The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
luckyaussiemum
10/07/2010, 09:38 AM
Adarlyn BIG congrats Adarlyn on baby Elsie! Wishing you and your family much happiness!
LISA Must be hard with young step-kids. Mine are older, though I guess they could resent me too. But I only see them one day a FT and then April and a couple of weeks over summer holidays which we go away for. 4 kids would be interetsting. My daughter doesnt really like my partner though or his kids, but she is used to being the eldest of 3 kids, now between my partners kids, and her Dads partners kids she isnt the eldest to boss others around anymore and she struggles with her position. All fun and games hey! How's the work going? You'll get a pattern going, and once your DS back at school, and Miss Ellie starts it'll all get easier!
My, work all weekend- blah!
Jealous af everyone how with little bubbas, number 4 doesnt want to happen for me it seems. I blame DP, he hasnt had a kid in 14yrs and smokes (much to my disgust) and I said he has killed them all

! Been 6 months now. Argh. Took 5 months for Dempsey though, and my cycle was interupted a few months back when I had a D&C and Laparoscopy or whatever it's called.
adelaryln
10/07/2010, 07:14 PM
hi there
not been here for ages.
i've seen the facebook new babies. very exciting hey.
thanks TPM for sharing my news
i'm so excited that i got the exact birth i wanted. i wanted to labour for most of it at home and avoid an epidural. i was then booked in for an induction thursday morning which i was dreading as it would throw my plans out totally and i was so disappointed. instead my body went into labour by itself 1 hour before i was due to be induced. amazing or what!! so they kept a trace of bub heart beat and checked my cervix then sent me home. i was 3 cm, that was 930am. by 230pm they were 2 minutes apart and i was having a shower to keep distracted and said to DH we should get the baby sitter here in the next half hour as they are getting stronger. so she came to our house and we were in hospital at 330pm. i was only 4cm!!! i demanded an epidural at this stage but was refused as it could stop the labour progressing, so had gas instead. next thign POP the waters broke at about 430pm. they were full of meconium so they told me to hop off the bed to get cleaned up and we'd need a paed at the birth. well it was all systems go from there. the contractions were constant. i extra demanded an epidural but was refused cos i was now 8cm!!!with in no time at all i was pushing and at 5:11pm out come beautiful little elsie taela. my body is still in shock at how quick considering how long the other 2 were. we spent 1 night at the hospital then came home.
very exciting!!!!she was born on the exact date we buried our little harry last year, so i consider that he is her special guardian angel.
talk soon.
*~Lisa~*
11/07/2010, 06:00 AM
Thats great you got what you wanted!
Now we need some piccys!
Last day of school holidays and boy am I glad. DP kids go home today its been an up and down week with them I'm glady going to work today so I'll miss the last blow up. But no doubt Dp will just give in anyway.
Oh the joys of blended familys.
ToodlePopsMum
12/07/2010, 10:15 AM
hi girls,
has anyone heard from rach? hope all is going well if you are reading Rach

adarlyn: what an amazing birth story! she is just devine and yes, I think your little Harry is definately her guardian angel. how beautiful for them to have that bond. hope you are settling in at home and enjoying your newborn cuddles.
lam: it will happen for you soon sweetie. im sure of it. a friend of mine said to me the other day, and she isn't religious at all and neither am i, that God only gives us what we can handle. maybe now isn't the best time for you so when the time is right it will happen. i try to keep that little saying in my head when I am about at my wits end with ds1. he has been super trying lately and i keep repeating that in my head

it does help a little. sometimes.
hi everyone else

hope you are all off enjoying either your jobs, your new babies or just life in general

me: nothing much. i went to mamma mia with some girlfriends on saturday night. was a really good show. i have seen it twice before (once in london and once in vegas) and this version was different. not bad different and not good different. just different. the main thing I noticed was the aussie involvement from the audience. at the end of it every single person was up dancing and singing. was great to see. in london and uk you were forced to stand up as one or two people did so it started a domino effect of the person behind not being able to see but there was no dancing or singing then

