The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 55

Pages: 1, 2, 3
bec8112
OMG Hannah is a nightmare tonight/this morning! Feeding all the time and crying whenever not attached to me! Dave keeps thinking it's something I ate affecting her tummy but I have no idea! I took her to bed with me and she slept for about 2 hours not feeding so maybe it's just she likes to be close?? She has not Bern in her bassinet since 7pm last night and it's now close to 5am!!!! When she attaches it seems to be mostly comfort sucking! Not even sure there would be any milk cause she is on there all the time!

It is all so different this time that I have no idea what else to try!

It's dave's 30th birthday tomorrow and I feel terrible cause I have not had a chance to get him anything. Think we are going to go out for lunch if Hannah stops this terrible pattern.

Hi to everyone!

Sorry for the whinge post!
Fabulous
Morning all,

Bec- you poor thing you must be so tired. I'm sure Dave won't care if you don't buy him anything, you have just given him a beautiful baby. wub.gif It sounds like typical newborn behaviour to me. I think most little bubbas want to comfort suck and be close to their mama or at least a warm pair of arms. I ended up co-sleeping with my younger kiddies when they were newborns because it was the only way that I could get any sleep otherwise I would have dropped dead from exhaustion. We gradually weaned them out of co-sleeping as they got older and they were back in their cots by 3 or so months. I hope today is a better day. It sounds like Hannah has put on a bit of weight. You are doing so well with breastfeeding.
Alis Volat Propiis
Bec - it is so easy to doubt yourself when it comes to new bubs... trust me, been there myself. It is unlikely to be something you ate, or your supply and just that Hannah is adjusting to being in the outside world. Cuddles and comfort sucking are good things. She is bonding with you and helping your supply establish.. she is born with all these wonderful instinctual survival skills. Keeping you close and sucking will ensure you have a great supply of milk for her original.gif It is tiring to be on demand so much and once you both relax into it you will see that she will settle as will you. Ditto to what Ros says... Dave just got the best birthday present ever!!!! I am sure he wont give the lack of gift a second thought original.gif Hope you have a more restful day today.

Annika - you know we are all here for you hon. Nice to see you in here. Post whatever you need to.

Bec - one more thing.. probably not exactly what you want to hear but it isnt recommended that you start a calorie restricted eating plan in the first 6 weeks of bub being born. You really need to ensure you are eating well enough to get a good milk supply. Exercsie also can burn up extra calories that may mean your milk production suffers (doesnt that make us all sound like dairy cows Tounge1.gif) WW and the company I went through wouldnt let you restart the program until 6 weeks. Perhaps google a bit online about caloric needs while BFing and see if you can tweak your healthy eating enough to still ensure you are getting enough energy in to make milk. From memory for BFing I think it is about an extra 500 Kj??? anyone else know?

AFM - we had a lovely BBQ last night with family and a few close friends. Dan's mum and I made 86 Sarmale (cabbage/vine leaves stuffed with mince/rice) very yummy! We will be eating them for a few days yet i think. I feel rested after my first week of mat leave and actually found myself thinking about ringing work to see about doing a casual shift... yes, i need my head examined. I see my OBGYN tomorrow to check out my VJJ post surgery 6 weeks ago and hopefully get the good news that all is healed pre-delivery.

Dan has taken his mum and dad to our local Greek orthodox church this morning (what a good son!) and I have a few hours alone with N which is bliss. MIL is being helpful, but I just get the feeling that she is a woman who does it all for show and praise. She was really p*ssy this morning and moody and I have no idea what it was all about... anyway... perhaps a bit of evangelical exposure will boost her mood original.gif

Have a lovely sunday.

Sharna

bec8112
Thanks sharna and ros! I am ok this morning but Hannah is still sucking all the time! We are just about to attempt to go out for lunch for dave's birthday!

Sharna - yeah I though about the calorie intake while breastfeeding and all I need to do is cut out my choc/sweet eating and replace with healthy choices.
meeskamouska
Rough night Bec...no good. I feel so sorry for newborn babies, they get thrust out from a beautiful warm place into a cold busy world. Try to sleep when she does even if its only for a bit so you don't get worn out.

Annika - nice to see you & Ihope all goes well for you with your medication. Probably will take your body a bit to get used to it.

Sharna - Enjoy yuor time to yourself this morning...what a good son!!..church on Sunday....hehehe.

Kathryn - hi. Hows C now after his course of AB???

Morning Ros.

Me - Did the big clean up in Bellas room this morning...& she got some stern words I can tell u... her room was disgusting to say the least. I don't know how they get so messy little girls rooms. Just a home day for us so nothing exciting to write.
Chat soon...Nat.
~Annika~
Bec Hang in there hun, you're doing a terrific job with your new little baby girl!! The first 2-3 weeks are usually the hardest then things will start to look up for you! Hope your lunch out for your DP's 30th went alright for you! I agree with the others regarding a pressie, and I reckon Hannah is probably the BEST pressie you could ever give him!!! wub.gif

waves.gif Hi to you all and thank you for all your kind & encouraging words!

