The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 58

Alis Volat Propiis
Hey Mel, good to see you. I bet you cant wait to get back into your house. I can picture it now with the wooden floors gleaming!! You will have to put up piccies of your new bathroom too. Too funny about Tom putting something down the loo. Nadia cant open the doors in our house, round knobs that are just a little too high for her, so our whole house is reasonably baby proof. We just walk around closing doors behind us as we go! I loved your pics from the festival you went too. I hear you on the illness crap too. I had a terrible flu for about 4 weeks at the end of my pregnancy and had congested sinuses and bulging ear drums etc. I am just about better now although my eardrum still has a little fluid behind it.

Kathryn - i hope you feel better soon. Somedays your body just tries to tell you to take it slow and rest. I think you sound a little run down and tired. Look after yourself hon. Great news on the study... I hope you really enjoy it! Poor Cameron... falling down is part of toddler life I think. N is forever coming home in bruises and scrapes from daycare. She gets them here at home too cause she is still a little clumsy original.gif

Bec - how are you feeling today?

Nat - I think if you contact the communications ombudsman and get them involved Telstra will waive the charges on your phone. It is not your fault you were put on the wrong plan and they are in the wrong. Hope you get it sorted out soon. I certainly wouldnt pay an $800 bill that I hadnt really accrued. I hope CR gets better soon. Poor little poppet, they really go through alot in their first few years of life dont they. Good luck at the markets.

Annika - Bryce is such a little cutie. I love his work 'momobike' I find Nadia has a huge vocabulary also and she is bilingual which is just amazing. She speaks in romanian to Dan and his parents (mixed with English as that is her primary language) and english to me. She understands exactly what they say to her which is lovley as it means they can interact with her fully. Her longest sentence this week was 'No mummy, Aidan go nonnies in bed, mummy coming with Nadia' She was trying to get me outside to push her on the swing and I said I would bring Aidan and put him in the pram to watch. It was toooooooo cute! She isnt acting out jealous as such but definately letting me know when she wants my undivided attention. You must be getting excited about your holiday original.gif Sorry I cant meet you this time. Perhaps we can have a reunion in WA... I would love to come over and do a winery tour.

AFU - my sister dropped a bit of a bombshell last night which might impact us moving. Her hubby works for Westfield, in the sales division... the guys who rent out floor space to vendors etc. A regional managers position in Melbourne has become available and he was approached as the whether he might consider applying. As it would be an enormous pay rise, they are seriously thinking about it. Why it impacts us is that we wouldnt be as inclined to move to Brissie if she and her family werent there. I would have my other sister, who i love dearly, but one main reason to move was to be closer to both of them. Dan and I had a huge arguement about it all last night as we are so unsure what to do if we get an offer on the house before we know what Matt might do about the job. It is very stressful here at the moment, new bub, inlaws, selling a house, moving, trying to find Dan a job in brissie etc and this is not something else we needed on top of it all. I just dont know what to do now. I was so sad last night, 'ugly' cried myself to sleep and have puffy eyes this morning. To top it all off Dan is now talking about maybe joining the AFP instead of QLD police and that would mean a move to Canberra for training. It is all this indecision that is really not helping my stress levels. What i am holding onto is that nothing is decided yet. We dont have an offer on the house, Matt doesnt think he will be offered the job as there are others more qualified than him etc. So... we wait and see.

Sorry for the me vent at the end there. It feels better to just type it out sometimes.

Sharna
1kathryn
Sharna- Massive hugs hun!!! bbighug.gif bbighug.gif As if you didn't have big enough decisions to make hey! I hope everything does sort itself out, may even do it on its own if he's not offered the job. I know it was my body telling me I need to slow down. It's just that when Adam vents to me about how he feels the financial burden is all on him and that he has limited support from family and friends I feel its my fault and that Adam has sacrificed everything to be with me. Don't know if that's a feeling I will ever get over. I hope I enjoy the study too, its been a while lol. But there are physical components to the certificate too which I'm looking forward too. Yeah I figure the scraps will get worse as Cameron gets older. All a part of growing up!
Small Potatoes
Sharna bbighug.gif take care of yourself. What a stressful situation to be in especially when you have a new bub.

kathryn good luck with the course. Hope you get better quickly. Re Cameron's fall, when I was 37 weeks PG with Olly I came home to find DH had blood all over his shirt and Will was bleeding from a head wound (and can those bad boys bleed). He was chasing after DH and fell into the corner of a wall that had steel bracing under the plaster. We had to take him to A&E where he had 6 stitches. Olly had an incident not long ago where he fell of the bed and almost had the same split on his forhead.

Bec HOw are you feeling now? More relaxed.

Mel Yay on getting back into your house. Love to see pics of the new floor if you can be bothered.