trust the aussies to know how to keep it real

the weather has been absolutely sh*te around here so we have been housebound and on school holidays so it has been a rather interesting time. my house is constanty trashed. they are constantly hungry. joshy has had a bad heavy cold which, despite our desperate pleas to cover his mouth, he has managed to cough over everyone and everything so now Aley is coughing up a storm and dh is starting to die of the man flu. why is it that i am the only one to NEVER get a cold. I haven't had a cold in years and years (touch wood). i get the sore throat and think "okay, getting a cold" and then it goes away. Not that I am complaining of course

we are having a pj day today. just cant be assed getting them all dressed and then to drive in such hazardous conditions. am going to do a lamb roast tonight for dinner. just feels like a roast kind of night

might even go and research a self saucing pudding recipe for dessert. yum!
kgbird34
12/07/2010, 04:21 PM
Hello Chickies I'm back! DH moved house the day before I came out of hospital and we had no internet till a couple of days ago and then the computer immediately shat itself and we got it back today so here I am!! Little Edward is beautiful but the sleepless nights are not, it's amazing how it all comes flooding back! I am being a bit rude at the moment as have visitors but was so excited to get the internet back on I came rushing in to say hello. Will catch up and do some PM's later if Ed will let me! It was crazy to move at the same time as bringing a new baby home, but luckily my great MIL cleaned out our old home to get it ready for sale, it looks amazing and I just wanted to move straight back into it! DH was not impressed. Will be back xxx Rachel.
*~Lisa~*
12/07/2010, 04:45 PM
Hello and welcome back rach!
I thought you were nuts moving house with a newborn but seems to have all worked out.
sh*tty day at work I got a Div 1 that is a b**ch and everything I do seems to be wrong even when working my a*se off today I got the worse and hardest list to do she b**ched about everything. Even went off at me in front of 4 other staff who couldnt belive it. All said it was uncalled for and I should complain but whats the point she will still be a b**ch!
ToodlePopsMum
13/07/2010, 10:37 AM
WELCOME BABY EDWARD!!!!Congrats Rach

can't wait to see some photos of the little man

oh and the only advice i have, being a mother of two boys, is DOODLE DOWN!

Gotta admit moving with a newborn is a heroic effort! what an amazing MIL you have.
Lisa: see, this is why I dread going back into the work place. just not sure i could deal with b**chy woman!
me: speaking of going back to work.......my old boss, who has started his own company now, has asked me to do some work for him. I have told him that I am not ready as I can't get childcare for Aley (my parents cant commit to a regular day and i dont expect them too and I can't get any day care for him until next year and even then it is iffy) but said if it is project work then i am more than able to do it from home. Lucky me.......it is project work

so i am going to speak to him this week sometime and see what we can work out. will be good to get back into using my brain for things other than kid related stuff but i am a bit nervous as it has been so long since i "worked" and the software has all changed. i am thinking of maybe doing one day course to bring me up to speed but my DH is a computer programmer and knows most programs inside and out so we thought that I would do what I could during the day and then we woudl work on it together at night to polish it up. I will be doing preparing presentations and graphics...eeeeeek!!
luckyaussiemum
13/07/2010, 08:39 PM
Adaryln Glad all went well as you'd hoped!
Rach I don't envy sleepless nights, dempsey as it is is waking for a night scream twice a night, he re-settles but I dont so easily from being woken mid dream!
TPM I have 3 beautiful kids, all I originally wanted, a 4th would be a blessing and a bonus so I am just seeing what life brings me, if it happens beautiful it was meant to be as you say, if not I am already blessed and count my blessing for the miracles i already have!
AND school holidays are good for PJ days!
LISA If you can muster the stregth, call this DIV 1 b**ch aside and ask her WHAT her bloody problem is- perhaps a little more diplomatically than that though. sometime comfronting people, though it takes guts can clear the air and let them no you take no sh*t and don't deserve it to boot!!
ME Studying history of nursing, and attempting 1st assessment- I suck I have decided but determined this time to follow thru on something, even though its a daily struggle as I have gotten so lazy, my brain cells have died thru years of inactivity and I am so time poor, I make all these excuses and more NOT to do things I want to do and am over myself! Get with it girl- sel talk is permitted as long as I dont answer back!
kalita
18/07/2010, 07:23 AM
Hey guys just a quick one, at my sisters house, spent half of yesterday in hospital with DH and going to head back there in an hour or so. He had to be transferred from our local hospital to the main one in town: the Drs don't know what's up with him and couldn't do the tests at our little hospital on the weekend

