Small Potatoes
10/06/2010, 10:24 AM
Bec I am getting both.
spersephone Poor Glen and you and poor Katherine. I hope she is better today and you can all have a good night sleep.
Sharna Poor little N. You sound very busy. I have had $500 worth of orders on both sites combined in the last two days. I have made a few changes and it seems to have helped.
Mel Yay on getting so much sponsorship. Misters W and O sponsored you via Danny hehe.
Have a cold again. Can't wait to see my naturopath next week.
BBS
spersephone
10/06/2010, 10:41 AM
Mands, I had never understand your username until just then! Durr!!!
Ha ha.
Sarah
themelster
10/06/2010, 11:05 AM
Mands, thank you so much for your support. I am honestly blown away by the support I have had and peoples generosity. I was expecting $1 here or $5 there. Thank you so much. I know times are hard these days and that people have their own charities that they support. To exceed my $250 target has made me so happy.
Rocking Green - I'll definately be grabbing some off of you too. Do you use it for your own laundry? I haven't tried it on my own clothes yet. Only nappies.
I hope you are feeling better soon with your cold. It's a bloody nightmare all this sickness. Tom is healthy at the moment but I know it is only a matter of time!!
Sharna - I must have missed a post about your folks. Are they not very supportive with Nadia? My mum isn't. She minds Tom one day a month and that was because we asked as we were in a pickle with daycare and Marks rolling shift. If we need her another day, we need to swap it for the set 1 day a month day. I understand that she isn't local - she's 50 minutes away (in Morayfield) but still. It makes me sad that she doesn't really seem to want to form a strong bond with her grandchild. Sure, she's done it all before, but she is his only grandparent in this country. I get quite upset when I see grandparents out at the shopping centre or swiming pool with their grandkids. Silly I know. The ironic thing is that Marks mum would cherish every moment she had with Tom but she is 10 thousand miles away. Typical! I'm very much looking forward to them coming over in November.
Bec - No, Tom isn't sick at the moment (touch wood) but he doesn't have kindy on a Thursday and Mark had to work, so I've taken a sick day to stay home with him. Let us know how your hospital appt went. Sorry, I totally forgot to look for that pump bottle but I am sure I have it. Tom is down for his nap at the moment so I'll double check when I wake him. I'm 99.5% sure it's there, still in the bag with the foamy stuff.
Sarah - arggh! Sounds like a horror night. I hate those nights. And I had the guessing game that goes with them. Trying to figure out why on gods good earth they keep waking up. Tom was like that recently and it turned out he had an ear infection. Hopefully it isn't anything as sinister.
bec8112
10/06/2010, 01:11 PM
Mel - just let me know about the foamy bottle and I can buy it off you.
Mands - that's awesome about your orders, sounds like both your business ventures are very successful! Can I pre order sone rockin green and face stuff and you send when it comes in?
Sarah - hope your girls are better tonight and you and glen get some rest!
My hospital appointment was all good, BP a little high but they are not concerned. Fundal height measurning spot on and bubs heartbeat was good. Going back on thurs next week unless labour happens before then.
ETA bub is still head down so VBAC is looking good, I am really hoping it goes to plan!
1kathryn
10/06/2010, 04:32 PM
Hope it is okay to join this group. I was a member when I was pg with Cameron in the due 1st to 15th October group.
Some of you guys I know from that group.
bec8112
10/06/2010, 04:43 PM
Hi 1kathryn, I was in the later Oct group but my son Ethan was born in sept. I am now almost 38 weeks preg with my second! How is Cameron going?
1kathryn
10/06/2010, 04:53 PM
Hi bec8112, Cameron is doing well. Think he's got another ear infection, I've lost count of how many times he's had one. But apart from that he's doing well, think he's teething has finally settled down.

Congrats, how does Ethan feel about being a big brother? How is Ethan, I love that name.
Small Potatoes
10/06/2010, 04:59 PM
kathryn Welcome. I was from the same DIG as Bec. Sorry to hear you son has recurrent ear infections.
I have two boys - Will and Olly (Olly is my october baby and in my sig).
