The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: April 09 Parents # 39

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=803982

*~Bluebird~*
GOLD

First time ever in ages.

Off to bed now, been a huge day. Skye is sick with a cold now, think she may be staying home tomorrow with me and Dec while Willow goes to daycare. Oh well.

Nite
Bluebird original.gif

ETA:- Bec:- My NT scan results with Declan was 1 in 206. I was told to look at it this way, there is a 99.6% that the baby will be healthy and have nothing wrong with it. There is more chance of having a miscarriage if you decided to go on with more cvs or animo. The dr said the result I got was in a very grey area. Where its wasn't bad but just a very small change there could be something wrong with the baby. Hope everything works out well and remember to go with your heart and gut feeling. Go and have a chat in the NT forum. It help me out heaps making the decision for me what to do when I found out the risk I had with Declan.
ninjamummy
Silver! Zzzz..so tired right now!
lou-t
BRONZE

Just logging on at work, so better get toit...
rachelle2
(.Y.) for me, does that mean I get chocolate????

Really struggling with X at the moment. Think his 2yo molars are coming through he is miserable, not sleeping and so am I sad.gif

Hope everyone else is doing better!
Juni
Quick question..sorry I haven't been in for ages..

With walking.. what do your bubs feet look like? Do they move around the furniture with flat feet or on tippy toes? Do they stand up to the coffee table/chairs with flat feet or tippy toes?

Jem's is *always* on tippy toes.. his right foot can go flat occasionally.. very occasionally.. but he never seems to willingly put the left foot flat.. I've been observing this for a few months and am starting to get worried about it. He's not walking but will cruise around the furniture (but only ever on tippy toes). How much do other bubs change their footing?

Gotta run.. bub calling..
ninjamummy
Juni - M first was only on tippy toes. Then he got more confident and solid - so moved to flat feet. Did that more and more until he started walking freely on his own. Now there's no stopping him.

Us - maybe this is a stupid idea but we (well, I, actually) have bitten the bullet and put both boys in the same room to try and have a sleep. I am sick of not being able to get into (or out of) the wardrobe in our room (and therefore making do with a pile of clothes on the floor). Besides, M can't be in with us forever. I'm sure we're in for some interesting (!) times and, no doubt, some disturbed nights - but it has to be done sooner or later..... Wish us luck.

happymonkey

hello

No personals this time. But thank you all for your msg, especially tracy and amanda sharing their last one.

I have booked in for a CVS on Tuesday. talked it through with hubby and GP. I've told some close friends and one of them have offered to look after my daughter for me. I'm so grateful as we don't have family in Australia. My GP is good too, I was trying not to cry in there though but you know the throat feeling you get.

anyway, have a wonderful weekend!! I can't wait for the weekend as I went to library to borrow some chick lit to read.
NatandImmi20
Bec - Will be thinking of you on Tuesday - i hope it all goes well for you

me-mum
Bec - good luck for tuesday, hope that all goes well. Hope that you managed to find some good chick lit!

Juni - Harry walks flat foot. He will go on his tippy toes - to try and see what is on the kitchen table! It might be worth a visit or chat to GP or podiatrist to see if there is anything to fix it.

Us - Been a busy weekend here. My brothers engagement party was on yesterday evening so it ended up being a late one. Zoe has developed a temperature around lunchtime so I'm guessing at this stage that tomorrow will be a day at home. Harry has been his usual happy self.

Hope that everyone has a good week ahead
bron23
Hey girls
Bec- good luck for Tuesday. We had a fairly high risk for Imogen but had decided before hand that we wouldnt terminate anyway so didnt persue the CVS. I hope everything goes well and you get a positive result.

Nat wow seven weeks left now. Thats crazy! You had better keep us updated. Cant wait to hear your news!

Ninjamummy You will have to let me know how you get on with the boys sharing. We are tossing up bunk beds for Hannahs room and putting both girls in there but Im not sure Im convinced yet.

Juni, Hannah used to do the tippy toe walk a lot. Maybe mention it to your HCN it might be that the ligaments need to stretch a little.

Rachelle I hope those dreaded molars pop through soon. I hated them. Hannah you would never know she was teething but Imogen screamed for hours when hers came through sad.gif

Thats as ar back as I can see so Ill leave it there

I went to Rock the Ballet last night. Was fabulous, funny and very sexy wink.gif Imogen is doing beautifully. In the last couple of weeks Imogen has really come out of her shell. She is so funny and gorgeous and frustrating all wrapped up in one little bundle of deliciousness. wub.gif She had her speech and hearing assessment last week and will need another one in three months. She is behind and we have to do some excersises with her because she still hasnt figured the tongue thing out so some sounds are difficult for her to make (for those who dont remember Imogen had a tongue tie cut at 11 weeks). She'll get there.

With school holidays finishing tomorrow Hannah will start back at dancing and gymnastics so Im hoping her behaviour will improve soon. She is crying at the drop of a hat and its driving me nuts!

We had a fabulous time away. Our room had the biggest bath I have ever seen and it looked out over rolling green fields and the beautiful ocean at Yallingup. We were woken up the first morning by some lambs near our balcony. There were some pretty awful storms down there and we had really crappy reception on our phones. Brent had gone off to pick up a woodfire pizza when the storm hit. The place we were staying at was being blown all over the place, there were massive chunks of hail and Brent had been gone for an hour and a half on what should have been a 30 min drive. I have never been so bloody scared. But it was a nice break away bought wayyyy too much wine (I love Margaret River!) and read in front of an open fire and had massages it was all really lovely.

Anyway must go tend to the troops. DH was hurt really badly last night at his game and is really struggling with walking and doing anything. His knee is huge and his back has been hurt too. So now I have three babies at home wink.gif Good practice I guess!

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend and lets hope we all have a week full of sleeping children free from illness
j-lo

I haven't posted for ages, but I have been keeping up with the news. Wow so many BFPs - that's so great, congrats everyone. There must be something that happens to our brains about now that make us want that next one.

So sorry to hear of all the illness - we've had some here to, the 'man flu' hit big time over the weekend!!!

Bron - Hope Hannah improves with the extra activities starting up soon. Sounds like you had a lovely time away, apart from the storm, scary! I'm sure Immy will catch up with the talking/sounds soon, at least you're on top of it early.

Me-mum - how is Zoe, did that temp go down for her?

Beck - will be thinking of you tomorrow, hope you get good news.

Ninj - how's the room-sharing going. We only have a small house (tech 2 bedrooms and a study, but we turned the study into the nursery) so when we have more kids they will have to share for a while too. I loved sharing a room when I was little, in fact my brother, sister and I all shared for a while, I would have been 3, my sister 4.5 and my brother 18months and we never had any trouble. Good luck, hope it goes beautifully for you all.

Juni - my Jem has also been a toe walker, though seems to be getting a bit better slowly, and is starting to put her whole foot down. At gymbaroo they suggested massaging the heel of the foot with things like a bathroom loofer just so they start to recognise the sensation of touch on that part of the body, also suggested using your hands to help them put their whole foot down when standing. By the way Brad Johnson from the Western Bulldogs (AFL team) is still a toe walker/runner and it hasn't done him any harm so I wouldn't worry too much about it just yet.