They thought it might be a blood or chest infection but when I left last night most of his results were fine and x-ray clear so I don't know what's going on. They were just putting the 5th bag of fluid through him and he looked 5000x better than when I sent him in so I am hoping it is just dehydration and I can take him home today but will find out later when I get a lift back to the hospital I hope.
Sorry to whinge and run.
ETA: Sorry for my little freakout this morning.. I didn't get much sleep

DH is on the mend, they still don't know what was wrong with him but fluids and oxygen have made him feel a lot better and he will probably be home tomorrow
winelover
18/07/2010, 05:01 PM
Hi Girls, sorry I haven't been posting much in here. I tend to have a quick catch up on FB when I get on the computer and neglect Eb - sorry. We are doing well, have some semblence of a "routine" going on and I don't feel too sleep depirved. Will have to read back through here and reply. I am wrestling a toddler for computer time!!!
Going out to dinner, so gotta go get ready! Ciao xx
kgbird34
18/07/2010, 09:14 PM
Hey girlies!
KALITA you poor thing that would have been scary to have DH so sick. So glad he is on the mend!
KATH nice to see you dropping in (and me too!) How are you not sleep deprived? I am!! Bells is refusing to sleep in the day most of the time and comes out 1000000 times at night too when we first put her in, this can go on for an hour or more. Is anyone else doing this, and what can I do about it!!? I do the old one two three smack thing and she just laughs at me. I am almost ready to KILL sometimes!!
LAM you GO GIRL with your nursing, keep sticking at it like you said and it will be done in no time. In the history of nursing thing did you learn about Sairy Gump? I think that was her name. She was a drunken midwife; I've never really forgotton that bit as I thought what the hell does this have to do with being a nurse, but there you go! Craziness.
TPM what did you decide about work? You can do it, you can do anything

. I would suggest you go into catering though cause you sound like a jolly good cooker!
LISA how's the jobs going, settling in? Apart from the old mole, that is.
Well I got out to the pokies for 2 hours today and it felt so good to get out of the house even though I didn't win! Ed has been a bit grumpy in the evenings the last couple of nights, joy! This, coupled with Bella getting out of bed all the time is driving me MAD. OOH the dulcet tones of crying! Okay must be off to check scrabble and get to bed xxx Rachel.
ToodlePopsMum
19/07/2010, 10:56 AM
hi girls,
just popping in to say hi. nothing much going on around here at the moment. just plodding along

great to see Winelover and Rach popping back in too!
kalita: hope dh is home now and is recovering. how scary for you though!
right. better go and get aley up and fed and joshy ready for swimming lessons. yay, school holidays over and our normal routine back! no more morning tea play dates - hopefully i can budge some of this winter blubber
kalita
19/07/2010, 02:48 PM
QUOTE (ToodlePopsMum @ 19/07/2010, 10:56 AM)

kalita: hope dh is home now and is recovering. how scary for you though!
Nope, he is still in hospital

The doctors decided they would do more tests today, they think it's viral pneumonia (read: they've ruled out everything else and that's what's left

) They said if his temperature is stable and not too high (he still has a low-grade fever) he can come home tomorrow.
rach: we sill have the baby gate on E's door or she would be the same

