The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Small Potatoes
25/07/2010, 06:44 AM
Mel I am coming up to Brissy today and I will bring the rng and twilight book. SMS me if you can organise to get them. I will pm you some details
Alis Volat Propiis
25/07/2010, 07:57 AM
Still here

My back pain seems to have eased a little today which makes me think it really was muscular from doing too much physically and not really prelabour at all. Oh well.
Bec - poor Ethan, I hope he is feeling better soon. Did he sleep well last night? I remember N doing her longest sleep from 8pm till 3am or so and then waking frequently till we all got up around 6am. They say when little if they sleep longer than 5-6 hours in a block that is considered sleeping through

I dont think there is much you can do till her little body clock adjust to it all. Hope you are getting some rest. On the pram side of things... bleah! Dont talk to me about it. I decided to go with a nice single pram as I just didnt like the look of any doubles I saw. Just last night I bought a Rock Star Infinity Pram off ebay.
Pic here.It is a fakeaboo type pram but nice and narrow with bassinet and can RF the seat to face mum. It is in Brissie so my sis is getting it for me. I am also bidding on an Emmaljunga which has a toddler seat option. That finishes today... so will see how it goes. I like Nat love the look and feel of classic old prams and the Emma's are just soooooooooooooo cushy and comfy and 'old' style looking. This pram in on the GC.
HereAnnika - your camping piccies look great, albeit a little cold LOL! Love your beany.
Ros - news on the house?
Nat - I saw your post in the toddler sleep thread. N still wakes 1-2 times a night also. Occassionally she is quite distraught and needs cuddles to calm down. I was thinking of getting her a night light. Anyone else have one? I hope CR is readjusting to being home. Where are your piccies? I tried to look at those that you were tagged in but there are privacy settings on that album so couldnt see them

Hi Mel and everyone else.
AFU - i think we are going to visit my mum and dad today. Probably one of the last few times we can take everyone in the same car. Once bub is here we will need to take 2 cars if we go somewhere altogether.
Oh and big BIG news! We turned N FF in her carseat yesterday. She is hovering between 11.5 - 12 ish kgs and we needed to move her to behind the driver seat anyway. I didnt really want to do it. But with her seat RF it means the driver is a little compromised for legroom and I wasnt happy about that option either. I am happy though to say that we got her to happily RF till almost 21mths. Just something that means alot to me

nothing inferred on anyone else who turned their kids at an earlier stage.
Might BBL!
Sharna
meeskamouska
25/07/2010, 11:10 AM
Sharna - I looovveee big prams. EJ are great for big days out. Lots of room for playing & sleeping. What r u doing for car seats?? Have u got a seat ready for Bub??? Also hows it going with the IL's staying?? 13health seemed to think it was night terrors/comfort thing with the feet. Drives me insane. Always her feet. CR constantly is still tripping from her feet turning in. Even my sister noticed in Bali.
Photos - hopefully on todays chores. There is some lovely pics on my sisters/nieces FB shame u couldn't see.
Mands - love the new site...looking great. I couldn't see anywhere to buy the baby things. R these ones not available just yet?? What r u doing whilst on holidays with your webbies?
Paul & Bell have gone out to move some cattle today so its just me & Charlz. Quiet.....love it!!! Our little family is a laugh...chalk & cheese. Bella & Paul r a pigeon pair as r CR & I.
Chat later.
Enjoy your Sunday girls.
themelster
25/07/2010, 12:52 PM
Sharna - Tom has a little night light. I'm not sure that it makes a difference. It is just the night light on his monitor. Good on you for keeping N RF for so long. Tom was turned quite early as I was just ignorant of the safety factor. I just missed that some how.
Bec - how is Ethan this morning? Poor wee man.
Annika, I'm pretty sure the 22nd is good for me. I am really looking forward to it.
Mands - thanks so much for thinking to bring that stuff up with you. I really appreciate it and will pop over this arvo to grab them. I won't worry about the DVD's as I am pretty sure Mark has downloaded the series and I want to read the books first anyhow.
Hi to everyone else I have missed. I am in the middle of cooking some pasta for lunch so I can't chat long.
AFU - Bloody Bali double booked our villa. Grr. So now I am trying to work out what to do. I feel like just throwing it all in and Mark and I just getting a bungalow in the Cook Islands. I've always wanted to go there. Anyone else been? It's just hard organising 7 adults and 3 kids. At least that way I could just say "this is where we are staying, if anyone else wants to come, they can book themselves".
Better go. Chat soon.
Fabulous
25/07/2010, 02:55 PM
Hello,
The owners put in a counteroffer but we decided not to sign it. This is the property,
http://reiwa.com.au/lst/lst-ressale-detail...&ID=2747071. We would have demolished it after a couple of years at the most. We have actually changed our plan a bit and are going to sell my house before we buy another, makes better financial sense. Regarding real estate agent fees, yes they are ridiculous and I have absolutely no idea how the real estate agencies get away with it. If you look at it on a per hour basis it would probably be cheaper to hire a lawyer than a real estate agent. Truly bizarre!
Sharna- We only recently turned Jack despite my DH hassling me. I have EB to thank for my car seat knowledge.
Mel- bummer about Bali. That would be so annoying.
Mands- not long until your trip now, you lucky duck.
1kathryn
25/07/2010, 06:24 PM
Evening all,
Had a brilliant time camping!!!! Cameron had a ball playing with the girls. He is the only boy out of five girls lol. But he is still in the solo play. Only rained the Friday night but perfect the rest of the time.

