The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 57

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=807235

1kathryn
GOLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
bec8112
Silver!!

All is good here, survived the day with 2 kids! Ethan only slept an hour which was bad for me as I missed out on my nap! He went to bed at 6.30pm though!

Alis Volat Propiis
Bronze

I had heaps of back pain and intermittent cramping in the early hours this morning, but as per usual it has gone away again. I might take N down to the esplanade for a long walk to see if it stirs things up again.. LOL. Only downside of having bub this weekend, if it happens, is there is no daycare option in case it all happens during the day. Luckily my mum and dad can come up and help with N. Dan's parents just arent ready to have her for the day on her own... plus I would worry about them and her if that were the case... too distracting.

We have another real estate agent coming over this morning to see about listing the house with them. So far I have interviewed 2 and liked one of them alot but figure a third opinion never hurts. If so it will be all go for project 'lets sell this house and move to Brissie!!!' I am quite excited now. We have started packing too which makes it all seem more real.

Bec - glad to hear your day went well with the 2 kids. I will miss my naps if I cant get this bub and Nadia to sync their sleeps. I have been having a nap nearly every day when N has hers.

Hi Kathryn.

Sharna
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Specialist went well today. Cameron doesn't have a blocked tear duct. Apparently as they grow so do the ducts. But it looks like he's short sighted. Not surprised though both my mum and sister are short sighted and dad is long sighted. Adam's parents also where glasses so the odds were stacked in favour for him to wear glasses.
Going to Zumba tonight and Adam is playing golf now.

Sharna- Hope the walk starts things rolling for you! Yay on packing must be so exciting. original.gif

Bec- That's wonderful you survived your first day. But I'm not surprised original.gif

Hi everyone else biggrin.gif
bec8112
Just popped in to say hi but Hannah just woke up! Sorry will try and come back in later.

Sharna - any news yet?
Alis Volat Propiis
No news.

Where is everyone?

We had a nice day today. Went to the beach this morning and N ran around, building sandcastles etc. She is off her food and has a bit of an upset tummy but ate the homemade oven chips I made her for dinner... plenty of BBQ sauce of course!

Nothing to report from me. Still the back pain, occassional really intense BH but nothing to get excited about.

Have a great weekend everyone.

Sharna
bec8112
Sharna - your day at the beach sounds like it was great! We were going to go for a walk at the beach but Ethan slept too long! Is N sick or anything to be off her food?

AFM - all is good here, Hannah rolled twice from belly to back! Got the second one on camera! Not sure if it was a fluke or not!

Cannot believe Hannah is 4 weeks old and Ethan will be 2 soon! Time is going way too fast! I always said we would seek advice/help when Ethan was 2 about his language and scary to think it's almost at that stage :-(

hi to everyone! Hope your enjoying your weekends.
Alis Volat Propiis
Wow Bec, 4 weeks is early to roll. I cant remember exactly but N was probably closer to 3 months i think before she could roll. Hannah must have good muscle control to do that. N was my little buddha baby and had all that weight holding her back... lol!

Time does fly doesnt it. I cant believe all our bubbas will be 2 soon!

Not sure what is upsetting N. Teeth perhaps, she only has her 2 yr old molars to come through now. We offered her a teether from the freezer yesterday and she put it straight into the side of her mouth and chomped for ages! She had some diarrhoea and just wouldnt eat anything. In saying that this morning she has devoured 2 crumpets and a whole sippy bottle of water. I think she is on the mend.

We are off to our farmer's markets to get F&V. Dan got called into work which is a shame as our sundays are normally family days, but good money for him all the same. I have to entertain the in-laws which is painful sometimes.

Hope you all have a good day.

Sharna
themelster
Wow, it IS quiet in here.

Bec - that is pretty amazing. What a clever girl Hannah! Tom was about 3 months before he rolled and then it was back to belly. It took him another two months to go belly to back! I am so glad things have settled down with you. How are things going with the breastfeeding?
Ethan still has a couple of months to go before turning two yes? I have heard of a lot of kids that have a bit spurt at 2 years of age, so hopefully that is what will happen. Has he got many more words since last time we chatted about it? Have you thought of putting his name down with a speechie just in case. I hear the wait lists are quite long. It cant hurt and you can always cancel.

