The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: June 08 Parents # 62

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=798133

sun_kissed
GOLD biggrin.gif

OMG have a toddler refusing to sleep today because we are getting rid of the dummy. He is in his room screaming "My want a dummy!". I have told him its broken and he said to me "Go get more dummies" LOL.

What to do what to do?
I wonder what tonight will bring ohmy.gif He is going to be one tired boy!
Summerlover

Oh J hope your night time was better. I spent about 3 weeks weaning Yas off the dummy during the day time. I left it on her bed and she was only allowed to have it in her bed. Sometimes she would get upset and point to her room and say 'dubby?' and I told her she could have it but only on her bed she couldn't bring it out so sometimes she would play in her room with her dummy and come back out when she was ready without it. Then after all of that we stopped it at night and she asked for it and cracked the first night but not that bad and she woke through the night yelling for me but still asleep but just over a week later I think its out of her system. It took 3 nights for her to stop looking for it on her bed when she went to bed.

If you are going cold turkey and have continued to do so - then just keep it up, it will pay off. If you caved in because he was uncontrollable then a couple of suggestions to me were to buy a different shape dummy (ie smaller size, different shape) and he won't like it and wean himself or convince him he is a big boy and he needs to swap his dummy for a new toy and get him to throw his dummies in a clean bin in order to get the toy and say bye-bye to his dummy (make sure its a clean bag in the bin and just put the dummies somewhere away).

Good luck
Hel x
sun_kissed
Hel: Thanks the problem is he had all different dummies different sizes and he only ever had it to sleep. So it is his total sleep cue. Nightimes have been better because he is completely shattered. But daytimes he is shocking!

What we did was cut the end off one of his dummies and showed him that it was broken. Then we did the whole talk about dummy is broken and I asked him to put it in the bin which he did. But we are day 3 now and he is refusing to go to sleep during the day!

He just said to me after his lunch "No nonies, No dummy, my got outside". Meaning I am not going to sleep because there is no dummy so I am going outside to play instead!!!!
The cheek of him dev (6).gif
Summerlover

Oh you poor things - gosh I thought I had problems as Yas was so attached to her dummy due to all the upheaval of moving etc it was the only thing that comforted her. Sounds like you have done everything you can - hang in there best now than later on when he can really tell you what he thinks!!!! least he is sleeping at night time.

Hel
TrickyRicky
Oh J I couldnt think of anything worse, but if you want to get rid of it you have to be strong and keep going. I waited until Ricky was 3 1/2 and he gave it to Santa, I found that he understood alot better and it was easy as handing it over. Casey has it for sleeps also but does have it every now and then when he is being painful, keeps him quiet original.gif

Shell - How are things going with Sus, is she well?? I also wanted to chat to you about Avon and make sure you still wanted the Mascara as I will be ordering on Wednesday.

US - Well Casey was so whingy and crying all morning and on the way to school, he finally let go of me and I went off to work, within 1/2hr I had a call from childcare saying that Casey has gastric!! oomg2.gif OMG I could not believe it, it seems that whenever he is there he always gets it!! anyway it was only once so I didnt have to pick him up.

I've got an exam on Friday so this week after work I will be revising for it, I feel like I dont know where to start though as I did have alot of issues with the assessments on this one so I am a little scared sad.gif I really dont know if I will understand everything and be able to remember without referring to the text book ddown.gif

well I suppose I better get back to it, casey is hanging off me and I cant concentrate!
sun_kissed
Urs: I know Eli was the same I was happy for him to keep his dummy but DH put the foot down! And I am a control freak so I thought I would let DH win one parenting battle LOL
Hard work though. Don't freak yourself out about your exam just study up and stay calm you can only do your best (oops sorry teacher voice there he he).

Thanks Hel xoxox

p.s. I think I may be winning the battle today anyway. He had a day sleep and went to bed no fuss YAY!
Summerlover
Hey girls

J - good on you for sticking to it cclap.gif - he'll get there and sounds like he is. Yeah sometimes when its not a major problem I agree with Urs about keeping it but 1/ I hate seeing a young child with a dummy in there mouth at the best of times and I cringed when I saw photos of beautiful Yas's face with a dummy in it and 2/ she was reliant on it when upset and I didn't like that - she would push us away and choose her dummy and 3/ she couldn't talk properly with it (we couldn't understand her). Now when I take photos there is no dummy and she always comes for a cuddle to either of us when she is upset. There are pros & cons depending on you and how the child is using the dummy I reckon. Its like every step of the babies growing up - every family works differently!!!

Urs - I do Avon as well !! have a good little customer base and I like it mainly cause the money I make out of it pays for some things like toiletries & makeup etc plus some cheap deals come through for the reps. Good luck with your exam, sounds hairy.

I have passed all my assignments now - just waiting for the certificate, whooooohooooo. Also we are moving on the 16th of August to a new house, this house sold and we found a house that I actually liked not far from here - very different house to the 'norm' rentals that you get and $40 a week cheaper!! Not leaving much room to get organised for the arrival of bubs but hey at least we are moving before she arrives hey???

Apart from that Yasmin is a complete handful and I don't know whats harder - dealing with her now in the late stages of pregnancy or dealing with her and sleep deprivation and a crying newborn??????? Oh boy this will be my biggest challenge in life yet and thats saying something for all I've done over the past 40 years laughing2.gif

Okay off to bed - DH is on nightshift tonight so I may get a good nights sleep with no snoring to contend with and the whole bed to myself tthumbs.gif

J - keep meaning to ask you, are you going to find out the sex of this bub?? I know you want a girl but I'm sure you won't be disappointed either way will you??

Hel xx
MrsHayley
YAAAYYYY!!! I am back online - sorry it took so long girls biggrin.gif

Helen
- Congratulations on passing all of your course cclap.gif How are you feeling? Not long to go now??? And well done on getting rid of Yas' dummy. Millie is pretty good with hers and really only uses it when she sleeps or is inconsolable, so I can cope with that. How did your DH go with his 4 days away?

J - How are you feeling? I am with Helen....are you finding out what you are having? And more importantly, will you be telling us? laughing2.gif Well done to you too, on getting rid of Eli's dummy cclap.gif

Urs
- How are your gorgeous boys going?

