The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: March 09 Parent Group # 80

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=798131

brizmum
gold....
PippityPip
Just passing by...

Thanks Candy!

Hey everyone!

Better go clean up all the snot infested tissues the kids have left lying around the house, ugh I hate colds!
alaksuleiel
hi all, just letting you all know I am still here lol
CluckyDuck05
Happy Birthday Tess!

Was it yesterday (Saturday)? Was my brothers birthday yesterday too... now I'll always remember when it's yours.... wink.gif Hope you had a good one and didn't have to pick up too many tissues. blink.gif
KaLeXa
bbbbbrrrrrrrr mmmmmoooorrrnnnniiinnnggggg aaaaalllllllllllll llllllllllll

its currently -1 degrees here but says it feels like - 3C lol well hello Winter where did you spring from laughing2.gif I'm guessing we'll be able to see the snow on the mountains from now til it melts!

ok off to get warm.. hubby just got up for work... poor bugger having to not only work on a public holiday but also go out in this temp!
trying4no2
Morning All, waves.gif

Haven't popped in for a few days so will have to go back and read the threads.

How was everyone's long weekend? I had a wonderful weekend with Levi. We made choc chip muffins on Saturday and met some old school friends down the park. I had met up with them for about 10 years. It was so great catching up with them, we use to be such good friends at school and we have all lived just down the road from eachother for the past 3 years just haven't had a chance to catch up.

DP had a great weekend down the coast for the Bucks weekend and I went down Sunday night with a couple of other girls. The Bucks weekend finished on Sunday morning and they still had the house until Monday morning to it was the Bride and Groom the 2 best men and their girlfriends 1 being me. It was relaxing not having to worry about the house work or what to do next.

Levi's belly was really bad on Sunday. It had Levi's Nanna and Grandad almost in tears because he was in so much pain. I really need to get to the bottom of this. He really can't keep going on like this there has to be a reason why he is always so constipated. I have taken him off weetbix for breakfast and am still continuing with the Lactose Free but I really don't think he is lactose intollerant. To top it all off I think he also has a couple of teeth coming through. He was so upset a miserable yesterday cried for a good couple of hours. We tried everything to settle him down.

I hope you all had a lovely and relaxing weekend.
trying4no2
Carmen I don't know how you even get out of bed with it that cold. It as 14 11 degrees in Brisbane on the way to work this morning and I was freezing. Hope you all stay nice and warm. There is nothing worse the it getting cold because all the kids get so sick. bbighug.gif
PippityPip
Hey everyone!
4thnfinal
hi original.gif
CluckyDuck05
Hey Tess, I don’t know if I mentioned this the other day but another thing that REALLY helped with my morning sickness with Skye was cool mints. I nibbled on them all the time! LOL – it really did work! grin.gif
PippityPip
Thanks Lisa, thankfully the morning sickness has now passed. Do have the overwhelming moments of hunger alot, which once I eat I feel a bit yuck, then hungry again 15-20mins later wacko.gif

Forgot to say thanks for the birthday wishes! Was on Sunday.

Have a scan this arvo, looking forward to it and seeing Neve's reaction wub.gif

beck, oh yum choc chip muffins! Poor Levi not feeling well sad.gif
trying4no2
The choc chips muffins were delicious. Thanks.

I am thinking about putting Levi on Gluten free to see if it helps his belly at all. Can't get in to see a specialist until Mid August so am still trying anything at the moment.

Are you still boiling the babies water or you giving it straight out of the tap or filter?? I wasn't sure when we can stop boiling it.

So I made the decision today that I am going to the gold coast for my friend's hen weekend next weekend. It will be great to get away and have a break. I really need it at the moment.

Not much else to report. Have a lovely night.
Becca1605
waves.gif hi all...haven't popped in for ages, sorry!! Been FBing instead!

Beck - nope haven't boiled water for Savannah for ages, she just has puratap water
4thnfinal
hey beck... have u tried a naturopath?? my eldest had quite bad tummy pains when he was lil and was spewing up etc... they did a few soft lil manipulations of the tummy and he was sooo much better!!!! dunno if it's ur thing.. but mite b worth a try??
CluckyDuck05
Tess - Woo hoo on the scan! ddance.gif

Candy - Woo hoo on the iPad! eexcite.gif

Sienna - Woo hoo, mummy's taking you to see Shrek 4 tomorrow! First time mummy has been to the movies since seeing Monster.... um... about 8 years ago! ffear.gif and believe it or not - it's actually for research for my current assignment at uni (movie going pre 1975 and present). wink.gif

Everyone - Woo hoo it's nearly the weekend! cclap.gif
CandysFamily
yes YAY about the iPad!