Sharna - how many days now until your DD? Can't be many no? The back pains and strong BH must be a good sign that your body is getting ready. Quick labour maybe!!?? How were the markets. I go every Sunday to get F&V too. Usually I take T in the Ergo but today I let him walk with me. I was very impressed, he didn't try to run off once. The F&V from the markets is SO much nicer than from the Supermarket. I hate it when I miss them.
Teeth - I think Tom is getting his 2 YO molars too. But they are taking ages to come through. He usually isnt one to put things in his mouth but he's had his hands in there for a while now. And more drool than usual.
Have you decided on an Estate Agent yet? Are you still looking at property on the South? Towards the Gold Coast?

Kathryn, what does that mean for Cameron? Being short-sighted? He is too young for glasses yes? How did they test him? Have you thought more about doing your Cert III? It is a lot of money, and I wonder how easy it would be to get a regular paid gig?

Not much happening here. But you wouldn't believe it - Tom has started to go to sleep on his own! Just in the last couple of days we have been doing the bed time routine and putting him down awake, walking out, not even a peep! He's a bit sick at the moment, getting over a cold, so either he is just buggered and not well, or we've turned a corner! Him and I are both unwell at the moment. A nasty head cold and now really green, yucky snot. I think we'll go to the doctor on Monday and get checked out. I'm worried about infected sinus's as I've had this cold for a week and now the greenies for about 4 days. Nasty stuff. I've never had it like this before.

Mands - how are you doing? Has the subject to sale contract on your house finished yet? No joy? I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.

Have a great Sunday everyone.
bec8112
Mel - Ethan has a few words but not what I think is normal. I am hoping for the 2yr explosion! He is 22 months so 8 weeks until the big 2! I am going to go to the gp when he is close to his birthday and go from there. He just does not seem interested in speaking!

Bf is going ok, still doing both breast and formula and I am happy with that. I will keep doing this for as long as I can and then switch to full formula. I think any breastmilk she is getting is great and I am not stressing over it.

Yeah on Tom going to sleep on his own, I bet that makes your life alot easier! Hannah gies to sleep some times on her own in her bassinet which is great. I wrap her up and she just lays in there and looks around the room!

Sharna - how was the markets? Bummer on Dan being called into work but yeah on the money!

Not much else to say at the moment. Boring life here at the moment.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Had a productive day. Did some gardening finally! I hate the job but the end result is worth it. original.gif Cameron had an arvo nap for a couple of hours. And has been non stop ever since. Can't believe how much energy he's got. ohmy.gif Had a nice quiet home day which was lovely. biggrin.gif
Nothing planned for tomorrow probably go to gym in the morning and that's about it. original.gif

Bec- Its great your still doing both well done!!! Your milk supply may stay for a while now that your not stressed. original.gif Fantastic Hannah is rolling from back to front that's so soon! Can't believe she is already four weeks old that time has flown!

Mel- Yeah Cameron is too young for glasses. As long as it doesn't effect his development or learning he won't wear glasses as yet. It was something we didn't expect as that wasn't what we went for. Probably when he starts school he'll start wearing glasses. Fitness instructors are casual so there is no guaranteed hours, but this would be for some extra cash on top of what I already work. Fantastic that Tom is going to sleep on his own that's awesome. original.gif

Sharna- Cameron's teething too. Poor N is great that she's eating more though. original.gif How were the markets? How'd you go entertaining the outlaws lol? Its wonderful you all had a great time at the beach, can't wait to take Cameron. original.gif
Small Potatoes
oops missed the thread again LOL

Kathryn We had a similar thing with Will by taking him to the doctor for one thing (a referral to a speech pathologist) to 4 days later finding out he had Coeliacs Disease.

Bec Will didn't speak much until just after his second birthday and had a mini explosion.

Mel I hope you feel better soon, yay on Tom going to sleep on his own, hope it lasts.

Sharna Your walk sounds nice.

AFM still haven't sold the house ohmy.gif . We are going to book the tickets to LAX soon and the flight we want to go on has 35 business class seats so that should be fine. We are buying a seat for Olly as I would end up having to nurse him the whole time. He would be too big for the bassinets. I have started making skin care and got my first wholesale application yesterday, which was a pleasant surprise.

themelster
That is awesome Mands! Is it somewhere that wants to stock them? Have you got your range on your website yet?
Small Potatoes
Mel It is the natural newborn in perth. I have a website http://www.madefromnature.com.au. I am not doing anything on my site yet due to that girl that copies. That is also why I launched new facebook person (mumma naturals) to start the page.
I spoke to Tracy about it before starting as I didn't want to upset our friendship, and I am doing different stuff to her (I will make sure of that) so we don't compete. There are a couple of things I have done like body butter for pregnancy that she makes but my ingredients are different.
themelster
oh, I saw the Mumma Naturals invite on Facebook and I "ignored" it as I didn't realise it was a new site by you! Send me an invite again, or I can always look it up! I often ignore things on facebook as my homepage has started to look like an advertising magazine everytime I log in rather than updates from friends on how there life is. I've tried to pare it back a bit.