I am pretty lenient on her getting back up between 7 and 8 (7 is bedtime), but after 8 I put my foot down and she has to stay in there, she cries for a few mins then climbs back in bed and goes to sleep
winelover
19/07/2010, 10:30 PM
I still need to change that ticker!!
Kalita – can’t believe your hubby is still in hospital – hope he is OK. Remember men are the worst patients!!
Getting back out of bed – I am a “mean Mummy”. For both day and night sleeps I close the door until she is asleep. Then I open it up so she can get out. If we leave it open she comes out and says “Tayla finished sleeping now Mummy” Guess we are lucky she is a midget and can’t reach the handle to open the door!
Toodles – Yay for swimming lessons again. I briefly thought about it for Tayla – then thought…. I can’t be a*sed over winter! You are a good Mummy!
Rach – sounds like both our little princesses grew horns while we were in hospital having babies! As for the sleep deprivation thing, I usually go to bed at 10 (oops look at the time now) and some days I have an afternoon nap, when I can fluke the girls sleeping at the same time. Can’t complain, today I napped for nearly an hour!
I went back to pram pushers today. I didn’t go hard, and the trainer wouldn’t let me as I haven’t had my 6 week check up yet. Can anyone tell me what magical things are meant to happen at that 6 week check up??? From memory last time it was a non-event. Didn’t even have a pap smear last time like some people say you get.
kalita
19/07/2010, 10:57 PM
WL: We shut the baby gate on E, she can reach door handles. She's asleep in front of it right now and I don't know whether I will just put the doona over her or wake her up and put her back in bed.
After I had C I went to my 6 week check and my Dr said "Have you stopped bleeding" and "Are you having sex" to which I said yes, and he said go away and come back next year for a pap smear
*~Lisa~*
20/07/2010, 06:06 AM
Morning girls. Still reading but not much to say lately.
Working my butt off and I'm knackered most of the time.
I've got my first race with the gokart this weekend pretty nervous cause I've never done any type of racing but out last weekend practise I spun out a few times cause the kart just would go how we wanted and we changed so many things now it seems to go ok.
We currently dont have a bathroom floor. Bloody tossers who did renos on the house put down Masonite (cant spell) in the bathroom water has been leaking under it and rotted it away I stood on a tile getting into the shower and broke it so we pulled it up only to find the floor bored itself were rotting away so waiting for it to dry out and will do it properly. Bloody tools.
Better be off got morning shift starts in 30 mins.,
luckyaussiemum
20/07/2010, 11:41 AM
Hello ladies
Kalita Hope your DH is on the mend now.
Winelover How do you do pram pushers with a 2yo? and re 6 week check, what Kalita said and they ask what you are doing re birth-control, or want to do!
Rachel Is Bella in a big bed so you could have cot for Edward? I loathe the idea of putting Dempsey in a big bed as I know it will be on for young and old then. I am trying to do the nursing thing, handed in 1st assignment which is a plus! 6 years is so hard to get my head around though!
ME Groundhog day still here!
paddington13
20/07/2010, 12:41 PM
Hi!

