The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 55

Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=801929

themelster
GOLD
Fabulous
Congratulations Bec, Dave and Ethan on the arrival of Hannah. wub.gif
spersephone
Congratulations Bec on Hannah - as you can see, I love the name too!

Actually, my signature doesn't have the girls' full names in it so you can't see!

They are Elisabeth Gwendoline and Katherine Hannah! I think it's a beautiful name.
1kathryn
Morning all,

Adam's having the day off work. Coming down with the flu he couldn't get up when he's alarm went off. Cameron was a cheeky Monkey last night! Tried for an hour to get him to sleep in his cot, I went out in the lounge room while he was still crying. Adam got up and brought Cameron out to the lounge room and said, "why don't you bring him in with us". With that Cameron grinned from ear to ear lol. Was to tired to say no lol.
Hope everyone has a beautiful day!!

Once again congrats Bec and family for the safe arrival of Hannah Victoria!!! Can't wait to see pics. original.gif
~Annika~
Bec, CONGRATULATIONS to you on the safe arrival of Hannah!!! You said you got a bad tare so that means you got to experience the VBAC yeh? Hope it will all heal really quickly for you! All the best with getting to know your new little girl and settling in together! Can't wait to see pictures!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I remember with Bryce I got a slight graze but not enough to need stiches, thankfully. It was due to the midwife needing to unwedge the umbilical cord from between Bryce's shoulder and me so he could come out after being stuck and jammed like that for a while. They called that a shoulder dystosia. He needed suction and oxygen after he came out because the umbilical cord had been clamped between us and cutting off his oxygen supply.
meeskamouska
Thanks for those links Mands. Very helpful.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Today was great. Funniest thing happened out at the shops. Adam ducked into the shops to get a few things so Cameron and I stayed in the car. Put P!nk on and "So What" came on and I started singing it. Cameron fell asleep lol. And for two hours!!!!!

Went to the chiro this arvo for Cameron and I and then went to the gym. The child minder said he wouldn't shut up. original.gif

Annika- Wow that must have been scary with Bryce!
bec8112
Hi all! Thanks for all the congrats. It's still pretty surreal.

Hannah was a sleepy baby the first night but was awake alot more last night but just slept for 4 hrs which was great! She seems to be feeding fine so fingers crossed my milk comes in and I can continue this BF journey!

Not sure who got the closest guess with date and weight but 3.44kgs or 7lb 6oz was not huge like they wee saying at one stage. Very glad I stuck to the VBAC idea. Contractions started at 6am and she was born at 4.45pm so not long at all. My waters broke in the middle of a contraction af about 3.45pm and then things got heaps more intense and started pushing at 4pm. I had some gas for about half an hour before pushing started and that's it, still in amazement I did so well managing the pain! The tear sucks but 1000 times better than a c-section surgery.

Will try and pop in when I can, phone service is pretty patchy.
Small Potatoes
Bec Once again contrats. Sounds like you handled the pain really well. Sometimes milk doesn't come in for 5 days and in my case with Will 2 weeks. I can recommend some great supplements and a medical drug that can help with the milk so let me know if you need any info.

Kathyrn That is funny he fell asleep with P!NK. My eldest has always had an affinity for the Tragically Hip.

Nat I have a couple more too if you would like them.

Annika I didn't no that about Bryce's birth.

Kindy day today - YAY
bec8112
Mands - did will and olly loose alot of weight with your milk coming in later? I would love the name of the supplements. I took a drug when trying to BF Ethan and cannot remember the name. I have also heard good things on the lactation cookies :-) might need to make those too!
Small Potatoes
Bec Will didn't as he got put onto formula on about day 3. Olly did he lost about double what they like to see, but on the last day my milk came in and he was just below the minimum weight he needed to be for discharge so they let us go anyway.

The medication is motillium and the herbs are blessed thistle and fenugreek. Get Dave to go to the health food shop for the two herbs and ask your DR for the motillium. I said that I needed it last time and I got milk with in 24 hours of taking it so they put me straight on as soon as I asked this time. Also 1 night I had Olly sleep in the bed with me and he basically was on and off the breast all night and the next day I had milk everywhere (plus I had been on the motillium for about 24 hours).
themelster
Bec - I am SO proud of you! What an achievement! I had a bad tear with Tom too, that required 40 minutes and 3 layers of stitches but it healed really well and after about day 3 or 4 wasn't painful at all. It will heal quickly. As for breastfeeding, I second the fenugreek. And lots of it. Plus oats. I would hold off on the Motillium though unless you need it. It can cause anxiety and has other side effects so if you don't really need it, maybe hold off. I often wonder if it was a contriubuting factor in my anxiety, which coincidentally kicked in when I started taking it. Could just be coincidence though.

