02/07/2010, 07:39 PM
themelster
02/07/2010, 08:53 PM
GOLD!
Went and saw baby Kai tonight. They changed the spelling of his name from Kei to Kai which I quite like. I think people would not be sure how to pronounce it if it was Kei. Anyhoo, he is just gorgeous. I can't believe how little newborns are! He was like a feather to hold. Madness to think that in just a mere year and a half he'll be just like Tom.
He was at Sunnybank private so we had some yummy chinese at the Landmark after we had visited. I thinm they forgot our meal as it took 45 minutes for it to come. Poor Tom was starving and we had to take turns taking him for a walk to keep him under control. Anyone else's kids ok to sit in a highchair at a restaurant??? Tom is a bit of a nightmare. He'll be good for like 5 minutes whilst he eats, then he's trying to stand up in his highchair (and they never bloody have straps!), throw cutlery around etc. I wonder when they will be old enough to take out for a "relaxing" dinner.
That is all for me. Not much to report.
~Annika~
03/07/2010, 12:57 AM
I am back, yay, and feeling heaps more like my old self again now, thankfully, and since my last post on Sunday I have been on a continuous upward spiral!! That day was definitely my worst in the whole experience of weaning myself totally off my meds (very gradually).
Last weekend I imagined myself as being like a fragile glass sitting right on the egde of a shelf and needed to be protected and shielded to stop me from falling off and smashing onto to the floor, but instead of doing that my DH came along and just flicked me off the egde and then proceeded to crush all the broken pieces of glass under his feet!
I was so shattered by the way he had been so completely insensitive and unsupportive to me emotionally!! But he has since then been a lot better and I think my shower insident gave him a real wake-up call as he has been heaps more patient and cutting me some slack with not expecting too much of me through this period.
Kathryn I was so sad when reading back through the posts and finding out what happened to your cousins, my heart really does go out to you, hun!!!! I can not imagine how that has been like for you, and I never will be able to unless, God forbid, it were to happen to me and my family! Thinking of you Kathryn!
A big hello to everyone and thank you all for making me feel secure and comfortable enough to come in here and spill it all out to you, that has been very helpful!!
Edited to add:
SILVER!!
bec8112
03/07/2010, 02:16 AM
Bronze !!!!
Mel - Daves cousin called her baby Kai too! He was born on the 11th June. Ethan can be ok in his high chair when we are out but he can be a nightmare too if he is hungry or tired! I do not believe we will have a nicd peaceful dinner for many years! Ethan does not try to stand up though so we are lucky!
Annika - glad your feeling better, I cannot imagine how hard this has been for you.
Hannah slept on the couch with Dave for an hour and s half just before so I could get a sleep in bed on my own! She loves to be held! Tried her in the ergo with the newborn insert and she screamed, might need to try it when she is calm to get her used to it????? She seems to get so sleepy on the boob, any suggestions???
Fabulous
03/07/2010, 08:37 AM
Annika - I'm so glad that you are on the upward spiral.
Mel- I don't think any toddler would be able to wait for 45 minutes, thats a very long time. It's hard to take Jack anywhere these days because he throws the biggest tanties. When kids are around 3 you can reason with them and hopefully have a quietish dinner, lol. I have noticed that quite a few kids start to emerge from toddlerdom at 2.5.
Bec- I'm sure that you are giving hannah everything she needs. No idea about the ergo, we didn't get ours until a later stage. I did use a ring sling a bit
meeskamouska
03/07/2010, 08:46 AM
Mel - CR is a nightmare to take anywhere...not just resturants. She climbs out of highchairs & her pram, she can even get her arms out of her car seat. I'd have to do it up to suffocation level to keep them in. We make an absolute mess with food where ever we go. I get so embarressed & use thousands of wipes cleaning up. So your not alone. As for the DC thing. D ou think he just really likes it there. Its got nothing to do with you just he doesn't want to leave. CR chucks huge tanties when she doesn't want to leave places....like the park. I personally put it down to just toddlers expressing their frustration. Babies...they sure know how to tug at our heartstrings..... make us feel completely stupid, useless & disfunctional....love it...NOT!!
Bec - That was nice of DH to take Hannah even if it was only for a bit. My GF has a new baby & she hates the ergo ATM. Screams if she puts her in it. I reckon its something they used to in time. Like u said maybe try her when she's in a good mood or a quick trip at the shops or something. With the tired thing at the booby, I truly believe until the jaundice is all gone you don't get a true picture of who the baby is. CR was sleepy like that until all the jaundice was clear. I reckon they're to tired to feed from the jaundice making them sleepy then being unsettled from being hungry...IYKWIM... the first 6 weeks are so hard. I remember thinking...ok this is my 3rd...I'll be really good at this time... I'll know exactly what to do etc...pffttt...that went out the window...CR was my hardest bub. Your doing a fabulous job. The fact that u care says that.
Annika - So glad you're feeling better. Sounds like the lowest point as been & gone. Men r knuckle heads aren't they!! Sometimes I think it just throws them not knowing how to fix it. The hardest part for me is the forgiving part of all that. I find it hard to move past how I felt about how I got treated thru all that. I remember saying to Paul once that if he had trouble dealing with a bit of depression or anxiety how would he deal with something huge like if I lost the use of my legs or something. I guess thats life & how it shapes us a humans. Have u been going riding at all??? Horses that is?? I haven't been out for ages.
Mega post going on here...LOL.
Kathryn - so hard. Life is so rough sometimes. I never quiet understand why these things happen. Hope u have a nice day today.
Better head...my kids are being neglected & destroying my house...LOL. Might need to do brekky....probably most certainly!!
CULater on
Fabulous
03/07/2010, 09:19 AM
Seems like lots of us are going through the wild toddler stage.