Rachelle - How is X now? Did those molars come through yet. I'm not sure if Jem has those ones yet, she has two sets of molars top and bottom - so eight in all - are the second ones the two year olds?

That's all I can see, hi to everyone I've missed.

AFU - We had one of the worst nights we've evern endured last night. Jem woke every 40-60mins all night, after falling asleep on DH at 6pm. She did do a longer stretch until after 5am when I was just too exhausted to keep going into her, so let her cry it out - felt awful but I was at the end of my tether. She then slept til just before 8. I'm not sure what's going on atm, she did quite a big chuck in the car this morning - yuck - so perhaps she's sick again. She did seem quieter than normal but other than that was pretty happy, eating etc.

She has finally started walking a little bit in the last two weeks, but is still reluctant to do it much, I guess that will come with practice and confidence. I'm finding this stage quite frustrating as she knows what she wants but can't tell me so we both get annoyed. I thought she would have a few more words by now - still just Mum, Dad, Bub, nan, bath - though she does have other ways of communicating that I suppose all kids develop.

Anyway, think I deserve a nap on the couch while Jem has her sleep, I never usually do that but 2.5 hours sleep just doesn't cut it for me.

Jo
debs79
Goodluck for tomorrow Becky bbighug.gif
diddy-moo
Hi Everyone!

I havent really ever joined you ladies, although i have been reading - actually i have been reading since the due in grp! so i hope you dont mind if i join in, it will be a nice change from stalking.... he he!

I'll tell you a little about myself as i already feel like I know most of you! We have recently moved overseas (U.S) and so am feeling the loss of my fabulous mums grp and friends. I have a DS who is 15 months (of course born in april 09). He is a very, very busy boy! certainly keeps me on my toes! and is still currently breastfeed (due to the move and a recent holiday in the UK) but thats looking to end soon - for my sanity (although i think he would still be feeding at 20 if i let him! such a booby boy!!) and also because we have began thinking about number 2, like so many of you!

Thats about it - DS is also teething and its nasty! he had the front 8 teeth but is currently getting the next 8 all at once (including the 4 molars!) the right side is through and the left are just under the skin (top and bottom).... nasty nappy this morning and a running nose suggests that they are about to pop through (or erupt as the right side molars did - not there when he went to bed, but well and truly out in the morning when he got up!!)

So a big hello to everyone, congrats to all those expecting and i feel for all those that have sickies!!

Diddy!
be-e

Firstly Congrats on all the pregnancy news, how lovely. Becky hope it all goes well for you today.

Welcome Diddy.

Need to come and vent - but in the safety and comfort of my DIG buddies:

Crap week here, well couple of weeks actually. Im now at home when I should be at work feeling sorry for myself. Yesterday at mums group Linc went in for what looked like a kiss to this kid and we all went awwwww so cute and next minute the kid is screaming because Linc had almost biten his nose off (it was bleeding a bit). Poor kid I felt terrible! Today, I got a call at work from daycare to pick up Linc because he had biten 3 times and they have a policy to send kids home after 3 bites. I'd warned them in the morning that he had been biting yesterday and to keep an eye on him. So he's home in bed now and I have know idea what to do with this biting thing.

Other dramas Ive had was tripping over while walking down the street - embarrassing and painful, had a scraped knee and hand and chin. Then Sunday I was photographing a wedding (Ive never done it before nor do I know what Im doing - the bride new this) but I was completely stressed out about it. Im happy with how I did, but totally wasnt worth the stress - I didnt enjoy the day at all. The bride and grooms son fell over at the wedding while I was taking photos of them and scraped his face, which was awful and added to the stress of the day.

So nothing ground breaking or terrible really Its just been alot of crap and has worn me down. Maybe I need to do some exercise or something to get the happy hormones happening, or visit my mum.

Sorry for the me post

Bec
bron23
Bec I hope everything went OK today bbighug.gif

Welcome diddy. How exciting to be doing all this travelling! Where abouts in the U.S. are you

bbighug.gif Bec. Not your week is it? Firstly congratulations on shooting your first wedding!!!! I find its harder when you know the people because its so very easy to get caught up in the emotion of it all when you know the people. Im sure you did a fantastic job! As with the biting..... Imogen bit me a few times and she used to bite Hannah when Hannah didnt do what she wanted her to do. I had just been telling her off and removing her from whatever it was that she wanted but my mum saw her sink her teeth into my shoulder and my mum flicked her in her teeth. She hasnt bitten anyone since. I know my mum bit my brother back when he was little. Not hard but hard enough that they realise that it hurts. I hope you find something that works for you and you have a better second half of the week wink.gif

ETA I just re-read that and my mum sounds like a monster! Really shes just lovely
Mum22gorjuzgirlz
Just a quickie from my phone before reception drops out.

Diddy- welcome!! Nice to hear from you and look fwd to you becoming a regular poster begat is your sons name?

Becky- hope all went well today. hugs. Totally respectful of any position people take in this context.

Bron - your holiday sounded lurvely!! Hope your girls settle back into the term routine.

Tippy toe walking- my neice also dud/does this. She is 5 1/2 now and needs orthotics. It's prob good to assess early what's causing it and it anything should be done to encourage them to flatten their foot.

Jo- oh what a horrible night you must be exhausted. Hope the next few go better so you can all xatch up.

Hi to everyone else think I've already lost service so hope I don't lose my post!!

Afu- Tara had what seemed like croup sat night. Dh called the nurse on call twice. I wa out. Since she hasn't shown croupy symptoms but has been clogged up. Had a good night Sunday then yucky last night. She cried and cried and neither dh or I could console her. Tried panadol, teething relief, water all sorts of things woth the wiggles at 2am with a bottle eventually working to stop the crying. Poor baby not sure if it's a cold, teeth or something else entirely bothering her. Dh said she really wanted me this morning. Wa walking around calling "mum mum mum". Hope I get to see her tonight when I get home from work.

Leanne
Mum22gorjuzgirlz
hugs Bec for what sounds like a really crappy week. Can't provide any tips in the biting I'm afraid. Keep us updated on how I goes.

Choccy gets those good hormones circulating too!!! wink.gif
me-mum
Diddy - Welcome! Looking forward to getting to know you

Bec - You poor thing. Biting is generally a stage that they grow out of. There was one girl at my mums group who's DD was a biter - it took a bit of time but she is fine now. Congratulations on shooting a wedding, it this something that you would like to persue more of?

Leanne - Hope that Tara is OK, croup can be nasty. How is the full time going?

Bron - your weekend away sounds fantastic -except for the storm. Hope that you are feeling refreshed.

Jo - Hope that you managed to get more than 2.5 hours sleep last night, it certainly sounds like the night from hell.

Us - Zoe's temp finally went by monday lunchtime so she was able to go to kinder today. Harry in the last little while has finally got himself into a better routine in terms of sleeps. He had normally been waking up anytime from 5.45am for the day which is just too early for me. I am now giving him a half cup of milk and his dummy when he does his early wake and after about 2 more lay downs, he is some days sleeping till 7.30!! It doesn't help that his sister is generally up from 6 but at least I can put her in front of the TV and then I can go back for a bit more sleep. Harry is not also more consistantly having a 2-2.5 hour nap in the middle of the day and loves to be put down for the night by 6. I love having him in a tight routine, it makes everything else more manageable.