Kindy day here too. LOVE it. Cleaning the house and buying tiles so nothing very exciting.
bec8112
Thanks mel! I have yet to do a #2 which is freaking me out a bit! Nice to hear you healed up quickly, will be great when there is no pain!

Why did BF not work with Tom again? I am freaking out about it already, she is sleeping heaps and not waking up much. Midwife recommended expressing with a pump every 3 hours and also putting her on whenever she is awake! Also told me not to worry too much as she is pooing heaps and not a small baby! I have forgotten what's it's like having a newborn to stress about!
themelster
Hi Bec - BF didn't work for us as I had a PPH and list almost 2L of blood and said no to a transfusion. Meant my body was too busy making blood to bother with milk! My own fault. I agree with expressing every 3 hours although better still have her feed as much as possible. The more milk out the more your body will produce.

As for doing a #2 - I was really nervous too but it was a non-event. No problem at all. Just support your perenium with your hand. Also sitting in a shallow salty bath helps.
meeskamouska
Wow Bec - everything sounds like it went so well. Try to not stress with the milk. Mine didn't come in ill day5. Just do what Mands said & keep putting her on the breast. Perenium tears...ouch...had nasty nasty tears with all 3 of mine. Support the stitches with loo paper or a warm washer or something when you need to do it. It'll happen eventually & all will b ok. How lovely...a baby!!!!!

Mands - I put an order in for a few things today. Got the goatsmilk melt & pour too. Might need some tips when it comes. Wanted to get the wooden soap mould & cutter but gee my hobby budget is blowing out majorly ATM....lol. Thank goodness I do the banking & not DH... ohmy.gif

Had the best day out today. My mum shouted me the Baby Bjorn travel cot for CR. it was $400!!. I've never seen such an awesome travel cot/portacot before. Its worth every cent. I'm so thankful to her cause I never would of spent that much. She just wanted CR to be able to sleep comfortable whilst she was away....nice...

BBL.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Had a fabulous day at work. Adam had the day off work he's got Tonsilitis. sad.gif Having tomorrow off too. Shame I'm working but at least he gets the house to himself cos Cameron is in daycare. Cameron has so much energy right now its unbelievable how much get up and go his got!!!!

Nat- That's so sweet of your mum to buy the travelcot. original.gif Great you had a wonderful day, you deserve it!

Bec- Sounds like you have a wonderful midwife. original.gif I'm sure Hannah will tell you what she wants. Wow Bec you did do well managing the pain and the labour doesn't sound too long at all, well done. original.gif

Mands- How did Kindy go today?

Mel- How did Kindy go?
aims79
Hello Ladies,
I've been lurking on and off the last few weeks, hope you don't mind me dropping in.

Had to say congrats to Bec! well done on your VBAC and for your BF-ing too, give your milk a few days and don't hesitate to call the ABA if you have any questions. the helpline is 24 hours and is manned with trained volunteers who are all Mums. 1800 686 2 686. Congrats again!

I'll try and get in more regularly, but life with work and a toddler seems to moving at a very fast pace.

Aims
DylMah
Congratulations Bec on the birth of Hannah, and congratulations on your vbac!
meeskamouska
Morning Girls.
Just a quickie ..should be getting the girls up.
Hi Aims - hope you can drop by more often...I miss chatting with u.
Kathryn - no good on the tonsilitis.
Hi Dylmah.

CR had a really bad night. I didn't start her on the AB's the other wek cause she came really good but last night she went down hill majorly. Weird how she was healthy & fine for an entire week but now worse than ever. So started her on the AB's. Hope fuly by tonight she'll be a bit better. Horrid temps, broncular coughing. I felt terrible for not giving her the course of AB's...anyway...what do u do... she's on them now. I really hate AB's.

Been busy setting up a shopping cart..... wow....talk about a brain strain. Getting there though. Mands - I went with pappashop. I've had to transfer a domain & all. Just setting up shabbybums to start. I used one of their templates to get started with.