Us - Well if you didn't see it on my FB, I had an audition this afternoon for The Biggest Loser! It was pretty scary. When we walked in, there were all these lights and a camera oomg2.gif It went for about 45mins, and we basically just told them about our lives, our families and our battle with weight. We should know in a few weeks if we made it or not. Pretty scary. But then even more exciting than that.....after the audition, my sister and I went and had some dinner next to the Jam Factory - who were holding the premiere for Ashton Kutcher's new movie. Turns out it was the same time we were there, so we walked over to see Ashton Kutcher!!!! OMG, he is so handsome, and he shook my hand wub.gif laughing2.gif And I then got a photo with the Director of the movie and he gave me 2 free tickets to see the movie - YAY!

Amelia - is going soooooo well. Talking so so much - it's crazy. I often forget that she is 2yo wub.gif She is still going to the toilet, but not quite ready to go full time into knickers - so once the weather is a little bit warmer, she will go cold turkey into knickers. Her hair is growing really really long, and she is looking just gorgeous wub.gif I often pinch myself, that she is my daughter...

Harrison - Also going well. We have had a rough trot with teething and an ear infection that won't go away, but hopefully all of that is on the mend now. He is crawling like a mad man, and yesterday started standing with furniture - I am stoked that he is finally standing, but also scared on the other end because I know it means he is one step closer to walking, which means he is 1 step closer to making my life very hectic laughing2.gif
Oh, and also.....he is turning 1 in 2 and a half weeks oomg.gif

Anyway...... waves.gif to everyone, and I am so excited to be back ddance.gif
MrsHayley
YAAAYYYY!!!!! Harrison slept through the night last night eexcite.gif After about 1 month of constant waking and then staying awake for 2-3hrs, it finally happened ddance.gif
shell~
Hi everyone waves.gif I spend so much time on FB these days that I just forget to come in here and check for the 'full' news laughing2.gif Ashamedly I have also become addicted to that darn Zoo World. I'm a sucker for cute little animals. I can't stay away from it. I was horrified on the weekend when Joshua said he wanted a facebook page...so he could play Zoo World! oomg2.gif Either time to get off it, or time to do it when he's not around!

Hel - Yay!! You found a house? What's it like? You say not the norm. How so?

Urs - Yes, Yes, Yes. I still NEED the mascara. I completely forgot about the funds transfer ssorry.gif I'm a real slacker for that. If it's not paypal, I'm stuffed. I'll have to get net banking now that I have a faster internet connection! Or remember to go to the bank during my lunch hour!!

J - how is your dad? I think of you guys often. Are you doing another baby room, or will she/he get Eli's old stuff? Great job on the dummy!

Hales - What made you apply for the Biggest Loser? I will be SO excited to watch you 'WHEN' you get on.

Bec - How are the kids? Still got a little sleeper on your hands? How are those b!tchy local girls?wink.gif are things still sweet between you and your mum?

Susannah - She's finally using the potty regularly ddance.gif She told me today that she needed to do a poo and 'hurry up mumma'. When she was finished she said "wipe my own bum", then "can I have a sticker now please". After she flushed she said "don't forget wash hands with soap mumma..and the thumbs". I've been telling her brother than for 3.5 years and I'm lucky if he flicks his hands under the running water. She's 2 and gets it!! She's been counting to 20 (saying 9 instead of 5 every time laughing2.gif), and dances and sings all the time - brahms lullaby in her own words, twinkle twinkle li-lil star and you've got a friend in me'. She's quite the little show-off often puts her hand out and says "STOP! No I'm singing" if you try and join in. She's into pretty things and loves to play act with her dolls, or dress up and act out with her brother. It's getting harder to find enough things to keep her occupied! I'm sure she's been on this earth before.

Better run. Josh is at the tail end of sickness again so I'm working from home. Not geting much done chatting in here original.gif Love you all
Shell.
TrickyRicky
Hey girls, I had Zumba tonight OMG it was the best, I'm rooted now though!!! biggrin.gif

Shell - thats fine I just wanted to check with you first before ordering. I have a paypal acct if it makes it easier, payment will be due 30th July so up to you original.gif Sus sounds like a little girls rolleyes.gif what a clever little thing

Helen - Well my first order and I just make $50!! its going towards my MEL trip so I'm happy about that!

J - God I never let DH get his own way LOL, I suppose its wrong but I always make the decision when it comes to the baby stuff as I'm the one looking after them and I suppose he does not have the patience. Eli is doing great!

Hayls - good on you for biggest loser, I love that show!!! you are such an entertainer that you will make everyone have a laugh!!

Still sh*tting myself about the exam sad.gif I'm just going to first do what I know & remember and then do the stuff I'm unsure of, I just need a pass, but I still think that I have failed before I have stepped in the room blink.gif Ohwell tomorrow will be my last day to study for the test and after Zumba I'm stuffed so I'm off to bed I think, maybe a good nights sleep will help wink.gif

Night my friends xxx
Summerlover

Morning girls

Urs - you'll be fine, just do as you say for your exam - work through what you know and get it out the way. Good on you for your first order of Avon!! I just really enjoy the fact that it doesn't really cost me for toiletries, skincare & makeup - 1 less expense to worry about with all the lotions & potions us girls use to feel and look our best biggrin.gif I make most of the decisions too when it comes to Yas but sometime DH will put his foot down on something.

J - keep up the good work. We had a terrible night here 2 nights ago. Picked Yas up from daycare and she was fine but had been wearing her shoes for most of the day there (1st time) and when she got home she turned into another child - she was a screaming horror for 2 hours and I put her to bed early at 6.45pm because I knew she was tired and she just wouldn't settle - next minute she starts getting worked up and says 'dubby?' - well of course I said there is no dubby and she went mental but she got over it and went to sleep within 20mins - she was exhausted no doubt the shoes were taxing on her.