Warning: Big vent ahead!
Damn these anti depressants!! I hit rock bottom this morning. DH was being so hard on me even though I specifiaclly asked him bear with me through this period, it just sent me over the edge when I would have otherwise been ok I reckon, damn him!!! Went and had a shower after he had said some really harsh & unkind words and then blamed me for not being "up and at 'em" even after I had said after breakfast that I really just felt like going back to bed!!! As if I would even want to be dressed and ready for the day with the way I was feeling already, let alone on a Sunday morning with no plans for the whole day! Argh, why does he do the exact opposite to what I need him to whenever I ask him to be supportive!!!? Well, then I just lost it in the shower cry1.gif and just sat down on the floor in there bawling my eyes out, shower overflowing as I was sitting on the drain, then both boys were standing there in the water with sopping wet socks and Tyler was repeatedly asking me, "Are you OK Mummy?" which made me cry even more as felt like such a lousy mum. DH came in and turned the shower off and helped me out & wrapped towels around me and put me into bed where I slept for about 5 hours straight!! ssleep.gif
I think he might realise now just how un-helpful he has been to me emotionally. He has been great with the boys though, but that's as far as it goes for him in his mind it seems in regards to being there for me! He is only practical in his approach to everything and just doesn't do the whole emotions thing being a typical man with not being very in touch with his emotional side. He did come and lay down with me on the bed for a while though and just held me which was quite soothing even though at the same time I was feeling resentful towards him for upsetting me so un-necessarily! He asked me if I was alright, I said "Nope......and why is it you have to push me over the edge AND stomp all over me when I have asked you to cut me some slack through this period?" He reckoned he's been trying to, and I just said "Oh, HARDLY!!!!"
Now he is a bit nicer and more understanding towards me. When I got up after my sleep I looked like crap as my hair had been wet and had dried in all different directions, so I did my hair nicely and put on all my make-up and got dressed just to feel a bit more normal and better about myself! Head is still pounding after all that crying this morning though, but hopefully that was the worst of it all over with now and I can start looking forward and getting to end of the tunnel!! hands.gif
1kathryn
Evening all,

Had a great day with my two fav boys. biggrin.gif Went to Bunnings as we're looking at doing some work on the backyard. Then went for coffee and lunch. Visited my parents and there pups. Poor Cameron has an upset tummy so isn't too keen on sleeping as yet. sad.gif
Not much planned for tomorrow. Going to the gym and grocery shopping. Yay sounds so exciting lol.

Annika- Oh sweetie huge hugs. I'm so glad you told him how you feel. Hopefully this will be a wake-up call to him that he needs to help you emotionally. Hoping the worst is over!

Nat- Cameron is doing much better thanks. original.gif Poor lil guy has a tummy ache tonight. sad.gif Bet your glad you cleaned up Bella's room.

Sharna- Wow you must be feeling good to considering doing casual shifts. Wonderful the BBQ went so well and your nice and rested. original.gif Bet your mummy daughter time was lovely. original.gif

Bec- I agree with all the other girls. Hannah is the best birthday present for Dave, I'm sure he understands that you haven't had the time to go out. I don't think its something you ate, she's probably after the same warmth and bonding she had while in your tummy. Everything will settle down with Hannah's feeding. Try to get some rest and sleep, I know not doing that was one of my many mistakes with Cameron.

Hope everyone enjoys the rest of the weekend original.gif

Small Potatoes
Annika I wish I could just give you a big hug, wave a magic wand and say all will be okay. Your post bought tears to my eyes and saddened my heart. I really do hope DH has realised what he needs to do and that you don't just "choose" to feel like this.

Bec How is beautiful little Hannah. If you are concerned at all about wind then take her to the local MCHN and just chat about it.

Kathryn Glad you had a great day.

Not much happening here. Olly and I have a cold again sad.gif . So just chilling out
meeskamouska

Annikahoney, what a terrible day you had. How r u feeling today??? Men r on such a different planet aren't they!! 5 hours straight of sleep in the day...you must of been so tired. I've been to where you r not long ago.... your post brought back a flood of memories.. the shower is my choice too. Sounds like life is all justa bit much ATM. Make sure you get some u time...you just gotta. You don't have to be super mum. Can u go into town & read a magazine & havea coffee somewhere. Even for a few hours???? or do something on your own so u get to feel like a real human being. Do it every week. I've been putting CR into daycare one day a week & its helped me to keep my sanity. Without that time I'm not sure how I would of coped to tell u the truth. ...& go easy on yourself, your just coming of the AD's & it my take a bit of time for your body to adjust. Didu stop cold turkey or r u weaning off them??? Best to go slow but u probably r. Will be thinking of u today....hugs.
bec8112
Annika - how are you feeling today?

