.
Small Potatoes
QUOTE (MissNatty @ 02/08/2010, 09:15 PM) *
Organic foaming wipes wash too

LOL I have been doing the same biggrin.gif Poor little CR, hope she is feeling better today.

We just got our motor home charge and they charged us when the AUD is the strongest - yay!!

bec8112
Nat - how is CR doing?

Mands - yeah on the AUD and the motor home! Did you still want me to test the small nappy for you? If so what is the weight range cause she is growing fast tongue.gif
meeskamouska
Bec - ATM with nappy sizes I'm doing small medium & large. With clothing sizes 0,1,2 only. If they r a set I do size 0 with a med nappy. Size 1 with a med & size 2 with a large. The nappy cut is sort of similair to a fattycake so the sizes run large. U should come visit me MM on the 14th & see everything in the real.
Mands - I'm loving FWwash ATM. Your the one that pointed me in the right direction. Thankyou. I love that site & it opens my mind to so many possibilities. Thinking of trying to make my first batch of soap soon. Not sure why I feel so frightened by it. Maybe the lye puts me off. Have you done any soaps from scratch???

Cr - shockingly sick here. I've never has such high temps with a toddler before. Been to the DR & nothing...nudder... nothing wrong. No ear infection, throat, cough or nothing. He checked her blood for diabeties & is doing a urine sample. She's dehydrated & won't eat or drink. Still hoping its just a viral thing.
Filled her up with a few mls of painstop & she's sleeping.
Poor poppet.
Fabulous
This morning we have the interview for DS1 to attend the local catholic school (yr 9) and they accepted him in there and then and he starts Thursday. We went straight over to pick up some uniforms. We were lucky to get a second hand blazer for $80. New ones are $170 and are compulsory. It annoys me that we have to pay for an education because the local public schools are so dodgy. We pay enough taxes in this country as it is!!

Nat- poor little CR. I hope she is better soon.

Sharna- glad to hear Aidan is enjoying his boob.

Mands- that's great that the dollar was so good. I was on such a high in the USA when we were getting 91 cents for our dollar.

Bec- I hope you are all going well. Is Ethan a blondie? I should just look on facebook stupid me.

Kathryn- I saw one of those camper trailers when I was staying at a caravan park in Melbourne and they look pretty good. The family had 3 kids so they had a tent too.

Mel- I'm glad somebody is enjoying this age. Jack is a crazy toddler with horrendous tantrums, the worst tantrums out of all 5 kids and that's saying something, lol. He is a mega cute boy though.

Annika- don't worry about the plane trip, it's only 1 day in your life. Before we went away I just blocked the whole plane trip thing out of my mind because I knew that I would stress about it if I started thinking about it. As it was all 6 of our flights went much better than expected and Jack slept at least half of the time. It was other peoples kids who were making all of the noise.
Small Potatoes
Ros It is at 91 currently but we got charged $80 in transaction fees by our scummy credit card people.

Nat I was frightened by using Lye too, but I got some goggles from bunnings and kitchen gloves and made sure the kids were sleeping. I did it outside too and but a heap of ice under the saucepan I mixed the lye and water in and the water was really cold too. Turned out well.

Bec Send through your mailing addy. Nappy should go to about 7kgs
Fabulous
Mands- that's awesome. We use the NAB gold visa and the wizard cc. for travelling.I think they are the only ones around that don't charge foreign transaction fees. You also get free travel insurance with the nab gold visa if you use it to pay for your flights, obviously not useful to you guys..
Fabulous
I can hear an echo. biggrin.gif

We bought a second hand Ford Focus today for DH to drive to work. He has always had company provided transport with all of his previous jobs so we aren't used to having to run and maintain 2 cars. I think I might have to start looking for some work. I have put it off because we are living too far from the nearest school for our girls to walk home and if I picked them up after work I would get there around half an hour after the bell.
Small Potatoes
TMI WARNING

Mel thank you so much for introducing me to the diva cup. I love it. Last time it was perfect as my flow wasn't that heavy, but this time it is heavier so I had to change more often. Hopefully it will be lighter again next time original.gif. I only got the small size so if I have heavier next time I might buy the bigger one. I am so glad I have this as AF is due in Canada and it will be great in the motorhome no tampons.

themelster
Haha! You are more than welcome Mands biggrin.gif
1kathryn
Morning all,

Feeling absolutely horrific! Think its the flu. sad.gif Thankfully Cameron is behaving for the most part and isn't pestering me to go outside too much. Also have my period so a perfect combo. Cameron's ear infection seems to be improving thank goodness.
Daycare has moved Cameron from a cot to a mattress on the floor and he's coping really well. Cameron may be ready for a single bed. My lil baby is growing up.
Things are starting to improve between Adam and I. Think this flu has been caused by all the stress.
Hope everyone is having a lovely day. original.gif

Ceres- Our camper will be big enough for another child on top of Cameron which is great. Thought we'd go a bit bigger to fit two kids comfortably. How'd the interview go at the Catholic School?

