The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
bec8112
02/06/2010, 06:35 PM
I am still at work! Did some overtime on my last day

, thinking of the money as we are going to be poor for the next 9 months!
Nat - yeah on getting to test the nappy on a newborn! I will have one soon if you want another tester.
meeskamouska
02/06/2010, 09:36 PM
Thanks Bec that would be great.
Off to bed.
Night girls.
bec8112
03/06/2010, 12:19 PM
Nothing too exciting to report here, had to take the dog to the vet this morning because she got a bone wedged in the roof of her mouth!
Ethan's having a nap so I might go and veg out on the couch! I am washing all of my small nappies today aswell to get prepared, OMG how scary is that!
Fabulous
03/06/2010, 02:12 PM
Nat- are you still selling dresses/clothes? I remember looking at your store a long time ago. What is it called?
Bec- ooh how exciting to be washing tiny nappies. I remember washing Jack's nappies when I was pg. It's such a thrilling time but I agree it's also scary. I'm sure you will be fine especially with all that family support that you have.
Us- Had a look at a daycare centre for Chelsea to go to one day a week but the centre just seemed so business like. I know it's a business but I would like somewhere more homely for her. It was an ABC centre. I might look somewhere else or I may not bother at all until we move... Off to drag my sewing machine out. I sold some nappies but just realised that the stitching is coming undone on one of the tabs so I have to fix it. I really can't be bothered.
themelster
03/06/2010, 06:11 PM
Bec, I hope your poor pooch is ok!
I'm going to be listing some Auriels. 3 of them. I spent way to much cash in the sales today and need to re-claim some cashola.... I'll be asking $35 each for them as they haven't been used much. Silly me always saves them for "good". Thought I'd see if anyone here was interested first.
meeskamouska
03/06/2010, 06:43 PM
Ros & Mel cause you asked a little bit back too.... my web is www.charleebell.com but don't look yet... unless you want to get a before & after cause Mands is working on it ATM. It needed some help....alot actually. 3 cheers for Mands... the talented one amongst us.
Bec - Hope your doggy is ok. That sounds nasty.
Mel - laugh with saving your Auriels for good. I do that with clothes then she growws out of them....lol. Am tempted by an auriel as I haven't used one before but will have to pass. Spent way to much on fabric this month.
Speaking of fabric... can't wait to go the fabric markets in Bali. Pity fabric is so heavy..though I spose I could post home.
Ceres - ABC centres tend to be a bit that way sometimes. Is there other options?? Hard when you plan to move & then she'll be up rooted again.
My internet has been down today..... feel like my leg was cut off...lol. Got heaps of sewing done though whilst CR was at DC.
My AIO nappies have been working so terrific on Charlee. I kinda don't mind going back to AIO's actually. Most of my market traffic is newbies to MCN'c so AIO are perfect for these people. A good disposable replacement. Feeling a bit excited about getting them working so good.
CR is looking a whole lot better today. R the other bubs all cleared up yet???
Small Potatoes
03/06/2010, 06:49 PM
Mel What do they look like - would be VERY interested
themelster
03/06/2010, 07:41 PM
I'll take piccies and load them tomorrow. But they are all "boy" nappies. I'm keeping 2 special ones, but I think I will really have to part with the others. Makes me sad. One is a blue summer sky slushy. The other ones are a black fleece with the "tattoo" band, a front cotton with an old style scene with boats etc and then the PUL skulls one. I'm not 100% of the PUL skulls ones as of yet as i really love it.
That is so nice of you to help Nat out Mands. Really generous of you.
Nat - I will definately check your site out after Mands has added her magic to it.
bec8112
03/06/2010, 08:05 PM
Mel- I am the same with ethan's auriel! Only used 2 times cause it's too cute/expensive to use all the time! I should just use it! Did you get your flattery yet? I have got one coming too!
Nat - will check out your website tomorrow if I remember. Ethan is all better now! I am still congested but not so bad.
Mands- your such a talented woman!!! And so generous helping nat out. When are you expecting your rockin green samples? I am going to order some of those and some Gaia or munchskins off you. I will wait for it all to be in stock to save on postage.