AFM - I slept with Hannah in our bed last night and I got so much sleep, she fed all the time but laying down. She is in her room at the moment and there is no crying/screaming so that is good.

We are going to drive to Noosa this morning to see my Grandma as they have said she might have less than 2 weeks with us so have to get up there so she can meet Hannah.

Sorry I do not have time to write anymore, got to have breaky while Dave is dropping Ethan at daycare.
themelster
Annika - how are you going chick? Are you feeling any better today? I wish I was closer to you so I could come and offer you some support. I honestly know just how you are feeling. I have been there SOO many times. I don't think our husbands know quite what to do when they see us like that. They want to fix it, but they can't so they feel a bit hopeless and lash out I think. They just need to understand that we don't want or need them to FIX it, just to support us through it. Listen, hold, understand. But it's in men's genes to always want to be able to fix things. Are you seeing anyone to help you through this professionally? I've decided I will wean off mine at the end of this year, after the Out-Laws have visited from the UK. I have no doubt I will be in here venting away too, so don't ever apologise for coming here to vent.

Bec - Awww, how lovely that you and Hannah got to sleep together and bond so much last night. I am so happy for you that the breastfeeding is happening as I know how much you wanted it. Is it any easier second time around? The whole baby thing that is, not just breastfeeding? Are you more relaxed about things? I often wonder how I would be second time around. I won't ever find out as Mark and I have decided that we will only be having Tom. I'm a bit sad about it, but I know it's for the best.

Mands - how are you going? No news on the house? No other contracts and still waiting for the other house to sell?

Nat - I remember my room when I was small. Two words PIG and STY come to mind...... My mum was constantly on my back about it. My sister though, she was the complete opposite. OCD cleanliness. Still is.

Kathryn - you are so good going to the gym all the time. I used to be a gym junkie but since having Tom have been pretty slack. I actually don't have a gym membership at the moment for the first time in about 10 years. I'm just running now. I have shin splints at the moment though which are rather painful.
What are you thinking of doing to your backyard? We had ours landscaped about 6 months ago. Best thing we ever did. It wasn't useable before that though.
How's Camerons tummy this morning?
You asked what the book I was reading is about. It's hard to explain. About a journalist who is investigating a disapearance. I just finished it last night. Its a trilogy though so I'll grab the other book today.

AFM - Went for another run this morning. I have shin splints though which are very painful. Not sure what to do about them. I can't really afford to stop training. hmm.
We move out of here next week for 4 weeks whilst our house gets painted and the floor boards done. woo hoo! We are house-sitting a girfriends house whislt her and her hubby and their 20 month old daughter go back packing around europe for 2 months! Lucky buggers!!!!!!
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Have had a hectic day so far. Didn't get up till 8 so that was lovely. original.gif Cameron still has an upset tummy so slept with us again. Went to the gym, grocery shopping, cleaned the bathroom, mopped the floor, vacuumed and did a load of washing. Boy I'm exhausted!!! Thank goodness I don't have anything else to do. original.gif
Back to work tomorrow, yay lol.
Going on another camping trip the 24th and 25th July. We went camping with this group in June so should be great. original.gif And its Stockton so not far from home at all. original.gif

Mel- Cameron's tummy is okay today, but was bad last night. sad.gif Your book sounds interesting, I'm wanting to start reading again and don't know what book. Thanks, it took me a while to go back to the gym once I had a Cameron, but once I started I was hooked lol. Your doing really well running with shin splints! I was really bad in the beginning, would go for two hours 6 days a week! Plus use the wii fit. I've tapered it back a lot since then one hour three days a week, cos I've reached my goal weight. With the backyard where looking at concreting a section and that means drainage is needed. And gardens, we don't have any gardens as yet so it would be nice to bring some colour. Yeah I know its going to make the backyard so much better. When we concreted and put up a patio a couple of years ago it made the area so much more user-friendly! Wow back packing around Europe sounds great. Worked out well you house-sitting and getting your house painted and floor boards done.

Bec- Fantastic you and Hannah had a great night sleep well done! Hope your trip to Noosa goes well. I'm sure your Grandma will be ecstatic!

Mands- Hope you and Olly feel better soon. original.gif

Hi Nat- How are you going today?

Hope everyone has a beautiful day biggrin.gif

Fabulous
Kathryn- wow 2 hours a day was a lot. DH goes 4 or 5 days a week for nearly an hour and people always make out that he is some kind of fanatic (probably because they are slackers themselves)

Annika- hhugs.gif

Bec- glad to hear that you got some sleep. Enjoy cuddling that squishy gorgeous bub of yours.

Nat. Are you sewing anything at the moment?