Hope everyone is well.

Bec - hope you had a good night with Hannah. Am thinking of you. Hows Ethan going without the Mumma bear????
Fabulous
Bec- I hope things are going well with your new little miss. Sounds like you had a pretty good labour aside from the tear. You should be really proud of yourself. With my eldest I had an episiotomy which is the equivalent of a 2nd degree tear. I'm still p*ssed off about it to this day because I found out after the event that everything was actually looking fine down there with no signs of tearing and that it only happened because my labour had gone longer than the hospitals flucking time limits. It all healed up pretty quickly and I'm sure yours will too. For the next 4 births I had no tears.

Nat- poor CR. That website stuff sounds confusing. I would have to pay somebody to do it if it was me. How nice of your mum, it must be a ripper of a travel cot for that price. biggrin.gif
bec8112
Ros - that is terrible about your birth of your first! So annoying how many times you hear things like this. We will not be going for any more kids so that is my birthing done.

Nat- how is CR now? Yeah on the cot for your holiday, we bought a Phil and teds travel cot which folds up really small. It is great for travelling. I will have to check out your site again when I am home.

Aims - hi! Thanks for the advice on BF'ing.

As for us - we are all good, Hannah seems to be doing well. Was weighed today and down to 3.118kgs which is ok. I am feeding her every 3 hours but no milk yet! Boobies are tender so hopefully means it's on the way! I am going home tomorrow morning which will be good, my parents also get back from Europe tomorrow too! Ethan seems to be going ok without me at home. Dave is off until tues next week so will be good getting some help when I go home!

That's all from me at the moment, hopefully post more when at home.

1kathryn
Evening all,

Had a hectic but good day at work. Had another full night sleep so that helped. original.gif Felt so light headed at work not sure what's wrong, don't feel too bad now very lethargic though. Adam is having tomorrow off work, he's worse and has a fever. sad.gif Can't believe he did two loads of washing for me!!! But geez it was a help. original.gif
Going to the gym tomorrow morning and getting my new Zumba clothes. biggrin.gif Catching up with a friend and two of her kiddies afterwards which will be lovely. Then seeing mum to celebrate finishing uni for the semester. original.gif

Bec- I'm sure your milk will come in soon. Wonderful Hannah and you are doing so well. And Ethan is coping well without mumma bear. original.gif Bet your looking forward to your parents coming home. original.gif

Nat- Hope CR is better soon. I don't like ABs or any medicine either but it definitely has its place. original.gif

Hi everyone else biggrin.gif
themelster
Hi ladies, sorry I haven't been around much, I've been busy trying to organise a holiday to Bali next year.

Bec - bet you are looking forward to getting home! I'm sure your milk will come in soon. Have you managed a no.2 yet???? LOL. I hope it went smoothly!

Kathryn - I hope you get another good nights sleep tonight and your hubby feels better soon too! You'll have to let us know how Zumba goes! I'd love to give it a try but sadly have given up my gym membership. I just run now. I should do some weights too - but that bores me.

Nat - how are you going? When do you leave again? Soon? End of July? I know you've told me but I can't remember. The only reason we can afford a villa is because it is split between 8 adults. It's still expensive though. How is CR doing? Don't be hard on yourself for not starting the AB's earlier - who can know these things?

Ros - I had an episiotomy too, and then tore from that. Who knows whether I really needed it or not. All I know is that I was pushing for AGES (3 hours) and 2 pushes after the episiotomy, Tom came out.

Sorry, that's all from me. I'm buggered and want to go finish my book before bed.

Ciao for now!
Alis Volat Propiis
Bec - although BFing for Nadia and I proved to be very successful it was still something we both had to work at to get right. I disagree with the 'natural', 'painless' and 'easy' ideals attached to it. For me in the first few days there was nothing natural or easy about attaching a little mini dyson vaccum cleaner to my nipple and it certainly wasnt painless. Luckily I saw a fantastic LC in hospital the day I checked out and she helped me with positioning which I personally believe makes a big difference. It is worth a chat with one of them to let them check out your equipment and Hannah's mouth and positioning. Then it is practice, practice, practice. My only other piece of advice is that if you are hydrated and eating well the best tool for getting your milk to come in and developing a good supply is Hannah. As you are able keep putting her on as often as she will take it, and perhaps wake her up if she has slept for longer than 4 hours. Aims had soem good advice recommending the ABA helpline and I myself called them a few times and they were a wealth of knowledge and support. Thinking of you both original.gif

Nat - I hope CR gets better soon. Yay on your mum getting you a good travel cot. We got N the P&T Traveller cot and took it to Romania in our luggage. It only weighs 2 kgs and can be used till they are 3! We take it camping, to my parents etc. Soooooooooooooooooo easy. Cant be long till your holidays now. I really loved my holiday to Bali. I am still interested in the chenille for N if you can spare time to link me or send me piccies.