Shell - great to hear Susannah is thriving - she sounds like such a lovely sweet thing. Every house we have looked at up here for renting has been just your normal 3 or 4 bedroom 'newish type house in a newish estate' like you walk in and lounge, dining, kitchen then a little corridor with 3 or 4 bedrooms and a backyard with a pool somewhere. This house when you arrive at it you only see the double garage and a gate (high gate) - you enter and go down some easy big steps to a front garden which is totally private and step into the house via 1 of its 2 entrances and you have immediately lounge, dining kitchen and huge massive enclosed deck as big as the inside attached to the kitchen dining which overlooks a garden and beautiful view of Cairns. Then to the right is the main bedroom, ensuite, large office and another living area. To the left of the main entrance is the other 2 bedrooms and bathroom. The pool is on the side of the house next to the 2 other bedrooms so while the kids are sleeping and you want to take a dip you would hear if they woke easily!!!! Its just a great set up with the huge deck and there are little doors that take you out to different small outdoor areas. So basically the kids bedrooms are over the other side of the house, I can use the office for the baby to start with as it is attached to our bedroom & a living area and the kids can play outside on the deck whether its raining or not or play in the front area on the grass when dry. Hope you can visualise?? - we move in 4 weeks. And it is $40 a week cheaper than where we are currently.

Hayles - Im doing well, no not long - Im due in 8.5wks but will have her earlier due to c/s. Bad bad indigestion - OB appt today so need to ask for some medication because its really starting to get me down and affecting my eating, sleeping and mood.
Good on you for trying out for the biggest loser - you are a braver woman than me. Hope you get in, it would be fantastic watching you in it, I would actually probably watch it then!. Glad to see Milly and Harry are doing well.

Okay I better go and do some stuff for myself as I have a busy arvo. We still haven't thought about a name for this baby much and we probably really need to start talking about it hey????

Urs - I'm going to try out Zumba to get back in shape, sounds like a lot of fun.

Helen

sun_kissed

Urs: My friends love zumba original.gif Not sure I will be doing it pregnant but I would love to try it to shape up after bub.

Hel: We haven't thought of names either. Poor Yas and her shoes, hopefully it will ease. How funny are they with their dummies they just love them so much! What are we going to do if number 2 needs a dummy??

Dad: Is mending slowly he is a bit down at the moment. How is suse? I saw on fb she wasn't well again.

Hayls: Yep will be finding out and telling people I think. That s if this bub shows its bits. I have had 2 scans and it hasn't shown its face. Feeling much better now just going through a tired patch.

Bellagirls
Hey girls

Been flat out at work and home lately.

Should have an answer from work next week about cutting my hours so fingers crossed.

I went to the Target toy sale to finish the rest of the Christmas shopping and am so poor that it isn't even funny.

Liana is talking heaps but still has her dummy. She has had a bit of a breakdown since we got rid of her hairchair so son't want to rock the boat too much wink.gif

Urs - It ios a shame we can't make plans for when you are in Melbourne. Do you still have my number? I work in the city so may be able to pop out for a coffee or something if you have a spare 5 mins.

I am feeling pretty crap at the moment. Dh is booked in for a vasectomy on Monday and doesn't understand why I am upset about it sad.gif Men are insensitive, selfish, idiots!

Bell xxx
sun_kissed
Belle: I hit target too and have done my christmas shopping for Eli. We are not sure if baby no #2 will be here or not yet.
Do you mean high chair not hairchair? LOL. 1 thing at a time I think, they get rather attached to the strangest things wub.gif
hugs to you about DH vasectomy.

MrsHayley
J - Such a cute photo of Eli with your ticker wub.gif How are you feeling? I saw your FB status....when are you finding out? My guess is another boy (but will pray that I am wrong, because I know you would love a little girl) wub.gif

Belle
- hhugs.gif Sorry to hear about DH and him not understanding why you are upset. Amelia still has her dummy too, but she isn't reliant on it. Infact, daycare were telling me yesterday that she barely even uses it - including sleep time.

Urs - How did your exam go this morning?

Helen - Your pregnancy seems to have flown...but maybe that's because you hid it from us for so long laughing2.gif

...oops, battery about to run out on laptop - got to go....BBL waves.gif
Summerlover

Belle - sorry to hear about your DH, I'm the other way - my DH won't go and get it done and I want him to, there is no way we are having another child we are both too old now.

Hayles - yeah it feels though its gone quick for me to with all the moving etc but I'm so over it now and ready for her to come out.

J - can't wait to hear what you have, so exciting!!!

Urs - how did your exam go?

Simone if you check in - can't believe you are heading North!! I take it all got sorted with your DH staying put then??

Target Sales - no I didn't hit them and got enough from Big W, I probably won't even give Yas all that we got her and 1 thing will probably end up as a birthday present anyway.

Yas is here and annoying me under the table, she is so naughtly lately. Does anyone else's toddler throw things at them in temper when they don't get their own way????? I flabbergasted by her behaviour!!!!

Well best go help her readng and then she is off to bed - DH at work so a movie in peace for me tonight.

Take care
Hel
MrsHayley
Back again waves.gif

Shell - Sus sounds so similar to Amelia. She says exactly the same thing when she is singing and we try to join in - "Stop it Mummy, Millie is singing" wub.gif pretty cute really. Glad to hear that she is using the potty too. I hope Josh has gotten better since your post hhugs.gif

AMELIA
- is just growing up so quickly. I have to remind myself that she is only 2yo! She is counting to 10, can read her own name and can also read Harrison's name. She is having a little bit of trouble with her colours, but we are getting there. She knows most of her animal names and she has also started letting me teach her some dance steps ddance.gif She can also sing most of Twinkle Twinkle, Incy Wincy Spider, Row Row Row your boat, Baa Baa Black Sheep, Humpty Dumpty and she came home singing (from daycare) Miss Polly had a Dolly wub.gif Still going to the toilet fairly regularly but not quite ready for knickers yet. And she is talking heaps and heaps. Becoming less and less jibberish......