Nat How is everyone going at your place.

Annika What a clever little man Bryce is. Mr O say some stuff but not that much. He is more advanced than Will was at that age. When do you have your op.

Ros Yay on the new car.

AFM Will is at ILs tonight and I am going to try and offload O to mum. Had root canal on Thursday and the tooth has stopped hurting now. We go to Canada in 2 weeks. WE may be getting an offer on the house on Monday too. If we do we will try and squeeze an extra $5K out of them but will accept it if they aren't willing to budge, so may have to find a place to rent while in Canada - oh my!
1kathryn
Mands- thanks I hope I get better soon too. Hopefully the course will be good, at least I won't get bored with how quickly I complete it! Wow Will's accident would have been a huge shock for you. Thankfully Cameron hasn't had an accident to that degree but its probably only a matter of time. It's great the tooth pain has stopped. original.gif Wow two weeks will fly by, how long are you going for? Hope you sell the house for the price you want. original.gif Will be interesting if you do have to look for rental's while your in Canada.
themelster
Geez Sharna, what a weight. No wonder you are feeling the strain. You are a strong woman to take on so much. Are you certain about selling your home? No thoughts on taking it off the market temporarily until you are fully decided on your future?
That is so clever of Miss N to form such an elaborate sentence! Best I get out of Tom is 3 words and it's usually, sit down there or mummy, up please rolleyes.gif

Mands, I hope you have a restful night tonight. 2 weeks will roll around so fast too! I will post some piccies of the house soon.

Ok, I'm off for an early night. Nana that I am.
meeskamouska
Evening Girls.

Quickie from me....

Mega post there Mel.... way to go!!!

CR is still sick poor poppet...nothing worse than anyone else though I spose. Paul is home tonight & is sick too. So no help from him just more work for me with man flu in the house...LOL.
Dragged out the vapouriser & CR did sleep better last night.
Weighed her this morning & she's back down to 10.4kgs. Goddamn frustrating that one. Fattening that child is an impossibility. She ate a bit of tea tonight so thats a start. She's just had no appettite at all the last week with being sick. I'll have to offer her hot chips everynight for the next week to put it back on her....LOL.

Mel - laughing at the spices..... that is so something that would happen at my place. MM is next Sat. Would love to see you. You'll be safe with my stand as I pretty much only do girls. Would of liked ot have had alot more done but have just been overwhelmed with CR being so sick.

Mands - got a book on soap making & I'm ready to plunge into it. Will have a go after next week. Thinking I'll try a hot processed & cold processed to try them both. I like the idea of doing my own liquid too. Look out Lush here I come...rofl!!!!

Kathryn - don't be too hard on yourself... accidents happen. CR fell out the door not long ago & had a massive bruise from that. Toddler are accident prone.

Better head...night girls.
meeskamouska
Sharna - forgot to reply to you......
Hope you figure out what to do. Perhaps though its best not to stress bout it& see how things pan out. Far too many things all riding on the back of each other. Thinking of you.
themelster
Nat, no good - poor CR. Will definately see you at the MM. Can you remind me!
1kathryn
Nat- Poor CR hope she feels better soon and starts eating more. It's great your broadening your work base with the soaps. Good for you. original.gif

Hate to sound like a broken record but geez I wish I wasn't so zapped of energy. sad.gif
Small Potatoes
Nat I would like to make my own liquid soap to but having a terribly hard time finding caustic potash. Let me know if you do. Aussie soap supplies sell it but won't ship out of WA unless you have a massive order. I bought some certified organic castile soap on eBay the other day and am going to dilute it with water and aloe and add EOs to it and put it in a foamy.

Mel Will got into the polenta once. A big tupperware containers ALL over the kitchen floor (about Tom's age he was). He was having soooo much fun too.

meeskamouska

Great news CR is on the mend!!! Big yays!! She still woke a thousand times last night but she is so much brighter today & is eating.....yay!!

Might bb later on.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Going to the Drs tomorrow something isn't right with me. Think its either gastro or stomach bug. I have no energy whatsoever and finding it very hard to look after Cameron. And there probably two things you can't do much to quicken their course. I'm so over being sick. cry1.gif cry1.gif On the plus side Cameron is doing a lot better. original.gif

Nat- Yay on CR being on the mend and eating again. Such a relief. original.gif
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Feeling a million times better today thank goodness. Just in time to go back to work tomorrow. Cameron and I went out shopping which was lovely for some idea's for Adam's birthday which is a couple of weeks away. Gorgeous sunny day here might even take Cameron for a walk to the park when he wakes from his arvo nap. original.gif

Hope everyone is having a splendid day. biggrin.gif
Fabulous
Kathryn- that's great that you are feeling better.