Hi Mands, Mel

Us- SIL and her 6 month old came over yesterday. I haven't seen Maisie since she was a newborn so it was nice to see her. Anyway it reinforced in me that I am definitely done having kids. Babies are so much work, well at least Maisie seems to be. I took lots of Newborn photos of them back when she was born and SIL saw them for the first time yesterday and there were lots of awwws and ahhhs so that was a good sign

meeskamouska
Ros - what a lovely name...Maisie...I really like it alot. Same here. No more kidlets for me... 3 is enough...I'm done!! No sewing here today. Its school holidays so Bella is home & not much gets done...she's more demanding I think than Charlee...LOL.

Kathryn - camping sounds good. How does C go with that??? Do u take a portacot???

Mel - laugh at your description of your room growing up. My Mum used to pile all my stuff into a big garbabe bag & chuck it...LOL. Pretty sure it was only full of garbage but I used tothink she'd thrown out all my treasures. My sister was a prom queen...the dream child!! still is...LOL... my family's perfect school teacher....unlike her drop out hairdressing sister...rofl!!

Bec- we r a co sleeping baby family. Seems natural to me. So glad Hannah had a good night. R u still using cloth with her??? What nappies r u likeing???

Us - pretty easy one here today. Still desperately trying to get CR on the mend. Keeping her inside. Might need an AB's repeat yet am thinking.
Still waiting on a parcel from WA. Ordered last monday. Thought for sure it would of come today...but no.
Perhaps tomorrow.

Enjoy your evening girls.
1kathryn
Evening all,

Had an unbelievably bad afternoon. Don't know if anyone has heard on the news about two boys is Mayfield, Newcastle being shot? But they were my cousins!!! cry1.gif cry1.gif cry1.gif cry1.gif cry1.gif cry1.gif cry1.gif I'm in absolute shock I can't believe there gone forever and I'll never see them again! Over some stupid neighbourhood dispute!!!! You couldn't meet two more kind and generous guys! I'm gonna miss them so so much!!!

Nat- We did take a portacot but Cameron was getting too cold so would sleep between us. Cameron doesn't cope too badly think over the warmer months it will be better. Hope CR feels better soon and you don't have to use the repeat. original.gif

Ceres- Yeah it was a lot but I knew it wasn't going to last forever and was use to kick start my weight loss. Aww newborn cuddles so sweet! original.gif
spersephone
Kathryn, I'm so sorry to hear about that! I haven't listened that much to the news about it, but I did hear the headlines about it. I can't offer you much comfort except a virtual hug sad.gif
Fabulous
Kathryn- I'm so sorry for your loss. sad.gif I'm thinking of you and your family at this sad time. It's just so cruel and uncomprehendable for a family to lose 2 beautiful sons.

meeskamouska
Kathryn - thats shocking. Will be thinking of you & your family.
bec8112
Kathryn - so sorry for your loss, my thoughts are with you and your whole family. How terrible! Great big hugs for you. We are here if you need to talk about anything.

Will BBL, ethan's gone to grandmas and Dave back at work so just Hannah and I today!
meeskamouska
Ros - Thankyou my parcel arrived today. The pants look great!! Will give them a go tonight. Perfect timing as my bittiboo is dry ready for tonight. I'm assuming I just use them straight over the night nappy. Thanks again.

Fabulous
Nat- Good lord that was fast. I only posted them on Friday and parcels from the eastern states usually take a week to get to me. Although now that I think about it I have heard that it is much faster to get parcels from the West to the Eastern states but not the other way. You put them straight over a fitted. I can't guarantee that they will go over all night nappies (bulkiness factor) but you can definitely use them during the day and it might help you to see if you like fleece. The bitti boos are just normal fitteds aren't they so I guess they would be pretty trim. Do you have to boost them at all?
meeskamouska
It was very fast cause I put an order from a WA company last Tuesday & they arrived together today.
The bittiboo is 2 full nappy layers of bamboo velour but a trifold bamboo booster & a snap in 2 layer bamboo booster so enough for Charlee. Probably a good idea to test them out during the daytime first..LOL... not sure if I can handle another bad night.
1kathryn
Hi guys,

Thanks so much for your kind words of support. Really means a lot to me. original.gif Has been hard watching the news today. It has really hit me today especially when you saw images of one of their legs sticking out on the side walk. :'( Still can't believe I'll never see them again. sad.gif
The girls at work were lovely and said if I needed to go home to leave so that was very sweet, especially since I've been working there 5months!
Cameron had a great day at daycare. The girls are so impressed with how much he has advanced. original.gif
meeskamouska
Took CR to the DR today & she has a double ear infection sad.gif sad.gif
Poor poppet. I just knew something was up with her.
Anyway...AB's...again...the amoxiclav clearly didn't do the trick so onto a different AB.
I hate to think of our holiday but I desperately need her to get well.
Hopefully a better night than last night...she was up from 11-3am screaming. Dosed her up on painstop...don't really like using it but she's in terrible pain.