Nat- How's CR doing, poor lil thing. sad.gif

Sharna- It's great you are setting back into being at home and that Aidan is doing so well. original.gif

meeskamouska
Ros - . New car...nice!!...I lovvveee new cars. Also, haven't been on FB for a few days so haven't accepted your friend request yet but will when I get a minnie.

Ohh....diva cups...scary new modern things....LOL!!

Big beds - after Kathryn commenting on Cameron using the mattress at DC brings up the subject for us too. I've been leaving a mattress on the ground for CR & often at lunchtime I find her in the room asleep on the mattress. Wondering if its time to take the rail off the cot. Anyone else thinking about it?????? For me I don't want to jepardise the day sleep thing as CR is still doing 2-3hrs.

CR is still sick & now has conjunctivitis. No DC at all this week. She's all green & snotty with a cough. About the only thing that brings her relief is the shower. Poor poppet. Fingers crossed though that she appears to be slightly better today.

Roast beef with gravy for tea. Can't be bothered doing roast veges now so we'll have chippies instead....yumbo...can't wait!!!! Naughty food. CR is a die hard chippies lover so she'll be happy.

Chat soon Nat
1kathryn
Cameron had an arvo nap but woke up on the wrong side of his cot! He's been in a fowl mood from 3pm. Adam didn't get home till 6 so I'm totally wrecked. Thankfully Adam did dinner and is bathing Cameron I feel a million times worse. sad.gif

Nat- I am tossing up whether to move Cameron into a big bed. Adam wants to make up a racing car single bed. biggrin.gif We went hot chips as well with our dinner. Not that I ate much.
Fabulous
Sounds like a few of our kiddies are sick. We have had a great run in our family this winter with not one illness so far, maybe we aren't socialising enough or something. original.gif Nah I find that some winters are horrendous and some much better. I always tend to get really sick in the winters that I have been pg but that is no longer an issue for me.

No plans here to move Jack out of the cot. I left Chelsea in until she was 3 which I found really good. Our older kids went into a bed at 2. Jack still sleeps from 12 noon until 3pm every single day.

Nat- thanks. I probably only go on facebook once every couple of months so I'm definitely not a frequent user. Did you have a go at making your own fleece covers?

Kathryn- Interview went fine thanks. He was actually offered a place at the interview and started school today. (2 days later). What does Adam do for a living? The racing car bed sounds really cool and at least Cameron wouldn't fall out of it.
Small Potatoes
Still here but just watching. Tooth is really sore and I am trying not to take anything strong as for the pain as DH is away from yesterday for 10 days.

Alis Volat Propiis
Hey everyone

Busy here at our house too.

Aidan is going well. He slept from 9pm till 2am last night and then woke again at 5am which was lovely. I feel quite rested. He does cluster feed in the morning however and evenings and last night was on the boob from 4pm pretty much till 9pm. Very draining!! Although with all this BFing I have found that I am under my pre-pg weight already and well on the way to losing the extra weight I gained after I had N. I have just about lost all my baby tummy too. I know I can share this with you guys without sounding like I am bragging. After being overweight for such a long portion of my life it is really nice to know that my fitness that I worked so hard on has played a big part in my being able to get back into shape quickly. I can fit into my normal jeans again which was one of my goals original.gif

At his GP check up he was 4.4kgs! Little boofer. I noticed Bec, you said this was Hannah's weight at her 6 week check up. Glad to hear little Hannah is going well for you.

N has been a little cherub lately... so good with Aidan, not too many tantrums and SLEEPING THROUGH every night since he has come home! oomg.gif It makes a big difference not having to get up for her as well.

The for sale sign is up on our front lawn and the piccies should be loaded to realestate.com.au today. Will link you guys when it is up. We have someone coming through to look this arvo which is great. Fingers crossed!

