The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: October 08 Parents # 51

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=791142

bec8112
Gold!

Not much to write though.

Ethan still was a bit miserable tonight, gave him another dose of panadol and he is sleeping.
themelster
Silver.

Tom slept through 11 hours last night! 7.30 - 6.30!!! I think we are coming out the end of the sleep regression. Fingers crossed!

Bec - poor wee man. He seemed pretty miserable. It's not much fun when they are sick.

Ros - I'm glad I gave you a chuckle. It's true though, I'm not precious. I think it's much easier to have kids when you aren't! I'm sure you can relate to that with 5!

Thanks for the catch up yesterday ladies. I really enjoyed it. I'm sorry we ended up cooped uP inside. It was lovely seeing the kiddies playing together!
meeskamouska
A big thankyou to everyone for yesterday. Especially Mel for having us. I had a lovely time.
Mands, sorry I mixed you up with Bec at first...nerves I think.
Mel your house is lovely. I so wish for my old house back it make me home sick being there. Anyway...back to an old home soon enough. Your hair looked lovely too. Loved the colour...so shiny.
Was fun chatting cloth. So nice to be around like minded folk.
Thanks for sharing Mands. How many wipes did u put in a pack for $6 ??? 4 for $6 in a pack would seem reasonable to me. I love velour too.
Bec, hows Ethan today???
& Sharna, I love seeing you & Nadia. Am still looking forward to you moving.
Ceres & Annika - pity we didn't live in the same state would of been awesome for us all to b together.
We spent the night with Charlee & I vomiting all night. Horror night. There's not much thats not spewed on. So onto a thousand loads of washing for me. My bed, her bed. I ran out of cot sheets in the end. Thank goodness for leather cause the first big one was all over it.

Markets for me tomorrow..maybe. I'm a bit shattered. See what I get done today first. You don't have to book so I can decide in the mornig if I like. Everything is sort of ready to go.

Off to snap in boosters...lol.
bec8112
Nat - that is terrible about you and CR, I really hope Ethan did not pass anything on to you guys. No vomitting here though.

Ethan is a little better today, no temp but he sounds all croaky and has a runny nose but its clear so no infection????

Mel - that is awesome abouts Tom's sleep, I bet you feel great today!

Mands - maybe just hang onto the nappy and we will see what happens.

themelster
Aw Nat, that's no good at all. Hey, what is our website addy so I can have a peek?

Bec, not sure about green vs clear. I always thought that when it started going green it was clearing? Who knows. Tom's is usually clear.

Tom has a shiner.... Poor wee man. We went out for brekky this morning and he was trying to go down the steps (a set of about 5 down to the footpath). I repremanded him as he was trying and broke his concentration so he toppled and hit the corner of his eye. Definately going to come up as a black eye I think.
bec8112
Mel - ah that is not good about Toms sore eye! I hope it heals fast for him.

I always thought that green boogers were bad and clear were ok???? Anyone know???
Small Potatoes
Thanks for the great catch up. mum was going to have the boys, but I dropped them off to run some errands and Will went burko and was kicking and thrashing at mum saying no jenjen want mummy. He accidentally kicked her in the throat and was screaming and it really stressed her out, so I had to come and get them.

I made us some lavender goatsmilk soap yesterday and some mandarin and lime today.
themelster
Your poor mum Mands. Did Will say sorry? Lime and mandarin soap sounds divine! I have used the Billy Goat soap before - when Tom was little.

Has anyone used "MooGoo" before?
Small Potatoes
I haven't tried it Mel, but I have heard it is good
themelster
Same Mands. I do really like the Munchskins but her products have cetereah-20 in them which I'm not sure about. Moo goo could use it to though - it just says "plant derived emulsifying wax".
Small Potatoes
that is the same thing, well, cetereah 20 is an emulsified wax that is plant derived. One is the chemical name and the other is the common - you can put either or both down when labelling
themelster
A-ha! Yes, I thought that could be the case! Thanks Mands - you are a wealth of knowledge!
Small Potatoes
No probs. I am doing a natural skin care course next week. I can't wait. I have some ideas for lotions I want to make. So have been doing heaps of research.
themelster
That's awesome Mands. I'd love to do something like that. Where are you doing the course? I'd definately be a customer of yours!!!
bec8112
Mands - you are always doing something, how do you have the time to fit it all in? I wish I had your motivation for things. Have fun on the course and I would love to hear all about it.