It's funny though because my eldest had a grand total of 1 tantrum when he was a toddler and that was it. My mum and I still remember it because we were in a state of shock.
bec8112
03/07/2010, 10:22 AM
Ethan can throw little tantrums all the time! Usually when he wants something and we say no!
spersephone
03/07/2010, 01:02 PM
Nat, Kate's a climber big time too!
She's very very difficult right now - everything sets her off on a scream that's hard to control! I can't wait until this stage is over.
1kathryn
03/07/2010, 04:53 PM
Afternoon all,
Work today and tomorrow. Wasn't too bad until Adam told me Luke and Sam's funeral is Wed. :'( Makes it so much more real! I just wanna wake up from a horrible dream. But I know I can't.
Adam has gone out. Think he needs some time on his own to collect his thoughts on what's happened.

Cameron is asleep which is lovely!
Annika- Thanks sweetie for your thoughts! Hope it never happens to you or anyone else. I'm glad your doing better that's great news.

Nat- Thanks hun. Today was alright. Hope the kids didn't destroy the house too much.
Bec- It was nice you got to sleep in your own bed alone bet you needed it!
Mel- Yay new born cuddles. I think most toddlers would sit still for 45min. Can't believe it took that long to get fed.
Hi everyone else hope your all having a lovely weekend
1kathryn
03/07/2010, 04:56 PM
Mel- Cameron now cries in the car on the way home from daycare and is quite content to go there now. So I feel a bit the same too
bec8112
04/07/2010, 06:18 AM
Hi all!
Hannah was attached to my boob last night from about 5pm - 9pm! Otherwise she would scream! I am so not sure if it is lack of milk or something else. She then napped in my arms until I fed her at 1am then tried to put her in her cot but she woke 30 mins after being in there. Dave got her and brought her into our bed and she slept until I woke up at 6am! I feel guilty now about letting her go so long with no feed, especially being worried about her weight!
The screaming at night time is the thing that is getting to me, I am used to some 'me' time when Ethan goes to bed but I am not getting that. Wondering if a bottle of formula at night would help her????
Nothing much else to report, no life other that baby at the moment!
Kathryn - good luck for the funeral on wed, it will be so hard for you. I think my grandma's will be not far off so I will be doing the same emotional rollercoaster soon.
Alis Volat Propiis
04/07/2010, 07:44 AM
Back from camping... Dan and I have 'man' flu pretty bad which isnt fun but we all still managed to have a good time.
Bec - I just wanted to add that my personal opinion is that introducing formula/comp feeds will be to the detriment of your BFing. Doubting your supply is the first thing a mum with an unsettled new bub always does and it is usually the last reason bubs are unsettled. I think the unsettledness in the evenings is normal for most bubs. As you said with Ethan you missed out on this phase as he was in hospy still. It took N a good 9 weeks to settle in the evenings and her feeding frenzy would go from 5pm or so till 9ish also. It isnt called the arsenic hour for nothing (even when it goes for 4 hours!) Try to be patient with yourself and little Hannah. It sounds like Dave is being a big help which is lovely. Rest when you can, eat well, drink LOTS of water and try not to worry