Cu tomorrow.
1kathryn
Poor lil CR. Hope she sleeps well tonight. Fingers crossed the ABs work quickly!
Small Potatoes
kathryn Am soooo sorry to hear about your cousins. my thoughts are with you and your family.

Nat Hope CR gets better quickly.

I have the flu again. yuck.
bec8112
Nat - hope CR is better soon.

Mands - hope you get better soon.

Kathryn - how are you going? I cannot imagine going through something like that and having to see it on the TV.

Mel - where are you staying while you housesit? So jealous of your reno's, Dave likes to do everything himself so things take alot longer than normal!

AFM - going ok but stressing as tomorrow will be first day at home with both kids on my own! Hannah seems to be a comfort sucker in the arvo/night time. Yesterday she slept in her room for 2 sleeps in the morning and then cried/screamed in the arvo, you get her out and she just tries to suck everything! I put her on the breast and she just sucks a few times then naps! Last night after she fed then cried I put my finger in her mouth and she sucked on that and fell asleep but woke when I tried to remove it. I am so unsure about it all! Do I just keep feeding her???? Or try something else??

Question for those who co-slept with small babies and breastfed - do you just let them feed whenever at night and do you just offer one side and then roll over and offer the other later? I keep questioning myself and worry I am doing it wrong as I have never done it before!

Mel - forgot to answer before but yeah I think it will be easier this time around but saying that the BF is all new so that's the hard part at the moment! Can I ask why you have decided on no more kids?
Alis Volat Propiis
Kathryn - thinking of you and your family.

Nat - poor CR! Hope the new AB's kick in. Dont stress about using the painstop. I had to when N had the mouth ulcers and littlies deserve adequate painrelief also. You certainly wouldnt let an adult suffer if they were in that much discomfort. Which AB are you on now? We ended up giving N 3 weeks worth of

Mands - I am fluey also and Dan has man flu so the house is pretty crappy. Although I must admit he had fever and rigors yesterday so was pretty sick. His temp is still 38.3 this morning despite panadol. I hope you feel better soon.

Bec - As much as this advice goes against what BF'ers will say have you thought about a dummy? We gave N a dummy at 9 days i think as she was just on my boob constantly but not really feeding all the time. I wasnt worried about supply, and her weight gain was huge so we thought it would be ok. It worked wonders for us. Dan used to walk around saying 'god thank the person who invented dummies' Worth a thought. As for BFing in bed/co-sleeping... I couldnt do it comfortably either. I was too worried about one of us rolling on her. I had her cot right next to my bed though but still needed to sit up in a chair to BF well. If it works for you and you are getting more sleep then perhaps do a search online for some advice. I know you can get a safe sleeping co-sleeper cot thingy that attaches to the side of a normal bed. Something like This. Good luck with the two kiddies original.gif

AFU - we are going camping tomorrow with another couple who has littlies. Not the best timing with Dan and I coming down with flu but hopefully we will be on the mend by tomorrow. Lucky for me my friend is a CCU nurse, and her hubby a paramedic! No worries if I go into labour... lol. We arent going far and will only be about 1 hour away from the hospy where I had N. N is at daycare today, Dan took his parents down to Babinda (where my mum and Dad live) to do some touristy stuff and I am going back to bed... or really should be once I finish catching up on net stuff.

Hi Mel, Ros, Georgia, Amy and Amy, Sarah.

Sharna
meeskamouska
Bec - as soon as I read your post I instantly thought dummy too. They're not for everyone... we used them. Co sleeping..... I had a little bed in the bed for Bella...... she would feed just normally & I'd put her in her little bed & she'd sleep for a couple of hours & then wake again.... same again till morning. I didn't do the feed all night/suckle all night thing...rugular feeding just in the bed laying down. CR liked the cradle & was right beside the bed. I'd do the same thing. I'm one of those mummas that hate to get out of bed in the night. I would quickly lift CR out, do the nappy thing in bed, feed & back in the cradle.

CR looks brighter today. She sleept from 7pm - 8am...13 hours straight!!!!!! Don't know about her but I feel fabulous!!!...seriously though...she looks so much brighter.
Sharna - he gave her Bactrim this time. We've never had it before. Hopefully it does the trick. BTW... I popped a few dresses up on shabbybums.com if you're still interested. Hope u enjoy your camping.... is it very cold up there ATM???? Its freezing here ATM.... couldn't imagine camping...I'd be popsicle....lol....I'd imagine its a fair bit warmer where u r.

Better go put Charlz to bed.
Fabulous
Bec- Please read up on the techniques for safe co-sleep if you haven't done so already. I'm a fan of Dr Sears, one of America's best known paediatricians. http://www.askdrsears.com/html/7/T071000.asp. We tried dummies on some of our kids as newborns but didn't perservere because it was too annoying when they kept on falling out after days of trying. As Sharna said they aren't recommended by the 'breastfeeding experts' but I was prepared to give them a go.
themelster
Hi ladies, goodness I can't keep up with you!