When we went camping six weeks ago Cameron was only taking a few steps and now he's walking and climbing and negotiating different heights with the ground. He may have taken longer to walk but you wouldn't notice now.

So proud of my lil man.

Ceres- Amazing how much they can charge!
Mel- Sucks about Bali being double booked! But Cook Islands sounds divine.

Nat- Enjoy your quiet time with CR.

At least you have an idea what's going on with CR. Hope it is resolved soon, for everyone's sake!
Sharna- Wow that is huge news about N being changed to FF now. How is she going with it? Being on the coast it wasn't too cold. Sounds like you guys have a sweet set up.

Bec- Ouch poor Ethan. Hope it fixes itself soon! I'm sure Hannah will sort herself out with night sleeping.

Hi everyone else
bec8112
26/07/2010, 07:29 AM
I am around but not any time to post at the moment with SIL here.
Ethan is ok but still really stiff in his neck and cannot look one way very well!
Sharna - any news? How did you go with the Emma pram?
Alis Volat Propiis
26/07/2010, 09:04 AM
Bec - i missed out on the Emma, it went for $350 and I didnt want to pay that much... although that is still a good price. But seeing as I know have 3 prams and a stroller Dan wouldnt have understood. Once we are in brissie I will keep my eye out for an emma and toddy seat for walking with the two kids. Probably get one a bit older and cheaper without the bassinet as the rock star pram i got comes with a bassinet. Maybe look at a bertini bidwell as they are steerable unlike the emma's that have locked wheels.
Still here and no baby news. I have my 41+1 appt on thurs.... here's hoping i dont make that one!
Gotta go, heading out to a playcentre with a friend for a playdate this morning.
Sharna
Fabulous
26/07/2010, 11:13 AM
Sharna- Wow you really are close to having bubs.

I hope it all goes well for you. Enjoy the playdate. I went to a playcentre recently for the first time in many years and it made me remember just why I hadn't been for so long.
Bec- poor Ethan. That sounds painful.
Kathryn- glad you had a good time camping. I really can't imagine going camping but I guess it's because I have so many kids, lol.
I'm a bit grumpy with myself. I shut the boot of our car on the handle of my phil and ted's and damaged the foam handle a little. It's annoying because it cost me a bomb and I had really hoped to sell it in the next 6 months.
1kathryn
26/07/2010, 11:52 AM
Morning all,
Had a productive morning. Cleaned the bathroom, went to they gym, got dinner and did some washing. Cameron is fast asleep been almost an hour now so hope to get two hours in total. Was supposed to have a playdate today but has been canceled so nothing else planned for the day, Adam is doing long days the rest of the week so unfortunately will hardly see him.