As for the sleepiness, that will pass soon too. It is completely normal for a newborn to fall asleep on the boob. She will 'wake' up soon enough. I agree with Nat who said that the mild residual jaundice will be contributing to this also.
hugs honey, we are all here to help if we can.
BBL gotta go wake my household up.
Oh, and no baby news yet! LOL, I will be 38 weeks on Wed. I have been having alot of back/hip pain and bub moves HEAPS.
Sharna
meeskamouska
04/07/2010, 08:00 AM
Bec - Ring the ABA before you give her a bottle. You're posts bring back a flood of memories for me everytime I read. CR was a bit unsettled like you describe. Sounds like she feels really secure when she is with her Mumma Bear. Also. does she have wet nappies???? If she does then she would be getting milk. How often r u feeding her? I'd be thinking every 2-3 hours for a BF bub. Approx 8- 10 feeds a day.
Best place for advice is the ABA or local HCN. Don't want to sound like a know all...just trying to help.
Not much happening here today.
CR is so cute ATM...she's into dolls. She has a baby born & a baby alive. She wants to put nappies on them etc. Bella has a heap of my trial mcn's & CR just loves them. Lays her down for the nappy & says...baaaaabbbbbeeee. Melts me. Pats her on the back....what a kind soul she has.
Better head.
BBlater on.
bec8112
04/07/2010, 10:24 AM
Thanks sharna and nat! Yeah I will get advice before I do anything with formula, I am trying to avoid it! Come on tues when I get her weighed which will hopefully ease my mind! Feeding times is usually 3 hourly but this morning she did not wake up so we woke her up after 3 hrs. Yeah she is having wet nappies but the poos have slowed down???? Formula feeding is so different! Life with Ethan was easy compared to this!
Sharna - not long now until bub! How exciting! Cannot wait to hear the news when it happens. Is Nadia aware what's going on?
Nat - CR sounds so cute, such a caring little girl. I hope Hannah is the same.
Nothing happening here today, Dave has just gone out to the shops with Ethan so enjoying some quiet time with Hannah on my boob! How unusual! Ha ha ha!
Fabulous
04/07/2010, 11:15 AM
Bec- you have been given some excellent advice from Sharna and Nat. I know that all of my kids did the feeding frenzy and unsettled thing in the evening. I found it to be a huge struggle but by 6 weeks everything had settled down. I think you might have just got really lucky with Ethan.
Sharna- goodness me. You are nearly 38 weeks!! Anytime now hey!! I can't wait to hear your news.. boy girl..boy.. now what will it be?
bec8112
04/07/2010, 11:54 AM
Ros - yeah I think Ethan was very settled! He still is very placid and relaxed which makes life easier. He still has tantrums and his naughty moments. Cannot wait for this 6 week mark when things might settle down!
Small Potatoes
04/07/2010, 03:38 PM
Bec You are doing an AWESOME job. That feeding from 5-9 is cluster feeding getting bub ready for a bigger sleep at night. My boys didn't do it but I had a girlfriend who's baby cluster fed from 7pm-1am

. I had sleep babies. Until they were 6 weeks or so they would constantly fall asleep on the boob. I could strip them down to a nappy and put a cool washer and half they time even then they wouldn't wake or they would wake go back on the boob and fall back asleep. Olly also was feral from 3-7 every evening for the first 6 weeks unless my sister was here carrying him along her arm belly down (so his arms dangled down and his head was in her palm) and he would fall asleep there.
Mel My boys love kindy but not that much