Mel - I am looking for some new face moisturiser/cleaner so let me know what you get and what its like. How is Toms eye today?

Ethan is still sick but now green boogers and no fever, he is still happy but do not think I will let him go to daycare tomorrow so another sick day for me.

I made Spinach and Ricotta Cannelloni last night and Ethan loved it! He ate heaps of it so will have to make it a regular meal I think.
I am baking brownies at the moment and they smell so good! Dave is painting the ceiling and Ethan is having a nap.

Nothing much else to report from here.
themelster
You are so lucky to have a non- fussy eater Bec! Tom would take one look at the green stuff and turn his nose up rolleyes.gif
I probably won't be purchasing anything. I like the munchskins that I'm using so will probably stick with that. And I use Rosehip oil which love. Have you tried it?

Nat - how are you guys feeling? I hope it wasn't anything you ate/drank at my place! unsure.gif

I've decided I am going to give up processed /highly refined foods. I'm sick of feeling a bit blah and I think my body will really benefit from it. Hope I can do it!
Small Potatoes
I am doiing the course aat the Endeavour college.

How do you do canellini.

Mel good luck with the non-refined stuff. I have just started lite and easy. Better than slimmer shakes and toast when Danny is away

ETA sugar shots are having a stocking tonight
bec8112
Mel - where did you get the Munchskins stuff from? markets? I need something soon before I am poor and off work. Good luck with the no processed etc etc, I am terrible and eat so much crap! No I have never used Rosehip Oil, I have oily skin so would it be ok?

Mands - I just buy the cannelloni tubes in the pasta aisle and just make the filling and bake for 40mins covered with tomato passata. Really easy and takes good! Good luck with the Lite n Easy, I would love to do it but too hard when I have to feed Dave and Ethan! I have a wedding to go to in 15 weeks so will need to do some serious dieting and exercise when I am recovered from birth of bub.
Small Potatoes
Bec I will be having the Munchskins on sale next month
themelster
Bec, not sure about rosehip with oily skin. I have combination dry/normal. I get the munchskins at the portside markets but she has a website too. Just google it.

Mands - I've got two friends on lite n easy. The food looks pretty good! Not cheap though hey? I guess that is good incentive not to cheat.

As part of my health kick I've been making fresh juice. I made an apple, carrot, beetroot juice today and Tom drank most of it! I wasn't very happy that he drank most of MY juice, but pretty stoked that I know I can get some veg into him that way
themelster
Oh, forgot to say - yes, I saw SS were stocking tonight. I love the monkeys one but I an being strong and not even going to attempt to get one.
meeskamouska
Alls well here today. Thank goodness.
CR woke in the night last night & stayed up for an hour...hmmm. Not good.

Mands - soap making is something I've wanted to do for ages. I've just never got the time. Did you use lye to bind it (saponifaction...spel)????? How did u get the goats milk??? Handmade soap is just awesome!!!!!

Mel - good for you with the juice etc. Always a good thing to cut out processed foods. Its a great way to cleanse the body out. Good that Tom drank the juice too.

What does ETA mean??? & SS is sugar shots...yes???

Re did my nappy pattern today. Do u think its ok to sew in the soakers?? Instead of snapping them in?? What do u call that type of nappy?? Would it be classified as AIO ?? I put a soaker front & back. They fold out for quicker drying. Thoughts please.

CR is still sleeping. She's been down for nearly 4 hours!!!! She keeps waking & then goes for more. I'm probably making a mistake by letting her sleep. Just enjoying the time..lol.
themelster
Hey Nat - sounds like an AIO with open our boosters for easy drying.
I meant to give you back your nappies. As lovely as they are, I'm not sure florals suit Tom ;-) I can post them back to you? I think CR would get alot more wear out of them.

ETA - isn't that funny, I don't know exactly what the initials stand for. I've always read it to mean "by the way" or something along those lines.
Small Potatoes
Hi Nat,

I used very cold slushy goats milk and mixed it with lye and then for the oil used olive oil and coconut oil. I added a little rosehip, mandarin, lemon, ylang ylang and patchouli.

I also did another one using melt and pour soap with lavender and added olive oil

bec8112
I think ETA is edited to add.