Hi Gals!
Trying to type with Charlie on my lap. Not doing well.

Anyway I have news, Kidspot.com.au have asked me to come on as a guest blogger and reviewer, squee! Excited, I hadn't been able to tell anyone that yet.

Now just waiting to see the cosmo article on Monday wwhistle.gif
KaLeXa
Just one thing to say...

I HATE IGNORANT PEOPLE. There is NO excuse for ignorance. rant.gif

oh and waves.gif to everyone
CandysFamily
What was that Carmen? I wasn't paying attention wink.gif
trying4no2

It has been very quiet in here over the weekend. I hope you all had a lovely weekend.

I am so upset, turns out some of my friends have been talking about how far Levi is behind one of the other kids who is only 10days older than Levi. Just because he isn't walking yet they think he is so far behind. Kids walk at all different ages and it doesn't mean he is behind. He is such a smart little boy and if they spent a day with him they would see that. I am so angry right now. Even though they wouldn't have expected me to find out I still think some people should keep their opinons to themselves.

Sorry about that, just really needed to vent.

Levi has been a bit upset all afternoon and wouldn't eat his dinner (which isn't unusual) then while he was crying I notices one of his molers has cut through. i didn't even know he was getting it through. I have given him some teething tablets and he has settled down but still didn't eat dinner. I ended up giving him some custard so he had eaten something.

Tess, how is the morning sickness going?

Carmen Hope everything is ok. Hope the boys are feeling better.

Oh just another question, does your babies still use a bottle? Levi won't drink milk out of a cup only his bottle. What age should they stop drinking out of a bottle?

Night to you all. Have a lovely week.
alaksuleiel
Beck: some people are so bleeding rude! E was my latest walker. She also still has a bottle, Mara had her botobt til she was three, (thanks mum! wink.gif ), S had her bottle until about 20 months.

I'll smack your friends for you, that's just mean rant.gif

Candy: Tounge1.gif and Congrats!

Carmen: I agree!

AFM: not much to report, i'm sure there will be a rant soon. It's been a stressful few weeks, i just need to get m head around what has happened before I can talk about it wink.gif

KaLeXa
Tell me... your thoughts...

It's now been 15 weeks since K's faher has called her... she has made it clear that she doesnt want to speak to him any more...

What do you do???
4thnfinal
leave it b carmen!! if she doesn't wanna talk to him.. and he couldn't b bothered!! then don't try to force the issue!! she has a new dad in christian now who is obviously a way better person than her biological father

that's just my thoughts on the issue anyways

hi all

did u hear 3 more soldiers are dead over in afghan sad.gif we only just buried the other two
KaLeXa
yeah we did sad.gif so sad...

and yep im leaving it... but at this stage im thinking next time he does call... do we tell him not to bother calling any more cos its a waste of his/our time?
Do we be honest and tell him she wants nothing to do with him or just keep doing as we're doing and telling him she doesnt want to talk when he does call?

would you speak up and be honest? cos i'd like to but tbhi still fear him and still fear that he might take her..
CluckyDuck05
Carmen – if I was in your situation and feared him and was afraid he might take her I wouldn’t rock the boat. Does K know your concerns? If so, just explain to her why you don’t tell him to get out of your lives once and for all – she will understand. If she doesn’t know – tell her you have to acknowledge him at least until she’s 18 then she’s free. sad.gif Good luck
brizmum
Hi girls....

Carmen - hmmm my opinion on your situation is a little different I guess to what most ppl would say. From all your posts, it seems that K is quite mature for her age and aware of her situation and what she wants. In the past, you have made considerable effort to try and encourage a meaningful realtionship with her and her biological father. Sit her down and have a chat with her about what possible consequences no further contact could mean for her and make sure she is making the decision for herself and not because she feels she "has" to (iykwim). I would then encourage her to write her father a letter (with your help if needed) to tell him how she feels and why. He is then getting it straight from her and hopefully will be less likely to challenge it. Should he decide to challenge your parenting head straight to legal aid. She should be able to assessed with enough mental capacity to be able to make a decision - although usually the age is around 11. Good luck!