. We stopped taking Will to dinner from about 1 year until he was over 2 (but part was due to having a new bub). Olly is much better with sitting and eating, though he can eat for 30mins or more given half the chance.
Nat That sounds very cute
Annika Glad you are doing so much better. Glad DH can finally realise to some extent the gravity of the situation.
BBS for more posts, have a biology test to do by the end of the day.
bec8112
04/07/2010, 05:58 PM
Probably a stupid question but does a cluster feed mean constantly on the boob or just feeding more often than normal?
Friend brought back the baby swing so Hannah is in that right now, she us awake but quiet which is nice. I had forgotten how hard it is to have a newborn! Definately no more kids here!
Ethan is out weeing all his nappies at the moment! Just another thing to add to my hard life at the moment.
Sorry for another 'me' post and all the negativity! Just helps to get it out I think. I am so emotional at the moment too, grandma being so sick is not helping.
meeskamouska
04/07/2010, 07:40 PM
Bec - You know we r here any old time of the day & never feel guilty about letting it out here. Life with a newborn is very over glamourised if you ask me. I don't remember with Josh so much but definitely with Bella & Charlee as NB's. It was hard for me. Lots of tears & feeling inadequate. Make sure you get some rest in between so things don't get on top of you.
I think cluster feeding is where they feed more often meanig like every hour or so.
From what u describe sounds like Hannah is comfort sucking. I may be wrong....I'm no midwife..... & I'm a dummy mummy so can't comment....CR still has her nummy...LOL.. Alot of people that BF do the comfort sucking thing of a night time if they co-sleep. It wasn't my thing as it would keep me awake.
Hope you have a good night.
1kathryn
04/07/2010, 09:14 PM
Evening all,
Work was hectic but went quickly. Had to buy some more work pants this arvo. Mine have got too big.

Then the three of us went out for coffee the company was lovely but the coffee not so much.

Made some white choc and macadamia cupcakes, can't wait to try them.

Going to the gym tomorrow morning and doing some grocery shopping and that's about it. Not sure what the family is up to so keeping myself pretty open.
Do any of you guys have trouble getting your kids to sleep of a night time. Cameron is getting difficult lately. Doesn't go to sleep until late. He's just got so much energy! I miss Adam and mine couple time.

Bec- huge hugs hun! Feel free to vent away that's what where here for.

You must be feeling a lot of self-doubt right now? Hannah may be comfort sucking and feels a very strong bond with you. I wouldn't worry too much about you and Hannah sleeping till 6am and missing feeds, she needs sleep time to be able to grow.
Mands- Hope your bio test went well.

Nat- CR does sound like a lil cutie!