Sharna/Annika - hi!
Ros- Ethan goes to an ABC centre and they are ok, the director is lovely so that makes a difference I think.
I bought some more nappies today, newborn and small size! I really have to stop!
meeskamouska
04/06/2010, 06:59 AM
Mini vent on its way, skip if you'll be bored by it.
Shocker night here. Over it. Charlee keeps waking thru the night a thousand times it would feel like & to makethings feel even worse Paul is away in Emerald ATM & every night he rings me from either outside a resturant or when he's standing around drinking with his co worker. At 8:45 at night. Surely he has some other opportunity to ring other than when he's socialising. Then he says he's gotta go if I say anything to him bout it. I feel like I'm here slugging it out whilst he's there enjoying himself drinking & eating in resturants every night. Anyway... what do u do.
I feel like crap . I'll freshen up a bit latter in the day.
Thanks for the vent.
Chat later.
themelster
04/06/2010, 09:44 AM
Nat - vent away. I know so well how hard the night waking is. And with Paul away, you feel like he's living it up whilst your left holding the baby. Literally. That's a really hard situation. He really needs to be a little more sympathetic - that would really push my buttons.
But you know the night waking will pass. She's been a pretty good little sleeper for a while and you'll get back there. Perhaps a quick visit to the doc to rule out any ear infections etc?
Nappies. Here are the piccies. If anyone is interested I'll post backs and inners
Small Potatoes
04/06/2010, 10:16 AM
I like the one with tboat
themelster
04/06/2010, 10:21 AM
So do I Mands :-(
it has Aline slushy back and blue inner.

Small Potatoes
04/06/2010, 10:25 AM
I think I will get the sail boat one please. Can I swap it for Olly you might be able to get $35.00 for him.
Fabulous
04/06/2010, 10:27 AM
Mel- those nappies are lovely. I remember when you bought the bottom 2.
Nat: Aren't you getting a luggage allowance when you go to Bali? My Indonesian friends hubby wore batik style shirts all the time and they looked so nice. My friend once took me to a batik factory and the fabric was divine but it made me so sad seeing all those people working their asses off. I guess you would have to make sure that the fabric was good quality.
Nappies:When we moved here my woollies, covers and nappies filled 2 standard removal boxes up.

DH was pretty shocked. I'm stating to get serious about culling now.
OOps school run. BBL
themelster
04/06/2010, 10:36 AM
No prob Mands. Although you can keep Mr O. One is plenty for me! Do you want me to post it or hang onto it until our next meet.
Ros - goodness, that IS alot of nappies!!
Mark and I are off to watch Animal Kingdom this afternoon. Gotta love daycare Fridays!!
meeskamouska
04/06/2010, 12:36 PM
Ros - Batik is just lovely. I guess in all OS countries your going to come across places you just decribed. In the end I've discovered lately its all about how you as a person feels about what is happening. I'm not into sweat shops or the likes one bit I fully support a local family business that works to feed their family & live. Standards are so differents in other countries. Its hard to know where the line is drawn. & Yes we do have a baggage allowance...... trouble is I'm a pretty serious shopper. One of my cases coming homefrom India was just shy of 40kgs!! Thank goodness the guy didn't care cause I had no money left to pay excess....rofl.
Laugh at your nappy stash!! WE'd half fill only one let alone 2!!
Mel - oh so in love with the blue one. I seriously cannot afford to buy nappies ATM. If I was't going to Bali in the next few weeks...... so tempted. I looked at her site.... your photo makes her nappies look more appealing. I hate how sites won't show you what the nappy looks like inside...this is one of the most vital components... doesn't make sense. They look lovely inside.
Quick question for our nappy users...... is microfleece just a thinner version of polar fleece. Can you use polar fleece inside a nappy??? CR is a little sensitive to the suedecloth & was wondering about the fleece. Does spotlight do a thin fleece...I vaugely remember seeing one.
Fabulous
04/06/2010, 01:13 PM
Nat-apparently polar fleece is too thick because what you want to do is have a material that the pee just passes through. I have bought microfleece at spotlight. I can't remember what they call it there.