Me
- Have had an absolutely horrendous day with my son glare.gif He slept for only half an hour all day, and pretty much screamed all day long. I am fairly certain that he is trying to cut, at least, 1 molar. He has a massive lump at the back of his gum. So add that into his ear infection and a month worth of not much sleep.....Mummy was getting pretty angry by the end of the day cry1.gif Tomorrow though, Harry is off to my Mum and Dad's while I take Amelia to a birthday party. I am sure he will be a gem for them, as it only seems to be me that he is always grizzly with - or at least that's what it feels like sad.gif

Anyway, am off to buy a birthday present for this party tomorrow, and then hopefully we are in for a decent night's sleep hands.gif
MrsHayley
Helen - Amelia had a foul temper huh.gif She will also throw things and at times has even been known to go and hit Harry across the top of his head when I have told her off blink.gif However, we have always been very consistent in the way we tell her off, and these things seem to be far less frequent now - thank goodness
TrickyRicky
Hi Girls waves.gif

Well my exam was awful, I will be surprised if I passes sad.gif everything turned to mush and I couldnt figure out what was what! When I walked out I almost burst into tears, but composed myself then felt like throwing up sick.gif.

Helen - Casey is a huge thrower, he throws everything and especially when he doesnt get his own way, his teacher always makes a comment in the day book that she has to keep reminding him to stop throwing biggrin.gif

Simone - Whats happening?? you moving up North? fill me in pls!!!

Belle - We are staying at the Grand Medina on Queen Street is that near you, we are going to the Titanic Museam at 1.30 so if you are close to there I'm happy to meet you somewhere if you like. I hear ya about money, we are still behind every month, I just cant seem to catch up, if we can have just one month with no huge expenses we will get in front.

Hayls - sad.gif not good about Harrison, I hate those kind of days. So you may need to remind me but are you working? Amelia is a smart little girl!

I hope you all have a nice weekend!

Urs xx

sun_kissed
Hel: Yep Eli also throws stuff. He went through a major stage of being horrible but it seems to be wearing off slowly especially as his vocabulary develops and he can express him self in other ways. But we still get the milk cup thrown across the room occassionally grrrr! Terrrors.

Urs: bbighug.gif to you honey. I hope you passed and it was just nerves. Fingers crossed for you xoxox

Hayls: Millie is clearly a genius cclap.gif What a clever little princess original.gif

Me: find out in 3 weeks...I could find out next week but OB is on holidays so inconsiderate!
Bellagirls

Urs - you hotel is a whole of 5 minutes walk from my office. Would love top catch up even for a quick coffee. I will pm you my mobile and I still have yours and we can lock something in once you arrive. Shopping - best place is probably Bridge Road. huge variety from nice boutiques to factory outlets.

J - I am so excited. Can't wait to find out what you are having. Any name ideas yet?

DH just had the snip so need to go and pick him up now. I am so sad sad.gif

~Goggles~

Haven't read much but wanted to pop in and say Hi and apologise for being a crappy buddy! Had so much going on with Uni, placement, challenging children and preparing for DH to head overseas in a week sad.gif I will try to keep up and try and read but I am thinking of you all and I read whatever is on FB original.gif xoxo
MrsHayley
Hi Girls wink.gif

Simone - I can't believe that your DH goes overseas in a week. How long will he be gone for? How are your gorgeous girls going?

Belle
- hhugs.gif I am going to msg you my mobile number. Given that we only live about 40mins away from each other - we should try and get together hhugs.gif

Urs
- You are coming down the weekend of Harrison's 1st birthday party.....you should drive down here and say Hi laughing2.gif

J - So exciting wub.gif

Belle and Bec - Was thinking maybe we could organise a catch up the last weekend of August??? How are the two of you situated for that?

Me - Having a truly horrendous few days, with Harrison sad.gif I know that most of you know, from reading FB - but it is really wearing me down. I have spent the past few days in tears, because I just don't know what else to do to help him. He is on Bonjela, Nurofen, Panadol and Amoxil (for his ears) - and yet he still screams for hours at a time cry1.gif I have an appt with a pot-natal depression clinic in a couple of weeks to try and help me deal with all of this, because I am not coping well at all anymore. Having said that though, my sister took me and the kids down to Lorne and Anglesea this morning, and we took the kids to the beach and they played in the sand and walked along the water. It was so delightful being by the ocean biggrin.gif

Anyway, that's really all from me at the moment.

waves.gif love to you all, my friends
Summerlover

Hayles bbighug.gif you poor thing, I don't know how you do it either with 2 so close - I am terrified about these 2 because Yasmin is a real handful at the moment, she is so uncontrollable at times and I find myself losing my temper with her a lot but I'm hoping its probably because I am at this stage of pregnancy - well I'm hoping it is anyway. I hope Harrison will get better soon and stop screaming, he must be in pain poor thing. I remember Yas having foot and mouth and it was terrible - she woke screaming of hunger but everything I tried to feed her she wouldn't put in her mouth because it hurt so it was her screaming, crying and hungry for nearly a week - I dread something like that happening and having to handle 2. Isn't Millie a smart little monkey??

J - yes so looking forward to finding out the sex of your baby. How are things with your dad?

Urs - bbighug.gif you'll be fine - do you know what happens if you don't pass it, can you re-sit?

Simone - 2 little terrors, I have one so I can only imagine. When do you head to Townsville?

Belle - so sorry you are feeling sad about no more children, were you wanting another?

Thanks girls on the temper issue - honestly her temper is so so bad and I'm wondering if she picks up me yelling at the dogs. I am constantly telling to dogs to go away from her and she tells us to go away. Today she woke up from her sleep and lost it - threw everything out of her bed in temper, I'm hoping it will improve. You just don't know what you are going to get when she wakes up - its the devil you do the devil you don't. You go in and she tells you to go away or you just open the door and let her come out at her own pace but she cries at that too wacko.gif . I'm just hoping things settle down a bit once I'm more abled bodied because I just don't have the energy to deal with her.