Sharna- I'm glad you enjoyed camping, especially with a cold. Wow 38wks! Great bubs is kicking heaps.
bec8112
04/07/2010, 10:09 PM
Nat - we tried Hannah on 2 different dummies and she will not take them! She kind if looks like she is gagging when it's in her mouth????? I might keep trying if the screaming goes on at night.
Well tonight was a little better and no screaming, she slept on dave's chest from 7-8.45pm which was nice for me to be free! I even managed to get ethan's bag packed for daycare tomorrow. I am just sitting in bed now giving her some last minute boob before laying down!
Kathryn - so jealous you need new work pants! All your hard work is paying off! Are you on facebook? Most of us in here are friends on there so thought I would ask.
1kathryn
05/07/2010, 04:31 AM
Bec its great you got a break. I'm sure Dave enjoyed the bonding time with Hannah. Apparently I never took to the dummy either.
Thanks Bec it is paying off and I'm ecstatic!
Yes I sure am on fb. Kathryn Barker (Kathryn Holt) is my name.
meeskamouska
05/07/2010, 08:31 AM
How'd u go Bec??
Sounds like it all started well.
I leave for Bali on Sunday...can u believe it!!!!!!
bec8112
05/07/2010, 08:45 AM
Nat - yeah it was ok, she slept in our bed again! She just wakes up crying when we put her in her room, we might try moving her bassinet into our room???
My grandma died this morning, sad but good at the same time. I am so glad she got to meet Hannah and I got to see her while she remembered us and was able to communicate.
Small Potatoes
05/07/2010, 08:46 AM
Bec I am very sorry to hear about your Grandma. Love and thoughts to your family.
1kathryn
05/07/2010, 11:54 AM
Morning all,
Had a good morning. Went to the gym and have cleaned the bathroom and done grocery shopping. Cameron is now asleep although don't know for how long the birds are very noisy today. Not much else is happening today I think mum is coming over and that's about it.
Had a bad night last night Cameron was up from 3 till 5:30 this morning. Didn't want to sleep in his cot at all!
Don't know if any of you guys believe in the supernatural. But I had a strange feeling last night. I had made cupcakes and was putting them into a container and felt this cold air all around me like someone left a window open and there was a big gust of cold air. But there were no windows open or draught at all! Was a very strange but comforting feeling.
Bec- Oh Bec I'm so sorry for you loss my thoughts are for you and your family.
Nat- Bring on Sunday lol
bec8112
05/07/2010, 03:01 PM
Thanks mands and Kathryn. Funeral is on Friday so not looking forward to that. It will be so emotional when I have all these hormones at the moment!
Hannah is not settling again for me, if she is not attached to my nipple she is screaming! I cannot wait until tomorrow to get her checked again and chat with someone. I am not sure if it's hunger or something else!
Glad Ethan is at daycare today, my mum is coming down tomorrow but will be hard to relax if Hannah does not settle and needs me all the time! I need a baby whisperer!
Nat- wow your holiday has come around fast, how exciting!
Kathryn - hope tonight is better with Cameron. Very strange about your supernatural experience. Must have felt really strange!
meeskamouska
05/07/2010, 03:20 PM
Ow Bec - so sorry to hear of your Granma. Thinking of you.
1kathryn
05/07/2010, 07:26 PM
Bec- Thinking of you sweetie! Especially on Friday. Hope you get some answers tomorrow about Hannah! And you get a break you poor thing. Does Ethan enjoy daycare? Hope Hannah is good for you tomorrow.
Yeah the experience was very strange but comforting at the same time.
bec8112
05/07/2010, 08:16 PM
Yeah Ethan seems to enjoy daycare, he has only started crying when we leave since Hannah was born. He is always so tired after being there all day.
Hannah is really fussing at the boob tonight! When she pulls off I cannot see milk in her mouth like I have previously. I am scared I am not making enough milk. Her weight will tell all tomorrow.
Dave has gone out to grab some things from the supermarket as we have no food in the house. He has been cooking dinner, cleaning up and getting Ethan ready for bed at nights! He is doing so well with helping and I feel like I am neglecting so many things right now.
Small Potatoes
06/07/2010, 07:51 AM
Bec As hard as it is try to relax. the more you stress the harder it is for your milk let down and then she will get less milk and your milk will reduce. I know it is hard.
bec8112
06/07/2010, 08:29 AM
I know mands, but it is so hard not to stress! I think my emotions are playing a part in it aswell. My mum is coming down today so we will have a big cry together about grandma! I have never had a death of someone close to me so it's a hard thing to get my head around. Never seeing her again, her not seeing Ethan and hannah grow up :-(
Small Potatoes
06/07/2010, 08:31 AM
Bec the emotions are hard. My Grandma died when Olly was only 10 days old and she didn't get to meet him

. Hopefully the cry will release some emotions and stress for you.
~Annika~
06/07/2010, 11:09 AM
Bec So sorry to hear of your grandma passing away, thinking of you hun!!!