Mands- cool might wait and get some stuff off you next month, rockin green and skin stuff! Wow I am going to be poor and in trouble with Dave!

Mel - that is awesome about Tom drinking the juice, I have a juicer and never use it! Find it too much effort to clean.

Nat - that us great about you both being better now, CR had a huge sleep! Hope she sleeps tonight for you. Yeah I think the nappy would be classified as a sewn in AIO like an itti, would that be right?

I am not sure if I should sent Ethan to daycare tomorrow or not, he seems ok but just snotty and occasional cough. I do not want to rusk making him worse though! Might decide in the morning.
themelster
I'd bemore worried about him giving something to the other kids Bec. If it's just a cold, I'd probably send him. But if he still has fever or any other symptoms I'd prob keep him home. That's just me though. It's hard when we only have so many sick days ourselves!

Mands - what do you put in the soap to make it lather? Munchskins soap is really lathery (if that's even a word!)
bec8112
I am not too worried about my sick days as I only have 6 days left at work! He does not have a fever and slight cough is only other symptom. Worse part is his runny nose!
meeskamouska
Now don't quote me but I think.......
Bec - Think I can answer that. the lather comes from the saponification. It occurs when you mix lye (caustic soda/sodium hydroxide) with oil. Saponification is soap. It naturally happens. Sounds scary hey, but the caustic soda converts into soap. Its the most natural way to make soap. The key is getting the pH level right. Appartantly coconut oil makes a good lathery soap.
Mands - how much soap do u make in a batch?? What fun.

AIO with open out boosters. So is that a bad thing thing??? Are snap in better do u think??? Another question... do you reuse your nappies that have snap in..like replace the soaker & re use the shell????

Mel- just hang on to them or pass them on. We've got nappy overload here.

Runy noses here too....blah.
themelster
Nat - I don't think it's a bad thing at all. Depends what people like. I don't really swap boosters as alot of my nappies are pockets. I like pockets for some reason. Everyone is different though. I remember Bambooty did an easy dry nappy with fold out boosters. I think they were pretty popular.

So what's better to use on dry skin (body). A goats milk / vegetable oil soap? Or a gentle, non-soap body wash?
Small Potatoes
what is in the non soap body wash?
bec8112
Nat - think it was Mel who asked about the soap not me wink.gif . An AIO with the sewn in boosters is a good idea I think. I prefer the sewn in itti and I have a few of the Bambooty which are sewn in. I find them easy for the others who use the nappies at my house ( grandma and nana ), they do not have to fiddle with finding the right boosters when they are folding the nappies off the line.

I have to say we use cheap soap from the supermarket here as Dave seems to use alot as he is always dirty from his work, I suppose I cant complain! Maybe I should try a few off the goats milk or other sorts and see how they last the distance. I remember buying some from Eumundi Markets and I loved it but hated how fast it was gone for all the money I spent!
Fabulous
AIO with open out boosters. So is that a bad thing thing??? Are snap in better do u think??? Another question... do you reuse your nappies that have snap in..like replace the soaker & re use the shell????
Do you mean ones that are sewn by one end to the booster? I'm not a fan of AIO's because I always worry about not being able to see if they are dry inside. I worry about mould/mildew getting in there. It's not such an issue if they are made of hemp though because of the faster drying time. Sewn in or lay-in boosters do look more comfortable for bubs though compared to snap-ins. I never re-use the shell. I mainly use AI2's and pockets. ETA- if you mean bambooty style then that's more of an AI2 with boosters joined by sewing rather than snaps so drying wouldn't be an issue.

So did anybody buy any sugar shots? I was out from 11-6 looking at homes for sale so missed it all which is a good thing. I really don't need anymore nappies but am planning on making Jack a few pairs of minky pants. Now that will give me my minky fix.
bec8112
I did not even look at the SS stocking, knew there would be so many people in there and really could not be bothered!

AIO with the sewn in boosters - like an itti. I find that they dry well. I just adjust them on the clothes airer to different positions like the booster one way and then fold over to ensure fully dry. I have no idea if that makes sense!