It's getting late so I should really hit the pillow - goodnight!
ninjamummy
Hi All

Am feeling so sooky today. Feeling completely exhausted. Lots going on - at home and work. Can't remember if I said this or not - but they're doing a restructure at work and my unit is being abolished - so I'm all up in the air and anxiously waiting to hear any news. I suppose I should be glad that I will still have a job - but I have no idea what it will be, or where it will be. I just don't have the capacity to be as spontaneous as I used to (before we had the boys). With the day care drop-off and pick-up arrangements, etc. I also HATE to sit back and have to wait for it all to happen. It feels like I'll be told stuff on a need-to-know basis - but, for goodness sake.... it's my job, my livelihood.... surely that satisfies the need-to-know basis??!

I think A has picked up on my stress. He was completely distraught when I dropped him off at Day Care this morning. Flung himself on the gate, arms over (and through it, calling "Mummy...... Mummy...." - tears streaming down his face. I nearly lost it - was all I could do to just give him another kiss and cuddle, tell him I loved him and that I would be back this afternoon, after he'd had a lovely day with all his little friends... singing songs and drawing, etc. I would have much rathered to just sit in a corner with him and cuddle all day (instead of coming in to this place). Then M cried as well when I dropped him off. Not a great day, you might say.

Both boys have now been in the same room since Friday - and it's going OK so far. There are moments when one of them wakes the other (actually.... now I think about it.... that's been every night!) but they mostly get back to sleep reasonably quickly.

Sorry for the vent.

Diddy - welcome! I'm glad you decided to 'out' yourself.

Becky - I hope you're resting up, eating chocolate and watching chick flicks instead of anxiously waiting by the phone. Easier said than done, I know! Was thinking of you yesterday.

Leanne - poor Tara. Croup is crap! hugs

Bec - it can be so distressing when they bite. A used to - and it seemed it was for attention (he seemed to do it more often if we were on the phone, or on the computer). I also think it's a stage that they can go through. The Pediatrician said that we should look him in the eye, say 'Don't bite' and then put him on the other side of the room - i.e., let him realise that biting will have the opposite effect (instead of him getting attention). Not sure if that worked or if it just coincided with the end of the stage.

Sorry - can't remember anything else (and this post is already too long).
happymonkey
Hello
How are you all?
Well, I had the procedure on Tuesday and then received the preliminary results on Wednesday. Good news from the doctor on the phone. I was so relieved. The procedure itself was an emotional experience for me. I didn't find it painful. Luckily husband was there with me holding my hand. A friend took care of Miss P for me and she was very good girl. So that's my news.

me-mum - How's Zoe doing?
Leanne - I hope its not croup. Philippa had what seem like croup but it was just a cough a few weeks agp. Still, she was pretty unsettled. I hope she is well now!

bec - sorry to hear Linc has been biting again! Have you chat to early childhood nurses? I haven't experience this but I would imagine its normal at this age because they are learning. I guess it's important to just say or show him that this behaviour is unacceptable by ignoring him or put him somewhere without toys etc. I'm not sure. sounds like the other girls have offer their advice already. Good luck! meanwhile, have some chocolate and cuppa always solve the problem.

diddy - welcome to the group! never too late to join.

Jo - I'm also having crapy sleeps if that makes you feel better! P wakes up twice a night and want to come to bed with me. I have made the mistake of bringing her to the spare room when she cries. I hope we both get some decent sleeps soon.....it's tiring isnt it!!! I think its the teeth that annoys mine. What do you reckon?

Bron - sounds like imogen is doing well and a sweet girl!

deb - How's it going? I hope the illness stay away for you guys!!!

okay, I have to get food shopping now. chat soon ladies

debs79

Becky Good news on the results. It must be a such a relief. Glad that hubby was there with you.

ninja Hope work settles down for you soon and you find out what is going on. It is heartbreaking when they cry at drop off, how were they when you picked them up? Did they settle down not long after you left? Great news on the room sharing. Sounds like it seems to be working.

me-mum Sounds like Harry is in a great sleep routine now. How is Zoe feeling? Did the temps stay away?

leanne Poor Tara, how is she feeling now? Lizzies cough has lasted for 3 months and isnt croup. She even had chest x-ray. Hope you got to see her when you got home.

Bec Sorry no advice from me on biting, havent come across this yet. Well once and I gave her a little smack on the hand and said no. Never happened again. Hope you find out what is causing it. Well done on your first wedding shoot. Do you plan on doing more?

Diddymoo Welcome. Hope the teeth are causing too many problems for you.

j-lo Jem sounds like Lizzie in development wise. Still not walking as such (unless holding our hand for support), would prefer to crawl everywhere. And only a few words like yours. It is frustrating when I know she wants something and just unable to quite work it out, though she is good at communicating with actions. Hopefully you have been getting better sleep.

waves.gif to everyone that I have missed.

AFU Lizzie lasted her 3 days at CC!! So hopefully that is enough of the sicknesses for a while. She still has this cough and in a way I guess I have just gotten used to it. I keep monitoring it and if it gets worse back to the Dr. She has also been antibiotic free for 7 days now (after being on/off them for over a month).
I also had a nice surprise last night. My work just celebrated 10 years (start of this month) and we had a small get together at the local pub. I was also given a present as I just hit 10 years working there (17th). I had no idea that they had organised it. I got a pandora bracelet with 4 charms on it. It felt really nice to be recognised.
Not much else happening around here atm.

Deb
RB27
Hi Ladies

Deb - Well done on 10 years in one job. I think thats pretty rare these days. Its great they recognised your loyalty and showed their appreciation.

Becky - So happy you received positive results. What a scary time for you. I hope the rest of your pregnancy is boring and uneventful.

Ninja - I hope your work situation is sorted out soon. It must be frustrating for you. My heart breaks when Darcy cries at drop off. He rarely does it anymore but he was sick on Tuesday (bad hotdogs) and when i went to drop him off on Wednesday he was crying he was still sick and didn't want me to go. I had a few tears in the car after I left him.

Jess - Hi! How are you feeling? Any morning sickness? Tired?

Nat - Time is flying. Not long to go now. How are you feeling? Is Immi a good sleeper? Are you getting plenty of rest?

Leanne - How has your week been? Yay for the weekend! It must be really really tough getting home when Tara is already in bed. Weekends become so precious when you are working.

Diddymoo - Hi and welcome.

AFU - We are all well at the moment. We've had a few colds and Darcy had some bad hotdogs on Tuesday but we're all good now. We spent last weekend in the city which was nice. We went to the museum on Saturday and I did the 5k run/Walk in Run Melbourne on Sunday which was great. I love the atmosphere of the big Fun Run.