Gotta run for yellow fish (Pizza but Will calls it yellow fish as there is a fish tank with yellow fish).
themelster
10/06/2010, 05:17 PM
Hi guys!
Kathryn, I was from the same DIG (I think). My dates got changed but I hung around. My DS, Tom, was born on the 22nd.
Bec - I've got that foamy bottle. No need to pay for it!
Mands - pizza in this household tonight too! Did you still want that boat Auriel?
bec8112
10/06/2010, 05:22 PM
Thanks mel, will work out a time to catch up so I can grab it off you.
Kathryn - Ethan is good, does not really understand about the baby too much but I am sure in time he will :-). If I ask where is the baby he points to my belly but that's about it. Oh and going into bubs room and taking the toys! Ha ha ha!
meeskamouska
11/06/2010, 11:41 AM
Hi I'm around just not feeling 100%.
CR has broncitis & I had some gyno day surgery done yesterday & may need to go in again next week for more.

Pauls come home thank goodness. Don't know what I would of done if he didn't.
Thinking of everyone.
Much love.
bec8112
11/06/2010, 11:53 AM
Nat - hope you and CR are feeling better soon. Is your gyno surgery being done locally? I hope that you get it all sorted soon and do not need much more surgery. Thats good that Paul is home aswell to help out.
I am still around, no baby news

. Ethan has woken up all snotty again! I hate this cool weather.
themelster
11/06/2010, 12:25 PM
Thinking of you Nat and hope you and CR are both feeling better soon.
Fabulous
11/06/2010, 03:40 PM
Nat- I hope that you are on the mend and start to feel better soon.
1Kathryn- welcome to the group. I look forward to chatting with you.
themelster
11/06/2010, 05:07 PM
Can I have a little "gush" moment?
I took Tom for a bike ride this afternoon and when we got back he pointed at my bike and said "big bike!". Then pointed at his scooter and said "small bike!". He's just so delightful at the moment.
Ok. Gush over.
bec8112
11/06/2010, 07:14 PM
Mel- that's so cute! Tom sounds like he is doing great with his words, Ethan is still lagging behind but oh well he will get there soon I hope.
I spoke to my parents today and they are coming home from their trip early so they are home on the 24th June. Possibly in time for baby. In a way I hope bub is born before then cause I had planned for only Dave to be in with me. Will have to wait and see.
Nat- how are you and CR doing? Feeling any better?
ruthandbobsmum
12/06/2010, 08:54 AM
Hello ladies,
Its been far too long since Ive posted in here, but I thought I might attempt to keep up.
For those who dont know me, I am Amy, I am 26 and I am from Melbourne. I have 2 kiddies, Ruth who is 5 and Oliver who is 20mths. I am a WAHM and my partner works full time in construction.
I am looking forward to getting back into the forum and keeping up with everyone again.
Amy xo
bec8112
12/06/2010, 09:05 AM
Hi Amy, welcome back! I am still waiting on bubs to be born to eventually try out your nappy! Thanks again. How are the kids?
Small Potatoes
12/06/2010, 09:05 AM
Amy Welcome back
themelster
12/06/2010, 09:17 AM
Welcome back Amy! Haven't seen you around for ages.
Alis Volat Propiis
12/06/2010, 01:04 PM
Because I know I can share this with you guys...
Terrible bad mummy moment today. My little sis is up for a conference and I am looking after her youngest, Annika (7 mths) during the day so am quite busy. Anyway... busy in the kitchen prepping meals etc, talking to my mum, distracted. N walks out of her bedroom with the johnsons bedtime bath baby oil in her hand.. half empty.. she had been drinking it!!!

Dan flew right off, I rang poisons info line, starting to cry already.. couldnt believe I had left it somewhere she could get it, and that she would drink it. Upside of it all... baby oil is non-toxic, might give tummy upset/diarrhoea... downside Dan and I had a big arguement and I feel like the worst mum in the world.
Sorry to bring the mood down but I just feel terrible.