Kathryn - hope you are feeling better this evening. Is your BP ok? Have you had your iron levels checked lately. Might be worth a visit to your GP to get a full checkover after you have lost all this weight.

Hi Mel, Mands, Ros, Georgia, Annika, AmyG waves.gif

I would write a reply to you all but I am exhausted and will be getting up at 4am to watch the Aussie game tomorrow morning, so early to bed for me.

AFM - I have my 36 week appt at the hospy tomorrow with the OB. Apparently new hospital protocol is to offer/persuade most pg women to have the Strep B swab but I am undecided about it. Today I had my second pg yoga class and it was great! Then I had lunch with a GF and afterwards a fantastic pg massage that my beautiful little sister bought for me. I nearly fell asleep both in yoga and the massage again. The massage was done side lying and i must say i almost prefer that for a normal massage also as you dont get all that facial congestion when you lie on your tummy. I must say that I am loving having a day without N... I am continuing her 2 days a week in daycare till this bub is here and we are settled and then might drop her to one day.

Take care,

Sharna
1kathryn
Sharna- Think I'll take you up on your suggestions thanks. original.gif I had low iron when pg with Cameron so it is definitely worth looking into. My BP is usually on the lower end so that might be an issue as well. Your day sounds wonderful! It's great your enjoying your pg yoga and that your massage was very relaxing. original.gif I can't believe your 36weeks pg that time has flown!

Mel- Another good night sleep would be great. Adam doesn't seem to bad now and with Cameron and I being out tomorrow it gives Adam some more rest time. original.gif Yeah I've been doing Zumba for a while now its UNREAL!!!! Fantastic workout can't recommend it enough. What are you reading?
bec8112
Sharna - thanks do much for your post, nice to hear about your mini dyson at the beginning of BF ! Yeah I agree about the pain bit, they tell you it should not be painful but I am sorry having something sucking on my nipples is not pain free! I think I must have sensitive nipples too as even before being preg with Ethan sometimes Dave would hurt them! Sorry if TMI!

Cannot believe you are almost ready to have your bub! What's your due date? I need to have a guess at it and weight and sex! How exciting for you!

Kathryn - all your talk about zumba has me inspired to want to exercise ! Might just have to stick with walking for a little while though.

AFM - think my milk is coming in, Hannah is feeding more and seems to be sucking more intensely if that makes sense. We are hopefully going home tomorrow, one midwife was concerned about jaundice but Ethan was the same when he was born and he was fine, think it's just their skin tone. Oh well little miss is asleep so I should be doing the same!
Alis Volat Propiis
Hi Nat, I see you there!

Bec - my EDD is 21st July. If it helps N was 3.6kgs and 10 days overdue original.gif Hope all is going well with Hannah. Did you go home?

36 wk appt - all went well. My iron and HB are still low and I am back on the tabs to try to boost it all up pre-delivery. Just in case I have a moderate bleed. I just dont have any reserves at the moment which is kinda scary as I would, like Mel, refuse a transfusion unless my Hb hit a certain number. Our director of ICU (where I work) has likened unnecessary blood transfusions to having anal sex with a stranger... you just cant be sure of what you might get. Sorry if that is TMI but the analogy has stuck with me for the longest time. I truly believe in life threatening situations it is absolutely necessary but if given the choice to let me body recover on its own I would choose not to have one. Not sure where that little rant came from but there you go.

On and BTW - what is up with Julia Gillard being our new PM???? I must be hiding under a rock. I knew there was perhaps a leadership challenge going to happen.... but KRudd just stepped down? Am a little bit in shock. Could be that it is too much bad news on the back of the socceroos not making it through to the round of 16 Tounge1.gif (i got up to watch the game)

BBL if i can. Bathtime here and I have to rescue N from her over enthusiastic grandparents.