Beck - I'd smack your friends up the side of the head....sorry but that drives me nuts. Chase is well and truely behind compared to my other kids but the paeds are not worried yet so neither am I. Amelia (Belinda's bub) is 2 weeks YOUNGER than Chase and you would pick her as being a lot older as she is so much more advanced....babbling/talking and walking around. Try to forget about them - Levi will develop when he is ready. As for the bottle....Seth was 2 when I took his away. Raven was 11 months and Chase had his taken just after he turned 1 but since being back in the hospital he has gone back on the bottle. He is only allowed milk in it tho. They should be off the bottle around 12 months as they believe it is bad for bub's teeth but as long as he is not sleeping with it all should be good (that said Chase takes a bottle to bed...lol)

afm: Chase took 5 steps on Friday night!!!!!! Although he has not done it since he is trying to walk around a lot more holding our hands and stuff so that is huge improvement. His blood work is improving although back for another test next Monday. Things are hard here atm as dh doesn't have another job and it is two weeks before he can get into centrelink....I also haven't been able to pick up any temp work either so feeling very frustrated. I have got a few paid photo sessions in the next week so that is good - spending money for while i am in Mackay...yay!!!
mumma ♥
Veronica, YAY well done on Chase's steps biggrin.gif ddance.gif

Carmen, I tend to agree with Lisa... I'm not a confrontational person and I would just leave it as well - don't rock the boat. It's a sucky situation though sad.gif

Hi to everyone else original.gif
alaksuleiel
I believe tht when she is 12 she as a say. So maybe leave it until then?
KaLeXa
Thanks everyone.

She does understand what happens. She knows what sort of person he is. She also knows its her choice and this is what she wants but doesnt want to speak up herself. At teh same time I dont want to speak up either because I dont want to rock the boat. yes the few and far between calls are annoying and they really annoy K but hearing from him 4 times a yr is a whole lot better than having to deal with custody battles.
He'd have more sense than to do anything custody wise i think. He'd have to take into consideration that him and her dont have a relationship at all, he makes little to no contact, he was (possibly still is) a violent person (and i have witnesses), he's admitted to be a liar, he's been done for fraud and i could go on and on lol basically he'd have no leg to stand on with taking her from me.
He wouldnt have one thing bad to say about me. Im not a bad mother, my kids are all well looked after, ive never been in trouble with the law (not even as a teen lol), K is happy and healthy and thirving at school, she has a good friend base and hubbys family have all taken her in as one of their own..
So even though he's violent i really need to stop thinking hes going to take her because i know he wont and he never gets the chance.
When we have been to Qld and he's come and seen her, i've made sure he comes to my dads and ive always made sure someone else is there with me eg Dad or one of my brothers.
When he used to call he'd say "oh i better let M (his wife) know i've called otherwise she'll kick my butt" so obviously it was her making him call.. never could he call because he wanted to.
It's always his wife who writes on the cards etc they send and its always her that types the letters they have sent previously..

makes me so mad.

I was even considering printing out and framing a nice pic of K to send to his mother. She is Ks Nanna afterall and i am not a nasty person so thought it'd be nice.. but once again.. i know if i do that for her she will show him and he will be on the phoen quick smart asking why his mother gets a photo but they dont.. arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Well done Chase.. hows all his hosp trips/tests/results going? Found out anything??

Beck, hows Levi?

hi everyone else!!
brizmum

Carmen - I know what you mean about that fear...I had a lot of trouble overcoming it myself...I have been in trouble with the law and caught in a rough crowd just before I had Seth but anyway. Thankfully we have come a long way and now have a good parenting relationship (for the most part). In regards to his mother, maybe email her (if she is pc literate) every now and then with an update and encourage her to make contact with K if that is what she wants. I am in the same boat with you on this one. Seth's father and his mother had a really bad falling out when she visited last year....I even went over (it was on a visit) to try and calm the situation down as it was regarding Seth. Things have never been the same between them. She contacts me every now and then to chat to Seth and sees photos, etc on fb. She has even sent gifts for him. I think she can be a little ecentric but she is a nice enough woman and I have no issues with her so I do my best to try to encourage a realtionship with her.