Sharna
Small Potatoes
12/06/2010, 01:16 PM
Sharna 
. I understand how bad you must have felt. I am sorry you and Dan had such a big fight. They don't seem to get how much work looking after kiddies and the house is at it won't be until something like that (hope it doesn't though) happens when he is incharge that he will realise all this.
themelster
12/06/2010, 01:23 PM
Just a quickie cause I'm at the shops but couldn't read that, Sharna, and not reply. Try not to feel bad about. As mum's we're only human and it's not like you had left a bottle of vodka around or anything. Baby oil! Who'd have thought she'd try and drink it. Can't imagine it would taste very good!
And I must confess, I had a little chuckle once I read it was non-toxic. Keep that one for her 21st!
meeskamouska
12/06/2010, 05:30 PM
One of those moments Sharna. Don't feel back. sh*t happens. Pity you & Dan had a big arguement. In hindsight he'll know he over reacted.
Feeling a bit better today. I know I can share here & its ok. Had an ectopic pregnancy scare the other day. Was in total shock actually. Had to have it removed so it wouldn't rupture. The DR is hoping that he got it but won't know for certain till my bloods come back. Feeling ok so pretty much hoping its all fixed. Hmmm... pregnant at 39 by accident... for the 2nd time.... not good... bit embarressed actually.
Antibiotics for CR. DR thought it best to kick it in the butt before we go to Bali. I hate how winter flu's seem to hang around forever. AB should kick in within 48hrs. She's notupset by it in fact we got a sleep thru last night but it sounds horrid when she coughs.
Heading out for a quick tea.
Chat tomorrow.
bec8112
12/06/2010, 06:04 PM
Sharna - try not to feel bad about it, these things happen and no harm was done. Sorry to hear that you and Dan had a big fight about it. I agree with Nat, he will realise he overreacted.
Nat - I hope that the ectopic preg is all over with, I have not heard much about these but am sure they are not good and not much fun to go though. When do you go to Bali? Hope CR is better soon with the AB's.
AFM - no baby news or activity yet

, not liking the waiting game! Daves cousin had her baby yesterday morning, a little boy Kai. She was due on the 18th so I am hoping I follow her lead and go soon!
themelster
12/06/2010, 06:08 PM
Bloody hell Nat! You poor thing! I hope the doc got everything and that you don't have to subject yourself to more procedures.
Bec, when is your actual due date? I keep forgetting.
~Annika~
12/06/2010, 06:12 PM
Sharna Don't feel so bad about what happened please!!! Even if you weren't distracted you might still have missed it, we just don't have eyes in the back of our heads as much as our DHs think/wish we do! Anyway, you have a LOT on your mind these days AND you have to contend with placenta brain for a little while yet. Yeah, who would have thought that baby oil would taste good enough to keep drinking it hey, lol! Big hugs to you Sharna

We will be coming over in middle of August, so not long now for sure!
Mands I second what you said about the men not realising how hard it really is with being a mum! They just don't have the same insight as we do about exactly what it takes to be able to do so many things at once! You're doing so well with your businesses, don't know how you wangle it all, mothering, house keeping, running home businesses etc, I take my hat off to you, Mands!!
Mel Wow, that's so clever of Tom to say that!!! That really made me smile, Mel! Goes to shows you that it's all up there in his head, it just depends on WHEN he decides it's time to let you in on it!
Kathryn I remember you for sure, I was in the same DIG!!! Was actually quite sad when you didn't come over to this October 08 Parents group after Cameron was born! So a big WELCOME to you and hope to see you in here more!! I can't quite remember, but were you a child care worker or a nurse? I'm a SAHM but thinking about going back to nursing soon, just wanna enjoy Bryce a little bit longer while he is so adorable and little! He was due 14th Oct but didn't end up arriving until 23rd (lucky last out of the whole DIG). Tyler is 4 yrs old and been going to Kindy this year. Sorry to hear Cameron has been having so much hassles with ear infections, Tyler has heaps of them last year to the point where several times both ear drums burst and would leak fluid for days so had to go onto antibiotics lots fo times! Was considering having grommets put in his ears but he hasn't had any more ear infections since before X-mass, thankfully! Hope Cameron doesn't have to suffer more with them!!