Sharna- Big hugs. It can't be easy with so much on your plate and a new bub. I hope you are doing okay. Can you put the sale on hold for a bit? Have you already started paying for advertising?

Us- very busy weekend. Have been getting our house ready for sale. Not easy without babysitters. I also dropped into lincraft on the way to Bunnings and they had 50% off fabric so bought 6m of minky. Ooops! We also picked up our new car on Saturday, haven't driven a maual in years and I now know that you can't eat whilst driving one. biggrin.gif
meeskamouska
6metres of Minky...nice!!!!!!
Small Potatoes
Ros Ooh 6 meters of minkee nice.

Kathryn Glad you are feeling better.

Nat Yay on CR getting better.

Changed for reasons
meeskamouska

1kathryn
Cameron's been lil Mr cranky pants since he woke up from his nap. Seems to be a regular occurance. Cameron is asleep now so its nice to have some piece and quiet. original.gif
Working tomorrow. So nothing else on.

Ceres- Thanks. Have fun sewing, I'm sure you will. original.gif I've never had the chance to learn a manual car my parents was an auto. Adam can eat and drive a manual at the same time so there's hope for you yet. original.gif

Mands- Thanks feels wonderful to be back to normal. original.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Nat - that soap supplier is close to you both so that is great! I have been covertly following your soap making discussions.. that is something I would love to do too! Perhaps you can all give us classes when we are down there. Hope CR is better.

Mands - have you started packing? organising? LOL i am excited for you for your holiday!

Kathryn - glad to hear you are feeling better. N was quite cranky this arvo too after not having a nap so fingers crossed she isnt too overtired and sleeps well tonight. When does your Cert study start?

Ros - I love minky. I got Aidan a dot minky blanket that is just so touchable. I still have a few metres of bamboo fleece and terry that I got in a coop ages ago and was meant to use it to make prefolds... lol. I might just turn some of it into breastpads. Not sure what to do with the rest. What will you make with the minky? As for the house, we are almost considering now just listing it for rental and holding onto it. It really is a buyers marekt at the moment so there are too many houses to choose from and the prices are quite low. We are lucky in that I bought the house before the 'boom' and will make a great profit even selling during this down cycle. Alot to think about... Good luck with your house!

Bec - how are things going sweets? Is it all settling down at your house?

AFU - Aidan is quite unsettled in the evenings which makes it hard to get anything done but apart from that he is quite an easy bub so far. I am definately coping better this time round than with N. Dan might be going fishing tomorrow and as N is in daycare I was hoping we could go to the movies or something so I might just go on my own instead, and then go to the babes in arms with some Gf's on wednesday. Will see how our night goes tonight.

Sharna
bec8112
Hi all! I am around but busy with stuff.

I am feeling better now.

Hannah was unsettled today aswell Sharna, maybe something in the air! I also had to deal with Ethan as his daycare was closed for the holiday GRRRRRR!
1kathryn
Sharna- The cert starts 23rd Oct and finishes 28th Nov. Cameron seems cranky after his day sleep for the last few days so will be interesting to see what he's like tomorrow at daycare. It's great your coping better second time around, hope I find the same when we have a second. Have fun at the movies. original.gif

Bec- great your feeling better! Must have been a hard day juggling two kids especially when Hannah is unsettled! Hope you have a good night sleep. original.gif
Fabulous
Sharna- It'a a buyers market over here as well ATM and I think houses have gone down for the last 2 quarters. I've done the living in a house and then renting it out thing before but it's not a path I would ever go down again. It's too hard when you put so much effort into renovating/maintaining your house and then you inevitably get tenants who don't treat in anywhere near the same manner. Best not to get emotionally involved with your investments properties IMO. I think I will make Jack some pants and shorts with the minky and maybe some skirts and dresses for Chelsea. Sara (Miss 10) likes minky and my mum made her up a dot minky cushion cover. She wanted to learn how to make the cushion cover herself but we found some more appropriate material for that.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Cameron didn't want to go to daycare this morning. Clung onto my legs for dear life when I was leaving. But the girls said he had them in stitches cos he was laughing and coping what ever they said lol. Work was extremely busy so glad to be home. original.gif
All enrolled into tafe for the cert III so excited!!!!!!!! Can't wait!!!!!
Having take out as Adam is having a golf lesson now. Cameron is eating dinner now though. And Cameron has now turned the spoon the right way up to feed himself. I even did a happy dance which Cameron loved lol.

Hope everyone is having a lovely night.
Alis Volat Propiis
Nice day. Dan didnt go fishing as the weather was quite bad up here.