Nat - so good to hear that CR is looking and feeling better - and that you got a decent nights sleep! It is awful when they are sick. I second Sharna too, don't feel bad about using the pain stop. I've used it on Tom also and it helps them to sleep, which in turn helps them to heal. Count down to Bali now! I can't wait to pick your brain when you get back. I can't believe I have to wait over 12 months until my holiday!!!

Sharna - gosh, not long at all now! Are you getting many braxton hicks or anything yet? I can't remember, was Nadia a natural birth. Out your vjj I mean tongue.gif I know everyone has a differnt opinion on what constitutes a natural birth. I just can't remember whether you were going for a VBAC or if Miss N was natural. How are the in-laws going?
Is this your first camping trip with Nadia? I think we might give it a crack with Tom in summer. I think he perhaps would be old enough that I would be able to relax just a little bit and not be running after him all day. I do hope it is warmer where you are going becuase I'm with Nat. It's bloody freezing here!

Bec - heya! I'm not much help with the breastfeeding. But I think, if I had my time over, I would co-sleep with Tom in a cot pushed up next to the bed and allow him to feed whenever. That is one thing I am sad about not having another. That I will never get to experience that breastfeeding relationship. Mark and I have talked in length about whether to have another or not. It's not been an easy decision. We have both been 50/50 but have decided to only have one for a number of reasons. Some of which are selfish so I know not everyone will agree with them. 1) I am terrified of getting PND. Between us girls, it very nearly ended our marriage. Mark is the most caring and understanding man I have ever met, but I pushed him to breaking. 2) We really can't afford it. Yes, if we made sacrifices like selling up and downgrading or moving to a further out suburb, sure we could. But we both weren't sure that is what we wanted to do. This house is really Tom's retirement fund (or ours!). 3) There are lots of things we want to give Tom that we wouldn't be able to do so if we had two. Not least of all is overseas travel. I would really like Tom to be a well-travelled little boy. And I am looking forward to the 3 of us travelling overseas a bit when he is older. And lastly, A private education. I know it's not the be all, but I'd really like to send him to a private school and that's something we just couldn't afford if we had two. So, we will be a tight little trio. Anyway, enough rambling on from me. It is so lovely to hear that things are going well for you. I can't wait to meet Hannah too! Oh, and we are moving into a friends house whilst they are away when our reno's are getting donw.

Mands - any news on the house selling? And have you received the Auriel yet??

Kathryn - How are you holding up? I can't imagine how that must be for you. I hope you have a good support network and are doing ok.

Annika - how are you going chick? Has DH been a bit more supportive of you? Have you weaned completely off of your meds or are you still tapering? I'm not looking forward to starting my weaning but I know it is for the best. I really would like to be off them also so I can get my eating / weight back to where it was. I hope you are doing ok and I'm thinking of you.

Not much happening here. The painters started on the spare room today and have just done the undercoat. They are far to chatty and there isn't enough work being done for my liking! I'm impatient though. We have to move everything out of the house next week which I am NOT looking forward to. Other than that, not much to report. Oh actually, I will venture, warily, to say this...... Tom has been sleeping through consistently now for a couple of weeks....... I'm hardly game to say it in case I jinx it. Remember a while back we went through that nightmare patch of him being up for hours in the middle of the night, then having to sleep in the spare bed with one of us. Well, it just stopped. On it's own. Nothing we did. Now, blissful sleep. I pray it continues!!!
bec8112
Thanks everyone for advice, I managed to get Hannah asleep in her cot this afternoon after a bath and feed! I cannot wait for her to be easier to settle.

My mum called before and my grandma is getting worse and may not last long, I am so glad I got up there and got some photos with her and Hannah. Grandmas middle name is Victoria which we gave to Hannah. Sorry for all the sad/unhappy posts from me lately!
bec8112
Mel - your reasons for no more kids are things we thought about too. It is such a big decision to make either way. I am an only child and wanted to give Ethan a sibling to experience it because I did not. 2 is enough for us and am glad that we both agreed on that. What suburb you staying while housesitting was what I should have written. Hope we can catch up soon, maybe when Annika is here, when is that again???
themelster
Oh Bec, you must be happy that your grandmother got to see Hannah. Was she touched that you had given Hannah her name?
We will be at Mitchelton from next Tuesday. So not too far away from where we are now.
Yes, I know what you mean about being an only child and not wanting that for Ethan. That was the one sticking point for me too.
Fabulous
Bec- sorry I forgot to reply to your bf question. I think I just fed one side and if they fell asleep then I let them be. However if they were still awake and appeared hungry I offered the other side. The first milk to come out during a breastfeed is the foremilk, then later on the hindmilk comes which is the fattier and more filling milk. That's why they say to try and empty one breast before going to the other. I would just go with whatever works best for you and Hannah. If somebody has a low supply it is recommended for them to empty both sides to stimulate production. If supply is plentiful then it's not necessary.
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Had a hard day at work. Biggest mistake was taking a break. All my emotions came flooding out. Thanks so much for your love a support guys it means so much! I'm hoping to see their sister (my cousin) tomorrow and her parents. But I'll leave it up to them.
Cameron had a great day at daycare! But had a bad night was up for a couple of hours. Was so cold that even once he was asleep in his cot he'd wake up instantly and scream so once again he slept with us!