On top of it DH p*ssess me off sometimes. He comes in from work and then plonks himself on the computer, I tell him I'm going to ban the computer and hey its a laptop I could just hide it but it would just cause more trouble. Its already banned from 6pm until she goes to bed but really he needs to spend more time with her and take the pressure off me. Well he is going to Sydney tomorrow morning until Sunday afternoon and when he comes back I'm not sure when he is returning from work but I've decided I'm going to go out and leave him all day with Yasmin and then come home and sit on the computer and see how he feels - problem is Yas is so reliant on me and used to DH walking away from her that she demands so much more of my attention!! - well things will have to change when baby #2 comes along and I've told him when he comes in from work he can spend 30 to 1 hour on and off the computer and then it will get switched off until Yasmin goes to bed, I think this is what he is afraid of with a second child - he's had it pretty easy until now. Then he throws the work card - oh I've been out working all day etc etc. God I am so sick of hearing that sh*t - men just don't know what hard work is (well most men).

I'm on here now to stop him being on here and when I come off I'm turning the computer off until Yas goes to bed. He has to look after her but what happens - his phone rings and he is chatting away to someone looking after her.

Anyway enough whinging - time to go because guess who is with me under the computer desk rant.gif
MrsHayley
Helen - hhugs.gif I have similar problems with my DH at times. They just don't get it. I think that my DH still gets it pretty easy - even with the two of them. He thinks it's looking after them, if he is watching the TV or playing the WII and the kids are fluffing around in the lounge room. I really cracked it at my DH last night because he was useless and given how Harrison is lately, I need extra help because my fuse is so short - but he just doesn't get it. He also uses the work card sad.gif I tell him that it's crap, because although he is at work, he is still getting a break from the kids - I don't get that. When Amelia seems like she doesn't know what she wants and just sits there and cries, I just tell her "when you work out what you would like, you come and tell Mummy" and then I walk away. She follows soon after and tells me what she is after.

Us - Getting my hair done today biggrin.gif I forgot how quick the regrowth comes in when you are this blonde! Had a great day yesterday - finally. I think it was mainly though, because we weren't really home all day. My sister took me and the kids down to Lorne and Anglesea, in the morning. And we spent some time on the beach - it was so relaxing watching and listening to the waves come crashing in. And the kids loved running/crawling around. It was just what I needed to re-group biggrin.gif

Anyway, waves.gif to everyone

shell~
ph34r.gif The days are getting longer between my posts aren't they? I just don't seem to be able to find the time any more. When I do find the time, it's usually to vent bad news. I'm just so over it. I hope you are all keeping on top of things.

Simone - hope your uni placements go wel

Urs - Hoping that your exam results are AOK. hheart.gif

Helen - Hope your DH starts pulling his weight soon! Sus is a thrower & Tanty Tosser too!

Belle - hhugs.gif I would have made my DH walk home laugh.gif Hope your soul mends.

Hales - hope Harry stops crying!!! I remember that feeling of hopelessness so well. Sounds like you're way on top of Millie's attitude. You're doing a great job! bbighug.gif

Off to bed. Don't seem to be getting much sleep these days. I'm whacked.
Summerlover

Morning girls

Hayles - yes men are a strange breed aren't they??? but then again if they can get away with it why not?
Thanks for the advice and yes we do do that but I suppose different kids have different temperaments - there is no way we bow down to her but I'm just exhausted by it I suppose being pregnant.
How did the hair go? feeling good??

Shell always nice to hear from you and yes I feel as though I'm always complaining too so don't worry.

Its bloody hot up here yesterday and so far today - Yas ended up in shortie pj's last night as it was still showing 27 on her monitor when it was her bed time, this morning it was 25 on her monitor so it didn't drop much. I slept with the fan on most of the night too.

Get a phone call from DH at 11pm saying he's lost his phone rant.gif its a bloody new phone on a new plan - he thinks in the taxi. So he has got the taxi company looking for it, I've rung it but goes straight to msg bank so if he doesn't find it today he's going to have to go to virgin shop and get a new sim and just buy a cheap phone out of Woolies for $30 and live with it for 2 years - I tell you nothing is ever simple with my hubby - there is never a dull moment laughing2.gif

Well Yas at daycare - I popped out to post office and to get some little pink plastic chairs to go around a lovely white table for her to eat at and if her little friends come to visit they can use it to eat or do drawing or activities on etc etc and will be good for our new addition too in a year or so time. Yas hasn't sat in her hightchair since we moved up here - she has just sat at our table which she can still do for dinner time with us but for breaky and lunch she can sit at her little table now.

look after yourselves girls
Helen x
sun_kissed
Hi guys,
Survived (and totally enjoyed) school excursion to Australia zoo, as it was my day off I even took Eli. He was so well behaved and had the best day. He wasn't even scared of the petting zoo he fed the big sheep and cows, fed the kangaroo and even an elephant. We had a great day! Eli loved the 'efalants and the dodiles' (crocodiles).

Dad: Is starting to feel better after this round of radiation. As his diagnosis is terminal its hard to look too far ahead but at the moment we are just happy the pain is lessening.

Hel: laugh.gif at Yaz getting her traits from you yelling at the dogs. I was trying to get a line of 25 excited 6 year olds to be quiet so after doing my teacher thing the line was quiet and what do I hear from behind my knee "stop it, stop it" and eli pointing at the kids. roll2.gif "stop it is exactly what we say to our dogs".

Shell: gets some rest honey! Summer will be here soon and hopefully the sickness bout will be over for your family xoxo

Hayls: I am getting my hair done tomorrow so excited. My roots get so dark when pregnant and grow so quick. Hope you feel better now xox
Summerlover

Hello girls

Just thought I'd pop in while Yas is in the bath singing away wub.gif - she's been so good while DH has been away this trip but she's been occupied every day since he's been away which makes a difference. Tomorrow is the tester as we have nothing planned and things could change with a day at home dev (6).gif - might just pop to shops with her in the morning just to get out for a bit and break it up.

So only 2 weeks until we move - whoooohooo, be glad when thats over and I'll be glad when this little girl is out too, I'm over being Miss Waddle and so craving to have my body back to myself.

J - glad you enjoyed Aussie Zoo, thats funny how they pick up what you say and especially when you know its a common comment to your dogs. Oh well could be worse.

Speaking of summer - man its been so hot up here, its meant to be the coolest month????? For the past 2 night Yas has been in her shortie pj's and I've had the fan on and tonight the low is 24 so not much of a drop from the day time 29 degrees - oh boy it feels like its going to be a hot summer up here but thank god I won't be pregnant - I'd be swollen like a balloon if I was.