AmyG Great to see you back in here!!! Haven't forgotten you at all!! Still making cloth nappies and selling on weepantz? How is Oliver going these days? Looking forward to catching up one evrything again and seeing you around more!
Sarah Great to see you again too, been a while now hey! You are doing soooo well with your weight loss goal, just had a look at you ticker!! Great going, wishing for some of your motivation to rub off on me here! I love your optimistic outlook on things, especially about Katherine's grumpiness these days! It will pass sooner than you realise hey!!! Just enjoy the gorgeous bits about her age as much as you can!
Ros How is the house/land hunting going? Thinking about you and hoping it will all turn out great for you!!
Us We are going pretty good here, getting quite cold here in the South West and have had our wood fire going for a couple of weeks already! Really cozy though, and love it!! Rugging up during the day when we go outside for playtime with jackets and beanies. I have been getting back into hand crafts and sewing at night after boys are in bed, I love having a few hobbies to work on and look forward to during the day. Still no rain here, (only 50 mL all year so far) and we have really needed it for the horses on the property! There has been almost NOTHING on the ground for them to feed on, so they have been getting a LOT more hay than usual which is expensive, and they are still looking so thin. So the camp committee agreed to us shutting down the horse program that has been available as an activity for the groups here at camp now for the last 12 years. In the last couple of weeks DH has been giving away horses and sending horses back to their owners etc. We will only have 2 horses here out of 18 of them. Quite sad but a big relief for DH as they have been a lot of hard work with upkeep etc and no profit as fewer and fewer groups were using them each year due to the liabilty risks! As much as I will miss them I can see why they needed to go, and I haven't been getting out on horse rides more than a few times each year as it was. Anyway, enough about all that!
Sorry about the long post girls, where did the time go? The boys have both had a nice long nap and want to get out and about now. Take care all!!
~Annika~
12/06/2010, 06:19 PM
Natty Oh my goodness!! You poor thing, I really do feel for you hey! Hope it's all over now and that you will be ok! Sorry I missed you post just then. Hope the ABs work on CR quickly and that her sleeping will only improve for you. Hope your trip to Bali will be great!! When do you go? I know what you mean about the flu's hanging around for so long!!!!!!!! It's so frustrating and draining, Bryce has only JUST got better after he has been snotty and coughing for well over a month now! Take care Nat, thinking of you!!
Bec I soooooo hope that you will be able to experiance the VBAC, and how exciting that bub's head is down still and ready to go for you!! All the best with the waiting game!
Small Potatoes
12/06/2010, 06:41 PM
Annika A warm toasty fire and snuggling in blankets sounds delicious. Shame about the horses. I am so sick of the liability issues these days. People need to exercise a little care and take responsibilities for their actions.
Nat Sorry to hear about the EP. Hope they got it all. Mum had one after me and my sister and decided to get her tubes done since they were in there anyways.
Mel Yay on Tom's words. If you haven't given up on me I would still like the Auriel.
Bec You must be so relieved you have made it to term.
Mister O is being super cute ATM. He is walking around with the phone to his ear saying "bye bye Daddy - see ya".
Gotta go Mister O being not so cute ATM
bec8112
12/06/2010, 07:16 PM
Mel - actual due date is 27th June, 2 weeks tomorrow.
Mands - yeah I am happy I have made it to full term but am happy to have it anytime from now! I did not experience the waiting game with Ethan and I have to say I liked not having to wait. Yeah on Mr O and his talking. I think Ethan is the only one being a slow talker! Hopefully once baby arrives and starts making noises he will be talking more.
Annika - Yeah fingers are crossed for the VBAC, I am such a wuss though so hoping I can deal with it all. DP is a bit scared about it already so fingers crossed he copes with it aswell.
We bought Ethans single mattress today so we will set it all up tomorrow and he will have his cot to sleep in but his big boy bed to play on and sleep on when he is ready. We also bought him a new car seat so the baby can have his. We got the SnS Meridian AHR for $300 which is a huge bargain so we are happy about that. Also his mattress was $99 on sale from $199 so was a good money saving day. Think we might be going to the shops in the morning as Dave has a gift voucher from last birthday that has to be used before his birthday on the 27th! I think we are going to look for some winter shoes for Ethan too because the poor child is wearing socks everywhere!