Sharna- Hope you don't make it to your next appointment! Sending labour vibes your way.

Ceres- I never could imagine myself camping, let alone enjoying it! But it is a wonderful way to travel on the cheap. Oh no bad news on the stroller.

Bec- Hope Ethan gets better soon.

Have a great day everyone
bec8112
26/07/2010, 01:06 PM
Ros - Yeah I hear you on being annoyed about damaging the pram handle! We noticed a cut in the foam on our handle a week after we got it! Not sure what we did to it!
I dropped Ethan at daycare this morning so fingers crossed he goes alright with his neck, I made them all aware of it but he seemed better this morning. He also did not cry this morning, looked at me and waved and said bye!
Small Potatoes
26/07/2010, 01:14 PM
Bec Glad Ethan is getting better. Enjoy your day with beautiful Hannah.
Ros Very frustrating. Our phil and teds is trashed so we aren't going to be selling it. hopefully we can give it away when we are done.
Kathryn a very productive morning. I help a friend out who has two sick bubs, so I was productive at her house, but not here.
Sharna I will send labour vibes your way. I never got to 40 weeks with either of mine and I thought that was frustrating. i would be a mess by now LOL.
Mel/b] Enjoy true blood when you start - great read.
[b]Nat Am uploading the baby stuff today or tomorrow just had to do the graphics
I am getting another order of ingredients for my skin stuff, and maybe getting some castile soap and foamies to do body washes etc. Am going to make stuff for us to take to Canada. - little travel sizes for on the plane. Had my human Biol exam last night and think I did well enough to pass. The last one i got 21 out of 25, so was stoked with that.
meeskamouska
26/07/2010, 01:17 PM
Sharna - I had a Bertini bidwell for Bella....looovvveeeddd it!!!!! Wish I just had of got a new one for CR but didn't want to spend the money.
Kathryn - glad camping went well.
Ceres - the house looked lovely. So u won't be putting in another offer???
Hi Bec - enjoy your sisters company.
Ran out of sewing cotton & elastic here...grrr. Sometimes I hate living in the country for that reason. I can't just duck to the shop. There is no decent cotton here for a 100klm radius.....bloody craziness.
Just put CR down for naptime. Paul & I r bout to put on a flick.
Chat later.
meeskamouska
26/07/2010, 01:19 PM
Hi Mands - we posted together. Hope u pass your exam...no doubt you will!! I've been messing around with the castille & foamies too. It works well.
Small Potatoes
26/07/2010, 01:20 PM
Nat That sounds like a lovely afternoon
1kathryn
26/07/2010, 08:33 PM
Evening all,
Have a sneaky suspicion that Cameron has another ear infection.

He's been very off balance with walking, tugs his ears and hits his head. Temp is 36.1 so will keep an eye on him as that's high for him. I hope I'm wrong though!
Nat- Hope you both enjoyed the movie.

What did you watch?
Mands- I'm sure your friend was glad you helped out.

Hope you have a productive day for yourself tomorrow.

Good luck with your Bio results, I'm sure you did well.

Bec- It's wonderful Ethan went well when you dropped him off at day care. Sounds like his neck must be improving.
Small Potatoes
26/07/2010, 08:35 PM
Kathryn I have had a productive afternoon, I have bought some wholesale stuff to try out for my business which I am really excited about
Alis Volat Propiis
26/07/2010, 11:43 PM
Mands - Mummy Naturals is your other homebased business right? Joined the FB group. You are one busy and creative lady. Good luck with it all.
Nat - make the piccies bigger!!! Haha, i tried to check them all out and couldnt see them properly. What I could see certainly brought back memories though. Did you go to Tanah Lot for a sunset? CR has gotten really fair hasnt she. What a little cutie.
Kathryn - busy busy girl. I hope Cam settles for you. Have you discussed grommets with your GP or gotten an ENT referral for his recurrent ear infections... he has had a few hasnt he?
Bec - How was Ethan when you got him from daycare? It is hard when they cant tell you what is wrong.
Mel - what is BRMC? saw it on your FB status. A band? Am I displaying ignorance