Hope you and your mum will be able to really grieve together and let some of that built up stress relieve a bit for you! Also I hope you will get some answers at the CH clinic regarding Hannah. Try giving her some Infants Friend (from chemist) will calm her down and will settle her tummy if that's what is bothering her. I remember when Tyler was a tiny baby, he used to get very collicy espesially at that time in the evening, and the infants friend drops would definitely help him settle. I really encourage you to drink about 3 Litres of water very gradually during the period of the day (a glass of water at every B-feed and in between) to keep up the milk supply, if you drink heaps of water at once your body is unable to utilise all of it and some of it will just pass right through instead of boosting you supply.
The other thing I know from my BFing days and being a nurse is that when you keep a baby on the boob for extended periods they will only be getting the foremilk as your body is unable to keep up to produce the really beneficial, rich hind milk so bubs will not be getting satisfied like she would if she was getting the hind milk. Also the fore milk is very light and sweet as it is full of natural glucose but it is very gas causing - in other words causing wind and collic in bubs. The problem is that BFing mothers tend to produce less breast milk in the afternoons/early evenings compared to the rest of the day as that's when we are getting quite tired, worn out and stressed from the long day, so Hannah will be wanting more milk then but won't be getting as much as she really wants! They don't call it 'nanna hour' for nothing, that's the time of the day every mother needs an extra pair of hands on deck! That's where our nuclear family structured society has fallen short, unfortunately, compared to the extended family strucures in other parts of the world.
Have you got a fit ball? If you sit and bounce on it while holding Hannah firmly in the upright position against your chest she will get relief if she has wind probs as it helps the bubbles in her tummy move along and not put so much painful pressure in her bowels. That was my life saver with Tyler as his collic was SHOCKING and that was one of only a few things that would settle him when we got desperate!!! Try it out, you will be surprised!!
bec8112
06/07/2010, 01:32 PM
Thanks Annika for that info and advice.
Hannah lost weight so is now 250gms under her birth weight at day 16! I had a cry with the CHN and decided to give top up feeds and see what happens. Got to go back on thurs to weigh and chat. Gave Hannah some formula when we got home and she took 60mls and is sleeping peacefully! She was definately very hungry! I feel terrible that she was so hungry. I am going to continue to breastfeed every 3 hours and just offer formula after.
Ethan is going to stay with my mum until Friday ( we will go up for the funeral and pick him up ). It will be good to have some time with Hannah.
themelster
06/07/2010, 07:46 PM
Hi guys, sorry I have been AWOL for a bit. We have been really flat out packing our house up and moving out. We moved into our friends place today so tonight is tom's first sleep in a new house. Be interesting to see how that goes. I am also in conference at the moment.
Bec - thinking of you and hope you get some sleep soon and Hannah starts to settle. I"ll be thinking of you on Friday.
Sorry, but that is all for me. Have to go unpack our clothes and then I'm hitting the sack.
I probably won't be around for a few weeks as I've got conference again (Hunter Valley) in a couple of weeks time and things are just really really busy at the moment.
Mands - I haven't forgotten to send that email - and can you just hang onto the Rocking Green until you are up here next???? Is that possible?
Mel.
1kathryn
06/07/2010, 09:07 PM
Evening all,
Had a busy day at work but it was good to take my mind off tomorrow. I wrote a poem last night and printed of some pics of Luke and Sam to put in their coffins!!!

I don't know how I'm going to get through the day! I know that when I see my Uncle and cousin I'm going to be an absolute mess.

Adam picked up Cameron from daycare as I finished at 5:30 and daycare shuts at 6. He even cooked dinner, was very yummy nice and tasty. Adam is now at the gym. I gave Cameron a bath and now he's asleep.

Cameron is adjusting really well to daycare, I can put him down and he goes and does his own thing, its wonderful.

Cameron had a brilliant night sleep, 8:30 to 7am. Was very impressed and felt really good having a solid night sleep.

Hi everyone else!
Mel- Good luck with Tom sleeping in a new bed tonight. Bet your exhausted from all the packing and unpacking!
Bec- Oh sweetie I'm so sorry.

Its great your going to persevere with breast feeding every three hours and do a top up, your supply will still be there. Good luck for Thursday I hope Hannah has put on some weight. Lovely your mum is looking after Ethan for a few days so you can have some bonding time with Hannah.