Sharna
meeskamouska
Mel - we leave on the 11th. About 2 1/2 weeks now. I'm in two minds with a villa..... more space & more like a house but...with my family I need quiet time & often need space away from them...they do my head in!!! My mum...hmmmmm ohmy.gif ohmy.gif So for me I think I'm happy to have seperate rooms. How do you feel about leaving Tom with a nanny OS????? Will u do that???? Getting pretty excited now. Got our money , passports, transfers organised...everything is pretty much done.

Bec - CR had a little jaundice. The hospy said the milk will push it out..... feeding feeding feeding they said. & no more than 5 hours in between feeds till she pinked up a bit...LOL. Some babies are just a litle more browned skin than others though.

Sharna - I've got a cart set up will upload some items & I'll let you know ASAP. You'll have to excuse any errors on there though...its a work in progress...lol. Hows it going with the IL's?????
Hope your getting the rest u need. Has N been away from you for long before?? How do u think she'll go when u go into hospital???

Kathryn - any chance of a BFP going on with u?????? wink.gif wink.gif

Ros - did u end up finding a DC u liked???

Fluffy mail came ... a Bitti Boo. I like their colours. Its a great looking nappy. Will give it a run tonight I think...feeling brave... will use a cover i have there. Anyone use fleece covers of a night...or have used in the past???? comments???

OWWWWWWW.....CR just said thankyou for the very first time....I KNEW she could say it!!! Passed her a piece of paper & she said it. Nice.

Your quiet Mands..... busy no doubt with web stuff. Hope your business is going good for you. You've got a great thing going on there.
Small Potatoes
Hi there

I have been reading just not posting. Busy busy with end of financial year. Looks like our Canada holiday is going to be pushed forward by 9 months to 8 weeks time, so trying to sort out Olly on staff travel and getting a medical certificate for Will's CD to make sure he gets GF meal. Also all our really cold weather stuff is in storage.

BBS
themelster
Bec - Are you home yet? How is everything going? Tom had slight jaundice too. It righted itself on it's own once we started comp feeding (not saying you should do this! It was just that my milk wasn't enough to flush the jaundice out).

Sharna - not long now!!! I like your anology about the blood transfusions! LOL. I had one in the end. I gave it every chance to pick back up, fefol etc, but they just kept dropping. And in the end, I kind of wish I'd done it sooner as it may have made a difference to my breastfeeding journey. Oh well, no point wondering what if. I even ended up on the phone to Blood Bank Australia talking statistics etc. How are the inlaws going????

Nat - No, I probably won't leave Tom with the nanny. We'll just have her there to help entertain the kids whilst we laxing poolside biggrin.gif Apparently they play games with them and keep them busy etc. Just an extra pair of eyes and ears. Will you wash the Bitty Boo first? I'd just worry about absorbency overnight without a couple of washes first. Let us know how you get on. I used a wool cover over Tom's night nappy. I've since sold it on.

Kathryn, I'm reading "The girl with the Dragon Tattoo". Nearly finished it.

Mands, I finally got around to sending your nappy today. I am so, so, so sorry it took me so long.

How is everyone else?

I just ate the leftovers of the most yummy meal - Chicken and Barley soup. Divine! And so easy! Even Tom ate it! Mind you, I had to sit him in front of Dora and spoon feed it to him blush.gif But still, he ate it.
Small Potatoes
Mel No probs about the parcel. I put Will in front of the TV all the time to get him to eat his food.
themelster
So glad I'm not the only one Mands!

I have a question around disipline - how do you dish it out? Tom is getting rather, err, wilfull.... I try a stern voice no, with the reason why, but he just ignores me. If I take him away from the situation, he will go right back to it. And now he's started the "mine, mine, mine" (the things they learn at kindy rolleyes.gif ) and tantrums, which I try and ignore. It's mostly the ignoring when I ask him not to do something. What do I do then? I'd love some advice.
themelster
Oh, forgot to say, sharna, no - you've not been living under a rock. It all happened so fast!! What a spin. I've never been a Rudd fan, but I kind if feel sorry for him. What a way to go!
meeskamouska
Mel - so impatient here...I washed & tumbled dried the bittiboo during the day...kekekeke. I gave it a big long wash with some other stuff. CR is all tucked up in bed with it on now. I put in a microfleece liner. I think the bittiboo alone will be enough absorbency for her. Its a nice nappy!!! I had gone off itis but the bittiboos are lushous!! Just hate the made in china thing mostly.
Disipline...I can't even spell it right let alone get it right...LOL. Its such a tough one. CR is willfill. I think all babes are. They need to learn right from wrong & the only way to do that is to make mistakes IMO. Smacking.... the only time I smack, & its ever so lightly, is if she won't stay still on the change table. I refuse to get no 2 everywhere or be kicked & its downright dangerous to stand up on the table or roll or twist for that matter....you get the picture....LOL.
I mainly chastise (spel) to tell her right from wrong. I will however place her in her cot if she's being melodramatic. I use diversion alot!!! what else???? thats about it for us.
Every family will be different depending on how they were brought up I reckon.