That's great news that you have stockist already! Go you! I'm off to check out your webby now original.gif
bec8112
Mands - yeah on the wholesale order already! You must be a very busy woman! I will check out upur page/website soon. I might even be able to buy something if I sweet talk DP! Yeah on booking tickets soon! Thanks for the info on wills talking, it's so hard not to stress about these things!

Mel - how is you house going?

Kathryn- good work getting the gardening done, I hate doing it too!

Ethan is at daycare today so going to get some chores and jobs done while it's quiet! Need to do hannah's birth certificate before I run out of time!!!

1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Had a great day so far. Cleaned the bathroom, did a couple of loads of washing (although I don't think they'll dry), went to the gym and grocery shopping. So glad to be relaxing at home while Cameron is fast asleep. original.gif Nothing else happening today.

Hope everyone is having a lovely day biggrin.gif

Bec- Thanks the garden looks wonderful, so proud. original.gif It's amazing all the paperwork you need to complete when you have a child. I had no idea until I had Cameron. It's great Ethan is at daycare so you can get some chores done, try to take some time to relax yourself though. original.gif

Mands- It's funny how things work out like that lol. Hope you sell the house soon! Your business sounds very exciting. original.gif

bec8112
HI all! I am around but not much time to post at the moment. Busy with chores, etc etc.

Got Hannah weighed this morning and she was 3.9kgs so up 400gms in 8 days! She will be a chubby bubby soon!
Small Potatoes
Bec yay on Hannah's weight gain. All sounds like you are feeling more in control and confident.

kathryn We have someone coming to look today who knows there isn't alot of useable land and doesn't want useable land but does wnat acreage, so fingers crossed.

Mel My FB page was too so I culled 350 people and 600 business pages of my personal page and then started another page Amanda Works and have them all there, so I am still supporting WAHMs etc.

I have my crank on. DH took a medical certificate down to get Will a gluten free meal for his coeliacs and they won't do give him a gluten free meal as it costs them too much money. It isn't like we are just asking for sh*ts and giggles. So I am trying to find GF alternatives to pack for the 14 hour flight, not only that but US customs are a pain with food so I have to make sure that the GF food we take into the US for the 3 hour layover and subsequent flight to Canada is food that is packaged (not a sandwich in glad wrap etc). Sorry bout the winge, but they just made us feel like we were doing it to be precious. I felt like saying yes I wished my child to have a life long autoimmune disease where he can't eat gluten, just so I can be a pain in the a*se and request special meals.

bec8112
Mands - what a pain about the food! That is so wrong they will not do it because it costs too much! What a joke seeing you pay money for the seat! What about some kind of pre packed rice meal? Sorry I do not have any other ideas!

Small Potatoes
Bec We kind of aren't paying for the seat this time as it is a LSL trip, but usually we do. I just think it is unfair to expect a child to go 14 hours without suitable food. I thought I would get DH to ask if we pay extra could we get a GF meal loaded.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Busy day at work. They've cut back the hours for some so that over the lunch period we have full staff. This has meant a max of 5 hours for some so they don't have a break. Thankfully I haven't been one of those people as yet. original.gif
Adam is at the gym. And Cameron and I are watching Masterchef lol.
Start work at 6:30 tomorrow so will finish at 2 which will be great. original.gif
Cameron has been giving me loads of kisses tonight. wub.gif

Mands- What a load of BS!!!!!! How do they expect a child not to eat for 14hrs!

Bec- Fantastic about Hannah's weight gain you must be over the moon. biggrin.gif
Fabulous
Morning all,long time no talk.

Our laptop was getting fixed for most of last week so I couldn't get online. I actually went to the library to use their computers because I was trying to finalise a sale but they had NA and EB blocked because they are considered chat rooms. huh.gif I guess Nat will be home soon if not already.