Its great that Dave is helping out so much at least that's something off your mind! Like Mands said try not to stress I know its easier said than done though. Good luck!
bec8112
07/07/2010, 03:21 AM
Kathryn - thinking of you and your family today.
Mel - hope Tom was ok at the new house!
AFM - Hannah is like a different baby with a full belly :-) she sleeps in her bassinet and seems so content now! I feel guilty for not feeding her enough before! She is taking between 20-60mls of formula so a huge variety , she has had a few small spews so think it might be her tummy adjusting to it.
Dave and I even managed to go food shopping tonight which was good as we have not been in ages and were running out of frozen meals!
Oh well Hannah is asleep in my arms so better wrap her up and get some sleep myself.
spersephone
07/07/2010, 07:47 AM
Bec, I'm sorry to hear of your loss too.
And Kathryn, I hope today helps your family begin a healing process and that you are all able to give comfort to one another.
Sarah
Alis Volat Propiis
07/07/2010, 09:16 AM
Quick one..
Just checking in. No baby news here.
Bec - i will be thinking of you and your family on friday.
Katryn - my thoughts are with you also.
Sharna
bec8112
07/07/2010, 02:10 PM
Very quiet in here today.
Sharna - thanks for your thoughts. I am so anxious to hear your baby news in the coming weeks.
AFM - Hannah slept so well last night, feeding every 3 hours but sleeping for at least 1.5hours between each feed which was great! She is also sleeping in her room which was good to have our bed back to ourselves and I could relax and stretch out. I am going to have a nap soon so I will be rested for the afternoon/night time.
meeskamouska
07/07/2010, 07:52 PM
Hi Girls.
Busy here too organising last minute things for my trip.
Bec - I'm happy that u seem to sound a bit more positive. So sorry bout your Gran. Very strange when someone dies isn't it. The world just keeps going & stops for nothing. I find it hard to get my head around it too. Hannah sounds a bit more settled today..yay.
Short one from me too...sorry.
My application for Matilda Markets got accepted this morning. I'm so thrilled. I know its only MM but its been a big thing for me to get in. I feel like its my foot in the door. Alot of small business's have started there & gone onto big things.... so here's hoping.
DC for CR & sewing for me tomorrow.
Chat then...thinking of everyone.
1kathryn
07/07/2010, 09:29 PM
Evening all,
Today was a hard day but was wonderful at the same time, if that makes sense? The speeches were wonderful, I put the poem I wrote and some wedding pics on their caskets. Afterwards we went to the Jockey Club to celebrate their life. The music they enjoyed was playing while images were projected on television screens. The boys would have loved it!! It all seems very real now. And I feel so numb right now.

Nat- Yay on being accepted into the Matilda Markets.

Bec- Thanks for your thoughts. It's fantastic that Hannah is doing so much better. Must be a huge load of your mind.

Yay on getting to go food shopping must have been a great feeling!
Sharna- Thanks for your thoughts means a lot.
Sarah- Thanks yeah I think it has helped the reality of it all set in.
bec8112
08/07/2010, 06:44 AM
Nat - yeah on the markets, I will have to come into town one day when they are on and see you! I bet your so excited about Bali now.
Kathryn - How are you feeling today? I am sure that they would have loved the celebration of their lives. We are also having photos at my Grandma's funeral and I know that is going to make me so emotional.
Another good night from Hannah here, makes the world of difference her having a full belly. I am getting her weighed again this arvo because they wanted to check this week and I cannot go tomorrow as have to drive to Noosa for the funeral. Fingers crossed she has put on some weight this time.
Fabulous
08/07/2010, 09:58 AM
Kathryn- I'm glad that the funeral was such a fitting farewell. I still can't get my head around the whole thing of what happened to them. It's just so wrong.
Nat- what are you sewing? I was just reading about Bali in the family travel section.
Bec- I hope the appointment goes well. 2 days between weigh-ins is only a short time so I guess there might not be much change yet. I'm sorry to hear about the loss of your gran. My last grandparent died when I was only 7 which saddens me because the grandparent relationship can be an amazing one.
School holidays here and visiting relatives so I'm quite busy. Actually it's busy everywhere, it was Chelsea's fourth birthday yesterday and we went to a park on the foreshore and my kids could hardly get onto the playground equipment because there were children hanging off everything.
1kathryn
08/07/2010, 01:45 PM
Afternoon all,
Having a hard day trying to keep busy. Went to the gym, grocery shopping and tidying the house. There's no denying the reality of Luke and Sams deaths. I'm just going to make sure I keep all the people I hold dear close!!!
Ceres- It is very wrong and I'm never going to understand why it happened. At the funeral their mum said they were going over to the guys house to reconcile cos Sam was going to be left in the house alone and he was wondered of the situation would escalate!!! What a ****ing psycho for taking their lives!!!!!