Ros - how frustrating on the pram! I will make you feel better though I hope. The day Dan and I decided that we would sell the car I reversed out of our garage and touched one of the support poles with the front left nose of the car as I was swinging out. Yep, scratches and gouges from the render/concrete in the front bumper and a small part of the paintwork. Sucked to be me that day. LOL, i can laugh about it now. From my pram research though I can tell you that split/damamged foam handles are quite common and dont seem to make any difference to selling price if the rest of the pram is in good condition.
See you all tomorrow...
Sharna
Small Potatoes
27/07/2010, 06:52 AM
Sharna yes that is me

. Sharna I don't know what that means on Mel status either
bec8112
27/07/2010, 08:02 AM
I think BRMC is Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, which is a band. Is that right Mel? If so I am jealous!
No time this morning sorry, we are off to the Gold Coast this morning to visit a friend who is up from Canberra. Mands - wish I had more time and I would visit but I do not want to get stuck in afternoon traffic on the way home!
meeskamouska
27/07/2010, 08:33 AM
OK Drumroll...................................
Congratulations Sharna & Dan on the birth of
Aidan Daniel
Born 6:45am
3.9kgs
Mum & Bub are doing good.
Small Potatoes
27/07/2010, 08:37 AM
Congrats Sharna, Dan & Nadia on the birth of your little man
~mumto2girls~
27/07/2010, 01:19 PM
Hi all - Not sure if many of you remember me but I was part of the original Oct 08 DIG.. Just been spying on news of Sharna and just wanted to say a huge
Congratulations on the arrival of Aidan
Hope you are both well!
Sorry for barging in on your group!
aims79
27/07/2010, 02:19 PM
Another one popping in to say Congrats!!!
Very cool having Nadia and Aidan, reversible names

Hope you're all doing well through the transition into a bigger family and hope you and little Aidan are enjoying some hospy time together without too many thousands of visitors.
Aims
themelster
27/07/2010, 02:27 PM
BIG CONGRATS SHARNA!!!!!!! Great names and very very cool that they are reversable! Was that intentional?
Yes, BRMC is a band that I am going to see at Splendour in the Grass this weekend. Better dust the wellie's off with this rain
Can't chat long, got to go do some work.
MANDS - don't forget to PM me your details so I can transfer the money I owe you!
cojajoch
27/07/2010, 02:39 PM
Another original Oct 08'er. Just wanted to say congrats to Sharna and family on the birth of Aiden.
Seems alot have gone back for a second - congrats to all.
Fabulous
27/07/2010, 03:15 PM
Congratulations Sharna, Dan & Nadia on the arrival of Aidan.

What beautiful news.
Mel- aren't you quick spotting that the name is reversible
spersephone
27/07/2010, 04:59 PM
Congratulations Sharna, Dan & Nadia on the birth of your new little family member!!!
themelster
27/07/2010, 06:10 PM
Ros - it wasn't me who picked up on it, it was Aims. I'd never have picked up on that!
bec8112
27/07/2010, 07:31 PM
Congrats Sharna, Dan and Nadia! Cannot wait to hear all about the birth. Love the name! He is a good size too! Let me know if you need any boy things as my SIL lives in Cairns and I can send some stuff home with her next week. I would love to pass on Ethans old clothes to you if you want them.
meeskamouska
27/07/2010, 07:59 PM
I never picked it up either!! Very tricky!! Love it.
Hi Aims, Sarah & Amanda. Nice to see u. U should pop by more often.
Very quick one from me to catch up on reading.
1kathryn
27/07/2010, 08:01 PM
Evening all,
Had another productive day. Only went to work from 8 to 1.

So after that went to gym, enrolled Cameron in swimming lessons, grocery shopping and made some cookies. Phew!!!! So buggered now. Thankfully had Chinese for dinner, which was yummo!
CONGRATS SHARNA, DAN AND NADIA ON THE SAFE ARRIVAL OF AIDAN!!!!!Sharna- Hope you are both doing well. Can't wait to see pics.