School is going well. It is hard work, I'm doing lesson planning most nights when the kids are in bed. I am able to leave by 4pm most days so I prefer to leave then and see the kids and plan later. I am enjoying it though and I think I will look for a permanent part time job when this term is finished. I like not having too many responsibilities as a casual teacher but I don't like not knowing when and where I will be working so a part time job would be ideal.

This weekend we have a 1st birthday party on Saturday and a 4th birthday party on Sunday. Then dinner with Ronny and family on Sunday night so busy busy. Monday is my day off and then back to school on Tuesday. Weekends go too fast!

I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Rachel
be-e

Thanks for all the biting advice, there was only 1 biting incident at childcare on Thursday, however I was still called to pick Linc up early because he had a temp. Turned out he had a chest infection which I think had been causing the grumpiness lately, so he started AB's last night and is was so much happier today.

Also thanks for the congrats on the wedding photos, I had considered doing more but after Sunday I decided its not for me. I just dont think I have the personality for it. I stress too much that Im annoying people or in the way or being too pushy not getting the shots etc. So Im not giving up my day job cool.gif

Rach - hopefully we will see you Sunday

Deb - Good to hear Lizzie is picking up, how nice of your work to recognise your contribution.

Becky - So glad to hear you got good news

Ninja - Is there someone you trust that you can speak to about your feelings, they may be able to relieve some of the stress.

Jess - I'd love for Linc to be in more of a routine, but since the holiday with the sicknesses etc. he's been so up in the air. Hopefully we will be getting somewhere now.

Bec
ninjamummy
Lou - I hope you had a great birthday yesterday! I posted in FB but didn't get in here... sorry!

Becky - so relieved you got a good result from the test last week

Us - my BIL found out on Friday he has inoperable cancer. He had a major operation (for cancer) at the start of the year - and it seems that it's back (but in a different place). I haven't asked about it - I mean, what do you say in that situation?? I really have no idea. We'll go around and visit this afternoon - I think the boys are a good distraction, if nothing else.

waves.gif to all - I'll be back later for a proper post
lou-t

Amanda - I'm really sorry to hear about your BIL. What awful news. bbighug.gif I hope all goes as well as possible for him... How are you going with work/boys/etc? I hope you're feeling a little better. Good news that the boys are settling into their new bedroom arrangements.

Diddymoo - Welcome!!

Sorry, for lack of personals..

AFU - We had callum's first hair cut the other day (finally!!). He looks so grown up! I finally got both boys back at childcare after a terrible three weeks of them being sick. I was so grateful to have my MIL here for most of it.

I had my birthday yesterday. It was pretty uneventful, but my DH bought me a nice pamper gift certificate.. So now I have to find time to get my nails, face, and a massage done!! Yippee!!

I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend!
me-mum
Lou-t - Happy Belated Birthday!! Hope that you had a fantastic day. A pamper certificate sounds fantastic - now just book it in!

ninjamummy - I'm sorry to hear about your BIL. I have only done a little bit of oncology but from what I have heard, just being there is the most important thing. He may need a bit of time to grieve and be allowed to do this. Some people just want to keep going on as though nothing has happened and that is OK too, just let him know that you are there. Have you heard anything more about work yet?

Bec - hope that Linc's AB's have kicked in. Hopefully the biting will be short lived and as long as CC staff are well aware, they can hopefully be proactive in stopping it before it happens.

Rachel - sounds like the job is going well, hope that you are successful in finding perm part time. Hope that your day off is going well.

Debs - Congrats on 10 years - it's a big achievement and so nice to be recognised. Hope that you manage 3 days of CC this week too!

Happymonkey - Glad to hear that all went well with tests, it must be such a relief.

Us - We went away over the weekend to a resort in Inverloch (about 2hr drive from Melbourne). It wasn't super relaxing as we took the kids but it was a nice change of scenery. There was an indoor pool and a massive jumping pillow, both which were well used by us.

I'm starting to be more tired in pregnancy but not so bad that I can't make it out of bed. Morning sickness comes and goes, I didn't suffer from it in my first 2 but it has had it's days this time around. I have a scan on wednesday to check dates, I am hanging till then as I need to see a heartbeat and then I'll feel so much better.

My boss is going on 6 months of leave starting in mid august and I have been offered the opportunity to job share her position which I have decided to take up. It is a huge amount of responsibility and my pay will drop slightly (hourly rate goes up but I will loose penalties as I won't have to work weekends or night duty) but I think that the lifestyle benefits outweigh that. I had to tell my boss about the pregnancy as I didn't want to get the job under false pretences (particularly as I may have to finish before she gets back) and she took it so well - if anything, she was even more encouraging for me to do it. I have to go for a few meetings in the next few days to nut it all out, I'm excited but slightly terrified.

Hope that everyone had a great weekend.
rachelle2

I had my weekend away in Melbourne on the weekend. It was so nice and got in some much needed rest and rejuvenation original.gif and Mary Poppins was brilliant!

Xavier is still battling a cold at the moment, cough that just won't go away. Looks like the bottom 2 yo molars are coming through (can feel them ready to erupt) so hoping they come through now for him!!

me-mum:- Exciting news about your new position!! All the best for your scan on wednesday hope you see one healthy little bean in there!!

lou-t:- Happy Birthday for Saturday! Hope you had a wonderful day. I had to LOL at you saying you had FINALLY got Callum's haircut. I also haven't cut Xavier's hair and people keep commenting on how long it is. I don't care it is curly and cute and I want him to look like a baby as long as possible Tounge1.gif

ninjamummy:- What terrible news about your BIL sad.gif sometimes life is so unfair. I hope that he gets lots of quality time with his loved ones. Have you heard from your work what is going on yet. Sounds as though life is really stressful for you and your family at the moment. I hope things get better for you soon.

be-e:- Have you got Pinky's book toddler tactics?? I have found it a really good read and there is some advice re: biting. The general gist of it is though that biting at this age is unintentional and that you can only monitor and prevent the situation. I am sure being unwell would have definitely caused some of the biting. Hope he settles for you soon and that the AB's have him back to himself in no time.

RB27:- Sounds like you have had a wonderful couple of weeks. Glad to hear that you work/life balance is working out for you. Good luck with finding a p/t job.

debs79:- How nice to get some recognition from your work for your hard work and loyalty. Hope Lizzie continues ok at childcare and remains well for a little while for you.

happymonkey:- Glad that all went well with your procedure and results. Hope you can take a deep breath, relax and enjoy the rest of your pregnancy now.

Hi to all those I missed. Hope all the sick, grumpy, non-sleeping babies are starting to settle down.
diddy-moo

Thanks for the welcomes!!

Just a quick one from me as our shipment arrived yeterday and I am currently unpacking - so it's a bomb site!!

Debs79 - 10 years wow!! The longest I've lasted is 3 years!! Of course I do have a husband that has moved for work twice....

rachelle2 - Melb.... ahhh would be awesome - i sooooo miss melb (although not the cold weather at the moment apparently!)

me-mum - good luck for tomorrow (or is that your today now??)

ninjamum - how awful... hope that you get to spend some precious time with your family. I feel for you!

be-e - sorry no help either (although i have pinkys other books and they're great) DS bites every now and then and its totally related to teeth.....

Hi to everyone else!