Bec- That was so thoughtful of you giving Hannah your nan's first name! Thank goodness you took photo's of them. original.gif It's great you got Hannah to sleep in her cot just take it all day by day. original.gif I'm sure you'll cope fine tomorrow, do you have anyone that can drop by to help if you need it? Yeah it is hard that its all over the news for all to see. I lost it when I saw an image of one of there legs poking out behind a police car! cry1.gif cry1.gif

Mel- I have a wonderful support network thankfully but I think its going to be hard with me not working tomorrow and thinking about what's happened. I just still expect to wake from a bad dream! Some times tradies can take forever to get things done thank goodness I'm married to a leco that doesn't fard ass around!

Nat- Wow that's a mammoth sleep! Its wonderful that both you and CR are feeling better. original.gif

Mands- Hope you feel better soon!

Sharna- Thanks original.gif Have fun camping and hope your flu doesn't get worse! Where going again on the 24th and 25th July.

Hi to everyone else
Small Potatoes
hi there, not posting much but am reading. I have been in bed or cleaning or doing orders most of the day.

Bec You must be glad your Grandma got to meet Hannah. My Grandma died 10 days after Olly was born and she didn't get to meet him. I am sad about that as she just adored Will and would have loved to have had just one cuddle of Olly.

Mel The parcel hasn't turned up yet. AUS post out here is CRAP. you must be glad that you have come to about number of kids. Regardless of your reasons you have clearly done what is right for you and your family. I have a friend who only wants one and she is soooo sick of having to justify why.

Still feel rotten. And the children are driving DH insane as they are trying to get the attention they usually get from me from him and he just isn't handling it well.

Also we have booked a holiday to Canada in August. yay. Got a 20% off due to the late booking and the fact that we are repeat customers.
1kathryn
Mands- Fantastic discount on the holiday to Canada. Bet you can't wait!!! Feel better soon sweetie. Lol about you DH not coping with having to give that much attention. original.gif
meeskamouska
Morning Girls.

Another sleep thru for us here. CR is healing so nicely. Don't think I'll have any worries about her being well by our holiday.

Just a quickie post to say HI & check in. Stupid computer is playing up again..... so desperate for a newbie.

Enjoy your day.
bec8112
Another rough night here, Hannah just does not settle! I have an appointment at the gp tomorrow so will see how that goes!
Alis Volat Propiis
Packing under way.... just waiting on Dan to get back home from a quick trip in town.

Nat - it is not really cold at all up here. 18 overnight, 25 during the day. But where we are going is a higher altitude and no humidity so we are hoping for nice crisp evenings/mornings around the campfire. Glad to hear CR is on the mend. I will DD for those dresses in the next few days.. is that ok. I will go look at some more too original.gif

Mel - we have gone camping with N about 3 times now. It is tricky setting up and packing down with a toddler but we manage. This time we are going with friends who have young kidlets too.

Mands - hope you feel better soon. Yay on your holiday!

Bec - i only started to offer N the second boob when she was about 3-4 months old. She was content before that on just the one side.

Hi to everyone else.

Gotta run,

Sharna xoxo
Fabulous
Hello Miss Natty, I like your new name.

Kathryn- sending you strength and hugs for today. I imagine it will be incredibly hard seeing your cousin and their parents. Are they second cousins?

Sharna- I wanna move to Cairns. biggrin.gif So cold here. Enjoy your trip.

Bec- Do you have a baby swing? I found them to be a total lifesaver. What was Ethan like as a newborn?

Mel- it's good that you have made a decision about how many kids. My kids have quite a few friends from one child families.

Mands- it must be so awesome to be able to get (almost) free plane tickets. Our trip was for 8 weeks and cost us a total of 22K but 12K of that was on airline tickets. We came under budget, thank goodness everything was so cheap over there. I would love to go over to the western side of Canada. We only got as far as Niagara Falls.
bec8112
Sharna - enjoy your trip! I am jealous!

Ros - Ethan was in the nursery until almost 3 weeks old do we missed alot of his early stuff. We have a swing but a friend borrowed it so she is bringing it back this weekend hopefully. Ethan was a quiet baby, slept alot and was very relaxed! Opposite to Hannah I think.

Nat- yeah on CR getting better and sleeping for you.

Mands - your holiday sounds so awesome! I cannot wait to hear all about it!