As for Chase - his blood tests are begining to return to normal which leads the hosptial to believe that it was just a viral infection. I still think there was more to it, as it has taken around 6 weeks for him to completely recover. He goes back next week for another blood test just to ensure all is good and then we will probably have another paed appt in the next couple of weeks sometime. We will continue to see the paeds as they now want to monitor his weight and development to ensure all is good. The anemia is a major issue for them as left untreated can cause developmental delays. Fingers crossed we have caught it all in time.

As for me - I got a job!!! An ongoing casual positon so I feel a bit better now. Dh is going to take on primary care of the kids until he picks up an apprenticeship. Once we feel settled and confident we might reconsider TTC again....yay. Also not long until I go to Mackay, I am so excited to see my mum....I can't wait.
Becca1605
Veronica - yay ddance.gif eexcite.gif fantastic news about your job

Beck - Savannah still uses a bottle. After she refused b/feeding i tried a cup but she won't drink milk from it - only water. She was used to having bottles at childcare so that's what she wanted.

trying4no2
Just popped in for a quick vent, I am so sad this morning. Cried all the way to work and now just feel like Sh*t. DP and I had a massive fight this morning because I spoil Levi. I always pick him up and give him cuddles and pretty much he gets what he wants. I know I do this and that is why he is always sooky when I am around but I can't help it. I think I am doing the right think but deep down I know it is just making things worse. I need to be tough on him but it is so hard. Working fulltime I try to spend as much time with Levi as I can and i give him so much attention when I am home.

I had to have a shower and get ready for work this morning and while I was in the shower Levi cried/screamed at the bathroom door the entire time I was in there. DP chucked a spit and we had a huge fight.

Other than that I am a little excited. Tomorrow I have the day off work to spend with Levi because I am going away Friday Afternoon until Sunday. Down the Gold Coast for a friends Hens. I can't wait. I just hope Levi will be ok while I am away. His belly is the worst it has been in a long time and yesterday and this morning he has vomitted twice. I am sure he will be fine and DP is a great Daddy. He will take care of him and it will give them some nice Daddy and Son time.

Well Done Veronica on the Job. Congratulations. cclap.gif

I better get back to work. Have stacks to do.
Will pop in later to do Personals.
KaLeXa
Trust me to open my mouth and as soon as I do my ex calls LOL
As usual K didnt want to talk so I told him she didnt want to. But he didnt call to talk to her... he called to speak to me and to inform me thats hes now working in the mines and he thought he should let me know so I dont rip off the government???? wtf?????
Is he forgetting that HE was the one who got busted for FRAUD??? Is he forgetting that HE is the one who used to help his family rip off Centrelink??
NOT me....
He went on asking me if I get benefits from Centrelink to which I tell him I dont (and I dont) and that its not any of his business, and hes saying he didnt want me to lose benefits!!!!! I tell him "thank you for being so considerate" LOL said sarcastically btw!
I dont understand how I could rip off Centrelink?
CSA, Centrelink and the ATO are all linked... or maybe i'm too stupid to know how to rip people off LOL
Anyway... good ole considerate ex didnt once ask how his daughter was or anything to do with her. It was soooooooo tempting to say "oh btw while you're on the phone, just thought i should inform you that K wishes to have no more contact with you" but I couldnt do it... and im glad i didnt because its K who needs to tell him. As much as me telling his is the easy way out. He needs to hear it from her.
So thats that... and according to him "now i'm working in the mines you'll be rolling in dough" PMSL
oh you tosser... i could only wish!!!!!!!

Anyway.. the tool once again managed to provide me with at least 24 of entertainment value!!!

Beck, have a great time on the weekend... im sure Levi & daddy will have a great time too

Bec waves.gif

Veronica, good news with Chase, and great news about the job!!! Was it you who asked when im coming up next? If so, it was meant to be for Xmas but my dad is coming down here now so our Qld trip is off until next year sad.gif with us now saving to buy some land I cant see a qld trip any time soon sad.gif sad.gif
alaksuleiel
Beck: have you asked him what his issue is? I mean sit down and hve a chat with him, it might be more than just you 'spoiling' the baby.