We are busy unpacking here.... as well as shopping for all the furniture that we left in storage in Melb... fun but hard work with a 16mth old! We are in Chicago and the weather is hot hot hot! great though and there is plenty of childrens activities to keep us entertained! Just in the process of trying to find a babysitter - its a new concept for us as we always had family or friends in Melb so i am very nervous about it - but it has to be done otherwise DH and i will get no chance to go out together!
Have a great week!
me-mum

it has been quiet in here, hope that everyone is doing OK.

Rachelle - Sounds like you had a great time in Melbourne. I'll have to go and See Mary Poppins, I loved the movie growing up so I'm sure that the show will be heaps better.

Diddy - Happy unpacking! It's a pain to do but will be gear once everything is in it's place. Good luck with finding a babysitter, have you met any friends with kids yet that you could do exchange babysitting with?

Us - All of us have come down with colds after the weekend. The kids don't seem to be suffering too bad, DH is the one complaining the most. I had a dating scan today and had a little surprise, instead of being 6w5d, I am already 9w6d!! It seems that instead of a period, I had a big implantation bleed. Due date has changed from 18th march to 24th feb. The best bit is now that I only have to wait 3 weeks till my next scan and I can let the cat out of the bag. Bub had a great heartbeat and was wiggling its arms and legs - freaked me out as I was only expecting to see a blob with hopefully a heartbeat.
bron23
Sorry girls havent been around just feeling a bit down.

Rachelle Im glad you had a fabulous trip away. I htink as mummies we so often put everyone ahead of us that it isnt until we are actually away that we realise how much we needed that break. I wish Mary Poppins (or anything really) would come to Perth but alas its not to be.

Diddy how exciting to be in Chicago. To think in a few months you will be snowed in is amazing. You will have to post lots of lovely cold pictures when we hit summer and its stinking hot here again.

me-mum wow that came along quickly. Good luck for your scans. Scans always made me cry because they are just so amazing.

Happy belated birthday Lou. Sounds like your hubby got you a wonderful pressie enjoy every moment of it!

Amanda I am so sorry to hear about your BIL. Cancer just sux. I hope that your BIL isnt in too much pain and is able to enjoy the time he has.

Rach my parents are both teachers and they used to do the same thing. Come home as soon as possible then as soon as dinner was over they would spend hours marking, planning and preparing. Its def not an easy life.

Becky so glad to hear the results were all positive. It must be such a weight off your shoulders. And the big question......did you find out bubba sex?!?!?!?!?!

Hello to everyone I missed. Its just been a hard time lately. Ive found out baby number 3 is not going to be possible. I wasnt given an anti-d injection after the last m/c and my body has developed antibodies that attack any pregnancy. So based on that DH will be getting the snip as two miscarriages is enough for me. I hate that the decision has been taken away from us. I hate that my body gets to decide that 2 is it for us. I love the children I have and it would be different if we had chosen to stop at two. Im just a little bit heartbroken at the moment.

Imogen has been a freaking nightmare at night time too so that is not making things easy. I have ordered a baltic amber necklace which is supposed to help teething babies. I have a friend from Hannahs DIG that swears by them. Im st the stage where I will try anything. The last three ngihts she has been up between 6-8 times in a 6 hour period. Im feeling completely shattered. To top it all off I think Hannah may be getting conjunctivitis. She was fine when she went to daycare today and then when we had been home maybe an hour she started complaining her eyes were hurting and now there is gunk in her eyes. We cleaned them but within 30 mins there was more. She has never had it so Im not sure but Im guessing thats what it is.

Imogen also ran away at gymnastics whilst I was signing Hannahs enrolment forms. She had been trying to run away out the front door so we closed it and she wandered back into the gym. But when I finished and went to grab her she was no where to be seen. Then I saw Hannah heading to the foam pit (think a big concrete pit filled with foam wedges that they gymnasts can practice their flips of the vault) and the head coach sprinting over there in her knee high boots and jumping in to get her. She easily could have suffocated in there. She had wanted go in there when the big kids were jumping in and I said she wasnt allowed so I guess this was her way of flipping me off and doing it anyway. She also joined in at dancing last week. She was so cute. The kids were all dancing in a circle and Immy went and stood in the middle and was copying the teacher. Lara (the teacher) was wetting herself watching her and said she could start teaching her now without a problem. Im happy for her to just join in her sisters class.

So yeah all fun here. Im going to go to bed because who knows how much sleep we will get sad.gif

Hope you are all doing it easier than us atm.
rachelle2
bbighug.gif Bron!! I can so relate to so much of you post sad.gif

As we are facing down the barrel of more AC to TTC number 2 (avoiding it as am not ready for the emotional turmoil), I think that if we are lucky enough to get pg again it will be our last as I can not keep going through all this crap.

I am so sorry that you have developed antibodies. I am sure you have seen some good specialists and got some good advice, so all I will say is that I hope you can come to peace with your situation sad.gif

As for the teething related issues - I SO FEEL YOUR PAIN!! Xavier is being a PITA and literally had me in tears a few times the week before I went away. Seriously has not been that bad since he was a newborn!! We have tried everything teething tablets, teething necklace (also think this helps), panadol/nurofen. One of the girls online here suggested to try the Brauer's Calm remedy - it has been a godsend!! Also helps with sleeping issues etc. I think we have gotten ourselves in a bad situation with X and sleeping though as to get some sleep we have basically been co-sleeping again - which would be fine if that is what WE wanted. Anyway Bron hope things settle for you soon and life gets some colour again xo.

me-mum:- Hope the colds are getting better! YAY for being more pregnant than you thought how exciting.

diddy-moo:- Good luck with the unpacking and settling in - I hate unpacking so much. Is your move to the US a permanent one or temporary?? Good luck also with finding a good babysitter so that you and your DH get some time out.

That's all from me. Better get going as still have to get X his breakfast and then off to gymbaroo this morning. Finally some sunshine up here at the moment so not cooped up in the house all day, which makes life easier. Has been kind of quiet in here at the moment, hope everyone is travelling ok!
debs79

Bron bbighug.gif I cant imagine how you must be feeling to have the decision taken away from you. Just remember that you have 2 beautiful girls (even if they do drive you crazy sometimes). bbighug.gif

rachelle Your trip to Melb sounds great and glad you had a good time. Hopefully X's teeth settle down soon for you. We just seem to get the bad nappy rash when Lizzie is teeting.

me-mum Great surprise on seeing your little bundle and not a blob. Hope you all recover from your colds quickly.

diddy-moo Hope you can find a babysitter soon. Can you send some sunshine this way. We have had rain this week, although the sun seems to be out today ddance.gif

lou-t Yay on Callums first haircut. Think Lizzie will be about 2 by the time she gets her first haircut. She is punishing me for saying that I cant wait to put clips and bows in her hair before she was born. Feels good to have a full week at CC again. Happy very belated Birthday

ninja bbighug.gif Sorry to hear the news. Hopefully you get to spend some precious familt time with him.

waves.gif to everyone I missed

AFU Finally things are starting to look up for us. Lizzie has now lasted 2 weeks at CC (mon-wed). Been off antibiotics for almost 3 weeks now. Although the cough is still there it doesnt seem to be getting worse, if anything it might be slightly improving. I guess the worse thing with her at the moment is that she has the reddest bum sad.gif . So looks like she is teething once again, the bottom molars this time.
DF also found out that one of the jobs he has managed has been completed early and this means that he will get a few $1000 bonus which is a nice surprise.
We have decided to have a night to ourselves and have got my brother to look after Lizzie on Saturday night. We are off to the movies to see Inception then going out to the club to have some fun and may even get a decent sleep (depending on what time we get home tongue.gif ).
Well better go. She has just woken up and I need to get to shops before heading off to work for a luncheon.