Feeding every 2 hours...
B has tantrums

just as often, but still so beautiful at the same time

to everyone!
Paddy.x
luckyaussiemum
20/07/2010, 07:24 PM
Also Rach Yes learnt about the GAMP chick, doing history of nursing which I dont mind though kinda repetitive!
blessedwithblueandpink
21/07/2010, 04:05 PM
Hi All
I am still alive!!
Life is so busy with four I tell ya. Getting more sleep now thank God, Rian waking up twice now so 2 hrly feeds have gone - for the moment and aisling is sleeping loads better - she had worms, poor thing - yuck yuck yuck,
Had really nice school hols, great not to be out the door rushing etc for school drop and pick ups.
Paddy and Rach : I feel your pain with the sleep deprivation, but it does get better I promise!!!!!!! I better shut up now as I have not touched wood yet!
WL : You supermum or what! good for you back at pram pushers!! Tell us how was the birth, was it as I predicted!
TPM : Be great to catch up in the next little while, any excuse to get out of my building site.
Kalita : Hope your hubby is home by now and feeling better.
We are now almost up to roof level now with our renos, extension. All smooth so far thankfully and our builder is so nice. But I am sure something will go pearshaped before too long!
Have some very stressful news about my brother and his wife, she is 34 weeks preg and the baby might not survive. We are all devastated but holding out a glimmer of hope for their precious baby. I dont even talk about it IRL as it is way to upsetting and I am almost in denial.
Blessed
Hello to all I have missed
xxxx
kgbird34
23/07/2010, 02:44 PM
Good afternoon! What a lovely sunny looking day outside; and I haven't ventured out for hours! Too much sitting in front of scrabble, washing, feeding, chasing Bells etc. But it looks nice!
BLESSED so very sorry to hear of your news re your brother and sister in law; what is the problem? I do hope a miracle occurs for them

. Thank goodness your renos are progressing nicely! Another person with incredibly bad timing; you with your renos and me shifting! It certainly hasn't been fun.
PADS your life sounds about the same as mine! Just add in a school run here and nagging a 9 year old who fluctuates between perfect and hellish and that's my life. Hope Sam settles a bit soon and gives your boobies more than a 2 hourish break!
LAM ooh it was Gamp! I wonder what mark I got for that subject lol. Bells has been in a big bed for ages, before Ed was even conceived. Can't remember the exact age but she kept climbing out of her cot so there was no point keeping her in it. She was excellent in the bed at the start but getting out now. Her bedroom door in this house is a bit crooked and we can't shut it but we found out if you pull it hard it wedges and she can't open it so now we are locking her in and going in for a bit of reassurance if she cries for a while, then opening it when she goes to sleep like a couple of other lovelies have mentioned doing on here. It seems to be working to an extent, the problem is not quite as bad now!
LISA how's the bathroom floor going? Hope you have one!
KALITA how is your DH? Hope you are waiting on him hand and foot