Nice to see you Mands - your trip sounds great.....8 weeks is so close. Someone told me that you can take a pram on board.... is that true??? Can't imagine it is. I might be wrong but I said they were wrong... As far as I knew you can take 2 bulky items for infants...checked in. Any thoughts...

Fabulous
Mands- oooh how exciting for you guys. I guess that means that you will also be able to TTC earlier. How long are you going away for?

Nat- Looking at DC is at the bottom of my long line of stuff that I need to do. You must be so excited about your trip. Whereabouts are you staying in Bali? I used woollies most of the time but have also used mazalicious fleece covers night and day. She sells on WAHMNAPS. It would be pretty cheap and easy to make your own fleece covers or even flongies (long fleece pants.

Mel- I'm a naughty mama and haven't bothered with discipline yet. It just seems too hard at the moment. Jack has started screaming a lot lately and his tantrums have really picked up.

Sharna- do you mean that transfusions are risky because of the 3 month window period?

Kathryn- Zumba sounds really good. original.gif

Bec- How is the feeding going? I can't say that I ever felt pain although my nipples had a very "worked out" feel to them. Chelsea had some jaundice and they said to make sure that she spent some time near a window because light helps to get rid of jaundice, as well as the regular breastfeeds.
meeskamouska
Ros - thanks for the fleece info. Was thinkng of making some flongies. Before i did I wanted to see how others found the fleece. I'm so allergic to wool so wanted to avoid it with CR. So the fleece is waterproof enough do u think to go over my bamboo fitteds???? I'm so not night nappy trained...getting there though.

Sharna - OK...uploaded some stuff to here www.shabbybums.com it probably won't link so you'll have to cut & paste the link. There's a few dresses I put up. I just luuuvvvvv the dusty pink one. Hope it looks ok & functions properly. Seems to be working for me. No pressure to buy.

Gotta go to bed...I'm buggered.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Had a very relaxing day but still feel exhausted! Went to the gym this morning and picked up my awesome new Zumba clothes. Caught up with a friend after with her two kiddies over coffee. Then had lunch with mum. Cameron and I came home about 3pm. Went out late night shopping with Adam and Cameron did a bit of window shopping for present ideas for Cameron. Adam saw the GP and he's had more blood tests that hopefully will get results tomorrow for. GP thinks it may be Glandular Fever. sad.gif

Tomorrow we've got swimming lessons in the morning. Going to Zumba tomorrow night and that's about it.

Ceres- Zumba is brilliant I have a great time. biggrin.gif

Mel- Good luck with the discipline I find it tough to work out whats best and everyone will tell you whats the right and wrong way to go about it. Very fortunate with Cameron so far when I use a loud stern voice it seems to do the trick. What's the book about?

Mands- Wow how exciting the time will fly by! Bet your ecstatic. original.gif

Nat- Pardon my ignorance but what's BFP? Yay on the fluffy mail. original.gif original.gif Good luck with the nappy tonight! Fantastic CR said thank you, you must be a proud mummy. original.gif

Bec- Walking is fabulous exercise, especially after having a bub. original.gif But its wonderful to hear I've inspired you to exercise. I've actually been thinking about going to Tafe and becoming a fitness and Zumba instructor. One trainer in particular motivated me to loose a lot of excess weight so I want to do that for someone else. Great your milk looks like its coming in. original.gif

Sharna- Yay on your 36wk appointment going well. Shame about your iron and BP being low, hope the tablets work quickly. original.gif

Fabulous
Nat- you just need to make them with 2 layers of fleece. I have some fleece covers that I have been planning on giving away in the next few weeks. They are girly so that's why I want to get rid of them. I could pop one in an envelope for you. Just PM me your address if you would like one.
Small Potatoes
Kathryn Sounds like a good day. Hope Adams BT results are okay.