Deb
NatandImmi20
Hi everyone, how are you all?

Bec - Imogen has also been biting at day care. I think there has been about 3 or 4 times now when one of the older kids has their arms around her and not letting her go then she bites them. I guess it's her way of communicating and saying let me go. The carers and trying to make the older kids understand that if she is struggling like she wants them to let her go then they need to take their arms off her otherwise she will bite them.

Becky - so pleased for you that everything turned out well!

Ninja - sorry to hear about your BIL. That's such sad news

me-mum - yay on being further along than you thought and much closer to that wonderful 12week mark!

Bron - so sorry to hear your news. It must be so hard that the decision has been made for you. I can't imagine how you must be feeling right now. bbighug.gif

Deb - that's great that Lizzie is better now and well done DH on the bonus! Enjoy your night out!

Us - Imogen is going well - getting molars like most of the bubs and having a bad time with them. Still coughing and runny nose which she (and I) have both had on and off for a few months now. Bub is going well but discovered today that it is very likely to come early which is scaring me a bit. Went in for a standard 34wk check with midwife and she had trouble finding position of head. Had been head down since 28wks but she couldn't feel head but felt something hard up high and thought it was breech. Called the Dr in and gave me a scan and discovered head is indeed still down but so far down that it couldn't be felt. Dr then advised to rest and not overdo over next 2wks as they would prefer me to be past 36wks before i deliver. OMG freaking a little bit now feeling every little twinge and praying little bub stays put for a few more weeks. Imogen was a week overdue so i was expecting the same thing to happen again - not to be told to try and make it past 36wks. OMG does that mean they think it could come in the next couple weeks?? Must try to relax and not think about this too much. To make matters worse DH is away for the weekend fishing/shooting without mobile reception. He did say though he would call when he could if he was in an area with reception. Fingers crossed nothing happens this weekend when i can't even get in touch with him.

Has this happened to anyone else before?

Hi to everyone else and hope you are all well. Think i will try to get an early night and 'relax' for a while lol!
*~Bluebird~*
Hello,

Just quickly as its my brothers wedding today and we have to be there by 1pm. I have so much to do, just getting the kids ready is going to take me a hour. LOL. I will post a few pics next week. The girls look so grown up all dressed up and so does Declan. His hair is so thick and sandy blonde, I think he's going to have a few girls chasing him when he gets older. wink.gif

Declan is good, finally walking everywhere. tthumbs.gif We also found out he has a food allergy to something/s. His face has always had a rash on it and some days it gets really bad. Since cutting out all savoury biscuits, tomatoes and other things with the bad colourings and flavours his face is clear. oomg2.gif Its just amazing. Hoping her grows out of it.

Sorry Bron about no more babies. sad.gif That must be so heartbreaking for you. :bighugs:

Sorry no more personals I do have to go otherwise I am going to run out of time. Girls are still in bed, Dh is too but I am just about to get him out as we need some more milk.

Be Back next week.
Tracy original.gif
lou-t

I hope you're all having a great weekend..

Nat - I just wanted to write quick message to reassure you... I'm sorry to hear your news, but I'm sure everything will be fine. Both my two boys were born early. Harrison was born at 33 wks, and Callum was born at 35 wks. Both boys spent 2 weeks in hospital, which was really difficult. Anything past 30 weeks is good, anything past 36 is great! Callum had a few lung problems at birth and spent a week on ventillation in intensive care, but has flourished ever since (as I'm sure you have figured from all my posts in here!). In terms of long terms affects, we've had none with either of the boys. Having said all that, please rest and take it easy. By far the hardest part of having early bubs is that you can't take them home with you from the hospital.. So if you can reach 36 wks, then fingers crossed, you won't have to experience this..

Oh, and just so you don't get too worried, my good friend was fully engaged at 30 wks and they had her on weekly check ups, scans, the whole works. Her baby then popped back up and she was born 10 days overdue!!!!

Will pop back in soon for more personals..
j-lo

thought I should pop my head in and see what has been going on lately.

Bron - I really wanted to reply to you, I am so sorry to hear your news and for you to have that decision taken away from you. I feel as though I may be in a similar position to you. I've now had two miscarriages and possibly another one or even two that I didn't realise about - and being a negative blood group this could be a major problem. My problem is that all my miscarriages are almost exactly like a period to unless I've tested - which I've never done unless I'm quite late as I don't have a regular cycle - then I don't know it's a miscarriage. I have't yet bee tested for antibodies - did you just have a blood test - and even if I do have them I will still try for another baby as I've been told that it is possible to have a successful pregnancy, but will need close monitoring. I am probably getting ahead of myself now but I am starting to think about the possibility of only having Jemima and how I would feel about that. Anyway, as I said I'm just so sorry for you and I hope you start to feel a bit happier soon. Give your girls a great big hug!

Nat - I also had a bub that was VERY low VERY early, but she wriggled back up a bit and was born 8 days over. Try to relax and rest up and I'm sure everything will be fine. And as Lou said even if you do go early things will work themselves out.

Tracy - have fun at the wedding. So glad to hear Declan's face cleared up after cutting out a few foods. It's probably not a bad idea to cut out some of those additives and colourings anyway.

Deb - great news all around by the sounds of things. Glad to hear Lizzie is finally all better. Hope you had a great night out.

Rachelle - sounds like you've had a hard time of it with the teething. We've had a couple of tough days/nights recently with her last lot of canines to come through and earlier when she had 4 and then 6 coming all at once it was tough. I am sooooo glad that she now has all her teeth except for the 4 year old molars - hopefully they'll stay away for a while. Hope X feels better soon and those teeth pop through nice a quick.

Me-mum - how exciting to be three weeks further along than you thought. Just makes that magic 12 weeks mark so much closer. Hope all patients have recovered from their colds. DH had the man-flu the other week, drove me nuts!!!

diddy-moo - Welcome and how exciting to be living OS, I've always wanted to do that. My DH has worked for short periods (a few months) in both India and Israel, but it's never been for long enough for me to join him. Maybe one day. How did you do finding a babysitter??

AFU - Jem has finally started walking a bit more consistently and getting steadier on her feet. The glasses seem to have a made a real difference in a lot of ways. She had started doing the hand actions to some songs - her favourite being Incy Wincy Spider, which is super cute, but after the 50th time for the day it does wear a little thin. She is also obsessed with one particular Maisy flap book. I've bought her a second one, but apparently it just doesn't cut it.