AFM- I went out this morning with both kidlets and I survived! Was only out about an hour to go to Medicare and get some more BF singlets ( got them for $7each at bras and things, bargain). The shopping centre was chaos because the toy sale started and school holidays! Hannah slept in the pram which was nice. She then fed when we got home and is still asleep in her room! Ethan's asleep too so I made dinner and now on the couch!

Spoke to soon, hannah awake! She slept for just over 2 hours which was good. Might BBL.
meeskamouska
Thanks Ros, thought it time for a change..LOL.
Bec - how did u go at the DR???? CR was a nightmare newborn...I loved her dearly but geeezzzz she just wouldn't settle. I put it down to newborness. It just took her a bit longer than average to adjust to the horrible big world. A 2 hour day sleep is good going though...hope u rested too.....
Sharna - your camping sounds just lovely. No hurry with the DD I just didn't know if u still wanted them or not.
Kathryn - thinking of you ATM. What a tough time for your family. I know if I lost one of my dear cousins I'd be mortified..
Ros - 22K for your trip....oh my!!! ohmy.gif ohmy.gif Thats alot of money!!!! One can only dream here of such an adventure.

I've been busy sewing here today. Got 7 pocket nappies made & a heap of flannels. A few people have asked about having a nappy party....hilarious!!... never thought that would be where I'd head but I said yes to them...when I get back from Bali. Could work.... could work well actually....

Enjoy your day girls.
spersephone
I would love it if we could go on a family holiday. So far we've had a couple of days down at Phillip Island (about 150km from home). But my mum's is further away than that - Bendigo is 160km from us.

I want to take us interstate or overseas! But I'll need to organise a passport for myself let alone anyone else, before we think about going overseas.

Hi guys - just checking in. I am trying to keep up to date but I've not got anything all that interesting to add to the conversation!

Seeya in the next thread - I'm thinking it's about to start.
Sarah
bec8112
Nat - GP is not until tomorrow afternoon. Well done on the nappy sewing!
themelster
Bec, a 2 hour sleep for a newborn is wonderfull!!! I shudder when I think of Tom's newborn days, well, even up until about 11-12 months old he would only sleep for 30 minute stints during the day. It's only been in the last 6 months that I have had the sporadic 2 hour sleep from him. Usually it's 1h 15m or 1 1/2 hours. 2 hours is brilliant!

Nat - A nappy party! Brilliant!

Mands - I totally missed your post about Canada - my god, you must be so excited!!!! I am very jealous. I've always wanted to go to Canada. Mark and I thought about living there for a year when we were younger, but as he is British, he couldn't get a work visa. And by the time he had his Australian passport, I was too old to get one! (well, we both were!). One day, one day.

That's all for me sorry, boys are out so I'm going to get dinner ready whilst the house is empty. Went and saw Eclipse today. I am so totally sucked in by the twighlight thing. Must be my inner teenager. Edward, swoon blush.gif
1kathryn
Afternoon all,

Didn't end up going around to see my Uncle, Aunty or Cousins today they have been inundated with people. So hopefully seeing them tomorrow arvo. Was at my mums today which was nice and Cameron was on his best behaviour. biggrin.gif

Hope everyone is having a lovely day. original.gif

Mel- Was the movie good?

Nat- Thanks means a lot. original.gif A nappy party sounds like fun! Wow you have been busy today. Yay on CR sleeping through again, must be a relief. Cameron was up again at 12 till 2 but I didn't mind it gave me a chance to snuggle with him. original.gif

Bec- A two hour sleep is wonderful. I'm glad your adventure out of the house was a success. original.gif Bet it gives you the confidence to do it more. Good luck at the GP tomorrow. original.gif Hope you have a better night tonight. original.gif

Ceres- No there my first cousins and it is there sister I'm hoping to now see tomorrow. Thank you. original.gif

themelster
Kathryn, the movie was great!!!!

I forgot to say - friends of mine had their first bubba today! A little boy they named Kei. At 2am. I can't wait to meet him!
Small Potatoes
Mel Got the package thanks. NB cuddles how nice. I haven't really gotten into the Twighlight, I do love the True Blood books. WE are super excited. Booked the Air Canada fares today (will cost us more than the Aus-LA sector).

Kathryn Sorry once again to hear about your cousins. Glad Cameron was good.

Ros We are actually getting these tickets for free except taxes (but we have to buy a seat for Olly as he is under 2 and they won't include him on DHs free LSL ticket). DH gets free LSL for him and his family at 10 years, 15, 20 etc so we are using those.

Nat Yay on the nappy party. When do you head to Bali?

Going out for Pizza (except I get Spinach & Ricotta ravioli and Will doesn't have anything just juice and watches DVDs). It is funny as he just loves doing it even though he only has the juice and a bag of rice wheels. Must be social.

Tomorrow we are heading to Kilkivan to visit ILs for the weekend and they are keeping (Drum roll please) both the boys for the week ohmy.gif .

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.