Miss 8 and Miss 10 are right into masterchef. They even do cooking comps against each other, just stuff like pancakes.

Mands- that sux about the food. I imagine you will have to go through customs twice, USA and Canada. We took so long going through the customs at LAX that our uncollected bags got moved on and it took over 2 hours of wild goose chases to finally recover them. Also when we went to take a domestic flight from LAX to JFK they took all of our shoes (that we were wearing) away for testing and that included the kids shoes.
Small Potatoes
Ros LAX is a nightmare for security. Even when I was flying I would have to take my shoes and belt off. Our flight is one of the first due and we will be in business so hopefully wont' have to wait to long.

I am looking at second hand Ergo's so we have one for each of the kids as the stroller wont go on some of the walking tracks over there
meeskamouska
Haven't read back but just wanted to say.....
HELLLLOOOOO!!!!
I'm home & missed my Oct Mummas!!
Will be back in when I settle in.
Small Potatoes
Welcome back Natty bbighug.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Welcome back Nat! Hope you had a great time. Cant wait to see some piccies original.gif

No news from me. Still loads of back pain, BH coming and going, very sporadic.

Have just done our tax and need to go back over it now to see I got everything included. I am trying to be organised this year and get this lodged before bub is here. Stupid QLD health pay debacle has meant that both Dan and I have 2 PAYG summaries and a few other issues to sort out.

Hi to you all. Might pop back later if the family are behaving.

Sharna

bec8112
Welcome back Nat! Cannot wait to hear all about your trip.

Sharna - your so organised getting your tax done! I have not even thought about mine/ours yet. Hope those BH's turn into labour soon for you!

Mands - how long are you away for when you go?

Ros - yeah we are into Masterchef too! Cannot help myself, i love it! So cute about your girls having cooking competitions!

Mel - hope your enjoying the Hunter Valley!

AFM - I went up to Noosa today to pick up Ethan from my Mum and have lunch with my Grandpa. He bought all of my Grandma's rings with him and I got to choose one to keep. Such a nice heirloom to have and I can pass onto Hannah when she is old enough.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Another busy day at work but I'm not back till next week. original.gif Going out with mum tomorrow for morning tea which will be lovely. Not much else planned for the day probably do some household chores. Camping this weekend which where looking forward too. original.gif

Welcome back Nat bbighug.gif bbighug.gif

Bec- What a lovely keep sake for Hannah. biggrin.gif The six small diamonds in my engagement ring are from my grandma's eternity ring and my sister has the ring itself. I feel like I can't put a price on the ring cos of the sentimental value and I love telling people the history of it. original.gif I hope Hannah finds the same joy. original.gif

Sharna- Geez I hope all these BH and back pain means a quickly labour!

Ceres- Yay on your laptop being fixed. original.gif

Mands- Hope you find an Ergo at the right price. original.gif
Fabulous
Morning all,
We put an offer on a different house last night. The plan is to live in it for a couple of years, throw heaps of money into the mortgage and then knock it down. We decided that we don't want to build straight away because our mortgage would be quite high if we did that, hence too much interest which wouldn't make financial sense.

Sharna- can't be long now. I'm glad to hear that you have done your tax. I recall doing our tax with Jack as a newborn baby. Not good!

Mands- an ergo sounds good. Chelsea used ours a couple of times at 3.5 and it really turned heads.

Bec- how lovely that you got to select a ring.

Kathryn- your ring sounds lovely too.

Nat - welcome back.
meeskamouska
Ros - Hope thaty accept your offer on the house...sounds like a good plan. Just quickly...thanx again for the fleece pants...CR wears them endlessly.

Sharna - you're still in one piece. I truly thought I'd come back to baby news. Looks like I'll be here for all the excitement.

Mands - wow your a busy girl!! Love the idea of the new skin care range. I'd imagine you'll be brilliant at that. I don't know how you find the time!

Bec - sounds like babying is going good at your place.

Hi Mel!!

Hi Kathryn!!

Hi Annika!!

Bali was fantastic though I don't think I'd do it again with both girls. Bella was hard work to say the least. CR handled things great.
Shopping was fun. Got some great new things which is nice. Brought back some lovely Lombok pearls & a pretty Guess bag.... my 2 favourite items I purchased.
Hotel was amazing. Not sure if I'd stay anywhere but in a resort now. I feel spoilt. The pool was lovely & I took advantage of the day spa with body massages & full body scrubs which were TDF.
We went riding on elephants, cuddled orangatangs, patted tigers & picked up enormous sea turtles. The animals were great with seeing the turtles on turtle island my favourite. You go by boat toget there. Fun.