Cameron fell asleep in our bed. But didn't wake till we left or daycare. Don't know for sure if it is an ear infection so will wait and see. In the last twelve months he's had four infections so not enough to warrant grommots.
Mands- That's great you bought some wholesale stuff for your business.
Bec- How was your trip to the Gold Coast?
Jasmicoh
28/07/2010, 07:53 AM
Hi Ladies, Another crasher here. Wanting to pass on Congratulations to Sharna! Hope you & bubs are doing well.
meeskamouska
28/07/2010, 08:51 PM
Evening Girls.
Bout to have an early night.
CR has DC tomorrow. Looking forward to a busy day tomorrow.
Night.
bec8112
29/07/2010, 08:36 AM
Hi all!
Trip to the Gold Coast was good, Hannah and Ethan got spoiled with more new toys/clothes!
Yesterday my friend visited with her 13wk old daughter ( the one who was born early and really small), she is only just 3.2kgs and seems so much smaller than Hannah! Cannot wait for them to start interacting together.
This morning I am off into work to show off Hannah
Tomorrow I have invited all the mothers around who were in the group when Ethan was born, so will have 6 toddlers and 2 babies here
Sharna - hope all is going well, how is Nadia going as a big sister?
What disposable nappies do you all use for night time? I need some new ones and thought I would ask. Ethan seems to be out weeing everything!
Alis Volat Propiis
29/07/2010, 10:12 AM
Morning..
Just had to pop on to share my news with my fave girls.
You know most of the details. We came home yesterday as I really wasnt resting in hospital (too many visitors) and even though I had a private room, way too noisy.
Labour and birth were quite eventful and I am not really up to rehashing it right now as it was very emotionally and physically exhausting... very different to Nadia's, but a great result for all in the end. I might write it all down and put it in the labour/birth stories section.
Aidan is a cute little thing. Looks nothing like Nadia and therefore not really like Dan either. He is more like my brother/dad i suppose.
Nadia has been really cute with him. Lots of gentle kisses and cuddles. Giving him her toys etc. She understands BFing and that he is having a drink of milk. We booked her in for an extra daycare day today to get a bit more rest which is lovely.
We didnt specifically choose Aidan because of the link but it was in consideration and the connection made it a bit more special. People either think it is cute and quirky or tacky... so the reactions go either way.
I have the home midwife visiting today and a few friends popping over, not much else planned. Will upload some pics later this arvo.
Thankyou all for the lovely well wishes and congratulations. We are really happy, and stunned to have a son.
Sharna
1kathryn
29/07/2010, 02:03 PM
Afternoon all,
Well had an eventful time at Lollipops to say the least!!!! My goodness Cameron was clingy! As soon as he couldn't see me he'd scream hysterically.

Thankfully he found some toys to play with, the chatterbox phone and one of those cars the kids can sit in and use their feet to move around. Where going again on Saturday with some other friends and their kids so hopefully he'll be a bit more at ease next time around. Well fingers crossed anyway lol.
Sharna- Glad to here your home safe. You probably feel so much better now your home. I think the name switch is very clever and unique.

Hope the midwife visit goes well.
Bec- It's great your friends bub is doing well, I'm sure her and Hannah will get on so well.

Always nice when the kiddies get spoilt.

Have fun showing off Hannah at work. Cameron uses coles brand nappies and they work really well, haven't had an leaks.

Nat- Hope you've had a productive day
Fabulous
29/07/2010, 04:27 PM
Just returned from Spotlight. There was 50% off polar fleece so I bought a few metres and am going to make Chelsea some more nighties since she doesn't like PJ's or pants I also bought some more dot minky at $6 per metre.
Sharna- I'm glad to hear that you are both safe and well. You must really be enjoying all of those newborn cuddles.

You were so patient with waiting for your lil man to arrive.
Kathryn- Is lollipops a play centre?
Bec- I am using the woollies select nappies at the moment. I bought 4 boxes last week on clearance. $9.90 for a box and each box contains 72 toddler nappies. Bargain!! I think they have been clearing them out at woollies all over Australia. Jack isn't a heavy wetter so anything works for him.