As I said earlier, we've had some problems in the TTC department with a second miscarriage and potential problems with anitbodies, we'll just have to wait and see what happens I guess.

Other than that not much is going on. Hope you're all enjoying your weekend.

Jo
ninjamummy
Bron - bbighug.gif

Us - I've unexpectedly spent the last 4 days in hospital. Turns out I had pneumonia - no wonder I felt like crap!! I'm going to be off work all week - and I plan to do lots of sleeping and reading. It's probably a good thing (but also a bit of a tragedy) that there is no chocolate in the house!) BIL is having chemo this week - I hope it doesn't take too much out of him hands.gif

Be back later for a proper catch up.
Mum22gorjuzgirlz
Wow so much news I don't know where to start.

Bron and jo- I can't imagine the place you are in at the moment. I've never experienced a miscarriage, let alone had to face the prospect of not being able to go full term again. How devastating. It must be just awful. Big hugs to both of you and jo hope that you discover that you don't have those antibodies.

Bron- I hope other things pick up for you too. How scary having immy run off and go into the foam pit.

Me-mum- how exciting to be further along than thought!! Although I could see it being a bit unsettling too- how are you feeling about it all? Great in terms of only having to keep it secret for 3 more weeks!!

Ninj- omg can't believe you have pnemonia. Hope you reco er quickly. Sad news for your bil too; cancer is so unforgiving so random so scary. Hope he has the best in care and family support.

Teeth: Tara is still way behind here. She has her two bottom teeth and that's all. So anticipating many nghts of hell once they all start popping thru.

Afu- had a nice quiet Tara oriented weekend, which is my ideal now I am working ft. I calculated that btn Mon and fri I see Tara for a total of roughly 5hrs! sad.gif so I'm all over her on the weekends! Upset that thurs and fri night this week I have after work commitments that will mean I likely won't see her at all (awake) btn we'd night and sat morning.
Work is going well though and I'm enjoying it. I do miss Tara but keep reminding myself about all the positives of the situation.

Anyway sick of being on my phone. Going to stick my nose in a book for the rest of my train trip home.

Xox

Leanne

happymonkey
Hi guys

Cant spend too long on here...just want to say that

Bron & Jo - Sorry to hear the sad news. Bron, I can't believe the hospital has made this error. You have 2 two beautiful girls. I know its unfair to have that decision taken off you though. Jo, I hope to hear your good news in the near future!

Amanda - rest up!! You must be pretty tired. Get your hubby to get some chocolate for you (if you live next door from me, I would be quite happy to drop by and give you all 5 big bars in my pantry. original.gif )

Leanne - Good to hear you are enjoying work but yes, it sucks that you only get to see your girl in the weekend! Summer is here soon and the day will stay longer.

Nat - Rest up!!! I'm sure you will be fine.

Blue bird - It can be a food intorlence rather than an allergy. ie a reaction or fare up when consuming too much of that particular food or chemical. Its good to avoid colours etc anyway!!

okay, have to go and have some 'me' time. I feel like sh*t at the moment. just feeling tired and lack of motivation.
ronnyandcharlize
A lot has been happening

Bron- you poor thing, i'm truly sorry to hear this news, i to have had 2 misscarrriages and its rough enough so i cant imagine how it feels for you to know you cant have any more. I hope your doing ok bbighug.gif

Ninjamummy- i hope your recovering well, you must have been really sick you poor thing. Look after yourself.

Natandimmi- i cant believe how fast your preganncy seems to have flown by, i hope your baby stays baking until its due wink.gif rest up and enjoy what ever peace you can get now as you know thats all gonna change real soon wink.gif time to pack the hospital bags maybe.

Leanne- it must be so hard for you only seeing Tara for so long, your doing such a great job. I bet she is loving her extra daddy time.

Me-mum- that must have been a big shock alright finding out you were further along, but a fantastic one. You hear all the time about women having normal periods right thru pregnancy, did anything seem different with your cycle? i dream of this happening to me. We are still ttc at the moment and boy it would be lovely to have a period but be pregnant anyway;) A good way to fast track the first 12 weeks to hey! so happy for you.

Bec- i hope Lincs biting has come to a stop for you, its definitely just a development thing but still not a pleasant one. If it helps Cohen has alwasy been tempted to slap me in the face when i pick him up but when he did it once i said no then he repeated so i slapped him back ( much softer of course) i said no smacking mummy just kisses. Now every time you pick him up he thinks about slapping me ( as he raises the arms)but he knows he isnt allowed so he goes straight in for the hug and kiss. He defintely understands what im telling him i just keep repeating no smacking just kissing. He will often go to smack Charlize but he then gives a hug or a kiss, it must be hard because i reckon its just an affection thing, i know sometimes i hug him and i just want to keep squeezing so he must think smacking on the face is a sign of love, anyway i would just say no biting but kissing or hugging and a little bite back doesnt go a stray! I have been the same with Charlize since she was little if she was ever rough kicking, slapping whatever i gave it straight back to her to show its not nice and it hurts and she then doesn't do it again wink.gif Good luck.

AFU- Cohens really good on his feet now, still crawling heaps but much more confident with walking. He is speaking so much these days he just copies everything i say to him, he's rather adorable. wub.gif RB27 Rachels husband was in the area on the weekend with the kids and we followed his car from my nans to our place and Cohen was saying Darcy the whole way there ( their son) he also says Lani for Alana pretty cute! He is sleeping beautifully and still having a big morning nap and an afternoon nap also, he can keep this up for as long as possible wink.gif
Charlize is great, loving kindy and all her social things like ballet, play group swimming etc. she has a yukky cold at the minute mainly her nose which is annoying and i have a darned cold again it just seems like we have had one all winter long. Yay to Spring coming soon biggrin.gif

Ok hi to everyone else hope everyones doing well.

Speak soon
Ronny biggrin.gif
lou-t

Ronny - I love your new sig! Cohen is looking so grown up now.. It's nice to read that (almost) everything is going along so well at the moment.

Bron and Jo - How are you both going?? I'm so sorry to hear your news. Sometimes things in life just seem so unfair. And no matter how lucky you are to have the children you do, it certainly doesn't make these things any easier to deal with. I hope having each other and all us other girls in here for support, will help you cope better when you're feeling down.

Becky - Did you get some 'me' time?? I hope you're having a good day!

Leanne - I hope work is going ok for you and you are coping without being with Tara as much.. Its good to see you are able to look at the positives. I'm sure Tara loves you just as much as ever!!!

Amanda - How are you feeling? I hope you're doing better and are getting nicely spoilt by the boys. Rest up.

AFU - We're all good, which is a nice change. Having said that, I've just come home from the ENT specialist with Harrison. He's going into hospital on the 25th to have his tonsils and adenoids out and another set of grommets put back in his ears. It breaks my heart to think I'm going to have to put him through it, but I know it's for the best in the long run...

Callum is going great guns. I picked him up from cc the other day, and the carer was so excited to tell me that he sung and did all the actions to 'open shut them', including the creeping crawling part... I wish he'd do it for me!! They took lots of photo's to show me, which I thought was nice.