Nat the site looks great.

Ros I can't wait. We are going for just over 3 weeks. I will need some tips from you on keeping Olly occupied on the long flight over. We are soon going to start making their bed time and wake time earlier each couple ofdays to get them used to it. Haven't asked DH about TTC yet as he is too stressed about the holiday. He likes to have months and months of planning and researching every last detail. He even does up spread sheets of our budgets based on different exchange rates ohmy.gif .

Mel i time out the boys. With Will as he is older he goes into the bath room where there are no toys, and Olly goes into the high chair near us. I count to 3 and if they haven't complied by then it is time out. I used to do stop and move Olly away but now that discipline just doesn't work on him any more.

meeskamouska
Ros -thankyou. I'll pm you my addy. I appreciate that.

Mands - I didn't realise how easy a cart was. I seriously thought the way I was doing charleebell was how it was done & you incorporate the cart somehow....... templates!!...derr to me...who'd of thought there was such a thing. Anyway....I'm on it now.
I had a chuckle at the spreadsheets....kekeke.

Kathryn - bfp=big fat positive. Just you were saying you felt dizzy, sick etc......??

Charlees nappy didn't leak all night. It was mighty full I can tell you but it didn't leak. I put one of my new pocket nappy covers over it. It had a cotton outer...no leaks at all!!. Feeling pretty happy bout that. The ultimate test for a cotton outer cover...hehe. Think I've figued out the nack of cotton outers with no leaking.
The bittiboo fits well, hold the wee...only thing I didn't like is how hard it got. Wish bamboo wouldn't do that. I hate it when boosters go so hard like that. I'm loving microfibre for that reason ATM..it stays soft in the nappy when its wet.

Enjoy your day girls.
bec8112
Hi all! Well we came yesterday and survived the first night! Hannah is feeding all the time! 2-3hourly last night and probably 1-2hourly thus morning! I know she is getting milk now because I can see it! Hopefully my supply keeps up with her. She weighed in at 3080g leaving hospital which was just over the 10% loss.

Ethan slept all night and did not stir with Hannah's waking up.

Hannah is in her first cloth nappy today, a newborn size BBH magicall! It's so cute, will try remember to take a photo!

Mel - disipline is something we really need to start on here too! I might do want mands suggests of putting Ethan in his highchair.

Mands - how exciting about your holiday! Where are you going in Canada? I love that country! Ha ha ha on hubby doing spreadsheets! Did you get my email the other day about changes to my order? I still need to finalize it with you.

Sorry no more time, got to get Hannah into bed and have a shower!
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Cameron had fun at swimming lessons this morning. Has just woken from a two hour sleep. original.gif Adam is cleaning his mountain bike so is feeling much better. He doesn't have Glandular Fever it is Tonsilitis.

Bec- Well done on your first night going well. Sounds like Hannah is doing splendidly!!! I'm sure your supply will keep up with Hannah's demand. original.gif Fantastic that Ethan slept through as well, bet that was a load off your mind. original.gif

Nat- lol thanks for telling me would never have guessed that. I'd be surprised if I was but delighted at the same time. original.gif Fabulous the nappies are doing so well and no leakage great!

Mands- It's been a great day so far. original.gif Adam was happy with his results and feeling much better. original.gif

Alis Volat Propiis
You girls are chatty!!

So nice to have so much to read over.

Mands - Oh Canada! (haha) I have only been there once for Christmas/NYE and skiing. It was gorgeous. Hope you get everything organised to have a great time away. I chuckled at your hubbys obsession with organisation... that is me in our family. I plan everything down to the last detail and take a notebook with me with all my notes in it. I spent months researching and breaking down our last big trip pre-Nadia as that was 4mths around-the-world.

Mel - re: discipline. I use a form of time out for N. If she is being willfull/cheeky and it is behaviour that is going against my direction, ie dont touch the oven, mummy said no going in the pantry helping yourself to biccies etc, then i sit her down against a wall... not in a corner, and leave her there for a minute or so. She is often shocked enough by my abrupt reaction that she cries a little. I then get down on her level (thanks SuperNanny) and explain why what she did was not right. She then says sorry mummy, gets a cuddle and we move onto something else. Distraction still works to a point with N. Good luck!