Apart from that all well - just tired constantly, think I've had a good sleep or get a bit of sleep during the day and wake up feeling brill and then an hour later I'm tired again rolleyes.gif no rest for the wicked!!!

How is everyone else getting on???
TrickyRicky

Same as Shell its a long time between post sad.gif

Belle - I'll PM you my number just incase and I'll ring you when I arrive at the hotel we should be there by about 12-12.30, I'll let my BF know that I have an important person to meet lol

Helen - You know about my difficult DH, they never change unless they really want to, Casey highly depends on me and will always come to me when he is hurt, sick etc they never call for the dad, unfortuneatley its natural I suppose because we are always there for them rolleyes.gif I had my FIL make a timber table and chairs for Ricky when he was 2 and the boys still play on it now. Hows your Avon going?

Hayls - Whats happening with this boy!!! other than that hows the DH front? God I would love to but we dont have a car down there, maybe another time. I hope Harrison has a lovely 1st bday ddance.gif

J - How cute of Eli original.gif I love how they come out with the cutest comments, how good that school let you bring him. Its good to hear about your dad does Eli get to spend time with him now? Wheres your belly shots we have Helens

Shell - Did you get your Avon? I hope it was what you liked original.gif Let me know if you want me to send you any brochures biggrin.gif

US - Well I have been studying hard, working and looking after sick kids, Ricky has tonsillitis and Casey has a viral infection with ulcers on his tonsils. I have Ricky's enrolment form for school, I cant believe he will start next year! but god I am looking forward to it I tell you roll2.gif I am off to Melbourne on Friday cant wait!!

Still no results on my exam, I'm hoping that the longer I have to wait means that I might pass rolleyes.gif wishful thinking.

Ok well I'm off to watch Packed to the Rafters and try and put Casey to bed, he has not been going to bedtill about 9.30pm and ends up in our bed at about 4.30am every morning, I dont even know he is there thats how little he is.

Night girls
sun_kissed
Hi gals,

Urs: It was my day off work so I could go as a helper and take Eli with me because they werent paying me. It was so much fun! Yep we get to see my Dad a bit now and they like to play cars and skateboards together. wub.gif
I know I really need to get on to the bump photos have been a bit lazy this time. I promise I will get my but into gear LOL.

Hel: I know how you feel. HAve a great sleep then all of a sudden you are tired again.

Us: Well I am feeling pretty good. Scan is in 2 weeks and I am counting down.....We put up Eli's old cot on the weekend and he said "thats my bed!" and I said "no you have a big boy bed that is for the baby". And he has been attached to me ever since. I am always getting "pick me up pick me up".

Hi to everyone else xoxoxooxoxoxo
TrickyRicky
Thats great J, I'm glad you get to see your dad and that they have fun together original.gif

Belle - I hope we can meet up on Friday, this will be the first time I've met anyone from EB and especially from our little group.

Ok well I have ironing and packing to do.

Luv You all
sun_kissed

Here you go very blury 20week bump. With blury toddler attached LOL

Okay Hel where is yours wink.gif xo
Summerlover

Morning girls

J - nice bump tthumbs.gif love the shorts too, not long now until you find out what you are having. I know you would love to have a girl but if you are having another boy does that mean one day you will try again for a girl???
ps. you got mine on facebook - would you believe that top you commented on being jealous about wearing a singlet top got too hot for me the other day and I had to put a cooler top on!!! I think its because I'm so pregnant too.

Urs - the first time you've met someone from EB - wow! I've met so many, my husband thinks I'm going be murdered or something one day????? he says one day it will be someone just pretending to lure me in!! I suppose it does happen but he does have a vivid imagination too laughing2.gif . Avon going well and stable - I have a good little customer base around the area, I making a bit of money and getting stuff cheap or for free constantly which is my aim. Over the next 2mths I will be just keeping it to my regular orderers because I have so much on my plate.
hope you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and caught up with Belle!!

Got to go missy is hungry

TrickyRicky
hey Girls,

Helen - yes 1st time, I have been a member since 2003 when it was more about diary entries than forums, I only joined an actual group when I had Casey as I was a little sceptical about the people that are on here. Belle was lovely and she even stuck around and had dinner with about 5 drunken & disordly women blink.gif

J - I love your bump!!!!

belle - Thanks so much for joining my BF and I, it was so good to meet up with you, I hope you got home safe n sound and that DH was not too mad huh.gif melbourne is lovely and i will definitley be bringing the boys for a holiday, I'm thinking next year!

Well back to work this week but not feeling too crash hot, i have a very sore throat and cant yell at the boys sad.gif I have a baby shower to organise for this saturday one of BF's is having twin girls and I am helping set up, prepare food etc so another busy weekend I also have an exam to study for, I'm giving myself more time so that I am well prepared and dont fail like last time.

Speak to you soon.
Urs
sun_kissed
Hel: Thanks honey. Can you believe I nearly have to get a new pair of boardies for swimming (growing out of them huh.gif )! I love those shorts have been wearing them for about a year!
Can't believe that singlet was too hot! You are scaring me of how I will feel in summer, oh dear!

Urs: Glad you had an awesome time in Melbourne happy.gif . Hope you get better soon xoxox

AFM: Bump seems to be having a growth spurt and well the hormones are matching. Totally lost the plot at DH this afternoon and had to take myself to the room and have a cry. Ahhhhh Hormones! ohmy.gif
MrsHayley
Hi girls waves.gif

Sorry I have been so quiet....have been so so busy.

Just wanted to pop in and say Hi, and to say that I have been reading. We had Harrison's 1st birthday yesterday and his party over the weekend, so I am exhausted.

I will come in tomorrow and do a real post

Love you all xx
sun_kissed
Happy Birthday Harrison! Hope you had a wonderful party! biggrin.gif Hayls hope you have recovered.

I have totally overdone it today and hurt myself. Silly girl! Need to remember I am pregnant.
Summerlover

Hello all

We are all starting to disappear from here - so sad sad.gif sad.gif

2 more sleeps until we get the keys for our new place and 3 more sleeps until we actually move. Whooohooo then I can finally get on with sorting out things for the arrival of our little girl. Not long to go now, I am 5weeks away from my due date early next week.