Anyway, I have just finished making some zucchini and carrot muffins (in a sad attempt to get my 3yr old to eat some veg!), so I'm going to go and indulge with a cuppa while both boys are sleeping!
j-lo

Just wanted to pop in say thanks for all the support, though I think Bron needs it more than I do at this stage. Despite the two miscarriages, I am still feeling reasonably positive, whatelse can I do. And DH and I are still actively TTCing and looking forward to adding to our family. Having said that, if Jem is to be an only child then nothing I do will change that so also accept that and have a 'back up plan' which includes going back to uni (again!), having a great career and travelling - all things I love.

I'm getting just so much joy out of being with Jem at the moment, she is such a happy child and is picking things up so quickly now. She's walking everywhere and it always makes me smile.

Not sure if anyone else is watching to doco on SBS - One born every minute. I missed the second episode but saw the second one. Gave me a new respect for midwives, a greater appreciation of the beautiful birth I had with Jem and made me cry (happy tears) to see that precious newborn - even if the Mum was a pain in the butt during the labour.

Anyway, I'm blabbing now, thanks again for all your kind words. Bron how are you coping?

Enjoy the rest of your week.
Jo
bron23
Hey girls sorry haven't been back in crappy week with a capital C (on iPhone so please excuse any mistakes) Cant remember when I last posted but Wed night Hannah came home from daycare with conjunctivitis and then around 11:30 started screaming and grabbing her ear and we ended up at the hospital not a burst ear drum but evidence of pressure problems and a bit of bleedng. Then today was her next daycare day and we have picked her up and she's crying saying her ankle hurts. I've taken a look and it's huge one side is bright red and hot to the touch. She was runnng around barefoot when I picked her up so I'm thinking she's been bitten so dh is at the aftr hours clinic at the local hospital now. So over bloody daycare.

To top off the week a close friend from mothers group announced that they gad an oopsie moment and are now pregnant with number three. She was the only person I had told in real life about our problems and apparently she went straight home and cried. I'm happy for her but a little heartbroken for us. But I'm going to have to suck it up because The world is not going to stop procreating just because I can't. We are on baby watch for another friend ATM.

I will be back later and tackle persies because it is way too hard to look back at previous posts on the smashed screen of my iPhone.
diddy-moo

Bron 23 really sorry to hear your news!! It's heartbreaking and I hope you take the time to mourn for your situation. To sound cliche'd - at least you have your health and your beautiful family. I hope that doesnt sound condescending....

j-lo it sounds like you have it under control! I love documentries.. i watched a great one before i had DS called the business of being born -very eyeopening in relation to the intervention of birth - worrying as I'm now living in the states and thats where the documentry was based - they love intervention in labour over here (well thats what i got from the doco)! We are based in Chicago, its a beautiful city and loads on for families (during summer) so all good!

Lout - there is nothing worse then seeing your little one in pain - and knowing that you played a part in it. on a much smaller scale - when DS was just over a week old he had projectile vomiting and we had to take him to emergency and watching them trying to put a needle in to take blood was awful- in fact it still brings a tear to my eye now! Open shut them - so cute!

Me-mum- theres nothing better then skipping that last couple of weeks before you can tell everyone!

Leanne - now i know how my dh feels! I hope you get plenty of quality time on the weekend!

ok so hope everyone else is well!

AFU - we have just had a couple of days away at a beautiful golfing resort as dh had a conference there. It was lovely and nice to mix it up a little - DS loved it - massive indoor water park which was heaps of fun as well as a playground that was empty so DS could hog the steering wheel on it for as long as he wanted to! He went down a massive twisty slide and survived so that was exciting! It was nice having him sleep in our room, and i was able to watch tv after i put him to sleep - bonus!! It's my bday on fri so i think thats going to be a tough day - being away from home.... oh well!

off to bed for me!

be-e

Diddy - your time away sounds lovely. I'd love some warmer weather here. Steering wheels must be a boy thing, Linc loves any steering wheels! I hope you have a great birthday on Friday and can spoil yourself.

Bron- Sorry to hear of the tough time you are having at the moment. I hope you can be at peace the outcome and enjoy your beautiful family.

Jo - hope you get your BFP soon

Lou - sucks to have to have the operation for Harrison but I imagine he should be alot happier and healthier afterwards. Go Callum on the singing!

Ronny - thanks for the biting tips, Ive tried biting back, but it doesnt work, he usually only does it when he's tired and didnt try biting any of the family daycare kids today. Linc says Darcy too, but its sounds more like schhhyy. We'll see you on Sunday for the big party.

Becky - hope you got some rest.

Ninja - hope you are feeling better soon and you can enjoy the time off.

AFU - Been a busy few weeks here. We've had trips to emergancy earlier on in the week as well, we went to GP on Sunday with Linc and he sent us to emergancy because his temp was 40.7. Anyway turns out it was a throat infection and he is alot better yesterday and today.

Linc also had his first day at his family day carers house today and he went really well! Im so happy with our carer and love the environment he is in. There is only 2 other kids (both 2) and the carers husband is retired so its like 2 carers for 3 kids and they are both lovely. Very happy with our decision to take him out of long day care (so far) as I havent been overly happy with the centre since he was taken out of the baby room.

I went with my friend who is having twins to a scan yesterday and we found out 1 of the twins isnt growing very much - was a shock because everything was going quite well for a twin pregnancy. Anyway she is now on steroids and expecting them to be born within the next 2 weeks, she is almost 33 weeks, so hoping all is ok, will be tough for her if she doesnt get to take them home when she goes home.

Bec

diddy-moo

Quite in here - perhaps some sunshine in OZ and everyone is out and about...?!

Just wanted to pop in and say........ DS is weened!!!! If you cant tell I'm pretty excited about it!! When I started feeding him I had no idea that at 16 months I'd still be doing it, but due to holidays and moving (teavelling through time zones where feeding is convenient way of settling) I thought we'd wait - and he is a massive booby boy!! But we have been putting zebra to bed, and last night, bam! It happened - no tears either!! same at lunch and tonight - sooooo excited!! Clearly he is ok with it (and he has a new milk cup with a straw thats pretty exciting).

anyway, wanted to tell someone as I'm pretty excited!

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!
j-lo
That's fantastic diddy-moo, and well done on getting so far, that really is a big achievement I think. My DD weaned herself two months ago - though it happened so suddenly I wasn't ready for it and was a bit disappointed. having said that it was so easy and stress-free so I should probably just be glad it happened that way and I didn't have to put a stop to it myself.

DD was only on 1 feed a day when she did wean so I didn't have any issues, but if your DS was on more just keep an eye out for lumps, the last thing you want now is mastits.

Again, congrats, enjoy wearing your normal bras again and all those tops that were just too hard to feed in. Makes you feel like you just gotten a whole new wardrobe!

Jo
bron23
just a quickie....
You might have seen but Kerrin is taking part in the LIght the Night fundraiser for kids with leukemia. I was thinking it might be nice if we sponsored her. Would anyone else be up for it? I know there was talk about flowers for her but I thought she might appreciate this instead? WDYT?
RB27
Bron

I've donated. I just searched her name on the website.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Rachel
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.