Thats all from me tonight, Dave has gone out for a boys night so I am having dinner and watching a movie ( Precious ) oh and I have some chocolate and an icecream because I could not decide what I wanted! ha ha ha. No wonder my belly is huge!
themelster
12/06/2010, 08:03 PM
No probs on the nappy Mands. I haven't listed any of them but bought new trainers today - $200! So better list them soon! Very very cute Mr O!!! I love those moments!
Bec - does Ethan have many words yet? I was reading the "raising Children" site today and it said by the end of the 19 month, should be able to say 3 words. I bet he'l start talking in sentences when he's 2! Especially with a bubba around taking all the attention!
Annika - very, very much looking forward to your visit and meeting you! Such a shame about the horses but sounds like the right thing to do for all involved. I bet you will miss tour rides though - even though they were occasional.
bec8112
12/06/2010, 08:13 PM
Mel - Ethan is saying mama and dada, 'mba' what sounds like our dogs name (kimba), ow ow which is what we think is row row for the song, and a few other noises which are linked to things so I suppose a few words but nothing like other kids! I am just hoping he will start saying things perfectly by about 2. I need to just give him time I think as dave was a late talker too!
My whinge for the night, I cannot get the DVD player working!!! So cannot watch my movie :-(
themelster
12/06/2010, 08:30 PM
It runs in families too Bec.
Hope you get the machine working. Very frustrating!!
Alis Volat Propiis
12/06/2010, 09:28 PM
Thanks for the supportive words guys. Things have calmed down around here and Dan apologised for reacting so strongly. He explained it by saying he wouldnt have known what to do if he was home by himself and was scared. I panicked a little also but knew to ring poisons info before doing anything else. I am totally shocked that she drank some. Looking at the bottle, which is only 125 mls and there is half left, I know it wasnt full so at best she may have drunk 30 mls or so. We are very diligent at closing doors after we leave a room and have a baby gate across the hall which keeps N in the living/dining area nowhere near the kitchen/bathroom/laundry etc. Just goes to show you cant watch them all the time.
Natty - EP's are serious surgical emergencies honey. I hope you are feeling better and that the doc was able to remove all the tissues. Make sure you take it easy... was it done laproscopically? Poor little CR. How long till your holiday? Fingers crossed the AB's do the job and she is 100% to enjoy the holiday. How was your dinner?
Mel - too super cute with Mr T's words. Nadia has a huge vocab but tends to say the same things repetitively. I love it when she mimics adult words. Today she was copying my mum who had dropped something on the floor and said 'Dear me'. We also had a REA come around to give us a valuation on the house and interview him as a potential agent to list with and after he shook hands with Dan and I, Nadia walked up to him asking for 'shake, shake' How is the running training going?
Bec - yay on reaching term! I can almost understand your impatience but am probably better placed psychologically as I went 10 days over with N. I am trying to not focus on my EDD and keep in mind that bubs will come when ready, and that my body will labour better when it is ready. Ask me again in a few weeks when i am term and still running after a toddler. I hope you enjoyed your icecream and the DVD player worked for you!

Annika - 50 mls of rain only? Geez! I grew up in the wettest town in Australia and cant imagine a year like that. I hope you get some rain soon although it is unlikely to happen in winter isnt it? That is our dry season up here. That is good news about your hubbys organisation agreeing to reducing the numbers of horses.. it will be a relief to him.
Hi Sarah, AmyG and Kathryn!
Mands - Dan has been alot more helpful this last week I must admit but I think he finally sees me struggling a little physically now that i am more heavily pregnant. I guess it is hard for those hubbys who arent intuitive (are any of them?) and I know I dont ask for help often enough. He has made dinner a few times, bathed N without needing to be asked etc. I do agree though that he doesnt realise how busy you are with kids sometimes. Olly sounds like he misses Danny!