This morning I am venturing out with Aidan, Nadia and the outlaws to meet up with friends at a kiddies playground. It will be a nice squeeze in the car as the Subaru is soooooooooo small in the passenger area and with 2 car seats there isnt much room for the passenger. Also I will have to move Aidan next to N to fit someone in the back, otherwise they would have to climb over the seat to get to the middle. I cant see Dan's mum doing that LOL

Have a nice day.

Hi to you all.

Sharna
bec8112
I am around but not really up for posting. Feeling overwhelmed this week. Ethan is being a nightmare with tantrums and whinging!

Hannah is still not sleeping great at night :-( last night was up at midnight, 4am and then brought her into bed with me at 6am because she kept waking up! Feeding heaps too so maybe a growth spurt??

Feeling really angry all the time too, with Ethan and Dave mainly and sometimes find myself getting angry when Hannah wakes up in the night :-(
I am not sure what is going on with me.
1kathryn
Morning all,

Geez it sucks having the flu I have energy for nothing! Cameron has been great this morning so that's made a big difference. Last night Adam bathed Cameron and I'd hoped would read to Cameron and put him to bed. But alas Cameron wanted mummy to read and put him to bed.
Another beautiful sunny day great for drying clothes. original.gif

Sharna- Fantastic on the weight loss well done, you should be so proud! I'm hoping that when we have baby no.2 my fitness will help me go back to my healthy weight sooner. original.gif Aidan is growing so well you must be very proud. Yay on Nadia sleeping through since you brought Aidan home. original.gif Have a great day out today, is it nice weather?

Mands- Hope what your taking helps the tooth ache.

Ceres- Oh that's wonderful he was offered a place at the interview. Must have been a relief. original.gif
1kathryn
Bec- Big hugs sweetie! Are you getting much sleep? I found that when Cameron came home I started feeling really angry with everyone and hopeless and it was because I didn't get enough sleep. Hannah may be going through a growth spurt. Could Dave look after Ethan and Hannah so you can go out? I found the more I did that when Cameron was born the better I felt. My outings were going to the gym for an hour but it helped a lot. I don't know if any of this is helping at all but know your not alone and we are here to help. hhugs.gif hhugs.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Oh Bec, big hugs sweetheart. You are doing such a good job as a mummy of two as well as wife and friend to Dave. I find somedays I just feel like I am being pulled in sooooooo many different directions that I am splitting into pieces. You definately sound tired. The anger you talk about is something we all feel at times. Then mummy guilt kicks in and with all your emotions screwed up from hormones/sleep deprivation you start to feel like you cant cope. I know getting sleep is not as easy with 2 bubs but perhaps as Kathryn said Dave could take the two kiddies up to the shops for an hour or so and you could shut your eyes, or even lie on the couch... or take a bubble bath original.gif As for Hannah's unsettledness I would guess growth spurt too. 6-8 weeks is pretty typical for a growth spurt. I think that Hannah waking at midnight and 4am sounds reasonable for her age. Do you find it easy to get back to sleep after she has woken?

We are all here for you Bec. Thinking of you today.

Sharna
bec8112
Thanks Sharna and Kathryn. I am feeling better now I have written it down and got it off my chest.

Sharna - most of the time Hannah settles quickly after her night feeds, I am be back in bed within 25-40mins most of the time but then others it can be over an hour if she gets the hiccups or is just not settling.

It is so hard because Dave is working 6.30am until 5pm most days which means he is not home until 5.40pm and he is working Saturdays aswell. We need the money so cannot really complain he is working too much but it does make things harder on me. I am going to try and go out on Sunday for a hour or so.
1kathryn
Bec that's great your going out on Sunday. Does Dave know how your feeling? Thinking of you sweetie and glad your feeling a bit better after putting pen to paper. biggrin.gif
bec8112
I am going to chat with Dave tonight, I have not had a chance as we have had people staying with us for the last week! It will be nice to have the house to ourselves from now on and I will not feel guilty when Hannah makes noise during the night.
1kathryn
Oh no wonder your so stressed. Your probably worried that the house isn't immaculate either. I'm sure things will improve once you have the house to yourselves. Good luck talking to Dave I'm sure he'll be very understanding. original.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Oh dont we like to make it hard on ourselves. We are the first to tell our friends with new bubs not to worry about housework, cooking etc and then ignore our own advice altogether. I hear you on wanting the privacy though... 7 weeks of inlaws visit, 5 to go. Not that i am counting Tounge1.gif I just wanna be able to do a nudey run from the bathroom to the bedroom again! oh, and not have to share my toilet with anyone. HAHA