Off to do the bedtime thing with the girls.
BB tomorrow.
bec8112
Nat - your trip sounded like it was great! cannot wait to see some photos. I went to turtle island when i went to Bali and I loved it too!

Ros - yeah on the house offer, I hope they accept it and you get get settled in soon.

Sharna - you still in one piece????

Kathryn - have fun camping! Do you have a camper trailer or do you use a tent? Dave and I love camping too! We went on a 5 week Cape York trip when I was pregnant with Ethan and it was amazing! I cannot wait to be able to take both kids. Dave's 4x4 is broken at the moment so not sure when it will be!

Annika - when are you in Brisbane again? I have forgotten what date you said. I really hope I get the chance to meet you and your gorgeous boys.

AFM - Hannah has decided she likes to sleep with her dummy but wakes up when it falls out wacko.gif , she is also deciding that after her 2am feed it is awake time! I had a physio group at the hospital this morning which was informative, really need to start doing more pelvic floor exercises!

Hi to anyone I have missed.

Small Potatoes
Bec I started doing Pelvic floor exercises when I read you post original.gif. Oh no on Hannah deciding to have play time at 2am.

Ros Did your offer get accepted? We had two promising leads, but they seemed to have fizzled. I might call up the REA to find out what is happening.

Nat When is the MM on?

That is about all from me for now.

1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Went out for morning tea with a work mate today which was lovely. Cameron was an angel. wub.gif Last night not so much. Didn't go to sleep until 11pm. But he had a nap from 4 to 6pm so wasn't really surprised. Adam was called into work last night he is still racking his brain to work out what the problem is. The machine the guys were working on arced and there unsure why.
Going camping today for the weekend so I baked a banana cake for something yummy to have. original.gif Thankfully Cameron is having a nap now cos I doubt he'll have any day sleeps while where camping.

Hope every one is having a lovely day biggrin.gif

Bec- We have a camper trailer thankfully. Although when we bought it we went camping that weekend so didn't have a chance to set it up. There was no mattress which is for most campers a standard. So we had a few uncomfortable night sleeps to say the least. sad.gif Its a great way to travel on the cheap we found. I think Cameron will enjoy it more in the Summer but having said that I think he coped really well last time. Cameron wakes too when he's dummy falls out, so annoying!!! Damn on the 2am play time. sad.gif

Nat- Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Shame Bella was a challenge. sad.gif Would have been amazing getting that close to the animals. Bet the photo's don't do it justice! I love staying at resorts too, so relaxing. biggrin.gif

Ceres- Thanks I love the sentimental value and the story behind the ring and that I can pass it on to my kids. Sounds like you've thought a great deal about the housing market, very smart. Hope all goes well with it. original.gif

Hi everyone else biggrin.gif
themelster

Bec - argh! 2am playtime! I know that feeling well and Tom wasn't even a newborn! It will pass in time.

Kathryn - have fun camping! Where are you going? You probably said but I must have missed it.

Ros - Any word on the house? When will you hear?

Sharna - News? News? News? I'm keeping a close eye on facebook too!

Annika - Where are you chick? Are we still on track for your visit?

Nat - I WANT PHOTO'S!!!!! I'll have to pick your brain before our trip (well, we've got 12 months wait!). I want to know where to go and what to bring! Why was Bella such a challenge? Just not compliant? Wanting her own way? Is the food ok?

Mands - How long now until Cananda? That is quite unbelievable about the flight food. It's not like it is a dislike - it is a medical condition. Can they really do that??? Hey, been meaning to ask you what the True Blood books are like? Would you recommed them? I need some new books and I've been thinking of giving them a go. Also, let me know next time you are in town so I can grab that Rocking Green if you still have it.

AFU - not much happening. I've just gotten back from a work conference at the Hunter Valley. I missed Tom quite a bit but it was so so nice to hear his excited cries of "mama, mama, mama!!!!" when I picked him up from my brothers place. I've never had that before. My heart melted.