We had our appointment to chat about DH's vasectomy yesterday and Bella was being her usual feral self in the doctors room, grabbing at things and climbing on chairs etc. I was trying to be serious and listen to the doctor but it was very distracting, and Ed was crying his lungs out. He was going through the complications and DH just said 'where do we sign up' or words to that effect, and I said 'we would go insane if we have any more children'. So he's booked in for 5 weeks time! How exciting. It's him for a change!! I don't think there's any danger of me getting pregnant before then; we are in the midst of a huge dry spell, much like the Sahara desert. Sleep is of paramount importance these days! Well must be off Bells is extremely quiet - aaaahhhhhhh! xx Rachel.
paddington13
23/07/2010, 09:43 PM
much like the Sahara desert
hopeforthefuture
26/07/2010, 03:22 PM
Hi all. So quiet in here. My fault too.
Kalita - I hope your DH is all better by now.
Lisa - I hope you haven't falled through your bathroom floor.
Rachel - Dry spell here to. Poor DH. Thank you to Annabelle for refusing to sleep in her own bed.
Padds - So understand the feeding 2 hourly nightmare. Driving me nuts. And hurting my nipples as well.
BWBP - I hope your neice/nephew surprises everyone and is born alive and well.
TPM - You always sound so busy with your kiddies. Such a good mummy.
Kath - Update your ticker woman! How do you do pram pushers with two?
LAM - You are good to be working, studying and having three kids. Superwoman.
AFM - Owen is fantastic overnight. The last two nights he has only had one feed. He slept for 10 1/2 hours straight last night. So nice. But during the day, he feeds every hour and a half, every two hours. Only ever naps for 40 minutes a time and only ever in his swing. So weird. He settles so easily in his cot overnight and sleeps so well. But during the day. He cat naps and only then in his swing.
Annabelle is gorgeous although she has developed into a very bossy girl. She is always telling me that she wants daddy, not me, to do things for her. It hurts my feelings. She is OK during the day when DH is at work, but when he is home she doesn't want anything to do with me.
I am trying to make myself a super duper organised domestic goddess. I am creating a schedule for household chores. I want to bake snacks for the family, rather than buying them. I also want to do a meal plan. I want everyone to eat healthier, have a cleaner, tidier house and save money. I wonder how long this kick will last?
See you all. Both kids about to wake up.
*~Lisa~*
26/07/2010, 04:52 PM
.I'm still alive just anyway.
Working hard being crook another chest infection really hard to breath but have to keep working. It gets so hot is some of the residents room you feel like your going to pass out even more so when your doing showers.
I got Ellie her new car seat today I really needed a second seat for DP car so he can do drop off and pick up. Dont like the seat at all but it was the only one in budget that fir the seat.
She has become miss bossy boots too if something dont go her way god help everyone in her path.
Become very hard when I've worked all day and she is so whingy when I pick her up and all I beg for is quite time.
So also does this "please please please please please please" until you give in its downright annoying because she is using her manners and you cant tell her off.
Just draining.
kgbird34
29/07/2010, 10:07 AM
It's not funny... how we don't talk anymore.
(Can you hear the song in your head?)
But it's true! Get on here and TALK!!!! Come on!! Hurry up!!! We can't just all let each other fade into obscurity, we have been friends for too long. So dust off your keyboards and GET TALKING. NOW. Said in a strict mother tone. xx me.
hopeforthefuture
29/07/2010, 12:32 PM
Yes Boss!
I have posted the cutest video of Owen on FB. I sat Owen up against some cushio s to take photos of him. And whenever I called his name, he waved his head from side to side to side. So funny! He is growing up so fast. He is huge! Short and fat. The opposite of Annabelle.
Annabelle makes me laugh all the time. She is such a little comedian.
I am starting to hate BF. He goes through days of attaching wrong and kills my nipples. He goes through days of feeding hour and halfly. But when it is right, it is so easy, so I don't want to give up.
Good enough Rachel?
winelover
29/07/2010, 02:11 PM
lol bossy Rach!!
Blessed - I will share my birth details when I get some time (lol lol lol)
Hope - woot woot your domestic goddess plans. Can you please share your details when you work it out. Tell us how you do it! Pram pushers with 2 is def harder work pushing. I have a valco 3 wheeler jogger pram - now it has a toddler seat attached to the front. I just have to make sure I put gloves and beanie on Tayla. I didn't the first day and her hands were freezing afterwards. She loves riding "up front" and being a sticky beak.
Hello other lovelies - sorry I haven't been here much. I tend to do facebook, then a child seems to want my attention.
Jacinta had her needles today. My checkup is tomorrow. I have to remember to ask them about my "irregular heartbeat" that the nurses discovered doing my obs when I was in maternity. Although the ECG machine gave me the all clear.
My new TV 2pm addiction is Waterloo Rd on the ABC. It's on now, so gotta go
KAth xx
winelover
29/07/2010, 02:14 PM
Ta- Dah!! Old ticker deleted!!
Will organise something new later....... when I have time!! lol lol
*~Lisa~*
29/07/2010, 03:35 PM
Well I have news!
My dog had puppies today! So far we are sitting on 4 but there is more to come will keep you informed.
So far all black too which is a bugger I really want a red one.
Mum is black Staffy Dad is Red Cavalier king charles yeah an odd mix and it was an accident I thought Cleo was off heat before bring Rupert back but no 2 days later we caught them in the act so we knew pups were coming.
Feeling much better with my chest infecting the cough it being helpful now.
Dp finishes up his last day at work tomorrow his been there 10 yrs will be a hard sad day for him.
Better go back to puppy watching.
*~Lisa~*
29/07/2010, 03:48 PM
Arrival of Puppy No.5
black