Sorry I know I shouldn't have written that. Have fun visiting relatives.

Bec- Today is a bad day.

Yeah it was a fantastic celebration of their amazing lives. The photo's are a wonderful reminder of past ones great life. So you'll love the pics.
Alis Volat Propiis
08/07/2010, 04:59 PM
Still in one piece
Nat - well done on getting into the Matilda Markets... I know it means alot to you to have your business and products respected like that. WE already know how great you are! Just remember us when you are making the millions

Gotta rush, night routine starting here.
Sharna
bec8112
08/07/2010, 06:23 PM
Sharna - the wait is killing me!
Well Hannah put on 130gms in the 2 days

, it is a relief to know she is getting back up to her birth weight! I am going back on Monday to weigh again and take it from there.
Wont be around much the next couple of days.
~Annika~
08/07/2010, 07:03 PM
Hey everyone!
Bec That is great Hannah is starting to settle more with her sleep! That is fantastic that she has put so much weight in such a short time for you!! You are doing a great job, Bec, and please don't blame yourself for her tiny bit of weight loss, you were doing the VERY BEST that you knew how anyway!!! It must be great to finally have your bed to yourself again. I remembered that as such a lovely & liberating feeling, as I am NOT one for having kids sleeping in our bed throughout the night (no offence to those who co-sleep). My bed is MY personal space and retreat, though I don't mind them hopping into our bed for mornings cuddles!
Mands What are you up to these days? Are you keeping well, and how are your gorgeous boys?
Kathryn The funeral and the celebration of your cousin's lives sounded lovely!! What a beautiful gesture to write them poems and put pictures up. Hang in there, and go easy on yourself, those feelings are still very raw, so try to get through it with the support of your family and friends! And we are always here for you too, Kathryn.
Natty Great going with getting into the MM's, I'm sure your lovely creations will be a real hit there and soon there will be a huge demand for it!!!
Sarah How are your lovely girls doing? Would love to hear about what sort of things they are up to these days!!
Sharna That's funny, "still in one piece!" You haven't got long to go now at all, in fact, it could be any day hey! I'm sooo excited to hear the news when it's happened, and all the best with everything when it does!! Looking forward to hearing about your whole experience! How is Nadia with it all? Does she have much clue about what's going to happen, like pointing to your tummy when you ask her where the baby is etc? Tyler was a fair bit older than Nadia is now, he was 2.5 years old when Bryce was born. He used to sit on my lap facing my tummy and sang "Twinkle Twinkle Little Start" to Bryce and put his head on my tummy and said things like "Oh, baby moving!" So cute, really lovely memories to hang onto!!!
Amy you have been a little bit quiet in here (well, so have I really!!), but how are you keeping?
Today has been quite a relaxing day for us, I have a heap of girly material and accessories out and attempting to make dresses for Tyler's little best friend. She is still quite tiny for a 3 year old, but wow, does she have some brains, well ahead for her age!!! I thought since there is no way I am going to have any more kids with getting my tubes tied on 3rd August, I may as well use up all the pretty things I have gathered over the years. Her Mum and I are really good friends so I kind of feel like an aunty to her daughter. If I was to ever have had a girl all I would be doing was sewing pretty little dresses and skirts and pants etc and not get anything else done, so just as well I don't hey, as sad as that sort of makes me feel!