We went to the movies and saw Inception... it was really good. Had sushi for lunch.. yummo!

http://www.realestate.com.au/property-hous...ridan-106737758 This is the link to our house if anyone wants a sticky beak. When you see the computer room you can picture me sitting at the desk there tapping away original.gif

Not up to much tomorrow.

Hope you are all well.

Sharna
bec8112
Sharna - your house looks great! Lounge room is so nice and spacious. I can picture you sitting in the study typing away :-) Glad you enjoyed the movie and sushi.

Kathryn - yeah on enrolling in tafe. Ethan has some days where he does not want to go to daycare either.

AFM - Hannah is really restless in her bassinet at night time and wakes for her dummy ( the curse of the dropped dummy! ) so I am sitting in her room at the moment trying to settle without it, she wakes up and I know she is not hungry!

Ethan went to the Ekka ( Brisbane show ) today with my parents, had a good time people watching and playing with the baby farm animals :-)

Hannah crying, BBL
meeskamouska
Nice Sharna. Soooo tidy. I love that there's lots of photos. Nothing worse than a listing with 2 photos.

Bec - I noted what time it was u posted. ohmy.gif Arrr.... babies are hard work hey!!!

Kathryn - How r u feeling now??

Me - Had a bit of a horrible day yesterday. Felt really anxious allday. I'm tired too. Tiredness & anxiety are best friends!! Wish they'd both nick off actually...LOL. Anyho... feeling a bit more on top of things this morning.
Doing a friends hair this morning. $50 is always welcome here...rofl!! Justa quick head of foils shouldn't take long.

Chat later.
Alis Volat Propiis
Mands - so much going on for you too honey. Congrats on the contract on the house... it does take a bit of the stress off now. I hope Mr O had a reasonable night for you and he is feeling better this morning. Sometimes a twist/sprain or tendon injury can make kids guard the affected limb. Hopefully it isnt anything worse than that. As for your DH... he sounds like Dan... I get so much stress from Dan changing his mind about 1.moving, 2. his career, QLD police/Fed police/Army oomg.gif all of which mean moving to a different part of the country, 3. more kids for us also. I cant offer any advice except to say that I hope you both have a good sit down and chat when he gets home. There really is no excuse for him to say those kinds of hurtful things to you. What would he do if you got pg accidentally... still leave you if he got too stressed? Sounds like there is more going on in his head than just the number of children... can you take some time out together just the 2 of you before you go on your holidays? I really hope we move to Brissie also as I cant wait to spend more time with you too original.gif

Bec - I should have fired up the lappy and we could have chatted. I was up from 0315 till 0445 with Aidan. He just wouldnt fall asleep and I had to feed him several times and do lots of walking round the living room. I tried to get him to take the dummy yesterday and although he didnt hate it, he didnt take to it either. We got rid of N's dummy at around 6 months and it really only took a few days for her to adjust. Thinking of you today... I hope we both get some rest.

Nat - the only reason the house is so clean is that the photographer was coming over... lol. You can see where we just packed and shifted N's toy corner out of the way and took all the crap off the table etc. I hope you are feeling better today also. Are you stressed about the markets? Hope it all goes well for you this weekend.

Ros - I am almost tempted to take the house off the market and rent it. The feedback we are getting re: price is not really what we want to hear but we are being realistic as well. If that is all the market will support at the moment then we have to accept it. I think perhaps we can sit out this downturn and with the loan covered by the rent (this house is positively geared when rented) I think we can afford the new loan for house/land without the need to sell. I do agree with what you said about it presenting best when you sell if untenanted. So much to think about.

Gotta go. N at daycare and of course Dan's mum was holding Aidan when I got home. I couldnt quite interpret if he cried while i was away or what happened. I am sure she wouldnt have gone in the room to pick him up... but there is a small niggle of doubt in my mind as she can be quite a sneaky woman.

Might BBL

Sharna
Fabulous
OOps lost my post bummer.

Mands- Big hugs. I'm really devastated for you and kind of lost for words ATM.
bec8112
Mands - big hugs! How is Mr O?

Sharna - we can be late night/early morning buddies :-) ethan's just having his lunch and hannah is fed and in her bassinet so hoping to get a nap very soon!

Nat - how you feeling?

Small Potatoes
Thanks guys for your support. After the shock I am kind of numb today. Keeping busy with my beautiful boys, packing orders and going to watch SATC. I am proud of myself as I turned to shopping instead of chocolate
meeskamouska
Mands - I'm so sorry u had to deal with all of that. Your DH is all over the shot with having more kids. One minute he says yes the next he says no. That in itself must confuse u endlessly. Hows Ollys leg today??? No break??

Feeling a bit better today.
Yes Sharna...I think I am a bit stressed about the market. Worried I won't sell anything & I find it so hard to find time to get stuff done. Everyone around here depends on me for their every breath.

Better head.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.