Sounds like a few other things have been contributing Bec, and that things should settle down again soon. I find that as soon as I talk to Dan everything is better just by sharing the emotional load with him. Even if he cant actually do anything to change it at that minute. Look after yourself hon. Happy mummy, happy family I say original.gif

Sharna
meeskamouska
Bec - thinking of you. Its easy to feel angry or resentful at times with kids/family/friends. As the girls said especially when tired. Hope your feeling a bit brighter today.

Sharna - Yay on getting into those jeans....big cheers for you.

Ros - you're so puuuurrrdddyyyy!! There's only one photo of you on FB but you look pretty. I never imagined you with dark hair. Yep, I did some fleece pants for CR. I did them like bonds roomies with big bums in them. Bit homemade looking but they work a treat. Perhaps too well. I forgot to change CR one day there with a fitted on with fleece pants. By time I realised she was sodden & had rash...I felt terrible. She just never felt wet. The fleece works a treat. I'm just more mindful now about checking...LOL.

Lost track of my thoughts.....

CR is still sick. I know I keep whining about it but I just wish she would get beter. Days on end of waking nearly every hour. I'm absolutely ruined, fatiques, anxious... the works. Was bawling down the phone to Paul today.

Annnddd....stupid Telstra... i hate them. When I got my phone put on int roaming the girl some how put me on a blackberry plan for 24months. It made my phone connect to the internet, blackberry.net, whilst away & I'vegot a bill for $800!!!!!!!! Telstra don't want to know about it. I've been on the phone about 6 times..into the shop & back on the phone. No one seems to know how to fix the problem. Its doing my head in. Geez I'll pay the stupid bill but I just want the blackberry thing removed cause its costing me $30 a month now.
Whine over...

Hope everyone else is well.
Chat soon Nat
1kathryn
Well I feel like the worse mum in the world. cry1.gif Cameron fell down a stair in the backyard and fell onto concrete, head first. He has a huge bump and bruise on his head and a scraped nose. On the plus side he's in good spirits, you wouldn't now he'd hurt himself until you looked at his face. Silly mummy was trying to get him to climb down the steps himself. sad.gif

Nat- Damn Telstra suck they really don't listen at all! A similar thing nearly happened to us and signed up for another 24months until Adam rung up to check our account and cancel it. Hope they can fix the problem quickly. Poor CR and you, hope you can get a break soon.
themelster
Hi everyone, sorry I havent been getting on here much, but I have been reading from my iphone when I can. Life has just been a bit hectic with work and renovations etc.

Bec - Little Hannah is beautiful! Just a delight! She is so calm and serene and you are doing such an amazing job. It was great to see you both today and to hear that you are doing ok. Everyone gets mad and frustrated at times. Completely normal unless you are feeling like that more often than not. Heck, I feel like that sometimes (probably more often than I should) and I only have one demanding toddler!

Nat - how are the parasites going? All cleared out?
I hope CR gets healthy for you soon. It's awful when they are sick and the recent bout of colds going around was horrendous. Tom and I both ended up with it and I swear it is the worst cold I have ever had. I was a wreck for at least 2 weeks and even now, about 5 weeks later, my sinus's are still ruined. I still have green stuff. Nasty business.
So when is Matilda's Markets? I'm going to try and come along and check out your wares! Although I spent far too much last time I was there! I want to get another funky lunchbox like I got last time.
I'm glad I'm not the only one who has a todder who can destroy a room in under 30 seconds. We had to get a plumber out to fix the toilet in this house we are minding because tom put something down it and blocked the loo. Nightmare. I'm not a nazi on a clean house either (far from it... you saw that from my place when you were there! LOL). It's just when he does things like takes one of the spice bottles out of the cupboard and proceeds to sprinkle it around the house. The loungeroom smells like garam masala at the moment... Can't wait to move back into our place where I know all of the kitchen cupboards are child proofed!
Oh, I wanted to say that I am in AWE of you finding CR asleep on her mattress.. That is hilarious! There is no way on god's green earth that would happen with Tom. I am starting to think about moving Tom into a single bed. I think he'd be ok. That's more for me than him though, so that I could lie down next to him at bedtime rather than rock him in the chair.