Small Potatoes
04/06/2010, 01:28 PM
nat Like Ros said the polar fleece repels water and is often used as a liner instead of PUL, microfleece actually absorbs and draws water away. I have a stack of fleece I can send you through some pink and lemon colour if you want to try it (as long as I can reach the box in storage).
bec8112
04/06/2010, 07:20 PM
Evening all!
Sharna - happy birthday! Hope you had a great day!
Not really in the mood for personals, sorry. Just feeling really emotional today, snapped at Dave tonight then cried for half an hour cause just not happy ! Not sure if it's normal to be like this at end of pregnancy????
meeskamouska
05/06/2010, 05:22 AM
Bec - no good. Hopefully you feel better by time you read this. I'd say completely normal...hormones probably. I would get very emotional at the end of my pregnancy. It actually got worse with each one. It won't be much longer &you'll have your little bubba & feeling like the old Bec again.
Fleece - thanks for your thoughts there. Will try some them...the micro stuff though not the polar. Hoping its a little softer on CR's vjj. We change regularly but sometimes she's a little red after wearing cloth all day. I've even stopped using sposies for day sleeps now...feeling good about that.
Mands - I'll see if I can find it at SL first..save you having to get a box down & going to the posty. If I can't fid it I'll ask u for it. Thanks though I appreciate the offer alot.
Up way too early. Couldn't sleep any longer. Hit the pillow at 8pm last night. Was completely fatiqued, anxious.. the works. Keep the aircon on all night...CR slept thru. Whats the go there?? Her cold is just about cleared but is she cold do u think??? We have the fire going all night. I thought that would be enough. I dress her in a singlet & flannel jammies. Sends m stupid just trying to figure it out. Anyway.... will stick to the same thing tonight & c what happens.
Hi Sharna & Happy Birthday for yesterdqay.
bec8112
05/06/2010, 09:58 AM
Feeling better this morning I think, Dave is at work and won't be home until 11am. Went out for a 30min walk this morning with Ethan and the dog, think the sunshine and fresh air was good even though I waddled the whole way! Ha ha ha!
Booked myself a waxing appointment this arvo, got to get in before bub comes!
Nat- I have no idea about CR and the sleeping through, maybe it was just her sickness causing the wakeups???
meeskamouska
05/06/2010, 10:58 AM
Laugh with the waxing Bec...always nice to b all hair free before a baby coming..lol.
Updated the web this morning. Have a look. Honest opinions please. I think its looking ok. Mands did my lovely Banner.....I just

it. Its all just alot of work I can tell you. I don't know how people keep their sites so up to date etc. No wonder some nappy stores have nothing for sale..lol. Will put in a store soon. When I get a minute..rofl!!
www.charleebell.com
themelster
05/06/2010, 11:49 AM
Nat, Tom does that too. He slept through two nights in a row and then last night screamed the house down until I brought him into bed with me. I have no idea what makes the difference. Too hot, too cold, day sleep too long, day sleep to short, too big of a dinner, not enough dinner. Honestly we'll drive out selves crazy trying to figure it out and you know what, we'll never know.
You website is beautiful. I love the colours. I love all of those understated, romantic hues. You definately have an eye for what works. I was a bit confused at first as I couldn't find where to buy anything, but then I realised that you aren't actually selling on your website as of yet? Just directing people to the Toowoomba markets? And your pants, I couldn't see a section for your pants?
Bec - I hope you are feeling a bit better today. Hormones are crazy things. Waxing when pregnant, I remember it well, ouchy!!!!
bec8112
05/06/2010, 11:50 AM
Nat - the website looks good, the banner is great Mands! The site is very informative for those people who may not know MCN's. I love the tops! I will definitely get a top and nappy off you for when bub is a bit bigger! Yeah the waxing is a must at the moment cause I cannot see anything down there! I go every 5-6 weeks but have been putting it off so it is closer to the bubs due date, my underarms are so gross! Thank god it is cool and have been wearing long sleeve tops!
bec8112
05/06/2010, 11:51 AM
Hi Mel! we posted at the same time!
themelster
05/06/2010, 12:09 PM
I need to do my underarms too. Yay for long sleeves. I epilady mine myself. I'm just lazy!