Anyone else watching Australia's Next Top Model? I'm a huge fan (tragic hey....). It started a couple of nights ago and I've got the first episode taped. Haven't watched it yet so no spoilers! Just wondering if anyone else is watching it?
Small Potatoes
Mel Love the true blood books. You can borrow mine. I have about 8 and the first 3 are in an omnibus. I will be coming up in August when Annika is here and can bring them and the rng then.
themelster
That'd be great Mands!! Thanks! biggrin.gif
Small Potatoes
no probs Mel. I have the first season on DVD too if you want to borrow that also
1kathryn
Mel- Going to Stockton its only 15min from our place but the people where going with are from the Central Coast so it's a bit further for them. Was the work conference good? Hunter Valley would have been lovely. Awww so sweet about Tom. wub.gif I was walking towards Adam and Cameron last night while we were shopping and Cameron yelled out mum and pointed to me. So darn cute! wub.gif
Alis Volat Propiis
Hi all... still here. LOL Mel and Annika will remember this type of general conversation from last time round as we were a few of the last remaining ones from our DIG.

We went to the Cairns Show today and had a good time. N was fascinated by the noises, music, sideshow stuff and animals etc She really probably is a bit little still to enjoy it fully. I cant wait to take her to something next year though! It was the local public holiday today so was super busy and a bit crowded for me but still something nice to do.

Kathryn - enjoy camping. Dan and I go every couple of months and have a great set up now but are still looking at purchasing a camper trailer. Probably just the top to go on our existing trailer. As for mattresses we have a 4WD Queen size, self inflating mattress that is perfect. It does take up a bit of room as you cant fold it, but no more rolling about on a stupid air bed. Hope the weather is good for you. Was it cold?

Nat - we went to turtle island too. Did you get to the monkey temple? Sounds like you had a great time. Resort holidaying does spoil you but I love holidaying at all levels now. My fave holiday was with Dan when we did our RTW (round the world) and stayed in sooooooooooo many different levels of hotel/hostel comfort. Ahhh memories. Did you manage to look into anything for your business?

Mel - That is so sweet that Tom obviously missed you alot. How was the conference?

Mands - I read the Twilight series in one weekend as I downloaded the books as PDF files. N was quite little if I remember and all I did was sit on the couch, scroll the pages down on the lappy and BF. LOL. I have quite an addictive type nature when it comes to books (even the bad ones) and get so engrossed in them. I might have to look into this series too. They are vampire books right?

Bec - I am sure Hannah's new nightime playtime waking will settle. Alot of bubs do it. Dont even talk to me about pelvic floor... i am soooooooooooooooooo slack. I think I am just hoping this time round all will be sweet like last time.

Ros - did you hear back about your house offer? We are going to list our house this weekend. I just detest the idea of giving so much money to an REA to sell it. I am not stingy as such, but it is alot of money!

Gotta go wake up N or she wont be going to bed till really late tonight.

Sharna
Small Potatoes
Sharna I hear yo uon the REA, if we get what we want we will be paying $17K, isn't that rediculous? True Blood is vampires, but it isn't a love story as such though there is romance in there.

meeskamouska
Pelvic floor - I wish it could fix all my probs. I do them everyday, several times & it just won't work but at least it stops things from getting worse.

Mel - food was great. The hotel had a huge western banquet brekky everyday ...bliss.... chocolate croissants...mmmm. Bella found the whole experience overwhelming I think. She liked staying at the hotel & lounging in the pool though she came home with an ear infection from so much swimming. Shopping for me & the girls was good but not very good for boys unfortunately. Pack light if u plan to shop. I only took 3 outfits, swimmers & a nighty.... it was plenty. Thefirst day I got a few dresses etc & was set. Theres Mcdonald, KFC etc though I didn't eat any meat. Great little supermarkets called Cocos & they sell all international cuisine like Just juice, 2minute noodle, arnotts biscuits. Basics but I found this very good. We took alot of food with though. Any pre packaged food is ok to take. We did the whole movie experience. If your into DVDs they are $1au each roughly.... all movies like shrek 4, toy story, eclipse etc we had no trouble with customs with them....hmmm what else....so much... feel free to ask me anything now or later on.

Pause... CR is sitting in the fridge devouring an entire packet of cheese... little ratbag she is.

Funny I checked in around lunchtime & nobody had posted now there's so much to read I can't remember it all.

MMarkets is August 14th. From memory Annika said the 15th to meet up.

Back later...love to everyone.

Oh just quickly..... CR has been rubbing her feet onto each other since being home & whilst away... anyone know what this is. I posted in another forum area but want to ask my Oct mummas though cause I trustwhat u girls think. Any thoughts on that one???? She wakes up really distressed & is rubbing her feet together.....puzzling???????