Annika - thanks for the tips on how to restrain and discipline my destructo-bunny! I think it is just harder as we are house-sitting a friends place at the moment and although she has a bubba the same age, she must be a dream todder because nothing is child proofed! Hopefully when we move back into our place (in the next few days) things will be easier.
When do you leave? Have you already left?? Have we figured out where and when we are going to catch up? Don't stress to much about the flight. Stressing won't change things and hopefully it will be smooth sailing!

Kathryn - Don't feel like a bad mummy. Tom came home from kindy with a scraped nose the other day. I figure they are boys - there's going to be a lot of scapes to come! I'd best get used to it!
Have you looked into your Instructor Training any further? Are we friends on facebook?? If not, let me know your name so I can look you up.
How are you feeling? Still fluey? I hope not.
Tom sleeps on a little trundle bed at kindy. Has done since he started at 15 months. I don't think they rock him to sleep either. Funny how he demands that of us....... rolleyes.gif
Had to laugh at the racing car bed. Such a daddy thing! We'll probably end up getting Tom a firetruck bed. Not cheap though!

Ros - Are we friends on facebook?
Happy to hear you got into the school you wanted. Uniforms are so expensive. I remember mum struggling to pay for my uniforms when I was at school and that was 20 years ago! I was always in second hand ones. Thanks goodness for clothes recycling!
How's the tantrums going? I read somewhere (The mighty Toddler maybe) that 18 - 24 months is one of the hardest stages. I'm certainly started to feel it! Tom doesn't have many tantrums really. Just a lot of whineing and obstinance. And lots of "NO" and "MINE".
3 hour sleep during the day. BLISS. Although I guess you don't get much down time! Does he go to bed ok after such a big sleep? If Tom slept until 3pm I doubt I'd get him to sleep much earlier than 9pm. I like to have him awake by 1.30pm at the latest.

Mands - when do you leave???? I know you have told me a MILLION times but my brain is a sieve. What are your plans once there and how long are you staying for? Are you stopping over anywhere? And who are you flying with? Qantas? BA? Are they affilliated?

Sharna - How's the little man? biggrin.gif Sounds like he is feeding really well! AND sleeping pretty darn well too!
How'd the house inspection go? Any bites? Sounds like you might be down in my patch of the woods sooner rather than later. You must be so happy with your weighloss, although it sounds like you put alot of effort into it so you should be very proud too.
Pretty impressive that Miss N has been sleeping through every night since Aiden's arrival home! Sometimes it seems to go the other way with an upheavel like that. She must have known that you really needed her to!

We move back into our home tomorrow. I can't wait. I'm tired of living in someone else's house. And although it is a beautiful house, it isn't my home and I just feel unsettled. It will take a while to clean up the sawdust on everything from getting the floors sanded, but we'll get there.

Anyhoo, that's it from me. I hope everyone has a luurvely weekend. biggrin.gif

1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Had a very bad night up several times through the night. I have a stomach bug too, just GREAT (insert sarcasm here)! Feeling very queezy this morning and haven't eaten much. Went for a walk to a park near us to entertain Cameron, which he loved. Great park has a toddler swing and slippery dip. original.gif I was exhausted after that and then we walked to the shops. I'm still getting my energy back and that was this morning. Cameron is asleep all tuckered out. Home day not game enough to go to far from home yet.

Mel- Don't know if where friends on fb but my name is Kathryn Barker my pic is of Adam, and Cameron is in a wheel barrow lol.
I'm enrolling into the fitness instructor cert III on Monday and it starts 23rd Oct and finishes the 28th Nov. Its a fast track certificate. Weekends and two night a week but it means I get the certificate a lot quicker! I'm so excited about doing it and each person I tell say I would be perfect for it so it is a wonderful motivation. biggrin.gif Yeah I keep telling myself Cameron is a boy and the scraps he gets now and going to seem insignificant compared to when he's older. And Cameron is a damn tough kid.
Adam is going to build Cameron's racing car bed so that will make it a lot cheaper. And is very handy like that. original.gif
I was wondering how the girls at daycare get Cameron to sleep but I don't think its by rocking like we do lol. I must admit the girls doing the whole mattress thing is a great way to test the waters to see if he's ready for a big bed.
Yay on moving back home must be a wonderful feeling. original.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.