True AIO - something that is all inside with no added boosters, not a big fan but I always leave these ones to dry for ages to ensure that they are dry all the way through.
Small Potatoes
I was going to have a look at the stocking, but when I clicked on their banner it redirected me to some weird error page, so I gave up.
meeskamouska
I looked but didn't buy. The octopus one was divine. I love the look of minky but don't like how bulky they r & hot in summer here. Were also getting close to the end of nappies as well.
My GF recently had girl bub so will gift her my nappies in six months. Theyre all 10kg plus ones now so will be good timing.

Thanks for the help with boosters.

Past 7 already. Better get the girls up & ready for the day.
Cu later on.
Have a good one.
bec8112
Well I took the day off and Ethan is staying home. He is still asleep at 7.30am so assume he needs the sleep more than they need me at work.

Nat - what a nice gift to give a friend, she is very lucky to have you.

themelster
Mands - I was thinking maybe the moo goo milk wash. Ingredients are on their website. To be honest, I don't know what half of them are.

Ingrediets- Purified Water.

Natural Cleansers:  Capryl Glucoside (from Glucose), Cocomidopropyl Betaine (from Coconut Oil) and Sodium Lauroamphoacetate (from Coconut). [When combined these three cleansers have virtually the same skin irritation score as water.

To Improve Skin Health: Milk Protein, Glycerol Oleate (natural ester), Aloe Vera and Glycol Distearate (Conditioner). To  Keep Fresh: Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol and Fragrant Oil for luxury.

ros - did you find any good houses?
Alis Volat Propiis
Morning ladies...

We got home safely yesterday and N was better on the plane on the way home. I think she knew a bit better what was expected of her. The plane wasnt full and i had a spare seat between me and the other passenger again. N even napped a little and i got some shut eye. Gotta love those 7am flights for early starts.

Catch up - I had such a great time seeing all you lovely ladies again. It was so cute to see our bubs playing all together too. All the nappy talk was interesting for me even though I am 99% sure I wont do cloth with this bub. Mel - thanks so much for hosting it at your beautiful house.

Nat - N has been waking a few times overnight also and I had to bring her into bed with me again this morning for a little more snoozy time. Hopefully she will settle down now we are back home and she is in her own bed.

Bec - I meant to tell you the other day that you look great! I hope you get some rest today and that Ethan is feeling better soon. original.gif

Mands - I found goats milk soap (even the nice handmade stuff from markets) left a residue on our skin that both dan and I didnt like. I have been using the Grown range and find it lovely. Grown If you get any good recipes for skin care to share from this course I would love to try some.

Ros - Hi!

Annika - when is your holiday over to Qld? I wish I could meet up with you too but I seem to remember it is quite close to my due date. I am 32 odd weeks and wont really be travelling anywhere else i dont think.

A gf of mine is having a Biggest Morning Tea this morning and I am going to get organised to go. Her house is super kid friendly so N will have a great time with the kids and I get to kick back a bit.

Have a nice day everyone.

Sharna xoxo
Fabulous
Mel- Nothing suitable yet. We haven't even decided which area we want to live in. The areas we really want to live in are way too far from DH's work so are out of the question. We are looking for 5 beds plus study or at least 4 beds plus study plus 3 living areas with one of the living areas being suitable to convert into a bedroom. It's hard to find big houses unless you are looking in a really expensive area. We want all of the kids to have their own room. Much less friction that way, lol.

Soap- I have a big stash of SoapBricks- a goats milk soap made by a lady on NA.

Sharna- your pregnancy is going so fast- well for me anyway. I hope you are feeling well.

Nat- Are you expecting CR to toilet train soon? I stopped buying nappies when Chelsea reached 18 months because I thought that TT was close but it didn't happen until she was 3 years 4 months.

Us-A virus type thing with a high temp is passing through my kids ATM. They seem to be recovering pretty quick though which is good.
themelster
Ros, that's no good about the viral thing. It would seem it is going around. A friend of mine's little girl had high fevers for a few days running. Not really being controlled by drugs. They said it was a virus called "fifths disease". Apparently it is going around.
meeskamouska
Were still a bit virusy here too.
Ros - Was thinking starting around the two mark for the TT. See how we go. Am happy to part with my nappies once daytime trained. We don't do night cloth. So glad our babies were born in October. It will be good timing to start. From memory...as vauge as it is.... I started my other two around this time. Bella wasn't night trained till around 3 though either. Was Chelsea day trained a bit earlier than 3yrs 4months.?
Bec - how was your day with Ethan home??? Is he starting to dry up a bit in the nose dept???
Sharna - hope you enjoyed your Big MT. Kid friendly houses ar the best. I avoid going to some places due to the age of our bubs...lol.