Alis Volat Propiis
Nat - perhaps a contact allergy type dermatitis. New shoes or socks? Sometimes new food allergies can present with itchy hands/feet. Hope you work it out or it settles down.

Sharna
~Annika~
Natty the itchy feet thing could even be something from her walking bare feet whilst in Bali (if she did that) and could have gotten some type of tropical parasites (microscopic size) in the skin of her feet. When I lived in Uganda at the age of 12 I distinctly remember being warned about this and the fact that we could get very sick from it especially when going swiming in Lake Victoria (but it's an inland lake though right on the equator). Because our feet are so porous they easily absorb stuff. Hope it's something more simple than that though and more treatable. Don't want to scare you, but hey, it's a possibility.

Sharna Yeah, I remember well those last couple of weeks in our DIG and us being the last few still pg, it got so quiet in there after everyone else had their bubs. Hope you don't have to wait too much longer!!

Mel & Bec We are coming over on Sunday the 15th Aug. I just realised though that we won't be flying into Brissie until 3.30pm your time (1.30pm WA time) and get all our luggage etc, and then get the shuttle bus out to the Novatel, so probably won't be able to do a meet that day as it will be getting quite late by the time we actually settle into our hotel room. So now I am thinking the week after when we get back into Brissie from Syndey on Sunday the 22nd Aug around lunch time.

Hi to everyone else, sorry for only a few personals this time!!! Gotta go sort out dinner.
meeskamouska
Annika - the 22nd suits me way better....hopefully it works for the others too. Thanx for the thoughts with the feet. So hard to know. I have wondered about what your talking about. Am going to do some more google searching. It was my first thought that something is up but don't want to seem ove reactive. How do u ask a toddler if there is something wrong with her feet. How would a DR even know...... a bit worried & not sure what to do.
Small Potatoes
22nd no good for me sad.gif . Leaving for Canada that day
bec8112
Annika - the 22nd should be ok for me at this stage.

nat - I have no idea about the rubbing feet thing, sorry.

Sharna - keep forgetting to ask you, did you decide on a pram?

Mel - how sweet is Tom! I bet you were both so happy to see each other.

Mands - Yeah REA fees are huge! My Dad is one though in Noosa and some of his commissions are huge because of the price of some of his sales.

AFM - Ethan seemed to have hurt his neck somehow last night, there was alot of silly play with Dad and SIL and then he was crying heaps. I was feeding Hannah and I kept saying he has something hurting and they all kept telling me he was just tired! After I fed Hannah I got him up and cuddled him and prodded around and we came up with his neck as he was screaming if we tried to move him in a certain direction. We gave him some Nurofen and sat on the couch for ages before a long hot shower. After that he seemed a little better. He went straight to sleep so he was super tired too so will see how he is this morning!

Hannah seems to be having her longer sleep of the night too early! She fed at 6pm and slept from 7pm until midnight and then woke at 3.30am and was wide awake again! I tried the dummy and I was sick of getting up to her so I brought her into our room and she slept in her pram. and now just woken at 7.45am.
meeskamouska
Bec - had a laugh at Hannah sleeping in the pram. Funny when you have a new baby you'll do anything to get them to sleep. No good with Ethan. Sounds like he was twisted or something & pulled a muscle perhaps.
Sharna - hows that belly today?
Mands - I bet your getting excited about your trip. How long are u away for???

Well I decided to ring 13health last night with Charlee. They seem to think she's having night terrors. Probably brought on by a lack of routine & sleep. sad.gif . The feet rubbing thing is associated with trauma. It did start after a huge day & she completely lost it in a shop which is so unlike her. Since then she wakes absolutely screaming but is still asleep if that makes sense. The nurse seemed to think it will settle now we are home. So for the minute I'm camping out in her room to make her feel secure. They recc someone sleep in her room. See how we go......

Off to sew. Paul is home so will take advantage.

Enjoy your day girls.
bec8112
Nat - hope CR gets over the night terrors soon.

Ethan pulled/strained a muscle in his neck! I took him to the ED this morning as he woke up screaming and miserable! He would not let me move him much so I just had to get it checked! As soon as we got home from the hospital he wanted to ride his bike and play so think he must be ok! They said just nurofen and heat pack and take him to physio if it does not improve.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.