Nat - ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I love the Buttery Yellow Dress and the Dusty pink one. I will get both if that is ok. One for Annika (Kristi's little girl) and the other for N. Do you want me to order through the site, or DD your account like last time? Good to hear the itti worked well for you overnight.

Kathryn - perhaps doing your PT studies might be a new career avenue for you. You certainly would be an inspiration to your clients. I had a PT when I lost my weight and she was so motivating and encouraging. I know it would have taken me longer if I didnt have her spurring me on each week.

Ros - the screening of donated blood as you pointed out is reliant on the donor's honesty regarding their lifestyle within the most recent time prior to donation. However ALL donated blood is thoroughly screened prior to being passed on for use and the risk of exposure is extremely small. There are also much greater risks of having bleeding/clotting reactions to blood transfusions as well as anaphylactic reactions and bacterial infections. I would not hesitate in accepting a blood transfusion for myself or any member of my family if it was absolutely needed. In the case of a transfusion post mild/mod PPH or similar in a young, fit healthy person there are for/against reasons to allow the body time to build its levels back up.

Bec - sounds like you and Hannah are doing really well original.gif How is Ethan reacting to his little sister? Hope you get plenty of rest when you can.

Mel - I am still a bit in shock regaring this whole JG as PM thing. I actually take our government and their policies quite seriously and love being able to vote. Have been reading all the news stuff voraciously to try to catch up. Nerdy much? lol

AFM - I had a nice morning with N. Left the in-laws at home so I could do a few things quickly. Tomorrow we are having a BBQ with a few friends and Dan's mum gave me a list of things she wanted. That meant hitting 5 different deli's to get the ingredients.

Lol, Zumba ad on tv now, making me feel guilty about thinking about the icecream I am just about to eat!!!

Sharna

1kathryn
Sharna- Yeah I've been thinking about PT would be a great start and very rewarding. original.gif It does make a difference when there's someone there encouraging you so much. Your day sounds lovely. original.gif N must have coped well with getting in and out of the car. original.gif Wow 5 deli's is a lot. Don't worry about feeling guilty about ice-cream, after Zumba tonight I'm picking up Pizza lol.
meeskamouska
Sharna - PM'd you.
bec8112
Hi all, just a quick check in. We are all doing good! Ethan has slept in until 8am for the last 2 mornings, and no wake ups when Hannah wakes up.

Home maternity from the hospital came this morning and Hannah has put on 130gms since we left hospital, I am happy about that. Must mean my milk is good at the moment!

Sharna - Ethan is good with Hannah, if she cries in her bedroom he goes to check on her. He kisses her on the head to say hi and bye.

Oh well that's all from me at the moment.
~Annika~
Heya, been around a bit ph34r.gif but feeling a bit low atm as I've gone off the pill and been tapering off my ADs for my pnd, but hanging in there. Just really wanna get off all meds so I can feel like my old self again and have half a chance at losing some weight! Take care all, and hope you're having a lovely weekend!!! original.gif
bec8112
Annika - Big hug for you! Good luck coming off all your meds, remember come in here and vent/chat about anything if you need to. I am going to start my eating healthy and regular exercise now Hannah is born! Got a friend's wedding in 10 weeks so need to shape up!

Gave Hannah her first bath at home today, she does not really like them! Got her in a newborn size pumpkin patch suit and it's really baggy on her! So cute!

Sharna - my guess for your bub is 4 days over your due date, girl and 7lb4oz.
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Have had a very relaxing day so far. Had pancakes for breakfast, went out looking at a few shops. Had a lovely coffee and got stuff in for tea so we don't have to go out again. original.gif

Bec- Hannah is doing so well with feeding and putting on weight! Wonderful that Ethan is doing so well with Hannah, must be a load off your mind. original.gif Good luck getting into shape for the wedding, I'm sure you'll look fabulous. original.gif We were so lucky that Cameron loved the water from day dot! So cute about the newborn Pumpkin Patch hanging off Hannah.

Annika- I agree with Bec come in whenever you want to chat or vent. Good luck with cutting down on your meds. Hope you have a lovely weekend too sweetie! original.gif

Hi everyone hope your having a great day. biggrin.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.