Is anyone still using their ergos/backpacks??? CR will be 11kgs by the time we go to Bali. Hoping she'll still want to go in it happily.

Slow cooked a Korma curry on the wood fire tonight. Gee it was good. Pappamdums, yogurt, the works. Could of eaten it till I exploded!!

Chat tomorrow.
bec8112
Hi all.

Ethan's ok but still really snotty and coughing! I am going to take to the GP on wed if it's still hanging around!

Sharna - how did you morning tea go? Thanks for the compliment on looking good, some days I feel so fat and I get down. I really need to take some photos of the belly!

Nat- mmmmm your dinner sounds so yummy! Does CR eat it all?

Ros- hope you are all recovered soon. Good luck with house hunting, I can't imagine having to look for such a big house. Is the soapbricks really good? I keep seeing her post about it and it looks great!

On my phone so that's all from me for now.

themelster
Nat- I still use my ergo heaps. Front and back. It gets used more than the pram.
Your dinner sounds divine!
Fabulous
Nat- Chelsea day trained at 3 years 4 months. She still isn't really night trained. She wets the bed about once a week if left out of nappies. Sara (DD1) daytrained at around 24 months but wasn't night trained until 5.5 years. They do say it's quite normal to wet the bed up until 7. Luke & Kate day trained at 2 and night trained around 3.

Ergo- DH used it all of the time in America and loved it but it seems to give me a sore back. Maybe I just didn't give it enough time to strengthen my mucles and I never used it in the rear position much.

Bec- I'n not a huge fan of goat milk soap although I haven't really given it much of a go. I just like looking at it piled up because the soapbricks are so cute, nice colours etc. I gave some to my brother who suffers from excema so can't use other soap and also to my SIL who is into alternative living but they haven't reported back.
bec8112
Hi all! How is everyone doing?

I am at work today and Ethan is with his Nana. She has said he is really congested today so maybe coming to the end of it?? Will have to see what he is like tonight.

Ros - yeah the soapbricks are great to look at!
themelster
Bec - I hope it is the end of it. It just seems to be one thing after another at the moment. I think the kids get better at dealing with it - but it's still not nice.
I never used to get sick at all before I had Tom. Now I'm forever getting little sniffles. Dam daycare. It's like a doctors waiting room!

Ros - ooooh, lots of pre-req's for the house you guys want. Exciting stuff. I can see it would be hard though. Probably not as hard as I am thinking though as I am comparing it to the inner city Brissie market. Not too many 5 bedders around here. I guess the blocks just aren't big enough. They squash us in like sardines around here! heh!

I just popped down to my local health store as they were stockists of the moo goo stuff. They were sold out of pretty much everything. She said that it usually goes within a week of being put on the shelf. She was due for her delivery today so I asked her to put aside some milk wash and full cream moisturiser. I'll let you know how it is.

Nat - your talk of curry has got me hankering for a curry. I've just put one on. Nothing as flash as yours. Just some chicken thighs, carrot, potato, apple (sounds weird but it works!) and curry powder with coconut cream. I'll simmer it lightly for a couple of hours and see how it goes. I bet Tom won't have a bar of it... rolleyes.gif Oh well, more for us. Not exactly good for the diet though!
meeskamouska
Mel - your curry sounds yum. I don't know that any curry is particulrly hard to make. I just do the same as you but I used Korma paste. No veg in the one I did though. My fav & I know its lame & old fashioned.... is curry sausages. I love it.

Paul & I just indulged in a daytime movies whilst CR was sleeping. Was nic to snuggle on the lounge wit the fire going.

Missy is just waking up now.
Not sure whats for tea.

CU later on.
themelster
Oh Nat - daytime movies snuggled in front of the fire. Heaven!
Can you give me your recipe for curry sausages. I've always wanted to make them but not sure how! I know Tom would probably eat that too. He loves sausages.
spersephone
Just popped in to say hello as I saw the topic in recent topics - I've given up trying to stay in touch because I'm slack - I'm involved in several forums and get confused easily!

But thought I should say hello!
Sarah
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.