Carmen: How exactly are you going to be 'rolling' in it now? does he mean the CS? rolleyes.gif

Veronica: I am so glad he seems to be recovering! A bit of a mystery though! And go you on getting a job! biggrin.gif

AFM: E is well, she has developed a wicked little sense of humour, she was in her carseat the other day 'barking' then laughing, very funny to witness wink.gif

KaLeXa
Deb, yep rolling $$$ thanks to the amount of CS I'll be getting from him! LOL Anything is an improvement on $28 a month that I currently get lol
Evelyn sounds hilarious! Xander gets the giggles when we all laugh at something, he has no idea what he's laughing at but joins in and its quite funny laughing2.gif

Beck, i forgot to comment on you "spoiling" Levi. I do the same and have done the same with all my kids. I personally don't think it's 'spoiling' them as such. Yes it might make them a little more clingy at times but hey... isn't it true that you can never have too much love???
My kids have beautiful loving natures and I put a lot of that down to how we have brought them up.
They get love and attention and in return they start showing it too.
What we do with the kids now at this young age is going to come out in them later on in life.
I'm sure we all find ourselves doing with our kids some of the things our parents did with us as kids???
I know hubby reads the kids just as his dad used to with him and his brothers.. i find myself folding washing exactly how my mum used to fold it laughing2.gif
We find ourselves saying little things our parents used to say..
So i say.. if you want to "spoil" your child... do it lol
You cant be "tough" on him, hes a baby. He'll soon learn the word "no" isn't such a bad thing. If you tell him "no" follow it up with a distraction, take his mind away from what you don't want him doing.
Kids thrive on structure/routine and repetitiveness but having said that.. what works for one family might not work for another.

Its hard being a first time parent.. hell what am i saying.. its hard being a parent for the 3rd time.. I'm still learning things.. I'm sure Candy with 7 kids is still learning bits and pieces too. You do whats right for you at the time. And right now if you feel you need to pick Levi up and shower him with cuddles etc.. then do it, they are only babies for a very small part of their lifetime...

anyway, i hope you have a great weekend away at the hens party!!

I've decided to go out tomorrow night drinking huh.gif errrrrrrr what am i thinking LOL

I wasn't going to go but why should i stay home? I'm home all the time with the kids, i never go out drinking. A chic who works with hubby is going away to uni in Syd, so the boss has given them all the tip money and told them to go out. Shes in Vietnam for another couple of weeks. Anyway, like i said I wasn't going to go but I've asked bils gf if her and him will babysit the kids at the in laws place. Shes never babysat them before huh.gif but Xander likes her so that's why I've asked them. Mil will take over when they get home from Sydney.
And given its a Sunday night we wont be late. but hubby is planning to get trashed lol huh.gif I'll possibly be a one pot screamer roll2.gif

Speaking of fights.. hubby and i have been on edge lately.. I've been feeling so low, all because i want a bit more affection etc from hubby, i need a break occasionally from the kids. I love the kids and i love being a mum but at the same time i need some time to be an adult too. I need adult interaction. And I need time with hubby on our own more.
So he asks me what he can do to make it better. I tell him i want him to be more romantic/affectionate etc.. he is affectionate but i just need a little more right now.. so he again asks me what I'd like to do, i tell him its about time he thought of something. Every time him and I have done something alone i have arranged it. He told me he doesn't know, he finds it hard and doesn't know what i like laughing2.gif I told him i like a lot of things and it wouldn't matter what we did as long as it was just us...
So i could see him thinking lol he then says "ohhhh i don't know, tell me what you'd like" but i wouldn't dev (6).gif all i said to him was that he works with females, go and ask them what they'd like and I'm sure they would be spot on.. but nooooo he thinks they'll laugh at him for not being able to come up with something himself laughing2.gif
So another day of him thinking goes by... and finally the light goes off in his head.. he jumps up like a little kid on Xmas morning.. and goes "how bout we go to the movies" and i said "perfect, see that wasn't hard was it" and he goes "no i don't just mean the movies, i mean gold class, meal then coffee after"
After all that saying he didn't know what to do that I'd like.. hes finally realised that its the simplest of things like going to the movies that i like... like he didn't damn well know already!! he was just playing stupid hoping id give in and come up with something myself glare.gif

anyhow... I'm off.. putting X to sleep then taking the kids to the netball courts
3greenhills
hugs Carmen - dont you just love the "I dont know what you like" line... I usually respond with "10 years and you still havent learnt anything - now c'mon".....
Hope it gets better for you soon.
CandysFamily
Hey gals,
How's things? I am trying to keep up (with the pages from Carmie tongue.gif ) my you lot can talk!
I have been MASSIVELY busy. Had my open house today, went okay even though it poured rain - we don't have rain for months and then it p*ss pours today blink.gif

Veronica - Congrats on the job news original.gif

Jo - having a scan some time soon?