J - yes I can believe it about the boardies, especially the 2nd pregnancy I noticed a big difference but also noticed that I slowed down again and everyone thinks I'm small again!! but with Yas I really popped out in the last month so expecting to do so again. I haven't been too emotional in this pregnancy - I suppose I just haven't had time - I've been grumpy at times though laugh.gif
Mustn't be too long before we find out the sex of bub??????

Hayles - wondered where you had got to. Happy Birthday to Harrison, wow the big 1 huh?? that was the turning point for me when Yas turned one. Her first year was such a blur and things settled down after her 1st birthday and I was able to get more rest so with 2 I hope the same happens for you if its not happening already. How are you and your DH going?? I noticed a comment once not long ago on facebook??

Urs - great you enjoyed Melbourne. How wonderful for you to get away from the kids, did your DH cope or did your parents help out?? Great you got to meet Belle too - its so nice putting faces to names especially when you've known someone for so long isn't it. Have you had your results back yet.

Shell / Belle - how are you guys doing??

Well I'll come on and have some reads before we get cut off but we get cut off on Monday so if you don't hear from me before then - I will be back on to say hi once we have internet access again in the new place. Usually off line for a week with Iprimus - through all my experiencing of moving 100 times laugh.gif

Take care
Helen
Summerlover

Can't sleep so just wanted to let you all know that I'll be off line for a week probably. The phone and internet are going off sometime tomorrow so won't get a chance to come in again.

Well girls we are rehousing our Pug Bonnie - I have been in tears because the decision has been made, its not fair on her or us any more and she needs more than we can give. Someone in my DIG gave me an email address of a Pug Rescue Group and I emailed them and they asked what was happening and she came back telling me what I knew but as it came from an expert as far as raising Pugs go it hit home that she was correct and she told me Bonnie should be rehoused ASAP as she has seperation anxiety and is jealous of my child and will only become more intense with the arrival of bubs. She said she has only seen it happen with 2 male pugs before so its not that common in Pugs, however, Bonnie is stressed out, I am stressed out so its not good health all round. Problem is this lady is in Brissy and Bonnie will be transported by a pet carrier in a week down to her - she will spend some time rehabilitating her and getting to know her so that she can be reshoused with the right people - someone with no kids and home all day that will give her the sole love and attention she needs and used to get from us before we had Yasmin. Its been very stressful to make the decision but its taken us a long time to make it and I feel comfortable that she is going to someone who knows Pugs as they are very different doggies to other breeds and have very special needs.

So anyway wish us luck - looking forward to unpack everything and make it our home for at least the next 12mths and perhaps beyond (will be nice for a change!) and get everything ready for bubs - I am now 35weeks, can't believe it - its just gone so fast.

Look after yourselves
Helen
sun_kissed
2 Sleeps til the big scan date ladies! biggrin.gif
shell~
ph34r.gif Good luck with your scan Helen! Hope it all goes well.

J - sorry to read about your pug. Hope you're doing ok. Not long now for you hey?!

Urs - Yes, got the mascara. Sorry, thought I had said something on FB. Must be losing my mind.

Hales - great news on the weight loss. I'll be following you on FB. Go girl!

Belle - hope all is going well at home.

Simone - hope your placement is going well. Thanks for saving my sanity a thousand million times in the last few months. You've been a God send. I'll miss you when you leave xo

Miss you all and think of you often. Don't have much to say these days sorry. It's the same old thing. Kids are always sick and off to a specialist of one kind or another. I'm not far behind these days. Constantly running from one dr, specialist or hospital appt to the another. Add to that working, trying keep up with work, FB friends, general household cleaning, washing, ironing etc. Not enough hours in the day. Hoping for some sunshine and happiness soon. This is one crazy life I'm in.
sun_kissed
babygirl.gif Baby girl for me today so happy ppinkstork.gif
MrsHayley
J - I am so thrilled for you. MASSIVE MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS wub.gif

Me
- Have been having a really bad run with depression, and my so called husband. I am back at not really knowing where to go, or where we are going. Which of course, is feeding right into my depression. I started seeing someone again a couple of weeks ago, for the depression - and DH and I definitely need to go back to the marriage counsellor, because if we keep going the way we are - we are just going to tear this marriage apart.

Anyway, sorry I haven't been around. I feel really sh*tty for not coming in, but I just never know if I should vent it all out to you guys or not sad.gif

Love you all wub.gif
TrickyRicky
J - Congratulations!!! I'm so jealous rolleyes.gif

Hayls - Dont ever think that you cant come in here and vent to us, I think I can speak for all of us, we want to know how you are feeling!, we want to make sure that you are ok, and most of all we want to help and support you! bbighug.gif So what if we are all online friends, we are all here for you! You need to do whats right for you hayles, sometimes 2 happy separated parents is better than 2 unhappy parents in a volitile household, I feel that at the end the day its what makes you happy, maybe you guys need some days apart from each other to gather your thoughts. Chin up babe and you have my number so call me anytime! xx

Helen - Well I hope you have settled in nicely to your new home, bummer about your pug, my BF is buying one for her little boy, should she reconsider? do they require 24hr attention??

Shell - Dont worry about! we are all busy and get in when we can.

US - Well Casey is just a looney biggrin.gif into everything, chatting like crazy, off riding on his bike, right now I'm watching him sit in the garden picking the leaves and flowers and throwing them and laughing he is having a ball all by himself. I'm studying for an exam tomorrow and Dh is possibly going to QLD for the drags this weekend so it will be just the boys and I.

Ok well I'm off to try and put casey to bed so I can get stuck into my revision.

speak to you soon
Ursxx
Summerlover

Whoooohoooo back on line tthumbs.gif - I'm exhausted.