Kristi has taken my mum out for a dinner/theatre experience thing at Tjapukai (aboriginal dance company) for mums birthday next week so we did the 2 kid dinner/bath/bed routine again tonight. Good practice i suppose! Not sure what we are up to tomorrow but it will be nice to have a day with Kristi as she flys back on monday morning.
Ok, soccer world cup game just started. I might go watch.
Have a lovely weekend mums and bubs.
Sharna
meeskamouska
13/06/2010, 07:10 AM
Sharna - it all happened so quickly it was a huge bler to be honest. They were just not sure if it was in the tube or not...insert confused look... All I know is they said it wasn't a viable pregnancy. They did a curettage & are waiting back on the bloods to see where my levels are at. Which I won't get an answer to till Tuesday due to the pub hol. If my levels are still up it may require full surgery. I was still coming out of the anesthesic when they explained the whole procedure etc.... Shocker. I don't have any strong pain so I'm guessing its not in the actual tube cause its quiet serious from what I read on the net. Can't imagine they'd let that go over the weekend. Anyway.... I'll wait & see.....slightly confused by the whole experience. Dodgy day surgery one might think..... I'm lucky they didn't remove my kidney or something....jokes....NOT!!
Hi to everyone. Sorry no personals I did have a read back though.
Enjoy your Sunday
Fabulous
13/06/2010, 09:23 AM
Wow lots of posts yesterday. Normally the weekends are quiet. We went looking at more houses today and I'm so over the whole thing. We have to take Jack with us and when it comes to looking at houses he is so hard to handle. He just runs off these days and thinks it's a game. When we try to put him in his car seat he goes crazy arching his back and I have to put both straps on simultaneously otherwise he twists his body out of the car seat. You can also hear his screams miles away.
Bec- Jack doesn't say much either. He says Mama, bye bye and boob but that's about it. There are plenty of kids who don't say a lot until they get to 2.
Sharna- I'm glad to hear that all is well with Nadia. We had to ring the poisons line when we were staying at Lake Tahoe. Jack was sucking on one of those tiny bags of silica that come in shoe boxes. Apparently they are harmless and it's just like eating sand.
Mel- I hope the running is going well. The price of runners in this country is crazy. I paid $70 for my Nikes in the US and now now see identical ones in Australia for $170.
Nat- I hope the EP has been sorted. How scary for you. You have really been through a lot lately.
Annika- that's sad about the horses but it sounds like your DH has plenty on his plate already. How is Tyler going at Kindy? I remember you mentioning that he was going slow in the mornings. I think that's a pretty common problem even with kids that really like going to school. It used to drive me nuts when my kids were younger but I never really found a solution. I have heard many a parent threaten to take their kids to school in their pyjamas if they aren't ready on time but have never seen one arrive in them. Some people let their kids watch TV once they are ready for school and this acts as an incentive. Some people make up those charts which shows the children what things they need to do to complete the morning routine.
Mands- Mister O does sound cute. Toddlers just seen to love phones.
spersephone
13/06/2010, 10:50 AM
Nat, that's awful - I hope it's all sorted out soon enough for you - what a horrible thing for you to have to deal with. I know you haven't been feeling too good lately - I wonder if it has anything to do with that, or is it just a coincidence?
I'm not really supposed to be checking this forum because we're away at Glenn's parents but I have my laptop with me and they've got a wireless connection so it's easy. But I know Glenn doesn't like me being away and playing on the laptop.
But i'm quickly reading and keeping up I think.
Bec - did you get your DVD player working in the end? Do you know why it wasn't?
Sharna - you poor girl - that sounds like it would have been utterly terrifying at least until you found out it was non-toxic - I know I consider Johnson & Johnson a good brand because they seem to be quite focused on being non-toxic (no more tears etc) although it depends what you're looking for - Curash for example might be better for me because Elisabeth has recurring eczema. But I love that bedtime bath stuff - the lavender smell is so soothing.
Anyway, I should go before I'm yelled at - so back later tonight maybe if I get a chance, we'll be back home later.
Seeya
Sarah