Carmen - my hubby pulls that sh*t all the time. Especially when it comes to present giving "I don't know what you like" WTF???? Check out my latest blog whinge about husband. http://candysfamily.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/dear-husband/ he hasn't seen this yet. Will be fun when he does. wink.gif

Beck - you can't spoil a kid with too many cuddles wink.gif You enjoy your baby however you want. happy.gif

Ah crap - children want attention - and husband is not here (surprise surprise).
CluckyDuck05
alaksuleiel
Hi all! Weekend was full on.
Sephie seems to have this thing where she is fine all day ut sick t night. It's odd.
PippityPip
CandysFamily
You lot are quiet. huh.gif
PippityPip
Hey famous lady... I saw your bit in cosmo pregnancy cool.gif
trying4no2

How freezing is it today. I am working from home today and I really wish I was at work because it would be so much warmer there. I even have the heater on but it really hasn't made a difference. I know I really shouldn't be complaining because I am sure it is a lot colder where some of you ladies are. I am just not use to it being 11 degrees at lunchtime.

So we had an awesome weekend. It was so much fun. It was so good to get away. I got a phone call at 10pm on Saturday night just as we were going out from DP saying that levi has just done the worst poo every and that means it was really bad. Poor little fella. DP then rang me at 2am saying that he had Gastro (that is why I am home now - I have now got it too) which was not good. He could barely move. I had to get one of the girls to drive me back home at 8am so I could take care of both of them. Which I really didn't mind. DP said Levi was an angel when didn't want picking up all the time and just kept looking at DP laughing.

So we had the specialist appointment yesterday for Levi's belly. He is now on Goats Milk and Prune Juice and has to have at least 2 pieces of fruit a day. We will have to give it a go. The problem is Levi doesn't like eating or drinking much other than milk. Please cross fingers for me. The specialist also did a test on my and it looks like I have a problem with my small intestine and Levi his large and small intestine. So this is the reason he is having trouble pooing. Hopefully in a few weeks Levi will be all better, but after it being this bad for so long I am not getting my hopes up. I will just what happens.

Camen, I see Xander is sick with Croop. How are you both going? Did this doctor help?

I totally agree with you ladies, Levi is only a baby for such a short amount of time and I should definitely make the most out of it. I love having cuddles with him and because I work full time I try to make the most out of the time I do have with him.

waves.gif to you all

I better get back to work. Stay Warm
Beck

mumma ♥
Hey Beck it sure is cold here the last few days! Really feels like winter is here. But I suppose not as cold as other parts of the country wink.gif Have you tried juicing your own juice, he might like to drink juice. Ryan loves it but I limit his juice intake due to the high sugar.

Carmen, I think a lot of men are like that rolleyes.gif they just don't think like us!

Candy, so typical on the rain!

Sorry I have been scarce lately, have been really busy and don't really have as much time for the internet as I would like sad.gif One nap a day is very different than the 3 naps he used to have as a young un, I got a lot more internet time back then LOL I have been trying to pop on at a night time with the laptop in front of the telly.

How's everyone going? We are doing really well. Ryan is a very smart little boy and seems to understand everything we say and can point to all his body parts and recognises a huge variety of objects. He's not really saying any real words except mum, dad, nana and he tries to say hello when he puts the phone up to his ear. He babbles a lot, always saying nonsense words (currently he loves to say doodle doodle doodle LOL). What are the other babies up to with speech? I know a lot are talking, but are there some who aren't still?
CluckyDuck05
Skye said 'Daddy' and 'ta ta' a month or two ago and nothing since. Understands everything but just doesn't want to talk. I hope it's nothing to worry about.
PippityPip
Marley isn't saying a whole heap. Mum/mummy, Dad/daddy, Neve, Marley (has only said it a few times), boobie, more, up, undertaker (started saying it yesterday, it's the name of one of his WWE action figures, lol), nappy, hi (comes into a room and says "hi" then will waves at you, lol) I think he said "nana" just before - for banana. He also sorta says "Timmy" from that Timmt Time show, he loves that show! Dances to the music as soon as itr comes on. Hmmm, more than I thought. Recognises some body parts - nose, eye, ear, belly & his doodle.