J - whoooooooohoooooo to baby girl ppinkstork.gif ppinkstork.gif ppinkstork.gif

I will come back later for some personals girls - Urs re the pug, yes but not all will be like Bonnie but definately a lot of stuff for your friend to consider first with a pug - they are a very different breed to all other dogs

Will come back when I get a chance
Summerlover

Can't sleep yyawn.gif

Hayles bbighug.gif whats going on? why do you feel you can't come to us as Urs said? Goodness spill your guts if it makes you better - we have all shared some very personal stories in here and if it makes you feel better then don't feel you can't but if you don't feel comfortable then we understand too. bbighug.gif I am hoping things have got better already. Counselling is a wonderfull thing and I still think should be made compulsory in marriage and that a certain amount of counselling be government supported so everyone can talk to someone as we all have issues in some way or another even if they are small or big - small things can build and lead to big problems. Thankyou for you comment on Facebook!! I am sure I will cope but I just know how bad I am when I'm tired and I am not looking forward to the arguments with DH purely due to tiredness!!! At least this time I have some idea what I'm in for and am not expecting to have much of a 'quiet' life for the first 12mths then I'm so hoping and praying she is as good a sleeper as Yas and hubby and I can get some sanity back in the evenings together!!!

J - so happy for you, just what you wanted. You've had such a rough trott with your dad of late and you deserve some happeniness, just being pregnant and having a healthy baby is special enough but then to have a little girl which you wished for is just priceless. Congratulations to you all.

Shell - when is it going to end for you hun?? You sound so sad and yet you are such a happy person when I speak to you - I know you put on a good front but yes you do sound like you are in one crazy life and I don't know how you hold down a job with it all. You must be worried out of your mind with your kids etc and its not fair you've been hit with a double whammy. What happened with your bestie?? did you still end up not talking or have you guys made it up? Look after yourself bbighug.gif

Urs - about a pug. Pugs are fantastic dogs with kids and honestly when we got her we thought once we had kids she would be the least of our problems. They are so docile and love little kids but your friend needs to definately go into things well with pug associations etc and make sure that a pug will fit in to their particular lifestyle. They are one on one doggies, they don't like being apart and will sit at someone's feet constantly & generally follow you everywhere. They are inside dogs and if left outside and pushed out away from the family it can cause a lot of anxiety with them. They are very much food orientated so will look for food at any opportunity. They are one hairy dog in summer and for such a little thing - shed's hair everywhere and its a constant battle to clean it (that is the one thing I hate the most and would never get another pug because of it). Unfortunately our little Pug had only us for 8yrs and when Yas came along she was pushed away a bit which is normal but she developed very bad anxiety and jealousy issues - she didn't get the attention anymore like she used to and I just get more annoyed at her being at my feet constantly because I just don't have the time to give her the full attention anymore. I am tripping over her all the time. So just in comparison for you - our other dog is a West Highland Terrier x and he wants my attention too - he adores me and will always sit with me at any opportunity - but when I sit down. He is much more independent and will go and do his own thing, will go off wandering around the garden, chew a bone for hours on end in the garden etc etc but he gets attention by pushing his way in where as Bonnie waits to be asked and I don't have the time to remember to ask Bonnie if she wants some attention iykwim? I will sit down and even with Yas and read her a book and Clyde will jump up and sit by both of us and push in to be close, whereas Bonnie will go and sit on her own somewhere comfortably watching us but if I had the time to call Bonnie for a pat and some loving she would come in an instant but I don't anymore as I have my hands full and will have them even fuller. Big long story but just make sure you friend goes right into it. The Pug rescue place have told me they get a lot of Pugs that are only a year old because people don't want them any more. You have to be very dedicated to be a pug owner - they are human like and need that attention you would give to a child. Another thing is they need to be kept call and if a hot day can't be left alone in a hot house with no cooling. They are a wonderful pet if you are willing/have the time to give that full on attention. Good luck.

Well I've babbled enough - DH still snoring which is not unusual. I think I'm ready to hit the sack again too.

We have done well organising this house and everything seems to be in its place now and it looks good. Will get around to some pics of it on facebook but so far we are happy with our choice of place. Saw my OB this week and asked about the baby's size - he said just a normal size and he wouldn't expect her to be much above 7lbs which is what about 3kgs or due to me having her by cs. That will be a change as Yas was 8lb 4oz (3.8kgs) - she will seems so little compared with Yas.

Yasmin is doing well settling in too - she loves her new bedroom and we have her bedroom and the spare room on one side of the house with a bathroom & toilet so its like her little area. She often goes to play in her room and will catch her in the other room on the queen bed just playing and talking to herself. The cot is also in there and all the babies clothes etc and also a bassinette pram which is what bubs will be sleeping in for the first few months. So perhaps Yas feels close to what is going on by being in there. The pram will be great as I will be able to move bubs around the place and have her sleeping where ever I want her at any particular time of day plus DH's mum is coming at Christmas so if she doesn't need the cot yet it will be much easier if she is mobile.

Right bed time - goodnight

Helen
MrsHayley

Thanks for your support wub.gif TBH, I think it's more about finding the energy to come in here and write it all down. It's hard enough thinking about it, let alone write it all down. I will try much harder though wink.gif

Helen - So glad that you have settled in to your new house. I can't believe that you will be holding your new little girl soon...so exciting wub.gif Yas sounds so gorgeous. I am desperately hoping that I will get up there at some point next year, so I can meet your two little beauties. The sleep deprivation is what I think has been adding to the stress of me and DH, so I can totally relate to what you are saying.

Urs
- How did your last exam go? How cute about Casey out in the garden. Amelia loves to play outside on her own biggrin.gif I saw some of the photos from when you were down here, you guys looked like you had so much fun biggrin.gif How did you like Mary Poppins?

Shell - So sorry to read that your kids are still sick sad.gif You poor thing. I am like Helen, I don't know how you keep on top of it all - I can barely keep my head above water here!

Me
- Kids going pretty well. Harrison is still not sleeping great, but he isn't screaming for hours on end - so I guess that is something. He has started standing himself up on everything and has also worked out how to open the kitchen cupboards - so we have some more fun times ahead huh.gif Amelia is just talking more and more. She is saying "I love you Mummy" now without any prompting - which is so cute wub.gif I am still amazed that I can have a conversation with her and know what she is talking about.

Anyway....better get moving.

BBL waves.gif

love to you all xx
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.