Oh and his favourite thing at the moment - playing with blocks. We have those huge plastic megablocks and he loves putting them together and make a tower. I picked him up another bag in Kmart yesterday for $8.

Ahhh there goes my peace and quiet, Marley wanting me. Better go get him organised for bed, thinking early night since he is resorting to only 30mins of sleep per day aannoyed.gif I'm really over his sleeping lately!

BBL if I can stay awake myself yyawn.gif (didn't get my daily nap today, lol).
trying4no2
Levi said Dadda on Father's day last year then nothing for ages. He now says Mumma Nanna Bubba but that is pretty much it. He does gibber gabber a lot. I don't think there is anything to worry about. They will all speak in their own time.

My issue is how on earth am I going to get Levi to eat. Once again he ate nothing for dinner. He had about 5 small spoons of weatbix for breakky then during the day at Nannas all he would eat was 3 pieces of toast. Nothing else I sent with him. I can't remember the last time he ate dinner. He also won't drink anything other than milk. On the odd occasion he will have some water but no way near enough. I hope this is just another faze but it feels to be going on way too long and I don't see the end at the tunnel. I am a very big worry wart when it comes to Levi and I stress about everything. If you haven't already noticed

Oh better go, DP just rang, he is on the way home from Soccer which means I need to put dinner on.

4thnfinal
amelia has 4 weetbix for brekky now!! she is such a bloody pig lol
and she is saying a fair few words!!! but they all do everything in their own time
mumma ♥
Belinda, 4 weetbix LMAO!!! That's awesome. Ryan has only 1½

Beck, eating is VERY stressful sad.gif Ryan goes through periods of being a guts and then not eating much at all. During those times I just give him what I know he likes.

Tess, that is so funny Marley knows doodle as well biggrin.gif what is it with boys, eh? He is saying a lot of stuff, that's cute!! He is not fussed on Timmy Time but loves Play School and Giggle & Hoot. He dances to all the music, I adore watching him dance and jump wub.gif

Awwww I have to say I am a little relieved that Ryan isn't alone in the talking department. I am not worried though as he is still only young and in the development books they should have 1 word by now. So I guess he is on track kind of. I think he puts all of his energy into physical things happy.gif The parts of the body he knows are hair, head, ear, mouth, nose, hand, belly, doodle, knee, foot. He can understand so much like 'take off your pants' and he will take them off himself, probably shouldn't encourage that one though laughing2.gif cheeky mister he is.

He is still on 1 nap a day, usually around 2 hours. Wakes up around 6:30 and bed at 7pm. No more bottles, woooooohooooo I'm reallly happy about that. He has only straw cups now. What is the next step after that? Buying all these bottles is so annoying, just bought another straw cup for $15. I don't know why they are so dear rolleyes.gif
CluckyDuck05
I’m always surprised at how much Skye understands. I give a heap of instructions and she goes and does it LOL (note to self – this won’t last long so make the most of it!). Each evening I ask her to go and get Sienna’s shoes, put them in the cupboard and close the door. She loves doing it – it’s her one ‘chore’. wink.gif

Skye loves playing with Duplo. It’s great because Sienna still enjoys playing with it too so they play it together a lot. tthumbs.gif

Skye has just started going to Sienna for comfort. Sometimes if she’s upset because breakfast or dinner isn’t ready yet she’ll go bawling her eyes out to Sienna and Sienna gives her a big hug and rubs her back. wub.gif Skye often walks up to her out of the blue now and gives her a kiss or hug too. So cute. Sienna says they are best friends. llove.gif

Beck – how much milk is Levi getting? Could he be too full on milk to eat? I know you would want to let him have milk because it’s better than him having nothing but I wonder if he would change his eating habits if you didn’t let him have much milk for a couple of days. I wonder if watery milk might help him drink more water? I’m no expert though – I have no idea if I’m giving good or bad advice so don’t listen too closely to me! sad.gif

Jules – we just used the cheap sipper cups. Both girls drink water through a sports bottle or straw etc so it can’t spill if knocked over and Skye still has milk from me or from a sipper cup at daycare. When Sienna has milk it’s with a sipper cup but without the lid so you can just keep using them for ages really. original.gif

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.